Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 21, 2016
Beautiful location, clean, friendly staff, ( one staff member game my sons quarters to Play pool, very nice as we had no cash!) rec room, mini golf. My kids really loved it! The Arkansas river was lovely and we liked that Koa had the river running right next to it. Very enjoyable place to stay! Thanks so much!
Oct 19, 2016
This is one of our most favorite campgrounds
Oct 19, 2016
There were hundreds of goat head stickers... otherwise it was nice!
Oct 17, 2016
Great location, great campground.
Oct 16, 2016
Very nice. Quiet (during the week in the fall).
Oct 13, 2016
Weloved it there. We will be back
Oct 11, 2016
We had a very nice stay. Bathrooms are clean and close. Only get 1 hour of free Wifi per day, but can buy it. Sites slope down an little so sewer line was draining uphill a little. Nice staff!! Ice cream social. Clean property and close to Salida or Royal Gorge. Looking forward to going back next year.
Oct 09, 2016
Great stay to bad fish wasn't biting 😀😀
Oct 07, 2016
Nice setting and friendly hosts. just a little over priced for a KOA without TV or Internet. Watching the pot smokers next door was a hoot for us old Texans.
Oct 03, 2016
Outstanding time along the Arkansas. Have stayed before, but this time we missed the hay rack ride. Must of been off season.
Oct 03, 2016
It was relaxing! The campground is set in a breathtaking canyon where the Arkansas River is accessible for fishing, rafting & just enjoying the views. We stayed for approx two months most days driving in the mountains on the passes, most were very bumpy but several were really scary yet fun. The campground is centrally located from all the natural & manmade attractions so we get to relax & enjoy!
Oct 01, 2016
Badly in need of repair & renovation. 1 free hr in 24 hrs of very poor wifi. U must pay extra for more wifi. Bathrooms & laundry are old & dirty looking. Poor drainage in showers--standing in water while taking shower. Campsites have HUGE thorns that stick in yur shoes and pets feet. Staff very nice. Scenery is pretty. Little shade. Very tired & old looking.
Sep 29, 2016
The KOA is great for the location and purpose of really getting away. Some sites were not quite level and sewage connections seem to run uphill and are quite a distance from the rig to the drain... Due to locale, 'goat head' thorns are a real issue for the pets. No cell service, radio,TV,cable, wifi for 1 hr daily. Having said all that: the staff & managers were gracious, wonderful, helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very clean.
Sep 26, 2016
The campground was clean and quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.
Sep 24, 2016
nice.. clean. quite wish i had smaller rv.. lot 29 was really nice.. wish they had more full service spots. pullin in n out of highway kinda scary. no internet! no cell service either little liitle bit of att&t
Sep 22, 2016
The reservation system is either antiquated or the operators do not understand the system , we settled for a site after reserving a different site and was told that site was booked only to go all week with that site empty
Sep 20, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. They had lots of activities for the kids. They hayride is always fun and the ceramics studio is always a hit. However, the website said that the heated pool was open to the end of September. We chose this KOA over others particularly for that reason and were disappointed to find that the pool was closed. Overall, we really like this koa.
Sep 19, 2016
Another beautiful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
Sites not level. Sites just dirt. Amenities sub-standard. Staff not very friendly. Everything is old and in need of repair and/or upgrade. River access was poor. Nice dog park except for all the goat head stickers we kept having to remove from our dogs paws. Ok place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in a pinch. Would not make this a destination park.
Sep 17, 2016
We were at the end of the season, however, the stay was pleasant, the facilities were clean and the staff was very courteous. This KOA rates at the top of others we drove by and even stopped and looked at. We will definitely make this a future stop when we are in the area again.
Sep 16, 2016
The hostess (Shirley) was very helpful and accomodating!
Sep 12, 2016
It was a really nice area to camp in. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Camp was nice and clean. Staff not very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Our stay was Sept 9-11, 2016. We had one of the sites closest to the river, it was a beautiful setting. The pig roast was delicious, the pool was nice and warm, the staff were very nice, I can't say enough good things about our stay! We will be coming back.
Sep 12, 2016
We love this place! And the annual pig roast with music was fabulous!
Sep 12, 2016
The staff at this KOA are fantastic. They plan events to entertain families with or without children. We always enjoy this KOA . It's like visiting family! Great job everyone.
Sep 12, 2016
Only scattered shade trees -- first assigned to a site that had a barbeque grill (6 " depth) and had to move to a grate where I could build a fire. Very limited shade trees. Felt I was assigned a spot for convenience of staff, not my convenience.
Sep 11, 2016
Great experience until a camper with their dog not leased was aggressive toward other dogs which were leased and caused concern for owners of the leased dogs ... otherwise, our stay was very enjoyable
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA. The weekend always goes by too fast.
Sep 07, 2016
First time in our RV, and the spot we had was extremely quiet. Didn't hardly even know other people were in the campground. Excellent time had by all, as always! Thanks for everything!
Sep 07, 2016
Great stay!! Very kind and helpful staff with very clean facilities. Swimming, arts and crafts, hayride and playground were a blast for us and our kids!!! We'll be back for sure.
Sep 07, 2016
Love the Cotopaxi KOA! Always enjoy our time here.
Sep 06, 2016
was very good...looking forward for another trip
Sep 06, 2016
Older campground,needs work and up keep. fire pits,electrical some old some new. I got stuck with booth
Sep 05, 2016
They definitely need to fix their WIFI. Also need to fix the parking pads so the reach to the facilities (sewer) is not as long.
Sep 04, 2016
Expedted the quality of other KOAs and was disappointed. This not big rig friendly. Their sites are not level. It was nice that they had trees but they need to be trimmed. It scratch our rv and prevented the slide from coming out. Even at the hookups that a tree that made it difficult to set up. Will not go back.
Aug 30, 2016
Great location, AMAZING staff! There was so much to do right at the campground. We will definitely be going back!
Aug 30, 2016
The price was too high. The checkout time is too early, especially considering the pool only opens 1 hour prior to having to leave the campground. For the price to stay, the extras (such as mini golf) should be included. The area is nice, but you claim to be right on the river. While you are next to the river, you are a couple stories above the river so fishing and swimming are not an option.
Aug 26, 2016
The KOA would be alright if they didn't let everybody park right on top of that each other.
Aug 24, 2016
Very dry nice, quiet, clean and beautiful view of river.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 23, 2016
Very fun. Plenty to do. Clean.
Aug 22, 2016
Overall the stay was OK but I did note several problems. The roads are very narrow so this is not a good campground for very large RVs. Many of the trees need to be trimmed around the sites. Although it cost $2 per dog and dogs are supposed to be leashed, we saw many dogs running around the campground unleashed. One of these dogs caused a real problem with one of our campers. Enforce the rules.
Aug 22, 2016
trees scratch rv going into site,never had to pay for dogs before, too close to noisy highway, no cell phone service, wi-fi very poor plus charging $7 per day.
Aug 22, 2016
Suggest you trim the tree limbs hanging over the entry way and drives to camping sites. Need to do a better job of supplying dog pop bags/clearing the waste buckets (East Dog Run) for those who do clean up after their pets. Uphill sewage dumps make it a little difficult for proper drainage on some sites. Wifi/cell phone improvements would be helpful.
Aug 22, 2016
This was a very pleasant surprise! We absolutely loved the campsite No. 74! Can't wait to come back and hopefully get one of the premium sites!
Aug 20, 2016
It was reasonably quiet, although on a highway, didn't bother us. The setting, surrounded by mountains and the river was lovely. Not huge on amenities, but it had everything we needed, the Internet was EXTREMELY slow, it was practically impossible to do much of anything useful in the hour allowed, but that is about my only complaint. The area was very scenic!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals