Cortez / Mesa Verde KOA

27432 E. Highway 160

Cortez, CO 81321

Reserve: 800-562-3901

Info: 970-565-9301

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Tipi was a great way to spend a few nights! Pool was extra clean. Loved it here.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Just a short drive to Mesa Verde in the morning. Had to drop the trailer at a parking lot inside Mesa Verd (they don't let you pull a trailer up the narrow winding road to the top of the mesa -- with good reason!) KOA was great (kids slept in a teepee --loved it!) Teepee was also dry through a thunderstorm that night. Friendly welcome on arrival. Frog in the ladies shower, maybe waiting for a kiss
Aug 11, 2014
This is one of the better KOAs I have stayed at.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was friendly. Very clean campground,groomed sites,excellent showers and bathrooms. To sum it up a great place AAAA
Aug 05, 2014
Overall campground/owners/staff are fantastic! 2 minor complaints: you can hear the highway, & the teepees are close to the main driveway, so you hear traffic. However the pros completely outweigh the cons! Great pool for the kids, grassy area to play, basketball hoop. The teepee was fun for the kids! The owners were very accommodating when I messed up our reservation! Stay and support this family
Aug 03, 2014
Tent pads are gravel but the staff is accomodating
Aug 02, 2014
Sanitaires magnifiques et trèe propres, super accueil, beaucoup de machines à laver et à sécher, belle piscine.
Jul 29, 2014
It is a great park with a very friendly and informative staff. I just wish their pool would stay open a little later.
Jul 28, 2014
This KOA was conviently located for our vist to m4 corners, Mesa Verde, and Durango. We were on our Harleys, so the deep gravel in the drive and the campsite was not good. The shade was sparse, and the pool closed too early. Also, they have no grass in the tent area, but they did have electricity. The best thing about the camp site was the friendly neighbors we had on both sides of us.
Jul 28, 2014
The teepee was awesome! Highly recommend everybody stay at least once!
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Rates are fairly reasonable. Sites are clean, good size. Grounds are well cared for and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Very helpful! Well maintained! Best restrooms so far.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Generally clean. Disappointed at how early everything shut down at 7pm. Most of the KOAs we stayed in over our 2 week camping vacation kept the store and pool etc open until 9 or so. The tent site was a bit rocky. Very close and easy access to Mesa Verde.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We only stayed at this KOA one night, but had a good time and really liked the campground. The bathrooms were clean and the grounds were in great shape. This KOA has a dog park next to it where dogs can run off leash. This was an added feature since we were travelling with a dog.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
the tipi is worth a try
Jun 29, 2014
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Very friendly staff. Clean pool. Clean bathrooms. Clean tent site. Kids enjoyed the large grass area and playground. Have stayed here before and will stay again.
Jun 22, 2014
This was the best KOA campground I've ever stayed at- and I've been going to KOAs for more than 30 years! The staff was friendly and helpful- in fact, we added days to our reservation so we could stay longer! The facilities were the best maintained I have ever seen! We WILL be back- Thank!
Jun 20, 2014
Great stay. One suggestion: t night, the metal nooks on the flags bang against the flagpole - woke me up a few times. I suggest replacing with plastic.
Jun 19, 2014
Tent sites were on gravel. It was rough sleep. The grass area was nice to play catch on. Facilities were clean and staff was friendly.
Jun 17, 2014
Very pet friendly Can get windy and dry
Jun 10, 2014
What a GREAT experience! Friendly and helpful staff, immaculate bathrooms and grounds - we all had a great time. We drove from the Denver area to explore southwest CO and found the Cortez/Mesa Verde location to be perfect for a home base. If you're lucky, reserve the teepee - it fit a family of 4 comfortably and was a fun way to sleep for a few days.
Jun 10, 2014
Nice park with friendly staff
Jun 09, 2014
Just great people!
Jun 09, 2014
Great site with very friendly staff.
Jun 05, 2014
May 31, 2014
We did the tepee. pretty happy with the experience. Campround is well laid out and clean. staff friendly. We'll be back!
May 14, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. A comfortable place to stay. Clean restrooms.
May 12, 2014
It was clean, well laird out with a most helpful and informative attendent.
May 11, 2014
May 06, 2014
The staff was fantastic and very knowledgeable about the area; gave great advice on attractions to not miss out on. This KOA was incredibly clean and the facilities were well maintained! Would definitely recommend this to anyone coming to the Mesa Verde area.
Apr 25, 2014
Great property. Extremely clean and kind, welcoming hosts. We stayed in a tee-per and even though it was a cold night, we all had fun, especially the kids.
Apr 02, 2014
Loved it! Beautiful lots of amenities and plenty to do in the surrounding area. Great service!!!!!!!
Oct 03, 2013
Love finding KOAs that are not on the main interstates. So much quieter.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Good facility with a fine staff. Lovely location.
Sep 09, 2013
Amenities -- bath and shower were good and clean.
Sep 05, 2013
It was great! Close both to the Cortez (shops, gas stations, etc) and to Mesa Verde National Park. Restrooms were clean, staff friendly... Near the office building WiFi signal is strong - you have no problem in sending small pictures to friends via email. If You're looking for campground near Mesa Verde, don't hesitate!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.