Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant
Sep 16, 2013
Extremely friendly with a wifi that works
Sep 15, 2013
Did not really spend time at campground. Kabin was nice and personal very nice as well.
Sep 15, 2013
Sites were unlevel and very close.
Sep 15, 2013
Wonderful facility. Will return.
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
People were friendly, campground was clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 12, 2013
A very nice and quiet KOA with a helpfull staff. Close to all the interesting attractions.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Dissappointed to find that our stay coincided with Sturgis Wk - the entire area was overrun with motorcycles. Very difficult to do any sightseeing in the area due to thousands of bikes on the roads. When making our reservation we were given no warning about Sturgis Wk. Left a night early because of all the noise & chaos from bikers; refused to refund our fee for the night we didn't stay.
Sep 11, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location, and clean Kabins. Stayed one night, would have loved to stay for breakfast the next day, but had to move on down the road. Would definitely stay there again!
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 09, 2013
Great shower facility. We were plced in a site #28 that was next to a dump which hurt any view and the site also did not allow for us to utilize the spot outside of the main door and under the awning due to a hill. Finally we were place right next to another camper which did not make sence, since there were many open spots. with only one night we did not ask to re-locate.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
the sites could be a little more level, but all in all pretty nice place
Sep 07, 2013
The facility was fine, but the staff was less helpful and many of the amenities were extra. We felt 'nickled and dimed'.
Sep 06, 2013
Great Weekend U all were very helpful.
Sep 05, 2013
The staff was great especially Debi! We stayed in one of the 2 room cabins with our two kids ages 6 and 8 and they loved it. Normally we camp in the woods, but with all the activities in the Black Hills, we wanted the convenience of the cabin and showers. I would definitely stay in one of these cabins again, next time we're in the Black Hills. Thanks Custer KOA!
Sep 04, 2013
NOT DOG FRIENDLY. wifi doesn't work. Was kicked out at 8am bc of breed of dog, they didn't even see our dog. Charged me full amount for staying 6 hrs and not even hooking up. Place sucks!!!!
Sep 04, 2013
Terrible two nights. We tented in Site 8. It's right next to the Kamping Kabins and apparently the 2nd and 3rd Kabins from the left behind the pool decided to stay up and drink and talk very loudly. Tent sites should be away from lights and non-tenters. Enforce quiet hours after 10pm. I know this is a chance encounter, but all it takes is once. I'll look elsewhere next time.
Sep 04, 2013
The Custer/Mt. Rushmore KOA is one of our favorites. It's location in the cool pines makes it a great escape destination. The campsites we get for our pop-up tent trailer are usually well-shaded and large enough not to feel crowded. The staff is always friendly; the bathrooms are clean and conveniently located; and the summertime breakfasts are great!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We've stayed at KOAs before but never in a cabin. We needed affordable accommodatins for a wedding weekend and the Custer KOA was a great choice. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The facilities are well kept and the staff was beyond friendly and accommodating. I would stay again without hesitation and recommend it to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Surprisingly clean. Helpful staff. My wife was hoping the Kabins had A/C. More expensive than I was expecting, but no more than other sites in the area.
Sep 03, 2013
Great pool, jumper for kids. Nice trees. Really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
very accomadating...pleasant folks and friendly....good service....a well run campground
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
although there was a cabin open on the other side, we were sandwiched in between two cabins with small children. why wouldn't you leave a cabin free between families unless you absolutely have to fill it? these folks aren't interested in thinking about the age of the people renting their cabins and/or spacing people if at all possible. these cabins are close together. don't stay here.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Great folks run this campground and the rabbits provide hours of entertainment!
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Very helpful staff and msde some good suggestions on what to see in the area.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Management and staff were great! Very accommodating and friendly. Campsites and facilities were well maintained. Very enjoyable visit and close to many attractions. Will stay here again.
Aug 30, 2013
Great, some highway noise, but not terrible. Great cook, clean facilities!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
The main complaint I have is the location and that it was not "advertised" as to where it was. What helped us was our "RV" GPS.
Aug 27, 2013
Pleasant staff. Friendly and helpful. Sites are not level. Fire pits consist of rocks in a cirlce. Campground is "rustic" If you are a a "high class" RV'er or have a Big Rig you will not want to stay at this campground.
Aug 27, 2013
Clean level sites, close to all the attractions, Staff was fantastic!!!!
Aug 26, 2013
Great staff, super clean, many family friendly activities, and close to everything! We loves everything at the KOA so much we hardly wanted to leave to see or do anything else! Our kids loved the jumping pillow & pool. We will be back for sure!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
The sites are nice. No enclosed Pet Area so pets can run loose after being in your vehicle all day.Breakfast was very good. Lady at front desk needed to get wireless mic. for phone off. Always there and would be talking to people while waiting on you. Went into store to ask for help, the phone rang and she said I would have to wait. Waited almost 10 minutes while she was on the phone.
Aug 25, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.