Cripple Creek KOA

Open May 25 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-9125

Info: 719-689-5647

Email

2576 County Road 81

PO Box 1689

Cripple Creek, CO 80813

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 26, 2017
Great views, clean, very nice staff!
Jun 26, 2017
Location and facilities are great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks! We tend to agree. 😀
Jun 26, 2017
Everything was clean nice very enjoyable an awful quiet campground, which has never terrible lol. 10 min from town. Great trip!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you had a great trip and a pleasant stay!
Jun 25, 2017
Jun 25, 2017
We were there for 8 days of a ten day stay. This is an outstanding KOA outstanding staff and a sensory overload of beautiful views , only left because 3 dogs got sick from the altitude . That's what my vet said at least...very clean park , showers ect, well stocked store and all.lack of cable and wifi were the only downfall . But then again you are "camping right

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately our internet provider options are limited, so don't yet have a solution to internet connectivity frustration. I'm sorry to hear your pups suffered.
Jun 25, 2017
Enjoyed the managers of the Koa. Very kind and friendly. Quiet place to get away!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks! Please come visit again!
Jun 24, 2017
This KOA is the best..away from the traffic..great setting..Tom and Patty we'll miss you! Met the new owner Terry.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you love it here as much as we do!
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
This place is managed by very helpful people.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, we do our best!
Jun 21, 2017
Beautiful! Good central location to sights. Only worry was we did not have cell phone service at all in the park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the review! I'm guessing you have AT&T mobile carrier because there is no tower nearby. If you have a recent phone, you should be able to enable wifi calling while in the campground.
Jun 20, 2017
Great remote location with excellent views.
Jun 20, 2017
Not impressed with the upcharge for a upper level site. Sites and NOT level. Very tight to try and park. Only level sites are at the top for premium dollars. Fire ban should have been posted so that we could have a better idea on how to grill our food. We understand the ban is not their fault. But should have a posting on their website about fire bans.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback! We have recently posted a notice to our website regarding the fire restrictions, and are looking into opportunities to level all our sites. We hope you will give us another try once complete!
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
The campground site is very nice. It was clean, the cooking/cleaning area was very helpful. Our site was easy to get in and out of.
Jun 19, 2017
Just a suggestion for bettering your visitors arriving would be to have a KOA sign on 67 where it's more visible, also we had a very difficult time with directions to your campgrounds. Your address wasn't even an option in our maps.. I realize that may not be entirely on you but just making you aware of that. Other then that your campground was great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the note, and glad you enjoyed your visit! I added a google maps link to our location on our website. Great suggestion! Regarding signage, there is a sign on hwy 67, but we are limited to official signage since it's a state highway. We'll look at other ways to make us more visible!
Jun 16, 2017
Nice park.
Jun 15, 2017
Very friendly office staff grand children enjoyed the playground
Jun 13, 2017
This is a beautiful area and we enjoyed our stay. The camp ground and all facilities were clean and neatly kept. We didn't know about the fire ban and having the gas grill available was nice. The pancake breakfast was great.
Jun 13, 2017
Couldn't access our reserved tent site in the dark as we arrived late. Since we slept in our small van, chose to park close to the restrooms. In the morning, we were charged for a deluxe RV site, even though we didn't use hookups and many spaces were vacant. Owner explained that this was "business", even though other KOA's (Grand Junction) let us park in vacant spots outside cabins for no extra.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Would a hotel be ok with you letting yourself into a suite when you booked a single?
Jun 12, 2017
Easy to Get to, has a great veiw
Jun 12, 2017
wifi was horrible, no aoilet paper or towels...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Given our remote location, we are limited to satellite internet service, which does tend to be slower than a wired connection. We will look at what we can do to better monitor and restock supplies during peak times.
Jun 12, 2017
The registration process was super easy and I was treated with a smile!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are glad to hear you had a positive experience.
Jun 12, 2017
The campground is nice, clean and quiet. We have a 30 ft 5th wheel and parking in #141 need to be a little wider. When putting out my stairs,3 steps, the drop to the ground from my last step was approximately a foot and a half.making it difficult to get in and out of the coach. other than that we would recommend this KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We will consider opportunities to add additional patio/deck improvements to our sloped sites to improve this situation.
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was helpful Wifi and phone did not work. Altitude was too high for us. Would not stay here again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Since we are located at 10,000 feet elevation, we encourage everyone to consider the effects of altitude sickness as it can affect some individuals profoundly. Our remote location does limit internet and cell service quality as well.
Jun 11, 2017
We absolutely loved this campground! Big spots, beautiful scenery, wonderful playground for the kids, trail up the mountain right behind the campground. We had a family member get pretty sick from altitude sickness and sadly we had to leave two days early and the manager was even nice enough to not charge us the last night even though he didn't have to do that. Would definitely stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are pleased you had a great experience! Unfortunately, you can't really tell who will be affected by altitude sickness until it strikes. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your unfortunate situation.
Jun 06, 2017
They went out of their way to Make out stay awesome
Jun 05, 2017
Staff friendly,buildings and grounds clean, sites nice pull-throughs. Looking forward to returning.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We'll do our best to ensure you have a great experience your next visit too.
Jun 04, 2017
very nice stay. We haven't been here for several years. New hosts were great, it looks like they are making nice improvements (leveling off picnic table area at each site and new tables). A great place to stay!
Jun 02, 2017
Great views of mountains. Mice nearby hiking trails and dog friendly.
Jun 01, 2017
The cleanest restrooms and most accommodating showers I've ever experienced at a KOA. It was a delight to stay there, including the snow and hail in late May!
Jun 01, 2017
While the facility and amenities were satisfactory, staying at Cripple Creek during Memorial Day weekend was a bust because of the bad weather.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We try to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible and as much as we would love to be able to control the weather we cant.
May 31, 2017
By far our favorite KOA. The location is absolutely beautiful and the drive there was amazing! The kids had a blast!! We can't wait to go back!!
May 30, 2017
Great hosts. Lot's of things for kids to do.
May 30, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were clean. The whole property was well maintained. Great place to camp!
May 30, 2017
We had a great stay, it's very well maintained. We will be back, thanks!
May 30, 2017
Its a great campground except for the fact that no one informed us about the fire restrictions that where in effect during our stay. Camping is all about sitting around a campfire enjoying time with your family and making smores. A heads up would have been nice a day or two before we arrived.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Fire restrictions can change quickly, so it is best to check the Colorado Dept of Public Safety for latest status by county: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dfpc/fire-bans-and-restrictions.
Oct 04, 2016
very nice KOA, beautiful views, exceptionally clean washrooms and grounds, good wifi signal, good location for exploring Cripple Creek and area.
Oct 04, 2016
Best view of fall ever
Oct 03, 2016
The KOA is beautiful. The sites are clean and seem well maintained. Only downfall is that the staff was a bit unfriendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out was noon on closing day. You didn't start to pack up till after noon, so if asking you to pack up is unfriendly after check out time we were unfriendly.
Oct 02, 2016
Great campground. Fantastic views. We were there just before they closed for the season. The aspens were at the peak of color change. Easy check in.
Sep 28, 2016
Campground was clean and well maintained. Staff was helpful. This was our third visit, and except for an emergency at home, we would have stayed longer. Aspens were beautiful.
Sep 27, 2016
Nice campground, beautiful location. Farther from Pike's peak access than I realized, but that was my unfamiliarity with the area. Beautiful drive get to Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs, so no complaints.
Sep 26, 2016
The only negative item we would recommend a change for would be; it seemed that had we not been under fire restriction, the fire rings were really close to neiboring campers. We have a pop up camper, so this would be scary if a neighbor had a fire going. Other than that it was perfect! Had a great time. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Thank you.
Sep 24, 2016
Views are great, the dog loved the dog run. Staff is very friendly.
Sep 21, 2016
Everything was clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We could not believe the restrooms had real towels to dry your hands. This is a great feature. The bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. Great place, will go there again.
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Beautiful mountain location and very clean
Sep 19, 2016
clean, friendly staff. Beautiful location.
Sep 16, 2016
Great hosts! Very helpful in every way! Will definitely stay again if I can make it back. Getting old is for the birds! .
Sep 13, 2016
We have stayed at a lot of KOA and your facility is by far the best. We plan to come back in June 2017. Thank you, Greg and Linda Strausheim.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals