Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2012
Camping cabin was very clean, as were the bathrooms. The older set does need some updates to the showers and toilet facilities. The woman working the desk was VERY pleasant and helpful. The man working the desk...not so much. The campground was very clean and well groomed.
Sep 15, 2012
Wish they had cable.
Sep 14, 2012
Sep 14, 2012
Enjoyable.
Sep 14, 2012
The wife and I have just started RVing, and we have never tried any other place than KOA's, and honestly, I don't think we will. This KOA as well as all the others we have been to have been super friendly, helpfull, and just plain great!!!
Sep 11, 2012
Nice camp ground, fair price. We had poor water pressure (28 pounds), the lowest we have seen in any RV park.
Sep 11, 2012
very accommodating - nice people. Very willing to please and assist with any questions
Sep 08, 2012
Sep 07, 2012
If "dog park" was actually enclosed with chain link or 2-inch square wire instead of just using 3-strands of smooth wire, I would rate this campground higher; If sites also, were "level", I would rate it even higher
Sep 07, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
had a great time - camp was very clean and friendly. Kids had a ball on the giant pillow.
Sep 05, 2012
The staff was friendly, grounds were clean, it was nice and quiet
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Loved the screens on the kamping kabin! The curtains were very cute as well. Also loved the ledge in the ladies bathroom- perfect for setting my stuff w/out it getting wet.
Sep 04, 2012
This was our first family camping trip, my husband and I went a lot while growing, now it was our turn to teach our little boys (3 and 1yrs old) fun about camping!! We really enjoyed our stay!
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Sep 02, 2012
Sep 01, 2012
On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities left a lot to be desired. -The pool maintenance was lacking. -No cable TV available. Owner stated that with the strong wifi signal, most people used Netflix to watch TV. We do not subscribe to such a service, and the wifi signal strength was so weak that it would barely support text messages, let alone streaming video.
Aug 31, 2012
Thanks
Aug 30, 2012
Aug 30, 2012
We went 2 hours out of our way because the woman who answered phone did not know the directions to get us there and sent us the opposite direction using up more fuel. It was very upsetting.
Aug 28, 2012
Nice people-no cable TV. Campground next door was nicer w/cable. We spent 4 nights there.Traveling with teen-kids-needed cable.
Aug 27, 2012
Was a little old and run down especially the bathrooms.
Aug 27, 2012
Friendly staff. Very accommodating to our large family.
Aug 26, 2012
Nice place to stay . Host are helpful. Clean well kept campground. Will stay again.
Aug 26, 2012
It was clean and the device was great!!
Aug 26, 2012
Big huge dog area !!!!!!! Friendly staff, clean facilities
Aug 26, 2012
I was such a nice campground and a wonderful location for us.
Aug 25, 2012
Aug 25, 2012
very good people working there
Aug 25, 2012
Close enough to mt Rushmore that it won't borer you to drive the 20 mins and save 50% on prices over the Koa that is right there on mt. Rushmore. The only complaint is we have a very big 8 man tent which is rectangular and they have these raised square boxes for tent sites and our tent went way over the raised box. Also, the ground here is really hard to push stakes so make sure you have amallet
Aug 24, 2012
pers are welcome , the site is clean but very small ,,i had to parck my truck on the street ,
Aug 23, 2012
Great burgers off the grill friendly staff
Aug 22, 2012
The facilities were well kept and excellent staff. They were always pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast's were great too and especially convenient since we were in a group of 10. Top rating for this place.
Aug 22, 2012
Aug 22, 2012
The site was clean, the people were fantastic! There is NOTHING we could suggest to make this a better place to stay!! Again--fantastic staff :)
Aug 22, 2012
great place, nice hosts
Aug 22, 2012
Very clean, and very friendly staff.
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
Great place to stay staff was very helpful and nice. Recommended to friends and family.
Aug 19, 2012
Aug 19, 2012
The only suggestion I would make, which I mentioned when I turned in my key, is that my cabin was directly next to a very bright outside light and the thin curtains in the cabin are not enough to darken the cabin. A dark/black liner needs to be added to back window curtains. Thank you, Deborah
Aug 19, 2012
A good stay, staff was very helpful & friendly
Aug 18, 2012
Nice campground. WiFi was excellent but no TV reception at all. Needs cable if cannot get over the air TV.
Aug 17, 2012
Great staff and very clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.