Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2014
Not being able to hang a clothes line and my more then capable kids not being able to swim without an adult present- was not welcoming. Some staff pleasant and some definitely not. When we stayed with you guys it was after staying at more then 10 KOA's elsewhere and they were much kinder. Also, the card to get in and out was bizarre.
Aug 01, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA! My boyfriend and I tent camped. The plot was perfectly lovely, but it was a little close to a fairly major highway. Other KOAs offered free coffee in the morning.
Aug 01, 2014
Bon accueil,propre,toutes les facilités.a fréquenter sans réserves!
Jul 31, 2014
Our stay at your campground was good. We did not spend a lot of time other than at night as we toured Chicago in the daytime but we had a good time at the campground and met a few people.
Jul 31, 2014
Camping propre et bien entretenu. Facilité d'accès à Chicago en se rendant à Crystal Lake pour prendre le train (quoi que voyages longs: 20 min. d'auto plus 90 min. de train aller, même chose au retour). Heures d'ouvertures limitées (magasin ferme à 8:00 pm). Pas trop grand camping donc tranquille. Personnel sympathique. Attractions limitées mais convenables pour les enfants.
Jul 30, 2014
very clean and well organize
Jul 30, 2014
Very well kept up campsite and pzrk, very clean and friendly staff. Only w recomendations would be ability to pick site when booking online and more room. But overall very nice stay.
Jul 30, 2014
Location-not near interstate-good! A bit far from Chicago, but ok. Friendly staff and we were happy for the pool. We loved placing our tent near the playground. Kids enjoyed both pool and 3 playsets on playground. Kind of wanted paper towels in bathroom.
Jul 29, 2014
Met our expectation.Came to your area for a wedding in Rockford. Your location was in a convenient location.There was a problem with a traffic jam, causing a late arrival to the park. That's not something you can control. You should pay some attention to the shower fixture in your public bath. It needs updating.
Jul 29, 2014
Pool was freezing, same activities every weekend. Poor customer service in most areas.Sites are to small. Fire pot wasn't cleaned for us the whole time we were there. Unhooked our straps to mow, didn't put back in. Didn't mow under our picnic table 2 weeks in a row. Allowing an at least 12 year old girl to be top less at pool, when I had 2 7 year old boys there...saying well they aren't from this
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Thanks for providing a nice kabin. A quiet, restful area.
Jul 29, 2014
Nice, clean and quiet as always. Their wifi is horrid. I couldn't get a connection on my laptop for most of the weekend and when I did it was late at night. Cable would be nice as once again we had a hard time getting TV channels except for during the evening. We will go there as it is the closest KOA to home and is great for just getting away for a bit.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
The kids had a great time! We will be back next year!
Jul 28, 2014
Office folks very friendly. Grumpy (work camper) never smiled or waved and he was driving the tractor for the kids. Dusty with wc's driving around. Compared to other KOA's 3 star.
Jul 28, 2014
Can get very crowded. Campsites are extremely close together. Hit the showers early, because they can get a little funky. It was ok for three nights, but I thought a little overpriced for what I got. Staff, however, were top notch.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
my family really enjoyed our stay at KOA!. the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. we will be back the next chance we get. thank you KOA staff!
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was friendly, restrooms clean, grounds kept nice. Did have a noisy neighbor.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
I was pleasantly suprised at how family friendly this place was! We brought my daughter, her best friend and our dog and they had a blast! I love how they have so much stuff for the kids to do. Plus accommodated to our dog as well. Friendly, helpful staff works quickly and are always willing to help as well. Will definitely be back in the future.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Very nice place. We were very satasfied with the helpful people. Some recomendations. 1. Some other KOA's pick up trash from the campground 2. The miniature golf course is in poor shape.
Jul 27, 2014
Very satisfied. However, WiFi inadequate. Full service site, sewer connection higher than trailer. Wouldn't some gravel in the pull throughs solve this?
Jul 27, 2014
Uptight check in person but there was a large group of people there. No cablr TV
Jul 27, 2014
The owners are very nice and very outgoing! The grounds are kept up and look great. They worked out a deal with the Wild West town with discounted tickets which is wonderful as well. My only one complaint was the pool isn't heated and very cold. Otherwise, it was a great stay! Did I mention how friendly the owners were?
Jul 27, 2014
Clean grounds all the way around and felt safe there too.
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay!!!
Jul 27, 2014
Clean, children-friendly, good playground and large open field to play frisbee/football/baseball. Pool is small but well maintained. Extremely helpful staff.
Jul 26, 2014
first time renting an RV and the site was perfect!
Jul 26, 2014
Great facilities
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
We felt very secure and safe. The bathrooms could use some deep cleaning.
Jul 25, 2014
The only problem we had was that the wifi was very weak and intermittent.
Jul 25, 2014
This was my 2nd time staying there. The men's room toilets were filthy. Don't want to pay $30 for a small campsite with no power. $10, maybe $15, but $30 is ridiculous, especially with filthy bathrooms. I was planning on staying there every week during summer/fall, as I would rather stay in my tent than a hotel room. But during this last trip you lost me as a customer. Never again.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Campground was very nice. Clean facilities and friendly staff. Will deffinetly go back!
Jul 23, 2014
We rented a travel trailer and it was a pleasant stay for the 2 nights. We had two issues though. One was no shade in the bunk bed window in the back. We used a small blanket on that problem. And, the toilet stool was much too low to the floor. My wife had both hip joints replaced and it was difficult for her to get up. We still like your KOA campground and will rent again.
Jul 23, 2014
Nice place, the pool was too cold for a July stay needs a solar cover or a heater
Jul 23, 2014
Everything was nice & clean. I liked the setup of the showers with the doors & bench. I just wished the water stayed on longer!
Jul 23, 2014
We arrived late (11:00 PM) and the late arrivals procedure worked well for us. The pool water was a bit on the cool side and the choices in the camp store for breakfast food items was limited. Staff were great and we got a good nights rest!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.