Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 14, 2016
le falta mucho mantenimiento, el lugar es bonito pero estaba mucho mejor
Aug 13, 2016
Tent pad could have used some gravel and some repair on the wooden deck
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful area! Great, friendly, and helpful people. Loved every minute, so did the kids. Thanks for everything, we'll see you again! Tom
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
The stay was good but items were stolen from our site and we had problems at registration.
Aug 03, 2016
Nice camp ground. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Great place for family fun while camping. Tent sites were a bit close together but had shade trees, picnic table, fire ring. It was lovely to camp right above the river. My kids loved the pool and other fun activities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Showers were clean and hot. The ice cream social on Saturday was a really nice touch. Dog friendly. All in all we had a good time!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Nice rent sites. Level. Close to river
Jul 19, 2016
The staff was friendly. Accessibility to free Wi-Fi was very, very limited. Access to mobile phone service was non-existent. Ability to fish along the Arkansas river was very convenient. Majority of RV sites were not very level.
Jul 19, 2016
Our stay was a disappointment. The overall maintence was poor, overgrown dead trees, my son cut his foot on nails sticking up in the pool deck. The older gentleman was not very friendly and when you voiced a concern no one really seemed concerned they already had our money.
Jul 18, 2016
Very easy in and out. Amenities were everything we needed. Campsite was spacious and easily accessible. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 18, 2016
I like the location but it is close to the highway. I felt the camp ground buildings (store & bathroms) could be cleaner. The traffics noise does quiet down after 9:00 or so. Tent sites are small.
Jul 18, 2016
We found the staff to be very rude. NO one there was helpful, when you ask someone a question the common answers are No or I don't know. It was a crime just to get someone to make coffee in the mornings. The pool area is horrible, the chairs are broken and rusted, the pool wasn't cleaned regularly, the grounds in the entire campsite are not taken care of.
Jul 16, 2016
If tent camping I'd hesitate to recommend but if trailer camping I'd very much recommend therefore a 6 rating. We enjoyed tent camping but we're lucky enough to get a good site. Facilities were very good. Staff was excellent!!
Jul 15, 2016
All of the staff was unfriendly and the pool was very dirty. We were concerned about the fire nearby and nobody could give us any information or seemed to care about our concern. We spoke to other guests that felt the same way.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Loved our tent site on the river. Everything worked and seemed well maintained,and the bathrooms were clean which is always a nice surprise. Even tho we don't have kids, loved the family type atmosphere with ice cream social, putt putt, small hiking trails along the river. Would go back any time!
Jul 11, 2016
great
Jul 07, 2016
Our tentsite was along the treeline river. This location is beautifully maintained. The playground was older, but my daughter didnt care. Good facilities. I wish I could stay longer.
Jul 06, 2016
I have stayed in several KOA campgrounds and never felt more unwelcome. Felt like I couldn't even light a fire and gather with my family. We were practically told to go to sleep at 10:00pm. I will never come back to this place for that and many more reasons, they have give you an hour of Internet access and then you have to buy more. Terrible place to stay!!
Jul 05, 2016
Had a great weekend!
Jul 05, 2016
Wonderful time as usual! Always a fun time with the crafts. Friendly staff, very helpful. Look forward to seeing you all again!
Jul 05, 2016
Facilities need to be upgraded to match most other KOAS. Outdoor kitchen, more cabins, tent sites with hookups.
Jul 01, 2016
Tent camp sites right off the river. Very pretty and quiet setting. Showers and restrooms clean. Better than most KOAs I've been to.
Jun 28, 2016
Perfect place and Perfect stay!
Jun 27, 2016
We are from Texas and I took a group of Scouts on a High Adventure trip to Back Pack and Raft the Arkansas. We stayed at this KOA after Backpacking and it was great! We got a group discount, camped right on the river, and everything was clean and well kept! The showers were great and all of the fun stuff to do there like the pool and games kept the Scouts occupied and happy! We will be back!
Jun 27, 2016
Bob and Shirley were great :)
Jun 20, 2016
Great location, friendly staff.
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Me and my kids loved it great place to camp.
Jun 13, 2016
Most of the KOA is nice except campsite 50, which is where we stayed. Horrible view! It's in the very end of the campgrounds and surrounded by junk, I'm assuming it's their storage area. In my opinion there should not be a campsite there. If you have little kids, do not let them rest up against the railing on the deck, it is very unstable and it will collapse with any weight on it!
Jun 12, 2016
Every year it's a fantastic stay at the Cotopaxi KOA. Keeps us coming back!!! The owners and staff treat you like family and there are so many organized events and activities in addition to the fishing on the Arkansas. Couldn't ask for a better place for kids with the pool, mini golf, basketball court, and so much more!
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean facilities, nice pool, nice folks. The river is RIGHT next to the tent sites, a relaxing sound to relax by.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a nice time. The people who worked there were super nice. The campsites for tents were way to small.
Jun 06, 2016
Rustic area, tent site was a few feet away from the river,secluded dirt site, close to bathroom facility may not be suitable for small children
Jun 04, 2016
I've been coming to this KOA since a child.. it's still exactly as I remembered it. It was like taking a walk down memory lane. The staff are all so friendly and make your camping experience so much more memorable. Cant wait till we get to come back!
Jun 02, 2016
Jim and Amy and Thunder Burnham have always made our stays there incredible. They are warm and considerate people and the people they have working for them are knowledgeable. We will always stay there even though there are other places within a 10 mile radius of their place because they make you feel at home.
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
The tent sites are extremely small, and the restrooms were not cleaned consistently.
May 30, 2016
This campground is quite cramped as it sits on the Arkansas River. The staff is friendly and wifi is limited.
May 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Cotopaxi koa! The tent site by the river was great with the river sounds below us, however wasn't close to the restrooms.Staff was great, very friendly and helpful! Could use a little more maintenance but overall pretty good stay.
May 16, 2016
We were so pleased with our stay! The campground was beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Apr 26, 2016
The only thing I didn't like was they had a tree chipper right next to our tent during nap time for about an hour and a half. Didn't get a good nap:(
Sep 18, 2015
The tent sites are very close together, but we loved that they were on the river. The kids also loved the playground. This would be a better experience if the office staff were friendly. When I asked for directions to a trailhead, it seemed like it was really an inconvenience even though I was the only one in the store and there were two people behind the desk.
Sep 14, 2015
We love Cotooaxi!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals