Chocorua KOA

893 White Mountain Highway - PO Box 484

Tamworth, NH 03886

Reserve: 800-562-9855

Info: 603-323-8536

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2013
Everyone was friendly and helpful. We loved the fact that they have a dog area and a dog beach which our dogs enjoyed thoroughly. Sites were well maintained and the store was well stocked with a little bit of everything. We would definitely recommend this campground and plan on returning in the future.
Sep 03, 2013
We have stayed here 3 times this summer and loved every minute of every stay!! Thanks to all of the wonderful staff!!
Sep 03, 2013
Weather didn't cooperate(rainy-flooding), but facilities, well kept!! Only struggles: purchasing wet/green wood from your store (problem quickly remedied by staff), & some difficulty with a woman named Kathy at front desk who gave us a hard time about visitors. We mentioned guests at booking and check-in, and still got a phonecall with some attitude as our guests arrived to KOA (so embarassing)!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The staff was very courteous and helpful. The campground was very clean. I was told the site recommended to me by KOA staff was secluded and quiet; it was located right next to a basketball court and in close proximity to several other sites. The wifi is not suitable for steaming media.
Sep 03, 2013
Staff, especially Bear and Paul, were great help to a newbie. Site and facilities were very nice. Only negative was how close we were to a busy main road.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time. We stayed in the chocorua house cabin. The accommodations were very clean and well equipped with the things we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you.
Aug 31, 2013
Deluxe site $, which is worn as is the rec room. Unlevel! Had fun fishing with my kids. Amazed that a worker backing me into site, turned me into a tree, almost pulling off the front of my motorhome. I think it was the owner that I spoke with on a couple occasions and he acknowledged that his worker did turn me into the tree. No apology, no mention of assist w/$ or a comp. Disappoint w/this most.
Aug 31, 2013
Staff very friendly, can't say enough about them. They make the place. We were tent camping....would not recommend tent campers stay on the route 16 side of campground...too much traffic noise all night long.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
It's peaceful and quiet yet near enough to everything.
Aug 29, 2013
We had a great time Dog had a better time one of the best camp sites/grounds we ever stayed at
Aug 28, 2013
Had a great time with the family, loved having the wooden deck on site 36. And the providing the grill was great! Thank you!
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Staff were amazing!! Wonderful activities for the kids. Clean bathrooms & campground sites. We will see ya next year:)
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Our stay was very short but awesome. We stayed in a cabin and were so impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness of the employees and the services available that we are planning on making this our regular vacation spot. We have been raving about it to everyone we talk to. Thank you so much!
Aug 26, 2013
The facility and activities were great as always. One suggestion: should put more efforts to make sure pet owners to be more considerate of other campers. The camper next to our site left his ugly big dog unleashed and unattended, which came over to our site twice to mess up our food and trash. Plus we were worried about our toddlers
Aug 26, 2013
I think you need to replace the fire places with pits that allow the heat to radiate in all directions. The focus is too narrow and makes for an uncomfortable fire for all the guests.
Aug 26, 2013
great stay. clean facilities and helpful staff. we loved it.
Aug 26, 2013
All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The groundswere immaculate! We will be back!
Aug 26, 2013
Friendly, clean, just a pleasant stay. Our 5th time here since 2011
Aug 26, 2013
We brought our grandaughter camping for the first time. She had a fantastic time. All the activities were perfect. We enjoyed kayaking on Moore's Pond. This is a great place to bring the children for a fun filled weekend.
Aug 26, 2013
friendly polite smiling staff wonderful hard working personel
Aug 25, 2013
We love our SUPER SITE, we have been going back year after year! There are so many things to do and the staff is super friendly. I highly recommend Chocorua KOA
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Our stay was great except we felt crowded, our neighbors trailer was only a foot or two away from our site. We would like more activities for adults, all we saw was activities for kids. We loved the nature trail, boat rental was reasonable, prices at the store also reasonable. The staff was great, very friendly, they tried their best with my RV problems.
Aug 24, 2013
I loved the campground and the staff were great. The 'tepee' cabin that we stayed in really needs repairs on the back porch and picnic table and the smell of propane was strong. Other than that we loved it, we would just choose a different cabin next time or just tent.
Aug 23, 2013
We stayed here on a weekday, camping in a 32' motorhome. This is a very friendly, helpful KOA with many amenities and features for families. It was very quiet while we were there. This is an older campground, with narrow roads. We were able to reach our site without any problem, but we were very cautious. Our site was OK to drive into, but more problematic getting out when we left.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
We used the camp as a base while we explored the area - the Swift River & Mt. Washington in particular. Our campsite was spacious & clean. The bathhouse was immaculate & the showers were hot & strong. Even though the campground seemed practically full, it was very quiet. Our dog loved the huge off-leash enclosure & we enjoyed walking on the nature trails with him. A great place!
Aug 23, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. It was a little disconcerting that the bathhouse near the main gate does not have exterior doors. Otherwise, the staff is terrific and friendly, and very helpful.
Aug 23, 2013
wonderful site, friendly people
Aug 22, 2013
We had a very nice time! The staff members were very friendly and the campground was great. The only thing I noticed were cigarette butts on the ground sometimes; maybe reminding campers to pick up after themselves (or to throw butts into the fire pits or garbage cans or other appropriate receptacles) would be a good thing.
Aug 22, 2013
We loved the wooded setting. The people were friendly and helpful. It was clean and well laid out.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Been going to Chocorua Camp Ground for 10 years, always a great time. I am disappointed in the new firewood policy, but it is understandable. Since we are forced to purchase the fire wood a the campground, it would be nice if a couple of bundles were included each nite of our stay. Also, canoe/kayak rentals where very high, 60% increase over previous years.
Aug 20, 2013
Nice area where I camped, nice view, love that its so dog friendly but I have 3 & discovered there's a 2 dog max =\ our child enjoyed some activities & fishing & we enjoyed the mostly peace & quiet setting =) love the constant presence of employees driving thru, made us feel "secure". Only downfall is there was a bit of a T.P. shortage ea. night during my stay, but overall I was happy!
Aug 20, 2013
Clean and what you would expect from a KOA, but not our favorite one. A little on the bigger side and a lot of workers but a little unorganized. Had to ask twice for our wood, ice, and towels to our cabin (they had forgotten them). Also, they took the wood we brought in and then couldn't find it to give it back. The cabin/house was nice though and sites had decks overlooking the pond.
Aug 19, 2013
Emloyees were very friendly. We were supposed to have a pull through for a 32 ft camper, when we got there, we were told that we had a pull through, but you couldn't actually "pull through" it due to there being a tree in the way. I think we should have been given a break in the rate we paid per night. Also, we had 2 vehicles but the campground only allowed 1 vehicle per site. Very inconvenient!
Aug 19, 2013
Staff was so friendly and helpful. Campground is clean and beautiful. The basketball court is the only thing that needs work. We will definetly stay here again.
Aug 19, 2013
we had a great time and the site was exceptional!!! Will definately be going back!!!
Aug 19, 2013
Great breakfast, well run location, many amenities. We stayed here with a focus on hiking and it turned out great. Our dogs felt very welcome and we will certainly consider coming back for our next trip up Chocorua.
Aug 19, 2013
Overall we had an enjoyable stay. The campground was clean and the staff was friendly. We would have preferred a more private site for our travel trailer than the pull-through site we were in but that wasn't the campgrounds fault as we waited too late to make our reservation.
Aug 19, 2013
Camp/tent site are not extremely private and fairly close together. Understand that people travel with their pets, but as a pet owner I would never bring a dog that barks and disturbs other campers, but that's more of a pet owner complaint than the camp ground one. Overall very happy with our stay

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.