Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2016
Very nice location and the people were very friendly. Good WiFi and liked the fan. There was no after hours key drop off location/Box
Jun 15, 2016
The restroom/showers were excellent. The staff was very helpful too.
Jun 15, 2016
Great set up. Stayed in a tent and the pad was nice and flat. Liked that they had a place to clean my dishes. Showers could have been a little cleaner but would stay there again.
Jun 15, 2016
Very clean bathroom and shower facilities. Breakfast in the morning was great and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable.
Jun 14, 2016
Staff was friendly and very enthusiastic. Always with a smile and a helping hand if need be. Great work both times we have been there.
Jun 14, 2016
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff.
Jun 14, 2016
We accidentally stopped at 2 wrong KOAs. We lucked out as this was by far the best of all! Trees, friendly, clean! Seemed like camping! Not commercialism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comment! Your description about "camping" is exactly what we are striving for. Glad you noticed. Safe Travels. :]
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was very friendly. The pool was nice although at times it could be a bit crowded. The bathrooms by the pool could stand to be mopped during the day as people would come in from the pool wet therefore the floors would be wet and slippery. The jumping pillow was a hit with my son. We had to leave early on the account of I couldn't breathe with the thick pollen in the air and KOA refunded.
Jun 13, 2016
Friendly Staff, easy access. Great place to stay for the southern part of the Black Hills
Jun 13, 2016
front looks great back is in bad shape, high grass, construction debri unlevel sites

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the mess. This was due to a water break and not construction. Unfortunately we cannot predict when these thing will occur and must deal with them promptly. Grass cutting is subject to weather and site occupancy of which we attempt to stay on top of with minimal camper disruption.
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was so limited and rude. They were in the mentality of high way robbery. When I objected they told me not to come back. They even charged me for a sewer ring and I had a tent site and couldn't refund me because I didn't have a receipt. Meanwhile I was totally in their system. Very very rude and limited staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your threats to our female staff were not going to be tolerated. Your tone changed dramatically when I came out of the other room after hearing you. You were asked to leave and not return due to your threatening statements. You were aware of prices prior to any purchases and could have declined.
Jun 12, 2016
My nephew and I stayed in a camping cabin and had a great 3 day visit to the Black Hills!! Everything about our visit was great!
Jun 12, 2016
Great staff and very well taken care of KOA!!
Jun 12, 2016
The spaces were to tight . WiFi was really bad . Could not get but 3 cable channels .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy. I wish you'd have let us know while you were here. The wifi is monitored and no faults have been detected. As for cable, there is no cable as it is not available to us. Not sure if this meant for Custer KOA. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2016
Excellent staff! Super friendly and warm. Pretty sites and awesome location in general.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
This was the best KOA we have ever stayed at! The staff was so friendly and the Camp was very well maintained! Would love to come back again!!
Jun 11, 2016
Very friendly people. Not crazy about our site. Across from bathroom and tenters kept walking through our site. Also, not much room to sit outside.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Lovely pine shaded campsites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to see all the sights of the area.
Jun 10, 2016
My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Custer, staying at the Custer KOA. What a perfect choice it was! The camper cabin was clean, comfortable and private, and all the facilities were well kept up. The bathrooms and showers were the best! We felt like we were in a nicer hotel rather than a campground. Debi and Jim, the managers, and other workers, were friendly and warm. WONDERFUL TIME!
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly staff. The bathrooms were spotless. Easy access to Custer State Park and Rushmore/Crazy Horse.
Jun 09, 2016
Very friendly and helpful
Jun 08, 2016
great pizza and a great breakfast No tv reception Good wifi. Great staff
Jun 08, 2016
Great service. Clean cabin and camp ground.
Jun 07, 2016
It was awesome!!
Jun 05, 2016
Great people and free breakfast...
Jun 05, 2016
Our stay at the Rushmore Custer kola was a real delight. We had made an mistake in our reservation dates. They were able to accomadate us and we enjoyed every minute.
Jun 04, 2016
We liked yhe mountain setting and the bathrooms were exceptionally clean. It was a good location for all that we wanted to do.
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
Very friendly staff they made me feel like I was at home.The desk clerk gave valuable suggests on how to best see the black hills. I will return again soon!!
Jun 03, 2016
The most uneven RV spaces I've ever stayed in. The showers were clean, the jump pillow was not. Definitely pot smokers in the evening.
Jun 02, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Decent grounds, but not top-notch. Clean bath houses. Food service on-site, but days and hours vary. This was an overnight stop for us.
Jun 02, 2016
Nice cabin, very clean. We got a proprane burner with the cabin and een smal tv, very good! Very clean clean and comfortable restrooms
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Everyone was helpful, improvements are being made but the camp sites need a lot work they need leveling and resurfacing.
Jun 01, 2016
EAsy to get in and out. FAcilities were clean and staff professional.
Jun 01, 2016
Staff very friendly.
May 31, 2016
This has always been our favorite KOA. We have stayed here on many occasions and have been so very satisfied with the staff and the facilities.
May 31, 2016
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was extremely knowledgable, friendly and made us feel like we were at home. Power in the area went out for about 15 hours first night of our stay. Staff was resourceful with bathrooms and limited water, helped make guests as comfortable as possible. Staff kept the camp up to date on the outage and when power would return. We had a great stay, look fwd to next visit!!
May 31, 2016
We had a great time, the facility has the best bathrooms I've ever seen and the people were amazing!!
May 31, 2016
This was an excellent Kampground. The grounds and facilities were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. We will be staying there again in the future.
May 31, 2016
Very clean, fun stuff for kids, GREAT staff!
May 30, 2016
It was a great spot quiet and close to Custer State Park and an easy drive to Mt Rushmore. It was also a great home base for the Badlands and Minuteman Missile Site. It was great in that it gave us a site that had an outdoor feeling. Hosts and staff where very helpful Laundry facility was very clean. We stayed in AS Motorhome with a tow.
May 28, 2016
You and your staff were very friendly, helpful, and courteous. We will be back
May 26, 2016
Extremely friendly and helpful people! Lovely camping with extra roomy spaces. Very convenient to all sights in the culturally rich area.
May 25, 2016
Awesome service from the staff, cabin was clean, restrooms were clean, it was quiet, and a great place to stay.
May 24, 2016
Very friendly and helpful folks!
May 22, 2016
Loved the park. I am a walker and there were so many places to walk! Restrooms very nice and staff, especially camp workers very friendly and helpful.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award