Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2017
Its good for the price, we were on a slope so you slept down hill and the sewer hook up arent as ideal we were lucky we didnt have someone next to us but felt bad for the ones behind us cause our sewer hook up was about a foot from their picnic table if they wanted to eat outside, Its also not close to Mt Rushmore about 30 miles away and you can't evensee it from this campground so dont be mislead
Jul 28, 2017
Great location for seeing all the National Parks and Monuments. Very convenient to Custer, SD. Kind attention by the KOA staff; they offered a 50-39 amp converter on our arrival without hesitation. Great attention to detail and campground is clean with level, gravel sites.
Jul 28, 2017
Need a bigger doggie play area and spaces should be more level
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient to area attractions. VERY clean and nice restroom with ceramic tile throughout! We had an awesome time and loved our cabin!
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay at your KOA campground was terrific! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful! The site was clean and the cabin we stayed in was just perfect! We had so much fun during our stay! The Wild Rabbits were fun to watch too!
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
It was nice and quiet except at the pool. Underage boys with no parents were out of control. Not the managements fault but that of the parents!
Jul 26, 2017
clean and friendly
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
Courteous staff, clean facility, good location
Jul 26, 2017
I hope to come back again and stay real soon. Only next time longer!
Jul 25, 2017
Great staff, super clean restrooms and nice central location to all that the Black Hills has to offer. The one small complaint would be the Wi-Fi kicked the kids off repeatedly forcing them to use their data....not a life changer for me but they were disappointed. I would completely recommend this KOA.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice facilities. Wish we were there longer.
Jul 25, 2017
one person at the front desk was pushy and not as friendly as the others. also she called after we left to state the key was not returned despite it being dropped off in the drop box. The manager politely apologized for the error after I called to confirm the key was dropped off
Jul 24, 2017
very friendly staff. Campground was kept clean, told us all the interesting places to see
Jul 24, 2017
Awesome! Very clean, nice shower/bathrooms Very nice pool. Very nice people. We will be back!!
Jul 24, 2017
Great AM staff very helpful and kind. Loved watching the kids bounce around and interact with each other on the huge bounce pillow. Plan on staying here in Sept.so I can catch what I missed this time.
Jul 23, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and family friendly!
Jul 23, 2017
I had 0 place to place a single chair it was so steep.This place was not for me and I love KOA's
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
We had an excellent double site so were able to be with our daughter's family. It was also very private and we had trees behind us, very nice. Very centrally located for all our site-seeing and a good place to rest at the end of the day. Good showers and clean laundry facility. Helpful, friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was informative and campground very clean.
Jul 22, 2017
You need to widen your roads in the campground because when I was hooking up my camper I had to rush because there was another camper trying to get by me
Jul 22, 2017
Wonderfully clean and well kept showers and toilets. Swimming pool is in dire need of shade/awning.
Jul 22, 2017
Very Friendly staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
Jul 22, 2017
The campground is clean and the folks are friendly. Easy access to all the attractions.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful about local attractions. Breakfasts were very tasty.
Jul 21, 2017
This campground was the best! Very clean bathrooms and showers. My kids loved the jump pad and pool. What a great place! This was our 1st time camping at a KOA and we would definitely come again.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
We had a great time at your campground.
Jul 21, 2017
I made reservations for 10 night stay, on line several months prior to trip. We were camping with a large group, which I noted in my reservations, yet when we arrived I was not at all near my friends, and when we asked for relocation, they offered us a refund, rather then try to accommodate! The camp bathrooms are the redeeming factor.. The staff not at all pleasant, esp.to Lg, long staying group

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Each of your group made their own separate reservation, not as a group. The friends you speak of requested a 50 amp pull through via calling the park while you chose a 30 amp back in on line. These sites do not co-exist near each other in our park. On you arrival, as you are aware, the park was full for your stay and no changes could be made. Your attitude toward our staff explains the rest.
Jul 20, 2017
we have never stayed here before. Usually we stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA, this was closer to our activities planned the next day. The husband and wife owners were very nice. It was a very clean facility. They were very good at recommending restaurants. Location was good for activities around Custer. The KOA itself was very peaceful and quiet despite all the activity.
Jul 19, 2017
It was very hot and our camping cabin did not have air conditioning. I requested a fan and at first I wasn't sure they took me seriously.I assured them I was serious. Later they delivered a fan to our cabin. The office, store, and sink for doing dishes were all close to our cabin.
Jul 19, 2017
What a fun time we had.
Jul 18, 2017
The cabin was cozy and the bathrooms were clean and very nice! Great place to stay. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 18, 2017
Site not level.
Jul 17, 2017
Very clean, informative and helpful staff. Thank You!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
They need more 50amp sites.
Jul 17, 2017
The workers were very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 17, 2017
Our family has always camped on BLM, or at state parks. This was our first KOA experience. It was very family friendly, clean and reasonably priced. We would visit a KOA again.
Jul 16, 2017
Was able to buy things we forgot including food.
Jul 16, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff
Jul 16, 2017
The Location Was Great But Campground Offered No Activities And Had Little Amenities To offer. Customer service was adequate but people in our group had a poor experience with front desk. We wouldn't come back especially since the camp next door is less money with an a LA care pool slide.
Jul 16, 2017
Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Escorted us to site. Tight u-turn to get to site with toad.
Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful place in the Black Hills.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award