Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2013
we liked all the activities available for our 2 grandchildren in the park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Being next to the river was a big pulse. being next to US 50 was not as bad as it could be since the traffic was light and very little at night. WE will return.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Our site was right on the Arkansas river with a great view of the rocky mountain canyon. Lots of family activities with a busy helpful and friendly staff
Aug 20, 2013
The gnats were horrible - could they have been sprayed. Bathrooms were very clean. The grounds were not nearly as nice as we would expect from a KOA - especially considering the price.
Aug 20, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and Store were clean. Would like to see a light added to dog run area, very dark. Prizes at events need to be more age appropriate for teens.
Aug 20, 2013
Great location and staff.
Aug 19, 2013
The stay was good - staff was eager to assist. We were there for a group outing and because the group area was far away from our sites they let us use another site for meeting area.
Aug 19, 2013
Activities were well recieved. Weekend was enjoyable. Bugs NOT so much.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I enjoyed all the activities they had to offer. This trip we did tie-die shirts. Family participation is encouraged. We also took a western family photo in front of the wagon. Always love the hay ride and ice cream social. The campground is well-kept, restrooms are clean, and most sites are shaded. They have a nice dog run for the dogs to play and do their business.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We had a great time. Staff was very friendly. Lots of gnats in the day but better at night.
Aug 12, 2013
It's a drag staying places where they're too cheap to buy enough internet bandwidth. Fast internet it critical to most people these days. Some redemption in that Jim listened to my complaint and got mine working, albeit slowly. Great dog park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There is no cable, DSL, fiber optic, microwave, wireless, or cell service available for miles and our guests could not afford to bring it in. Just dial-up and satellite. We pay a premium for the best available commercial satellite. We are not cheap.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
If you love fishing and a real camping experience this is the KOA to visit. The only negative was the bugs (gnats and flies) - so bring plenty of bug spray.
Aug 08, 2013
I try to make it to Cotopaxi KOA at least once a season. Great location, and very handy for fishing the Arkansas.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Great friendly staff very helpful we had a fantastic time
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We had a wonderful time! The faciities are great and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again. The Keating Family
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Great staff! They made us feel like family. Very eager to make this a great stay. Park was clean & well cared for.
Aug 04, 2013
We have stayed here every year for the past four. We have enjoyed it every time. We plan a week here every summer for st least the next five.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
We had a deluxe sight by the river, and a great view of the river. Our second time there.
Aug 02, 2013
I think the WI-FI is not listed correctly in the KOA book it should say LIMITED WI-FI for E-Mail only 1HR every 24hrs
Aug 01, 2013
Very relaxing. Great staff. Can't wait to go back and spend more time there.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Lovely staff. Ceramics on Saturday is a great idea, we loved it. Lovely location with the river running behind the park. We had a nice time at this park
Jul 29, 2013
We had a lovely time! We loved the sound of the river, as well as the cool evenings! The dog run kept our dog sane and made camping fun for him too. There was plenty to do, and our sons and daughter loved playing pool at the game room. Hiking was fun and going down to the river was as well. Lovely surroundings. The gnats dissipated in the cool of the evening. Great, quiet stay.
Jul 29, 2013
people were nice. Stayed right on the river. They have added some sites with little patios and furniture. Real nice
Jul 29, 2013
I really enjoyed our visit! The pottery on Saturdays was awesome! Everyone is so very friendly. I also enjoyed the free tracker ride and ice cream social. The camp sites are too close together but I really enjoyed getting to know other individuals. We will definitely be back!
Jul 27, 2013
Wish there would have been more shade. Access to the river was close but very steep and had to go through camp sites to get there. The bathrooms and general property were very clean.
Jul 27, 2013
Less than friendly. Booked online and was charged $20 in addition to the online rate. No explanation given other than the online must have been wrong. Customer service is not their strong point! We will not be back and will not be recommending to any friends. We got better "service" from the camp host at the national forest campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The guest was mistakenly charged for pets in a cabin instead of pets on an RV site and was credited immediately when we were told. The disparity was $6.39, not $20.00. KOA.com provides estimates, not quotes.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
One of the worse KOA's we've stayed in.Most everything was broken or they didn't have it
Jul 22, 2013
We enjoyed the location of this KOA. Slightly disappointed in the river access as I have a bad leg and was really uncomfortable going down the steep trails to the river. Nice when I got there. It was fun for our family as we were put in spots that were adjacent and could play together easily! We had a wonderful family time. Thank you J<><
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Nice setting but...they charged for the mini golf, wifi was free only for an hour and no cell service or TV
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Great place. Very friendly people. Nice Facilities. Clean, and tidy!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
My wife, 3 small dogs and I had a great time on the campground. The staff and scenery are top notch!
Jul 14, 2013
The camp sites were very clean and well taken care of. The showers were also very clean. The river and mountains were breath taking. A very beautiful and clean place to stay

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.