Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2014
Staff were really friendly. We stayed @ 1 of the tent sites along the river. It was nice, there was a bit of an incline to get down to the river. We have a 8-man tent & space for it was pretty tight. It was also gravel, no grass, so that a little bothersome. I was underprepard for the insects, flying or otherwise & as a result retired to the tent earlier than planned, but overall it was nice.
Jul 22, 2014
Parking lot style sites, tent site on edge of cliff which is NOT ideal with 2 young kids, partiers smoking weed, drinking, and puking next to our site 10 ft. away.
Jul 19, 2014
Great camp site. Clean restrooms and friendly people.
Jul 18, 2014
I thought the price was a bit high for a tent site, but the campground is perfect for young kids, great playground, pool and nice views - it rained a lot and that made the sand a chore to clean off of everything - wish they had different pads, but overall great stay!
Jul 15, 2014
This was our first time staying at a KOA. Our campsite was clean and ready for our arrival. Loved having a grill and deck overlooking the river! Everything was immaculate and well taken care of, even the bathrooms! The staff were all pleasant, and easygoing. They even shared a pair of tweezers with me, so I could remove cactus from my finger. Definitely recommend this campground to everyone!
Jun 30, 2014
Very polite staff, great site, lots of activities. Thanks for making a very fun weekend
Jun 30, 2014
Very clean and everybody was friendly and helpful! Pool was clean and looks like it had been updated. Tent sites were smaller but our neighbors were great!
Jun 28, 2014
Good KOA, relaxing tent site!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Many sites need to be levelled.Some sites had sewer lines going uphill. Good to see that more trees were being planted.
Jun 23, 2014
Great KOA with great people and awesome location! I'll definitely be back!
Jun 20, 2014
We had a very nice stay and we were glad we got the campsite we did, because the campsites were a little smaller then expected. We loved having all the amenities.
Jun 16, 2014
Great amenities, friendly staff and well kept grounds.
Jun 05, 2014
I've stayed here before and enjoyed it but there were a few hitches this time... The pool wasn't functioning properly & that was a big draw for my kids so we probably wouldn't have come if we'd known that. Also there was a hay ride they wanted to do which left before the stated time & drove past us with an empty wagon. It was just a little off! Hopefully these are just early season issues.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This KOA was nice except for the tent areas. The wood deck had warped boards which had pulled loose so we put rocks and table legs on them to prevent tripping. The gas grill hadn't been cleaned ever and the hinges on the lid were broken. The railing on the deck, 15 feet above the river were tied on with scraps of rope. The campsite fire pit is 100 feet away by a huge pile of concrete trash
May 26, 2014
We did not get to stay long had 2 small kids and the wether got to bad hail and lightning. we were in a tent and kids were to scard to stay we olny live 27 miles away so we left. wether was bad all weekend hope to try it again some time Mom and dad are in and one is in ft Hood and one is in Canon City . It will Have to wait untill they are back together again we were realy disapointed.
May 12, 2014
Staff was friendly and kind. Facility clean and welcoming
May 08, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean bathrooms and showers. Lots of hot water.
May 05, 2014
This was surprisingly great! Lots of activities, great views.
Mar 19, 2014
Sep 16, 2013
Great stay. Fantastic weather and nice accommodations.
Sep 01, 2013
We loved being right next to the river and in the mountains! The grounds were clean and everyone was very friendly.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Lots of open tenting spots, now that the kids are back in school. Too bad it was cloudy, I heard the stars are beautiful in the canyon, but listening to the Arkansas River was delightful.
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice campground. People are very friendly and the facilities are very clean. This is our second time there this summer and will definitely go back!
Aug 14, 2013
Arrived very late without a reservation because we were told there were lots of open spaces and there were. The internet tent price says $35, their sign says, "Tent $25" and our bill was over $40. In the middle of the night without any additional price info at their self check in stand we choose a site that looked like all the others, but in the morning were informed we choose the most expensive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Guest came to us based on family rate web site quote of $35.00 for 2 adults and 2 children, but only paid $31.30 for her site, even after choosing a nicer site! Guest had extra people, etc. and taxes which pushed the rate to $40.77.
Aug 08, 2013
Sometimes, being off the grid is a great thing. Relaxing not being able to check phone or email and just relax....
Aug 05, 2013
This is the first time we've been camping since we've been in Colorado and I'm so happy we picked this place to go to! It was amazingly peaceful and such a nice place! My kids loved the hayride and ice cream social! Great things to do here!!
Aug 01, 2013
Friendly and helpful. Great scenery. Clean and quiet.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Love love love Cotopaxi KOA!!!
Jul 29, 2013
One night, can't control the rain, still had a great stay.
Jul 22, 2013
We had an amazing time!!! Such great amenities but still with an amazing outside atmosphere. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 20, 2013
Okay for our need for the evening, however campsites are small and too close together. Maybe okay for smoe, but not for us.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location with Arkansas River right next to you. Fairly quiet, clean grounds and bathrooms. Lots to do!
Jul 16, 2013
Always a great visit to this KOA. It's clean and pleasant.
Jul 16, 2013
Have camped here numerous times and always have a good time. Kids love the pool and the workers are all very nice.
Jul 11, 2013
Fantastic location, amenities and people are wonderful!
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great time. There were lots of activities to do at the campgrounds and in the surrounding area. Nice clean facility.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was not overly friendly and the grounds were poorly maintained. We stayed there because it is one of the few CO KOA's with a pool.
Jul 02, 2013
Loved this place. I did have an issue with the Kampground banning charcoal grills. The county had a fire ban but that usually doesn't included private kamprounds so I think this was a ban set by the owners of this KOA. We felt this was overkill. It would be highly unlikely that a small charcoal grill in a cement fire pit or ring would start a wildfire in a private campground.
Jul 01, 2013
Very easy to find and had all the amenities we needed!
Jun 28, 2013
The qualities I look for we're present, clean bathroom, and hot showers.
Jun 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite KOAs so far! The location is right on the Arkansas River. Fishing is great. They have several wonderful family friendly events during the summer months. Kids loved the pool! Very close to some of the best white water rafting in Colorado. We will definitely be returning !
Jun 24, 2013
I love Jim and Amy. I needed time away so I went camping by myself. I knew I was going to be safe there because they know me and I will continue to go to Cotopaxi KOA.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.