Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Very clean campground, bathrooms are amazing! I probably won't look at a KOA when planning our next trip however because we have 5 children. Your additional charge per child makes it too expensive to stay at a KOA relative to other campgrounds we have stayed at or can stay at.
Aug 17, 2014
The campsite was clean, easily backed into, and the staff was very, very friendly. My wife and I lost track of days and forgot to check out - but the staff held the site for us and charged us the regular rate for the day. They were VERY accommodating and helpful in every way possible. We would stop at the Custer/Mt. Rushmore KOA again, and recommend them highly to any and all.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Debbie is a great host. Starting the day with a breakfast by Billy is awesome.
Aug 16, 2014
Everything was great.Highly recommend staying there.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
We spent 3 days at this site. The staff was the most congenial of the whole week. From great hardwood for fires to the brown bunnies for lazy company, we loved the pool, tether ball, beanbag, jumping pillow, etc. Central to all our day trip destinations. Wonderful!
Aug 16, 2014
The only nice thing to say about this place is the bathrooms were clean and the rabbits are cool. The female staff are rude and snotty,the sites were sloped and they did nothing about noise control night or day. They hike up prices for bike week and if you're not satisfied and leave you won't get a refund. I am a rewards member and have stayed at KOA sites all over the US,this was the worst!
Aug 16, 2014
Very nice, well kept park with lots of shade. Nice people manning the desk.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
the personal was helpful,Restrooms were clean, camp was fun to stay in. EZ in out. Will come back again.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Helpful friendly staff Well maintained and clean grounds Kids loved the bounce pillow
Aug 13, 2014
Friendly staff, everything we needed was there. Stayed in a cabin. This was our second stay at this KOA. You always know what to expect. Really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 13, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. A bit far from Custer to walk but it was nice and quiet. Staff were terrific! Polite and nice. The bathrooms were really nice. One of the best ones so far that we've been to yet!
Aug 13, 2014
well managed kampground
Aug 13, 2014
Great time every thing clean employees or courteous and helpful. Hope to see them in a couple more years. Kenny
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The cabin was outstanding. The staff was always helpful and welcoming. Restrooms and showers were always clean. I will stay here again!
Aug 12, 2014
this campgrounds was great the staff was exceptional very friendly and always willing to help
Aug 12, 2014
We had problems with our 5th wheel as we arrived. Jim, the manager, helped us so much with getting the truck unhooked from the trailer. Thanks to him we were able to enjoy our days in South Dakota. Also, loved the breakfast available every morning. Yum!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
People were friendly and it was nice and clean!
Aug 11, 2014
This was our third year staying with the Custer KOA. We feel quite "at home" staying here, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We have already booked for next year and thorougly enjoyed our stay and look forward to next year!
Aug 11, 2014
My father(70) and i (35) took a motorcycle trip ot west and stayed in a cabin at this KOA. Very comfortable, and the hosts were top notch.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
A Great KOA, we stayed at the site during an extremely busy period and the staff kept it very clean and organized.
Aug 11, 2014
The rate would have been higher if our site was slightly wider. The staff was wonderful and allowed us to have our fire on a tent site across from ours. Breakfast was great, tour was great, but space too small.
Aug 11, 2014
We were stuck in the rain with a tent collapsed. Our host was wonderful and welcoming! Thanks to all for saving our vacation!
Aug 11, 2014
Super friendly desk staff. The cabin was very clean.
Aug 10, 2014
We had a very nice stay. The cabin was very functional and pleasant. The only problem we had was parking our bikes by the cabin because of the terrain. It was steep, unlevel and gravel. This was kind of difficult with heavy touring bikes, especially when packed for travel.
Aug 10, 2014
Good staff and good campground and loved the breakfast served. My only complaint is all the motorcycles but that's not the KOA's fault. Great 2 day stay.
Aug 09, 2014
The people who manage this KOA only care about their guests as long as they are taking money from them. A bad storm came thru the campground one evening when I was away and blew my tent completely off the pad. I had to stay at a motel that night as I could not put it up in the dark. No one offered to help me put it back up the next day, and refused to refund my money for that night. they dont care
Aug 09, 2014
nice clean restrooms just clean all over the camp
Aug 09, 2014
Jim, Debi,and Billie are Great!!! people and they are always very customer focused and wonderful to work with.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was great seeing you all again this year. Thank you for the nice comments. Look forward to your visit in 2015. Have a good and safe year!!
Aug 08, 2014
Best wi fi so far of KOAs. Super sweet hosts made for a great stay. Friendly staff and clean!
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Great people, clean facilities, pretty campground. We enjoyed our stay here!
Aug 06, 2014
the jumping pillow was enjoyed by by niece and grandson
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The employees at Custer KOA were extremely friendly and very helpful!
Aug 05, 2014
All the staff were absolutely fantastic! Our tent site was great and so was the breakfast! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Great camp site and helpful staff. It was clean and close to everything.
Aug 04, 2014
Hosts were really friendly and helpful but the site is on a busy road and in a tent it is not really restful.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We stayed here during our multi-state road trip. So, we were only here for one night. The staff made us feel very welcome and check-in was quick and easy. We really didn't spend much time here, but, from what we could see, the facility was clean and well maintained. It was a short drive to Custer State Park and Mt. Rushmore. We were very pleased!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.