Copake KOA

2236 County Route 7

Copake, NY 12516

Reserve: 518-329-2811

Info: 518-329-2811

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2014
Very clean, great staff, would recommend this KOA to all my friends,
Aug 11, 2014
As always, a wonderful stay at Copake KOA
Aug 11, 2014
again as allways great trip and campground, kids had a great time and really like the new sites with the picnic table and concreate pad. staff was nice and grounds verry well maintained. allways a great time at copake koa great job
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
A super campground. Clean, friendly, and tons of activities. One of our favorites!!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
This was the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. You do a terrific job!
Aug 11, 2014
Great weekend with fun activites for a Wet & Wild weekend. Enjoyed!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Would rate a 10 since it is a wonderful place, but don't like the internet rules. 2 hours a day at a KOA? Not too cool

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The Wifi is two hours every eight hours for free. So a total of 6 hours a day per device. We previously had limited the number of devices and that seemed to cause more issues. Being in a rural area, we have to make a choice between time and speed for all users.
Aug 10, 2014
everyone was so friendly even the seasonals. After granddaughter was bitten by bees at mini golf they cleared nest out and refunded our money. That's what I call service, can't wait till next year. thanks and see you soon. Phil Perlmutter
Aug 10, 2014
Spent severa weekends at campground always met with a friend smile and offers to help. Clean campground and well managed. Gary and Cathey are wonderful people.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
I love this campground! My one complaint would be that they charge extra if you have more than 2 kids. I think the rate per site should be per family. A family should include all your children
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome Staff maintains a clean and well manicured facility!There will be many return visits to Copake KOA in our future!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Copake KOA is jewel set in the middle of farm country NY. Cathy was a wonderful host and we look forward to a return stay. A truly wonderful and professionally run KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for all your kind words! We try really hard to run a great park and appreciate you taking the time to tell us you enjoyed your stay! Happy Camping - Chrissy
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The park is very well maintained. The sites are large and level. The staff was always neat, clean and polite.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Great people. Sites too close. Bathrooms too far. Very clean. No walking in the woods area. Sleeping in a crypt (bunk beds) so not relaxing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Due to DEC Regulations we are not allowed to have guests walk in our woods as it is through protected swamp lands. Hopefully we will be able to build some bridges in the future. I apologize that you thought your Cabin was too far from the bathroom. - Chrissy
Aug 05, 2014
Although this KOA was very clean & the staff was fiendly & helpful, I felt there were some rules that were a little excessive, ex no food or drink at the pool, no radios on after 10:00pm! Not everyone blasts their radio! Guests charge of 7.00 just to visit ! Just to name a few of the many rules not necessary!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Regrettably, rules are for the people who cause the problems, not for those guests who wouldn't. You have to have one rule that is the same for everybody so that way you can enforce them with problem guests. Otherwise, it would be impossible to enforce when people were being kept up late at night!
Aug 05, 2014
Need to keep store open later than 8:00pm thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately keeping the store open for 12 hours means that we work about 14 store related hours a day. That being said, it is unlikely that the store will ever be open routinely after 8pm. Thank you for your comments - Chrissy
Aug 04, 2014
We had our family reunion, Everyone was so friendly.I would recommend this KOA to my friendz
Aug 04, 2014
We had our 14th Annual Family Reunion there and you accommodated all of us. We used the Lodge, cabins and hook up sites and very pleased with everything.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! - Chrissy
Aug 04, 2014
Campground had lots of things to do and bathrooms were clean. However having to hit a button for 4 seconds of lukewarm water(my husband had only cold water) trying to shower was crazy. The bathrooms are one of the features we have come to trust about KOA campgrounds and this one was a fail. Thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As part of the green initiative we have push button showers, it might seem an inconvenience it does help us conserve water. The water is like your house in which it must run awhile to be hot. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the bathroom. We are looking into more options for tenters.
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time and enjoyed the activities. Only problem - your brochures said vistors day rate is $7,which i feel is high). When friends arrived they paid $10 each. I called and was told the rate had gone up and nothing was done. No ammenities were used and they were there 4 hours to check out campsite. They won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize at the discrepancy between visitor rates. As brochures are made a year in advance to meet deadlines - there are often changes. We do not charge for visitors who are there less than a half hour. However, all guests would use electric and water and thus the fee. Thanks for the comments.
Aug 04, 2014
Cabins weren't as big as the one's in the WoodstockKOA. Set up of cabin area was odd-fire pit and picnic-table in front of Cabin next to the rd). VERY CLEAN, Pool& playground were very nice. $100 Cash (no credit card) deposit (refundable) for key was a surprise (desk said it was in the confirmation email- but we didn't see it) and made us feel unwelcome. There were activities but none for under 5.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As we don't charge for children under 5, we don't advertise activities for them. All KOA's are different, which is why the rental unit floor plans are posted online. For our deluxe cabins we take $100 and for basic cabins we have a $50 - this is why they are so clean! Thank you for your response.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
This was a fantastic campground! The bathrooms were very clean with hot showers, our campsite had electricity and water and was very spacious. All of the staff were polite and friendly and we were able to get anything that we needed or forgot to bring from the store. All around, we had a great weekend in spite of some rainy weather! We would definitely come back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear you would definitely come back - hope it means we will get to see you again soon! Thank you so much - Chrissy
Aug 04, 2014
We were delighted that our campsite was close to the bathroom as I'd requested for my mother who is a senior citizen. The site was open and a perfect distance from other campers. The recreations dept had a nice array of activities for all ages so we were all happy including my 12 year old. The pool was clean and the bathrooms were stellar considering it's public. We loved the live band music too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed the activities and found the place clean! We passed on your kind words to all the staff involved and thank you for filling out the survey! - Chrissy
Aug 04, 2014
The Copake KOA is one of the best camping experiences I have had in a long time. I camp often with the BoyScouts throughout the year with minmal facilities. The Copake KOA staff were excellent, accomdating, and freindly. The facilities were neat and clean. Better than a 5 star hotel!
Aug 04, 2014
loved the new patio sites! Clean facility, nice pool, but a bit small to accommodate all the campers. my only real complaint is the Wi-Fi, most campgrounds I have been to offer unlimited Wi-Fi access. Here it is only free for 2hrs a day. I enjoyed my stay and would return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are looking into another water feature to take stress off the pool as we too agree it is smaller! As for the WiFi, being in a rural area we only have one option for internet and it is slow! To keep the system from being too slow (as it had been) we restrict to 2 hours. Thanks for your comments!
Aug 04, 2014
Clean bathrooms, nice size campsite, good live music. Had a great time!
Aug 04, 2014
Campground is well taken care of & lots of activities. Tent sites were spacious & well maintained. requested a private, quiet spot & were put next to very loud group tent site where campers partied ALL night. Great campsite but very little sleep. Owners offered to relocate us or kick out partiers if we called the next night. We didn't do either & that was our mistake. Live & learn!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you had a bad stay in the tent area. We regret to say that those were our only options and hope that you take us up on the offer if ever there is another problem! - Thanks Chrissy
Aug 04, 2014
Our first KOA visit was at Newburgh.It was awesome! So every KOA gets compared to that one. This KOA is clean and we'll kept.But their prices for goods and services are much higher then at other KOA's. And there's a $20 deposit for everything. After the pool the kids wanted to rent the trikes.$40 dep. I had a 20 on me so we couldn't rent till I went back to site. Not a great way to treat guests.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We keep our deposits the same across the board to make things less confusing. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy this. However, the bikes only actually cost $6 a half hour or $10 an hour and the rest of the money is refunded.
Aug 03, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our time, and are looking forward to returning in a few weeks.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
This year was our third year coming here. We live about 4 hours away. We have family near Copake and we are able to spend time with them. Makes it very convenient to stay there and there's always things to do with the kids. Whether it's swimming, the playground, activities or going to nearby Bash Bish Falls.
Jul 31, 2014
Great campground!
Jul 30, 2014
Staff were very friendly, facilities are clean, and the atmosphere is pleasant and fun
Jul 30, 2014
Great campsite, pool, campstore and bathrooms. My only complaint was the entertainment Sat night was too loud. We were hoping to relax and sit around a campfire and talk. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the peace and quite of the woods as the music was so loud it ruined our Sat night. I understand that is what some campers are looking for but we were not. Wish we were warned about that..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you did not like the entertainment. However, all entertainment ends by our quiet hour, 10:00pm. Please note that every Saturday has some form of entertainment so it would be best to camp with us during the week if you were looking for a more quiet time period. - Chrissy
Jul 29, 2014
This was an impromptu camping trip for us. We had always wanted to check out the Copake KOA and we weren't disappointed. We are very interested to hear about group rates as we would like to have our friends join us for a long weekend. I do want to let you know that there was glass on our campsite when we arrived. I tried to pick most of it up but I had hubby put the Mat down. Ceramics A+.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are incredibly sorry there was glass. Although we try to keep every campsite clean, sometimes things get missed. Please note that in the future, if you let us know, we will send someone down to clean it up! Thank you - Chrissy
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Every one is super friendly & helpful. A pleasure to visit.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great time and the staff was very nice and helpful.
Jul 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.