Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2014
Enjoyed the stay, really liked the closeness to the showerhouse and laundry. Would definite recommend to others.
Jul 15, 2014
A beautiful, well organized, clean, and quiet campground. One of the best we have ever visited.
Jul 15, 2014
My wife is very particular and I guess, that I did not communicate the need for pillows to her, plus it was difficult for her to share restroom facilities with others. I will need to find more modern facilities for her in the future, so that she can get some rest if there is a next time. Cleanliness was good and the food was plentiful and made good quality. Out door types will do better that wife.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean Kabin and site. It did get quite dusty (cough, cough) when the speed limit was ignored.
Jul 14, 2014
We had one of the best sites in the campground and wish we could have stayed longer, the staff very gracious and honest and helpful. The jumping pad was great and the bathrooms were great. Hope to stay again soon!
Jul 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Nice, level camp site, with good crushed rock base (kept our toes dry with the light rain that night)! Excellent chuckwagon breakfast option, too!
Jul 14, 2014
The camp was OK but not exceptional. I realize not all KOA camps have secure dog areas, but after our experience at the Badlands KOA this one was a little disappointing. The people here were nice, but the overall site seemed a little rundown. The bottom line here is that I would not just automatically go to this camp simply because it is a KOA, but would look around a bit.
Jul 14, 2014
It was wonderful. Very accommodating and clean.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it.
Jul 14, 2014
Loved the staff, laundry facilities, jumping pillow, pool, nicely renovated shower rooms and everything about the Custer KOA.
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly and clean. Kids had a blast on the jumping pillow. Nice location and very clean cabins.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at your campground. The people running it were fabulous and very friendly. Very clean and reasonable. We would suggest this campground to anyone. Thanks again.
Jul 14, 2014
Our experience was a great one, I've never experienced such a nice shower house, kids loved the playground and jumping pillow, manager assisting me in some work on my trailer. Great people, great location.
Jul 14, 2014
My boys Riley and Xavier really loved Billy and his breakfast. Thank you guys for a great weekend.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
As novice campers, we were so glad for the KOA store and the availability of all those items we didn't even know we needed. The kids enjoyed the pool and pillow. Cabin was comfortable and we were glad for the ceiling fans. Thanks for a great stay.
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful, friendly staff. Kamping Kabin was clean. Lots of birds and rabbits to entertain us.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Would have liked some advance notice emailed about road construction coming from the west would have planned a different route. Wifi could have been better. Campground wonderful clean hosts were very pleasant and helpful
Jul 13, 2014
Workers very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Very friendly staff. Nice and peaceful surroundings. It was a great end to a great vacation!
Jul 12, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The facilities were well maintained, clean and stocked.
Jul 12, 2014
Thought is was great. Always enjoy staying at your little cabins; better than a stuffy old motel room any day in our view.
Jul 12, 2014
It was beautiful and we had a great time.
Jul 12, 2014
Very clean & very quiet. We stayed in a cabin which was perfect for 2 nights. Staff was very friendly & helpful.
Jul 12, 2014
We were too close to bathrooms. There was a lot of noise. People were fruendly and we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2014
The manager was great but the female employee was not very friendly. Plus we had to buy their firewood which was not very good. It smoked excessively and wouldn't stay lit.
Jul 11, 2014
Friendly staff, great facility. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area!
Jul 11, 2014
The kids really enjoyed the bouncing pillow, pool, and playground. The chuckwagon was good as well. The only downfall was that our site was in ther middle and did not have a lot of room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2014
It was a great spot to make our home base. The only thing that kept me from giving top marks is the spots. They were very unlevel and it was a big challenge to get level when we parked. The staff was great and tge amenities were awesome. Level the spots and you will get 5 stars!
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Sites extremely unlevel and in horrible condition. We were on a 2 month trip and all the KOA parks we stayed at were terrible. Will never stay at another KOA or recommend them.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Unimproved sights,host had limited knowlege of rotes and derecttions. Great chuck wagon breakfast.
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed here one night while traveling through South Dakota. The site was extra large. You can buy a great breakfast in the morning at a reasonable cost.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Very friendly, very convenient, very clean!
Jul 08, 2014
This campground was close to the sights in the Black Hills. Information about the campground and the surrounding area was provided at check-in. Staff were helpful and friendly. The campground amenities (washrooms, etc.) were clean and available for use.
Jul 07, 2014
We had a great lot, the grounds were clean and easy to set up your site. The location is perfect to get to ALL the sites in the Black Hills. I did make a resiervation in march for handicape close to restrooms for our stay in June and was placed down hill from them. My husband who is very active paraplegic it was quite the taking getting up the hill. So more handicap access sites would be great!!
Jul 07, 2014
Nice people, had everything we needed, very good location as we were just a short drive from many of the area attractions.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
need to improve wifi
Jul 07, 2014
We stayed for 1 night in the two room cabin and were VERY impressed with the cleanliness of the cabin as well as the amazing bathrooms!
Jul 06, 2014
Was glad to stay at KOA. Thanks for being there. Dan
Jul 06, 2014
we wished we had more time to stay ! Staff were Great & Bathrooms were Supper clean!!!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Very nice place, the folks behind the counter were very pleasant and it had a well-maintained upkeep. We would return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.