Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
This place is great! Right on the river...
Jul 30, 2015
Clean facilities. Funny and extremely pleasant staff and overall an extremely phenomenal experience. Thank you so much!!
Jul 29, 2015
I loved our stay at the Cotopaxi KOA campground. The general store offered lots of activities that kept us happy just hanging out at the campsite. Clean restrooms not too far a walk away and loved hearing the river in the background!
Jul 27, 2015
Always a good time at Cotopaxi!!!
Jul 22, 2015
Love this campground...stayed here 3 times now. Love jumping off the "big rock"
Jul 21, 2015
It was supposed to be a DELUXE site. Railroad ties chopped up the space making us too far from water hookup, table, pit (~70+ft). Hard carrying cooler back and forth. Not a pull through. We were outside the KOA by the maint. shed. Might have been different experience if a different camp slot. People were very nice.
Jul 21, 2015
Family oriented, nice people, & enjoyed our short stay. Only critique would be that if we had a neighbor in our tent site 51/52 we would have been squeezed in. 52 was empty, so it was spacious enough for us & worked out well!
Jul 20, 2015
The fire pit we had was a little small and difficult to get a decent fire started in order to cook our meals. I saw on the rules that dogs were not to be left unattended- but the tent next to us left their dogs unattended all the time and they would bark and whimper constantly which was quite annoying. Place is beautiful and it was peaceful to camp next to the river.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean camp sites with very friendly staff and hosts. We will come back.
Jul 18, 2015
The host were very nice and the place was very clean. This will go in my places to go folder, breath taking
Jul 17, 2015
Loved being next to the Arkansas River, and the campground was not very busy. Next time rafting and/or fishing.....
Jul 09, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Campsite 50 was very big. It was nice having the store at the campground for ice and firewood. The kids loved the hayride and the pool.
Jul 08, 2015
Everyone who works there was so kind and helpful and it was a blast!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2015
Amazing! We booked this trip immediately after the last one. I wouldn't go camping anywhere else.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful location, friendly staff. Campground roads not Class A friendly. Width of roads on two way roads barely wide enough for one car much less Class A RV. Staff needs to "groom" sites after they are vacated - found trash in site, patio not swept off. Staff should not use campsites for dump of limbs.
Jun 22, 2015
Great! Quiet, clean, and friendly.
Jun 22, 2015
Our kids loved the pool and tractor ride. I loved the shade our campsite provided during our 90 degree stay. The campground is perfectly nestled in an amazing canyon. Breathe taking views.
Jun 15, 2015
Great spot ... Great location ... Great people ... We had a wonderful time ... Thank You
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great time. Staff is very friendly and facilities are clean. The pool was one of the best features, we enjoyed it very much.
Jun 06, 2015
Helpful, courteous and professional staff. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Convenient location.
May 26, 2015
We had a wonderful weekend on the river.
May 26, 2015
Excellent experience, I will sign up to be member! Well maintained facility. Very cozy feel. I could not ask for anything better. Sleeping with the sounds of the river were amazing. My dog loved it too!
May 03, 2015
Friendly, clean, nice river access. Loved the art room and projects for adults and children.
Apr 27, 2015
Great place to stay while fishing the Ark!
Apr 21, 2015
Great sites, clean restrooms we really had a good time
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the facilities, nice location, helpful staff.
Mar 29, 2015
This was our latest family outing but our first camping experience. The location, the staff and the facilities were all EXCELLENT! We had an amazing time and we are definitely coming back to do it again!
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
One of my favorite places to camp. The deluxe tent site is perfect and the upgrades to the grounds with the new dog park, are great. Will be back!
Sep 25, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
Great hosts, superb customer service in an area with limited communications (cell) they provide a way to check in at home. Next time I will have the fly rod with me.
Sep 10, 2014
This was the first time we stayed here & it was wonderful, great Delux tent site, people & owners, we would recommend staying here to anyone & we will be back again.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Had a great time during our 1st KOA trip! The dog run was great-would be better if owners cleaned up after their dogs). Tent sites are very close, so request a spacious site/area when booking your stay (don't use the online map). The kids loved the activities (tractor ride, ceramics painting, tie-dying, swimming, playground). Would like to have an account set up and pay once when checking out.
Sep 02, 2014
My only complaint is that the tent sites are so incredibly small and the sites are right on top of each other. Not much room for anything beyond your tent itself, no privacy, and a lot if vehicle traffic because of the close proximity of the tent sites to the access road.
Sep 02, 2014
I chose this campground because last year we went during the month of september. This time we brought along 2 other families we invites to camp with us. The only thin that I would say would be easier is if there was a sink to wash dishes near the pet area where there is restrooms. But it was awesome and would go again with more friends
Sep 02, 2014
the staff accomadated our 3 families so that we were all camping next to eachother. they are very freindly and helpful with local info and attractions. this is the second time stayig there and can not wait for the next time.The only thing i would say is missing is the sale of float tubes. They have the arkansas river next to there site and would make profit from selling float tubes for the campers
Sep 02, 2014
Nice koa, tent sites are pretty small. Lots to do for kids, family oriented for sure.
Sep 01, 2014
We were packed in like sardines. There was not enough room to park a car and pitch a tent. The people next to us parked right in front of our tent instead of their own.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for that. Demand exceeds supply, especially on Labor Day Weekend. Each site is set up for 1 normal car, 1 normal tent, picnic table and fire pit. We would have asked the people to move their car had you told us it was not yours. Again, our regrets.
Aug 24, 2014
the sites are so close and no privacy between spots. You can hear everything your neighbors are saying and doing, not camping. Staff was very nice and helpful. The facilities were clean and well kept.
Aug 18, 2014
This was one of the cleaner KOA campgrounds that we have stayed. The staff was incredibly polite & made our stay all the more enjoyable.
Aug 18, 2014
Very friendly staff & exceptionally clean facilities!
Aug 11, 2014
We loved the soothing sound of the Arkansas River just outside our tent. We plan to be back next time we come through next year.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Nice Staff, Great spot near the Arkansas River. The showers and rest rooms were spotless.
Aug 04, 2014
Loved the site and everyone who worked there was great
Aug 04, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.