Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
When we checked in we were told we had an excellent tent site. I wish we had gone back and asked for a refund: site was either gravel covered, under the firepit, or sloping. My family and I rolled downhill all night. We had no hook ups, I wish we had stayed at Wind Cave and saved the extra money.
Jul 24, 2015
The staff was super friendly and helpful. The RV sites were very tight and the pool looked like it needed to be power washed.
Jul 24, 2015
We all had a blast on the jumping pillow! The pool was warm and the staff was friendliest ever!!! CLEAN A++++++
Jul 24, 2015
Site we had for our trailer was very sloped side to side so was hard to level. Insufficient toilets showers for number of campers. People are nice. Cooked breakfast was great ($).
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Well stocked store.
Jul 24, 2015
It was a quick overnighter, but the camp grounds were well maintained and the cabins looked nice!
Jul 24, 2015
My family really enjoyed staying here. The grounds were kept clean. We loved all the bunnies. Our one mistake was not booking early enough to get all 3 nights and we stayed at the Palmer Gulch KOA and we're highly disappointed and wished we were back at the Custer KOA. Thank you!
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed this KOA. The staff were the friendliest by far of all the KOAs we have encountered. We especially enjoyed the staff member working the desk when we checked in. Didn't catch his name (although he did say it), but he had a beard and wore a cowboy hat. He was so warm and inviting and took the time to tell us about places in the area.
Jul 23, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great; close to major venues. Quiet. Only complaint is that some sites have a very small space in front of the camper. One night we're unable to make a fire 'cause the slideout of the camper in front of us was too close to the fire pit. Yet, we felt this was the fault of the way the camper was parked in there, not KOA. Had a great time; would stay again
Jul 23, 2015
On the important plus side, All the KOA people were very nice. The laundry facility was very clean too! We travel in an RV and usually noise isn't a factor but this time it did bother me. Our site was close to the front of the campground and there was wood sawing, meal preparation and just about everything had to pass us. Not the campground's fault but it wasn't a comfortable site to be in.
Jul 23, 2015
The facilities are nice and well maintained. Everyone was friendly enough at check in. Howver, I was sold 3 bundles of fwood that was too wet to burn. They would not give a refund even for the 2 unopened bundles. In the morning they offered no unsweetend milk or creamer for the corffee. So in addition to the price of the coffee, I had to pay for a container of milk just to put some in my coffee
Jul 23, 2015
We enjoy the peace and quite relaxed atmosphpfulere friendly people john and Cathy are real helpful and friendly always
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed having hosts Alan and Lou for neighbors. They were very helpful
Jul 22, 2015
Great place and friendly staff.
Jul 22, 2015
Was very impressed. The cabin was very clean and really nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. Would stay there again!
Jul 22, 2015
This was our first KOA experience. We had a wonderful stay and were very impressed with the staff and the campground. We loved Billy the cook. He took such great care of our family and was so warm and friendly. The kids had a ball on the jumping pillow and the bathrooms were clean and awesome! Great location to hit many sites and activities in the area. We are already planning to return.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the campground. One night and felt very welcome. Thank you
Jul 22, 2015
Breakfast good. Campsite big.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
This was our first KOA experience, and it was wonderful! The staff was so friendly and welcoming (so were the bunnies!) and Billy made a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be back to this awesome campsite!
Jul 21, 2015
This was our 1st stay at a KOA and it was perfect! We were welcomed with a smile, cabin and showers were clean, and the staff was incredibly welcoming. We will stay again without a doubt!
Jul 21, 2015
Well kept and the staff was so friendly!
Jul 20, 2015
Very enjoyable camp. Great setting.
Jul 20, 2015
Perfect in every way! Chuck wagon was great! Pool a little small.
Jul 20, 2015
sites could be more level
Jul 20, 2015
Clean, good activities for kids, nice to have wood for fires
Jul 20, 2015
We loved our cabin, showers and restrooms. Our breakfast was good too.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay, all staff vety helpful and friendly . Our kids loved biking around the property and exploring all the activities. Very clean.
Jul 20, 2015
Friendly staff. Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often. My daughter loved the bounce pillow.
Jul 20, 2015
Fun, restful, and beautiful there are many more pleasant words I could use to express my complete satisfaction. Thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I was extremely impressed with the facilities and, especially, the employees! The gentleman with the hat (I never did catch his name) was extremely friendly and always had a big smile on. We will definitely stay here again.
Jul 20, 2015
People were friendly, the staff was incredibly helpful, but the layout was a little confusing
Jul 20, 2015
Very clean. Everybody was very friendly. We stayed in a Kabin and it was roomy and cozy.
Jul 19, 2015
On check-in we were welcomed as if we were family. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Campgrounds clean, all necessities available. Thank-you for a great holiday.
Jul 19, 2015
nice people had a great time
Jul 19, 2015
Bathroom facilities in sad shape. Was there 5 days no repairs. Laundry room washer problems. They said they knew no repairs. Table pads not level made cooking difficult. Not a good value for the $$$.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff!! The bunnies entertained my child all week! Would stay again if we come back that way
Jul 19, 2015
Awesome staff and facility. Will definitely come back to this one.
Jul 19, 2015
My grandson loved all the extra activities you had for him. The inexpensive breakfast in the morning was also very good. The only thing that would have made my stay better is if you had bathrooms inside your cabins. It makes traveling with opposite gender children easier as you don't have to send them into public showers alone. Your staff was awesome.
Jul 19, 2015
The place was great. The roads were not clearly marked for which was up and which was a down lane. It was very confusing for us with narrow lanes to move large vehicles.
Jul 19, 2015
no cable.. no over air antenna reception

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cable is not available to the area in which we are located. Over the air TV is totally out of our control due to the mountains. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with an enthusiastic chef!
Jul 18, 2015
Great place to stay,grandkids love the jump pillow
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Our delux cabin was great except some of the lights didn't work. The public bathrooms/showers were awesome and everything was really clean. We did not like that the playground was far away from all the campsites and near vehicle traffic and no pool
Jul 18, 2015
Food was to pricy.
Jul 17, 2015
love the location, just far enough away from town, but convient to anything you need, so friendly and helpful like the two bath and shower area's
Jul 17, 2015
The bathrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. We would have liked to have had an option of a cabin with a bathroom in it but they are not available at this campground. Also our cabin did not have an air conditioner which would have been miserable if it would have been hot. The kids loved the time rabbits and jumping on the blob! Also do not use your GPS to find this Campground

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.