Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2015
We were super pleased with our stay. There was enough to do for the kids. It was so clean and the staff was so helpful and kind. We would definitely return.
Jun 18, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and user friendly. All the bunnies a bonus. Again staff were amazing!
Jun 18, 2015
Beautiful area. Loved it.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
The problem I had was with getting the RV level. Even with blocks it wasn't, this is important to me, too bad.
Jun 16, 2015
I loves this place the people were friendly and courteous. The campgrounds were clean and well kept. They also made the children feel welcome by having fun things for them to do. I would recommend this KOA to andyone.
Jun 16, 2015
Very happy with our stay, kids enjoyed the pool and bounce pillow. Would definitely stay here again, everyone was friendly & helpful, the breakfast was delicious.
Jun 15, 2015
Everything was nice and clean, kids had fun and it was close to all the activities. The morning breakfast was great and affordable.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Kids loved the jumping pillow and bunnies running around camp. Nice quiet camp and friendly staff.
Jun 14, 2015
Debbie & her staff are helpful, friendly - try to meet your every need. Breakfasts were very good. Bathrooms decor is beautiful and very clean. It's a lovely, peaceful setting. This was my third visit and I hope to return.
Jun 14, 2015
Excellent customer service! Some sites need more grass.
Jun 14, 2015
Women's bathroom very clean and warm! Enjoyed meeting new neighbors. Front office staff very nice and helpful. Great proximity to sites we wanted to see.
Jun 14, 2015
Awesome first experience at a KOA campground. I was very pleased and impressed with the friendly nature of all the employees at Custer KOA, especially Mark. Very helpful and upbeat.
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
The staff here was awesome. Place was clean and quiet. I was glad I chose to stay here verses the closer places. It was very laid back. The wifi was adequate. I highly recommend.
Jun 13, 2015
Wonderful place to stay, friendly people and clean clean bathrooms and showers. Plus many rabbits around to entertain you! What fun.
Jun 13, 2015
and the staff was friendly. Will stay there in the future when we return to the Black Hills.
Jun 13, 2015
Great location & quiet. Staff helpful. Sites very uneven & difficult to level. Roads a muddy mess. Needs a lot more gravel to cover dirt & less mud.
Jun 13, 2015
Very clean & friendly
Jun 13, 2015
Excellent stay. Great campsite, awesome staff. The children loved the pool and jumping pillow, aswell as feeding the friendly rabbits.
Jun 13, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Grandson liked the heated pool. Billy is a great asset with all he does and his helpfulness with campers.
Jun 12, 2015
This quiet, well shaded campground was a delight for all 5 of us with the pool, playground and bounce pillow AND who can resist those bunnies---much better that chipmunks!!
Jun 12, 2015
My husband and I had a fantastic stay. Our 2 room cabin was spotless and the bath house was super clean. The staff was excellent!!! Thank you for an awesome vacation!! We highly recommend Custer KOA
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Great staff. Men's shower was the best I've ever used at a KOA or any other RV Park. We'll be back
Jun 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and well run. The people were so friendly and helpful! Great job!
Jun 11, 2015
The front desk and help were extremely helpful and friendly! I loved the space heaters in the restrooms. I am always cold.
Jun 10, 2015
Best of the best
Jun 10, 2015
Outstanding accommodations, KOA residents were helpful and accommodateing, clean site with no road noise
Jun 08, 2015
Quiet campground.
Jun 08, 2015
The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and attentive to any possible needs.
Jun 08, 2015
The staff was very courteous and attentive. I did not like the unlevel site. And all of the hook ups were on the wrong end of my trailer. I had to pull forward and set up on a slant just to reach the electric box.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize your site was not to your liking. If you had informed us we do have 30 and 50 amp cords for just such situations, which we would have gladly lent you. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels.
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Our trip was interrupted by flooding on I90 and the people at Custer Campground were most helpful in getting us booked for another day and then when we went to leave the truck would not start and withing minutes of our call to the office they were there to give us a jump. They couldn't have been nicer.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice people.Good location. Just a bit far from Rushmore.
Jun 05, 2015
Awesome KOA! Highly recommended. Most friendliest staff and awesome accommodations. Would love to return again.
Jun 05, 2015
People are lovely, campsite was so uneven it damaged the leveling jacks on my motor home. Others had a wheel jacked in the air. Is it too much to expect level access and a level site. The country was so green and lush, unlike the dust bowl of a campground. I hope this is seen as constructive critism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When you were escorted to you site you did not have any complaints, nor when we made contact with you later in the day. I'm not sure dust bowl fits since it rained every day you were here and this has prevented our normal spring site maintenance. Safe travels.
Jun 04, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The staff made us feel at home. We hated to leave and would definitely stay there again! Best possible experience ever!
Jun 04, 2015
Nice friendly park.
Jun 03, 2015
All hosts were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay great fun.
Jun 03, 2015
Staff was very good and friendly. Sites were clean, fire pits could use a little upgrade.
Jun 03, 2015
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. Also, Billy does make the best pancakes!!
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Very enjoyable, staff is friendly, pretty campground
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Super convenient location and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and laundry facilities very good. Play area for the kids was a hit. Overall, it was perfect for what we needed. Thanks for having us!
Jun 01, 2015
Everyone was so helpful, checking regularly if there was anything they could do to help us. It started the moment we arrove to unpacking our bags to Billy cooking and entertaining the kids to at breakfast to heading out on our adventures and even as we loaded up to leave. We felt welcomed and wanted and could not have asked for a better experience!!! Thank you!!!
May 31, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very very much. Alan and Lou were great. Please let them know
May 31, 2015
Staff was so friendly and helpful!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.