Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Sep 18, 2012
It was a wonderful relaxing weekend! There were activities offered at the campground, and the setting by the river was beautiful. The hosts are awesome, and we will definitely come back!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 13, 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Cotopaxi. We have been there before and plan on making it a regular destination.It is well run and emaculate. The staff are exceptional. One of my all time favorites!!!
Sep 11, 2012
Having a pool was a big plus and the river was very close!
Sep 10, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
high end sites ($) on river - but no sewer? main park sites rv size restricted, small & not level. no tv or cell phone service. will not stay at this camp again.
Sep 10, 2012
Pool & Bathhouse Were In Excellent Condition.
Sep 07, 2012
Doggie trash cans need to be emptied more often. Our sewer line overflowed when we tried to dump our black water tank. What a mess.
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
we just stayed one night but it was very pleasant, especially with the swiftly flowing Arkansas river right by our spot.Everyone was very nice.
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Jim's hayride is always fun. Camp ground is in excellant condition despite the lack of rain. See you soon.
Sep 04, 2012
water smelled like sewer, wi fi for only 1 hour a day. phone could not hear on. paid $10-15 more for less services. People friednly. campground clean.pads not even. water hose almost didn't reach and we put had slide outs which would have hit rock or power pole thus the long reach for the water hose. We normally stay at KOA's and were dissapointed, also much road noise.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Aug 31, 2012
Everything was tidy, clean, and great amenities. ONLY complaint from us and our group were the goathead thistle/stickers...the pets were loaded with them all three days...but other than that, it was great..and we will be back!!!!
Aug 27, 2012
We had a wonderful time staying at your campground we try to stay there at least once a year the staff are always wonderful. see you next year!
Aug 27, 2012
Aug 26, 2012
Deferred maintenance and cleaning that could be accomplished at little to no cost would make this campground a much nicer place. Safety issues with fire pits directly under trees make a serious fire hazard. Sites were far, far from level. Office staff was not able to perform basic tasks. Shirley has been an employee for many years and struggled with the computer system.
Aug 23, 2012
Although this site is conveniently close to the river, the traffic on US 50 is too close and too loud for our likes. Also, the situation with the WiFi is totally unacceptable! We have to pay for hourly or daily use??? What's this all about??? Yes, we are in the mountains but WiFi is available but unaccessable if you don't PAY more? Your daily fee should more than cover this!
Aug 22, 2012
The facility is in a great loacation, but not in good repair. The hot water handle in the bathroom was missing during our entire 7 day visit. There were other minor items that needed fixing. The internet system was terrible. I would suggest that the internet be available and included in the cost of the stay, rather than 1 hr. per day. The staff was only moderately friendly.
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
Always clean. Always friendly. A great spot
Aug 20, 2012
liked the ice cream and cobbler social. It got very dark to use the bathroom at night even with a flashlight.
Aug 14, 2012
We will come back, wonderful area, good events/programs for all, kids really loved it. Some sites little hard to get into. Gift shop AOK. Not expensive, clean restrooms and showers. Looking forward to going back. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 13, 2012
Aug 12, 2012
Aug 09, 2012
Lots of reviewers dislike this KOA for various reasons, but compared to other campgrounds in the area, it is one of the best, especially if you have young kids w/ you. It is sandwiched between the highway and the river, but all of them are along the Arkansas River. Very pretty scenery, pool, playground and rafting nearby. We stayed 9 days and had a great time! We'll be back. Staff was great, too!
Aug 08, 2012
beautiful campgrounds and friendly people
Aug 07, 2012
This is our favorite KOA in Colorado. My parents came and camped next to us. We have been telling them about this KOA since our first visit here 3 years ago. I lost my diamond earring in the womens shower. I looked for it but could not find it. I went into the office to give my name and number in case someone else found it and the camp hostess, Shirley Austin, helped me find it. The staff is great
Aug 06, 2012
Enjoyed the site 73 except for the nats, I know you can't control mother nature. Had a great time and will be back in the fall to fish the Arkansas.
Aug 06, 2012
This was our maiden voyage with our 32' travel trailer. Great pull thru site, older facility but very nice. No downdsides!
Aug 06, 2012
We were just in for an overnight on the way to Ouray. Great amenities. The time limit on the Hotspot was odd though, especially since there was no cell service available in the entire park.
Aug 06, 2012
WE have been to this KOA many times in the past, though we haven't been for 2 years. It was sadly disappointing. Our firepit didn't have a grate, the cement was all broken and we feared we might set the place on fire. We had to pay for wi-fi so doing a little work would come at a cost The entire campground just seemed to be in some disrepair. I don't think we'll be back
Aug 06, 2012
Aug 05, 2012
We will be back!! We loved the craft event(s)!!
Aug 04, 2012
Some clean up around are could make it look better, but we had a great time. Staff so friendly and helpful. Loved the crafts offerred. HATED the knats, tho!! Know probably nothing you could do ---. We'll be back sometime.
Aug 03, 2012
The showers were small and there needs to be a clear division between stalls. It is a discomforting feeling having someone elses shower splash on your legs.
Jul 31, 2012
Jul 31, 2012
only downside was no cell service and WIFI limit- great place will highly recommend
Jul 30, 2012
people very helpful & friendly; sites a little hard for larger coaches to get in; need to try to level the sites if possible
Jul 30, 2012
they were are really nice at check in
Jul 30, 2012
We loved this KOA, it's close to home, lots of kids, good for family's. We thoroughly enjoyed! It was just my husband & I, but it was fun to see all that the KOA had to offer for the kids.
Jul 30, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
i really enjoy the people that are running the campground, they are friendly and keep the bathrooms clean. the gift store has new items and it really looks great. they have different activities for the kids and the adults. this was our 4th time at this campsite and we will definitely keep coming back. I love the fact that you can hear the river, it is very soothing and relaxing.
Jul 27, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.