Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 25, 2017
This is a great campground. Always clean and well taken care of. Best campground on the river. Great fishing, literally just a few steps to the river.
Apr 25, 2017
A quick family overnight stay. Easy check in and out. Cozy cabins with fan and space heater. We stayed right on the river and left the window open to hear it. Slept great!
Apr 24, 2017
Great spot. Easy to find and clean
Apr 20, 2017
Just slept, nice setting, right on the river, will definitely return
Apr 19, 2017
Nice KOA right on the river. A little pricey for the actual river sites, so would recommend the regular sites as they are close enough to the river to see and hear.
Apr 17, 2017
Always friendly, clean and making updates. Geat central location
Apr 17, 2017
This was a lovely KOA and I usually prefer state & national parks. The owners were incredibly nice and helpful, along with the staff. If you are in a tent I highly recommend site 56. It is on the river and there is no one directly to the right of you despite how the map looks. For an RV, sites 70-74 were the most private, on the river, and with patios. Fishing, rafting, art & zip line - loved it!
Apr 17, 2017
Great quiet location for early season camping. We stayed here last year around this time as well, looks like it's becoming a great tradition!
Apr 13, 2017
Campsites are way too close together, no privacy at all, too much construction work being done that should have been done prior to opening so the campers that paid full rate could have had a relaxing time. Store only open twice a day for 2 hours at a time, not convient. Way too many Campsites shoved together in close quarters. A shame as this place used to be really nice.
Apr 13, 2017
Spectacular setting!
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 09, 2017
We stayed in Cabin 3 which is overlooking the river! Very clean cabin and campsite. The restrooms and showers were clean and welcoming. Plenty of activities for the whole family. Nice hiking paths around the campsite. Great weekend getaway! Thank you for your hospitality.
Nov 03, 2016
We love this KOA. It's old fashioned family fun. We have the most fun during their themed weekends but always have a great time anytime we stay here. It's a beautiful location with great hosts.
Oct 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time with all the Halloween festivities! There was fun for all and it had a wonderful family,kid friendly feel. Thank you for all your hardwork to make it a fun weekend!
Oct 21, 2016
Beautiful location, clean, friendly staff, ( one staff member game my sons quarters to Play pool, very nice as we had no cash!) rec room, mini golf. My kids really loved it! The Arkansas river was lovely and we liked that Koa had the river running right next to it. Very enjoyable place to stay! Thanks so much!
Oct 19, 2016
This is one of our most favorite campgrounds
Oct 19, 2016
There were hundreds of goat head stickers... otherwise it was nice!
Oct 18, 2016
Nice, clean, quiet, good to get away.
Oct 17, 2016
Great location, great campground.
Oct 17, 2016
Staff/Owners are very friendly. We rented a cabin and it was very clean.
Oct 16, 2016
great place, great stay, will return ASAP
Oct 16, 2016
Very nice. Quiet (during the week in the fall).
Oct 16, 2016
beautiful river park
Oct 13, 2016
Weloved it there. We will be back
Oct 12, 2016
stay was good
Oct 11, 2016
We had a very nice stay. Bathrooms are clean and close. Only get 1 hour of free Wifi per day, but can buy it. Sites slope down an little so sewer line was draining uphill a little. Nice staff!! Ice cream social. Clean property and close to Salida or Royal Gorge. Looking forward to going back next year.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
Great stay to bad fish wasn't biting 😀😀
Oct 07, 2016
Nice setting and friendly hosts. just a little over priced for a KOA without TV or Internet. Watching the pot smokers next door was a hoot for us old Texans.
Oct 04, 2016
The site was good. No giveaways or hay ride as advertised.We brought our dog and the owner got very agitated when she was barking for a few minutes while I was at the bathrooms. My husband was present on the site with the dog and she was very rude and told him we'd have to leave if the barking continued. We'd already been there over 24 hours and the dog had been fine.Overall just OK.
Oct 03, 2016
Beautiful place! Very clean! We had a great time.
Oct 03, 2016
Outstanding time along the Arkansas. Have stayed before, but this time we missed the hay rack ride. Must of been off season.
Oct 03, 2016
It was relaxing! The campground is set in a breathtaking canyon where the Arkansas River is accessible for fishing, rafting & just enjoying the views. We stayed for approx two months most days driving in the mountains on the passes, most were very bumpy but several were really scary yet fun. The campground is centrally located from all the natural & manmade attractions so we get to relax & enjoy!
Oct 01, 2016
Badly in need of repair & renovation. 1 free hr in 24 hrs of very poor wifi. U must pay extra for more wifi. Bathrooms & laundry are old & dirty looking. Poor drainage in showers--standing in water while taking shower. Campsites have HUGE thorns that stick in yur shoes and pets feet. Staff very nice. Scenery is pretty. Little shade. Very tired & old looking.
Sep 29, 2016
The KOA is great for the location and purpose of really getting away. Some sites were not quite level and sewage connections seem to run uphill and are quite a distance from the rig to the drain... Due to locale, 'goat head' thorns are a real issue for the pets. No cell service, radio,TV,cable, wifi for 1 hr daily. Having said all that: the staff & managers were gracious, wonderful, helpful
Sep 27, 2016
WE REALLY LOVED OUR CAMP SPOT. IT WAS ONLY FOR 2 DAYS IN SEPTEMBER BUT WE ARE LIKELY TO RETURN AND WOULD DEFINTELY RECOMMEND THIS KOA LOCATION.
Sep 27, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very clean.
Sep 26, 2016
Our club had a good time there with the pavilion and all,and we are considering doing it again next year and hopefully have better attendance. We like to use spot #50 as it is close to the pavilion for the ones doing the cooking, but 110 dollars for two nights is pretty steep considering we use the amenities at the pavilion and not at the camp spot.
Sep 26, 2016
The campground was clean and quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 25, 2016
great location and view of mtns. staff very friendly and helpful.I enjoyed the way the camp sights were separated.
Sep 24, 2016
nice.. clean. quite wish i had smaller rv.. lot 29 was really nice.. wish they had more full service spots. pullin in n out of highway kinda scary. no internet! no cell service either little liitle bit of att&t
Sep 22, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay always look forward to coming here.Everyone is friendly and helpful and facilities are clean and well kept. A great place to camp rather in a cabin or tent site as we have stayed at both. good location between Salida and Canon City plus right on the Arkansas river you can fish right at your camp site
Sep 22, 2016
The reservation system is either antiquated or the operators do not understand the system , we settled for a site after reserving a different site and was told that site was booked only to go all week with that site empty
Sep 20, 2016
Always a great place to stay, every time I'm here is building a wonderful bonding, that makes me not want to leave ever, thank u guys bill, sherley Jim sorry I don't know all the rest of the staff member's names but thank u all for such a tremendous hospitality. Sincerely Rosette family
Sep 20, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. They had lots of activities for the kids. They hayride is always fun and the ceramics studio is always a hit. However, the website said that the heated pool was open to the end of September. We chose this KOA over others particularly for that reason and were disappointed to find that the pool was closed. Overall, we really like this koa.
Sep 20, 2016
This is a older but nice KOA. It had a fun atmosphere and was great for my family. This isn't near much for tourist destinations but is nice for hiking (or fishing). The only downside was the showers needed better drainage and you only get 1 hr of slow WIFI per 24 hours. But, on a trip to a KOA internet isn't what you are there for.
Sep 20, 2016
Our stay was lovely! The location is gorgeous and the check in was so easy. The hosts greeted us even though we checked in late. All the facilities were clean and very nice.
Sep 19, 2016
Another beautiful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
Sites not level. Sites just dirt. Amenities sub-standard. Staff not very friendly. Everything is old and in need of repair and/or upgrade. River access was poor. Nice dog park except for all the goat head stickers we kept having to remove from our dogs paws. Ok place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in a pinch. Would not make this a destination park.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps