Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2017
Staff and fellow campers were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool, hay ride, and ice cream social were all wonderful and my boys enjoyed them fully. The campground was clean including restroom and showers. We will definitely be back!!!
Jun 12, 2017
We always enjoy this location. Great old fashioned family fun . Love their weekend activities and especially their themed weekends.
Jun 12, 2017
Very average. Being a single female didn't get good service. Too busy and staff do not acknowledge your presence. Campground is big and needs 2 bathrooms.
Jun 10, 2017
Very nice and clean! If I had to really complain, it would be our cabin was facing the Highway 50, so that took away a bit from the wilderness experience, but still a 5* experience nonetheless... The free phone was a big help when our personal cell lost signal. Thanks!
Jun 08, 2017
recommend the cabins to my family who do not have trailers/RV units. We've stay here 4 times and continue to return at least every other year.
Jun 07, 2017
Very friendly staff it was pleasant staying there.
Jun 07, 2017
The owner, Amy, is so friendly and accommodating. This is a wonderful campground with lots to do for the kiddos!
Jun 05, 2017
This campground was such a pleasant surprise! We took a full-day rafting trip, so we stayed 2 nights. We really just needed a place to crash; and this place was fantastic. We pitched a tent and the tent-site felt private. The bathrooms were super-clean and homey. The shower stalls were a little small; but, they were so clean and there was an actual shower control knob. Two thumbs up!
Jun 05, 2017
This is a great koa. Very mellow and relaxing
Jun 05, 2017
Love it here! Sites are clean, staff is friendly, the Art Shed is FUN and the pool is clean and warm.
Jun 05, 2017
very clean and friendly environment. well maintained and really helped me de-compress
Jun 04, 2017
This was my first KOA experience. The location was nice but not too many amenities and unless you are rafting, I didn't see much to do. Was fine for my purposes. Surprised there was no internet or cell coverage - but that isn't all bad - reminds us of what life and nature are about.
Jun 03, 2017
We love the remote location. Everyone working there is super friendly. The owners are very personable and do anything to accommodate you as best they can. We love this place it's very kid friendly
Jun 03, 2017
This is now our favorite KOA! Nestled right next to the Arkansas River where trout are waiting to be caught! A view of the Sangre de Cristo Mtns as a backdrop makes this spot delightful. BLM on both sides with hiking trails along the river. No cell service, but who needs it when you are out among the beauty. Staff was delightful and it is a scenic drive to the Royal Gorge, Cripple Creek, Westcliff
Jun 03, 2017
This is an awesome park with gr8 people running it, if you want to "Unplug" and relax & really camp, this is the place to come.
Jun 01, 2017
Great staff, beautiful scenery, clean campground & bathrooms.
Jun 01, 2017
Location was accessible. Amenities were good. Staff were friendly. This is a family friendly establishment with activities geared toward kids. The site provides minimal access to the river, and navigating a walk to the river is not friendly for older adults or small children.
Jun 01, 2017
The staff on duty was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful area, site was nice.
May 31, 2017
This is our second time staying at this KOA. We love it. The people are great, the activities are fun, and the campground is well maintained. It is a short drive to both Canon City and Salida for additional activities. We'll be back later in the summer or fall!
May 31, 2017
We always have a great time here . We really enjoy the family activities.. ceramics , tie die , hay ride , pool and ice cream social to name a few. This is just a beautiful area for fishing, hiking and star gazing. They could improve their wifi but it forces you to get off your phone . This is not a completely terrible thing ! The new riverside tent sites are gorgeous. Great job everyone!!
May 31, 2017
The grand kids had a great time.
May 31, 2017
So much for the kids to do! We loved it!
May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
Loved this KOA! It's very well kept and the activities are great for everyone. ☺
May 30, 2017
We had a great time. Lots of amenities. Laundry on site, great general store. The river is right there and great for fishing. Location is great for day trips around the area.
May 30, 2017
There are a lot of amenities and the sites are nice, many activities for the kids to do. Be prepared to pay for absolutely everything extra, including the one dollar ping-pong ball! But, we had a wonderful relaxing time and the staff was friendly.
May 30, 2017
People were very nice and they take care of the park. I Evan seen a guy killing bugs
May 30, 2017
Teally liked the facility. Kids enjoyed the hay ride & ice cream social. Picnic tables were horrible, couldn't keep the splinters out of everyone
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Was OK, very crowded. WiFi weak.
May 30, 2017
IT was our first time traveling in our RV and this place was made for easy travel and easy hook ups. Thank you!
May 29, 2017
Very clean, nice campsite and we were very pleased with the woman running the place to get out of bed when we showed up late and helping us. Thank you!!
May 29, 2017
Excellent. Would love to return and stay longer. Beautiful. Quiet when we were there before the summer rush. Saw Bighorns in meadow across highway twice in 24 hours. Level space.
May 26, 2017
As usual the staff was very friendly at check in. The cabin was clean. I thought the showers were too small and narrow.
May 22, 2017
May 20, 2017
Love this KOA!
May 18, 2017
The restrooms need new curtains in the windows. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Campground looked good with the new renovations.
May 18, 2017
Very peaceful and well kept on a beautiful location next to the Arkansas River. Very family motivated plenty to do at the campsite and in the surrounding area.
May 17, 2017
The benefit of 'camping' at a KOA is enjoying the amenities. On the website for this KOA, it lists WI-FI as available. There is no wifi, and no cell service...which is fine if communicated ahead of time. But that came as quite a shock considering it's listed on the website.
May 16, 2017
Very enjoyable weekend at the Cotopaxi KOA. Clean, on the river and with much less road noise than expected.
May 16, 2017
Warm friendly owners & staff. Some new tent areasa with colored concrete, new gravel & landscaping. Noticed older areas throughout park need attention. Grass areas & dog run grass all need more watering. Pool area shrubs & surroundings really need work before pool opens.
May 15, 2017
AWSOM
May 15, 2017
Kabin was clean, nice area to enjoy time with the family. VERY relaxing.
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
We really looked forward to this stay and left disappointed. Site was not level, next to impossible to drive out of pull-thru and had to back out, goat head stickers throughout the site and pet area, excessive traffic noise, no Wi-Fi, minimal river access and the list goes on. We loved the area, the seclusion from towns/cities but we will not be staying here again.
May 12, 2017
We love camping at the Cotopaxi KOA!
May 10, 2017
Nice campground right on the Arkansas river. Your signage could stand some paint, so it doesn't look so run down!
May 09, 2017
Always friendly people. Nice sites.
May 09, 2017
wonderful and clean, thank you
May 08, 2017
This KOA did not meet our standard of KOA services. We found the staff unfriendly and the amenities lacking. We will not stay here again. 1) Advertises WiFi, but posted signs ask campers not to use WiFi and only to view static websites. Better to confess no WiFi and no cellular service. 2) Unable to apply KOA discount at check in 3) Unfamiliar with local hiking, only know fishing
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals