Chicago Northwest KOA

Open April 14 - October 16

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Email

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2017
The only downside is the costs. Very expensive for everything from sites to items in store. The amenities were nice and bathhouses superior. Sites a little crammed together but that is koa typical i hear. Staff was friendly and the activities were plentiful. Overall the stay was great and we will visit again in the future.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
We stayed in one of the renal trailers (#62). We found it clean, comfortable and well equipped, only thing missing was a coffee pot; fortunately we brought one. Bath house was always clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again in the future.
Aug 07, 2017
Entrance should be wider for large motor homes. The office is on the back side of the building and could be more assessable if it was on the front. Unable to find the drop box to leave the gate card so had to go around the building to leave it in the office. Just suggestions. Otherwise, it was neart and clean with helpful guidance to our parking place. Very nice. Hope to stay there again.
Aug 07, 2017
Had a great time. Staff very helpful & Friendly. Camp Grounds very clean, though wish your Theater was open to see a movie. Overall had a very nice time....Was our 1st time there too!!!!
Aug 07, 2017
Our stay was wonderful as always!!!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Excellent, clean, friendly staff, plenty of things to do....
Aug 07, 2017
first time to take our new camper out. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the escort to our site was great, relieved a little tension of finding it. the fire wood and ice delivery worked out great seeing as to how I didn't want to put the wood into the camper. Site was fairly level and easy to get set up. the campgrounds itself was clean and lots of activitys for kids.
Aug 07, 2017
Nice clean campground, friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2017
The campground itself is nice and the staff is pleasant and helpful. There are activities for the kids, the pool was nice and the showers and washrooms were clean. The campsites are way too close together. I did not care for eating at our picnic table with our neighbor's sewer line just a few feet. Also, after he left, there was no plug on the sewer drain.
Aug 07, 2017
Clean and friendly. Okay for some, but to our family it felt like camping at a festival! So noisy, way too many lights, piped-through music and announcements - it just wasn't that pleasant. The sites are also right on top of each other. We'll be looking for somewhere else next time.
Aug 07, 2017
Chose this campground to try out our new trailer. Made reservations the night before and the process was easy. Check-in was a breeze. The campgrounds were clean, had fun activities and the people were friendly. Glad we tried it!
Aug 06, 2017
Sites are too close together. Pool is too small.
Aug 06, 2017
The owner was very friendly and helpful. Our site was skinny and muddy. Lots of mosquitoes. Did not like hearing the shooting from the Wild West place next door.
Aug 05, 2017
First time to stay in an RV, could feel nothing but the springs in the mattress of the queen bed. Tub floor seemed unstable so used shower house and hardly any hot water and then nothing but. Very low water pressure as well.
Aug 04, 2017
The owners were extremely cordial and helpful they even replaced firewood that was stolen from my site while I was in town working. This property is very well maintained.
Aug 04, 2017
Everything is clean and good about this campground I really enjoyed the time there the only negative is on the tent side is so close to the road . At night you can hear every single car passing by I woke up several times but the place is clean great friendly stuff and so secure.
Aug 04, 2017
Staff was friendly and every thing was clean.
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
although the camping spaces for RV is somewhat tight all was ok. One suggestion is there should be a way to keep the roadway dust down on dry days..i.e. a small water buffalo. Roadways kicking up mucho dust. all else acceptable
Aug 01, 2017
Very friendly people. Very clean kampground. The only issue is having one drive in and out. Could be dangerous if two campers are coming opposite ways.
Aug 01, 2017
Had a great time very nice Campground nice people there lots of activities we will be back again someday
Aug 01, 2017
The park was nice. The only issue we had was the location of the dog park. The low level is swampy leading to a festation of mosquitoes that followed us back to to our space leaving welts on our face, neck and arms. We avoided this area the remainder of our stay. We also felt this park is pricey compared to the many koa parks we stay at.
Aug 01, 2017
Great activities for the kids to do. The entrance road to the camp ground is like a one lane road. Also, entrance for the office is on the back side of the building away from the road. Causing a back up on the road to get in for cars and campers. The camp sites are a little narrow.
Aug 01, 2017
I could not be more happy with this campsite. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Was not happy that the one family that camped right next to us thought it was perfectly fine to walk thru our campsite. Other than that, I will most definitely be back.
Aug 01, 2017
5th year nuff said
Aug 01, 2017
Wish the sites where a little bigger and the hookups where at the end of the lot not in the middle otherwise pieceful and clean campground I would go back again!
Aug 01, 2017
Wonderful new showers and clean facility and PERFECT staff
Jul 31, 2017
We had a great time, and we enjoyed staying in a rented trailer for the weekend. It was comfortable and fun. However, when we arrived, there was a thin layer of dust over the surfaces in the kitchen, so I would recommend that someone come in to do a quick dusting on the Thursday or Friday before new guests arrive on the weekend. Otherwise, no complaints. It was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Everything we've come to expect from a KOA. We were here three years ago, and they have made a lot of nice additions since then, including a new jump pad and playground. Great for families with kids.
Jul 31, 2017
The bathroom is clean and updated. There were so many kids and kid- friendly activities at this campground. Our group had a great time.
Jul 31, 2017
Maiden voyage of our new motor home. Enjoyed your park, however it was expensive.
Jul 31, 2017
Overall this KOA is very good. Clean and nice people. We stayed in a pull through site. There is a lot of traffic due to so many coming and going. Pool is small and good for school age kids. Noise from old West 'shoot out' affected my dog.
Jul 31, 2017
The campground was very clean and well kept. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is internet access. Great signal between the laptop and the router, but internet access was almost nil. For weekenders, fine, but for those who travel for the summer, not so fine. Campgrounds are doing their guests a disfavor by advertising WIFI without internet service.
Jul 31, 2017
We had a great weekend at KOA. This is a our first visit back in a few years and love the addition of the poly-pong and gaga ball. Bathrooms and campground was clean. The campground was full but still had a great family feel.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
More Free activities
Jul 31, 2017
We had a great time. Loved all the kids activities. We appreciate how accommodating and nice the staff were. The only downside pertained to other campers who were inconsiderate. Despite that, we would go back. 🏕
Jul 31, 2017
Very clean, lots of kid stuff Loud at night, sites are very close
Jul 31, 2017
Nice camp in rural Illinois, friendly staff showing the site but also lots of mosquitoes and $5 extra (never happened to us at other KOA) if you don't have a reservation.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Very clean and nice
Jul 29, 2017
Nice camp ground :) bathrooms were clean, grounds were nice.
Jul 28, 2017
We would have rated this a "5", which we have done in the past, except that we had an issue with the wifi. We spoke to a KOA rep who indicated that one of the routers was broken. For the 10 days we were there it was unusable.
Jul 28, 2017
warm friendly employees.
Jul 28, 2017
Expensive campground, a lot of noise and wifi, that only works for emails. But the rest was nice.
Jul 27, 2017
Nicely run campground with courteous and helpful staff. Typical close sites but picnic table and fire ring. Heavy rain storms create a problem for water run off and camp roads can go under water even one campsite had at least a foot of water all around the trailer and this included the power pole!
Jul 27, 2017
The grandkids loved the new play area items, and myself and my daughter appreciated the cleanliness of the camp and the courtesy of the staff. Thank you for a fun visit!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals