Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
Great environment. Far enough away from the tourist towns to enjoy.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Nice park. Very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. Nice proximity to all the sites.
Jul 22, 2013
staff were very friendly and helpful. They knew the area well and were helpful giving directions and telling us about the various attractions in the area. Overall campsite was very clean, washrooms as well were kept clean. We found the campsite location excellent to park and drive to the attractions. The campsite was also very quiet.
Jul 22, 2013
My son loved it there! He made friends everyday & loved the bounce pillow. The cabin was great! Just wish the coffee was free :)
Jul 22, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.? The owners etc were very friendly and helpful. Only thing I would like to see different is that the camper next to us was so close.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The camp was very clean and staff all friendly. The pool was small but nice for the kids, jumping pillow was also great for the kids! quiet, relaxed atmosphere :)
Jul 21, 2013
Really like this kamp. It's a great hub for visiting all the great places in the Black Hills. Food at breakfast filled with unpleasant tastes. WiFi so weak it was useless, and we were in direct line of site with the antena. Mgr said he would reboot routers. If he did it did not help. If you stay here you will love Custer state park. We saw the 1300 strong Buffalo herd. It was fantastic.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Site was not level.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Great location -- beautiful place to stay -- close to Custer, Mount Rushmore, the fantastic Black Hills!
Jul 20, 2013
Great job
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
I loved this KOA. The staff were friendly, the sites were clean and well taken care of, and the bunnies were a lot of fun to watch.
Jul 19, 2013
No cable tv
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Billy is very good with campers!
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was great. I have already recommended this KOA to someone at our latest stop.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Very accommodating. Bathrooms were a little old school. Take flip flops! The Kabin was amazing! Porch swing, nice picnic table, the works!
Jul 18, 2013
Very quiet, pleasant experience in a Pine forest setting. Highly recommend.
Jul 18, 2013
Clean facility, conveniently located. Our RV spot was very close to the next spot.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
GREAT PLACE TO STAY ! FRIENLY PEOPLE , I LIKED THE BREAKFAST AT THE CHUCK WAGON EVERY MORNING! VERY CLEAN!
Jul 17, 2013
Too piled on top of each other. Poor sight. had to lower tongue to ground to make level. Campground clean, as were all facilities. I had people visit us and they tent camped and the rate for their sight was twenty eight bucks. No anything on the sight. Not even grass. Dirt and rocks that's way too high.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Sites were too close together. Closest I've ever seen. Makes it pretty obvious that it's all about the real estate and not visitor comfort. You would have to light a candle and place it in the fire ring for a campfire, anything bigger and somebody's trailer would have been scorched. Other than that it was clean and well maintained.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Our stay was great, and the staff was very helpful, we had some annoying neighbors at the end of our stay but the staff took care of it right away!
Jul 16, 2013
We came in around 11pm after a wedding and were very quietly unpacking and we harassed by the night watchmen. He was very, very rude and didn't even allow us to say goodbye to some out-of-state friends that were leaving. He should seriously be evaluated and spoken to about how he treats customers. We rented two cabins and spent about $150 dollars only to be treated disrespectfully.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

7 complaints from cabin & RV sites were received upon arrival due to noise, racing of engines & autos blocking the roads. One quarter hour after the first encounter with our staff, three more of same complaints were received requiring a second encounter. Unregistered people were then asked to leave.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Staff very welcoming, convenient location with lots of trees. Bathrooms were updated, clean and in good working order. Really nice place to stay!
Jul 16, 2013
The dog park was very nice but it needed to have a chain link type fence to make it we secure for dogs to be off leash. Our picnic table needed a fresh coat of paint. The hosts were wonderful and it was in a perfect location. The swimming pool was a bit small for the park size. The spaces were extremely close together. The park maintenance was a little below KOA standards. Overall it was ok.
Jul 16, 2013
Our cabin had bed bugs and the manager did not offer a refund or discount. My husband and I had to spend $60 to have our clothing and bedding cleaned and to purchase insecticide to prevent getting bed bugs in our home. We were very disappointed in the way we were treated when showing the management the bed bug that was captured in the middle of the night. My sister in law was covered in bites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for your unfortunate experience. The previous guests made no such complaints. The cabin was immediately closed and exterminated. These matters, while unfortunate, are out our control as we do cleaning and visual inspection after each guest's departure to the best of our ability.
Jul 15, 2013
Clean, quiet, activities to keep kids busy. Close to city of Custer.
Jul 15, 2013
quiet hours are not enforced at all. People were up late and up early making a lot of noise. Otherwise everything was Great! Would stay again
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Sites very small, all gravel, lots of road noise. Staff friendly. Shower didn't drain and made me shudder to look down at what was floating around my feet. Packed up in the morning and switched campgrounds after 1 short night.
Jul 15, 2013
not bad I have stayed a better but not bad. to expensive for the quality of the camp site.
Jul 15, 2013
The staff is very eager to please. And the breakfast was great,,,,, pancakes as big as the plate.
Jul 14, 2013
Need to fix wifi pretty much unusable and we were Parker just a few yards from the antena is a problem at all the koa's we visited
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
A wonderful campground near Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. Very clean with a friendly staff and the breakfast grill they have was great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.