Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 28, 2013
Owners were exceptionally helpful. Went well beyond the norm to accomodate our needs and to assist other campers also. Good facilities. Overal quiet with no interstate road noise. Would high recommend this to anyone staying Chicago area
Nov 03, 2012
clean, friendly staff
Nov 03, 2012
great clean facility all employees extremely friendly and helpful
Oct 29, 2012
Campground hosts were very helpful in assisting us with our R.V. problems.
Oct 28, 2012
Oct 27, 2012
Oct 26, 2012
Nice cabin but we lost power twice. The first time they were able to reset it. Unfortunately, the second time was at 11p so we were out of luck. To make matters worse the temp dropped to the 30's.....no heat VERYcold!!
Oct 23, 2012
We really enjoyed our visit here. Great employees (except for that one mean old woman!) Beautiful location and lots of fun stuff to do!
Oct 13, 2012
We are seasonal campers. This was our 4th season, and our best experience so far. The new owners made a huge difference. We look forward to next year!!
Oct 13, 2012
Oct 10, 2012
Wood seemed a little pricey. Fit our needs for a fall weekend trip, but think sites are too close to be comfortable for a summer campout. Very friendly and nice staff.
Oct 10, 2012
Cute campground. Very clean and friendly staff. Fire wood was pretty expensive.
Oct 08, 2012
Great service and very friendly staff. Been here before but it's changed since the new ownership great people great place to stay!
Oct 08, 2012
very friendly
Oct 08, 2012
Hosts are friendly and helpful. We had some problems with post electrical outlets not working.
Oct 08, 2012
Oct 06, 2012
People were friendly I enjoyed my stay!
Oct 03, 2012
The sites are small. Our neighbors were noisy,Donnelly's next door very loud. Facility-clean, cabin-beautiful, park lots of fun.
Oct 03, 2012
The sites are too close and too small-the utilities for the next site are in your site.
Oct 01, 2012
The grounds are much cleaner and the kabins were spotless. The nice touches of the pumpkin decorations were lovely.
Oct 01, 2012
The staff was very nice and helpful. The facilities were nice and clean. The property was nice and had fun things for the kids to do. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Oct 01, 2012
Water quality was very poor by comparision to earlier stays...hope it gets better when drought ends. Also, 30% savings on second night was not applied per Donley's special...noticed after we got home, not a deal breaker, but annoying.
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
It is nice place to stay. We have enjoied bonfire in early autum night. Only thing we did'nt like was music from next of camp site.
Sep 30, 2012
It was conveniently located near our destination. Was disapointed that the Ice cream social was cancelled because it was too cold. Never too cold for ice cream.
Sep 29, 2012
A little noisy overnight from the trucks next door.
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
nette Schweizer
Sep 27, 2012
Sep 26, 2012
Great KOA in the Chicago area. Very clean and well maintained with a friendly staff. Water was TERRIBLY rusty.
Sep 26, 2012
Fine except water has strong taste plus odor of iron. The security gate is good but unhandy for.visitors. Very clean.
Sep 25, 2012
Awesome Campground - very friendly owners and fellow campers. The night candy HUNT was great fun. Thanks.
Sep 25, 2012
Shower heads & water pressure need addressing. That might have gotten this Kampground 5 stars. Also being that the nearest coffee stop is miles away it would have been nice to get coffee in the morning at the office. Other than those 2 small things, we loved the park! Very clean, very friendly.
Sep 25, 2012
Worst KOA I have every stayed at. The staff was not friendly at all!
Sep 24, 2012
We had a good time walking around. We appreciated the coupon offers/tickets -it saved us real money and that was nice. The site, we stayed on (site 90) I wish we could have faced the other way as my front end was sloping down, other campers in our group (there was 4 of us) mentioned the same thing. Two of them had the front wheels off the ground. My class "C" required 2 boards under the tires.
Sep 24, 2012
We were a party of 7 in two RV's. We had booked the campground as it was the closest to our RV drop off depot. It was a great place to stay, we had the pool to ourselves, the laundry room was clean as were the showers. Although the wild west park next door to the campsite was closed the bar/restaurant was still open and we spent a very enjoyable night in there.
Sep 24, 2012
Good location out of the city but the owners were a tad "off" and made the 7 girls I was with a little uncomfortable.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
A little noisy from the restaurant / bar next door plus campers not observing quiet time and kids running loose in the playground.
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
Advertised wireless internet did not work in the cabins. Pool was closed too early. Extra charge for air conditioning did not seem right given the price already paid.
Sep 19, 2012
good facility, nice staff, my camp site was a little trashy, not fond of press button showers for the daily price charged, but all in all a good camp.
Sep 18, 2012
Positive first...It was a near perfect experience at this KOA. I am a bit disappointed that we were not made aware of the Wild West Discount Tix. We took SEVEN people there on Saturday. 30% would of been a HUGE discount. I am also upset we did not get 30% off for the second nite, the 3 sites that we stayed at that weekend. That would of been a nice savings for us! But..in the end..FABULOUS stay
Sep 18, 2012
As usual Tom and Sylvia wasted no time in making me feel comfortable at my favorite campground. I immediately noticed the hard work and extra efforts they have performed since my last stay. New Benches, new firepits, lovely flowers and a fresh coat of paint everywhere. The staff, as usual, always displays the friendly spirit which I have come to expect from KOA. I feel like a part owner.
Sep 18, 2012
Very nice sites with friendly and supportive staff. The campground is very well organized making our first ever camping trip a breeze.
Sep 18, 2012
Nice campground so close to the Big City
Sep 17, 2012
It was good to have the late night candy hunt and Ice Cream Social
Sep 17, 2012
We have enjoyed our stay for the third time this summer. We appreciate your warm hospitality. We love that you have activities for the kids and the deal you made with the Wild West Town. Thank you for your loving efforts to keep the campground a fun place to stay.
Sep 17, 2012
I was there for a local dog competition so was tenting for the long weekend. The people running it were very nice and very helpful, the grounds were clean. I loved the designated dog walking area. I didn't like having music blasting over the loud speakers and the frequent announcements of an icecream social. I want to camp in peace and quiet which I had until Sat night when the loudspeakerstarted.
Sep 17, 2012
very nice campground grounds and bathrooms are kept very clean alot of activities for kids the hosts are super nice great place

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.