Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 3 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 861 Reviews

RV Reviews

Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
Oct 28, 2015
This KOA could use some TLC. Very uneven sites. Wifi was advertised but was not available.
Oct 26, 2015
A great place our grandson loves it and so do we.
Oct 19, 2015
Loved the art shed! Nice activities that are different from other campgrounds. Need some lights, however, that stay on during the night to get to satelite restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice place. Pull throughs are a little tight, especially with the large boulders set up on both sides.
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground along the banks of the Arkansas River. The fish were biting.
Oct 13, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness of the campground and being able to camp right close to the river. Thank you.
Oct 09, 2015
No TV, No Internet.Camp sites were to tight.
Oct 07, 2015
Rough roads, road noise, lots of dirt
Oct 05, 2015
Love the extra effort they always put in, this time including Day of the Dead themed arts and crafts. Super clean and friendly service.
Oct 04, 2015
The staff was welcoming and supportive. The campground was very well maintained and the showers and bathrooms very clean and we'll maintained. Great stay.
Oct 04, 2015
We love staying at our Cotopaxi KOA. RV sites are awesome and the staff is great. This has been an annual stop for over 10 years.
Oct 04, 2015
Great campsite with beautiful view of river. Great location!
Sep 30, 2015
As a longtime return Cotopaxi KOA customer, I was very satisfied with the experience. The staff are very courteous and helpful. It remains my favorite "nearby" getaway.
Sep 29, 2015
Beautiful place! We had a wonderful time and I really liked that they have activities and crafts for the kids. The Sapp Family :)
Sep 28, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Sep 28, 2015
Had a great time. Friendly people and neighbors.
Sep 27, 2015
Need to prune trees along freeway side and near dump station.


Taken care of! Thanks.
Sep 26, 2015
Great place..enjoyed the stay but no Internet..and no phone made it difficult at times...for a nice relaxing place close to the river would still highly recommend.
Sep 24, 2015
NIce campground, quiet, and cool in the evenings
Sep 24, 2015
It's old


44 years :-)
Sep 22, 2015
The people were great the KOA was dog friendly and the views were beautiful
Sep 21, 2015
We loved spot 74 at the very end. It was very private!
Sep 21, 2015
Great campsite close to showers, and great access to fishing.
Sep 21, 2015
It's a pretty campground near Salida and the Arkansas river for fishing. Hosts are friendly and helpful.
Sep 21, 2015
My site did not accommodate 2 slides and an awning without hitting trees. The fire pits throughout the camp are in need of replacing. Movable grill would be nice. The current ones in MOST sites were warped and quite small.
Sep 21, 2015
We were very happy to have stayed at the Cotopaxi KOA! The staff was genuinely friendly. We enjoyed the concrete pad with the built-in fire ring and extra table and chairs. Next time we'll ride the hayride. :)
Sep 21, 2015
This is a really nice place to stay and on most Saturday nights they have a hayride with an old John Deere tractor. The kids (and adults) love it
Sep 20, 2015
Dos and dog poop everywhere, unkempt in general, poorest KO A of all i have visited.
Sep 19, 2015
Had a great stay with family, love to camp at Cotopaxi will be back soon!
Sep 15, 2015
Full service (even in the deluxe patio sites) do NOT include sanitation. Also the wireless service previously provided has not been fixed yet so no phone nor wireless service.


Full Hook Ups DO include Sewer, Water and Electric. We have a free telephone for all, 24/7, as well as AT&T cell service.
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
I feel so safe at your campground so I love to come down by myself. I really enjoyed myself this last weekend, and the Pig Roast was so good. I look forward to getting down there a couple more times before the snow flies. Thanks Amy, you all Rock!!!!
Sep 14, 2015
We had a great time as always.
Sep 11, 2015
Great campground enjoyed my stay
Sep 09, 2015
This was our 4th summer visiting the Cotopaxi KOA and we love it! The sight and sound of the river, the clean grounds, and helpful staff helped make this our family's favorite KOA experience. The convenience to other attractions/activities is a plus. We can't wait to be back next year. :)
Sep 09, 2015
Labor Day Weekend. First time visit to this KOA. Cotopaxi is a hidden nugger. Great campground next to the Arkansas River. Small wading area 1/4 mile to the east great for splashing around.
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
it was ok but the lay out is all wrong where we were we could out it was a one way but had to come back in the same way couldn't turn around just need some adjustments
Sep 08, 2015
Loved every minute of it
Sep 08, 2015
very nice location to river - clean campground and restrooms
Sep 08, 2015
Positives: art, pool, hayride, playground, fire rings. Negatives: spaces too close, quality of river access (at least that which we found), quality of amenities at space.
Sep 08, 2015
Outstanding! Friendly and helpful staff. Grounds are maintained well. Thank you.
Sep 08, 2015
I really enjoyed this KOA. Although WiFi is limited, I really did not miss it.
Sep 08, 2015
Park was clean and accessible. Love having no lights at night - made star gazing awesome. We definitely will be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Our water connection was leaky. Some of the sites are very narrow and have wide trees that take up most of the site and make it difficult to extend an awning. The bathrooms were clean and nice. The kids enjoyed the playground and the dog park was nice to let the dogs off leash for awhile. Very quiet at night which was appreciated.
Sep 08, 2015
My campsite #39 had unkempt large bushes/trees that made getting around the campsite a challenge. Also created a very small area for campfire and table. Normally this KOA is a fabulous place to stay but this weekend the owners were crabby. I was told they were short-handed. The WiFi was non-existent. I always enjoy the ceramics, tie-dying, and hayrides. The location is beautiful.
Sep 08, 2015
This is one of my favorite Kampgrounds. The staff is friendly and over the top helpful. Can't wait to come back! Teri O"
Sep 07, 2015
Overall unfriendly and care less attitude was not typical of any KOA I've stayed at. Disappointing :(

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals