Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

RV Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
Beautiful location overlooking the Arkansas River. Campground facilities were clean and maintained however the camping areas were dirt and gravel and only a very few were anywhere close to being level. They have a few 50 amp spots but I wouldn't recommend this KOA to large RV's. Spaces are small and roads are narrow.
Jul 02, 2015
Friendly KOA but needs some TLC and upkeep.
Jul 01, 2015
one of the nicest KOA campgrounds we have stayed at
Jun 30, 2015
great stay
Jun 29, 2015
No wifi no phone service to many obstacles for RV. Won't be back.
Jun 29, 2015
Could use showers on east side.
Jun 26, 2015
Stayed at one of the paved patio spots that backs up to river. It was an incredible spot with good space and comfortable patio furniture. I highly recommend these spots. The rest of the facility was good to go, with a nice pool that the kids enjoyed.
Jun 24, 2015
As always, another perfect stay at out spot! Can't wait to go back in September!
Jun 23, 2015
We have stayed here before and will likely return again. Staff is always helpful, but not always knowledgeable about activities int he area.
Jun 23, 2015
This KOA has a lot of fun amenities for the entire family,the children especially enjoyed the pool.The staff was pleasant. Grounds were well kept.- lack of shade trees and small sites.Not a lot of room for campers,parking and lack of privacy.Sites on top of one another. website should show each site as they truly are.Check out should be 1:00 instead of 11. Charged for taking an hour longer to pack
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness throughout was exceptional. Many opportunities for activities. Definitely a return to KOA.
Jun 22, 2015
Overall a pleasant stay with you however the toilet situation was poor. The common shower/toilet in men's room had weak shower pressure and the bathroom stalls/floors could have used a second cleaning during the day. Toilet flushing in the cabin was horrible; it kept getting getting backed up.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful setting, bathrooms were only avg
Jun 22, 2015
Stayed here on multiple occasions. It is always a pleasure to stay here.
Jun 22, 2015
Clean, great fun for our 2 grandsons, and great location for surrounding attractions.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. Loved the dog walk, hay ride and friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful location, friendly owners and very clean! Our family had a wonderful time.
Jun 21, 2015
I just love this place. It's always clean and the views of the river are gorgeous!
Jun 19, 2015
Very friendly and accomidating
Jun 16, 2015
GREAT place.. would recommend this campground to anyone looking for a relaxing close to the river getaway
Jun 16, 2015
Good stay - thanks.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
Beautiful area, very clean and well maintained campground
Jun 14, 2015
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you.
Jun 13, 2015
Too much road noise and Dog park not clean, 1st time we took our dogs to the park we pick-up 10 to 15 piles that were not ours,
May 27, 2015
We have spent Memorial Day at this campground for years. It is maintained very well. There are many activities in the campground. Kids love it!There is easy access to the river for fishing. The scenery is beautiful. The owners and the staff are wonderful.
May 27, 2015
great place we love the wagon rides and the ice cream after great people jim is a great guy i like kidding with him about the john deere and it dieind both years in a row
May 27, 2015
we had a great time with our grandchildren and all the activities we did with them!!!
May 26, 2015
Weather was rainy but we had a great time doing crafts in the art shed. Amy made it fun. Shirley and the guys made us feel welcome.
May 26, 2015
This is our second stay at this KOA and we just love it. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground and all the building are very clean including the bathrooms and store. There is a lot to do at the campground. When my dad sliped and fell and badly injured him self down by the river Shirley was concerned and helped us find the closest Emergency room. Arts and crafts were so fun!
May 26, 2015
Great friendly staff, lots to do, clean grounds
May 26, 2015
Nice stay, clean grounds very nice staff!
May 15, 2015
May 13, 2015
Very nice and quiet are. Only complaint is the wifi is terribly slow- you only get 1 hr. a day and if you log on for 10 minutes then try and get on again- well that was your 1 hr. aday
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Awesome as usual, cant wait to stay again!
May 09, 2015
Friendly hosts, immaculate campground, fishing not so good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, the fly fishing fell off with the rains and run off but bait and spinner fishing picked up. Rafting and kayaking are looking good. We hope to see you back when the river clears up!
May 04, 2015
Always enjoy my stay at Cotopaxi KOA. Great fishing in the area, and about midway between Salida and Canyon City for dining and entertainment options.
May 02, 2015
Great place! Very nice people!
May 02, 2015
We enjoyed the sounds of the Arkansas river flowing past the campground.
Apr 15, 2015
love the close proximity to the river for fly fishing. kids always like the merry go round. nice, clean bathrooms & good water pressure on the showers. friendly staff. campground is well maintained.
Apr 14, 2015
Our short stay was great! The KOA was clean and quiet with a great site next to the river. The prices in the KOA store were very reasonable and had just what we needed. A great KOA that we will recommend to others.
Apr 14, 2015
No water. This KOA was not ready to be opened.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had bathrooms open with water, and RV sites with water; and a hose for those who wanted the cheaper sites without water.
Apr 06, 2015
Wonderful experience! James and Amy were wonderful hosts. Great location right next to the Arkansas river.
Apr 06, 2015
Great area. Great sites. Clean facilities. Dog park was a nice feature.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Good amenities and activities for the teens and fishing was fun.
Mar 29, 2015
Location awesome. Staff outstanding.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.