Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA

2424 North 3000 West

Arco, ID 83213

Reserve: 800-562-3408

Info: 208-527-8513

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Sep 15, 2014
Great location. Very friendly staff. Great ice cream social as well! (Also, loved the game of horsehoes!)
Sep 09, 2014
Such wonderful camp hosts and a wonderful campground. The hosts were very caring and welcoming. You could tell that they took a lot of pride in the campground. Big, well maintained sites.
Sep 02, 2014
They are very friendly people. It was very clean! We love it!
Aug 22, 2014
Friendly staff. Better than most amenities. Would stay again
Aug 22, 2014
I was taking a random path on my road trip, and i am glad i stopped by Arco is a cool town. The people are friendly, the breakfast was great here and the view of the close by mountains was great.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here in Arco. A very quiet campground and the bathrooms were clean. Only wish the free waffles were available before 9. Bummer!
Aug 16, 2014
First KOA where you get Pizza delivery to your site. Also first KOA where you get a free breakfast. The new owners are doing a great job and it is a very clean, quiet campground. The swimming pool was very refreshing after a hot day of hiking. I look forward to stopping back in a couple of years to see this oasis near the lava park.
Aug 15, 2014
We only stayed one night while visiting Craters of the Moon. The tent site was grassy and flat. The restrooms and showers were well maintained. The staff was friendly and the price reasonable.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Very nice and friendly owners. Made us feel at home! Special free Waffles for Breakfast! Watch out for the wind if you are in a tent.
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay at the Craters of the Moon KOA was great! The new owners were very helpful and extremely nice! Campground was conveniently located and well kept. We would camp here again!
Jul 28, 2014
Great little KOA! We were tenting, the sites are huge, shade and grassy! Great pool and free waffles in the am!
Jul 27, 2014
3 nights were great! Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Lots of trees good shade. Overall, very clean facilities, but a little dated, even for camping. a little larger pool would have been nice, but the fact it is heated and clean makes up for that. I recommend it and would absolutely stay there again.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice friendly people, free waffle's in the morning. Toilets need an upgrade in the near future, but a really cosy place to stay..
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
In the middle of the desert, a great nights sleep in a grassy tent site. Best tent site of 8 different KOA's. Very friendly staff and a nice set up.
Jul 20, 2014
Inexperienced new crew without supervision. Sub-standard electrical outlets (broken/burned). Outdated power outlets (no three-prong 110VAC outlets). Tent sites are pasture rough and need to be leveled. Tent sites do not have on-site parking.
Jul 17, 2014
This is a very nice small town campground. It has an 'out in the country' feel about it. The staff was courteous and helpful.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly and pleasant staff, and simple facilities made this a nice stay. Given the limited dining near Arco, the KOA's pizza delivery service was great to have (if a little bit slow). Beautiful mountain views as well.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Quiet, wonderful setting and Angela is a pure delight. She makes outstanding waffles in the morning and great coffee, all included. While it's far to get to, it's completely worth it. Had planned to stay only 1 night but added a second as it was just so pleasant. Call campsite directly to get an accurate address for GPS or you might end up in the middle of a field.
Jun 19, 2014
The owners are incredibly nice! Great area for tent camping and a delicious free waffle breakfast in the morning. My family and I felt very taken care of during our stay.
Jun 18, 2014
Hostess was very helpfull and friendly. Nice place, but very windy
Jun 08, 2014
We stayed in a tent site. Very spacious and grassy. More than enough room for our big tent and a canopy over the table. Plenty of fun for the kids with the pool, playground and banana bikes. The bathrooms were clean. The owners are very attentive. And they had a free continental breakfast! That was a wonderful service for the day we were leaving.
May 27, 2014
May 13, 2014
The grounds were very nice with an outdoorsy country feel. The showers -bathroom area was clean. The gift shop / store had a cool and fun selection . Best of all were our campground hosts ! They were warm ,welcoming and helpful to all the guests .
May 11, 2014
We only stayed at this KOA for one evening but the new owners were great. Really friendly and helpful. Facilities are well maintained and the showers/ toilets were very good with a nice touch of music. Also had delicious complimentary breakfast in the morning!
Nov 20, 2013
Great music played in the bathroom all the time. The pool was terrific. The owners were great and spent a lot of time talking with us. Very friendly.
Sep 18, 2013
The facility itself was older, but it was clean, including the bathroom. The proprietor was ver nice, and very interesting. His restaurant recommendation was right on. Other than the inconsiderate jerk who came in after dark and repeatedly shined his headlights into my tent, where I was trying to sleep, it was a very pleasant stay. Unfortunately, the proprietor couldn't fix the jerk.
Sep 18, 2013
Very nice campground & hosts. The surroundings of the park were unsightly, junk cars etc. But the entire town of Arco looked worn & tired the KOA is its one shining star.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
The office staff were friendly. Not much else positive to say - especially for the overblown price. The location is crummy, with odors and junk in the adjacent lots we camped by. Very little to do. The only reason I booked was for the pool, which was closed down early the day we came because of the threat of bad weather (which never came)
Sep 04, 2013
Loved the trees and grassy sites, clean restrooms, cozy atmosphere!
Sep 04, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff; beautiful, well-kept grounds with soft green grass (an accomplishment in desert regions of southern Idaho) and large full shade trees; swimming pool imaculately clean; firewood!; large spaces; easy to find from the highway and easy in and out with our RV; quiet, even though there were many people there; reasonable rates; ... I could go on and on. We had a great time!Thanx
Sep 04, 2013
It was a very pleasant stay. The campground was very clean, the personell were very courteous, and even were willing to help you with your needs even when they were closed for the holiday. The restrooms were always clean, as well as the showers. It was the best experience we have enjoyed from any campground. We will definatly be going back next year
Aug 22, 2013
Very nice sites for tent campers. Quiet. Pleasant staff.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
We loved the daily ice cream social and the pool. The bathroom facilities were top notch. The hosts, Mike and Carol were extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
Overall decent stay, our main issues were that we had to pay extra for 3rd person, even though 3rd person was clearly stated in the original reservation which had already been paid. And that the office didn't open until 9, which slowed us down on our departure. Other than that no major complaints.
Aug 16, 2013
The campsite seems maintained and clean. Prior to visiting Craters of the Moon, we stopped at Arco campsite. A few minutes into setting up our tent we noticed many strange looking bugs flying and crawling on our tent and our legs. I'm not particularly annoyed by many bugs, though there were too many of them to tolerate, so we packed up within min. The owners did not seem that concerned. No refunds
Aug 13, 2013
Friendly and nice lady checking in. Campground is a bit small and tent sites and interspersed with camper/RV sites. Sites back up to horse pen, which could be stinky under right conditions. Bathrooms were clean but needed restocking of TP in all 3 stalls of women's room. Wifi was weak and worked only right outside office.
Aug 12, 2013
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The pool was also very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.
Aug 08, 2013
We had a reservation with late arrival but arrived at 9:30 to find nothing set up for us. Also.....there was NO hot water to be found...a comment shared by every guest we talked to.
Aug 08, 2013
Very clean and quiet. Family oriented so my son had some other kids to play with. Would definitely stay again!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Very enjoyable
Aug 02, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.