Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2012
Aug 21, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
Always clean. Always friendly. A great spot
Aug 20, 2012
This is the best place for families! Everyone is so nice, they have become a part of our family. We have been here many times and have yet to have ANY complaint.Clean and comfortable.
Aug 20, 2012
liked the ice cream and cobbler social. It got very dark to use the bathroom at night even with a flashlight.
Aug 16, 2012
Loved the atmosphere of being by the river however, cabins were too close to the other campers, felt like we were forced to "share our space." Great place otherwise, perfect location. We will be back! Thanks for a great stay. :)
Aug 16, 2012
Beautiful surroundings and friendly staff. Loved it.
Aug 14, 2012
We will come back, wonderful area, good events/programs for all, kids really loved it. Some sites little hard to get into. Gift shop AOK. Not expensive, clean restrooms and showers. Looking forward to going back. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2012
Its a nice KOA but needs a lot of work and cleaning. Very friendly.
Aug 13, 2012
Enjoyed the pool. Liked the location. tractor ride was hoaky fun. Glad for the ceiling fan.
Aug 13, 2012
We loved how kid-centered the activities were! The cleanliness of the bathrooms and campground in general was outstanding! Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 13, 2012
We had a great time.......the only concerns that I have is that my daughter and grand daughter (3) had a run in by the cabins with a rattlesnake. The gentleman that was staying in the cabin right by the office killed it. It was a scare for us. Luckily no one was bitten.
Aug 13, 2012
Aug 12, 2012
Aug 09, 2012
Lots of reviewers dislike this KOA for various reasons, but compared to other campgrounds in the area, it is one of the best, especially if you have young kids w/ you. It is sandwiched between the highway and the river, but all of them are along the Arkansas River. Very pretty scenery, pool, playground and rafting nearby. We stayed 9 days and had a great time! We'll be back. Staff was great, too!
Aug 08, 2012
beautiful campgrounds and friendly people
Aug 07, 2012
Beautiful place , it would have been nice to have free wi fi like other koa's
Aug 07, 2012
This is our favorite KOA in Colorado. My parents came and camped next to us. We have been telling them about this KOA since our first visit here 3 years ago. I lost my diamond earring in the womens shower. I looked for it but could not find it. I went into the office to give my name and number in case someone else found it and the camp hostess, Shirley Austin, helped me find it. The staff is great
Aug 06, 2012
Enjoyed the site 73 except for the nats, I know you can't control mother nature. Had a great time and will be back in the fall to fish the Arkansas.
Aug 06, 2012
This was our maiden voyage with our 32' travel trailer. Great pull thru site, older facility but very nice. No downdsides!
Aug 06, 2012
We stayed with family and friends for several days. The internet block was not pleasant, as there is no cell service available in the campground. The showers and pool were always clean, laundry room always available and clean when we needed it. The items in the shop were reasonably priced as was the spot itself. Overall very satisfied.
Aug 06, 2012
We were just in for an overnight on the way to Ouray. Great amenities. The time limit on the Hotspot was odd though, especially since there was no cell service available in the entire park.
Aug 06, 2012
WE have been to this KOA many times in the past, though we haven't been for 2 years. It was sadly disappointing. Our firepit didn't have a grate, the cement was all broken and we feared we might set the place on fire. We had to pay for wi-fi so doing a little work would come at a cost The entire campground just seemed to be in some disrepair. I don't think we'll be back
Aug 06, 2012
Aug 06, 2012
The staff was wonderful and did a great job keeping the place nice and clean! The only thing I would like to see different is a better trail down to the river. It was a bit difficult for our short-legged basset hound to make her way down to the river but, she loves swimming and it was worth it :) Thanks for making our short trip such a pleasant one!!
Aug 05, 2012
We will be back!! We loved the craft event(s)!!
Aug 04, 2012
Some clean up around are could make it look better, but we had a great time. Staff so friendly and helpful. Loved the crafts offerred. HATED the knats, tho!! Know probably nothing you could do ---. We'll be back sometime.
Aug 03, 2012
Loved the cabins and the swimming pool and the nightly hay rides. Very friendly staff.
Aug 03, 2012
The showers were small and there needs to be a clear division between stalls. It is a discomforting feeling having someone elses shower splash on your legs.
Aug 02, 2012
Enjoyed our camping trip. The only thing that would have made it better is if we had been more organized and if there had been a small fridge in cabin. Oh, and fewer gnats. Thanks so much!
Aug 02, 2012
Great location! We have already recommended it to others.
Aug 01, 2012
Nice campground! Need more seats/shelves in the showers.
Jul 31, 2012
Jul 31, 2012
only downside was no cell service and WIFI limit- great place will highly recommend
Jul 30, 2012
We had a really great time. Everyone was very friendly.
Jul 30, 2012
people very helpful & friendly; sites a little hard for larger coaches to get in; need to try to level the sites if possible
Jul 30, 2012
they were are really nice at check in
Jul 30, 2012
We love it here. Clean campsites, warm showers and pool and beautiful views of the river and mountains :)
Jul 30, 2012
We had a wonderful time. It was a beautiful area and the staff were awesome. We will be back!
Jul 30, 2012
We loved this KOA, it's close to home, lots of kids, good for family's. We thoroughly enjoyed! It was just my husband & I, but it was fun to see all that the KOA had to offer for the kids.
Jul 30, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
Friendly staff. Nice campground with scenic campsites on the river
Jul 28, 2012
i really enjoy the people that are running the campground, they are friendly and keep the bathrooms clean. the gift store has new items and it really looks great. they have different activities for the kids and the adults. this was our 4th time at this campsite and we will definitely keep coming back. I love the fact that you can hear the river, it is very soothing and relaxing.
Jul 27, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.