Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
It's a good time with the best
Jul 23, 2015
Overall this was a nice campground. We rented the barebones cabin. Would have been nice if the AC had been turned on before our arrival so it wasn't so hot. No control of rain but our cabin had standing water all week outside around the picnic table which made the Mosquitos bad. WiFi signal was very poor unless you were by the camp store. Pool was very nice but hours could be longer.
Jul 21, 2015
We greatly appreciated the cleanliness of the campground and the attentiveness of the staff. Though our last night was marred by a difficult and loud neighboring cottage family, we will consider coming again.
Jul 15, 2015
We had a great time. It was very kid friendly.It rained on Sat so the hayride was cancelled but to compensate they showed a movie in the theater. Which was great because the grandkids would have been cooped up in the tent until the rain stopped. We will definitely come back.The staff was friendly and the store had supplies that we forgot to bring.
Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and a lot of activities
Jul 12, 2015
Kabin and restrooms were clean. Kampground was well maintained. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to take advantage of the many fun opportunities.
Jul 08, 2015
The campground definitely was family friendly. The cabin was clean, but the dirt was tracked in from the dirt driveway very easily. I would have loved having laundry room hours that were later.
Jul 07, 2015
Clean, very well-kept campground. Friendly folks.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Staff friendly and helpfull Grounds immaculate. Bathrooms clean. Pool was very cool
Jun 30, 2015
Great, friendly, wellcoming. They need ATM machine and coffee machine.
Jun 28, 2015
Fun and relaxing. I will be coming back as soon as I get a chance. Thank you to all the staff, everyone was real nice!
Jun 28, 2015
Awesome place, super friendly staff, clean bathrooms and sites
Jun 26, 2015
Our first "family" camping trip (with our two little sons (ages 4 and 2 1/2). We had a blast and so did they for their first time. The cabins we stayed in were awesome. :)
Jun 25, 2015
Pleasent stay. Located next to Donleys Wild West town we had a great time panning for gold etc. Cabin was clean and pleasent (a little humid the wall mounted air conditioner could not quite keep up with the heat) The playground and campsite was very clean, well groomed grass cut. The pool clean but very cold water made discouraging to swim but we tried anyway. We will be back again.....
Jun 23, 2015
KOA was nice, but quality of the water was not good....could not brush our teeth because of the odor - not so bad in the shower units
Jun 22, 2015
The staff was great! Very friendly and accommodating!
Jun 15, 2015
We have stayed a KOA many times in the past. When my Master's graduation was to be in Chicago, KOA seemed like the natural place to stay - affordable compared to the hotels, allowing us the money to have fun too! The atmosphere at Northwest Chicago KOA is friendly and family oriented and the grounds are clean and well kept - a relaxing stay!
Jun 15, 2015
I have to admit, we are not fond of staying at KOA's. We prefer state parks with nice wooded sites but this KOA is the best one we have stayed at in the last 2 years. We chose this campground due to being next to Wild West. Our son and his family needed a cabin. It was quiet,clean bathrooms, nice showers and planned activities - We had a blast and would return!! Thank you for an enjoyable weekend
Jun 10, 2015
AC in our cabin sluggish and bathrooms a bit outdated. These are just two minor things - overall we are happy with our one-night stay. Bathrooms close to our cabin and were clean. Friendly staff and well-Maintained facility. Our family would stay here again.
May 30, 2015
A lovely, quiet place to relax. The screen door needs some oil. My husband was frustrated that there was no place to hang a towel in the bathroom, except in the shower stalls. We enjoyed our short stay very much. Bonnie
May 26, 2015
I gave an 7 for the fact of Wild West Town being directly nextdoor to the campground. I would highly recommend Wild West to any family with young children. As far as our stay at the KOA - the staff was crabby and not very friendly, especially when it came to the rentals of the onsite bikes. The owners walked past our site- did not say hello or ask us how our stay was going. Need work in this area!
May 23, 2015
Great to know that after 9000 miles of flying from abroad and 34 hours without sleep KOA Union would welcome and look after us. The only thing out of their control was the cold weather, G and D Australia.
May 11, 2015
Everything was great! Im a single mom and my kids and I camped on a rainy weekend. The people at Koa did everything they could to be sure there was something for the kids to do. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because my reservation was mixed up. I specifically reserved cabin 1 but when we got there they put us in cabin 3. When I show my confirmation emaiI I was told it doesnt matter.
May 10, 2015
Very accommodating on a late check-in. Our family loves the Kamping Kabins!
Oct 14, 2014
I realize this was the last weekend they were open, but was a bit disappointing not to have anything going on for the kids this past weekend since that is one of the biggest perks of KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
Stayed in a cabin with my wife and 2 year old son. Great fall weekend, lots of activities (Wild West Town, Railroad museum, Pumpkin patch/apple orchard). Would certainly come again.
Oct 09, 2014
The cabin was cozy and very clean. The bathrooms also were clean and perfect. Will stay again next season.
Oct 06, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great time. Loved the cabins
Sep 21, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms were clean but dated (soap not provided). Game room/theater room is a work in progress- not welcoming. Grounds were clean and landscaped. Cabin was clean and well maintained. Grounds have a small mini golf, swimming pool, small basketball area as well as volleyball area. Employees were helpful and friendly. Location is a remote area with limited local attractions.
Sep 15, 2014
Great place, nice and clean facilities, good staff as well.
Sep 15, 2014
Reserved a tent site for September 12 and 13. Friday the 12th was cold and raining. Reception mentioned an upgrade to a cabin. Did that without any trouble. Staff is friendly and the grounds are well kept with a variety of games for the kids. Will be going back next season!
Sep 08, 2014
Clean restrooms and friendly helpful staff. Will be back again!!
Sep 02, 2014
Very nice and well-maintained campground. Our cabin had AC, a plus during the hot and humid weather. The owners are very friendly and attentive to our needs. There are a variety of activities for kids as well as adults.
Aug 31, 2014
pricing for one room cabins here and many other k o a locations is high. staff was real helpful in knowing the area and how metra train station works.
Aug 25, 2014
Great little camp site. Lots to do but would be nice to have the pool heat. Quick walk to Wild West town.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Camp globalement bien tenu, on a regretté que seule une douche sur les 5 disponibles dans le bâtiment annexe fonctionne
Aug 15, 2014
We stayed in a cabin. It was surprisingly roomy! It was clean and very comfortable.We loved it! The pool was sparkling clean, as well as the restrooms/showers. It was nice to be able to walk a few steps to take our son to Wild West Town. It was a bonus, that we got discount tickets from KOA's office. Thank you for a giving us such a great place to camp. Will definitely be back! Happy Campers!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Family had a great time. Used a cabin this year and we all really loved it. See ya next year.
Aug 05, 2014
We will be back! Our cabin and the pool were both very clean, and the grounds were well kept. Just a short walk to Donley's Wild West Town, what a great weekend! The owners were very friendly and outgoing. Great time
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Nice people very clean campground. We loved and so did the kids would love to come back
Jul 29, 2014
Thanks for providing a nice kabin. A quiet, restful area.
Jul 28, 2014
The kids had a great time! We will be back next year!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Overall everything was nice. Wish there were activities for kids during the week.
Jul 12, 2014
The grounds we well maintained the staff were friendly and attentive. We had a great visit.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.