Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
Clean campground, cute bunnies roaming around. :) Staff seemed slightly overwhelmed, didn't appreciate the smoking in public areas by the staff. Loved the sign of 4 7/8 MPH but didn't seem that the golf cart managed to stay under that. NO air conditioning in the cabin, no extra fan, two ceiling fans which helped. Needs DARK curtains, not almost sheer, hard for kids to sleep in the morning.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was clean. Kids had a blast! Thanks!
Jul 28, 2014
Nice, clean campground with a great rustic feel. Good location. Great staff! Very friendly. Very clean pool.
Jul 28, 2014
the WiFi needs to be improved. Also there was a very violent thunderstorm warning issue by the national weather srervice and the managers should have notified campers it was coming so hey could prepare
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Stay was just awesome. We lost the crank the cranks up the pop up on our pop up trailer. Ray went out of his way to find us a tool and it helped us get it to go up. I would recommend this campground anyone the staff and the accommodations were awesome. Thank you.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
It's a parking lot. Awning to awning, be prepared to have only a view of your neighbor. A disgrace in such a beautiful area, but this seems to be the norm at most camp sites in black hills. Facility clean and staff nice. Just hated the "parking lot".
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful Thanks
Jul 27, 2014
No issues other than WiFi being unreliable, but that seems to be a running theme across all KOA's we stay at.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Great staff, large sites. Nice place
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay, staff was very helpful. Bath house was very, clean! We will be back :-)
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was fine, except for the hailstorm!
Jul 27, 2014
The staff was GREAT. The sites were not the best and not to level. The roads going thru the camp ground need a lot of work.
Jul 27, 2014
Very friendly people and nice camp area as well as a very nice bath and laundry area
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
WOW! We had a fantastic time. Very friendly staff. My 8 year old son played on the jump pad all day long. He loved it and we can't wait to go back!
Jul 26, 2014
Nice facility, staff extraordinarily helpful. Pull through full hookup but had to drop car.
Jul 26, 2014
Very friendly, well set-up, and very nice campsites and staff. Highly recommend this KOA. Provided a GREAT stay so that we could go to Custer Park and Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 26, 2014
To crowded. Lot was not level. Parking was tight. People were very helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Nice campground though the sites are so close together. Not enough bathroom facilities for all to accommodate all the customers. They have many cabins.
Jul 25, 2014
They were great to work with, we ended up with a situation of not being able to arrive the original night and I called and we switched things easily and ended up there 2 nights. Breakfast was awesome! Great locale for exploring the Black Hills
Jul 25, 2014
I was disappointed with this KOA campground. The RV spots are on top of each other and make parking an extra vehicle or even having a campfire very difficult. The website misrepresents this campground. The pool is very small and always crowded and the jumping pillow is not monitored in any way so the rules are not followed and that makes this toy dangerous for younger participants.
Jul 25, 2014
Very close quarters everyone was very nice though
Jul 24, 2014
Staff super friendly. Clean Rest rooms. Love the tent platorms. I used the r rooms on the hill. Friend used the r room attached to office. said she had trouble seeing the numbers for the combination. Othwerwise everything was great.
Jul 24, 2014
WiFi is bad at tenting area.
Jul 24, 2014
Clean facilities, nice atmosphere. Easy to locate.
Jul 24, 2014
We had a wonderful visit and enjoyed the pool and bouncing pillow. We appreciated the clean bathrooms and the laundry facilities too! Thank you so much for accommodating our family.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Bathrooms were very nice, but need hooks near sink to hang your towel when washing face or shaving (4 stars). Spots were too close together offering no privacy (2 stars). Staff seemed friendly, though I had little interaction with them (4 stars). Grounds were clean and well kept, but really there is nothing to dress them up to make them enjoyable to look at (3 stars)
Jul 23, 2014
Nice KOA, the staff was super nice, the spoy was a little uneven but no big deal. Would stay again. Kids loved the jumping bag. Great value . Thank You.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
While your ammenities are great (bathrooms and jumping area), the smallness of your sites is not. We felt crowded and right on top of our neighbors. Not good planning.
Jul 23, 2014
need a time for adults to be able to use the pool without kids
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Excellent staff, all very friendly and very helpful...best breakfast ever and the largest dog park
Jul 21, 2014
We enjoyed the shaded and spacious campsites and the generous helpings at breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Clean and well organized. Tent site a adequate, fire pit needs a grate so you can cook. Most had them but not our site. Overall good camp.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.