Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2012
Excellent getaway for peace and quiet. Sites by the river are awesome. best all around stay at a KOA. Needs cell service.
Sep 19, 2012
It's an older facility, and some of the infrastructure needs repair. But it had a "home-y" feel me and my husband loved. I also enjoyed the ceramics craft class offered on Saturday. I can't wait to go back!
Sep 18, 2012
This was our first RV trip it was wonderful. We loved that you are so dog friendly! With my daughters dogs & ours we had 6! Great fenced dog run and river path. Thank you for the hay ride, mini golf the grandkids loved it! We'll be back.
Sep 18, 2012
It was a wonderful relaxing weekend! There were activities offered at the campground, and the setting by the river was beautiful. The hosts are awesome, and we will definitely come back!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
No cell signal, bathrooms & fire rings not as nice as other KOA's. They do have a nice off-leash dog area.
Sep 13, 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Cotopaxi. We have been there before and plan on making it a regular destination.It is well run and emaculate. The staff are exceptional. One of my all time favorites!!!
Sep 11, 2012
Having a pool was a big plus and the river was very close!
Sep 10, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
high end sites ($) on river - but no sewer? main park sites rv size restricted, small & not level. no tv or cell phone service. will not stay at this camp again.
Sep 10, 2012
Pool & Bathhouse Were In Excellent Condition.
Sep 07, 2012
Doggie trash cans need to be emptied more often. Our sewer line overflowed when we tried to dump our black water tank. What a mess.
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
we just stayed one night but it was very pleasant, especially with the swiftly flowing Arkansas river right by our spot.Everyone was very nice.
Sep 05, 2012
You are much nicer that Canon City. The only suggestion I would make is to add/replace the suports on the full bed in Kabin 1. It sagged so far with 2 people on bed that we thought we'd wake up on floor below. Also had a tendency to dig in hips/back since matt so thin. Also enforce quiet time. K2,3,4,5 7,8 and RV 31,32 were up past midnight drinking and carrying on with kids & dogs roaming.
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Our family had a fantastic time! We had everything we needed. Our son played for hours at the playground and the dog park was an added plus. We will definitely be back! The Swains
Sep 04, 2012
Jim's hayride is always fun. Camp ground is in excellant condition despite the lack of rain. See you soon.
Sep 04, 2012
water smelled like sewer, wi fi for only 1 hour a day. phone could not hear on. paid $10-15 more for less services. People friednly. campground clean.pads not even. water hose almost didn't reach and we put had slide outs which would have hit rock or power pole thus the long reach for the water hose. We normally stay at KOA's and were dissapointed, also much road noise.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Aug 31, 2012
Everything was tidy, clean, and great amenities. ONLY complaint from us and our group were the goathead thistle/stickers...the pets were loaded with them all three days...but other than that, it was great..and we will be back!!!!
Aug 31, 2012
Campsite 50 was one of the best campsite we've ever stayed in. We'll be back next Summer.
Aug 31, 2012
very enjoyable
Aug 29, 2012
The family who runs this KOA is so welcoming. The hiking area is beautiful and we loved the cute clean cabin.
Aug 27, 2012
We had a wonderful time staying at your campground we try to stay there at least once a year the staff are always wonderful. see you next year!
Aug 27, 2012
Needs a larger pet play area and more access to poop bags. All the trash cans were full and smelly also. WiFi was weak to non existent
Aug 27, 2012
Aug 26, 2012
Deferred maintenance and cleaning that could be accomplished at little to no cost would make this campground a much nicer place. Safety issues with fire pits directly under trees make a serious fire hazard. Sites were far, far from level. Office staff was not able to perform basic tasks. Shirley has been an employee for many years and struggled with the computer system.
Aug 23, 2012
Although this site is conveniently close to the river, the traffic on US 50 is too close and too loud for our likes. Also, the situation with the WiFi is totally unacceptable! We have to pay for hourly or daily use??? What's this all about??? Yes, we are in the mountains but WiFi is available but unaccessable if you don't PAY more? Your daily fee should more than cover this!
Aug 22, 2012
The facility is in a great loacation, but not in good repair. The hot water handle in the bathroom was missing during our entire 7 day visit. There were other minor items that needed fixing. The internet system was terrible. I would suggest that the internet be available and included in the cost of the stay, rather than 1 hr. per day. The staff was only moderately friendly.
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
Always clean. Always friendly. A great spot
Aug 20, 2012
This is the best place for families! Everyone is so nice, they have become a part of our family. We have been here many times and have yet to have ANY complaint.Clean and comfortable.
Aug 20, 2012
liked the ice cream and cobbler social. It got very dark to use the bathroom at night even with a flashlight.
Aug 16, 2012
Loved the atmosphere of being by the river however, cabins were too close to the other campers, felt like we were forced to "share our space." Great place otherwise, perfect location. We will be back! Thanks for a great stay. :)
Aug 16, 2012
Beautiful surroundings and friendly staff. Loved it.
Aug 14, 2012
We will come back, wonderful area, good events/programs for all, kids really loved it. Some sites little hard to get into. Gift shop AOK. Not expensive, clean restrooms and showers. Looking forward to going back. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2012
Its a nice KOA but needs a lot of work and cleaning. Very friendly.
Aug 13, 2012
Enjoyed the pool. Liked the location. tractor ride was hoaky fun. Glad for the ceiling fan.
Aug 13, 2012
We loved how kid-centered the activities were! The cleanliness of the bathrooms and campground in general was outstanding! Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 13, 2012
We had a great time.......the only concerns that I have is that my daughter and grand daughter (3) had a run in by the cabins with a rattlesnake. The gentleman that was staying in the cabin right by the office killed it. It was a scare for us. Luckily no one was bitten.
Aug 13, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.