Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
Clean, nice staff, helpful with any questions we had while staying there.
Aug 10, 2014
Wonderful camp ground. Will definitely be back.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Nice Staff, Great spot near the Arkansas River. The showers and rest rooms were spotless.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The best Have stayed here many times
Aug 04, 2014
Our stay was great. Our cabin was clean and the site was very nice. There were people all around us, but we never felt crowded. Thanks for having us!!
Aug 04, 2014
Loved the site and everyone who worked there was great
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Our fire pit wasn't a pit. It was open on 1 side and the grate was only 6 inches above the concrete floor - not high enough to build a fire or cook. We were told we had 1 hour of free wifi. I used 8 minutes and tried to log on again but couldn't. The front office was uncaring and didn't even mention you could purchase another hour for $1. Good customer service would have cost the KOA $1.
Aug 03, 2014
I had a wonderful stay there. The campground was very clean nice. Loved the humming bird feeders. All the staff was very polite and kind. I will def be back again soon.
Aug 03, 2014
it was fine. very small camp sites. ours had a great river view which made it better, but we were essentially right on top of the people next to us. we couldn't start a fire because the wood we bought at the store wasn't dry enough (we got a starter too) and there was a super long wait at the showers in the morning.
Aug 01, 2014
It's on the Arkansas River !! Enough said ...
Aug 01, 2014
Always enjoy Cotopaxi. Nice, Clean, and Beautiful area to camp.
Aug 01, 2014
I understand the problem with getting wifi at that location, and perhaps we would be better off without it. However it was necessary for my use and I ended up going to McDonalds to use their wifi and probably ruin my health with their food. But the fishing at the campground was good.
Aug 01, 2014
What a jewel! We had driven by this campground many years ago and commented on how run-down it looked. What a delight to find it looking so great. We will plan any extended stay next time. Being able to back in by the river was very serene. Can't wait for our next trip. Thanks Shirley for being do helpful!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
We stayed 6 nights at this KOA. The campsites and restrooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. If ever in the area again I would definitely return for a stay at the Cotopaxi/Arkansas River KOA
Jul 31, 2014
The campground is very clean. The pool, tractor ride, arts and crafts and ice cream social are all great for families. The spaces are tight and you feel like you are on top of each other. This is fine and if you are with a group but not so great if you are traveling alone and want privacy.
Jul 31, 2014
Great site on the river
Jul 30, 2014
My dad took me there as a kid...and now I take my children there. A little piece of heaven on earth for every age ;)
Jul 29, 2014
There was confusion with location of our site and when asked for help I was surprised that noone walked with us to help. The site was dirty with cigarette butts. Bathrooms needs to be monitored more often. Staff wasnt as friendly/helpful as other KOA's we have been to. Disappointed with or stay.
Jul 29, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The restrooms were very clean. It was a pretty location right next to the river. My kids loved the pool and the playground. We even enjoyed three rounds of mini golf. They have fun activities like making your own tie die t-shirt, hay rides, and ice cream socials. Cabins were a little close to each other but we still had a great time.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great time. The tent sites are way too close together. There needs to be water near the tent sites. Restrooms were far away. Store prices were insane. We did enjoy our time because we had friends. I would not stay there multiple nights had it not have been for our friends and the plans we had due to how close the sites were.
Jul 28, 2014
Could be a little cleaner. Does need a little work, e.g., the pavillion is in dire need of repair. It was nice to have the hay ride and the dog park.
Jul 28, 2014
We loved it. The surroundings were pretty basic, but the other campers and the hosts made it special. A tractor ride every night, crafts for kids, ice cream social...get to know folks. The facilities were well maintained, and care was shown throughout. Thanks. Wish the COTOPAXI KOA were more prominent from the road.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
One night, no issues, great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
I've been staying at this KOA for about 11 yrs. I've tent kamped, trailer kamped, and now, I've kabin kamped. The ownership and staff (Shirley and Co.)have always kept a clean, well-stocked, friendly facility. My daughters are grown now, but they loved this KOA when they were young. This is always my first choice in kamping.
Jul 28, 2014
WE stayed in a KK and the one we were assigned was very close to the on next door. It would be nice if we were with that family. The table benches are in desperate need of paint, so any time we sat on it we got up and had to brush paint chips off. The cabin itself was comfortable and the grounds were pleasant.
Jul 28, 2014
Liked the campground. People were friendly. Top sites were not full hookup which was in the info but not realized until we arrived at our campsite
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Sewer connection in space 20 is too high for proper drainage!
Jul 28, 2014
Very well run and organized. Very friendly. Quiet at night dispite full campground. One of the best KOAs I have ever been to.
Jul 28, 2014
Excellent facility! Our family had a great time. Very clean, really friendly! We had a pull through spot in the center. It was a bit of a tight squeeze. We would have preferred a little more room. The tent sights along the river are great!The Deluxe sights along the river are AMAZING!!!! I would camp here all summer long if I could! Really nice facility,great staff, loved the hummingbirds!THANKYOU
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Fun, clean, lots to do, always a great heated pool, and a nice getaway from our house in Colorado Springs.
Jul 28, 2014
Easy going, friendly staff. Good place to crash for the night and fine for a small group (5 of us) - showers were fantastic :)
Jul 27, 2014
Location great for rafting. Pool closed a negative also wifi did not work. Bathrooms were not as clean as most KOAs I have been to but probably due to large group at campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pool has been open every day all day from 10:00 am (usually earlier) until 9:00 pm all summer long.
Jul 26, 2014
Kinda needed to take care of some business while there, no cell service (verizon) and limited internet. enjoyed shuffle board, thought $4 was a little much, we are an older couple and not going to hurt anything.
Jul 25, 2014
Staff were really friendly. We stayed @ 1 of the tent sites along the river. It was nice, there was a bit of an incline to get down to the river. We have a 8-man tent & space for it was pretty tight. It was also gravel, no grass, so that a little bothersome. I was underprepard for the insects, flying or otherwise & as a result retired to the tent earlier than planned, but overall it was nice.
Jul 23, 2014
we were unable to get any phone service which I understand you have no control over we were treated very well and enjoyed the park
Jul 23, 2014
This was a great campsite! We were able to stay right by the river, which was fantastic. Loved that there was a courtesy phone to use since there's little to no cell service. Very clean facilities, although a couple shelves in the showers would be great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the missing shower caddies. They have all been replaced with new ones. We hope to see you again!
Jul 22, 2014
Amy and her staff are wonderful and very attentive to their guests. They did a great job ensuring that all our needs were met.
Jul 22, 2014
The staff was very good and were very accomadating. We all found that the pavillon was very dangerous to use. The enclosed area has a floor that everyone was afraid to walk on as you almost fall through it. Repairs were made by putting boards an bad areas and covering them with carpet. There is no running water, making cleaning up very hard as we had to carry our own water down there.
Jul 22, 2014
The location is excellent and the managers are pleasant and responsive. My average rating is solely because my campsite was infested with several giant mounds of "carpenter" ants. the management tried unsuccessfully to rid the area of them with several "bait" applications. My son and his family had a nearby campsite which was free of such pests.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.