Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 3 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 861 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Nice stay, clean grounds very nice staff!
May 26, 2015
Excellent experience, I will sign up to be member! Well maintained facility. Very cozy feel. I could not ask for anything better. Sleeping with the sounds of the river were amazing. My dog loved it too!
May 25, 2015
Are home away from home
May 25, 2015
Great location,clean,lots of activities.
May 18, 2015
We had a great experience during our stay! We baptized our youngest son on 5/16/2015 in the river! Our Kabin (#8) was all it was advertised. The electric space heater which came with the kabin was useful as overnight temps did get into the 40's. Bathroom were clean. The on-site store had basic things to purchase, firewood too, at a reasonable price. Kids play area was safe. Miniature golf was fun!
May 15, 2015
May 13, 2015
Very nice and quiet are. Only complaint is the wifi is terribly slow- you only get 1 hr. a day and if you log on for 10 minutes then try and get on again- well that was your 1 hr. aday
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Awesome as usual, cant wait to stay again!
May 11, 2015
Nice campground and beautiful settings but the fact that the recreation area was opened until 5pm only everyday made it a disappointing stay especially on our last night when it rained continuously and there were nothing for the children to do. Also, the limited 1-hr free internet service especially when there is no cellular coverage in the area made it for a pretty poor stay in my opinion.


We apologize for the rain. We do have free family board games for rainy days in the Cabins. The game room and store hours increase to 14 hours during the season, Memorial Day Weekend Through Labor Day Weekend, along with swimming pool, hayrides and other activities. We hope you come back.
May 09, 2015
Friendly hosts, immaculate campground, fishing not so good.


Yes, the fly fishing fell off with the rains and run off but bait and spinner fishing picked up. Rafting and kayaking are looking good. We hope to see you back when the river clears up!
May 04, 2015
Always enjoy my stay at Cotopaxi KOA. Great fishing in the area, and about midway between Salida and Canyon City for dining and entertainment options.
May 03, 2015
Friendly, clean, nice river access. Loved the art room and projects for adults and children.
May 02, 2015
Great place! Very nice people!
May 02, 2015
We enjoyed the sounds of the Arkansas river flowing past the campground.
May 01, 2015
Best river setting, peaceful, staff is always great!!
Apr 27, 2015
Great place to stay while fishing the Ark!
Apr 21, 2015
Great sites, clean restrooms we really had a good time
Apr 15, 2015
love the close proximity to the river for fly fishing. kids always like the merry go round. nice, clean bathrooms & good water pressure on the showers. friendly staff. campground is well maintained.
Apr 14, 2015
Our short stay was great! The KOA was clean and quiet with a great site next to the river. The prices in the KOA store were very reasonable and had just what we needed. A great KOA that we will recommend to others.
Apr 14, 2015
No water. This KOA was not ready to be opened.


We had bathrooms open with water, and RV sites with water; and a hose for those who wanted the cheaper sites without water.
Apr 06, 2015
Wonderful experience! James and Amy were wonderful hosts. Great location right next to the Arkansas river.
Apr 06, 2015
Great area. Great sites. Clean facilities. Dog park was a nice feature.
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the facilities, nice location, helpful staff.
Apr 01, 2015
It was a very nice time,jim and amy are great hosts,and we always love it up there,nice and quiet and clean.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
This was our latest family outing but our first camping experience. The location, the staff and the facilities were all EXCELLENT! We had an amazing time and we are definitely coming back to do it again!
Mar 29, 2015
Good amenities and activities for the teens and fishing was fun.
Mar 29, 2015
Location awesome. Staff outstanding.
Nov 12, 2014
we have stayed here several times. the hosts are great! always there to assist you. campground ,restrooms are always clean
Oct 27, 2014
Soooo much fun!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
beautiful fall colors, the peaceful flowing river and great hosts. I go as often as I can!
Oct 21, 2014
Great place!
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Arrived on Friday Oct 10th for a long weekend stay....everything was just as described online. The Hosts were fantastic and made us feel right at home. Facilities were all very neat, clean and well kept. Lost of activities for the children and the campground is very scenic and beautiful.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
One of my favorite places to camp. The deluxe tent site is perfect and the upgrades to the grounds with the new dog park, are great. Will be back!
Oct 03, 2014
Great location and very friendly staff!
Oct 03, 2014
This was our 4th stay at this KOA at Cotopaxi. We look forward to our getaway each year. This year we participated in the German dinner and thought the meal was very tasty. We have stayed at most of the KOAs in Colorado and truelay appreciate the consistancy of the service, sites, activities each offers. We will continue to make KOA our camping experiences of choice.
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Great Place! My only wish was a cell phone tower close to this location. NOT KOA's fault
Sep 30, 2014
Loved the place. Great site and nice people
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Solid service. Far too many yappy little dogs barking all the time in the absence of their owners. Big rig owneres should be required to take their dogs with them when they leave the RV and drive away.
Sep 26, 2014
Loved KK8! Great little cabins!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals