Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
We stayed in a cabin, unfortunately most of the cabins are located too close to the main office and pool. Traffic around the cabin was non stop. The grounds/bathrooms are clean, the staff is friendly but parking more than 1 vehicle is inconvenient.
Jul 22, 2015
Great little KOA, nestled I'm a rock canyon. Beautiful grounds and WAY kid friendly environment. This KOA ha activities every night and allows fires!!
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The kids loved the choices of things to do. A nice campground. We'll go back.
Jul 14, 2015
Fantastic. Only 2 things were off: bathrooms could be Cleaner and our neighbors, the boy scout troop in K3, Completely ignored the quiet hours rules. They were very noisy outside starting before 6AM.
Jul 12, 2015
very good
Jul 12, 2015
Great location and nice, friendly staff. Would have liked paper towels in the bathroom to wipe off counter. Also, would have been nice to have hot water at sink near bathrooms to wash dishes.
Jul 09, 2015
Cabins are over priced hotels can be same price
Jul 07, 2015
We had a wonderful time again! The only complaints we had was horrible water pressure in the showers, and people thought our campsite was a great place to cut across to anywhere they were going. Otherwise great family activities, very peaceful. I loved the respect that people had for the quiet time. We will definitely be coming back to your KOA. Amy is fabulous with all of the crafts she has!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff very friendly. Great spot for kids - pool, playground, game room, shuffleboard and mini golf. The Arkansas River is right on the property and gorgeous scenery. Wish there were more trees and privacy between cabins but it wasn't bad. If I stay here again, I'll pick cabin 3, which was the most secluded.
Jun 28, 2015
Delightful campsite.
Jun 23, 2015
I appreciate that the campground is well maintained, clean and beautiful. Thank you!
Jun 23, 2015
I have always enjoyed the Cotopaxi KOA, enough so that my family and I have gone, once a year for the last 28 years. I now travel with my kids & their own families. Thank you for always taking good care of us and keeping our campground a beautiful place for us to keep coming back too.
Jun 18, 2015
Older clean park that needs updating, Overpriced for what you get
Jun 10, 2015
Poor atmosphere in game area and store. Pool was filled with bugs. Cabin had lots of spider/dust webs. Fire pit was in poor repair. Scenery is 5 stars. I've been to better KOAs and this one falls short of most of them.
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
May 28, 2015
We stayed one night and thought the campground was very nice. We were in a cabin by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the river flowing past.
May 26, 2015
We are ready to come back again.
May 25, 2015
Are home away from home
May 25, 2015
Great location,clean,lots of activities.
May 18, 2015
We had a great experience during our stay! We baptized our youngest son on 5/16/2015 in the river! Our Kabin (#8) was all it was advertised. The electric space heater which came with the kabin was useful as overnight temps did get into the 40's. Bathroom were clean. The on-site store had basic things to purchase, firewood too, at a reasonable price. Kids play area was safe. Miniature golf was fun!
May 11, 2015
Nice campground and beautiful settings but the fact that the recreation area was opened until 5pm only everyday made it a disappointing stay especially on our last night when it rained continuously and there were nothing for the children to do. Also, the limited 1-hr free internet service especially when there is no cellular coverage in the area made it for a pretty poor stay in my opinion.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the rain. We do have free family board games for rainy days in the Cabins. The game room and store hours increase to 14 hours during the season, Memorial Day Weekend Through Labor Day Weekend, along with swimming pool, hayrides and other activities. We hope you come back.
May 01, 2015
Best river setting, peaceful, staff is always great!!
Apr 01, 2015
It was a very nice time,jim and amy are great hosts,and we always love it up there,nice and quiet and clean.
Mar 30, 2015
Oct 25, 2014
beautiful fall colors, the peaceful flowing river and great hosts. I go as often as I can!
Oct 03, 2014
Great location and very friendly staff!
Oct 01, 2014
Great Place! My only wish was a cell phone tower close to this location. NOT KOA's fault
Sep 26, 2014
Loved KK8! Great little cabins!
Sep 22, 2014
Had a wonderful time at Cotopaxi KOA, people there were wonderful and the camp was clean, we'll be back again
Sep 18, 2014
I stayed in K-6. I have a camper, but thought the weather would be ugly, so I rented a kabin so that I would not have to put up a wet camper if it rained all weekend. It was nice and quiet, and I enjoyed myself as I always do. See you next month if not before!!!! Hope the fishing will be better in October,as this was the first time I got skunked!
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Clean and comfortable kampground. Loved the ice cream scoops one evening.
Aug 25, 2014
lovely setting, great dog park, fun activities (hayride), dark for night sky viewing, friendly folks - fantastic!
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Amazing and we will be back!!!
Aug 16, 2014
Great location, convenient via Hwy 50, but far enough from CO Springs to have peace and quiet, great night sky view. Facilities were good, Kamping Kabin was great. People very nice. Highly recommend.
Aug 14, 2014
The Arkansas River was impressive behind our Kamping Kabin. The tent and RV river sites are great, too.
Aug 11, 2014
Clean, nice staff, helpful with any questions we had while staying there.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The best Have stayed here many times
Aug 04, 2014
Our stay was great. Our cabin was clean and the site was very nice. There were people all around us, but we never felt crowded. Thanks for having us!!
Jul 31, 2014
We stayed 6 nights at this KOA. The campsites and restrooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. If ever in the area again I would definitely return for a stay at the Cotopaxi/Arkansas River KOA
Jul 30, 2014
My dad took me there as a kid...and now I take my children there. A little piece of heaven on earth for every age ;)
Jul 29, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The restrooms were very clean. It was a pretty location right next to the river. My kids loved the pool and the playground. We even enjoyed three rounds of mini golf. They have fun activities like making your own tie die t-shirt, hay rides, and ice cream socials. Cabins were a little close to each other but we still had a great time.
Jul 28, 2014
I've been staying at this KOA for about 11 yrs. I've tent kamped, trailer kamped, and now, I've kabin kamped. The ownership and staff (Shirley and Co.)have always kept a clean, well-stocked, friendly facility. My daughters are grown now, but they loved this KOA when they were young. This is always my first choice in kamping.
Jul 28, 2014
WE stayed in a KK and the one we were assigned was very close to the on next door. It would be nice if we were with that family. The table benches are in desperate need of paint, so any time we sat on it we got up and had to brush paint chips off. The cabin itself was comfortable and the grounds were pleasant.
Jul 28, 2014
Fun, clean, lots to do, always a great heated pool, and a nice getaway from our house in Colorado Springs.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.