Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2016
Sites not level. Sites just dirt. Amenities sub-standard. Staff not very friendly. Everything is old and in need of repair and/or upgrade. River access was poor. Nice dog park except for all the goat head stickers we kept having to remove from our dogs paws. Ok place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in a pinch. Would not make this a destination park.
Sep 19, 2016
We have been going to the Cotopaxi/Arkansas River,CO KOA for 15 years. Cant dream of going any were else to go camping. The people are so nice. And its always so nice and fun .
Sep 18, 2016
Nice people, beautiful location .
Sep 17, 2016
We were at the end of the season, however, the stay was pleasant, the facilities were clean and the staff was very courteous. This KOA rates at the top of others we drove by and even stopped and looked at. We will definitely make this a future stop when we are in the area again.
Sep 16, 2016
The hostess (Shirley) was very helpful and accomodating!
Sep 13, 2016
This KOA has an amazing location and scenery. The staff were wonderful and they have lots of fun events
Sep 12, 2016
It was a really nice area to camp in. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Camp was nice and clean. Staff not very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Our stay was Sept 9-11, 2016. We had one of the sites closest to the river, it was a beautiful setting. The pig roast was delicious, the pool was nice and warm, the staff were very nice, I can't say enough good things about our stay! We will be coming back.
Sep 12, 2016
We love this place! And the annual pig roast with music was fabulous!
Sep 12, 2016
We always have a great time in Cotooaxi.
Sep 12, 2016
The staff at this KOA are fantastic. They plan events to entertain families with or without children. We always enjoy this KOA . It's like visiting family! Great job everyone.
Sep 12, 2016
Only scattered shade trees -- first assigned to a site that had a barbeque grill (6 " depth) and had to move to a grate where I could build a fire. Very limited shade trees. Felt I was assigned a spot for convenience of staff, not my convenience.
Sep 11, 2016
Great experience until a camper with their dog not leased was aggressive toward other dogs which were leased and caused concern for owners of the leased dogs ... otherwise, our stay was very enjoyable
Sep 11, 2016
The river was low, and access to the Arkansas River was harder than I anticipated, making the location not that great for fishing (which I tried to do when I could). Access to an outlet would've been nice at all sites, too.
Sep 10, 2016
Beautiful location. Great people. Will be back
Sep 09, 2016
Great stay! Good weather, quiet neighbors, but didn't catch any fish..Please fix that for next time!! See you next September!
Sep 08, 2016
excellent
Sep 07, 2016
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA. The weekend always goes by too fast.
Sep 07, 2016
First time in our RV, and the spot we had was extremely quiet. Didn't hardly even know other people were in the campground. Excellent time had by all, as always! Thanks for everything!
Sep 07, 2016
Great stay!! Very kind and helpful staff with very clean facilities. Swimming, arts and crafts, hayride and playground were a blast for us and our kids!!! We'll be back for sure.
Sep 07, 2016
Love the Cotopaxi KOA! Always enjoy our time here.
Sep 07, 2016
Beautiful setting. Remote, so star viewing is spectacular, as was sleeping with the sound of the river.
Sep 07, 2016
Having never tent camped as an adult, I was pleasantly surprised of the accommodations and amenities that the campsite provided. I'd recommend and would use this as a standard for KOA's across the country!
Sep 06, 2016
Easy check in and out - great stocked store - very good activities for children and like minded adults - great shaded location on the Arkansas River!
Sep 06, 2016
This KOA has lots of activities for kids to do - playground, basketball, volleyball, swimming pool, ceramics, and more. The tent sites are tiny and allow no privacy between sites for most sites. If you go with friends and you're next to each other, it's good; otherwise you'll get cozy with strangers!
Sep 06, 2016
was very good...looking forward for another trip
Sep 06, 2016
Older campground,needs work and up keep. fire pits,electrical some old some new. I got stuck with booth
Sep 05, 2016
They definitely need to fix their WIFI. Also need to fix the parking pads so the reach to the facilities (sewer) is not as long.
Sep 04, 2016
Expedted the quality of other KOAs and was disappointed. This not big rig friendly. Their sites are not level. It was nice that they had trees but they need to be trimmed. It scratch our rv and prevented the slide from coming out. Even at the hookups that a tree that made it difficult to set up. Will not go back.
Sep 04, 2016
Very cool campground. We stayed in the cabin by the river for my wife's birthday and she fell in love with the place. We'll definitely be back! 10 stars out of 10!
Aug 31, 2016
Had a fun and relaxing time here! Will definitely stay again!
Aug 30, 2016
Great location, AMAZING staff! There was so much to do right at the campground. We will definitely be going back!
Aug 30, 2016
This si my 4th time staying here and Im likening it more and more every time, I can't wait for next summer vacation, so I can go again, is too bad I don't like winter and cold, or else I'll be there every month... Thank u guys for such a wonderful stay
Aug 30, 2016
The price was too high. The checkout time is too early, especially considering the pool only opens 1 hour prior to having to leave the campground. For the price to stay, the extras (such as mini golf) should be included. The area is nice, but you claim to be right on the river. While you are next to the river, you are a couple stories above the river so fishing and swimming are not an option.
Aug 26, 2016
The KOA would be alright if they didn't let everybody park right on top of that each other.
Aug 24, 2016
Very dry nice, quiet, clean and beautiful view of river.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 23, 2016
Very fun. Plenty to do. Clean.
Aug 22, 2016
Overall the stay was OK but I did note several problems. The roads are very narrow so this is not a good campground for very large RVs. Many of the trees need to be trimmed around the sites. Although it cost $2 per dog and dogs are supposed to be leashed, we saw many dogs running around the campground unleashed. One of these dogs caused a real problem with one of our campers. Enforce the rules.
Aug 22, 2016
trees scratch rv going into site,never had to pay for dogs before, too close to noisy highway, no cell phone service, wi-fi very poor plus charging $7 per day.
Aug 22, 2016
Suggest you trim the tree limbs hanging over the entry way and drives to camping sites. Need to do a better job of supplying dog pop bags/clearing the waste buckets (East Dog Run) for those who do clean up after their pets. Uphill sewage dumps make it a little difficult for proper drainage on some sites. Wifi/cell phone improvements would be helpful.
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground and a awesome place to stay for some good dual sporting motorcycle adventures. Cabin was clean as was the whole campground with plenty of amenities and a good campground store. Hosts were very helpful with finding a place for me to park my trailer not at the Kabin so we would have a place to park the truck and bikes. Overall a excellent experience!
Aug 22, 2016
This was a very pleasant surprise! We absolutely loved the campsite No. 74! Can't wait to come back and hopefully get one of the premium sites!
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean showers & rest room loved our campsite just maybe need to clarify the minimal wifi other then that I loved our whol experience thank you for our weekend
Aug 20, 2016
It was reasonably quiet, although on a highway, didn't bother us. The setting, surrounded by mountains and the river was lovely. Not huge on amenities, but it had everything we needed, the Internet was EXTREMELY slow, it was practically impossible to do much of anything useful in the hour allowed, but that is about my only complaint. The area was very scenic!
Aug 19, 2016
My wife and I enjoy staying here very much, the patio sites age very nice. However, the Wi-Fi is pitiful. The one hour a day limit is livable if it worked! We stayed for 3 nights and successfully checked our e-mail one night. The two other nights we got a message that our limit had been reached when we hadn't even got on the Wi-Fi.
Aug 18, 2016
Nice pull-thru sites. Great river setting.
Aug 17, 2016
Wouldn't refund on cabins hen you weren't full and had other cabins so that was a poor excuse it didn't make you lose money also wouldn't take care of red ants in our yard where we had to sit and have our campfire. Trees needed trimming. We had reserved another spot at another loa because you said we could leave with a twenty four hour notice made it bad because we all had to stay in one camper
Aug 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay...would like to be further away from the road the next time and closer to the river!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps