Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308


21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 19, 2016
This is one of our most favorite campgrounds
Oct 19, 2016
There were hundreds of goat head stickers... otherwise it was nice!
Oct 18, 2016
Nice, clean, quiet, good to get away.
Oct 17, 2016
Great location, great campground.
Oct 17, 2016
Staff/Owners are very friendly. We rented a cabin and it was very clean.
Oct 16, 2016
great place, great stay, will return ASAP
Oct 16, 2016
Very nice. Quiet (during the week in the fall).
Oct 16, 2016
beautiful river park
Oct 13, 2016
Weloved it there. We will be back
Oct 12, 2016
stay was good
Oct 11, 2016
We had a very nice stay. Bathrooms are clean and close. Only get 1 hour of free Wifi per day, but can buy it. Sites slope down an little so sewer line was draining uphill a little. Nice staff!! Ice cream social. Clean property and close to Salida or Royal Gorge. Looking forward to going back next year.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
Great stay to bad fish wasn't biting 😀😀
Oct 07, 2016
Nice setting and friendly hosts. just a little over priced for a KOA without TV or Internet. Watching the pot smokers next door was a hoot for us old Texans.
Oct 04, 2016
The site was good. No giveaways or hay ride as advertised.We brought our dog and the owner got very agitated when she was barking for a few minutes while I was at the bathrooms. My husband was present on the site with the dog and she was very rude and told him we'd have to leave if the barking continued. We'd already been there over 24 hours and the dog had been fine.Overall just OK.
Oct 03, 2016
Beautiful place! Very clean! We had a great time.
Oct 03, 2016
Outstanding time along the Arkansas. Have stayed before, but this time we missed the hay rack ride. Must of been off season.
Oct 03, 2016
It was relaxing! The campground is set in a breathtaking canyon where the Arkansas River is accessible for fishing, rafting & just enjoying the views. We stayed for approx two months most days driving in the mountains on the passes, most were very bumpy but several were really scary yet fun. The campground is centrally located from all the natural & manmade attractions so we get to relax & enjoy!
Oct 01, 2016
Badly in need of repair & renovation. 1 free hr in 24 hrs of very poor wifi. U must pay extra for more wifi. Bathrooms & laundry are old & dirty looking. Poor drainage in showers--standing in water while taking shower. Campsites have HUGE thorns that stick in yur shoes and pets feet. Staff very nice. Scenery is pretty. Little shade. Very tired & old looking.
Sep 29, 2016
The KOA is great for the location and purpose of really getting away. Some sites were not quite level and sewage connections seem to run uphill and are quite a distance from the rig to the drain... Due to locale, 'goat head' thorns are a real issue for the pets. No cell service, radio,TV,cable, wifi for 1 hr daily. Having said all that: the staff & managers were gracious, wonderful, helpful
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very clean.
Sep 26, 2016
Our club had a good time there with the pavilion and all,and we are considering doing it again next year and hopefully have better attendance. We like to use spot #50 as it is close to the pavilion for the ones doing the cooking, but 110 dollars for two nights is pretty steep considering we use the amenities at the pavilion and not at the camp spot.
Sep 26, 2016
The campground was clean and quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 25, 2016
great location and view of mtns. staff very friendly and helpful.I enjoyed the way the camp sights were separated.
Sep 24, 2016
nice.. clean. quite wish i had smaller rv.. lot 29 was really nice.. wish they had more full service spots. pullin in n out of highway kinda scary. no internet! no cell service either little liitle bit of att&t
Sep 22, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay always look forward to coming here.Everyone is friendly and helpful and facilities are clean and well kept. A great place to camp rather in a cabin or tent site as we have stayed at both. good location between Salida and Canon City plus right on the Arkansas river you can fish right at your camp site
Sep 22, 2016
The reservation system is either antiquated or the operators do not understand the system , we settled for a site after reserving a different site and was told that site was booked only to go all week with that site empty
Sep 20, 2016
Always a great place to stay, every time I'm here is building a wonderful bonding, that makes me not want to leave ever, thank u guys bill, sherley Jim sorry I don't know all the rest of the staff member's names but thank u all for such a tremendous hospitality. Sincerely Rosette family
Sep 20, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. They had lots of activities for the kids. They hayride is always fun and the ceramics studio is always a hit. However, the website said that the heated pool was open to the end of September. We chose this KOA over others particularly for that reason and were disappointed to find that the pool was closed. Overall, we really like this koa.
Sep 20, 2016
This is a older but nice KOA. It had a fun atmosphere and was great for my family. This isn't near much for tourist destinations but is nice for hiking (or fishing). The only downside was the showers needed better drainage and you only get 1 hr of slow WIFI per 24 hours. But, on a trip to a KOA internet isn't what you are there for.
Sep 20, 2016
Our stay was lovely! The location is gorgeous and the check in was so easy. The hosts greeted us even though we checked in late. All the facilities were clean and very nice.
Sep 19, 2016
Another beautiful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
Sites not level. Sites just dirt. Amenities sub-standard. Staff not very friendly. Everything is old and in need of repair and/or upgrade. River access was poor. Nice dog park except for all the goat head stickers we kept having to remove from our dogs paws. Ok place to stay for 1 or 2 nights in a pinch. Would not make this a destination park.
Sep 19, 2016
We have been going to the Cotopaxi/Arkansas River,CO KOA for 15 years. Cant dream of going any were else to go camping. The people are so nice. And its always so nice and fun .
Sep 18, 2016
Nice people, beautiful location .
Sep 17, 2016
We were at the end of the season, however, the stay was pleasant, the facilities were clean and the staff was very courteous. This KOA rates at the top of others we drove by and even stopped and looked at. We will definitely make this a future stop when we are in the area again.
Sep 16, 2016
The hostess (Shirley) was very helpful and accomodating!
Sep 13, 2016
This KOA has an amazing location and scenery. The staff were wonderful and they have lots of fun events
Sep 12, 2016
It was a really nice area to camp in. The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Camp was nice and clean. Staff not very friendly.
Sep 12, 2016
Our stay was Sept 9-11, 2016. We had one of the sites closest to the river, it was a beautiful setting. The pig roast was delicious, the pool was nice and warm, the staff were very nice, I can't say enough good things about our stay! We will be coming back.
Sep 12, 2016
We love this place! And the annual pig roast with music was fabulous!
Sep 12, 2016
We always have a great time in Cotooaxi.
Sep 12, 2016
The staff at this KOA are fantastic. They plan events to entertain families with or without children. We always enjoy this KOA . It's like visiting family! Great job everyone.
Sep 12, 2016
Only scattered shade trees -- first assigned to a site that had a barbeque grill (6 " depth) and had to move to a grate where I could build a fire. Very limited shade trees. Felt I was assigned a spot for convenience of staff, not my convenience.
Sep 11, 2016
Great experience until a camper with their dog not leased was aggressive toward other dogs which were leased and caused concern for owners of the leased dogs ... otherwise, our stay was very enjoyable
Sep 11, 2016
The river was low, and access to the Arkansas River was harder than I anticipated, making the location not that great for fishing (which I tried to do when I could). Access to an outlet would've been nice at all sites, too.
Sep 10, 2016
Beautiful location. Great people. Will be back

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals