Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA

2424 North 3000 West

Arco, ID 83213

Reserve: 800-562-3408

Info: 208-527-8513

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2014
Friendly, helpful owner and staff. The cabin was great but it needed to be de-webbed before our arrival (under the beds especially) I don't enjoy sleeping with spiders. The showers also needed attention, it smelled of mold and the mats need to be taken up and bleached daily. I always wear my flip flops to shower anyway but it could have been cleaner. The waffles were delicious! I could stay again.
Aug 01, 2014
cabin with double bunks was perfect. bathrooms were funky but serviceable- about average for KOA. cooler of singles at the counter on check in was a great end of drive treat, we missed the ice cream.
Jul 30, 2014
Perfect, had alot of fun, met friendly people
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay at the Craters of the Moon KOA was great! The new owners were very helpful and extremely nice! Campground was conveniently located and well kept. We would camp here again!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly staff,
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Park was clean. Great place to stay.
Jul 28, 2014
Well kept campground with a friendly staff
Jul 28, 2014
Great little KOA! We were tenting, the sites are huge, shade and grassy! Great pool and free waffles in the am!
Jul 28, 2014
Well maintained, pool very clean, extremely friendly and accomodating owners they made our stay great
Jul 27, 2014
3 nights were great! Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Lots of trees good shade. Overall, very clean facilities, but a little dated, even for camping. a little larger pool would have been nice, but the fact it is heated and clean makes up for that. I recommend it and would absolutely stay there again.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
The smoking area was directly next to the playground. The owners husband was constantly smoking everywhere. They watered the dirt playground do out was to must to play. Appreciated the ice cream social but it was to earlyand only 15min. Also, only had hot water for a few minutes then had a freezing cold shower. Loved the free breakfast
Jul 25, 2014
Nice friendly people, free waffle's in the morning. Toilets need an upgrade in the near future, but a really cosy place to stay..
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Nice breakfast each morning. I would like to see the site gravel pads widened to fit modern RVs however.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Great place to stay, friendliest of staff, especially Angela, Doug and thier son, feel like I have three new friends. Plus visiting Craters of the Moon was great
Jul 22, 2014
The staff was excellent and very helpful, however the camping provisions weren't as expected of a KOA campground. Sites were unlevel not just side to side but also from front to rear of rig parking area. Some of the RV sites were separated by tent sites which makes for an awkward stay - when your family exits your motorhome to sit at the picnic table you find yourself right next to folks in tents
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
In the middle of the desert, a great nights sleep in a grassy tent site. Best tent site of 8 different KOA's. Very friendly staff and a nice set up.
Jul 20, 2014
Inexperienced new crew without supervision. Sub-standard electrical outlets (broken/burned). Outdated power outlets (no three-prong 110VAC outlets). Tent sites are pasture rough and need to be leveled. Tent sites do not have on-site parking.
Jul 20, 2014
New owner really working hard to make this a great place. Small and family oriented. Very friendly staff. Small pool, but nice.
Jul 20, 2014
Little green spot of rest in the midst of the craters to peaks area ... wish new owners well! PS: great waffles!
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Nice park, great waffles
Jul 18, 2014
Quiet, large spaces between camping spots. The kids liked the pool a lot
Jul 18, 2014
Great place to camp. Friendly staff.
Jul 17, 2014
This is a very nice small town campground. It has an 'out in the country' feel about it. The staff was courteous and helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly and pleasant staff, and simple facilities made this a nice stay. Given the limited dining near Arco, the KOA's pizza delivery service was great to have (if a little bit slow). Beautiful mountain views as well.
Jul 14, 2014
New owners, nice improvements, need to enlarge sites for bigger rigs.
Jul 13, 2014
The cabin was very nice but the bathrooms were not very nice. The women's showers had mold in them. We had ants in the cabin. The place needs work.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Very quiet. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.
Jul 13, 2014
Friendly people working.Park has established shade trees. Pool could use attention. Maybe clean the pool filters on a daily basis. Overall good place to stay.
Jul 13, 2014
Quiet, wonderful setting and Angela is a pure delight. She makes outstanding waffles in the morning and great coffee, all included. While it's far to get to, it's completely worth it. Had planned to stay only 1 night but added a second as it was just so pleasant. Call campsite directly to get an accurate address for GPS or you might end up in the middle of a field.
Jul 13, 2014
Sweet people but dog area needs some updating and attention.
Jul 12, 2014
Very nice. Clean. Friendly staff. Doggy park needs improvement. There were no recycling bins
Jul 12, 2014
The campground was pathetic and violated and the pool was dirty. This site should not be a part of the Koa. You expect a certain standard on a Koa. Arco the town around the site is a gosttown where everything is closed. We left and went to another campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry our campground or town didn't meet your expectations this review is hateful and mean. I take great pride in my campground and most of our campers recognize the service we provide. You had no complaints when served hot pizza to your site. We never got the chance to make your stay a great one.
Jul 11, 2014
The campground was very clean and very friendly folks. The only downside was that our site had just been watered and was muddy. Maybe more gravel would help.
Jul 09, 2014
Angela and Doug work very hard to make this KOA a pleasant experience for their guests. The campground is close to the Craters of the Moon and the EBR-1 complex and it's just a great opportunity to sit back and relax! Facilities were clean, pool was beautiful (too cold for us - but we're Floridians and like the water warmer, and their store had an amazing variety of items with reasonable pricing.
Jul 09, 2014
Have stayed here many times..this year maybe new owners or management, stayed here twice and is not as clean as before..both mens and womens bathrooms and showeres were in need of attention, dirty and smelled like cat urine..pool needs attention also..
Jul 08, 2014
Friendly staff, needs more washer and dryers.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Good location with proximity to Craters of the Moon (which was awesome!) Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. Free waffles for breakfast was a very nice touch! Shady sites.
Jun 30, 2014
Wonderful! Clean and friendly
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great time. Campground was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.