Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2016
The facilities were very clean and well maintained. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful. I will definitely not hesitate to stay here again!
Jul 19, 2016
enjoyed our time at this KOA. the KOA was clean and well cared for and the staff was super friendly. would stay here again.
Jul 19, 2016
Meals are a great value. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2016
Friendly staff and great for families. This was out favorite KOA out of the 5 we stay at on this vacation.
Jul 19, 2016
I want to give this place 5 stars but... the WiFi did not work. However, out of all of our KOA stops on this year's road trip, this was the best. The bathrooms/showers were clean and a good size. It was quiet and inviting. Staff was nice. They also had the earliest breakfast for those who like to eat early. We had a tent site with a raised pad. It just fit with our 12'x10' base.
Jul 18, 2016
Lots of shade and firewood delivery. Awesome service!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights and thought the campground was nice,restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Great koa, friendly staff, good spaces with plenty of shade, convent location
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great time the camp ground was very nice and the staff was very nice
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground
Jul 18, 2016
This KOA is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. Close to anything you want to do in the blackhills, don't forget to visit custer state park. My family had a blast. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt as though we were family. The staff creates such a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and the condition of the entire campground is simply spotless. You can truly tell that they care about their guests, and they are committed to keeping the facility very clean and good repair. This was our first KOA experience, but not our last! THANKS!
Jul 18, 2016
The campground is a great location for the Custer area. I would say your site is pretty small but if it's just two people it works great. The showers were close by although only two showers can cause a line in the morning. The breakfast at the campground was good. It was easy to find and the staff was very helpful with firewood, cheap too!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice facility. Only the lack of cable keeps it from the highest rating. 9.5/10
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 17, 2016
First time at this KOA, will be back !!!
Jul 16, 2016
sites were large but not very level. Very close to area attractions but not the closet campground or the nicest.
Jul 16, 2016
The jumping pillow was a big hit with my grand children. This was their first tent camping experience. We were in 12 and 11 and it was perfect for us. Very accommodating . The office closes at 8:30, and we needed firewood. We called while we were out and they delivered the wood to our camp site. Saved the night. Showers and restrooms were clean and very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
The bathrooms are very clean and nice! The tent sites are sandy and level. The pool needs some updating, and the highway noise can be loud for a tent camper.
Jul 16, 2016
Great bathrooms and showers! Friendly staff! Had very nice fire pits in tent sites.
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities were clean and well stocked. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the stay, very satisfied.
Jul 15, 2016
Outstanding, clean location. Close to a lot of stuff. Friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2016
The employees were very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to stay there again!!!
Jul 15, 2016
small spaces, not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers they rent to. the dog run was horse wire so not a real dog run. Will never recommend it to anyone.
Jul 15, 2016
Just need to work on the wifi. Speed was pretty slow
Jul 14, 2016
We tented and it was great.
Jul 14, 2016
The campground atmosphere was the best ever!! Can't wait to return for an extended stay. This was an awesome KOA! Host and staff were the best! GREAT JOB!!
Jul 13, 2016
Kids loved the pool and jumping pad. Bathrooms nice and clean. When we first got to our campsite, our picnic table had a broken bench. The staff promptly replaced it.
Jul 13, 2016
we stayed in a 2 room cabin. it was clean and very comfy. my 2 sons enjoyed the pool.
Jul 13, 2016
the only issue we had was my daughter slipped in the bathroom on the floor and fell on her back. The little kids run in and out of the bathroom while swimming and adults walk out of the shower soaking wet and the floors are soaked with water on tile. The bathroom are not mopped enough to correct this issue.
Jul 13, 2016
Nice place, however sites were uneven, difficult to level the rv. Bathrooms very clean! Close to attractions. Thank u
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Well run KOA. Clean pool and bathrooms. Bonus: one of the few places in the Black Hills that has any recycling.
Jul 13, 2016
Upon first arrival I was not overly thrilled with my Kabin location. However addressing this with the staff was great. They were extremely kind and accommodating. The kabins were very clean, as was the campground. The bathrooms were great as well. My boys loved the pool, the jumping pillow and the playground. Equally we enjoyed the bunny visits. I would definitely come back and visit again.
Jul 12, 2016
Super friendly! Very helpful. All areas clean and in good repair.
Jul 12, 2016
We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Mount Rushmore. We enjoyed the Kampground very much and would stay here again. There were no negatives about this KOA.
Jul 12, 2016
All koa' are close to highways for convenience but they are so noisy with traffic. You don't have to worry about sleeping in.
Jul 12, 2016
We were pleased with our stay at Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabin and bathroom/shower were very clean. Our son loved the jumping pillow. We had a short stay this trip but would definitely choose Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA again. Everything we experienced at this KOA was excellent!
Jul 12, 2016
The KOA was great. The area was clean and very quiet. The only issue we had was checking in after the office closed at 10 pm. There were no instructions in our email as to where our tent site was or how to find that information upon arrival.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice setting. Friendly, helpful staff. One problem: not enough bathroom or shower stalls. Be prepared to wait.
Jul 12, 2016
The fact that we had to move out of our spot to see what the computer says at 11am. All other KOAs we knew our site number in advance. Just as we moved and unhitched in the dog park area "the computer" told us our site number. That messed up all of our morning plans. Not helpful for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out time for guests is 11am. The site you were moving to was vacated at 11 and you were able to move in right away. We are sorry about your plans but we do not rush guests to leave early due to your already being here. RV check in time is noon. Safe travels.
Jul 11, 2016
Loved the campground - very quiet. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2016
Pool temperature was perfect...thanks for keeping it warm enough to be in on cooler days!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendliest staff of any KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We had a over flow spot by the pool so no sewer or tv because of trees. It was very clean over all
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place with tree spending shades. Very friendly and helpful hosts
Jul 11, 2016
Amazing campground! Wonderful staff, clean, great and impressive services! Very likely to return.
Jul 10, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice showers and restrooms!! Quiet and peaceful
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award