Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 11, 2017
Tonette & David were great hosts. They provided good information on what to see and do in the area in a very warm & friendly manner.
Jun 11, 2017
Such a terrific place! Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do with kids and the staff was outstanding to interact with! My daughter lived horseback riding, our whole family enjoyed the pool time, movie, and more!
Jun 11, 2017
We had a great experience! The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities were great.
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about my stay is the fact that they charged me $12 more when I checked in because they have me a campsite that was only for 2 people & I had 3 people. I specifically told them there would be 3 people when I made the reservation. They should've given me a campsite built for 3 people. I was told a specific amount when I made the reservation. I should only be charged that

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You made your reservation on line and did not speak with anyone here at the campground. You entered two individuals and arrived with three. This is in no way the fault of the campground. Safe travels
Jun 09, 2017
Awesome time awesome people
Jun 09, 2017
Debbie is the best
Jun 09, 2017
Truly outstanding. Easy in/ out. Very level. Nice, helpful staff. Near Custer and the tourist things to see. We stayed several days & took excellent Golden Circle tour.
Jun 08, 2017
Cabin was very comfortable and the report was clean. Everyone was very friendly. The location was very convenient to all the area parks and attractions.
Jun 08, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
I loved the shower space and easy late check in
Jun 07, 2017
We have stayed here previously and will be back again.
Jun 06, 2017
great Camping ground and very friendly staff
Jun 06, 2017
Great staff in the office. Ate their breakfast first day and was glad we did. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed more. Next time for sure.
Jun 06, 2017
Amazingly friendly staff from the front desk to the maintenance staff! Cabin and showers were clean and updated! Campground very quiet and relaxed which is what is needed after a day of fun in the Black Hills.
Jun 05, 2017
Super clean restroom & showers. Friendly, helpful people. Clean cabin. The entire campground was clean.. The experience was EXCELLENT. We will see you again next year. Thank you for a pleasant stay. I never realized a camping cabin could be so much fun! Wish I could give more stars.
Jun 05, 2017
Comfortable and convenient. Great hosts. Very helpful and even assisted with vehicle problems. Thanks Chuck! Will definitely return.
Jun 04, 2017
Clean restrooms, very friendly and helpful staff. We only spent one night and enjoyed the quiet and peaceful surroundings, this is a family camp and appears secure
Jun 03, 2017
awesome folks working here and the area was well maintained!
Jun 02, 2017
Great place, nice clean amenities. We loved it and could not fault.
Jun 01, 2017
May 30, 2017
Our stay there was fantastic! The staff, starting with Jim, was as helpful, friendly and accommodating as could be. The site was very clean and beautiful. This was a great central location for a wide range of local activities. I would give this place six out of five stars,
May 30, 2017
We had a great stay. The owners were very friendly. Nice campground.
May 30, 2017
Stay was OK. Had better water pressure than KOA in Moab. Space wasn't very level but for a two day stay I put up with it.
May 30, 2017
The surrounding campgrounds have many more amenities. This campground was very messy and not well maintained. Disappointing
May 29, 2017
Best camping. Restrooms and showers very clean.
May 28, 2017
Other than a slight foul up in reserved facilities, this was an absolutely wonderful stay. Of all the KOAs we've stayed at, the uniqueness of the Custer KOA, the staff and the facility itself were much more than we expected.
May 27, 2017
The bathrooms were very clean and warm! The staff was very friendly. Overall it was great experience!
May 26, 2017
Friendly staff and nice facilities. View was something less than desirable.
May 26, 2017
Incredible facility! Very clean and so convenient to Mt. Rushmore.
May 25, 2017
Lovely setting, clean facilities, very cheerful and helpful staff. Location is perfect for Jewel Cave, Mt Rushmore and playing in the Black Hills. All the services you need are in Custer just 3 miles down the road. 👍
May 24, 2017
too short.
May 23, 2017
Nice quiet park with nice CLEAN bathrooms/showers. Our only fault was bathrooms weren't well enough heated for the time of year (mid-May)
May 23, 2017
Excellent!
May 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Good location. Liked Custer better than Keystone. Excellent camp store. Staff member showed us to our site even after hours.
May 21, 2017
enjoyed that we were in a full hookup, but seemed more like a campground in the trees. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2017
So very clean and neat! Level spots with plenty of room to get in and out. Bathrooms were spotless, We both had to use the showers every day because the shower head in my trailer was broken. Every time I used the showers, they were clean! We loved the trees and we also loved how close this KOA was to everything! Everyone who worked here was pleasant and nice. Definitely coming back.
May 20, 2017
Friendly staff including the bunnies! Clean hot showers!
May 18, 2017
The place was great. Very nice staff.
May 18, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly place to stay. Manager, Debi, is the best!
May 17, 2017
Ya'll worked hard on the internet and we thank you.
May 17, 2017
Awesome staff and place. We will return.
May 17, 2017
Had a great time! We did get rained out one night from our tent and had to stay in a hotel for the night. I had just mentioned about getting rained out to the staff as we checked out to head home and they refunded us for that night. Vary nice of them to do that.
May 17, 2017
May 16, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff! Clean bathrooms, showers. Well kept grounds. Store has everything you could need. Near attractions and parks.
May 15, 2017
Very friendly, very quite and and wonderful plscr to stay!
May 15, 2017
The staff is friendly, the bathrooms are so nice & clean. With the bathrooms being so close to the road, it's nice to feel safe with a locking key code bathroom door. It's also nice to come into a cabin & not have to clean all the spiderwebs out before staying in it. Will be back again.
May 09, 2017
The people in the rececption where very kindfull and helpfull!!! There was no WiFI on the backside campsites
Oct 23, 2016
Very nice campground with plenty of trees! Sits back off the highway and is a perfect location to see many attractions, such as Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer National Park and the wild horses in Hot Springs. Very nice laundromat and super clean restrooms. ❤️
Oct 22, 2016
It was a nice campground with rabbits and deer. Could use a larger waste basket. Not fond of bathroom codes. When we needed ice it was unavailable at store. The cabin could use more hooks.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award