Chicago Northwest KOA

Open April 15 - October 17

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Email

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
Despite the very hot weather and abundance of flies, we had a great time. Met some good people and workers were great.
Sep 08, 2015
This was an amazing KOA with an AMAZING staff!! Everyone was so hospitable and welcoming! Will definitely return for our next camping trip! Loved seeing all of the warm smiles from staff!
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
I really enjoyed it. My kids enjoy it there were things for them to do and have fun. The only thing we had problems with was the flys were very bad
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean camp sites and bathrooms. Pool was very welcoming during this past hot, hot weekend. Only complaint is the volume of flies. They were ridiculous. I know that's out of your control tho.
Sep 08, 2015
1st KOA experience. We had THE BEST time! Highlights: Warm greeting upon arrival, mature trees on tent site, next to the playground, awesome announcer that made ME feel like I was at a fun kid camp (I was), GREAT activities, clean bath house, the lovely craft lady, Nettie, a nice pool. Our only regret of our 4-day stay is that we did not discover KOA sooner! Can't wait to go back!
Sep 07, 2015
Nice place very quite and the bathrooms and showers were very clean. Sites were a little small and no cable.
Sep 06, 2015
It has been over 20 years since we have stayed here and I was immediately impressed with how attractive the grounds were. Fortunately, because it was the week before the Labor Day weekend, there were only about 30 other customers and we were able the get FHU site that was satellite friendly. Also, the WIFI worked well without a lot of completion from other customers.
Sep 05, 2015
Very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights to visit Chicago for a day on a cross country road trip. We arrived late, after hours for both nights and had no issues at all getting in and getting situated in our campsite.
Sep 04, 2015
pool was dirty, after a long days drive we wanted to relax in the pool but it was not enjoyable. its a beautiful campground that we would return to
Sep 04, 2015
This campground was one of our favourites on our 9 week RV trip. The campground is clean, updated and extremely efficiently run. We did not have a dingle complaint. And, the staff were incredible. We loved everything about our stay there.
Sep 03, 2015
This was our 3rd time staying at this KOA and they have always been so helpful with information about the trains to Chicago and they showed us a way to get to Detroit that avoided going near Chicago which was so helpful. Thank you so much!
Sep 03, 2015
great place nice staff. thank you
Sep 02, 2015
Campgrounds quiet staff was friendly
Sep 02, 2015
The whole area the campsite is on is very clean we as campers can help keep it clean maybe have more activites at all age groups
Sep 02, 2015
Dirty washroom. Quiet hours not adhered too staff was rude in the store.
Sep 01, 2015
Silvia was wonderful, we'll all the staff was very nice, I would recommend this KOA for anyone in the Chicago area.
Sep 01, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
The campground was very quiet,and bathrooms and showers exceptionally clean. The pool was freezing. The flashlight candy hunt was great for the kids. Would liked to have seen more family/kid friendly events.
Sep 01, 2015
Unfortunately we were parked next to a horse trailer and we were engulfed in flies. We were in the Motorhome more than out. Also there was an angry older gentleman that worked there that was screaming at children on their bikes. He should have talked to their parents. We will return, it is a nice campground.
Aug 31, 2015
It was our 2nd time ever taking our trailer out and 1st at KOA. I was impressed.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
Office closed too early to get coins for laundry. Would recommend a change machine in the laundry area as well as longer hours for laundry facilities.
Aug 30, 2015
Aug 30, 2015
We had our grandkids (4&7) with us, they had a great time with all the kids activities. The grounds were very clean. We had a great stay and would recommend to anyone with kids.
Aug 29, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at this KOA, the staff was friendly, facilities were really clean, and there were nice activities for the kids. The showers were some of the nicest we have ever had at a campground. The advice the staff gave about taking the metra into Chicago was greatly appreciated.
Aug 29, 2015
Quiet (after 5pm when attraction next door closed), friendly staff,clean,very dog friendly, wish we could have stayed longer
Aug 29, 2015
It was like camping in someone's front lawn. Open. No privacy. Also it's gated to you have to use a key to get in and out which you have to put a deposit down for. Keep moving is my opinion.
Aug 27, 2015
pool is not handicap accessible Tent sites were very close no privacy at all
Aug 27, 2015
Very enjoyable and great car rental deal Thanks
Aug 27, 2015
The recommendation to eat at Joe 's was really helpful. Very secure feeling at this campground.
Aug 27, 2015
I loved this camping site! Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My family and I will definitely stay there again!
Aug 26, 2015
Staff was not very friendly and there was a huge fly problem.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
wonderful people....the grounds look great..nice lawn care and flowers and plants..clean restrooms and Kabin :) Thank You we will be back
Aug 25, 2015
The sites are way too close together. With only a total of 6 feet between, our picnic table was only 3 feet of the next site's water, electric and sewer. The pool was not heated so my 4 year old grandson would not swim. There were several barking dogs that continued after dark. On the positive side, they did have activities for the kids like a flashlight candy hunt and a hay wagon ride.
Aug 25, 2015
Trop proche des voisins. Trop loin de Chicago
Aug 24, 2015
We had a wonderful stay with KOA Northwest Chicago. We rented the travel trailer and it fit our needs with 4 adults and a toddler. Everyone from the time we pulled in till we left were very friendly. They had many activities planned for the kids. Especially loved the flashlight candy hunt. The restrooms and shower were very clean. Hope to stay at this location in the future.
Aug 24, 2015
Too close to the highway making it noisy all night. Also too crowded, sites too small
Aug 24, 2015
Employee service is great
Aug 24, 2015
Efficient check-in/ out. Good activities for kids. Pool was cold, defi not at 74 deg. Younger Kids could not be in pool for more than 15 mins.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. They took us directly to our site and helped us set up.Restrooms were clean and kept up at all times. Hard to do with children always around and thought staff was intent on keeping the grounds and facilities very clean and friendly. Will be back and will continue using KOA based on this experience. Thank every one very much.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice place, but a few suggestions. The flashlight candy hunt was a little unorganized. Split kids into age groups before telling them where the candy was. Half the group left and left others still listening to leader. Small kids lost in craziness of others taking off. Fix mini golf holes. The one close to road that's slanted up needs help where hazard starts and course ends. Pool water freezing.
Aug 24, 2015
very welcoming and hospitibale staff. we had a wonderful time.
Aug 24, 2015
from the moment we arrived until the minute we left. we found the grounds and staff pleasant and accommodating. With all the activities for kids and games we never even thought of leaving the grounds for anything! we cant wait for our next stay!
Aug 24, 2015
Nice campground, great location for our family to go to Day Out With Thomas and Wild West Town. Only complaint is the price, awfully pricey for a no hook-up tent site. My kids love the hayride and the flashlight candy hunt.
Aug 23, 2015
Staff very helpful, information on getting around in Chicago, large playground, improved bathrooms. Only knock is the site sizes as medium/small. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 23, 2015
We stayed here for one night while passing through the state. Pros: Clean bathrooms. Good service. Off major highway so less road noise than some KOA's. Cons: Wifi was intermittent.
Aug 23, 2015
We had a great stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Great place. We will be back another time.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps