Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA

Open April 2 - October 20

Reserve: 800-562-3408

Info: 208-527-8513

Email

2424 North 3000 West

Arco, ID 83213

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 18, 2017
Nice grassy spot for my tent with field behind. Very pleasant.
Jun 16, 2017
Big tent side. Great delivery service. It would be nice if there's a path from tent side to the Office. Some more washmashine were also great.
Jun 14, 2017
Huge tent spaces and backing onto quiet fields. Very peaceful. Bathrooms were large and clean. Staff very friendly.
Jun 13, 2017
The waffle is yummy. The bathroom is very clean.
Jun 12, 2017
Stayed in the Teepee funnest time ever!
Jun 09, 2017
No one at KOA did the rounds at night Our neighbor's in cabin 31 were obnoxious. Loud, until almost midnight. Continued to pour lighter fluid on their fire- creating noxious fumes. Invaded our privacy, coming onto our cabin deck to take pictures. No A/C for hot days. Traffic sped through the area, kicking up dust instead of adhering to 5mph primitive cabins were over priced at $100
Jun 02, 2017
would like to spend more time there-this one is the best
May 19, 2017
Very nice campground with very friendly staff, especially Angela. Thanks. I'll stay there again if I'm in the area.
May 16, 2017
Great place to stay! Very friendly and accommodating, can't wait to come back!
Apr 26, 2017
They treated me really good. Thank You
Apr 13, 2017
This was a terrific place to stay! The nicest people. They provide a tasty breakfast too! Next trip through I will stay here for sure.
Apr 04, 2017
We felt fortunate to find a KOA open in this part of the world! Therefore, it was OK. However, there were NO amenities of any kind: too little light, etc. Perhaps earlier in the season would be better. The catalog neds to reflect ACTUAL opening and closing dates. This was a problem for us throughout the northwest.
Oct 19, 2016
We reserved a teepee, arrived after hours and found that the office was closed but the hosts had left us the key to a cabin and the option of upgrading our accommodations due to the below freezing temps. At no additional charge to boot. Awesome!
Oct 01, 2016
Very nicely maintained, clean and convenient to Craters of the Moon.
Sep 23, 2016
Friendly, really a nice campground.
Sep 19, 2016
One of the best! We stayed in a teepee which was great fun. Hot waffles and coffee for breakfast, a lovely bonus! Brilliant hosts.
Sep 19, 2016
We didn't like our neighbors, but everything was very clean and the staff was friendly.
Sep 18, 2016
Central Idaho visit
Sep 12, 2016
Everything was except that the men's bath room had NO toilet paper! My wife said the women's bath had plenty. We arrived too late to ask for it.
Sep 11, 2016
I would recommend staying at this KOA, great costumer service. We really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 07, 2016
this is the best place to stay if you plan to spend some time at Crater of the Moon. It is off the HWY, so don't worry about the noise. We stayed at the Teepee, it is pretty spacious. The staff and owner are nice, homemade waffle for breakfast is yummy. It is really amazing to have such a nice place to stay while travelling in desert.
Sep 05, 2016
Clean facilities and wonderful staff. We loved staying in a teepee!
Sep 03, 2016
Showers were clean and we enjoyed the music in the bathrooms. Campground was very well maintained. We enjoyed the ice cream social. Two gas stations and a reasonably priced grocery store within a mile. We would return again.
Sep 02, 2016
They are expanding the campground, very friendly staff, a good cone of ice for a single dollar. Pool was very cold. In the morning coffee and waffels for free !!! Restrooms were a bit outdated but campground itself was well maintained. Campground is in Arco - well nothing to do there but the surrounding is good, don't forget to eat at Golden West Cafe !!!
Aug 31, 2016
This place was great, only thing I could ask is to make the breakfast hours a little earlier, we were already gone by 9 AM. :)
Aug 30, 2016
Fairly nice campground. Playground gets kids a bit dirty. Waffle breakfast was nice. Bathrooms were clean, but showers were a bit small. Overall, it was a decent stay.
Aug 26, 2016
Place was really clean and they offered a free waffle at breeakfast and $1 ice cream in the afternoon. Lots o f rooms in the bathroom. My only compliant is that there is not a lot of shade for tenting. We asked for a tent site but got a trailer site in the open. In the area, it is a 5 star. Camp hosts were great!
Aug 26, 2016
Very friendly staff! They could use a sign at the turnoff on the highway almost missed the turn.
Aug 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. I appreciated the nice, clean bathrooms. Our only complaint would be that there isn't a lot of shade for the tent spots. Lots of shade over the RV's but we had zero shade/privacy. Also, the website says the pool is heated, but it didn't feel heated. It was cold! But it didn't stop us from swimming and our kids loved it. Overall it was a great place
Aug 21, 2016
Well-maintained site. Very pleasant stay.
Aug 21, 2016
Great place, very family friendly, lots of fun. Thanks, guys!
Aug 21, 2016
Wonderful stay!
Aug 18, 2016
Nice bathhouse. They have a dinner cafe with pizza and burgers. Quiet area. In the early morning I could hear road traffic from my tent site.
Aug 17, 2016
Clean, polite, modern, great!
Aug 16, 2016
Not much to say except always a pleasure. You, and your grounds are great! Just one thing, there are mice down by the tent sites. One of them came out of my boot that I left outside the tent, in the morning!
Aug 11, 2016
There seemed to be a lack of communication between the front desk and the maintenance worker/s. When we arrived, the grass for our site was being watered and there seemed to be some confusion as to why we turned the sprinklers off to set up our tent. On a more positive note, the ladies at the front desk were very kind and helpful.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Loved the teepee very interesting and nice clean pool. The restrooms were in poor shape and smelled like a day too long from being cleaned. They had very nice folks who ran the place, and I'm sorry we missed the free Belgian waffles and the ice cream social. We did enjoy Pickle's Place down the street.
Aug 05, 2016
Toilets were extremely dirty and the showers can use an upgrade Very friendly staff. Pool is a nice extra facility.
Aug 01, 2016
I liked the view from our campsite as well as the pool (even though the kids thought it a bit cold). I felt like I was in the middle of nowhere but that is kinda the point of camping.
Aug 01, 2016
One of the best campgrounds that I've stayed at. Everyone was so incredibly nice. I'd love the chance to stay here again.
Jul 31, 2016
Very quiet campground, friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2016
Our first time at a KOA. Great experience. Good location, amenities, and friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2016
Very nice tent spots. Very nice welcome. Good amenities. And was very happy to hear about the on site food menu (including beer), the free breakfast, and the ice cream social in the evening. One big negative: spend some money on updating the men's showers.
Jul 28, 2016
This place is awsome. The waffles and ice cream were great, as well the general atmosphere.
Jul 27, 2016
Great people, amazing breakfast.
Jul 27, 2016
I had a reservation for a tent site. I arrived tired, late to meet friends and the wind was blowing. The front desk was so nice and found me an upgrade to an RV! So nice. Sorry that I missed the social activities as I was meeting a longtime friend for dinner, etc.
Jul 26, 2016
Just bad timing in summer camping but the stay at ARCO ID KOA was not to my liking. There were a teenage bus group without apparent chaperones because they ran all around the campground until midnight. Another downfall was that a college group of geology students were staying at the campground and the bathrooms and showers looked like a dorm room after a huge party (disgusting).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All our guest have the right to camp, even teenagers. This group was respectful and we had more compliments then complaints.
Jul 25, 2016
Lovely setting. Not enough bathrooms/showers for camp sites.
Jul 22, 2016
very frendly
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award