Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2013
Water had a sulfur smell, sites very tight. Clean rest rooms and good service
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
My only complaint is that the comsites were a little small. Other than that, we had a great time. The campground was impeccably clean, and everyone was very friendly!!
Sep 16, 2013
Very nice facility! Love all the attention to amenities!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
WE have stayed at KOA's all over the USA and Canada. This KOA, by far, had the most unfriendly staff.
Sep 16, 2013
Main issue is how tight the pull through sites are. Nice improvements done this year. Friendly staff
Sep 16, 2013
nice surroundings. good service. clean bathrooms. friendly staff. wi-fi a little weak on service. quiet and there were a lot of children! Well behaved. Lots of things for families to do. Nice restaurant next door! Steaks!
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
The owners are very friendly and they are located right next to the Wild West Town. The campground is very clean and the playground is very nice as well. The only negative is the pool was very cold.
Sep 13, 2013
We have gone to this KOA for many years. It is wonderful to know that the new owners have continued this high standards of cleanliness and friendliness. The staff is cordial and most helpful. Highly recommended.
Sep 12, 2013
went to watch stars, called and ask if was dark skys and void of city lights.. when I checked in I ask again,... I was placed at a site that was under flood lights from the main office.. the entire camp is lit so bright at night it's like having the light on in a bedroom trying to sleep. HORRIBLE> will never recomend this location. 10 feet off main road and constant air brakes from 18wheelers
Sep 11, 2013
Campgrounds very clean and the people are very pleasant
Sep 11, 2013
Only problem was the mosquitoes
Sep 11, 2013
Like the extra key card security. Good location for IL Rail Museum visit. Sites are little close to neighbor. But all was goods.
Sep 10, 2013
The staff, location, and the campground were all great. The water quality was horrible. Even with two filters it tasted horrible and left rust stains on our hoses.
Sep 10, 2013
The owner was not at all camper friendly. She over charged me for the site, was rude about where to park an extra car and the campground itself had a TERRIBLE water system and no ammenities for a person over 3 years old.
Sep 10, 2013
Great place except for the water- really bad - and electrical problems that forced me to change sites after I was set up. I would stay there again.
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Clean and quiet.
Sep 09, 2013
Overall KOA's are nice except very crowded. This KOA was too. I liked the individual showers and they seemed to be clean and well maintained! The employee at the gate was rude - which is not our typical camping experience at any campground! So that was very disappointing.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly. Fast check in. They were always cleaning or generally driving around the campground in their golf carts and always greeting guests or delivering wood. Most sites are pull thru. They kept the pool open after labor day beause the weather was so warm. Great place we definitely will go back.
Sep 08, 2013
We had a beautiful night with clear skies. The grouds are well kept and freshly mowed. Showers/bathroom are kept clean. Friendly staff making facility improvements all year long it appears. Wxcept for some occasional traffic noise very peaceful. Would certainly do it again. Thanks
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
It is a tradition for our group of friends to camp on Labor Day Weekend! The group has grown from 3 families to 9. It was disappointing this year as the manager was watching us from a distance in the dark. At times it was right by my tent and at certain times I was in the tent changing or trying to sleep and he would shine a flashlight in my tent (15' away) and toward our group. It was CREEPY!
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sites a bit smaller than state campgrounds but that is the norm among all the KOA I have stayed. Staff was courteous and helpful. The grounds and bath house were clean/neat.
Sep 04, 2013
The owner is creepy and gave us a hard time even though we weren't out of hand. Realistically, it's camping aka vacation and people should be able to let lose a little, within reason of course, without someone hiding between our tents and spying on us. We won't ever go back. On the upside, the front desk folks were outstanding and the flowers and gardening were the best we've ever seen them.
Sep 03, 2013
One of the workers kept telling our group that we were loud. I was sleeping in my tent and I could not hear anyone on our site at all. He was sitting at the back of our site with his lights off and watching us. It was creepy.
Sep 03, 2013
Beautiful campground, well-kept. Liked the ice and wood drop-off. Would have liked trash pick-up. Very much enjoyed ourselves!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The campground is clean and the staff are excellent. We loved it so much the fiorst time we went again, and will go more next year.
Sep 03, 2013
Enjoyed seeing the tent campers with kids. For a busy weekend it was quiet at night.
Sep 03, 2013
We enjoyed our week-end at our near-by KOA. The atmosphere was very family-friendly yet quiet and there was a good mix of tenters, trailers and big RV's. We feel that the sites are a bit too close together for our taste but onece-a-summer it is a fun place to visit!
Sep 03, 2013
The bathrooms are outdated and could be improved. The candy hunt was chaotic and poorly organized. Our tent was close to the playground and we heard kids on squeaky swings at 5am. The live music from Wild West next door went very late on Saturday night. There was a variety of activities for kids. The playground kept the kids busy.
Sep 03, 2013
They sucked! They overcharge for everything, charge to let visitors in, then they limit the amount of people on your site to 6, including children. They charged extra for a key card to get in and out of the park, they charged us $15 more a day for my son's friend that he invited along. They had no fishing, and the owner was rude. I wouldn't waste your money on this one!
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent! The owners are great and all of the employees are so friendly! We love coming to the KOA. They offer just enough activities to keep everyone entertained for a whole weekend.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Plusses were the koa workers waited for you to check in and brought you to your site. The staff was very courteous and helpful.It was a nice campground. The tentsites looked fabulous. We camped in a 5th wheel and loved the pull thru W/E site. Although, the sites were very small and the neighbors water and electric hookups are right in the middle of your site. May stay here again. Unsure.
Sep 03, 2013
Our family had a great time at the campground for our Labor Day camping trip. Our daughter loved the playgound area and the swimming pool was a welcome relief from the heat. We also enjoyed the activites throughout the weekend. My only complaint would be that the sites are pretty close together, but other than that we had a great time and will be coming back.
Sep 03, 2013
Good location. Individual shower rooms well thought out with flip down bench. We ate t the Western restaurant adjacent to the Camp and discovered that if we had received the coupon from KOA we would have gotten a discount...wish the staff had posted that info. Other than that, it was every nice. Mike was a great host.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Nice folks. Nice campground. Showers could use new heads on the E building and a longer timer but otherwise good. Thanks!
Sep 02, 2013
Wonderful staff!! Great flashlight candy hunt! We had a great time. I wish there were paper towels in the bathrooms to wipe up water dribbled on the counter - but I understand paper towels bring other messy issues too.
Sep 01, 2013
Great location, for access to my friends and family in the area.
Sep 01, 2013
One night in a a motor home. Dusty. Wanted to stay a second night but due to holiday weekend nothing available. To be added to a waiting list we were required to stay/pay for 2 days. I guess that is standard procedure? Otherwise a fine place to stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.