Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 10, 2016
Location is fantastic
Jun 08, 2016
We had a great time there. Very clean, amazing staff and lots of things for the kiddos to do. However, I think the swimming pool really needs a guard rail to steady us not so steady people get in and out of the pool. A+++
Jun 06, 2016
A great place to stay and to relax!
Jun 06, 2016
Enjoyed the three-day have to resolve a billing issue.
Jun 02, 2016
Great family oriented place to go. The host's Amy, Jim are fabulous folks. I have been coming to this KOA every Memorial Day for over 15 years, love it!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Always an enjoyable stay. Our grandson loves the pool
Jun 02, 2016
We found the campground clean. I found the small bathroom a little stinky after a couple of days. The larger shower house was nice. The noise level was acceptable. We would have liked a 30 AMP along the river but that was not available and 50 AMP was way too much for our little camper even if we knocked it down.
Jun 01, 2016
camping sites are way to close to each other and campground is not kept very clean. better access to the river would be nice with it being so close to the river. flow of traffic is very confusing, we had trouble leaving with people at the dump station blocking road.
May 31, 2016
A beautiful location and the most friendly staff. Plenty of activities for the kids.
May 31, 2016
As always we love camping at Cotopaxi. Didn't enjoy Lot 14 & 15, but wasn't aware being so close to the playground and folks walking through our campsite. We definitely are coming back and will be using lots farther east. Thank you for all the activities and your care!
May 31, 2016
Great location and close to Cañon City. Arkansa river is within walking distance and overall is clean and organize. Can get crowed and the trash dumpsters can fill up quickly. It took 2 days for someone to empty them out. Firepits are ok, depends on what site you are and the fire smoke can be overwhelming.
May 31, 2016
When using a long trailer beware! The roads are narrow inside the park, and the entrances to spaces have trees and boulders. Our 45' barely made it through the campground unscathed! The facility is great, and so are the people though!
May 30, 2016
The camp host at the front desk is a little short. Everything else was outstanding.
May 23, 2016
This campground has beautiful views of the Arkansas River and canyon. Because this area is rugged and a desert climate, water conservation is essential. Sites are not paved, but well graded and leveling may be needed on very few sites. Bathrooms were very clean. Management and work campers were polite and helpful. Topography limits WiFi and cell service.
May 23, 2016
Location is great. Would be nice to have internet in the campground but overall the facilities are nice and the staff was friendly
May 19, 2016
We always enjoy staying at the Cotopaxi KOA.
May 17, 2016
Friendly, relaxing and clean.
May 16, 2016
Loved having a playground for the kids. The sites are nice with having a tree, picnic table, and firepit. Everyone seems really nice. Next time would like to stay in the back-in space overlooking the river.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff. We had a great camping spot. The site and the restrooms were very clean. Some traffic noise but also could hear the river. We will return.
May 06, 2016
May 02, 2016
The only complaint I have is that we had to hunt down the camp host to check in. After being on the road for a few hours that's the last thing I wanted to do was hunt them down to check in. I know it's early in the season but have someone @ the desk @ all times or figure out a some way to make sure you are there to greet your guest! The camp ground was nice and clean. Look forward to the Summer!
Apr 30, 2016
We love staying there. The views by the river are awesome!
Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful campground!
Apr 19, 2016
I really wish the wifi worked better. I know that the idea is to unplug but if it is being advertised it should work. Not a show stopper, but would be nice.
Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
Oct 28, 2015
This KOA could use some TLC. Very uneven sites. Wifi was advertised but was not available.
Oct 26, 2015
A great place our grandson loves it and so do we.
Oct 19, 2015
Loved the art shed! Nice activities that are different from other campgrounds. Need some lights, however, that stay on during the night to get to satelite restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice place. Pull throughs are a little tight, especially with the large boulders set up on both sides.
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground along the banks of the Arkansas River. The fish were biting.
Oct 13, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness of the campground and being able to camp right close to the river. Thank you.
Oct 09, 2015
No TV, No Internet.Camp sites were to tight.
Oct 07, 2015
Rough roads, road noise, lots of dirt
Oct 05, 2015
Love the extra effort they always put in, this time including Day of the Dead themed arts and crafts. Super clean and friendly service.
Oct 04, 2015
The staff was welcoming and supportive. The campground was very well maintained and the showers and bathrooms very clean and we'll maintained. Great stay.
Oct 04, 2015
We love staying at our Cotopaxi KOA. RV sites are awesome and the staff is great. This has been an annual stop for over 10 years.
Oct 04, 2015
Great campsite with beautiful view of river. Great location!
Sep 30, 2015
As a longtime return Cotopaxi KOA customer, I was very satisfied with the experience. The staff are very courteous and helpful. It remains my favorite "nearby" getaway.
Sep 29, 2015
Beautiful place! We had a wonderful time and I really liked that they have activities and crafts for the kids. The Sapp Family :)
Sep 28, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Sep 28, 2015
Had a great time. Friendly people and neighbors.
Sep 27, 2015
Need to prune trees along freeway side and near dump station.


Taken care of! Thanks.
Sep 26, 2015
Great place..enjoyed the stay but no Internet..and no phone made it difficult at times...for a nice relaxing place close to the river would still highly recommend.
Sep 24, 2015
NIce campground, quiet, and cool in the evenings
Sep 24, 2015
It's old


44 years :-)
Sep 22, 2015
The people were great the KOA was dog friendly and the views were beautiful
Sep 21, 2015
We loved spot 74 at the very end. It was very private!
Sep 21, 2015
Great campsite close to showers, and great access to fishing.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals