Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 12, 2016
Every year it's a fantastic stay at the Cotopaxi KOA. Keeps us coming back!!! The owners and staff treat you like family and there are so many organized events and activities in addition to the fishing on the Arkansas. Couldn't ask for a better place for kids with the pool, mini golf, basketball court, and so much more!
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean facilities, nice pool, nice folks. The river is RIGHT next to the tent sites, a relaxing sound to relax by.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a nice time. The people who worked there were super nice. The campsites for tents were way to small.
Jun 06, 2016
Rustic area, tent site was a few feet away from the river,secluded dirt site, close to bathroom facility may not be suitable for small children
Jun 04, 2016
I've been coming to this KOA since a child.. it's still exactly as I remembered it. It was like taking a walk down memory lane. The staff are all so friendly and make your camping experience so much more memorable. Cant wait till we get to come back!
Jun 02, 2016
Jim and Amy and Thunder Burnham have always made our stays there incredible. They are warm and considerate people and the people they have working for them are knowledgeable. We will always stay there even though there are other places within a 10 mile radius of their place because they make you feel at home.
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
The tent sites are extremely small, and the restrooms were not cleaned consistently.
May 30, 2016
This campground is quite cramped as it sits on the Arkansas River. The staff is friendly and wifi is limited.
May 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Cotopaxi koa! The tent site by the river was great with the river sounds below us, however wasn't close to the restrooms.Staff was great, very friendly and helpful! Could use a little more maintenance but overall pretty good stay.
May 16, 2016
We were so pleased with our stay! The campground was beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Apr 26, 2016
The only thing I didn't like was they had a tree chipper right next to our tent during nap time for about an hour and a half. Didn't get a good nap:(
Sep 18, 2015
The tent sites are very close together, but we loved that they were on the river. The kids also loved the playground. This would be a better experience if the office staff were friendly. When I asked for directions to a trailhead, it seemed like it was really an inconvenience even though I was the only one in the store and there were two people behind the desk.
Sep 14, 2015
We love Cotooaxi!
Sep 12, 2015
Friendly staff. Great location for fishing. Good amenities for families. Campsites are a little small but very clean. Nice free bath and showers.
Sep 08, 2015
2nd Labor Day weekend stay for my family of 4. The location is great and the staff is even better. I recommend this KOA to any and all people.
Sep 02, 2015
Nice campground with good amenities. Campsite was comfortable. My only concern was the animal webs in the trees which appeared to be some sort of insect. Or tree disease. It would have been nice to have been notified as to what it actually was as my grandson was a little concerned. Also there was no hot water at the dish washing station. Loved the playground and pool which were nicely maintained.
Aug 20, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much - tent sites were nice right by the river and the Motel rooms were nice and clean - motel is old but kept up nice. I would stay here again.
Aug 19, 2015
Great scenery; quiet and beautiful tent sites directly at the Arkansas river; BUT: tent sites somewhat small; dirty sink full of cockroaches to do dishes;
Aug 19, 2015
Great place with friendly people
Aug 17, 2015
We stayed at deluxe tent site 50. Overall a good trip. Having the water and power is GREAT. The wood deck was very old and warped though. You had to walk carefully to avoid tripping, etc. Our toddler tripped and fell a few times on the uneven boards. The pool and camp activities were great. The shower water pressure was terrible (barely a trickle). All the employees were very friendly.
Aug 17, 2015
Tucked away next to the Arkansas river, this Koa is one of our favorites. Nice assortment of accommodations. Nice pool and bathrooms. Love the hay ride. Only complaint is that you have to rent a cabin for 2 nights on some weekends which doesn't always work out for our plans.
Aug 15, 2015
We had a great time. We camped right beside the Arkansas river. The sound of the white water rapids put us asleep every night.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
This was our first visit to a KOA and I was very impressed. The staff was wonderful and they made us feel welcome.
Aug 11, 2015
I loved this location and the hosts were wonderful. The main and ONLY problem I had was the Wi-Fi, I couldn't get it to work for me at all.
Aug 11, 2015
workers there are extremely friendly and helpful and they have things to do for the whole family to enjoy.
Aug 04, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. My family and I had a great time!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The Campground was very nice and clean, and there was plenty of things to do. Thank you
Aug 02, 2015
We love this site! Kids had a ton of fun and the site is beautiful!
Jul 30, 2015
This place is great! Right on the river...
Jul 30, 2015
Clean facilities. Funny and extremely pleasant staff and overall an extremely phenomenal experience. Thank you so much!!
Jul 29, 2015
I loved our stay at the Cotopaxi KOA campground. The general store offered lots of activities that kept us happy just hanging out at the campsite. Clean restrooms not too far a walk away and loved hearing the river in the background!
Jul 27, 2015
Always a good time at Cotopaxi!!!
Jul 22, 2015
Love this campground...stayed here 3 times now. Love jumping off the "big rock"
Jul 21, 2015
It was supposed to be a DELUXE site. Railroad ties chopped up the space making us too far from water hookup, table, pit (~70+ft). Hard carrying cooler back and forth. Not a pull through. We were outside the KOA by the maint. shed. Might have been different experience if a different camp slot. People were very nice.
Jul 21, 2015
Family oriented, nice people, & enjoyed our short stay. Only critique would be that if we had a neighbor in our tent site 51/52 we would have been squeezed in. 52 was empty, so it was spacious enough for us & worked out well!
Jul 20, 2015
The fire pit we had was a little small and difficult to get a decent fire started in order to cook our meals. I saw on the rules that dogs were not to be left unattended- but the tent next to us left their dogs unattended all the time and they would bark and whimper constantly which was quite annoying. Place is beautiful and it was peaceful to camp next to the river.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean camp sites with very friendly staff and hosts. We will come back.
Jul 18, 2015
The host were very nice and the place was very clean. This will go in my places to go folder, breath taking
Jul 17, 2015
Loved being next to the Arkansas River, and the campground was not very busy. Next time rafting and/or fishing.....
Jul 09, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Campsite 50 was very big. It was nice having the store at the campground for ice and firewood. The kids loved the hayride and the pool.
Jul 08, 2015
Everyone who works there was so kind and helpful and it was a blast!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2015
Amazing! We booked this trip immediately after the last one. I wouldn't go camping anywhere else.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful location, friendly staff. Campground roads not Class A friendly. Width of roads on two way roads barely wide enough for one car much less Class A RV. Staff needs to "groom" sites after they are vacated - found trash in site, patio not swept off. Staff should not use campsites for dump of limbs.
Jun 22, 2015
Great! Quiet, clean, and friendly.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals