Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
The Custer KOA is in a great location. The staff is very helpful, and the campground itself is has lots of trees, fire rings, etc. It's a very good place to stay when visiting the Black Hills Area.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very friendly, stopped and talked with us often. Facilities were well taken care of and clean.
Jun 29, 2015
The staff was all AMAZING, top-notch, and we loved it. Only complaint: wish the highway noise was blocked a bit.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly, clean & great location! Super nice folks. Enjoyed our stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Looking forward to go back.My first time visiting South Dakota.Great place to stay.Good job!
Jun 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay with you:) Your staff is friendly and helpful (especially Mark and Billy.) We also love your rabbits!! On the down side, the plumbing in the bathrooms seemed to be an issue (especially the men's toilets) and the pool could stand to be cleaned. We loved the jumping pillow and the fact that your store is very affordable compared to other KOAs we have been to. Very nice!!!
Jun 27, 2015
This park was great, the people were the freindliest we have ever met, the employees we very helpful. Would definitely come back.
Jun 27, 2015
We had a great check in experience with Mark the Sombrero Man and his wife Julie. After checking in Mark escorted us to the dump station as we needed to dump from our previous nights stay at another KOA that had a very muddy dump area. We had quiet neighbors and a clean campsite. The hospitality was great from all involved with our stay. The breakfast at the chuckwagon was good as well.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. The giant bouncy pillow was a hit with our 7 and 9 year olds. Great trees for shade.
Jun 27, 2015
Our stay was great. The only complaint would be that the showers were ice cold the morning we left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the shower the morning you left. A break in a hot water line caused the problem, which we had fixed within 3 hours. I hope you return and enjoy the area in the future. Safe Travels. Jim
Jun 26, 2015
Great people, especially Debi at the front desk and Billy the cook. Very down-to-earth crew that made our stay a joy
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice place.
Jun 26, 2015
This thing with the wild rabbits running around is very odd! They were living under the kamper kabins! They are everywhere! The owners encourage it, I think. Rabbits are cute from a distance, but they carry germs and diseases and are not cuddly little playthings. We found it unsanitary and would not stay at this KOA again for that reason. Very strange.
Jun 26, 2015
All the staff at the camp ground are very friendly everything was very clean I will be back to stay again.
Jun 26, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Campground is clean, good location, friendly staff. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice staff, clean facilities and lots for kids to do!
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice people running the place.they make you feel like they've known you for years.will definitely come back
Jun 25, 2015
very nice and great staff. Roomy sights & lots to do
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
My husband had to have an emergency surgical procedure while we were camped here. Your wonderful staff helped me SO MUCH!!!! They found me a hospital to go to & pumped my RV septic while I had to follow the ambulance to a larger hospital for the procedure. They checked in on my daughter & 4 dogs while I was busy caring for my husband. They were SO HELPFUL!!! MUCHO KUDOS!!!!
Jun 24, 2015
Lovely campground, cute cabins, nice and clean bathrooms, very friendly staff, and the kids had a blast with the play area and trampoline- one of our favorite places to stay during our trip!
Jun 24, 2015
We were here with our 6,5, and 1 year olds. The facilities were clean, well-tended, and accessible. EVERY SINGLE ONE of the staff that we encountered was 100% friendly and accommodating. They listened to my 6 and 5 year olds' endless chatter and cheerfully waved back to my toddler when he waved at them Every. Single. Time. they drove by in a golf cart. Awesome stay!
Jun 23, 2015
Great staff. Very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was great. Very clean restrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
Friendly staff! Love the rabbits! Grounds need some TLC, Overpriced breakfast.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
We loved it! Cabin was nice and clean! Staff were friendly and helpful! Wish there were more outdoor activities at this KOA offered. Overall, we WILL stay at KOA again! THANK YOU!
Jun 22, 2015
Great place. People were very friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2015
Great campground, kids LOVED the bouncy pillow, pool is great.
Jun 21, 2015
This site- pull through, full hookups was totally open, no shade at all. It was a very hot and sunny day so quite uncomfortable. The site was quite narrow and barely room for the table and fire ring. We left after an hour and found a better campground in town under the pine trees.
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Excellent hosts - very friendly & helpful - they go above & beyond to help. Loved that the jumping pillow was free. Bathrooms were nice & clean. Only negatives: (1) Tent pads are too small -- should be at least 3" longer on each side; (2) The showers were awful - only 1 worked, the other 2 were too cold or no flow (or both).
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Our 6 night stay at the Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA was simply wonderful. Mr and Mrs Katz are amazing work Kampers and made us more than welcome. I would recommend this Kampground very highly.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Nice people. Sites and roads need gravel and leveling.
Jun 20, 2015
I cant say enough about the friendliness of the staff...Debbi, Jim, Mark, Billy etc...I highly recommend the morning breakfast made by Billy...good food at a good price!! The whole facility is kept nicely and I would definelty stay here again if we are in the area...
Jun 20, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly, helpful staff. Plus a jumping pillow, which might have beat Mt. Rushmore as a highlight for my kids. :-)
Jun 20, 2015
Nice, roads are rough but sites are level.
Jun 19, 2015
Fantastic service. First time I had firewood and Ice offered to be delivered to campsite. Would have been perfect except showers by the office had low water pressure or did not work at all.
Jun 18, 2015
Great visit
Jun 18, 2015
Good location, very friendly staff, DELICIOUS breakfast.
Jun 18, 2015
We were super pleased with our stay. There was enough to do for the kids. It was so clean and the staff was so helpful and kind. We would definitely return.
Jun 18, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and user friendly. All the bunnies a bonus. Again staff were amazing!
Jun 18, 2015
Beautiful area. Loved it.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
The problem I had was with getting the RV level. Even with blocks it wasn't, this is important to me, too bad.
Jun 16, 2015
I loves this place the people were friendly and courteous. The campgrounds were clean and well kept. They also made the children feel welcome by having fun things for them to do. I would recommend this KOA to andyone.
Jun 16, 2015
Very happy with our stay, kids enjoyed the pool and bounce pillow. Would definitely stay here again, everyone was friendly & helpful, the breakfast was delicious.
Jun 15, 2015
Everything was nice and clean, kids had fun and it was close to all the activities. The morning breakfast was great and affordable.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.