Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 1 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Email

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Very dry nice, quiet, clean and beautiful view of river.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place
Aug 23, 2016
Very fun. Plenty to do. Clean.
Aug 22, 2016
Overall the stay was OK but I did note several problems. The roads are very narrow so this is not a good campground for very large RVs. Many of the trees need to be trimmed around the sites. Although it cost $2 per dog and dogs are supposed to be leashed, we saw many dogs running around the campground unleashed. One of these dogs caused a real problem with one of our campers. Enforce the rules.
Aug 22, 2016
trees scratch rv going into site,never had to pay for dogs before, too close to noisy highway, no cell phone service, wi-fi very poor plus charging $7 per day.
Aug 22, 2016
Suggest you trim the tree limbs hanging over the entry way and drives to camping sites. Need to do a better job of supplying dog pop bags/clearing the waste buckets (East Dog Run) for those who do clean up after their pets. Uphill sewage dumps make it a little difficult for proper drainage on some sites. Wifi/cell phone improvements would be helpful.
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground and a awesome place to stay for some good dual sporting motorcycle adventures. Cabin was clean as was the whole campground with plenty of amenities and a good campground store. Hosts were very helpful with finding a place for me to park my trailer not at the Kabin so we would have a place to park the truck and bikes. Overall a excellent experience!
Aug 22, 2016
This was a very pleasant surprise! We absolutely loved the campsite No. 74! Can't wait to come back and hopefully get one of the premium sites!
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean showers & rest room loved our campsite just maybe need to clarify the minimal wifi other then that I loved our whol experience thank you for our weekend
Aug 20, 2016
It was reasonably quiet, although on a highway, didn't bother us. The setting, surrounded by mountains and the river was lovely. Not huge on amenities, but it had everything we needed, the Internet was EXTREMELY slow, it was practically impossible to do much of anything useful in the hour allowed, but that is about my only complaint. The area was very scenic!
Aug 19, 2016
My wife and I enjoy staying here very much, the patio sites age very nice. However, the Wi-Fi is pitiful. The one hour a day limit is livable if it worked! We stayed for 3 nights and successfully checked our e-mail one night. The two other nights we got a message that our limit had been reached when we hadn't even got on the Wi-Fi.
Aug 18, 2016
Nice pull-thru sites. Great river setting.
Aug 17, 2016
Wouldn't refund on cabins hen you weren't full and had other cabins so that was a poor excuse it didn't make you lose money also wouldn't take care of red ants in our yard where we had to sit and have our campfire. Trees needed trimming. We had reserved another spot at another loa because you said we could leave with a twenty four hour notice made it bad because we all had to stay in one camper
Aug 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay...would like to be further away from the road the next time and closer to the river!
Aug 16, 2016
We've stayed at multiple koa's and this one seems to nickel and dime you. I'm surprised that they don't charge for the pool.
Aug 15, 2016
would like better access to river,OK for young people but very hard for older guests
Aug 15, 2016
Never saw camp host except at check in and the power is completely inadequate, day time was 108 volts. No WIFI either.
Aug 15, 2016
enjoyed our two night stay with the kids and grandkids. All the special activities for the little ones and the pool and tractor ride were super. Only negatives were no hot water for a shower after dip in pool and a grumpy desk clerk for whom the season has already gotten a little long. Shower was addressed immediately and clerk is going to attitude rehab. We'll be back again
Aug 15, 2016
We had the best camping spot for a large group, #33. The large cement patio kept the 4 kids and dog 'cleaner' and there was sand which was fun for them to play in. The pool was a great distraction and a way to cool off. The playground, BB gun event and hayride topped it off! Definitely would go again if we could get that spot!
Aug 15, 2016
The pros: Location, location, on the Arkansas River. Friendly staff and available "most" of the time. Cons: Charged us for a deluxe site, which we did not reserve and charged us "extra" for dog, and doubled fee. We would stay again, possibly, but be tougher about charges.
Aug 14, 2016
le falta mucho mantenimiento, el lugar es bonito pero estaba mucho mejor
Aug 14, 2016
okay ,pet fee why?
Aug 13, 2016
very beautiful area and a great campground!
Aug 13, 2016
Tent pad could have used some gravel and some repair on the wooden deck
Aug 13, 2016
Nice place quite very friendly
Aug 12, 2016
Turned up too late to use facilities nice night sleep clean site unfortunately left too early to enjoy stay to its fullest
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
stay was very good people were very friendly
Aug 11, 2016
Pool was fantastic. "Hay Ride" was fun! Grounds were clean and organized. Cabin was very clean and cozy. Some staff were friendly and some were not. Needs easier access to the river. Neighbors were very loud and rude and up way passed the posted quiet time but that was not regulated by staff. Overall a very fun camping trip for us!
Aug 10, 2016
Area is dated and not very well maintained. Sites could have been more level with less tree limbs in the way. Couldn't play putt putt because of leaves and rocks on the course.
Aug 08, 2016
Clean bathrooms, camping spot was beautiful and lots of activities for the kids!
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful area! Great, friendly, and helpful people. Loved every minute, so did the kids. Thanks for everything, we'll see you again! Tom
Aug 08, 2016
We think the management at this KOA used to care, but not so much anymore. Flowerbeds are full of weeds, the person who checked us in was a bit grumpy, the office building is riddled with woodpecker holes and needs to be painted. The roads are too narrow and many sites are not very level. They charge for many of the activities, some of which are not maintained well enough to use.
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Clean and well kept, would have given 5 stars if the highway wasn't so close. Does have one of the best stocked store/gift shop.
Aug 05, 2016
The stay was good but items were stolen from our site and we had problems at registration.
Aug 05, 2016
We loved everything about this Kampground! We are already talking to our siblings/families about coming with us next year.
Aug 04, 2016
Many things to do. Children have wonderful area to play. Quiet. Only drawback was road noise at night. Would come again.
Aug 03, 2016
Nice camp ground. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Friendly staff.
Aug 03, 2016
Liked having the river so close . Took a walk each morning and evening on the trail and relaxed on the shore line.
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Pet area was filthy. Dumpster was running over with garbage all around it.worst KOA we have ever stayed in.what a shame- all the beauty around it
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Reserved a pull through for our overnight. Had to unhook toad to get into site and had to back out. Low tree branches EVERYWHERE. Voltage was scary low. Wifi non existent. Not big rig friendly.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
owners seemed confused and unconcerned, spaces way too close, dangerous access to the river,trash cans full the 3 nights we stayed,we will not stay again
Jul 30, 2016
We've been going to this RV camp site for over a dozen years, and we have never had a bad time! We see that improvements are being made each year too. One suggestion though, the bathrooms are the same as they've been for decades. They are showing wear. The bathrooms are so important to campers, cabins, some rvs, etc. If the bathrooms don't rate, you lose return visitors.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals