Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
We loved the soothing sound of the Arkansas River just outside our tent. We plan to be back next time we come through next year.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Nice Staff, Great spot near the Arkansas River. The showers and rest rooms were spotless.
Aug 04, 2014
Loved the site and everyone who worked there was great
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
I had a wonderful stay there. The campground was very clean nice. Loved the humming bird feeders. All the staff was very polite and kind. I will def be back again soon.
Aug 03, 2014
it was fine. very small camp sites. ours had a great river view which made it better, but we were essentially right on top of the people next to us. we couldn't start a fire because the wood we bought at the store wasn't dry enough (we got a starter too) and there was a super long wait at the showers in the morning.
Aug 01, 2014
Always enjoy Cotopaxi. Nice, Clean, and Beautiful area to camp.
Jul 31, 2014
The campground is very clean. The pool, tractor ride, arts and crafts and ice cream social are all great for families. The spaces are tight and you feel like you are on top of each other. This is fine and if you are with a group but not so great if you are traveling alone and want privacy.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great time. The tent sites are way too close together. There needs to be water near the tent sites. Restrooms were far away. Store prices were insane. We did enjoy our time because we had friends. I would not stay there multiple nights had it not have been for our friends and the plans we had due to how close the sites were.
Jul 28, 2014
We loved it. The surroundings were pretty basic, but the other campers and the hosts made it special. A tractor ride every night, crafts for kids, ice cream social...get to know folks. The facilities were well maintained, and care was shown throughout. Thanks. Wish the COTOPAXI KOA were more prominent from the road.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Easy going, friendly staff. Good place to crash for the night and fine for a small group (5 of us) - showers were fantastic :)
Jul 25, 2014
Staff were really friendly. We stayed @ 1 of the tent sites along the river. It was nice, there was a bit of an incline to get down to the river. We have a 8-man tent & space for it was pretty tight. It was also gravel, no grass, so that a little bothersome. I was underprepard for the insects, flying or otherwise & as a result retired to the tent earlier than planned, but overall it was nice.
Jul 22, 2014
Parking lot style sites, tent site on edge of cliff which is NOT ideal with 2 young kids, partiers smoking weed, drinking, and puking next to our site 10 ft. away.
Jul 19, 2014
Great camp site. Clean restrooms and friendly people.
Jul 18, 2014
I thought the price was a bit high for a tent site, but the campground is perfect for young kids, great playground, pool and nice views - it rained a lot and that made the sand a chore to clean off of everything - wish they had different pads, but overall great stay!
Jul 15, 2014
This was our first time staying at a KOA. Our campsite was clean and ready for our arrival. Loved having a grill and deck overlooking the river! Everything was immaculate and well taken care of, even the bathrooms! The staff were all pleasant, and easygoing. They even shared a pair of tweezers with me, so I could remove cactus from my finger. Definitely recommend this campground to everyone!
Jun 30, 2014
Very polite staff, great site, lots of activities. Thanks for making a very fun weekend
Jun 30, 2014
Very clean and everybody was friendly and helpful! Pool was clean and looks like it had been updated. Tent sites were smaller but our neighbors were great!
Jun 28, 2014
Good KOA, relaxing tent site!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Many sites need to be levelled.Some sites had sewer lines going uphill. Good to see that more trees were being planted.
Jun 23, 2014
Great KOA with great people and awesome location! I'll definitely be back!
Jun 20, 2014
We had a very nice stay and we were glad we got the campsite we did, because the campsites were a little smaller then expected. We loved having all the amenities.
Jun 16, 2014
Great amenities, friendly staff and well kept grounds.
Jun 05, 2014
I've stayed here before and enjoyed it but there were a few hitches this time... The pool wasn't functioning properly & that was a big draw for my kids so we probably wouldn't have come if we'd known that. Also there was a hay ride they wanted to do which left before the stated time & drove past us with an empty wagon. It was just a little off! Hopefully these are just early season issues.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This KOA was nice except for the tent areas. The wood deck had warped boards which had pulled loose so we put rocks and table legs on them to prevent tripping. The gas grill hadn't been cleaned ever and the hinges on the lid were broken. The railing on the deck, 15 feet above the river were tied on with scraps of rope. The campsite fire pit is 100 feet away by a huge pile of concrete trash
May 26, 2014
We did not get to stay long had 2 small kids and the wether got to bad hail and lightning. we were in a tent and kids were to scard to stay we olny live 27 miles away so we left. wether was bad all weekend hope to try it again some time Mom and dad are in and one is in ft Hood and one is in Canon City . It will Have to wait untill they are back together again we were realy disapointed.
May 12, 2014
Staff was friendly and kind. Facility clean and welcoming
May 08, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean bathrooms and showers. Lots of hot water.
May 05, 2014
This was surprisingly great! Lots of activities, great views.
Mar 19, 2014
Sep 16, 2013
Great stay. Fantastic weather and nice accommodations.
Sep 01, 2013
We loved being right next to the river and in the mountains! The grounds were clean and everyone was very friendly.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Lots of open tenting spots, now that the kids are back in school. Too bad it was cloudy, I heard the stars are beautiful in the canyon, but listening to the Arkansas River was delightful.
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice campground. People are very friendly and the facilities are very clean. This is our second time there this summer and will definitely go back!
Aug 14, 2013
Arrived very late without a reservation because we were told there were lots of open spaces and there were. The internet tent price says $35, their sign says, "Tent $25" and our bill was over $40. In the middle of the night without any additional price info at their self check in stand we choose a site that looked like all the others, but in the morning were informed we choose the most expensive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Guest came to us based on family rate web site quote of $35.00 for 2 adults and 2 children, but only paid $31.30 for her site, even after choosing a nicer site! Guest had extra people, etc. and taxes which pushed the rate to $40.77.
Aug 08, 2013
Sometimes, being off the grid is a great thing. Relaxing not being able to check phone or email and just relax....
Aug 05, 2013
This is the first time we've been camping since we've been in Colorado and I'm so happy we picked this place to go to! It was amazingly peaceful and such a nice place! My kids loved the hayride and ice cream social! Great things to do here!!
Aug 01, 2013
Friendly and helpful. Great scenery. Clean and quiet.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Love love love Cotopaxi KOA!!!
Jul 29, 2013
One night, can't control the rain, still had a great stay.
Jul 22, 2013
We had an amazing time!!! Such great amenities but still with an amazing outside atmosphere. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 20, 2013
Okay for our need for the evening, however campsites are small and too close together. Maybe okay for smoe, but not for us.
Jul 19, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.