Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Excellent! Cordial, welcoming staff, great site, good location for visiting family in Chicago.
Jul 11, 2014
Best camp ground I've been at in the last few years. Very clean great people working there. My wife and kids and me will be back soon.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
It would be nice if they picked up garbage bags like most other KOAs because it's so far to the trash cans!
Jul 10, 2014
We stayed three weeks here while we visited family in the area. The facility is a nice one: Lots of trees provides a pretty settilng for the sites. Sylvia and Thomas always try to make the camper's stay a good one. They helped us ouit a couiple of times with some issues we had with our RV. We will definitely be back next summer.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Site and location was nice...When arriving we mentioned that we were there from NJ due to a Family member in Hospital due to serious accident and didn't know our duration we would need. When Family member was released and we had to leave to take him home across state we were only reimbursed for 1 of 2 extra nights we paid ahead for. Basically we were told in a way "tough Luck". Not Right !!!
Jul 09, 2014
Sylvia and her staff were amazing. We had such a great a relaxing time. The campground was spotless from sites to pool to bathroom. What a joy!
Jul 09, 2014
Unfriendly desk staff. Not informative..visitors fee to enter and staff hours don't correspond with key drop off. Should spray for mosquitoes. Previous owners much better
Jul 08, 2014
Very pleasant with clean rest rooms
Jul 08, 2014
They advertise WiFi but it does not work. I had to travel several miles to a McDonalds restaurant to keep in touch with my office as the wiFi did not work. In this day and age of electronic communication, staying in touch is of the highest order and very important to all travelers, for a campground to not have good WiFi connections is just not acceptible
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, quiet and level sites. very nice place.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Very nice place.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
I enjoyed the entire visit. Liked the activities during the day. Only suggestion I have is the showers were a bit hot for my children.
Jun 30, 2014
sites nice; showers nice; great location next to a nice restaurant
Jun 30, 2014
The campground is clean and well kept. Beautiful flowers. Campsites are way too close and difficult to have a campfire safely.
Jun 30, 2014
VERY clean campground. The showers and restrooms were free of bugs. There are some rules, but they make the campground better.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice pool and playground. Campsites were a little small and there was little shade. Free wifi was terrible.
Jun 30, 2014
We stayed 1 night. Only contact we had was check-in, escort to our camp site, and an offer for a bundle of wood. Otherwise all smiles and hellos and our own business to enjoy every moment of the experience. We even slept through a few thunder storms, but all was well and the best $36 ever spent! Thank you!
Jun 30, 2014
Loved it!!
Jun 29, 2014
liked the site we had, clean campground, like the pool though wish it was heated.
Jun 29, 2014
Inadequate shower. Employees on golf carts race through campground kicking up dust
Jun 28, 2014
Campground was clean, but noisy with the nearby road. Staff (multiple employees) were not friendly and were rude on several occasions. Staff was not accommodating (refused to inflate a campground ball, chastised a child for borrowing a "free" game, refused use of our grass-safe camping mat). I never thought I'd have to give a negative KOA review - very disappointing.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Very very very nice place. Clean . Friendly and very Cortez workers always with a smile. My family an I had fun and most of all quality family time. We love the place
Jun 26, 2014
Had many questions about Chicago and the ladies in the office couldn't answer them.
Jun 25, 2014
Stayed at KOA for 4 days site was okay a little small. I don't like how close neighbors sewage is to your site. It was less than a foot away from patio covering you're always avoiding neighbors hose. Restrooms clean but showers aren't kid friendly. The push buttons which runs 2-3 minutes were too difficult for 7yr olds so I used my RV shower. Wild West Town next door was an awsome attraction $$.
Jun 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. I was shocked when I went in the bathroom. It was actually clean and smelled pleasant! The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the nearby attractions.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
This KOA is constantly improving and striving to make the park a destination in and of itself! The owners are welcoming, as is the staff.
Jun 24, 2014
The hours for laundry were limited and two washers were not working. We were unable to get our laundry done. Wish tricycle rental had been more affordable as our little one wanted to ride longer ($5/30 min) Be aware that drive into Chicago lakeside is apx 1.5 hours. Otherwise, the stay was great.
Jun 23, 2014
Awesomeness
Jun 23, 2014
Was very disappointed that the site I reserved back in May for this weekend was given to someone else. I was told it was a mistake but I reserved this spot because I was coming with a group of families and we wanted to be close. I became a member to stay at K O A's all across North America but if this is any idecation of what a reservation means I don't think I will book another stay! Upset mem
Jun 23, 2014
My family had a great time. Everyone was very friendly, and the campgrounds were very clean. Looking forward to coming back,and there were plenty of kids activities.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Enjoyed our stay here a very nice camp site
Jun 23, 2014
The best stay I have had so far this year.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.