Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 943 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Nice place on the river. Public lands on either side of the property allow for long walks and lots of river access. Beautiful views. Close enough to both Salida and Canon City to enjoy both. Sites are good, but some have nearly no shade and it was terribly hot during our stay. If travelling with dogs, look out for goat-head burrs. They're everywhere and very painful.
Jun 24, 2016
Need Cable or Verizon connection .
Jun 24, 2016
Staff was luke warm at best, in fact lady acted like I was putting her out. Spaces are too crowded together and not really level enough to easily unhook and hook up the trailer. No, I will never stay here again.
Jun 23, 2016
Loved the cabin right on the river. The sound of the water was very soothing and lulled us top sleep. The cabin had a fan which assisted greatly in reducing the temperature on a very hot day. This is our 3rd time staying there (in cabin, our 5th wheel and motel). We have enjoyed each visit and will return.
Jun 23, 2016
The camp didn't have enough electrical power to run air conditioner in RV according to the volt meter for the 110 it was reading 107. The pul through was not as long as they claimed and level. The brushes and trees along the interior roads needed to be trimmed so RVs could pass through easier. The swimming pool and playground was nice. Bathrooms were clean.Probably won't stay here again.
Jun 21, 2016
Outstanding outing. Enjoy all of the Kamp ground features and personnel. Kamp ground has lots to offer, enjoyed them all.
Jun 21, 2016
Nice Pace direct to the Arkansas river.Slow Wifi, only 1 hour in 24 hrs! Very friendly Hosts.
Jun 21, 2016
I wouldn't say we exactly got a warm welcome but we got a spot nonetheless. The sites advertised as gravel were more dirt but ours was level and partly shaded. Although the river was up considerably, I thought there was more river access on this property. Never could find good access. Also, there is road noise, no way around it.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location. Helpful staff. Full of the amenities to be expected, but the feeling of being "off the beaten path".
Jun 20, 2016
Beautiful setting and great people. Loved the Art Room and enjoyed painting ceramics! Easy hike (walk) across the road in early morning.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location, friendly staff.
Jun 20, 2016
Love the campgrounds and the people that work there but not so happy with the couple that was camped next to us that didn't like kids. I have never meet people as rude as the couple in camp site #34.
Jun 20, 2016
Stay was ok, neighbors did not observe quiet hours one night. Sites were a little too close together. I have stayed at dozens of KOA's over the years and this one was average.
Jun 20, 2016
We have stayed here twice and had two different cabins. We enjoyed them both. though this one was a little on top of other cabins, so noise level could get kind of high and fire pits were close. But, all in all we love this KOA and will return!
Jun 20, 2016
The pool was a lot smaller than expected, the staff was friendly, overall it was a good stay, we would probably go back.
Jun 20, 2016
The campsite was very small! When you step out of the camper your standing on a hill. The fire pit is extremely small. Our pick Nick table was at the back end of the site with no cover as there is no room next to the camper under an awning. I'm pretty sure that I paid for 2 kids even though I only brought one plus it was father's day weekend where they where supposed to stay for free...
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Cotopaxi KOA: where to start: one hour wifi: dont stop, it runs until the hour is up. No phone service. Stayed in cabin. Odd smell, overhead light had wires sticking out. No frig, microwave or TV. top dollar rental prices for no services. For the price and what you get, avoid this park and head into Canon City or Salida. Water in shower cold. Took forever to get warm. Maintenance poor. Cabin show
Jun 15, 2016
Delightful little campground - we had a beautiful site overlooking the river.
Jun 15, 2016
I loved this KOA! There was lots for the family to do and was set in a beautiful location.
Jun 14, 2016
a big thank you to Ms Shirley for her hospitality
Jun 14, 2016
Another great week end thank you
Jun 14, 2016
Me and my kids loved it great place to camp.
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Most of the KOA is nice except campsite 50, which is where we stayed. Horrible view! It's in the very end of the campgrounds and surrounded by junk, I'm assuming it's their storage area. In my opinion there should not be a campsite there. If you have little kids, do not let them rest up against the railing on the deck, it is very unstable and it will collapse with any weight on it!
Jun 13, 2016
We always have a great time.
Jun 12, 2016
Very peaceful, by the river
Jun 12, 2016
Every year it's a fantastic stay at the Cotopaxi KOA. Keeps us coming back!!! The owners and staff treat you like family and there are so many organized events and activities in addition to the fishing on the Arkansas. Couldn't ask for a better place for kids with the pool, mini golf, basketball court, and so much more!
Jun 12, 2016
Spots too close together, river too steep to get too unless you go in campers area, and then still steep, pricey
Jun 11, 2016
Very clean facilities, nice pool, nice folks. The river is RIGHT next to the tent sites, a relaxing sound to relax by.
Jun 10, 2016
Location is fantastic
Jun 08, 2016
We had a great time there. Very clean, amazing staff and lots of things for the kiddos to do. However, I think the swimming pool really needs a guard rail to steady us not so steady people get in and out of the pool. A+++
Jun 07, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA every time we come to Colorado! Cotopaxi KOA is by far our favorite. The atmosphere is so welcoming and the staff is extremely friendly! We enjoy seeing the same staff there each time. We will definitely be coming back!! The Crosby Family
Jun 07, 2016
We had a nice time. The people who worked there were super nice. The campsites for tents were way to small.
Jun 06, 2016
Rustic area, tent site was a few feet away from the river,secluded dirt site, close to bathroom facility may not be suitable for small children
Jun 06, 2016
Clean, shade, friendly staff
Jun 06, 2016
A great place to stay and to relax!
Jun 06, 2016
Enjoyed the three-day stay...now have to resolve a billing issue.
Jun 04, 2016
I've been coming to this KOA since a child.. it's still exactly as I remembered it. It was like taking a walk down memory lane. The staff are all so friendly and make your camping experience so much more memorable. Cant wait till we get to come back!
Jun 03, 2016
The Kabin next to the river is the best! Loved staying there.
Jun 02, 2016
Great family oriented place to go. The host's Amy, Jim are fabulous folks. I have been coming to this KOA every Memorial Day for over 15 years, love it!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jim and Amy and Thunder Burnham have always made our stays there incredible. They are warm and considerate people and the people they have working for them are knowledgeable. We will always stay there even though there are other places within a 10 mile radius of their place because they make you feel at home.
Jun 02, 2016
Always an enjoyable stay. Our grandson loves the pool
Jun 02, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals