Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2014
never been to a KOA before and this was thecleanest bathroom i have ever been to at any campground!
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
The sites are small. They closed the bath house near the campers. No walkway to other bath house. Will use state park next time.
Sep 09, 2014
My girlfriend and I asked for a secluded corner, and KOA gave us the most secluded corner. Thank you KOA! It was a very romantic and intimate trip. We also needed to add a day to our stay and KOA took care of everything, no hassle. Very impressed overall.
Sep 08, 2014
Clean restrooms and friendly helpful staff. Will be back again!!
Sep 08, 2014
Did not like the entrance going in and out, only one vehicle wide. Entrance to office not easy to access. It was very clean and spaces were generous. Nice dog run.
Sep 08, 2014
Bel accueil, s├ęcuritaire sauf le WiFi peu fonctionnel.
Sep 07, 2014
Very relaxing. People are great. My son had a great time also.
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
The park is very pretty and well maintained. We did have a problem with the laundry room, cold water wash only and one of the dryers did not work. They did give us our money back for the dryer. Also we could not get internet access on their WiFi the entire time we were there. Our friends had a Verizon Hot Spot and we were able to get access with it so we know it wasn't our computer.
Sep 04, 2014
Very nice and clean. The sites are a little small though.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Great campsight! Clean! Lots of things to do in the area!
Sep 04, 2014
It is both too far from Chicago to be convenient and too close in and barren to be camping. Tight spaces, tired staff. But it is an option if you need one.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Staff was very friendly and the campground was clean and looked nice. The game room leaves a lot to be desired and there were some rental bikes that were obviously damaged sitting out with the rentable ones. We also noted the mini-golf course really needs some TLC and paint. Reading the community bulletin board, it appears staff is continually making improvements.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Very nice and well-maintained campground. Our cabin had AC, a plus during the hot and humid weather. The owners are very friendly and attentive to our needs. There are a variety of activities for kids as well as adults.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
This campground layout leads to much interaction among campers. The staff is always visible and friendly. We make new friends every time we camp here and often see people from previous camping.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Basically, everything was good, clean, pretty, friendly, and helpful. But, the lots are a little too narrow especially when such big units are next to you. Also, some of the showers did not work properly, one did not work at all and I get to get dressed again to hunt out one that did. The next day, found a shower that would not turn off and reported it. Other than that, I will try again.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff here was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze and staff helped with backing our trailer in. Activities were well organized My only complaint was that the campsites are a little tight and this caused a problem when multiple trailers were trying to leave.
Aug 31, 2014
Very nice, small campground. Well-run and mainatained.
Aug 31, 2014
pricing for one room cabins here and many other k o a locations is high. staff was real helpful in knowing the area and how metra train station works.
Aug 29, 2014
Picked this location for an overnight stay as it was close to our route on Hwy 20. First time in years that we stayed at KOA. We are used to state or provincial parks with way more room between sites. Our neighbour's picnic table was less than a foot from our tap. Too close for our liking.
Aug 29, 2014
Nice campground well laid out. Clean facilities. Pool OK. A little far from Chicago to be billed as a Chicago campground 30-45 minutes away by toll road. Cost an extra $15.00 to have the grandkids come visit us and use the pool for an hour, not used to this type of fee where we are from.
Aug 28, 2014
Very impressed with your campgrounds very clean very well taken care of . I only have one complaint as the staff that was working the front desk was not very helpfull as they the two lady's I talked to where not from Chicago or anywhere close to it so they where of no help to me for most of my questions . But they where friendly so I can't complain about unfriendly just not knowledgeable on city .
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
sites are close, neighbors sewer connections next to picnic table. But nice area, lot of attractions to see.
Aug 26, 2014
Nice campground, nice bathrooms.
Aug 25, 2014
Every time we come to this KOA we are always impressed on dedicated the people are to make our stay enjoyable and stress free. The facilities are well maintained and they have flowers all over the place.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great little camp site. Lots to do but would be nice to have the pool heat. Quick walk to Wild West town.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
An excellent stay! A very clean, quiet, family friendly camp ground. Loved the activities for the kids and the pool. The staff was exceptionally helpful and extremely friendly. Thanks for a wonderful experience!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
The campground was beautiful. The only complaint I have is the water pressure was way too low. Very annoying.
Aug 25, 2014
Very nice and clean campground with a friendly staff. Grass area for each site was smaller than the average campground. Nice pull thru sites for large rigs.
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed 2 nights. We had a great time even though the weather was not cooperating. Everything was clean. The site was nice. Our son loved the playground and really enjoyed the Little Tyke equipment. We will definitely stay there again.
Aug 25, 2014
Friendly helpful employees who love their work.
Aug 25, 2014
I brought my two children camping for all of our first time. I was a little nervous being there without my husband with two small children. We had a wonderful experience! I felt extremely safe and as for "roughing" it this was a great place to try for your first time because they provide many amenities. The only down side was out loud neighbors but no fault of koa.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2014
Nice pool and big open fields to walk on and explore! There was also a dog walk through some trees :)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.