Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
This place is great! Right on the river...
Jul 30, 2015
Clean facilities. Funny and extremely pleasant staff and overall an extremely phenomenal experience. Thank you so much!!
Jul 29, 2015
I loved our stay at the Cotopaxi KOA campground. The general store offered lots of activities that kept us happy just hanging out at the campsite. Clean restrooms not too far a walk away and loved hearing the river in the background!
Jul 28, 2015
A beautiful campground and well kept. Cabin was clean, but hot. Please open the windows when you know it has been reserved. Thanks!
Jul 28, 2015
Overgrown brush and trees. Only a few sites have sewerage or 50 amp power. Ruined new tire on a rock having to exit via a narrow road, Poorest KOA we have stayed at in 5 yrs. Suggest KOA review status.
Jul 27, 2015
It is always awesome! Love the staff. So clean. Only problem I find is the shower water pressure is too low. Love Amy and the art studio, ice cream social and the hay rides.
Jul 27, 2015
Always a good time at Cotopaxi!!!
Jul 27, 2015
It is always a pleasure to stay at this facility.
Jul 27, 2015
Parking was just a bit tight but otherwise, enjoyable stay.
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA camping cabins however this one was a little old and right by the road. We where informed by are credit card company which we paid for the cabin that it was hacked into so not very happy about that after our stay.
Jul 25, 2015
We stayed in a cabin, unfortunately most of the cabins are located too close to the main office and pool. Traffic around the cabin was non stop. The grounds/bathrooms are clean, the staff is friendly but parking more than 1 vehicle is inconvenient.
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff, clean sites, central location. 20 plus years and counting.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Love this campground...stayed here 3 times now. Love jumping off the "big rock"
Jul 22, 2015
Great little KOA, nestled I'm a rock canyon. Beautiful grounds and WAY kid friendly environment. This KOA ha activities every night and allows fires!!
Jul 21, 2015
they are very accommodating here and are extremely friendly. What ever you need, they will take care of. Thank you
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
It was supposed to be a DELUXE site. Railroad ties chopped up the space making us too far from water hookup, table, pit (~70+ft). Hard carrying cooler back and forth. Not a pull through. We were outside the KOA by the maint. shed. Might have been different experience if a different camp slot. People were very nice.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The kids loved the choices of things to do. A nice campground. We'll go back.
Jul 21, 2015
Rules state no barking dogs, no ATVS park. Heard nothing but barking dogs. ATV riding around. Hwy next door. Extremely cramped campground and I didn't think facility well maintained compared to others . I won't be back. For what they charged? Not even wifi.
Jul 21, 2015
Family oriented, nice people, & enjoyed our short stay. Only critique would be that if we had a neighbor in our tent site 51/52 we would have been squeezed in. 52 was empty, so it was spacious enough for us & worked out well!
Jul 20, 2015
My Husband and I spent the weekend@ Cotopaxi/Arkansas River Co KOA and enjoyed our visit and Stay. Our little dog loved his time playing at the Barkansas Dog park with other fury Friends. This is a very nice fenced in dog park. Very clean and well kept. We stayed in one of the Deluxe sites next to the Arkansas River and enjoyed watching the rafters. Friendly staff, very clean and well kept place
Jul 20, 2015
We enjoyed our stay for the most part. Feel like more maintenance could be done with the sites...leveling, specifically. More bug clean-up in the pool. Toilet trash containers were not emptied daily. Biggest drawback: the traffic noise. Made fireside conversation just about impossible. Four dollars for a bag of ice is just plain robbery. Staff very nice and very helpful.
Jul 20, 2015
The fire pit we had was a little small and difficult to get a decent fire started in order to cook our meals. I saw on the rules that dogs were not to be left unattended- but the tent next to us left their dogs unattended all the time and they would bark and whimper constantly which was quite annoying. Place is beautiful and it was peaceful to camp next to the river.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean camp sites with very friendly staff and hosts. We will come back.
Jul 19, 2015
nice and quiet!
Jul 18, 2015
The host were very nice and the place was very clean. This will go in my places to go folder, breath taking
Jul 17, 2015
Trees need to be trimmed as they rub the sides of RV. Turn radius to thight for RV over 30 foot in length. Gabage cans overflowing.
Jul 17, 2015
Loved being next to the Arkansas River, and the campground was not very busy. Next time rafting and/or fishing.....
Jul 16, 2015
We were set up on site 73. The location is great, but I think the price is high for a site that does not have sewage.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Loved staying with James, Amy ,Al and Shirley! They were so accommodating and fun! Great stay by the lovely River!
Jul 14, 2015
Facilities were very clean. We would have liked some shade as the trees at the site were very small. Loved the dog park. Swimming pool is rather small and that is probably why it was cloudy because it was pretty busy on the hot days. Staff was friendly and the office building had a pool table and games and videos to rent. The canyon is beautiful but the camp was very close to the highway.
Jul 14, 2015
Fantastic. Only 2 things were off: bathrooms could be Cleaner and our neighbors, the boy scout troop in K3, Completely ignored the quiet hours rules. They were very noisy outside starting before 6AM.
Jul 13, 2015
Great KOA! Nice area, clean park, always something to do! Whitewater rafting, hiking, biking and the Royal Gorge Bridge is not far away!
Jul 13, 2015
Our stay was well worth it! We just bought our fifth wheel and wanted to test out the hookups on it. The hookups were easy to use and manage. The people were great too!
Jul 12, 2015
very good
Jul 12, 2015
Great location and nice, friendly staff. Would have liked paper towels in the bathroom to wipe off counter. Also, would have been nice to have hot water at sink near bathrooms to wash dishes.
Jul 12, 2015
We loved the time we spent at the Cotopaxi KOA. The kids had alot of fun and loved the Art Shack. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 12, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 11, 2015
Loved the hay ride. Liked the dog park also.
Jul 10, 2015
NO telephone, cable. RV sites are not level with driveway. Hard to hook up 5th wheel.
Jul 09, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Campsite 50 was very big. It was nice having the store at the campground for ice and firewood. The kids loved the hayride and the pool.
Jul 09, 2015
Cabins are over priced hotels can be same price
Jul 08, 2015
we had a good stay we were well attended but facilities need to be upgraded to the 21st century
Jul 08, 2015
Everyone who works there was so kind and helpful and it was a blast!
Jul 08, 2015
The park was needing some TLC. The parking areas needed to be re leveled. Hard to get into and out of.
Jul 08, 2015
AWESOME OWNERS! JIM AND AMY ARE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HELPFUL HOSTS! WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM THEIR STAFF IS ON TOP OF IT!
Jul 07, 2015
One of our very favorite places to camp!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.