Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 943 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2016
We found the campground clean. I found the small bathroom a little stinky after a couple of days. The larger shower house was nice. The noise level was acceptable. We would have liked a 30 AMP along the river but that was not available and 50 AMP was way too much for our little camper even if we knocked it down.
Jun 01, 2016
camping sites are way to close to each other and campground is not kept very clean. better access to the river would be nice with it being so close to the river. flow of traffic is very confusing, we had trouble leaving with people at the dump station blocking road.
Jun 01, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
The tent sites are extremely small, and the restrooms were not cleaned consistently.
May 31, 2016
A beautiful location and the most friendly staff. Plenty of activities for the kids.
May 31, 2016
As always we love camping at Cotopaxi. Didn't enjoy Lot 14 & 15, but wasn't aware being so close to the playground and folks walking through our campsite. We definitely are coming back and will be using lots farther east. Thank you for all the activities and your care!
May 31, 2016
Great location and close to CaƱon City. Arkansa river is within walking distance and overall is clean and organize. Can get crowed and the trash dumpsters can fill up quickly. It took 2 days for someone to empty them out. Firepits are ok, depends on what site you are and the fire smoke can be overwhelming.
May 31, 2016
When using a long trailer beware! The roads are narrow inside the park, and the entrances to spaces have trees and boulders. Our 45' barely made it through the campground unscathed! The facility is great, and so are the people though!
May 31, 2016
Amazing place, very clean and my family had a blast. Best place we've been to.
May 30, 2016
The camp host at the front desk is a little short. Everything else was outstanding.
May 30, 2016
This campground is quite cramped as it sits on the Arkansas River. The staff is friendly and wifi is limited.
May 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Cotopaxi koa! The tent site by the river was great with the river sounds below us, however wasn't close to the restrooms.Staff was great, very friendly and helpful! Could use a little more maintenance but overall pretty good stay.
May 23, 2016
This campground has beautiful views of the Arkansas River and canyon. Because this area is rugged and a desert climate, water conservation is essential. Sites are not paved, but well graded and leveling may be needed on very few sites. Bathrooms were very clean. Management and work campers were polite and helpful. Topography limits WiFi and cell service.
May 23, 2016
Location is great. Would be nice to have internet in the campground but overall the facilities are nice and the staff was friendly
May 19, 2016
We always enjoy staying at the Cotopaxi KOA.
May 17, 2016
The stay in the wooden cabin is what my family liked the most.
May 17, 2016
Friendly, relaxing and clean.
May 16, 2016
It was an awesome experience.
May 16, 2016
Had a great time.
May 16, 2016
We were so pleased with our stay! The campground was beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
May 16, 2016
Loved having a playground for the kids. The sites are nice with having a tree, picnic table, and firepit. Everyone seems really nice. Next time would like to stay in the back-in space overlooking the river.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff. We had a great camping spot. The site and the restrooms were very clean. Some traffic noise but also could hear the river. We will return.
May 06, 2016
May 02, 2016
The only complaint I have is that we had to hunt down the camp host to check in. After being on the road for a few hours that's the last thing I wanted to do was hunt them down to check in. I know it's early in the season but have someone @ the desk @ all times or figure out a some way to make sure you are there to greet your guest! The camp ground was nice and clean. Look forward to the Summer!
May 02, 2016
Cabin KK8. Spiders hanging from the roof. It seems like cabins haven't been checked since the closed them back in October. 65 volts on the outlet which couldn't power our heater. Temp inside the cabin was 39 deg all night long. It always seems like these people never do a run around before they open. They did try to fix the problem the second night and they made a temporary fix
May 02, 2016
Very nice and clean as always. Great host/hostess.
Apr 30, 2016
We love staying there. The views by the river are awesome!
Apr 26, 2016
Beautiful campground!
Apr 26, 2016
The only thing I didn't like was they had a tree chipper right next to our tent during nap time for about an hour and a half. Didn't get a good nap:(
Apr 19, 2016
I really wish the wifi worked better. I know that the idea is to unplug but if it is being advertised it should work. Not a show stopper, but would be nice.
Apr 11, 2016
great location, great cabins!
Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
Oct 28, 2015
This KOA could use some TLC. Very uneven sites. Wifi was advertised but was not available.
Oct 27, 2015
Everything was great except for our cabin! When you plugged in a heater, lights got dim. If you plugged in 2 things it got dimmer and then the heater wouldn't work to full power! We have stayed here before in other cabins and never had this problem! Our friends stayed in the cabin next to us and had the same problem! Except they brought a heater and it wouldn't work, but lights still got dim!
Oct 26, 2015
A great place our grandson loves it and so do we.
Oct 25, 2015
The grounds are very well kept and the accommodations are wonderfully varied. The staff is so kind. We'll definitely be back.
Oct 21, 2015
Wonderful place to vacation!! Beautiful location! Real sweet staff! My grandchildren & I had a blast!! We will definitely return!! Thanks!!!
Oct 19, 2015
perfect river setting and tons of stars at night!
Oct 19, 2015
Loved the art shed! Nice activities that are different from other campgrounds. Need some lights, however, that stay on during the night to get to satelite restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice place. Pull throughs are a little tight, especially with the large boulders set up on both sides.
Oct 19, 2015
Shirley and Wayne are awesome. We've stayed here many times and the friendly service and immaculate facilities keep bringing us back. See you next season!
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground along the banks of the Arkansas River. The fish were biting.
Oct 13, 2015
Great location, Friendly staff, Clean facilities and lots to do on site and off site!
Oct 13, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness of the campground and being able to camp right close to the river. Thank you.
Oct 12, 2015
Perfect location on the Arkansas River. Great for fishing! Secluded. Clean.
Oct 09, 2015
No TV, No Internet.Camp sites were to tight.
Oct 07, 2015
As always, perfect!
Oct 07, 2015
Rough roads, road noise, lots of dirt
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals