Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2012
Awesome Campground - very friendly owners and fellow campers. The night candy HUNT was great fun. Thanks.
Sep 25, 2012
Shower heads & water pressure need addressing. That might have gotten this Kampground 5 stars. Also being that the nearest coffee stop is miles away it would have been nice to get coffee in the morning at the office. Other than those 2 small things, we loved the park! Very clean, very friendly.
Sep 25, 2012
Worst KOA I have every stayed at. The staff was not friendly at all!
Sep 24, 2012
We had a good time walking around. We appreciated the coupon offers/tickets -it saved us real money and that was nice. The site, we stayed on (site 90) I wish we could have faced the other way as my front end was sloping down, other campers in our group (there was 4 of us) mentioned the same thing. Two of them had the front wheels off the ground. My class "C" required 2 boards under the tires.
Sep 24, 2012
We were a party of 7 in two RV's. We had booked the campground as it was the closest to our RV drop off depot. It was a great place to stay, we had the pool to ourselves, the laundry room was clean as were the showers. Although the wild west park next door to the campsite was closed the bar/restaurant was still open and we spent a very enjoyable night in there.
Sep 24, 2012
Good location out of the city but the owners were a tad "off" and made the 7 girls I was with a little uncomfortable.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
A little noisy from the restaurant / bar next door plus campers not observing quiet time and kids running loose in the playground.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
Advertised wireless internet did not work in the cabins. Pool was closed too early. Extra charge for air conditioning did not seem right given the price already paid.
Sep 19, 2012
good facility, nice staff, my camp site was a little trashy, not fond of press button showers for the daily price charged, but all in all a good camp.
Sep 18, 2012
Positive first...It was a near perfect experience at this KOA. I am a bit disappointed that we were not made aware of the Wild West Discount Tix. We took SEVEN people there on Saturday. 30% would of been a HUGE discount. I am also upset we did not get 30% off for the second nite, the 3 sites that we stayed at that weekend. That would of been a nice savings for us! But..in the end..FABULOUS stay
Sep 18, 2012
As usual Tom and Sylvia wasted no time in making me feel comfortable at my favorite campground. I immediately noticed the hard work and extra efforts they have performed since my last stay. New Benches, new firepits, lovely flowers and a fresh coat of paint everywhere. The staff, as usual, always displays the friendly spirit which I have come to expect from KOA. I feel like a part owner.
Sep 18, 2012
Very nice sites with friendly and supportive staff. The campground is very well organized making our first ever camping trip a breeze.
Sep 18, 2012
Nice campground so close to the Big City
Sep 17, 2012
It was good to have the late night candy hunt and Ice Cream Social
Sep 17, 2012
We have enjoyed our stay for the third time this summer. We appreciate your warm hospitality. We love that you have activities for the kids and the deal you made with the Wild West Town. Thank you for your loving efforts to keep the campground a fun place to stay.
Sep 17, 2012
I was there for a local dog competition so was tenting for the long weekend. The people running it were very nice and very helpful, the grounds were clean. I loved the designated dog walking area. I didn't like having music blasting over the loud speakers and the frequent announcements of an icecream social. I want to camp in peace and quiet which I had until Sat night when the loudspeakerstarted.
Sep 17, 2012
very nice campground grounds and bathrooms are kept very clean alot of activities for kids the hosts are super nice great place
Sep 17, 2012
Weather couldn't have been nicer. Really enjoyed the all you can eat Ice-cream social. Kids enjoyed the flashlight hunt for candy too. Food at the Western Steakhouse was great!And we could even walk to the Saloon. Didn't have time to visit the Wild West Town. The dog run was one of the nicest I have seen. Planning on another family campout there next year. Art & Judie Kruegel
Sep 17, 2012
Very friendly, and great for kids! Thanks!
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
The campground was clean, the staff was friendly, and the activities for the kids were great. What a nice weekend!
Sep 17, 2012
Loved this location and the staff were very friendly. The only downside is that the sites are way too small.
Sep 17, 2012
Great owners! Clean grounds..
Sep 17, 2012
Place is really nice and near from Chicago but the only problem was it's so hard to sleep at night due to the busy road. Tent area is right beside the busy road.
Sep 16, 2012
$6 for a bundle of wood criminal
Sep 12, 2012
Only drawback was having to listen to a horrendous band playing outside next door on Saturday night. Happy it rained so we didn't have to listen until 10:00. Otherwise it was a great camping experience and facility.
Sep 11, 2012
Staff members are very friendly and helpful. Grounds are clean and with ample space between sites. Very nice to be on the outskirts of Chicago and the Metra system is close by making visiting the City very enjoyable, cost efficient and time saving.
Sep 11, 2012
Our camp host is the best - and so is the campsite. As a result of our stay there, we renewed our KOA membership and will be staying at more KOAs. Thank you Thomas for all your help. We really appreciate the option to store our RV while we visit friends. Perfect!
Sep 10, 2012
The very best owners in KOA and a great park. Highly recommended!
Sep 10, 2012
It was good. Everything was in good shape. The hosts were nice. No obvious upkeep issues. I give it an A-. I saw the Swiss Chalet theme mentioned a little on this KOA's website, but I didn't really see any evidence of that now that I think about it. I didn't really look, though.
Sep 10, 2012
Great campground. Even better was the complete 180 degree turnaround in the atmosphere. The last time I was here it felt like a prison camp, but new ownership has has brought back the KOA standards that I'm used to. Thanks for a great weekend. See ya in the Spring cuz we'll definitely be back.
Sep 10, 2012
We had a great time. Loved the park setup. The bathrooms were amazing! We will definately be back. thanks for everything
Sep 09, 2012
the park is fine - but it is fees paid that cause us to rate poorly. we stayed here because it was on our travel route and had full hook ups. fyi: the next night, we paid $15.50 for the same services (50 amp, water, sewer, internet).
Sep 09, 2012
Sep 08, 2012
Staff was friendly. Premises were kept very nice. Water quality was terrible. Even with using two water filters, the water had brown residue which stained the sinks, bathtub and toilet. There was a bad odor to the water and it tasted terrible.
Sep 07, 2012
Sep 07, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 05, 2012
The campground owner is actively engaged in the operation of the facility and it shows. Beautiful place.
Sep 05, 2012
i love koa its my favorite place to camp
Sep 04, 2012
People very helpful. Location was much further than it read on line. Two hour train to town or three hour drive. I would have appreciated more honesty.
Sep 04, 2012
This was our best stay in five years. GREAT hospitality, VERY CLEAN grounds and facilities! The staff is great! Thank you!
Sep 04, 2012
people great water was horrid!!!!!
Sep 04, 2012
A little for from the northwest suburbs to be called Chicago Northwest, but otherwise very clean, friendly staff, convenient rental car accomodations. The only thing we did not like was charging for visitors to the site. Would definatley stay again.
Sep 03, 2012
Sep 02, 2012
Sep 02, 2012
Sep 02, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.