Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2016
The jumping pillow was a big hit with my grand children. This was their first tent camping experience. We were in 12 and 11 and it was perfect for us. Very accommodating . The office closes at 8:30, and we needed firewood. We called while we were out and they delivered the wood to our camp site. Saved the night. Showers and restrooms were clean and very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
The bathrooms are very clean and nice! The tent sites are sandy and level. The pool needs some updating, and the highway noise can be loud for a tent camper.
Jul 16, 2016
Great bathrooms and showers! Friendly staff! Had very nice fire pits in tent sites.
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities were clean and well stocked. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the stay, very satisfied.
Jul 15, 2016
Outstanding, clean location. Close to a lot of stuff. Friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2016
The employees were very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to stay there again!!!
Jul 15, 2016
small spaces, not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers they rent to. the dog run was horse wire so not a real dog run. Will never recommend it to anyone.
Jul 15, 2016
Just need to work on the wifi. Speed was pretty slow
Jul 14, 2016
We tented and it was great.
Jul 14, 2016
The campground atmosphere was the best ever!! Can't wait to return for an extended stay. This was an awesome KOA! Host and staff were the best! GREAT JOB!!
Jul 13, 2016
Kids loved the pool and jumping pad. Bathrooms nice and clean. When we first got to our campsite, our picnic table had a broken bench. The staff promptly replaced it.
Jul 13, 2016
we stayed in a 2 room cabin. it was clean and very comfy. my 2 sons enjoyed the pool.
Jul 13, 2016
the only issue we had was my daughter slipped in the bathroom on the floor and fell on her back. The little kids run in and out of the bathroom while swimming and adults walk out of the shower soaking wet and the floors are soaked with water on tile. The bathroom are not mopped enough to correct this issue.
Jul 13, 2016
Nice place, however sites were uneven, difficult to level the rv. Bathrooms very clean! Close to attractions. Thank u
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Well run KOA. Clean pool and bathrooms. Bonus: one of the few places in the Black Hills that has any recycling.
Jul 13, 2016
Upon first arrival I was not overly thrilled with my Kabin location. However addressing this with the staff was great. They were extremely kind and accommodating. The kabins were very clean, as was the campground. The bathrooms were great as well. My boys loved the pool, the jumping pillow and the playground. Equally we enjoyed the bunny visits. I would definitely come back and visit again.
Jul 12, 2016
Super friendly! Very helpful. All areas clean and in good repair.
Jul 12, 2016
We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Mount Rushmore. We enjoyed the Kampground very much and would stay here again. There were no negatives about this KOA.
Jul 12, 2016
All koa' are close to highways for convenience but they are so noisy with traffic. You don't have to worry about sleeping in.
Jul 12, 2016
We were pleased with our stay at Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabin and bathroom/shower were very clean. Our son loved the jumping pillow. We had a short stay this trip but would definitely choose Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA again. Everything we experienced at this KOA was excellent!
Jul 12, 2016
The KOA was great. The area was clean and very quiet. The only issue we had was checking in after the office closed at 10 pm. There were no instructions in our email as to where our tent site was or how to find that information upon arrival.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice setting. Friendly, helpful staff. One problem: not enough bathroom or shower stalls. Be prepared to wait.
Jul 12, 2016
The fact that we had to move out of our spot to see what the computer says at 11am. All other KOAs we knew our site number in advance. Just as we moved and unhitched in the dog park area "the computer" told us our site number. That messed up all of our morning plans. Not helpful for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out time for guests is 11am. The site you were moving to was vacated at 11 and you were able to move in right away. We are sorry about your plans but we do not rush guests to leave early due to your already being here. RV check in time is noon. Safe travels.
Jul 11, 2016
Loved the campground - very quiet. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2016
Pool temperature was perfect...thanks for keeping it warm enough to be in on cooler days!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendliest staff of any KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We had a over flow spot by the pool so no sewer or tv because of trees. It was very clean over all
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place with tree spending shades. Very friendly and helpful hosts
Jul 11, 2016
Amazing campground! Wonderful staff, clean, great and impressive services! Very likely to return.
Jul 10, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice showers and restrooms!! Quiet and peaceful
Jul 10, 2016
Check in was quick and easy. Site was level with good utilities. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Nice campground, friendly helpful employees, and loved the bunnies!
Jul 09, 2016
Great staff. Went above and beyond to help me with a mechanical issue.
Jul 09, 2016
Small spots and WIFI didn't work very well. Other than that, the staff was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Staff was very friendly, campground was quiet and clean.
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely beautiful setting. More rustic than some but we loved it. Very clean and well kept
Jul 08, 2016
Aside from the amenities and services (which were both abundant and of high quality), the best part of staying here was the staff. Every single member of the KOA team was friendly, helpful, out-going and a lot of fun to talk to. They really make you feel special and are willing to help with whatever problem you might run into.
Jul 08, 2016
I telephone in my res. and what I got was no where close to what I asked for so I will never recommend this KOA.
Jul 08, 2016
Great stay. Facilitates seemed clean and very adequate. Cabins are a bit crammed together and the firewood we bought was damp and fire hard to burn.
Jul 08, 2016
Very clean cabins, super friendly staff, good breakfast. Quiet, well-maintained campground.
Jul 07, 2016
Campground needs some sprucing up. Water spicket only had 2-3 threads on it. Hard to get a seal. Sites could have been leveled. Sewer line was higher then the tank outlet. Hard to drain going up hill. No cable. Felt the pricing was to high. Not worth the price.
Jul 07, 2016
Very welcomed by staff. Clean facilities. The only complaint, sites are much too close to each other, you can hear your neighbors whispers!
Jul 06, 2016
Good location. Easy to find. My boys loved the jumping pad. Good camping spots.
Jul 06, 2016
Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our charge cards. Hope to get it straightened out...
Jul 06, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay this was our first time staying in a cabin at KOA. We are planing our next trip with KOA. The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed seeing them every time we went to the office. It was a lot of fun for all of us. The Bowmans
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the bunnies, staff very friendly.
Jul 06, 2016
Dog owners needed to be reminded to pick up after their pets. Fresh poops on our site. Had to bury.
Jul 06, 2016
Stay was great!! People were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. Clean restrooms and showers!!
Jul 06, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the campsite was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay very much!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award