Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 06, 2013
nice facilities, nice people, nice fish!!!!
May 06, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
The wifi policy requires re-evaluation: limiting guests to 1 consecutive hour a day is capricious and just plain silly. Especially when you consider this particular KOA has no cell phone service. Coupled with the high rates for the Kamper Kabins, we will consider other options next year.
Apr 29, 2013
Stay there for the location only. Great fishing. Overall site needs major work. Exterior sink for dish washing is broken, most interior men's shower is a trickle of water, shrubbery needs trimming. I have stayed in KOA across the country this is one of the nicest geographical locations but needs work.
Apr 29, 2013
Good facilities. Clean bathrooms. No complaints.
Apr 22, 2013
It was great. View is great and great access to the river for fishing. Would have been nice to purchase needed items from store and not have to go else where.
Apr 02, 2013
Great stay, awesome location, very helpful and understanding owners.
Mar 30, 2013
Great hosts, great location, and I really liked the cabin. The facilities were nice and well kept. Barry
Oct 29, 2012
It's like a family out there we love it!!
Oct 25, 2012
What wonderful hosts and a beautiful site. Thank you for a great stay.
Oct 23, 2012
We have visited this campground several times in the past and will again in the future. Great People
Oct 22, 2012
Beautiful location on the river. camp sites are ok. Friendly staff. Could use updating overall. No place to wash dishes (outside sink was closed)
Oct 22, 2012
Cabin could have been cleaner, a lot of dust/dirt under the beds. Spray for insects would be good, killed 4-5 spiders. we really liked the actual location, and setting very much and we will be back. Thanks for a wonderful time.
Oct 22, 2012
Great time!
Oct 14, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
Very nice place for dogs! But the bathrooms are disgusting and there is no working WIFI, no TV, no telefone. Payed 50$ only for a nice view.
Oct 10, 2012
Great out of the way spot, clean, very friendly folks. We can't wait to go back in the summer.
Oct 10, 2012
This was a wonderful place to stay for a few days. Wish it was longer. The hosts were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The campground was extremely clean and neat. We loved the views of the mountains and the amenities were as promised - perfect. This was one of our all time favorites. We are full-timers traveling the country over the past ten years, and we are very impressed with this park
Oct 09, 2012
We had a great stay and we will continue to use KOAs for future trips
Oct 06, 2012
Oct 03, 2012
We caught this KOA off- season. Many of the amenities were shut down. The great part of it was that we had a great site (#73) on the river) and ther were only five other campers at the site. Very clean and quiet during our stay.
Oct 01, 2012
we loved the site, loved the patio and table set, and being so close to the river. the staff was great!
Sep 25, 2012
Wonderful setting and appreciated all the things to do right at the kampground. Very clean and cared for, and nice people!
Sep 24, 2012
Both our friends (2 couples) and us wish that the sites had been more level. A number of areas look like they need a little more TLC. We Never saw Any watering being done on landscaping and dead trees should be removed.
Sep 24, 2012
We were exploring another part of the state and picked this area before going to Pueblo Chili Festival. The accomodationns and scenery are very nice. Thanks.
Sep 22, 2012
Nice and quiet Labor Day weekend even with all the KOA activities
Sep 21, 2012
Excellent getaway for peace and quiet. Sites by the river are awesome. best all around stay at a KOA. Needs cell service.
Sep 19, 2012
It's an older facility, and some of the infrastructure needs repair. But it had a "home-y" feel me and my husband loved. I also enjoyed the ceramics craft class offered on Saturday. I can't wait to go back!
Sep 18, 2012
This was our first RV trip it was wonderful. We loved that you are so dog friendly! With my daughters dogs & ours we had 6! Great fenced dog run and river path. Thank you for the hay ride, mini golf the grandkids loved it! We'll be back.
Sep 18, 2012
It was a wonderful relaxing weekend! There were activities offered at the campground, and the setting by the river was beautiful. The hosts are awesome, and we will definitely come back!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
No cell signal, bathrooms & fire rings not as nice as other KOA's. They do have a nice off-leash dog area.
Sep 13, 2012
We had a wonderful stay at Cotopaxi. We have been there before and plan on making it a regular destination.It is well run and emaculate. The staff are exceptional. One of my all time favorites!!!
Sep 11, 2012
Having a pool was a big plus and the river was very close!
Sep 10, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
high end sites ($) on river - but no sewer? main park sites rv size restricted, small & not level. no tv or cell phone service. will not stay at this camp again.
Sep 10, 2012
Pool & Bathhouse Were In Excellent Condition.
Sep 07, 2012
Doggie trash cans need to be emptied more often. Our sewer line overflowed when we tried to dump our black water tank. What a mess.
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
we just stayed one night but it was very pleasant, especially with the swiftly flowing Arkansas river right by our spot.Everyone was very nice.
Sep 05, 2012
You are much nicer that Canon City. The only suggestion I would make is to add/replace the suports on the full bed in Kabin 1. It sagged so far with 2 people on bed that we thought we'd wake up on floor below. Also had a tendency to dig in hips/back since matt so thin. Also enforce quiet time. K2,3,4,5 7,8 and RV 31,32 were up past midnight drinking and carrying on with kids & dogs roaming.
Sep 05, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Our family had a fantastic time! We had everything we needed. Our son played for hours at the playground and the dog park was an added plus. We will definitely be back! The Swains
Sep 04, 2012
Jim's hayride is always fun. Camp ground is in excellant condition despite the lack of rain. See you soon.
Sep 04, 2012
water smelled like sewer, wi fi for only 1 hour a day. phone could not hear on. paid $10-15 more for less services. People friednly. campground clean.pads not even. water hose almost didn't reach and we put had slide outs which would have hit rock or power pole thus the long reach for the water hose. We normally stay at KOA's and were dissapointed, also much road noise.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.