Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2016
Clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful! Thanks for the cup of coffee :)
Jul 27, 2016
We had a wonderful stay in Custer and enjoyed our camping cabin very much. The cabin was extremely clean and well maintained, and while we didn't get to partake in many of the activities offered at this location, we appreciate the services we did receive.
Jul 26, 2016
We absolutely loved it. We are returning for sure
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of the staff! Suggestions: have mounted soap dispenser at level kids can reach, post pool hours for kids to read, and spray for ants at the tent sights.
Jul 26, 2016
My family of six traveled from Michigan to Yosemite and back home through South Dakota. Along the way, we stayed at various KOA parks: Limom, Filmore, Yosemite West, Coleville/Walker and Custer/Mt. Rushmore. Not once did we have a bad experience! Thank-you all for your hospitality!
Jul 25, 2016
The lot was even and easy to hook up to the utilities. The kids loved the jump pillow ALOT! The help was very nice. When we were checking out we had an issue with our black water emptying out of our tank. The front desk was happy to send someone to see what they could do to help out. They didn't have to go above and beyond but they did.
Jul 25, 2016
My wife &I rode to Custer KOA from Ohio on our motorcycle.The camp staff was exceedingly helpful and energetic. Mark and his wife Julie were especially helpful on where to ride,see and stop while out in S.D. Cabin 7 was clean and comfortable and was a great place to unwind and meet other campers. The staff was very helpful and understanding when we had trouble with the motorcycle.
Jul 25, 2016
The staff made our stay amazing. They were so friendly and accommodating to our specific situation. Treated us like family. The kids loved the pillow and the pool. Fairly close to all that the Black Hills offer. Would definitely recommend this KOA :)
Jul 25, 2016
We reserved campsites for 4 families 4 months ago and didn't get sites together. Dirty pool. Felt unwelcome as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site placement was explained at the time you made your reservations due to occupancy and equipment types. We are sorry that your debate at the counter couldn't change the facts. We did offer a full refund at check in, which you declined. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice campground but the pool was old and cracked. Would probably book again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. The pool is scheduled for replacement. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
It was very enjoyable. Everyone was friendly and polite.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful place, friendly people, beautiful location!
Jul 23, 2016
Very well kept sites,quite and lots to do for the kids (granddaughter). The rabbits were very entertaining for the granddaughter!! Will be my first choice on a return trip.
Jul 23, 2016
enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 23, 2016
The overall stay was great. My only complaint is there was a large group of young campers across from us being quite loud with music, conversation and singing past the 10:00 quiet time with no one on the grounds to contact.
Jul 23, 2016
Very sandy/gravel throughout campground. Very uneven ground and roads made difficult for walking to restroom at night in the dark. Tent sites were on sand. Restrooms were nice. Breakfast made to order was handy.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The site was fantastic, the staff was great and helpful, the only problem we encountered was our site #92 the sewer service was higher than our trailer drain line making it difficult to dump into the septic system
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was great and the cabin was spotless
Jul 21, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly, bathrooms were great, pool and jumping pillow were our kids favorites. Thank you!
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
The staff was very friendly. Campsites were well kept and the bathrooms were great! Kids enjoyed the playground, jumping pillow, and the pool. We will be coming back.
Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely nice and helpful, just a bit warm with no cooling, but the ceiling fan worked OK, many rabbits that the kids want to play with as opposed to letting them be.
Jul 20, 2016
Aside from a mix up at check in our stay was great
Jul 20, 2016
Fantastic. Breakfast was home-cooked and wonderful. Very friendly people working at this KOA
Jul 20, 2016
Good staff. Had a great stay.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
The sites are small and crowded, with little or no privacy. I did not like the people washing dishes in the laundry room, most places have a separate area or at least a wall separating the dish area from the laundry area. I liked the location of the KOA, it worked well for the places we wanted to visit. The employees were very friendly and helpful. WIFI could have been better. Would stay again.
Jul 19, 2016
The facilities were very clean and well maintained. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful. I will definitely not hesitate to stay here again!
Jul 19, 2016
enjoyed our time at this KOA. the KOA was clean and well cared for and the staff was super friendly. would stay here again.
Jul 19, 2016
Meals are a great value. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2016
Friendly staff and great for families. This was out favorite KOA out of the 5 we stay at on this vacation.
Jul 19, 2016
I want to give this place 5 stars but... the WiFi did not work. However, out of all of our KOA stops on this year's road trip, this was the best. The bathrooms/showers were clean and a good size. It was quiet and inviting. Staff was nice. They also had the earliest breakfast for those who like to eat early. We had a tent site with a raised pad. It just fit with our 12'x10' base.
Jul 18, 2016
Lots of shade and firewood delivery. Awesome service!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights and thought the campground was nice,restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Great koa, friendly staff, good spaces with plenty of shade, convent location
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great time the camp ground was very nice and the staff was very nice
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground
Jul 18, 2016
This KOA is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. Close to anything you want to do in the blackhills, don't forget to visit custer state park. My family had a blast. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt as though we were family. The staff creates such a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and the condition of the entire campground is simply spotless. You can truly tell that they care about their guests, and they are committed to keeping the facility very clean and good repair. This was our first KOA experience, but not our last! THANKS!
Jul 18, 2016
The campground is a great location for the Custer area. I would say your site is pretty small but if it's just two people it works great. The showers were close by although only two showers can cause a line in the morning. The breakfast at the campground was good. It was easy to find and the staff was very helpful with firewood, cheap too!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice facility. Only the lack of cable keeps it from the highest rating. 9.5/10
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 17, 2016
First time at this KOA, will be back !!!
Jul 16, 2016
sites were large but not very level. Very close to area attractions but not the closet campground or the nicest.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award