Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2013
Very clean campground with friendly staff.
Aug 28, 2013
Great campground! Family friendly. Excellent staff. Plenty of wooded sites. Reasonably priced.
Aug 27, 2013
Need some larger cabins. Noisy near Wild West World. The gun shooting show noise scared my little dog. Small campground. Water is not fresh into RV.
Aug 27, 2013
Very nice, clean well run campground.
Aug 27, 2013
This is one of the best KOA's! We will stay here again! Very clean very nice. Like that the rules are enforced.
Aug 27, 2013
Nicely manicured, clean and quiet. Friendly people, escort to your site. Just wish they had a fenced dog area, but plenty of grass for a dog walk.
Aug 26, 2013
The Host's and their staff make you feel like part of a family.
Aug 26, 2013
Campground is nice. Well maintained but bathrooms need updating. The width of the spot they gave us was smaller than others & next to a seasonal trailer & our awning almost touched the slide next to us. There were emply spots all weekend that were bigger so I don't get why they gave us that spot because we had made a reservation a month in advance.
Aug 26, 2013
The price was reasonable. The campground was very clean, and there was plenty there to do for the kids. I will definitely come back again.
Aug 26, 2013
We were warmly greeted with hash browns to cook for breakfast upon entry into the campgrounds. All the staff were so friendly and inviting. They were genuinely cared how our stay was and if they could assist us in any way. Our campsite was perfect and the ground so comfortable for sleeping. Better than any 5 star hotel.
Aug 26, 2013
I felt the Campground was clean and the staff was extremely helpful. I liked moving to my site first and setting up, then going back to register; it was easier on my family. I did feel the sites were pretty close together and there wasn't a lot of room for my kids to plan without feeling I was intruding on someone else's space.
Aug 26, 2013
Only thing bad was not enough yard space. Bath and showers great and clean. Very relaxing. The plug did not work for extension cord to plug in, Comment was most do not work or were disconnected.
Aug 26, 2013
The accommodations were extremely clean, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and they were always around asking if we needed anything! I loved it!
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was pretty nice, however one of the owners was a little rude with us. Additionally the Wild Wet Town next door had a concert going until around midnight which made sleep a little difficult.
Aug 26, 2013
good site. People opened office as we were late arriving. Thank you we really appreciated it.
Aug 26, 2013
The team there welcomes all campers like one of their own family. Making all feel welcome when they camp their.
Aug 25, 2013
I expected the camp to be significantly closer to Chicago. The KOA was fine with good amenities; just not where I anticipated it.
Aug 25, 2013
It's a convenient location to all things Chicago and suburbs, yet takes you away from the hectic pace for a relaxing easy pace. This KOA has improved greatly with new ownership.
Aug 25, 2013
Everything was just great. The swimming pool water was a bit too cold and the mattresses were too hard making it had to sleep and waking up with a sore back in the morning. Otherwise we had a wonderful time. Thanks a lot.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
seul défaut pull trhu pas toujours au niveau bcp de difficultés à ajuster le niveau
Aug 24, 2013
Another great stay in Union. Thanks for another great weekend. See ya again soon
Aug 24, 2013
Sorry to say I give the cg only 2 stars. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But The park's water had a bad smell and it was cloudy and had a faint yellow color which my water filter did not help to remove. Lastly I could only use cold water in their washing machines and their dryers only blew cold air during the delicate and regular cycles.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
WONDERFUL....THANK YOU
Aug 22, 2013
Nice folks, extremely clean grounds and facilities. New owner's upgrades are well thought out and are helping to restore this great location.
Aug 21, 2013
helpful kindly person some of them speak german:) clean restrooms and showers, bookexchange DVD for rent. And we enjoyed to go with the train to chicago its a long way 90 min, but great to do that
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
This is a nice park. Well maintained and clean. Nice staff. A country setting in the Chicago area. Wi-fi being a little sketchy is the only drawback.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
The grounds are extremely well maintained, lots of activities for the kids.and the hosts and staff were friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great time, great staff, very clean and organized.
Aug 19, 2013
Great fun with 2 grandsons.Loved the cabin! Very family and kid orientated! Unfortunatley ice cream social was scheduled before we had dinner so we missed it. Loved our stay...will be back!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Grounds were clean & well kept. Lots of fun activities for kids. Staff was very nice. We would definitely stay again. However, the campsites were really close together with no privacy. Disappointed that the pool was too cold to swim in, as I thought it mentioned heated pool. The bathrooms were a bit dated but they did good job of keeping them fairly clean. Overall very nice!
Aug 19, 2013
had a good time
Aug 19, 2013
WONDERFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF!! The only thing we would have changed was that there was no adult swim for maybe the last hour the pool was open. There were too many kids in all day and not much room. It would be nice for the adults with no children to enjoy the pool too. Also, since there were so many kids in the pool, the pool was closed all day the next day because of the high levels of bacteria
Aug 19, 2013
Everything was nice except the pool. It was so cold it made swimming an unpleasant experience. I would not bring my grandkids here.
Aug 19, 2013
Tent sites too close and crowded, way too much noise at night - esp the concert at Wild West Town and highway >50yds away. Seemingly little enforcement of quiet hours. Son loved playground and pool. (though unheated, hello hypothermia)
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Bathrooms well maintained - nice private showers, lots of activities for kids, well maintained pool , next door to Wild West Town a plus, sites were nice although alittle tight. Felt very safe lots of patrol and friendly hosts - will frequent site in the coming months and years.
Aug 19, 2013
Weird configuration of elect/h2o on neighboring spot. Had great site near shower/restroom. Spot was a little small. Liked planned activities 4 kids. Will bring grandkids back next year. Great campground for families.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
I have stayed here in years past but may not be returning. The showers and Men's room in the full hookup area were never cleaned acceptably despite the checklist being signed off as evidenced by pubic hair and dirt on the toilets. Only one of the three sinks had a faucet that would stay on briefly to conserve water. The other two had to be held down manually a total pain.
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. I was a little surprised at how full the campground was when we arrived. The bathrooms reflected the high traffic. But it was peaceful never the less, and the staff had planned lots of exciting events for campers. Overall it was a very nice visit!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
We have a super camping weekend
Aug 17, 2013
Nice campground. We did a day trip to downtown Chicago. Wanted to do the nearby train museum, but didn't have time. Quiet and clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.