Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Excellent staff, all very friendly and very helpful...best breakfast ever and the largest dog park
Jul 21, 2014
We enjoyed the shaded and spacious campsites and the generous helpings at breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Clean and well organized. Tent site a adequate, fire pit needs a grate so you can cook. Most had them but not our site. Overall good camp.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed in a few KOAs on our recent vacation and this was the best. The bathrooms and showers were better than many hotels in which we have stayed. I especially liked the Bibles in the cabins and the breakfast was fantastic! Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff!!
Jul 20, 2014
Excellent facilities, only recommendation is to increase the store offering. Thanks for the memories.
Jul 20, 2014
this is a very good koa we like it very much and will be back someday
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
it was close to town. Close to all places we planned to see. the pool was warm, the pillow pad was a big hit with the kids. friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2014
The was our second stay. Enjoyed it both times. However, they charge for fire wood and Hot Springs KOA (where we are now) doesn 't. No security code on bathrooms like at Custer. But still like Custer. Cooler and quieter. Good breakfast at Custer.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Friendly folks, clean bathrooms and campground. Billy the breakfast cook enhanced our mornings. Resident tame rabbits were a real joy!
Jul 19, 2014
The only problem for us was the utilities were at the front and most people including us, have all the utilities on their RV's in the rear. Had to use all of our electric line 30' to reach the post and add a 30 amp extension to reach the post!
Jul 19, 2014
Great staff, bath/showers, site, lots of fun for kids, awesome breakfast, wonderful experience! We'll be back!!!
Jul 19, 2014
The bathrooms were awesome. Hot showers. Friendly, very very kid friendly. We did not have any kids with us, but saw them having a blast on the jump pillow, or in the pool, or playing on the swings. Our stay was great. Will be back on our next trip threw the area.
Jul 18, 2014
Our 1 room cabin was clean and what we expected, simple and upgrade from a tent. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The bathrooms were very clean and nice. The rabbits are fun to see all over too!
Jul 18, 2014
Nice campground; people are friendly and service oriented. There is no designated dog play area and there seems like there are many options for this to be provided....the only complaint as this is a beautiful region to visit.
Jul 18, 2014
Everyone on staff went above & beyond our best expections!! Super helpful. Larry Field
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
we made reservations for two days. Got a great site. We decided to stay an additional 2 days. The campgroung was full. The KOA manager got on the phone and got us great accomadations at a near by campgroung. She went beyond what she had to do. I will use this KOA when I return to the area
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We were greeted by super friendly staff! The bathrooms are very well kept and there was plenty of fun for the kids. It is an ideal location for going out to see the sites and then return back for some campfire fun!
Jul 17, 2014
Planning a trip already with our adult children and 8 grandchildren for next August. Very family friendly and close to Custer. The folks who ran and worked here at this KOA were very helpful and friendly!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Nice place. My only complaint is that the wifi was so weak. It's important for long-term travelers to have good wifi access to keep all the business at home going.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We truly enjoy staying at KOA's, however, I've yet to find one with a decent Wi-Fi system. Camping really shouldn't be about camping, however, so it's a small thing.
Jul 16, 2014
Best KOA I have ever stayed in. The staff was excellent. We had mechanical issues with our tow vehicle and while we were without it for a couple of days, they made sure we were comfortable, our needs were met, and that our stay remained enjoyable. The owner is fabulous as is the general manger. The facilities are very nice, clean, and easy to access.
Jul 16, 2014
The staff here is very friendly and they make sure there guest have what they need. The area was beautiful. It is located in a great place to see everything you need to see in the area. I would definitely stay there again. My kids loved it there too.
Jul 16, 2014
Loved our stay at the Custer KOA. We arrived late on the first night and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The cabin was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The entire campground was very clean and very well maintained. We also ate at the Chuckwagon one morning for breakfast and really enjoyed it. Overall, was an awesome stay and I look forward to staying there again.
Jul 16, 2014
We had a great stay at the KOA in CusterSD. The staff were very pleasantand helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, great prices, wonderful accommodations and we met a lot of travelers with interesting stories! We will definitely be back!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The staff here went above and beyond to ensure my stay went well! A must return place!!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Enjoyed the stay, really liked the closeness to the showerhouse and laundry. Would definite recommend to others.
Jul 15, 2014
A beautiful, well organized, clean, and quiet campground. One of the best we have ever visited.
Jul 15, 2014
My wife is very particular and I guess, that I did not communicate the need for pillows to her, plus it was difficult for her to share restroom facilities with others. I will need to find more modern facilities for her in the future, so that she can get some rest if there is a next time. Cleanliness was good and the food was plentiful and made good quality. Out door types will do better that wife.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean Kabin and site. It did get quite dusty (cough, cough) when the speed limit was ignored.
Jul 14, 2014
We had one of the best sites in the campground and wish we could have stayed longer, the staff very gracious and honest and helpful. The jumping pad was great and the bathrooms were great. Hope to stay again soon!
Jul 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Nice, level camp site, with good crushed rock base (kept our toes dry with the light rain that night)! Excellent chuckwagon breakfast option, too!
Jul 14, 2014
The camp was OK but not exceptional. I realize not all KOA camps have secure dog areas, but after our experience at the Badlands KOA this one was a little disappointing. The people here were nice, but the overall site seemed a little rundown. The bottom line here is that I would not just automatically go to this camp simply because it is a KOA, but would look around a bit.
Jul 14, 2014
It was wonderful. Very accommodating and clean.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.