Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 24, 2015
It's old

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

44 years :-)
Sep 22, 2015
The people were great the KOA was dog friendly and the views were beautiful
Sep 21, 2015
We loved spot 74 at the very end. It was very private!
Sep 21, 2015
Great campsite close to showers, and great access to fishing.
Sep 21, 2015
It's a pretty campground near Salida and the Arkansas river for fishing. Hosts are friendly and helpful.
Sep 21, 2015
My site did not accommodate 2 slides and an awning without hitting trees. The fire pits throughout the camp are in need of replacing. Movable grill would be nice. The current ones in MOST sites were warped and quite small.
Sep 21, 2015
We were very happy to have stayed at the Cotopaxi KOA! The staff was genuinely friendly. We enjoyed the concrete pad with the built-in fire ring and extra table and chairs. Next time we'll ride the hayride. :)
Sep 21, 2015
This is a really nice place to stay and on most Saturday nights they have a hayride with an old John Deere tractor. The kids (and adults) love it
Sep 20, 2015
Dos and dog poop everywhere, unkempt in general, poorest KO A of all i have visited.
Sep 19, 2015
Had a great stay with family, love to camp at Cotopaxi will be back soon!
Sep 15, 2015
Full service (even in the deluxe patio sites) do NOT include sanitation. Also the wireless service previously provided has not been fixed yet so no phone nor wireless service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Full Hook Ups DO include Sewer, Water and Electric. We have a free telephone for all, 24/7, as well as AT&T cell service.
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
I feel so safe at your campground so I love to come down by myself. I really enjoyed myself this last weekend, and the Pig Roast was so good. I look forward to getting down there a couple more times before the snow flies. Thanks Amy, you all Rock!!!!
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time as always.
Sep 11, 2015
Great campground enjoyed my stay
Sep 09, 2015
This was our 4th summer visiting the Cotopaxi KOA and we love it! The sight and sound of the river, the clean grounds, and helpful staff helped make this our family's favorite KOA experience. The convenience to other attractions/activities is a plus. We can't wait to be back next year. :)
Sep 09, 2015
Labor Day Weekend. First time visit to this KOA. Cotopaxi is a hidden nugger. Great campground next to the Arkansas River. Small wading area 1/4 mile to the east great for splashing around.
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
it was ok but the lay out is all wrong where we were we could out it was a one way but had to come back in the same way couldn't turn around just need some adjustments
Sep 08, 2015
Loved every minute of it
Sep 08, 2015
very nice location to river - clean campground and restrooms
Sep 08, 2015
Positives: art, pool, hayride, playground, fire rings. Negatives: spaces too close, quality of river access (at least that which we found), quality of amenities at space.
Sep 08, 2015
Outstanding! Friendly and helpful staff. Grounds are maintained well. Thank you.
Sep 08, 2015
I really enjoyed this KOA. Although WiFi is limited, I really did not miss it.
Sep 08, 2015
Park was clean and accessible. Love having no lights at night - made star gazing awesome. We definitely will be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Our water connection was leaky. Some of the sites are very narrow and have wide trees that take up most of the site and make it difficult to extend an awning. The bathrooms were clean and nice. The kids enjoyed the playground and the dog park was nice to let the dogs off leash for awhile. Very quiet at night which was appreciated.
Sep 08, 2015
My campsite #39 had unkempt large bushes/trees that made getting around the campsite a challenge. Also created a very small area for campfire and table. Normally this KOA is a fabulous place to stay but this weekend the owners were crabby. I was told they were short-handed. The WiFi was non-existent. I always enjoy the ceramics, tie-dying, and hayrides. The location is beautiful.
Sep 08, 2015
This is one of my favorite Kampgrounds. The staff is friendly and over the top helpful. Can't wait to come back! Teri O"
Sep 07, 2015
Overall unfriendly and care less attitude was not typical of any KOA I've stayed at. Disappointing :(
Sep 06, 2015
We had just spent a week at a National Forest campground near Taylor Resorvior and were disappointed in how close the campsites were to each other. Loved being right on the Arkansas River.
Sep 02, 2015
Nice, right on the Arkansas River. Live attendant for night arrivals. As with any campground, there is always room for improvement, and that usually means bathrooms. And that cost money...but we love the location and the folks...
Sep 01, 2015
I was in site #74. I think it must be the best site in the whole campground. I will return again.
Aug 31, 2015
Had great time again
Aug 30, 2015
My wife, grandson and I had a wonderful time and plan on going back in the near future.
Aug 29, 2015
We look forward to our next visit!
Aug 26, 2015
I would stay here again. Everything is older and could use a little updating, but it's camping--right? Everything works great. Nice by the river.
Aug 26, 2015
this is a very well kept campground
Aug 25, 2015
Great. Clean and well kept camp sites. Pavillion area needs weedeating.
Aug 25, 2015
nice setting on the arkansas river but the staff is much less efficient than other koas that we have camped at.
Aug 25, 2015
Pool was nice!
Aug 24, 2015
First time camping in about 10 years had a blast
Aug 22, 2015
Great friendly welcome from staff. Park was nearly full when we were there.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Could not use the burn pit, it was under a pine tree #17
Aug 18, 2015
The hosts of the campground were the nicest people.However picnic tables were in desperate need of refurbishing. Splinters in your backside hurt!
Aug 18, 2015
Grandkids had a blast! Plenty to see and do. Clean and well maintained facilities.
Aug 18, 2015
owners and staff are outstanding and accommodating. there is always something to do. Everyone is friendly and kind.
Aug 17, 2015
The area is beautiful and the grounds are kept pretty clean. There were 2 days that the dog park plastic bags were out and not refilled but otherwise it was a nice area. The staff was nice, except we had a run in with an older man that was not. Don't remember his name. We will be coming back though.
Aug 17, 2015
A great time! Never left the campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals