Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Sep 11, 2014
We have been RVing to Cotopaxi/Arkansas for over 10 years now, and they have never let us down. The camp is clean and beautiful, the people are warm, the experience is perfect everytime. There are no bad RV spaces to be had...they are all good! Each year we see more ways that they have improved the park. The people who run this park show that they love the place.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Great time had pig roast
Sep 04, 2014
Staff was very nice and the activities were great for the kids. Location was great with fantastic view of the stars at night. Hardly any noise from the roadway at night and quiet time is strictly enforced. Loved the fragrant smells of the flowers in the morning. I don't usually camp on Holiday weekends. Had too many people walking through my campsite to short cut to the bathrooms/pool.
Sep 02, 2014
we had a very relaxing stay. They had lots to do for our two grandsons. They painted ceramics and tie-dyed t-shirts. They said this is their favorite place to camp!
Sep 02, 2014
RV sites have plenty of room, but sites near the front of the park mean your going to hear quite a bit of the road noise. The sites near the river are by far the best. Staff are friendly, and plenty of trails, plus a dog park for all your pet needs. We will definitely stay again, but next time we'll hopefully by closer to the River.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
The spaces are too narrow & too close together for larger than 20 ft. trailers. The trees and bushes have been allowed to grow and overtake the RV spaces... can't put out awnings, etc. The center spaces have steep grades and angels making it difficult for larger rigs to enter and exit and the interior roads are not much more than passageways - again very tight for maneuvering. We wont go back!
Sep 02, 2014
This is the place to watch meteor showers! It has lovely trees and a very nice pool too. Lot's of stars and nice, friendly people. Thank you!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
WE were packed in like sardines. I would pay more for more space.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed there many times and ave always had a very enjoyable time. Jim, Amy and Thunder are hospitable hosts that offer projects and fun themed activities that other KOAs have not offered.:-)
Sep 01, 2014
Had a left alone barking dog barking sat afternoon, think it was inside someone's rv. Guess I should of gotten Office involved couldn't get 5 yr grdson to nap because of this.
Aug 30, 2014
Quaint little KOA tucked in the valley of the canyon and right on the Arkansas River - beautiful! Great place and very accommodating staff. LOVED the hayride!
Aug 27, 2014
Enjoyed immensely !
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We had one of the patio sites by the river, very nice. Always like staying here. The pool was warm, bathrooms were very clean. Only problem was the gnats, those suckers were out in force.
Aug 12, 2014
Sites need to be more level.
Aug 12, 2014
Too many dogs "off leash" at campsites which complicated walking our 'ON LEASH' dogs. Dog park is a really nice feature except 'kids' were using it as a playground. Dog waste disposal can - FULL for three days straight. Some tree trimming would help with access for larger RV's. Office staff was friendly. Seem to have lots of activities for families...good location.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Wonderful camp ground. Will definitely be back.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Our fire pit wasn't a pit. It was open on 1 side and the grate was only 6 inches above the concrete floor - not high enough to build a fire or cook. We were told we had 1 hour of free wifi. I used 8 minutes and tried to log on again but couldn't. The front office was uncaring and didn't even mention you could purchase another hour for $1. Good customer service would have cost the KOA $1.
Aug 01, 2014
It's on the Arkansas River !! Enough said ...
Aug 01, 2014
I understand the problem with getting wifi at that location, and perhaps we would be better off without it. However it was necessary for my use and I ended up going to McDonalds to use their wifi and probably ruin my health with their food. But the fishing at the campground was good.
Aug 01, 2014
What a jewel! We had driven by this campground many years ago and commented on how run-down it looked. What a delight to find it looking so great. We will plan any extended stay next time. Being able to back in by the river was very serene. Can't wait for our next trip. Thanks Shirley for being do helpful!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Great site on the river
Jul 29, 2014
There was confusion with location of our site and when asked for help I was surprised that noone walked with us to help. The site was dirty with cigarette butts. Bathrooms needs to be monitored more often. Staff wasnt as friendly/helpful as other KOA's we have been to. Disappointed with or stay.
Jul 28, 2014
Could be a little cleaner. Does need a little work, e.g., the pavillion is in dire need of repair. It was nice to have the hay ride and the dog park.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
One night, no issues, great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
Liked the campground. People were friendly. Top sites were not full hookup which was in the info but not realized until we arrived at our campsite
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Sewer connection in space 20 is too high for proper drainage!
Jul 28, 2014
Very well run and organized. Very friendly. Quiet at night dispite full campground. One of the best KOAs I have ever been to.
Jul 28, 2014
Excellent facility! Our family had a great time. Very clean, really friendly! We had a pull through spot in the center. It was a bit of a tight squeeze. We would have preferred a little more room. The tent sights along the river are great!The Deluxe sights along the river are AMAZING!!!! I would camp here all summer long if I could! Really nice facility,great staff, loved the hummingbirds!THANKYOU
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Kinda needed to take care of some business while there, no cell service (verizon) and limited internet. enjoyed shuffle board, thought $4 was a little much, we are an older couple and not going to hurt anything.
Jul 23, 2014
we were unable to get any phone service which I understand you have no control over we were treated very well and enjoyed the park
Jul 22, 2014
Amy and her staff are wonderful and very attentive to their guests. They did a great job ensuring that all our needs were met.
Jul 22, 2014
The staff was very good and were very accomadating. We all found that the pavillon was very dangerous to use. The enclosed area has a floor that everyone was afraid to walk on as you almost fall through it. Repairs were made by putting boards an bad areas and covering them with carpet. There is no running water, making cleaning up very hard as we had to carry our own water down there.
Jul 22, 2014
The location is excellent and the managers are pleasant and responsive. My average rating is solely because my campsite was infested with several giant mounds of "carpenter" ants. the management tried unsuccessfully to rid the area of them with several "bait" applications. My son and his family had a nearby campsite which was free of such pests.
Jul 22, 2014
We enjoyed the stay and the responsiveness of the staff to kill the ant hill by our site.
Jul 22, 2014
No direct access to the river, limited hook-ups, and the hook-ups you do have are potentially 25 ft. from your RV...and uphill, if you know what I'm saying. They should stop advertising wi-fi as it is practically non-existent and basically dial-up speed (or worse) with time constraints on it if you can connect. Small showers but clean. Still, it's right on the Arkansas and a decent place.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.