Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff. RV sites are a little tight, buy easy to level. The "pet" rabbits were good entertainment for my grandson. Only negative is the fire pit was right out the front door and the fire wood was too green to burn. I would stay at this KOA again, but would check the dates to make sure it wasn't the same time as the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.
Aug 08, 2017
Enjoyed our stay! We loved the spot we were in! It was quiet and everyone around us were friendly! Staff was very accommodating to our needs!
Aug 08, 2017
This KOA could use some major upgradeing compared to other KOA camp sites. It is very rocky and no grass anywhere around any of the sites. The shower and washroom area at the main building is far better then the stand alone one in the middle of the grounds. The raised tent site pads were a huge plus considering the huge storm that came through creating a river of water through the site. Well treed
Aug 08, 2017
Our site was a bit on the hill...otherwise a nice place, friendly and a great fenced dog run!
Aug 07, 2017
We had the best time. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast Thursday to Monday. Very clean.
Aug 07, 2017
It does not have as many amenities as Palmer Gulch KOA or the spaciousness the Devil's Tower KOA. However, the staff is very friendly and the facilities are very clean and nice. It is also very close to some major attractions including Custer State Park, Jewel Cave, Crazy Horse, as well as others. Would stay here again.
Aug 07, 2017
The bathroom tile work was beautiful. However, there were only two showers so you had to plan accordingly. The campground is in process of updating so I am sure the sites will be great when done.
Aug 07, 2017
Got there late and were pleased that they had everything ready for us. Good breakfast
Aug 07, 2017
After a long day of driving we were greeted by welcoming attitudes by all the staff when we checked in and found our cabin to be clean and perfect for our nights stop on our trip. Our grandchildren got to enjoy the large jump pillow and work off a lot of pent up energy.
Aug 06, 2017
Very friendly and clean. It is gravel , not really motorcycle friendly, just got to take slow.
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
We stayed in one of the cabins and were very pleased with how comfortable it was even though the outside temperature varied from hot to very cool. Beds were very comfortable, too. Showers/bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The friendly staff also served an excellent breakfast each morning. Could not have asked for anything more in a campground.
Aug 05, 2017
Fabulous staff, clean bathrooms, lots of wildlife. Hot breakfast for sale, really yummy. We're coming back!
Aug 04, 2017
Nice quiet location. Host at check in extremely nice and guide that parked us was too.
Aug 03, 2017
After a heavy rain the crew was out there making repairs on the roads around the campground. Kudos to the workers!!
Aug 02, 2017
We stayed a week and made this our base camp for multiple day excursions. By far, the friendliest and cleanest KOA we've experienced! The cabin was clean and in great shape. The facilities were modern and always kept up. The pool and moon jump were enjoyed by the kids daily. We'll definitely come back!
Aug 02, 2017
Very clean and neat! The whole family loved it!
Aug 02, 2017
Nice park and great people. Park is undergoing some improvements. Not really big rig friendly yet.
Aug 02, 2017
Enjoyed it. Thought the cabins were overall great. Pool is a little small and water should be heated. Loved having an overhead fan. Wish you would be more flexible about a late check out especially when the campground is not all that busy. Like that you had a breakfast option. Consider having a mini fridge in each cabin.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice park in a good area. The club house was good and so was the breakfast. I liked that we booked a tour of Custer Park there and was picked up and returned to our RV.
Aug 01, 2017
they are really clean and very pet friendly
Aug 01, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins and bathrooms. Family friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathroom was clean. Kamping Kabins were clean. Park nicely equipped with area to wash dishes. Pool looked nice. They have a jumpy pad for kids. Located near Custer and Custer State Park. No highway noise. Staff friendly and accommodated our needs.
Aug 01, 2017
Great Place. Great People
Aug 01, 2017
This was a great KOA. Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable on the area. We would go back here again
Jul 31, 2017
The wifi was horrible, and the campground was under construction. But the pool was nice and the bathrooms were clean
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice and helpful. They know the area very well and gave recommendations that we took and had a great vacation. Park was very quiet at night. Seen a lot of bunnies and deer at dusk. Great people that work their. Loved having the wifi and full hook up.As like all KOAs the camp sites are very close but they set us up in a perfect spot with our family when I booked. Thanks!!
Jul 31, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was outstanding especially Darrell who helped us out with an issue we had. The tour that was offered was outstanding!!!
Jul 31, 2017
To loud and not very clean for young families with kids.
Jul 31, 2017
Had a great time, small and clean perfect for a family vacation!
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome KOA to stay at! Everything about was awesome. Showers and bethrooms where very nice and looked pretty knew. The staff where always friendly and the location is great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
My son really enjoyed the kid friendly activities at this site. The cabins were clean and spacious.
Jul 30, 2017
Great location, great staff, and clean environment. Was an awesome place to be able to see the local sights and have a spacious cabin site to come back to.
Jul 30, 2017
All info was present for a late check in which I appreciate, but the chuck wagon/cook is regularly not there 2 days a week. This is one of the reasons we booked was for this convenience. The website should state this. Disappointing b/c we had hungry kids in the morning with no packed food. Going to a restaurant in town is just not that easy when you're trying to enjoy the morning and then pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our website and directory both state that breakfast is served on "weekends".
Jul 29, 2017
It was ok
Jul 28, 2017
Facilities were nice, but campground lay out is awful. Tent sites are at the bottom of hills so when it rained our tent was flooded.
Jul 28, 2017
Very clean bathrooms, great access to many attractions and very nice staff.
Jul 28, 2017
Very impressed with facilities and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 28, 2017
The staff was very nice and helpful. The showers and toilet areas need some TLC and upgrading. the laundry facilities could also use some upgrades, such as, painting cleaning and brighter lighting.
Jul 28, 2017
greAT
Jul 28, 2017
Its good for the price, we were on a slope so you slept down hill and the sewer hook up arent as ideal we were lucky we didnt have someone next to us but felt bad for the ones behind us cause our sewer hook up was about a foot from their picnic table if they wanted to eat outside, Its also not close to Mt Rushmore about 30 miles away and you can't evensee it from this campground so dont be mislead
Jul 28, 2017
Great location for seeing all the National Parks and Monuments. Very convenient to Custer, SD. Kind attention by the KOA staff; they offered a 50-39 amp converter on our arrival without hesitation. Great attention to detail and campground is clean with level, gravel sites.
Jul 28, 2017
Need a bigger doggie play area and spaces should be more level
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient to area attractions. VERY clean and nice restroom with ceramic tile throughout! We had an awesome time and loved our cabin!
Jul 27, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award