Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
We stayed in the Kamping Kabin which was very nice for us except that we would have liked to have had a flatter spot to pull up to the cabin. It was uphill on the gravel road; the tricky part was to pull out and DOWN the hill, making a quick right hand turn on the gravel. Also, the night we arrived, some adolescent boys trashed the mens room so badly my husband would not use the showers.
Jul 27, 2015
We had an excellent time at this Koa. The facilities were always impeccably clean and beautiful. We enjoyed using the pool and the breakfast chuck wagon was great. This was a very quite campground during our stay. Highly recommended
Jul 27, 2015
The best thing here is the staff! Very helpful and authentically warm!
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice campground and centrally located to all that The Black Hills has to offer. The site was fine but not quite the wooded and semi-secluded site we saw offered online. Very friendly staff, nice pool, & a great jumping pillow for everyone's enjoyment.
Jul 27, 2015
Is what it is. The staff are very friendly and the facilities are kept clean. Fun for the kids. The problem is being packed in like cattle. Not my idea of camping
Jul 27, 2015
Great campground. Nice people! Love KOA
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were great for the kids when we were there and it was an excellent launching point for the sites nearby.
Jul 26, 2015
The campground itself was great. The road (16) was very noisy. Not the best for a "peace and quiet" camping trip. But overall, it was good.
Jul 26, 2015
Allen was awesome making Sure we had a great time
Jul 26, 2015
Stay was OK -- site a bit tight front to back for even my little 23 ft trailer
Jul 25, 2015
Ok. I think the only thing we didn't like is that the tent area was on a hard surface. Level, but hard. We were able to be upgraded to a site with an electrical hookup; being able to charge our cell phones was nice. Staff was very nice.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
We had a great time! Great large site #50 (which actually includes #49 as there's electrical post there). Very helpful friendly staff! Especially Alan -he went over & above to make our stay perfect.
Jul 25, 2015
Friendly staff, the facility was very clean. Good location.
Jul 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful! Would stay here again!
Jul 25, 2015
When we checked in we were told we had an excellent tent site. I wish we had gone back and asked for a refund: site was either gravel covered, under the firepit, or sloping. My family and I rolled downhill all night. We had no hook ups, I wish we had stayed at Wind Cave and saved the extra money.
Jul 24, 2015
The staff was super friendly and helpful. The RV sites were very tight and the pool looked like it needed to be power washed.
Jul 24, 2015
We all had a blast on the jumping pillow! The pool was warm and the staff was friendliest ever!!! CLEAN A++++++
Jul 24, 2015
Site we had for our trailer was very sloped side to side so was hard to level. Insufficient toilets showers for number of campers. People are nice. Cooked breakfast was great ($).
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Well stocked store.
Jul 24, 2015
It was a quick overnighter, but the camp grounds were well maintained and the cabins looked nice!
Jul 24, 2015
My family really enjoyed staying here. The grounds were kept clean. We loved all the bunnies. Our one mistake was not booking early enough to get all 3 nights and we stayed at the Palmer Gulch KOA and we're highly disappointed and wished we were back at the Custer KOA. Thank you!
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed this KOA. The staff were the friendliest by far of all the KOAs we have encountered. We especially enjoyed the staff member working the desk when we checked in. Didn't catch his name (although he did say it), but he had a beard and wore a cowboy hat. He was so warm and inviting and took the time to tell us about places in the area.
Jul 23, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great; close to major venues. Quiet. Only complaint is that some sites have a very small space in front of the camper. One night we're unable to make a fire 'cause the slideout of the camper in front of us was too close to the fire pit. Yet, we felt this was the fault of the way the camper was parked in there, not KOA. Had a great time; would stay again
Jul 23, 2015
On the important plus side, All the KOA people were very nice. The laundry facility was very clean too! We travel in an RV and usually noise isn't a factor but this time it did bother me. Our site was close to the front of the campground and there was wood sawing, meal preparation and just about everything had to pass us. Not the campground's fault but it wasn't a comfortable site to be in.
Jul 23, 2015
The facilities are nice and well maintained. Everyone was friendly enough at check in. Howver, I was sold 3 bundles of fwood that was too wet to burn. They would not give a refund even for the 2 unopened bundles. In the morning they offered no unsweetend milk or creamer for the corffee. So in addition to the price of the coffee, I had to pay for a container of milk just to put some in my coffee
Jul 23, 2015
We enjoy the peace and quite relaxed atmosphpfulere friendly people john and Cathy are real helpful and friendly always
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed having hosts Alan and Lou for neighbors. They were very helpful
Jul 22, 2015
Great place and friendly staff.
Jul 22, 2015
Was very impressed. The cabin was very clean and really nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. Would stay there again!
Jul 22, 2015
This was our first KOA experience. We had a wonderful stay and were very impressed with the staff and the campground. We loved Billy the cook. He took such great care of our family and was so warm and friendly. The kids had a ball on the jumping pillow and the bathrooms were clean and awesome! Great location to hit many sites and activities in the area. We are already planning to return.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the campground. One night and felt very welcome. Thank you
Jul 22, 2015
Breakfast good. Campsite big.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
This was our first KOA experience, and it was wonderful! The staff was so friendly and welcoming (so were the bunnies!) and Billy made a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be back to this awesome campsite!
Jul 21, 2015
This was our 1st stay at a KOA and it was perfect! We were welcomed with a smile, cabin and showers were clean, and the staff was incredibly welcoming. We will stay again without a doubt!
Jul 21, 2015
Well kept and the staff was so friendly!
Jul 20, 2015
Very enjoyable camp. Great setting.
Jul 20, 2015
Perfect in every way! Chuck wagon was great! Pool a little small.
Jul 20, 2015
sites could be more level
Jul 20, 2015
Clean, good activities for kids, nice to have wood for fires
Jul 20, 2015
We loved our cabin, showers and restrooms. Our breakfast was good too.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay, all staff vety helpful and friendly . Our kids loved biking around the property and exploring all the activities. Very clean.
Jul 20, 2015
Friendly staff. Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often. My daughter loved the bounce pillow.
Jul 20, 2015
Fun, restful, and beautiful there are many more pleasant words I could use to express my complete satisfaction. Thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I was extremely impressed with the facilities and, especially, the employees! The gentleman with the hat (I never did catch his name) was extremely friendly and always had a big smile on. We will definitely stay here again.
Jul 20, 2015
People were friendly, the staff was incredibly helpful, but the layout was a little confusing
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award