Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 948 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 27, 2016
Gorgeous sites right on the River. Nestled right between the mountains.
Jun 27, 2016
It would be nice if there were adult only pool hours. We were looking forward to swimming but didn't because of all the kids there. Otherwise great place
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely setting with the river flowing past, lots of birds. Trees at every site.
Jun 24, 2016
Nice place on the river. Public lands on either side of the property allow for long walks and lots of river access. Beautiful views. Close enough to both Salida and Canon City to enjoy both. Sites are good, but some have nearly no shade and it was terribly hot during our stay. If travelling with dogs, look out for goat-head burrs. They're everywhere and very painful.
Jun 24, 2016
Need Cable or Verizon connection .
Jun 24, 2016
Staff was luke warm at best, in fact lady acted like I was putting her out. Spaces are too crowded together and not really level enough to easily unhook and hook up the trailer. No, I will never stay here again.
Jun 23, 2016
The camp didn't have enough electrical power to run air conditioner in RV according to the volt meter for the 110 it was reading 107. The pul through was not as long as they claimed and level. The brushes and trees along the interior roads needed to be trimmed so RVs could pass through easier. The swimming pool and playground was nice. Bathrooms were clean.Probably won't stay here again.
Jun 21, 2016
Nice Pace direct to the Arkansas river.Slow Wifi, only 1 hour in 24 hrs! Very friendly Hosts.
Jun 21, 2016
I wouldn't say we exactly got a warm welcome but we got a spot nonetheless. The sites advertised as gravel were more dirt but ours was level and partly shaded. Although the river was up considerably, I thought there was more river access on this property. Never could find good access. Also, there is road noise, no way around it.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location. Helpful staff. Full of the amenities to be expected, but the feeling of being "off the beaten path".
Jun 20, 2016
Beautiful setting and great people. Loved the Art Room and enjoyed painting ceramics! Easy hike (walk) across the road in early morning.
Jun 20, 2016
Love the campgrounds and the people that work there but not so happy with the couple that was camped next to us that didn't like kids. I have never meet people as rude as the couple in camp site #34.
Jun 20, 2016
Stay was ok, neighbors did not observe quiet hours one night. Sites were a little too close together. I have stayed at dozens of KOA's over the years and this one was average.
Jun 20, 2016
The pool was a lot smaller than expected, the staff was friendly, overall it was a good stay, we would probably go back.
Jun 20, 2016
The campsite was very small! When you step out of the camper your standing on a hill. The fire pit is extremely small. Our pick Nick table was at the back end of the site with no cover as there is no room next to the camper under an awning. I'm pretty sure that I paid for 2 kids even though I only brought one plus it was father's day weekend where they where supposed to stay for free...
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Delightful little campground - we had a beautiful site overlooking the river.
Jun 15, 2016
I loved this KOA! There was lots for the family to do and was set in a beautiful location.
Jun 14, 2016
a big thank you to Ms Shirley for her hospitality
Jun 14, 2016
Another great week end thank you
Jun 13, 2016
We always have a great time.
Jun 12, 2016
Spots too close together, river too steep to get too unless you go in campers area, and then still steep, pricey
Jun 10, 2016
Location is fantastic
Jun 08, 2016
We had a great time there. Very clean, amazing staff and lots of things for the kiddos to do. However, I think the swimming pool really needs a guard rail to steady us not so steady people get in and out of the pool. A+++
Jun 06, 2016
A great place to stay and to relax!
Jun 06, 2016
Enjoyed the three-day stay...now have to resolve a billing issue.
Jun 02, 2016
Great family oriented place to go. The host's Amy, Jim are fabulous folks. I have been coming to this KOA every Memorial Day for over 15 years, love it!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Always an enjoyable stay. Our grandson loves the pool
Jun 02, 2016
We found the campground clean. I found the small bathroom a little stinky after a couple of days. The larger shower house was nice. The noise level was acceptable. We would have liked a 30 AMP along the river but that was not available and 50 AMP was way too much for our little camper even if we knocked it down.
Jun 01, 2016
camping sites are way to close to each other and campground is not kept very clean. better access to the river would be nice with it being so close to the river. flow of traffic is very confusing, we had trouble leaving with people at the dump station blocking road.
May 31, 2016
A beautiful location and the most friendly staff. Plenty of activities for the kids.
May 31, 2016
As always we love camping at Cotopaxi. Didn't enjoy Lot 14 & 15, but wasn't aware being so close to the playground and folks walking through our campsite. We definitely are coming back and will be using lots farther east. Thank you for all the activities and your care!
May 31, 2016
Great location and close to CaƱon City. Arkansa river is within walking distance and overall is clean and organize. Can get crowed and the trash dumpsters can fill up quickly. It took 2 days for someone to empty them out. Firepits are ok, depends on what site you are and the fire smoke can be overwhelming.
May 31, 2016
When using a long trailer beware! The roads are narrow inside the park, and the entrances to spaces have trees and boulders. Our 45' barely made it through the campground unscathed! The facility is great, and so are the people though!
May 30, 2016
The camp host at the front desk is a little short. Everything else was outstanding.
May 23, 2016
This campground has beautiful views of the Arkansas River and canyon. Because this area is rugged and a desert climate, water conservation is essential. Sites are not paved, but well graded and leveling may be needed on very few sites. Bathrooms were very clean. Management and work campers were polite and helpful. Topography limits WiFi and cell service.
May 23, 2016
Location is great. Would be nice to have internet in the campground but overall the facilities are nice and the staff was friendly
May 19, 2016
We always enjoy staying at the Cotopaxi KOA.
May 17, 2016
Friendly, relaxing and clean.
May 16, 2016
Loved having a playground for the kids. The sites are nice with having a tree, picnic table, and firepit. Everyone seems really nice. Next time would like to stay in the back-in space overlooking the river.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff. We had a great camping spot. The site and the restrooms were very clean. Some traffic noise but also could hear the river. We will return.
May 06, 2016
May 02, 2016
The only complaint I have is that we had to hunt down the camp host to check in. After being on the road for a few hours that's the last thing I wanted to do was hunt them down to check in. I know it's early in the season but have someone @ the desk @ all times or figure out a some way to make sure you are there to greet your guest! The camp ground was nice and clean. Look forward to the Summer!
Apr 30, 2016
We love staying there. The views by the river are awesome!
Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful campground!
Apr 19, 2016
I really wish the wifi worked better. I know that the idea is to unplug but if it is being advertised it should work. Not a show stopper, but would be nice.
Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals