Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Very nice lots of room between camp site staff was always there to help with anything. Really clean and well maintain.
Sep 15, 2014
The staff was very accomodating to me when I requested a change of camping sites. Always enjoy my stay at Cotopaxi KOA.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
Very nice place!
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
We have been RVing to Cotopaxi/Arkansas for over 10 years now, and they have never let us down. The camp is clean and beautiful, the people are warm, the experience is perfect everytime. There are no bad RV spaces to be had...they are all good! Each year we see more ways that they have improved the park. The people who run this park show that they love the place.
Sep 10, 2014
This was the first time we stayed here & it was wonderful, great Delux tent site, people & owners, we would recommend staying here to anyone & we will be back again.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Great time had pig roast
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Staff was very nice and the activities were great for the kids. Location was great with fantastic view of the stars at night. Hardly any noise from the roadway at night and quiet time is strictly enforced. Loved the fragrant smells of the flowers in the morning. I don't usually camp on Holiday weekends. Had too many people walking through my campsite to short cut to the bathrooms/pool.
Sep 02, 2014
we had a very relaxing stay. They had lots to do for our two grandsons. They painted ceramics and tie-dyed t-shirts. They said this is their favorite place to camp!
Sep 02, 2014
Had a great time during our 1st KOA trip! The dog run was great-would be better if owners cleaned up after their dogs). Tent sites are very close, so request a spacious site/area when booking your stay (don't use the online map). The kids loved the activities (tractor ride, ceramics painting, tie-dying, swimming, playground). Would like to have an account set up and pay once when checking out.
Sep 02, 2014
Clean and comfortable kampground. Loved the ice cream scoops one evening.
Sep 02, 2014
My only complaint is that the tent sites are so incredibly small and the sites are right on top of each other. Not much room for anything beyond your tent itself, no privacy, and a lot if vehicle traffic because of the close proximity of the tent sites to the access road.
Sep 02, 2014
I chose this campground because last year we went during the month of september. This time we brought along 2 other families we invites to camp with us. The only thin that I would say would be easier is if there was a sink to wash dishes near the pet area where there is restrooms. But it was awesome and would go again with more friends
Sep 02, 2014
the staff accomadated our 3 families so that we were all camping next to eachother. they are very freindly and helpful with local info and attractions. this is the second time stayig there and can not wait for the next time.The only thing i would say is missing is the sale of float tubes. They have the arkansas river next to there site and would make profit from selling float tubes for the campers
Sep 02, 2014
RV sites have plenty of room, but sites near the front of the park mean your going to hear quite a bit of the road noise. The sites near the river are by far the best. Staff are friendly, and plenty of trails, plus a dog park for all your pet needs. We will definitely stay again, but next time we'll hopefully by closer to the River.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
The spaces are too narrow & too close together for larger than 20 ft. trailers. The trees and bushes have been allowed to grow and overtake the RV spaces... can't put out awnings, etc. The center spaces have steep grades and angels making it difficult for larger rigs to enter and exit and the interior roads are not much more than passageways - again very tight for maneuvering. We wont go back!
Sep 02, 2014
This is the place to watch meteor showers! It has lovely trees and a very nice pool too. Lot's of stars and nice, friendly people. Thank you!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
WE were packed in like sardines. I would pay more for more space.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed there many times and ave always had a very enjoyable time. Jim, Amy and Thunder are hospitable hosts that offer projects and fun themed activities that other KOAs have not offered.:-)
Sep 02, 2014
Nice koa, tent sites are pretty small. Lots to do for kids, family oriented for sure.
Sep 01, 2014
Had a left alone barking dog barking sat afternoon, think it was inside someone's rv. Guess I should of gotten Office involved couldn't get 5 yr grdson to nap because of this.
Sep 01, 2014
We were packed in like sardines. There was not enough room to park a car and pitch a tent. The people next to us parked right in front of our tent instead of their own.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for that. Demand exceeds supply, especially on Labor Day Weekend. Each site is set up for 1 normal car, 1 normal tent, picnic table and fire pit. We would have asked the people to move their car had you told us it was not yours. Again, our regrets.
Aug 30, 2014
Quaint little KOA tucked in the valley of the canyon and right on the Arkansas River - beautiful! Great place and very accommodating staff. LOVED the hayride!
Aug 27, 2014
Enjoyed immensely !
Aug 25, 2014
lovely setting, great dog park, fun activities (hayride), dark for night sky viewing, friendly folks - fantastic!
Aug 24, 2014
the sites are so close and no privacy between spots. You can hear everything your neighbors are saying and doing, not camping. Staff was very nice and helpful. The facilities were clean and well kept.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
This was one of the cleaner KOA campgrounds that we have stayed. The staff was incredibly polite & made our stay all the more enjoyable.
Aug 18, 2014
Very friendly staff & exceptionally clean facilities!
Aug 17, 2014
We had one of the patio sites by the river, very nice. Always like staying here. The pool was warm, bathrooms were very clean. Only problem was the gnats, those suckers were out in force.
Aug 17, 2014
Amazing and we will be back!!!
Aug 16, 2014
Great location, convenient via Hwy 50, but far enough from CO Springs to have peace and quiet, great night sky view. Facilities were good, Kamping Kabin was great. People very nice. Highly recommend.
Aug 14, 2014
The Arkansas River was impressive behind our Kamping Kabin. The tent and RV river sites are great, too.
Aug 12, 2014
Sites need to be more level.
Aug 12, 2014
Too many dogs "off leash" at campsites which complicated walking our 'ON LEASH' dogs. Dog park is a really nice feature except 'kids' were using it as a playground. Dog waste disposal can - FULL for three days straight. Some tree trimming would help with access for larger RV's. Office staff was friendly. Seem to have lots of activities for families...good location.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We loved the soothing sound of the Arkansas River just outside our tent. We plan to be back next time we come through next year.
Aug 11, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.