Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 881 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 23, 2016
This campground has beautiful views of the Arkansas River and canyon. Because this area is rugged and a desert climate, water conservation is essential. Sites are not paved, but well graded and leveling may be needed on very few sites. Bathrooms were very clean. Management and work campers were polite and helpful. Topography limits WiFi and cell service.
May 23, 2016
Location is great. Would be nice to have internet in the campground but overall the facilities are nice and the staff was friendly
May 19, 2016
We always enjoy staying at the Cotopaxi KOA.
May 17, 2016
Friendly, relaxing and clean.
May 16, 2016
Loved having a playground for the kids. The sites are nice with having a tree, picnic table, and firepit. Everyone seems really nice. Next time would like to stay in the back-in space overlooking the river.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff. We had a great camping spot. The site and the restrooms were very clean. Some traffic noise but also could hear the river. We will return.
May 06, 2016
May 02, 2016
The only complaint I have is that we had to hunt down the camp host to check in. After being on the road for a few hours that's the last thing I wanted to do was hunt them down to check in. I know it's early in the season but have someone @ the desk @ all times or figure out a some way to make sure you are there to greet your guest! The camp ground was nice and clean. Look forward to the Summer!
Apr 30, 2016
We love staying there. The views by the river are awesome!
Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful campground!
Apr 19, 2016
I really wish the wifi worked better. I know that the idea is to unplug but if it is being advertised it should work. Not a show stopper, but would be nice.
Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
Oct 28, 2015
This KOA could use some TLC. Very uneven sites. Wifi was advertised but was not available.
Oct 26, 2015
A great place our grandson loves it and so do we.
Oct 19, 2015
Loved the art shed! Nice activities that are different from other campgrounds. Need some lights, however, that stay on during the night to get to satelite restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice place. Pull throughs are a little tight, especially with the large boulders set up on both sides.
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground along the banks of the Arkansas River. The fish were biting.
Oct 13, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness of the campground and being able to camp right close to the river. Thank you.
Oct 09, 2015
No TV, No Internet.Camp sites were to tight.
Oct 07, 2015
Rough roads, road noise, lots of dirt
Oct 05, 2015
Love the extra effort they always put in, this time including Day of the Dead themed arts and crafts. Super clean and friendly service.
Oct 04, 2015
The staff was welcoming and supportive. The campground was very well maintained and the showers and bathrooms very clean and we'll maintained. Great stay.
Oct 04, 2015
We love staying at our Cotopaxi KOA. RV sites are awesome and the staff is great. This has been an annual stop for over 10 years.
Oct 04, 2015
Great campsite with beautiful view of river. Great location!
Sep 30, 2015
As a longtime return Cotopaxi KOA customer, I was very satisfied with the experience. The staff are very courteous and helpful. It remains my favorite "nearby" getaway.
Sep 29, 2015
Beautiful place! We had a wonderful time and I really liked that they have activities and crafts for the kids. The Sapp Family :)
Sep 28, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Sep 28, 2015
Had a great time. Friendly people and neighbors.
Sep 27, 2015
Need to prune trees along freeway side and near dump station.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Taken care of! Thanks.
Sep 26, 2015
Great place..enjoyed the stay but no cable..no Internet..and no phone made it difficult at times...for a nice relaxing place close to the river would still highly recommend.
Sep 24, 2015
NIce campground, quiet, and cool in the evenings
Sep 24, 2015
It's old

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

44 years :-)
Sep 22, 2015
The people were great the KOA was dog friendly and the views were beautiful
Sep 21, 2015
We loved spot 74 at the very end. It was very private!
Sep 21, 2015
Great campsite close to showers, and great access to fishing.
Sep 21, 2015
It's a pretty campground near Salida and the Arkansas river for fishing. Hosts are friendly and helpful.
Sep 21, 2015
My site did not accommodate 2 slides and an awning without hitting trees. The fire pits throughout the camp are in need of replacing. Movable grill would be nice. The current ones in MOST sites were warped and quite small.
Sep 21, 2015
We were very happy to have stayed at the Cotopaxi KOA! The staff was genuinely friendly. We enjoyed the concrete pad with the built-in fire ring and extra table and chairs. Next time we'll ride the hayride. :)
Sep 21, 2015
This is a really nice place to stay and on most Saturday nights they have a hayride with an old John Deere tractor. The kids (and adults) love it
Sep 20, 2015
Dos and dog poop everywhere, unkempt in general, poorest KO A of all i have visited.
Sep 19, 2015
Had a great stay with family, love to camp at Cotopaxi will be back soon!
Sep 15, 2015
Full service (even in the deluxe patio sites) do NOT include sanitation. Also the wireless service previously provided has not been fixed yet so no phone nor wireless service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Full Hook Ups DO include Sewer, Water and Electric. We have a free telephone for all, 24/7, as well as AT&T cell service.
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
I feel so safe at your campground so I love to come down by myself. I really enjoyed myself this last weekend, and the Pig Roast was so good. I look forward to getting down there a couple more times before the snow flies. Thanks Amy, you all Rock!!!!
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time as always.
Sep 11, 2015
Great campground enjoyed my stay
Sep 09, 2015
This was our 4th summer visiting the Cotopaxi KOA and we love it! The sight and sound of the river, the clean grounds, and helpful staff helped make this our family's favorite KOA experience. The convenience to other attractions/activities is a plus. We can't wait to be back next year. :)
Sep 09, 2015
Labor Day Weekend. First time visit to this KOA. Cotopaxi is a hidden nugger. Great campground next to the Arkansas River. Small wading area 1/4 mile to the east great for splashing around.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals