Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Cabin Reviews

Sep 23, 2015
It was a lovely facility, and the gentleman on duty was gracious.
Sep 21, 2015
What a fantastic place. It is clean, well appointed and very fun. Our neighbors got a little rowdy, but still kept it reasonable. The little store has everything you could need, including great fishing nets for the kids. Will definitely come again!
Sep 21, 2015
Cotopaxi KOA is our annual family retreat. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are kept very well and it is in the best location possible. My favorite KOA by far.
Sep 18, 2015
Great but store closed way to early.
Sep 15, 2015
Had a great time. We had never stayed in a cabin before, always had an rv.
Sep 14, 2015
Great views, clean facilities. Friendly staff.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice little cabins. Clean, smelled nice and homey. Not exactly the most comfortable beds for people above 6 ft tall, but was an overall nice stay.
Sep 08, 2015
5th year in a row now, on Labor Day and we plan on continuing to come back every year. My Grand Kids insist on this.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a kamper kabin. The cabin was clean and we'll taken care of, however the whole site was old and could defiantly use some updating. Our kabin was directly across from the playground so peace and quiet was out of the question. Dispose the age and the loud activity, it was a nice stay.
Aug 28, 2015
clean and friendly, store is well stocked. Nice and quiet.
Aug 25, 2015
One of the most scenic campgrounds we've been to. Great amenities, activities, and staff.
Aug 24, 2015
Staff was great- plenty of things to do for the kids. Only issue was proximity to HWY 50, pretty loud at night with the traffic.
Aug 14, 2015
The workers were friendly!
Aug 10, 2015
We injoyed our stay except the beds were very hard . We are too old to sleep on that hard of a bed.😊
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean campground. Great location.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
A beautiful campground and well kept. Cabin was clean, but hot. Please open the windows when you know it has been reserved. Thanks!
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA camping cabins however this one was a little old and right by the road. We where informed by are credit card company which we paid for the cabin that it was hacked into so not very happy about that after our stay.


As you admitted, we had nothing to do with that. Someone in Florida, unrelated to KOA stole your identity. No one here hacked into your credit card.
Jul 25, 2015
We stayed in a cabin, unfortunately most of the cabins are located too close to the main office and pool. Traffic around the cabin was non stop. The grounds/bathrooms are clean, the staff is friendly but parking more than 1 vehicle is inconvenient.
Jul 22, 2015
Great little KOA, nestled I'm a rock canyon. Beautiful grounds and WAY kid friendly environment. This KOA ha activities every night and allows fires!!
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The kids loved the choices of things to do. A nice campground. We'll go back.
Jul 14, 2015
Fantastic. Only 2 things were off: bathrooms could be Cleaner and our neighbors, the boy scout troop in K3, Completely ignored the quiet hours rules. They were very noisy outside starting before 6AM.
Jul 12, 2015
very good
Jul 12, 2015
Great location and nice, friendly staff. Would have liked paper towels in the bathroom to wipe off counter. Also, would have been nice to have hot water at sink near bathrooms to wash dishes.
Jul 09, 2015
Cabins are over priced hotels can be same price
Jul 07, 2015
We had a wonderful time again! The only complaints we had was horrible water pressure in the showers, and people thought our campsite was a great place to cut across to anywhere they were going. Otherwise great family activities, very peaceful. I loved the respect that people had for the quiet time. We will definitely be coming back to your KOA. Amy is fabulous with all of the crafts she has!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff very friendly. Great spot for kids - pool, playground, game room, shuffleboard and mini golf. The Arkansas River is right on the property and gorgeous scenery. Wish there were more trees and privacy between cabins but it wasn't bad. If I stay here again, I'll pick cabin 3, which was the most secluded.
Jun 28, 2015
Delightful campsite.
Jun 23, 2015
I appreciate that the campground is well maintained, clean and beautiful. Thank you!
Jun 23, 2015
I have always enjoyed the Cotopaxi KOA, enough so that my family and I have gone, once a year for the last 28 years. I now travel with my kids & their own families. Thank you for always taking good care of us and keeping our campground a beautiful place for us to keep coming back too.
Jun 18, 2015
Older clean park that needs updating, Overpriced for what you get
Jun 10, 2015
Poor atmosphere in game area and store. Pool was filled with bugs. Cabin had lots of spider/dust webs. Fire pit was in poor repair. Scenery is 5 stars. I've been to better KOAs and this one falls short of most of them.
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
May 28, 2015
We stayed one night and thought the campground was very nice. We were in a cabin by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the river flowing past.
May 26, 2015
We are ready to come back again.
May 25, 2015
Are home away from home
May 25, 2015
Great location,clean,lots of activities.
May 18, 2015
We had a great experience during our stay! We baptized our youngest son on 5/16/2015 in the river! Our Kabin (#8) was all it was advertised. The electric space heater which came with the kabin was useful as overnight temps did get into the 40's. Bathroom were clean. The on-site store had basic things to purchase, firewood too, at a reasonable price. Kids play area was safe. Miniature golf was fun!
May 11, 2015
Nice campground and beautiful settings but the fact that the recreation area was opened until 5pm only everyday made it a disappointing stay especially on our last night when it rained continuously and there were nothing for the children to do. Also, the limited 1-hr free internet service especially when there is no cellular coverage in the area made it for a pretty poor stay in my opinion.


We apologize for the rain. We do have free family board games for rainy days in the Cabins. The game room and store hours increase to 14 hours during the season, Memorial Day Weekend Through Labor Day Weekend, along with swimming pool, hayrides and other activities. We hope you come back.
May 01, 2015
Best river setting, peaceful, staff is always great!!
Apr 01, 2015
It was a very nice time,jim and amy are great hosts,and we always love it up there,nice and quiet and clean.
Mar 30, 2015
Oct 25, 2014
beautiful fall colors, the peaceful flowing river and great hosts. I go as often as I can!
Oct 03, 2014
Great location and very friendly staff!
Oct 01, 2014
Great Place! My only wish was a cell phone tower close to this location. NOT KOA's fault
Sep 26, 2014
Loved KK8! Great little cabins!
Sep 22, 2014
Had a wonderful time at Cotopaxi KOA, people there were wonderful and the camp was clean, we'll be back again
Sep 18, 2014
I stayed in K-6. I have a camper, but thought the weather would be ugly, so I rented a kabin so that I would not have to put up a wet camper if it rained all weekend. It was nice and quiet, and I enjoyed myself as I always do. See you next month if not before!!!! Hope the fishing will be better in October,as this was the first time I got skunked!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.