Chicago Northwest KOA

Open April 17 - October 12

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206


8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Trailer

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 11, 2015
Only complaint was that we were trying to relax and enjoy our fire and kept getting blinded with all the cars driving in at night. Would've preferred a fire pit off to the side. Cabin was cute and comfy and staff was mostly friendly.
Oct 05, 2015
Enjoyed time with my family. Bathrooms clean and comfy-showers roomy! Playground perfect for grandchildren!
Oct 05, 2015
You would have gotten 5 stars if a jackhammer didn't wake us up on Saturday and continue going off all throughout the morning.
Sep 30, 2015
Wonderful experience. Clean and quiet. Thanks.
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was small but cozy and we loved the wooden swing on our deck. Would of loved it even more if it had more privacy and added some more trees!
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Very clean! The hosts are so welcoming and very friendly.
Sep 15, 2015
Everything was really nice. We had a terrific time.
Sep 14, 2015
Great little campground. Very friendly staff, well taken care of. My grandkids loved it!
Sep 12, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, the cabin was absolutely beautiful & the staff was more than helpful. We look forward to staying with KOA in the near future!
Sep 08, 2015
Its was very nice
Aug 27, 2015
The recommendation to eat at Joe 's was really helpful. Very secure feeling at this campground.
Aug 25, 2015
wonderful people....the grounds look great..nice lawn care and flowers and plants..clean restrooms and Kabin :) Thank You we will be back
Aug 19, 2015
My rating does not reflect the campground itself. I was locked out of my RV about 1 hour upon arrival. the campground had an empty cabin and offered it to us. Thought it was a nice gesture until they charged us $91.00. No break whatsoever ever . A cabin with a light and a bed. Rip off. Took advantage of our misfortune.
Aug 17, 2015
My family had a great time. Very nice cabin (I love the swaying chair in the porch), wonderful pool (just right for the kids), and yummy ice cream. Thank you, KOA, for making our weekend awesome!
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice had a great time...everything we needed was there for us....will be back soon and bring more family members.
Aug 13, 2015
Great location by the Wild West Museum. Cute cabin with the basic necessities and a short walk to the restrooms. My granddaughter's first camping trip was a success!
Aug 13, 2015
Great stay, clean cabin, friendly staff. I would certainly go back!
Aug 11, 2015
We stayed at a bunch of KOA's from New York to South Dakota and my kids enjoyed this one the most. There were activities throughout the day for the kids and there was plenty of room for riding bikes. The bathrooms and pool area were well maintained and clean. I would recommend this campground for travel around the Chicago area.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Our stay was absolutely wonderful! I wish we had more time there. the cabins were extremely clean and the staff was always smiling:) definitely a wonderful place to spend with your family for vacation!!
Aug 04, 2015
Cabin was great. Clean bathrooms. Great staff. Thanks!
Aug 03, 2015
First time stay. Excellent facilities, convenient location and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Cannot wait till our next trip back.
Jul 26, 2015
It's a good time with the best
Jul 23, 2015
Overall this was a nice campground. We rented the barebones cabin. Would have been nice if the AC had been turned on before our arrival so it wasn't so hot. No control of rain but our cabin had standing water all week outside around the picnic table which made the Mosquitos bad. WiFi signal was very poor unless you were by the camp store. Pool was very nice but hours could be longer.
Jul 21, 2015
We greatly appreciated the cleanliness of the campground and the attentiveness of the staff. Though our last night was marred by a difficult and loud neighboring cottage family, we will consider coming again.
Jul 15, 2015
We had a great time. It was very kid friendly.It rained on Sat so the hayride was cancelled but to compensate they showed a movie in the theater. Which was great because the grandkids would have been cooped up in the tent until the rain stopped. We will definitely come back.The staff was friendly and the store had supplies that we forgot to bring.
Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and a lot of activities
Jul 12, 2015
Kabin and restrooms were clean. Kampground was well maintained. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to take advantage of the many fun opportunities.
Jul 08, 2015
The campground definitely was family friendly. The cabin was clean, but the dirt was tracked in from the dirt driveway very easily. I would have loved having laundry room hours that were later.
Jul 07, 2015
Clean, very well-kept campground. Friendly folks.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Staff friendly and helpfull Grounds immaculate. Bathrooms clean. Pool was very cool
Jun 30, 2015
Great, friendly, wellcoming. They need ATM machine and coffee machine.
Jun 28, 2015
Fun and relaxing. I will be coming back as soon as I get a chance. Thank you to all the staff, everyone was real nice!
Jun 28, 2015
Awesome place, super friendly staff, clean bathrooms and sites
Jun 26, 2015
Our first "family" camping trip (with our two little sons (ages 4 and 2 1/2). We had a blast and so did they for their first time. The cabins we stayed in were awesome. :)
Jun 25, 2015
Pleasent stay. Located next to Donleys Wild West town we had a great time panning for gold etc. Cabin was clean and pleasent (a little humid the wall mounted air conditioner could not quite keep up with the heat) The playground and campsite was very clean, well groomed grass cut. The pool clean but very cold water made discouraging to swim but we tried anyway. We will be back again.....
Jun 23, 2015
KOA was nice, but quality of the water was not good....could not brush our teeth because of the odor - not so bad in the shower units
Jun 22, 2015
The staff was great! Very friendly and accommodating!
Jun 15, 2015
We have stayed a KOA many times in the past. When my Master's graduation was to be in Chicago, KOA seemed like the natural place to stay - affordable compared to the hotels, allowing us the money to have fun too! The atmosphere at Northwest Chicago KOA is friendly and family oriented and the grounds are clean and well kept - a relaxing stay!
Jun 15, 2015
I have to admit, we are not fond of staying at KOA's. We prefer state parks with nice wooded sites but this KOA is the best one we have stayed at in the last 2 years. We chose this campground due to being next to Wild West. Our son and his family needed a cabin. It was quiet,clean bathrooms, nice showers and planned activities - We had a blast and would return!! Thank you for an enjoyable weekend
Jun 10, 2015
AC in our cabin sluggish and bathrooms a bit outdated. These are just two minor things - overall we are happy with our one-night stay. Bathrooms close to our cabin and were clean. Friendly staff and well-Maintained facility. Our family would stay here again.
May 30, 2015
A lovely, quiet place to relax. The screen door needs some oil. My husband was frustrated that there was no place to hang a towel in the bathroom, except in the shower stalls. We enjoyed our short stay very much. Bonnie
May 26, 2015
I gave an 7 for the fact of Wild West Town being directly nextdoor to the campground. I would highly recommend Wild West to any family with young children. As far as our stay at the KOA - the staff was crabby and not very friendly, especially when it came to the rentals of the onsite bikes. The owners walked past our site- did not say hello or ask us how our stay was going. Need work in this area!
May 23, 2015
Great to know that after 9000 miles of flying from abroad and 34 hours without sleep KOA Union would welcome and look after us. The only thing out of their control was the cold weather, G and D Australia.
May 11, 2015
Everything was great! Im a single mom and my kids and I camped on a rainy weekend. The people at Koa did everything they could to be sure there was something for the kids to do. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because my reservation was mixed up. I specifically reserved cabin 1 but when we got there they put us in cabin 3. When I show my confirmation emaiI I was told it doesnt matter.
May 10, 2015
Very accommodating on a late check-in. Our family loves the Kamping Kabins!
Oct 14, 2014
I realize this was the last weekend they were open, but was a bit disappointing not to have anything going on for the kids this past weekend since that is one of the biggest perks of KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
Stayed in a cabin with my wife and 2 year old son. Great fall weekend, lots of activities (Wild West Town, Railroad museum, Pumpkin patch/apple orchard). Would certainly come again.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy