Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 26, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
this place is something else rivers, mountains just awsome. The staff are very nice people and helpful with directions and information, thank you for a great stay, see you next year.
Aug 11, 2013
Of course the location of this KOA right on the Arkansas river automatically makes it amazing but the staff was very friendly as well. Had a wonderful stay!
Aug 10, 2013
Nice place to stay.
Aug 07, 2013
We spend most our time in a cabin with the kitchenette. It was cute but tit really needed new pots and pans. We love cooking and we would not use them because they are dangerous and disgusting. But the staff was fantastic except the old grumpy guy who charged our credit card for a late fee without telling us we would incur a late fee and without our permission, which is illegal.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out is 11:00, others arriving at 2:00, can't clean if people don't leave. Guest signed agreement to pay additional charges.
Jul 31, 2013
Staff were all very accommodating. Enjoyed my stay. Campground has some drainage issues and is showing age. The mens bathroom shower stalls are a bit cramped. None of these are huge issues, but worthy of comment. Like I said, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.
Jul 30, 2013
My family & I had a wonderful time staying at KOA Cotopaxi!!! I would highly recommend everyone to stay there and my family & I will return :)
Jul 29, 2013
Friendly staff, clean facilities, nice amenities. Love the hayride! The location, which is right along the river, is so easy to get to from Colorado Springs and is peaceful, quiet and beautiful.
Jul 24, 2013
I have planned our family annual trip for the past 28 years & have never been disappointed. I always recommend them to friends
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Was a great stay with grand kids would stay during week days. On weekend very busy.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Everyone was friendly, the grounds were very well kept, considering the recent events (fires in the area and some flash floods). Amy and Jim have a wonderful staff who assist with the dailies. The. Store is well stocked, there is a hay rack ride a couple times a week and movies each night. Wifi limited to an hour a day, which is as it should be! It's time to unplug! Watch the hummingbirds!
Jul 17, 2013
Great location overlooking the Arkansas River. Very close to white water rafting. Great pool, playground,putt putt golf and lots of family friendly activities. My 4 year old wanted to stay forever! We will be going again for sure!
Jul 16, 2013
I have not stayed in a KOA for a while - but this seems very comparable to most. Loved the river location. And our Kamper Kabin was the usual - clean and in good location. Community Bathroom could have been just a tad bigger - but not too much you can do about that! Everyone was very nice - including all the guests!
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Simply Wonderful! Clean, Fun, Friendly. Everything that we were looking for. Very family friendly. I want to come back...today! :)
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very friendly as well as other guest. Was very clean top to bottom. Best KOA we have stayed at yet.
Jun 25, 2013
Very clean, friendly staff, great KOA. We enjoyed the Kamper Kabin again. Only one complaint--the beds are rocks!
Jun 25, 2013
My family had a wonderful time with our stay, the couple working the front desk was wonderful and very pleasant. We plan on going back next summer.
Jun 23, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly.
Jun 19, 2013
There are a bunch of us ladies that come up there every year, same weekend. We have always enjoyed it. This year, I believe it was kids weekend. The kids took over the pool and made it very unpleasant for adults to enjoy it
Jun 17, 2013
Friendly staff and quiet location. We loved the river view from cabin 3.
Jun 16, 2013
Lots of amenities for families. Largest one I've been at but everyone was friendly and helpful. Noticed lots of camp spots WAY away from bathrooms-maybe at least put a couple of toilets at the other end of the campground.
Jun 10, 2013
This KOA has a awesome view of the Arkansas River.The staff is friendly. It is locatated in a remote area. The pool is only 3ft and mini golf only 8 holes,showers& playground could use upgrades. There is No cell service and the WiFi is only free for 1 hr a day(not good)Would be a good idea to put grills at all the cabins,porchswings & benches too.It was nice but don't think I would stay again.
May 31, 2013
May 21, 2013
We stayed is one of your cabins. It was clean ond comfortable just what we needed. Thanks
May 15, 2013
So many fun activities for the kids.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
The first night was great. However, the front door of the cabin did not seal all the way. On the second night when I returned to the cabin, I found a new roommate which was a wasp. Although this was a quick fix it could have been avoided. The remainder of the three night stay was wonderful and relaxing and I would recommend this location as a wonderful location to stay.
May 13, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
The wifi policy requires re-evaluation: limiting guests to 1 consecutive hour a day is capricious and just plain silly. Especially when you consider this particular KOA has no cell phone service. Coupled with the high rates for the Kamper Kabins, we will consider other options next year.
Apr 29, 2013
Stay there for the location only. Great fishing. Overall site needs major work. Exterior sink for dish washing is broken, most interior men's shower is a trickle of water, shrubbery needs trimming. I have stayed in KOA across the country this is one of the nicest geographical locations but needs work.
Mar 30, 2013
Great hosts, great location, and I really liked the cabin. The facilities were nice and well kept. Barry
Oct 29, 2012
It's like a family out there we love it!!
Oct 22, 2012
Cabin could have been cleaner, a lot of dust/dirt under the beds. Spray for insects would be good, killed 4-5 spiders. we really liked the actual location, and setting very much and we will be back. Thanks for a wonderful time.
Oct 10, 2012
Great out of the way spot, clean, very friendly folks. We can't wait to go back in the summer.
Oct 09, 2012
We had a great stay and we will continue to use KOAs for future trips
Sep 25, 2012
Wonderful setting and appreciated all the things to do right at the kampground. Very clean and cared for, and nice people!
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
No cell signal, bathrooms & fire rings not as nice as other KOA's. They do have a nice off-leash dog area.
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
You are much nicer that Canon City. The only suggestion I would make is to add/replace the suports on the full bed in Kabin 1. It sagged so far with 2 people on bed that we thought we'd wake up on floor below. Also had a tendency to dig in hips/back since matt so thin. Also enforce quiet time. K2,3,4,5 7,8 and RV 31,32 were up past midnight drinking and carrying on with kids & dogs roaming.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Our family had a fantastic time! We had everything we needed. Our son played for hours at the playground and the dog park was an added plus. We will definitely be back! The Swains
Aug 31, 2012
very enjoyable
Aug 29, 2012
The family who runs this KOA is so welcoming. The hiking area is beautiful and we loved the cute clean cabin.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.