Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

RV Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
I would stay here again. Everything is older and could use a little updating, but it's camping--right? Everything works great. Nice by the river.
Aug 26, 2015
this is a very well kept campground
Aug 25, 2015
Great. Clean and well kept camp sites. Pavillion area needs weedeating.
Aug 25, 2015
nice setting on the arkansas river but the staff is much less efficient than other koas that we have camped at.
Aug 25, 2015
Pool was nice!
Aug 24, 2015
First time camping in about 10 years had a blast
Aug 22, 2015
Great friendly welcome from staff. Park was nearly full when we were there.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Could not use the burn pit, it was under a pine tree #17
Aug 18, 2015
The hosts of the campground were the nicest people.However picnic tables were in desperate need of refurbishing. Splinters in your backside hurt!
Aug 18, 2015
Grandkids had a blast! Plenty to see and do. Clean and well maintained facilities.
Aug 18, 2015
owners and staff are outstanding and accommodating. there is always something to do. Everyone is friendly and kind.
Aug 17, 2015
The area is beautiful and the grounds are kept pretty clean. There were 2 days that the dog park plastic bags were out and not refilled but otherwise it was a nice area. The staff was nice, except we had a run in with an older man that was not. Don't remember his name. We will be coming back though.
Aug 17, 2015
A great time! Never left the campground.
Aug 17, 2015
Great weekend. Lots of things to do and great staff. Love staying at this KOA.
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay a lot - the campground is very clean. One suggestion is to widen out the turn for the big rigs at the east end - the turn is way to tight and we watched people struggle with the turn and one driver actually jack-knifed his rig and damaged it getting around the curve.
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful location right beside the river. Trees and limbs need to be trimmed for the big rigs. No cell service, but hey, its the beautiful Colo mountains :)
Aug 17, 2015
Very friendly. Wish I could have stayed for art class on Saturday. Already recommended this koa to friends.
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly staff. Very nice setting. Well maintained.
Aug 12, 2015
Loved it!!
Aug 11, 2015
Very poor wifi and you only get 1 hr. consecutively per 24 hr. No cell phone signal on verizon. Asked for shady rv spot and got one that the sun hit first in the morning and last in the evening but they did let me move!. Very tough river access! Low flow toilets that seemed to stay stopped up. Plus, was a friendly staff and the campground was clean.
Aug 11, 2015
Always enjoy staying a day or two at the Cotopaxi KOA when we are in the area.
Aug 11, 2015
Great place
Aug 10, 2015
Beautiful place for a nice relaxing time. The sound of the rushing water along w the view puts it over the top. Nice places to hike & take a tip in super refreshing river. If your looking to camp & not rough it this is the place to go.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Very nice people. Sites are tight and at 38 feet we had trouble getting out when we left. Cannot have car hooked up and even bare it is very tight. Trees are not trimmed on roadways. Bathrooms smell. That said it is on the river.
Aug 06, 2015
The people at this KOA were very friendly. The campground it's self is clean and well taken care of. We liked the fact that there is no cellphone service, so you feel like you're off of the grid.
Aug 06, 2015
We stayed in one of the premium RV spots on the river. Nice and clean, great patio area. Only complaint is the access to the river from these sites are steep and unsafe. A few well-placed rocks would help this.
Aug 04, 2015
the staff was friendly and the site was clean.
Aug 03, 2015
Super friendly staff and clean facilities.
Aug 03, 2015
The staff is great, but the swimming pool didn't have a notice for folks to shower before they get in. It was like a community bath tub, the water pressure wasn't the greatest in the showers & some people seemed to homestead in them. There should be a notice for 5 minute's no longer. And the 10:00 PM curfew, our neighbors didn't know the meaning, carrying on till midnight...
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Overgrown brush and trees. Only a few sites have sewerage or 50 amp power. Ruined new tire on a rock having to exit via a narrow road, Poorest KOA we have stayed at in 5 yrs. Suggest KOA review status.
Jul 27, 2015
It is always awesome! Love the staff. So clean. Only problem I find is the shower water pressure is too low. Love Amy and the art studio, ice cream social and the hay rides.
Jul 27, 2015
It is always a pleasure to stay at this facility.
Jul 27, 2015
Parking was just a bit tight but otherwise, enjoyable stay.
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff, clean sites, central location. 20 plus years and counting.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
they are very accommodating here and are extremely friendly. What ever you need, they will take care of. Thank you
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Rules state no barking dogs, no ATVS park. Heard nothing but barking dogs. ATV riding around. Hwy next door. Extremely cramped campground and I didn't think facility well maintained compared to others . I won't be back. For what they charged? Not even wifi.
Jul 20, 2015
My Husband and I spent the weekend@ Cotopaxi/Arkansas River Co KOA and enjoyed our visit and Stay. Our little dog loved his time playing at the Barkansas Dog park with other fury Friends. This is a very nice fenced in dog park. Very clean and well kept. We stayed in one of the Deluxe sites next to the Arkansas River and enjoyed watching the rafters. Friendly staff, very clean and well kept place
Jul 20, 2015
We enjoyed our stay for the most part. Feel like more maintenance could be done with the sites...leveling, specifically. More bug clean-up in the pool. Toilet trash containers were not emptied daily. Biggest drawback: the traffic noise. Made fireside conversation just about impossible. Four dollars for a bag of ice is just plain robbery. Staff very nice and very helpful.
Jul 19, 2015
nice and quiet!
Jul 17, 2015
Trees need to be trimmed as they rub the sides of RV. Turn radius to thight for RV over 30 foot in length. Gabage cans overflowing.
Jul 16, 2015
We were set up on site 73. The location is great, but I think the price is high for a site that does not have sewage.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Loved staying with James, Amy ,Al and Shirley! They were so accommodating and fun! Great stay by the lovely River!
Jul 14, 2015
Facilities were very clean. We would have liked some shade as the trees at the site were very small. Loved the dog park. Swimming pool is rather small and that is probably why it was cloudy because it was pretty busy on the hot days. Staff was friendly and the office building had a pool table and games and videos to rent. The canyon is beautiful but the camp was very close to the highway.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.