Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2016
Very peaceful, by the river
Jun 12, 2016
Every year it's a fantastic stay at the Cotopaxi KOA. Keeps us coming back!!! The owners and staff treat you like family and there are so many organized events and activities in addition to the fishing on the Arkansas. Couldn't ask for a better place for kids with the pool, mini golf, basketball court, and so much more!
Jun 12, 2016
Spots too close together, river too steep to get too unless you go in campers area, and then still steep, pricey
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean facilities, nice pool, nice folks. The river is RIGHT next to the tent sites, a relaxing sound to relax by.
Jun 10, 2016
Location is fantastic
Jun 08, 2016
We had a great time there. Very clean, amazing staff and lots of things for the kiddos to do. However, I think the swimming pool really needs a guard rail to steady us not so steady people get in and out of the pool. A+++
Jun 07, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA every time we come to Colorado! Cotopaxi KOA is by far our favorite. The atmosphere is so welcoming and the staff is extremely friendly! We enjoy seeing the same staff there each time. We will definitely be coming back!! The Crosby Family
Jun 07, 2016
We had a nice time. The people who worked there were super nice. The campsites for tents were way to small.
Jun 06, 2016
Rustic area, tent site was a few feet away from the river,secluded dirt site, close to bathroom facility may not be suitable for small children
Jun 06, 2016
Clean, shade, friendly staff
Jun 06, 2016
A great place to stay and to relax!
Jun 06, 2016
Enjoyed the three-day stay...now have to resolve a billing issue.
Jun 04, 2016
I've been coming to this KOA since a child.. it's still exactly as I remembered it. It was like taking a walk down memory lane. The staff are all so friendly and make your camping experience so much more memorable. Cant wait till we get to come back!
Jun 03, 2016
The Kabin next to the river is the best! Loved staying there.
Jun 02, 2016
Great family oriented place to go. The host's Amy, Jim are fabulous folks. I have been coming to this KOA every Memorial Day for over 15 years, love it!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jim and Amy and Thunder Burnham have always made our stays there incredible. They are warm and considerate people and the people they have working for them are knowledgeable. We will always stay there even though there are other places within a 10 mile radius of their place because they make you feel at home.
Jun 02, 2016
Always an enjoyable stay. Our grandson loves the pool
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
We found the campground clean. I found the small bathroom a little stinky after a couple of days. The larger shower house was nice. The noise level was acceptable. We would have liked a 30 AMP along the river but that was not available and 50 AMP was way too much for our little camper even if we knocked it down.
Jun 01, 2016
camping sites are way to close to each other and campground is not kept very clean. better access to the river would be nice with it being so close to the river. flow of traffic is very confusing, we had trouble leaving with people at the dump station blocking road.
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
The tent sites are extremely small, and the restrooms were not cleaned consistently.
May 31, 2016
A beautiful location and the most friendly staff. Plenty of activities for the kids.
May 31, 2016
As always we love camping at Cotopaxi. Didn't enjoy Lot 14 & 15, but wasn't aware being so close to the playground and folks walking through our campsite. We definitely are coming back and will be using lots farther east. Thank you for all the activities and your care!
May 31, 2016
Great location and close to CaƱon City. Arkansa river is within walking distance and overall is clean and organize. Can get crowed and the trash dumpsters can fill up quickly. It took 2 days for someone to empty them out. Firepits are ok, depends on what site you are and the fire smoke can be overwhelming.
May 31, 2016
When using a long trailer beware! The roads are narrow inside the park, and the entrances to spaces have trees and boulders. Our 45' barely made it through the campground unscathed! The facility is great, and so are the people though!
May 31, 2016
Amazing place, very clean and my family had a blast. Best place we've been to.
May 30, 2016
The camp host at the front desk is a little short. Everything else was outstanding.
May 30, 2016
This campground is quite cramped as it sits on the Arkansas River. The staff is friendly and wifi is limited.
May 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Cotopaxi koa! The tent site by the river was great with the river sounds below us, however wasn't close to the restrooms.Staff was great, very friendly and helpful! Could use a little more maintenance but overall pretty good stay.
May 23, 2016
This campground has beautiful views of the Arkansas River and canyon. Because this area is rugged and a desert climate, water conservation is essential. Sites are not paved, but well graded and leveling may be needed on very few sites. Bathrooms were very clean. Management and work campers were polite and helpful. Topography limits WiFi and cell service.
May 23, 2016
Location is great. Would be nice to have internet in the campground but overall the facilities are nice and the staff was friendly
May 19, 2016
We always enjoy staying at the Cotopaxi KOA.
May 17, 2016
The stay in the wooden cabin is what my family liked the most.
May 17, 2016
Friendly, relaxing and clean.
May 16, 2016
It was an awesome experience.
May 16, 2016
Had a great time.
May 16, 2016
We were so pleased with our stay! The campground was beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
May 16, 2016
Loved having a playground for the kids. The sites are nice with having a tree, picnic table, and firepit. Everyone seems really nice. Next time would like to stay in the back-in space overlooking the river.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff. We had a great camping spot. The site and the restrooms were very clean. Some traffic noise but also could hear the river. We will return.
May 06, 2016
May 02, 2016
The only complaint I have is that we had to hunt down the camp host to check in. After being on the road for a few hours that's the last thing I wanted to do was hunt them down to check in. I know it's early in the season but have someone @ the desk @ all times or figure out a some way to make sure you are there to greet your guest! The camp ground was nice and clean. Look forward to the Summer!
May 02, 2016
Cabin KK8. Spiders hanging from the roof. It seems like cabins haven't been checked since the closed them back in October. 65 volts on the outlet which couldn't power our heater. Temp inside the cabin was 39 deg all night long. It always seems like these people never do a run around before they open. They did try to fix the problem the second night and they made a temporary fix
May 02, 2016
Very nice and clean as always. Great host/hostess.
Apr 30, 2016
We love staying there. The views by the river are awesome!
Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful campground!
Apr 26, 2016
The only thing I didn't like was they had a tree chipper right next to our tent during nap time for about an hour and a half. Didn't get a good nap:(
Apr 19, 2016
I really wish the wifi worked better. I know that the idea is to unplug but if it is being advertised it should work. Not a show stopper, but would be nice.
Apr 11, 2016
great location, great cabins!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps