Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Basically, everything was good, clean, pretty, friendly, and helpful. But, the lots are a little too narrow especially when such big units are next to you. Also, some of the showers did not work properly, one did not work at all and I get to get dressed again to hunt out one that did. The next day, found a shower that would not turn off and reported it. Other than that, I will try again.
Sep 02, 2014
The staff here was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze and staff helped with backing our trailer in. Activities were well organized My only complaint was that the campsites are a little tight and this caused a problem when multiple trailers were trying to leave.
Aug 31, 2014
Very nice, small campground. Well-run and mainatained.
Aug 31, 2014
pricing for one room cabins here and many other k o a locations is high. staff was real helpful in knowing the area and how metra train station works.
Aug 29, 2014
Picked this location for an overnight stay as it was close to our route on Hwy 20. First time in years that we stayed at KOA. We are used to state or provincial parks with way more room between sites. Our neighbour's picnic table was less than a foot from our tap. Too close for our liking.
Aug 29, 2014
Nice campground well laid out. Clean facilities. Pool OK. A little far from Chicago to be billed as a Chicago campground 30-45 minutes away by toll road. Cost an extra $15.00 to have the grandkids come visit us and use the pool for an hour, not used to this type of fee where we are from.
Aug 28, 2014
Very impressed with your campgrounds very clean very well taken care of . I only have one complaint as the staff that was working the front desk was not very helpfull as they the two lady's I talked to where not from Chicago or anywhere close to it so they where of no help to me for most of my questions . But they where friendly so I can't complain about unfriendly just not knowledgeable on city .
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
sites are close, neighbors sewer connections next to picnic table. But nice area, lot of attractions to see.
Aug 26, 2014
Nice campground, nice bathrooms.
Aug 25, 2014
Every time we come to this KOA we are always impressed on dedicated the people are to make our stay enjoyable and stress free. The facilities are well maintained and they have flowers all over the place.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Great little camp site. Lots to do but would be nice to have the pool heat. Quick walk to Wild West town.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
An excellent stay! A very clean, quiet, family friendly camp ground. Loved the activities for the kids and the pool. The staff was exceptionally helpful and extremely friendly. Thanks for a wonderful experience!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
The campground was beautiful. The only complaint I have is the water pressure was way too low. Very annoying.
Aug 25, 2014
Very nice and clean campground with a friendly staff. Grass area for each site was smaller than the average campground. Nice pull thru sites for large rigs.
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed 2 nights. We had a great time even though the weather was not cooperating. Everything was clean. The site was nice. Our son loved the playground and really enjoyed the Little Tyke equipment. We will definitely stay there again.
Aug 25, 2014
Friendly helpful employees who love their work.
Aug 25, 2014
I brought my two children camping for all of our first time. I was a little nervous being there without my husband with two small children. We had a wonderful experience! I felt extremely safe and as for "roughing" it this was a great place to try for your first time because they provide many amenities. The only down side was out loud neighbors but no fault of koa.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2014
Nice pool and big open fields to walk on and explore! There was also a dog walk through some trees :)
Aug 22, 2014
Very friendly staff. Pet friendly. Good sized pull thru for our 5th wheel. Visited here twice this summer. Will go again & recommend to others.
Aug 22, 2014
The wifi service can be improved and maybe offer wifi printing services. Happy the store opened after hours for ice cream for our son. Toilets are clean. No restaurant and deeper pool is only reason not to rate 5 stars.Overall three and half
Aug 21, 2014
The website doesn't say the campground is in the middle of a trailer park. I pulled in and just didn't like the whole setup; cancelled the reservation and left.
Aug 20, 2014
asked for, paid for 50 amp, got 30 amp. not accommodated at all.
Aug 20, 2014
We were there for 2 nights but gone most of the days. We were impressed by how clean the campground was. We didn't have time to enjoy any of the many amenities.
Aug 19, 2014
Well cared for, clean, beautiful plantings, generous sized campsites, amenities that make camping easy and comfortable!!!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Nice clean KOA with plenty of perks. Well organized and operated.
Aug 19, 2014
stayed here two nights coming and going on a trip out west, liked the escort service to your site as this can sometimes be confusing
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Everything about this KOA was great. Except a couple of campers ruining it for everyone by not abiding by the quiet hours. Our second night someone came around to remind them about the 11 time coming up. That helped. I wish someone had done this the first night. Otherwise we had a great time. There was so much to keep the kids busy. We all had a blast! Thanks!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Camp globalement bien tenu, on a regretté que seule une douche sur les 5 disponibles dans le bâtiment annexe fonctionne
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
wonderful activities for kids and the adjacent cowboy attraction and train museum near by make this place one of te best in the country
Aug 18, 2014
Nice campground. Surprised at how busy it was. Arrived late and got the last site. Everything was nice - bathrooms/pool/sites.
Aug 18, 2014
This campground is great, exactly what you would expect from KOA, except for one thing. When my girlfriend and I were checking in, the ladies behind the counter seemed to think it was not ok for myself (21 years old) to take my girlfriend (19 years old) out for a weekend camping trip. We were accosted about our age, treated like children, and threatened with eviction if we "caused any problems".
Aug 18, 2014
We had a great stay with our granddaughter(4) and grandson (2). We enjoyed the pool and the short distance to Wild West Town. Very clean!
Aug 17, 2014
Good camp ground
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This is the closest campground we could find to Chicago. It takes 25 min to drive to the train plus 1h30 min to get into downtown. Nice to have wifi but the bandwidth is limited so don't count on it.
Aug 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.