Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 3 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 861 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 03, 2015
Awesome time again! Already made our reservations for July 4th weekend!!
Oct 28, 2015
This KOA could use some TLC. Very uneven sites. Wifi was advertised but was not available.
Oct 27, 2015
Everything was great except for our cabin! When you plugged in a heater, lights got dim. If you plugged in 2 things it got dimmer and then the heater wouldn't work to full power! We have stayed here before in other cabins and never had this problem! Our friends stayed in the cabin next to us and had the same problem! Except they brought a heater and it wouldn't work, but lights still got dim!
Oct 26, 2015
A great place our grandson loves it and so do we.
Oct 25, 2015
The grounds are very well kept and the accommodations are wonderfully varied. The staff is so kind. We'll definitely be back.
Oct 21, 2015
Wonderful place to vacation!! Beautiful location! Real sweet staff! My grandchildren & I had a blast!! We will definitely return!! Thanks!!!
Oct 19, 2015
perfect river setting and tons of stars at night!
Oct 19, 2015
Loved the art shed! Nice activities that are different from other campgrounds. Need some lights, however, that stay on during the night to get to satelite restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice place. Pull throughs are a little tight, especially with the large boulders set up on both sides.
Oct 19, 2015
Shirley and Wayne are awesome. We've stayed here many times and the friendly service and immaculate facilities keep bringing us back. See you next season!
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Nice campground along the banks of the Arkansas River. The fish were biting.
Oct 13, 2015
Great location, Friendly staff, Clean facilities and lots to do on site and off site!
Oct 13, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness of the campground and being able to camp right close to the river. Thank you.
Oct 12, 2015
Perfect location on the Arkansas River. Great for fishing! Secluded. Clean.
Oct 09, 2015
No TV, No Internet.Camp sites were to tight.
Oct 07, 2015
As always, perfect!
Oct 07, 2015
Rough roads, road noise, lots of dirt
Oct 06, 2015
We had an outstanding family reunion. We have enjoyed your KOA in the past & definitely will continue. Thanks for a great time!
Oct 05, 2015
Love the extra effort they always put in, this time including Day of the Dead themed arts and crafts. Super clean and friendly service.
Oct 05, 2015
Had a great stay. Kabin was nice and clean. We drove to Westcliffe one day. Pretty drive and a cute town. Kids enjoyed the playground. Couldn't see or hear the river from our site, but we did walk down to it. Kids also enjoyed the crafts.
Oct 04, 2015
The staff was welcoming and supportive. The campground was very well maintained and the showers and bathrooms very clean and we'll maintained. Great stay.
Oct 04, 2015
We love staying at our Cotopaxi KOA. RV sites are awesome and the staff is great. This has been an annual stop for over 10 years.
Oct 04, 2015
Great campsite with beautiful view of river. Great location!
Sep 30, 2015
As a longtime return Cotopaxi KOA customer, I was very satisfied with the experience. The staff are very courteous and helpful. It remains my favorite "nearby" getaway.
Sep 29, 2015
Beautiful place! We had a wonderful time and I really liked that they have activities and crafts for the kids. The Sapp Family :)
Sep 28, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Sep 28, 2015
Had a great time. Friendly people and neighbors.
Sep 27, 2015
Need to prune trees along freeway side and near dump station.


Taken care of! Thanks.
Sep 26, 2015
Great place..enjoyed the stay but no Internet..and no phone made it difficult at times...for a nice relaxing place close to the river would still highly recommend.
Sep 24, 2015
NIce campground, quiet, and cool in the evenings
Sep 24, 2015
It's old


44 years :-)
Sep 23, 2015
It was a lovely facility, and the gentleman on duty was gracious.
Sep 22, 2015
The people were great the KOA was dog friendly and the views were beautiful
Sep 21, 2015
We loved spot 74 at the very end. It was very private!
Sep 21, 2015
Great campsite close to showers, and great access to fishing.
Sep 21, 2015
It's a pretty campground near Salida and the Arkansas river for fishing. Hosts are friendly and helpful.
Sep 21, 2015
What a fantastic place. It is clean, well appointed and very fun. Our neighbors got a little rowdy, but still kept it reasonable. The little store has everything you could need, including great fishing nets for the kids. Will definitely come again!
Sep 21, 2015
Cotopaxi KOA is our annual family retreat. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are kept very well and it is in the best location possible. My favorite KOA by far.
Sep 21, 2015
My site did not accommodate 2 slides and an awning without hitting trees. The fire pits throughout the camp are in need of replacing. Movable grill would be nice. The current ones in MOST sites were warped and quite small.
Sep 21, 2015
We were very happy to have stayed at the Cotopaxi KOA! The staff was genuinely friendly. We enjoyed the concrete pad with the built-in fire ring and extra table and chairs. Next time we'll ride the hayride. :)
Sep 21, 2015
This is a really nice place to stay and on most Saturday nights they have a hayride with an old John Deere tractor. The kids (and adults) love it
Sep 20, 2015
Dos and dog poop everywhere, unkempt in general, poorest KO A of all i have visited.
Sep 19, 2015
Had a great stay with family, love to camp at Cotopaxi will be back soon!
Sep 18, 2015
Great but store closed way to early.
Sep 18, 2015
The tent sites are very close together, but we loved that they were on the river. The kids also loved the playground. This would be a better experience if the office staff were friendly. When I asked for directions to a trailhead, it seemed like it was really an inconvenience even though I was the only one in the store and there were two people behind the desk.
Sep 15, 2015
Had a great time. We had never stayed in a cabin before, always had an rv.
Sep 15, 2015
Full service (even in the deluxe patio sites) do NOT include sanitation. Also the wireless service previously provided has not been fixed yet so no phone nor wireless service.


Full Hook Ups DO include Sewer, Water and Electric. We have a free telephone for all, 24/7, as well as AT&T cell service.
Sep 14, 2015
We love Cotooaxi!
Sep 14, 2015

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals