Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2015
....SUPER....KOA... And the BIG HUGE JUMPING PILLOW...Wow whatta blast!!!
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 07, 2015
We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Your campsite, cabins, and restroom/showers were perfect! The whole staff was friendly and helpful! Couldn't ask for a better location. You even helped us when we decided to stay for an extra night. We will be back at your site, along with more family members:) Thanks for helping us with our vacation memories!
Jul 06, 2015
Warm friendly feeling from the staff from day we arrived until we left. We were there two weeks and totally enjoyed our stay. One of the best KOAs so far. They obviously work very hard to keep the campground comfortable.
Jul 06, 2015
Great KOA, spaces were large, grounds were easy to navigate and quiet, staff was friendly and courteous. Will be planning a return trip!
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderful setting and located close to all we wanted to see. The only problem was the wet wood for campfires. Once we learned the trick to lighting it, we were fine.
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 06, 2015
Had truck problems while staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2015
We loved it
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.
Jul 05, 2015
This is an outstanding place to stay. Of all the things the girls did they loved the campground the best! Bathrooms were very nice, hot showers! Staff were very helpful - the horseback place 4 miles down called Ponderrosa is super! - the grounds were quiet. We will for sure be back!
Jul 05, 2015
Clean facilities friendly staff very helpful but tent sites pretty close together....could hear EVERYTHING going on. But we would still recommend this KOA.
Jul 05, 2015
Friendly greeting even after hours. Clean. Nice sized spots and well kept grounds. Help was always informative and gracious.
Jul 05, 2015
We arrived early evening of our stay and the staff was not in a great mood. Our "escort" to our lot was tired and I understand that tired people can often be cranky. The morning staff was AMAZING!! So nice, helpful and frendly. We will be back. My husband calls me the KOA queen :). My kids LOVED the air pillow!! What a great option ;).
Jul 04, 2015
Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2015
Excellent location, layout and services. Raised spots for tents were especially great. Plus, bunnies. Tons of them.
Jul 04, 2015
Very nice amenities. Enjoyed the chuck wagon breakfast
Jul 03, 2015
My husband and I decided to bring our 16 yr. old grandson and our twin 10 yr old grand-daughters out to Mount Rushmore and in the past when our children were small we camped at the Custer KOA (20 some years ago)and we had a great time then. This time was just or even better than 20yrs ago. The staff made our stay fantastic. Thank you all for the great job that you do.
Jul 03, 2015
Everything is clean and well cared for. Bathrooms are very nice.
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Nice location , level sites, staff real helpful. I needed oil change the staff recommended a place that was close and reasonably priced.
Jul 03, 2015
Great stay.
Jul 03, 2015
Everyone was very nice and the cabins and bathrooms were very clean.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Friendly customer service. Love that the firewood gets delivered to your spot. They even came and helped us get a fire started one night.
Jul 02, 2015
Great location, very restful, lots of trees right in the hills and close to parks lakes and caves. The cabin was a great place to stay, comfortable at night and very much appreciated during the Gail storm. Kids loved to bouncing pillow and pool. We had the pool to ourselves several times and met great families from all over. Quiet, clean convenient
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
The campsite 44 was not made to fit our fifth wheel. We had to drive up on rocks to get into it. Also there was mold in the men's bathroom..
Jul 02, 2015
This is a wonderful place to stay! The staff is super friendly and were very accommodating.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Friendly staff, clean and quiet facility. Great location and close to a lot of attractions. Would be nice if the shower stalls were a little larger and the teen game room was a little disappointing.
Jul 01, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and it was very nice! We thought it was a bit expensive, but we know that this is a very popular area. We had a good stay.
Jul 01, 2015
Very helpful staff clean and tidy site
Jun 30, 2015
The Custer KOA is in a great location. The staff is very helpful, and the campground itself is has lots of trees, fire rings, etc. It's a very good place to stay when visiting the Black Hills Area.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very friendly, stopped and talked with us often. Facilities were well taken care of and clean.
Jun 29, 2015
The staff was all AMAZING, top-notch, and we loved it. Only complaint: wish the highway noise was blocked a bit.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly, clean & great location! Super nice folks. Enjoyed our stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Looking forward to go back.My first time visiting South Dakota.Great place to stay.Good job!
Jun 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay with you:) Your staff is friendly and helpful (especially Mark and Billy.) We also love your rabbits!! On the down side, the plumbing in the bathrooms seemed to be an issue (especially the men's toilets) and the pool could stand to be cleaned. We loved the jumping pillow and the fact that your store is very affordable compared to other KOAs we have been to. Very nice!!!
Jun 27, 2015
This park was great, the people were the freindliest we have ever met, the employees we very helpful. Would definitely come back.
Jun 27, 2015
We had a great check in experience with Mark the Sombrero Man and his wife Julie. After checking in Mark escorted us to the dump station as we needed to dump from our previous nights stay at another KOA that had a very muddy dump area. We had quiet neighbors and a clean campsite. The hospitality was great from all involved with our stay. The breakfast at the chuckwagon was good as well.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. The giant bouncy pillow was a hit with our 7 and 9 year olds. Great trees for shade.
Jun 27, 2015
Our stay was great. The only complaint would be that the showers were ice cold the morning we left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the shower the morning you left. A break in a hot water line caused the problem, which we had fixed within 3 hours. I hope you return and enjoy the area in the future. Safe Travels. Jim
Jun 26, 2015
Great people, especially Debi at the front desk and Billy the cook. Very down-to-earth crew that made our stay a joy
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice place.
Jun 26, 2015
This thing with the wild rabbits running around is very odd! They were living under the kamper kabins! They are everywhere! The owners encourage it, I think. Rabbits are cute from a distance, but they carry germs and diseases and are not cuddly little playthings. We found it unsanitary and would not stay at this KOA again for that reason. Very strange.
Jun 26, 2015
All the staff at the camp ground are very friendly everything was very clean I will be back to stay again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.