Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
This is the place to watch meteor showers! It has lovely trees and a very nice pool too. Lot's of stars and nice, friendly people. Thank you!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
WE were packed in like sardines. I would pay more for more space.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed there many times and ave always had a very enjoyable time. Jim, Amy and Thunder are hospitable hosts that offer projects and fun themed activities that other KOAs have not offered.:-)
Sep 02, 2014
Nice koa, tent sites are pretty small. Lots to do for kids, family oriented for sure.
Sep 01, 2014
Had a left alone barking dog barking sat afternoon, think it was inside someone's rv. Guess I should of gotten Office involved couldn't get 5 yr grdson to nap because of this.
Sep 01, 2014
We were packed in like sardines. There was not enough room to park a car and pitch a tent. The people next to us parked right in front of our tent instead of their own.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for that. Demand exceeds supply, especially on Labor Day Weekend. Each site is set up for 1 normal car, 1 normal tent, picnic table and fire pit. We would have asked the people to move their car had you told us it was not yours. Again, our regrets.
Aug 30, 2014
Quaint little KOA tucked in the valley of the canyon and right on the Arkansas River - beautiful! Great place and very accommodating staff. LOVED the hayride!
Aug 27, 2014
Enjoyed immensely !
Aug 25, 2014
lovely setting, great dog park, fun activities (hayride), dark for night sky viewing, friendly folks - fantastic!
Aug 24, 2014
the sites are so close and no privacy between spots. You can hear everything your neighbors are saying and doing, not camping. Staff was very nice and helpful. The facilities were clean and well kept.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
This was one of the cleaner KOA campgrounds that we have stayed. The staff was incredibly polite & made our stay all the more enjoyable.
Aug 18, 2014
Very friendly staff & exceptionally clean facilities!
Aug 17, 2014
We had one of the patio sites by the river, very nice. Always like staying here. The pool was warm, bathrooms were very clean. Only problem was the gnats, those suckers were out in force.
Aug 17, 2014
Amazing and we will be back!!!
Aug 16, 2014
Great location, convenient via Hwy 50, but far enough from CO Springs to have peace and quiet, great night sky view. Facilities were good, Kamping Kabin was great. People very nice. Highly recommend.
Aug 14, 2014
The Arkansas River was impressive behind our Kamping Kabin. The tent and RV river sites are great, too.
Aug 12, 2014
Sites need to be more level.
Aug 12, 2014
Too many dogs "off leash" at campsites which complicated walking our 'ON LEASH' dogs. Dog park is a really nice feature except 'kids' were using it as a playground. Dog waste disposal can - FULL for three days straight. Some tree trimming would help with access for larger RV's. Office staff was friendly. Seem to have lots of activities for families...good location.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We loved the soothing sound of the Arkansas River just outside our tent. We plan to be back next time we come through next year.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Clean, nice staff, helpful with any questions we had while staying there.
Aug 10, 2014
Wonderful camp ground. Will definitely be back.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Nice Staff, Great spot near the Arkansas River. The showers and rest rooms were spotless.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The best Have stayed here many times
Aug 04, 2014
Our stay was great. Our cabin was clean and the site was very nice. There were people all around us, but we never felt crowded. Thanks for having us!!
Aug 04, 2014
Loved the site and everyone who worked there was great
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Our fire pit wasn't a pit. It was open on 1 side and the grate was only 6 inches above the concrete floor - not high enough to build a fire or cook. We were told we had 1 hour of free wifi. I used 8 minutes and tried to log on again but couldn't. The front office was uncaring and didn't even mention you could purchase another hour for $1. Good customer service would have cost the KOA $1.
Aug 03, 2014
I had a wonderful stay there. The campground was very clean nice. Loved the humming bird feeders. All the staff was very polite and kind. I will def be back again soon.
Aug 03, 2014
it was fine. very small camp sites. ours had a great river view which made it better, but we were essentially right on top of the people next to us. we couldn't start a fire because the wood we bought at the store wasn't dry enough (we got a starter too) and there was a super long wait at the showers in the morning.
Aug 01, 2014
It's on the Arkansas River !! Enough said ...
Aug 01, 2014
Always enjoy Cotopaxi. Nice, Clean, and Beautiful area to camp.
Aug 01, 2014
I understand the problem with getting wifi at that location, and perhaps we would be better off without it. However it was necessary for my use and I ended up going to McDonalds to use their wifi and probably ruin my health with their food. But the fishing at the campground was good.
Aug 01, 2014
What a jewel! We had driven by this campground many years ago and commented on how run-down it looked. What a delight to find it looking so great. We will plan any extended stay next time. Being able to back in by the river was very serene. Can't wait for our next trip. Thanks Shirley for being do helpful!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
We stayed 6 nights at this KOA. The campsites and restrooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. If ever in the area again I would definitely return for a stay at the Cotopaxi/Arkansas River KOA
Jul 31, 2014
The campground is very clean. The pool, tractor ride, arts and crafts and ice cream social are all great for families. The spaces are tight and you feel like you are on top of each other. This is fine and if you are with a group but not so great if you are traveling alone and want privacy.
Jul 31, 2014
Great site on the river
Jul 30, 2014
My dad took me there as a kid...and now I take my children there. A little piece of heaven on earth for every age ;)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.