Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
Stayed here on multiple occasions. It is always a pleasure to stay here.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful location, friendly staff. Campground roads not Class A friendly. Width of roads on two way roads barely wide enough for one car much less Class A RV. Staff needs to "groom" sites after they are vacated - found trash in site, patio not swept off. Staff should not use campsites for dump of limbs.
Jun 22, 2015
Clean, great fun for our 2 grandsons, and great location for surrounding attractions.
Jun 22, 2015
Great! Quiet, clean, and friendly.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. Loved the dog walk, hay ride and friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2015
Our kids loved the pool and tractor ride. I loved the shade our campsite provided during our 90 degree stay. The campground is perfectly nestled in an amazing canyon. Breathe taking views.
Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful location, friendly owners and very clean! Our family had a wonderful time.
Jun 21, 2015
I just love this place. It's always clean and the views of the river are gorgeous!
Jun 19, 2015
Very friendly and accomidating
Jun 18, 2015
Older clean park that needs updating, Overpriced for what you get
Jun 16, 2015
GREAT place.. would recommend this campground to anyone looking for a relaxing close to the river getaway
Jun 16, 2015
Good stay - thanks.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great spot ... Great location ... Great people ... We had a wonderful time ... Thank You
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
Beautiful area, very clean and well maintained campground
Jun 14, 2015
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you.
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great time. Staff is very friendly and facilities are clean. The pool was one of the best features, we enjoyed it very much.
Jun 13, 2015
Too much road noise and Dog park not clean, 1st time we took our dogs to the park we pick-up 10 to 15 piles that were not ours,
Jun 10, 2015
Poor atmosphere in game area and store. Pool was filled with bugs. Cabin had lots of spider/dust webs. Fire pit was in poor repair. Scenery is 5 stars. I've been to better KOAs and this one falls short of most of them.
Jun 06, 2015
Helpful, courteous and professional staff. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Convenient location.
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
May 28, 2015
We stayed one night and thought the campground was very nice. We were in a cabin by the river and enjoyed the sounds of the river flowing past.
May 27, 2015
We have spent Memorial Day at this campground for years. It is maintained very well. There are many activities in the campground. Kids love it!There is easy access to the river for fishing. The scenery is beautiful. The owners and the staff are wonderful.
May 27, 2015
great place we love the wagon rides and the ice cream after great people jim is a great guy i like kidding with him about the john deere and it dieind both years in a row
May 27, 2015
we had a great time with our grandchildren and all the activities we did with them!!!
May 26, 2015
Weather was rainy but we had a great time doing crafts in the art shed. Amy made it fun. Shirley and the guys made us feel welcome.
May 26, 2015
We are ready to come back again.
May 26, 2015
We had a wonderful weekend on the river.
May 26, 2015
This is our second stay at this KOA and we just love it. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground and all the building are very clean including the bathrooms and store. There is a lot to do at the campground. When my dad sliped and fell and badly injured him self down by the river Shirley was concerned and helped us find the closest Emergency room. Arts and crafts were so fun!
May 26, 2015
Great friendly staff, lots to do, clean grounds
May 26, 2015
Nice stay, clean grounds very nice staff!
May 26, 2015
Excellent experience, I will sign up to be member! Well maintained facility. Very cozy feel. I could not ask for anything better. Sleeping with the sounds of the river were amazing. My dog loved it too!
May 25, 2015
Are home away from home
May 25, 2015
Great location,clean,lots of activities.
May 18, 2015
We had a great experience during our stay! We baptized our youngest son on 5/16/2015 in the river! Our Kabin (#8) was all it was advertised. The electric space heater which came with the kabin was useful as overnight temps did get into the 40's. Bathroom were clean. The on-site store had basic things to purchase, firewood too, at a reasonable price. Kids play area was safe. Miniature golf was fun!
May 15, 2015
May 13, 2015
Very nice and quiet are. Only complaint is the wifi is terribly slow- you only get 1 hr. a day and if you log on for 10 minutes then try and get on again- well that was your 1 hr. aday
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Awesome as usual, cant wait to stay again!
May 11, 2015
Nice campground and beautiful settings but the fact that the recreation area was opened until 5pm only everyday made it a disappointing stay especially on our last night when it rained continuously and there were nothing for the children to do. Also, the limited 1-hr free internet service especially when there is no cellular coverage in the area made it for a pretty poor stay in my opinion.


We apologize for the rain. We do have free family board games for rainy days in the Cabins. The game room and store hours increase to 14 hours during the season, Memorial Day Weekend Through Labor Day Weekend, along with swimming pool, hayrides and other activities. We hope you come back.
May 09, 2015
Friendly hosts, immaculate campground, fishing not so good.


Yes, the fly fishing fell off with the rains and run off but bait and spinner fishing picked up. Rafting and kayaking are looking good. We hope to see you back when the river clears up!
May 04, 2015
Always enjoy my stay at Cotopaxi KOA. Great fishing in the area, and about midway between Salida and Canyon City for dining and entertainment options.
May 03, 2015
Friendly, clean, nice river access. Loved the art room and projects for adults and children.
May 02, 2015
Great place! Very nice people!
May 02, 2015
We enjoyed the sounds of the Arkansas river flowing past the campground.
May 01, 2015
Best river setting, peaceful, staff is always great!!
Apr 27, 2015
Great place to stay while fishing the Ark!
Apr 21, 2015
Great sites, clean restrooms we really had a good time

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.