Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2013
Great location overlooking the Arkansas River. Very close to white water rafting. Great pool, playground,putt putt golf and lots of family friendly activities. My 4 year old wanted to stay forever! We will be going again for sure!
Jul 16, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location with Arkansas River right next to you. Fairly quiet, clean grounds and bathrooms. Lots to do!
Jul 16, 2013
I have not stayed in a KOA for a while - but this seems very comparable to most. Loved the river location. And our Kamper Kabin was the usual - clean and in good location. Community Bathroom could have been just a tad bigger - but not too much you can do about that! Everyone was very nice - including all the guests!
Jul 16, 2013
Always a great visit to this KOA. It's clean and pleasant.
Jul 16, 2013
Great place. Very friendly people. Nice Facilities. Clean, and tidy!
Jul 16, 2013
Have camped here numerous times and always have a good time. Kids love the pool and the workers are all very nice.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
My wife, 3 small dogs and I had a great time on the campground. The staff and scenery are top notch!
Jul 14, 2013
The camp sites were very clean and well taken care of. The showers were also very clean. The river and mountains were breath taking. A very beautiful and clean place to stay
Jul 13, 2013
Great sites. Very friendly. Well stocked store/office. Improvements - better wifi, sewage at the five north end river view sites. Had a great time for the two weeks I was there.
Jul 12, 2013
BIG disappointment for a KOA. This has got to be one of the saddest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. We found this campground had many faults, and not much redeeming it other than the kind person running this KOA .This place was way too cramped. Less than a dozen spaces with grass. The others are unleveled dirt with stickers. Pulling into our site the first thing we noticed besides the uneve
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Fantastic location, amenities and people are wonderful!
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great time. There were lots of activities to do at the campgrounds and in the surrounding area. Nice clean facility.
Jul 08, 2013
Simply Wonderful! Clean, Fun, Friendly. Everything that we were looking for. Very family friendly. I want to come back...today! :)
Jul 08, 2013
Great Location - great KOA team that runs this location
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Good activities/amenities for the kids. Good location, on the River. OK shade. Clean. Sites are just ok.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
i enjoyed the stay.thank you
Jul 08, 2013
The only issue I had was trying to get my gray water and black water to run uphill. My inlaws in spot 14 and us in 16 had to "milk" our hoses. The spots need to be raised or the sewer holes need to be dropped. The running trail across the street is great!
Jul 08, 2013
Crowded sites. Neighbors kept parking in my site whenever I took off for the day. Too hot to camp in Colorado July 4th. Thought it would be cooler next to Arkansas River. Will stay home next year instead.
Jul 08, 2013
Overall we love this campground. However, the site we were at (#42) was not level enough for our camper. We were unable to level it enough for our fridge to work. Loved the craft events!
Jul 07, 2013
We enjoyed the activities. Great location with a warm and friendly Staff.
Jul 07, 2013
The place was so close to the highway we couldn't sleep. It was basically a parking lot with dirt. The quiet hours weren't enforced and it was so overpacked we feared for our safety. We couldn't believe that people were allowed to jamb tents onto the sites with their RVs when there was already no space. Well never go there again!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was not overly friendly and the grounds were poorly maintained. We stayed there because it is one of the few CO KOA's with a pool.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very friendly as well as other guest. Was very clean top to bottom. Best KOA we have stayed at yet.
Jul 02, 2013
Loved this place. I did have an issue with the Kampground banning charcoal grills. The county had a fire ban but that usually doesn't included private kamprounds so I think this was a ban set by the owners of this KOA. We felt this was overkill. It would be highly unlikely that a small charcoal grill in a cement fire pit or ring would start a wildfire in a private campground.
Jul 01, 2013
Very easy to find and had all the amenities we needed!
Jul 01, 2013
We only stayed one night but my dogs and I really enjoyed the offleaash park.
Jul 01, 2013
So unfriendly unwelcoming. No cable no reception limited to one hour of poor grade internet. First koa not to show me to our site. The absolute worse koa we have ever stayed at.
Jun 29, 2013
When we arrived at the camp ground it did not match the pictures on the web site. There is no grass only dirt that gets in everything. Camp ground promises views of the river, not unless you stay in one of the patio sites, which has a high price tag. Everyone is nice and friendly, it was just the campground that we had an issue with. Lots of weeds and no grass.
Jun 28, 2013
The qualities I look for we're present, clean bathroom, and hot showers.
Jun 27, 2013
Nice staff, friendly and helpful, campers all nice too!
Jun 25, 2013
Very clean, friendly staff, great KOA. We enjoyed the Kamper Kabin again. Only one complaint--the beds are rocks!
Jun 25, 2013
My family had a wonderful time with our stay, the couple working the front desk was wonderful and very pleasant. We plan on going back next summer.
Jun 24, 2013
Evacuated from our campground due to fire in Royal Gorge to Cotopaxi KOA Tues Jun 11th (4 RVs total). Kampground is run down looking, bumpy uneven roads and sites. We asked for 50 amp on checkin, given 30 amp, had to go back and get different site Sites not level and narrow. Large bolders on edges of sites, they are difficult to get around. Tree limbs are not trimmed and scratch RV as drivin
Jun 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite KOAs so far! The location is right on the Arkansas River. Fishing is great. They have several wonderful family friendly events during the summer months. Kids loved the pool! Very close to some of the best white water rafting in Colorado. We will definitely be returning !
Jun 24, 2013
I love Jim and Amy. I needed time away so I went camping by myself. I knew I was going to be safe there because they know me and I will continue to go to Cotopaxi KOA.
Jun 23, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly.
Jun 21, 2013
We went fishing, saw a hay ride, pretty pool & play area.Great for family stay with fun right there.
Jun 20, 2013
Excellent stay ... I had a WONDERFUL site right on the river! Just wish the Wi-Fi worked better - it was very unreliable.
Jun 20, 2013
This was my wife and Is' first time at a KOA and we enjoyed it very much. We had the patio unit above the river and it was wonderful. Can't wait to go back to cotopaxi Koa.
Jun 20, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.