Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 26, 2016
The campground was clean and quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.
Sep 24, 2016
nice.. clean. quite wish i had smaller rv.. lot 29 was really nice.. wish they had more full service spots. pullin in n out of highway kinda scary. no internet! no cell service either little liitle bit of att&t
Sep 22, 2016
The reservation system is either antiquated or the operators do not understand the system , we settled for a site after reserving a different site and was told that site was booked only to go all week with that site empty
Sep 20, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. They had lots of activities for the kids. They hayride is always fun and the ceramics studio is always a hit. However, the website said that the heated pool was open to the end of September. We chose this KOA over others particularly for that reason and were disappointed to find that the pool was closed. Overall, we really like this koa.
Sep 19, 2016
Another beautiful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
Sites not level. Sites just dirt. Amenities sub-standard. Staff not very friendly. Everything is old and in need of repair and/or upgrade. River access was poor. Nice dog park except for all the goat head stickers we kept having to remove from our dogs paws. Ok place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in a pinch. Would not make this a destination park.
Sep 17, 2016
We were at the end of the season, however, the stay was pleasant, the facilities were clean and the staff was very courteous. This KOA rates at the top of others we drove by and even stopped and looked at. We will definitely make this a future stop when we are in the area again.
Sep 16, 2016
The hostess (Shirley) was very helpful and accomodating!
Sep 12, 2016
It was a really nice area to camp in. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Camp was nice and clean. Staff not very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Our stay was Sept 9-11, 2016. We had one of the sites closest to the river, it was a beautiful setting. The pig roast was delicious, the pool was nice and warm, the staff were very nice, I can't say enough good things about our stay! We will be coming back.
Sep 12, 2016
We love this place! And the annual pig roast with music was fabulous!
Sep 12, 2016
The staff at this KOA are fantastic. They plan events to entertain families with or without children. We always enjoy this KOA . It's like visiting family! Great job everyone.
Sep 12, 2016
Only scattered shade trees -- first assigned to a site that had a barbeque grill (6 " depth) and had to move to a grate where I could build a fire. Very limited shade trees. Felt I was assigned a spot for convenience of staff, not my convenience.
Sep 11, 2016
Great experience until a camper with their dog not leased was aggressive toward other dogs which were leased and caused concern for owners of the leased dogs ... otherwise, our stay was very enjoyable
Sep 08, 2016
excellent
Sep 07, 2016
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA. The weekend always goes by too fast.
Sep 07, 2016
First time in our RV, and the spot we had was extremely quiet. Didn't hardly even know other people were in the campground. Excellent time had by all, as always! Thanks for everything!
Sep 07, 2016
Great stay!! Very kind and helpful staff with very clean facilities. Swimming, arts and crafts, hayride and playground were a blast for us and our kids!!! We'll be back for sure.
Sep 07, 2016
Love the Cotopaxi KOA! Always enjoy our time here.
Sep 06, 2016
was very good...looking forward for another trip
Sep 06, 2016
Older campground,needs work and up keep. fire pits,electrical some old some new. I got stuck with booth
Sep 05, 2016
They definitely need to fix their WIFI. Also need to fix the parking pads so the reach to the facilities (sewer) is not as long.
Sep 04, 2016
Expedted the quality of other KOAs and was disappointed. This not big rig friendly. Their sites are not level. It was nice that they had trees but they need to be trimmed. It scratch our rv and prevented the slide from coming out. Even at the hookups that a tree that made it difficult to set up. Will not go back.
Aug 30, 2016
Great location, AMAZING staff! There was so much to do right at the campground. We will definitely be going back!
Aug 30, 2016
The price was too high. The checkout time is too early, especially considering the pool only opens 1 hour prior to having to leave the campground. For the price to stay, the extras (such as mini golf) should be included. The area is nice, but you claim to be right on the river. While you are next to the river, you are a couple stories above the river so fishing and swimming are not an option.
Aug 26, 2016
The KOA would be alright if they didn't let everybody park right on top of that each other.
Aug 24, 2016
Very dry nice, quiet, clean and beautiful view of river.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 23, 2016
Very fun. Plenty to do. Clean.
Aug 22, 2016
Overall the stay was OK but I did note several problems. The roads are very narrow so this is not a good campground for very large RVs. Many of the trees need to be trimmed around the sites. Although it cost $2 per dog and dogs are supposed to be leashed, we saw many dogs running around the campground unleashed. One of these dogs caused a real problem with one of our campers. Enforce the rules.
Aug 22, 2016
trees scratch rv going into site,never had to pay for dogs before, too close to noisy highway, no cell phone service, wi-fi very poor plus charging $7 per day.
Aug 22, 2016
Suggest you trim the tree limbs hanging over the entry way and drives to camping sites. Need to do a better job of supplying dog pop bags/clearing the waste buckets (East Dog Run) for those who do clean up after their pets. Uphill sewage dumps make it a little difficult for proper drainage on some sites. Wifi/cell phone improvements would be helpful.
Aug 22, 2016
This was a very pleasant surprise! We absolutely loved the campsite No. 74! Can't wait to come back and hopefully get one of the premium sites!
Aug 20, 2016
It was reasonably quiet, although on a highway, didn't bother us. The setting, surrounded by mountains and the river was lovely. Not huge on amenities, but it had everything we needed, the Internet was EXTREMELY slow, it was practically impossible to do much of anything useful in the hour allowed, but that is about my only complaint. The area was very scenic!
Aug 19, 2016
My wife and I enjoy staying here very much, the patio sites age very nice. However, the Wi-Fi is pitiful. The one hour a day limit is livable if it worked! We stayed for 3 nights and successfully checked our e-mail one night. The two other nights we got a message that our limit had been reached when we hadn't even got on the Wi-Fi.
Aug 18, 2016
Nice pull-thru sites. Great river setting.
Aug 17, 2016
Wouldn't refund on cabins hen you weren't full and had other cabins so that was a poor excuse it didn't make you lose money also wouldn't take care of red ants in our yard where we had to sit and have our campfire. Trees needed trimming. We had reserved another spot at another loa because you said we could leave with a twenty four hour notice made it bad because we all had to stay in one camper
Aug 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay...would like to be further away from the road the next time and closer to the river!
Aug 15, 2016
would like better access to river,OK for young people but very hard for older guests
Aug 15, 2016
Never saw camp host except at check in and the power is completely inadequate, day time was 108 volts. No WIFI either.
Aug 15, 2016
enjoyed our two night stay with the kids and grandkids. All the special activities for the little ones and the pool and tractor ride were super. Only negatives were no hot water for a shower after dip in pool and a grumpy desk clerk for whom the season has already gotten a little long. Shower was addressed immediately and clerk is going to attitude rehab. We'll be back again
Aug 15, 2016
We had the best camping spot for a large group, #33. The large cement patio kept the 4 kids and dog 'cleaner' and there was sand which was fun for them to play in. The pool was a great distraction and a way to cool off. The playground, BB gun event and hayride topped it off! Definitely would go again if we could get that spot!
Aug 15, 2016
The pros: Location, location, on the Arkansas River. Friendly staff and available "most" of the time. Cons: Charged us for a deluxe site, which we did not reserve and charged us "extra" for dog, and doubled fee. We would stay again, possibly, but be tougher about charges.
Aug 14, 2016
okay ,pet fee why?
Aug 13, 2016
Nice place quite very friendly
Aug 12, 2016
Turned up too late to use facilities nice night sleep clean site unfortunately left too early to enjoy stay to its fullest
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
stay was very good people were very friendly
Aug 10, 2016
Area is dated and not very well maintained. Sites could have been more level with less tree limbs in the way. Couldn't play putt putt because of leaves and rocks on the course.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals