Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2013
Great facilities. Sleeping was difficult with car alarms, alarm clocks, and security alarms(from wild west town) going off ALL NIGHT LONG.
Aug 16, 2013
we had a wonderful time. Sylvia and Thomas go way "above and beyond" creating an environment that allows campers to feel comfortable and have fun. they have also instilled this philosophy in all of their workers, as everyone is so friendly and accomadating. Hats off to Sylvia, Thomas, and the whole crew.
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful grounds and facilities. Friendly folks. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 15, 2013
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Restrooms and showers very clean. Water pressure not very strong in showers.
Aug 15, 2013
Campground was well maintained and clean. Somewhat quiet as we stayed Sunday thru Wednesday.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
I loved all the activities for the kids! Will book again!
Aug 13, 2013
need back flow preventor other than that stuff very good
Aug 13, 2013
Very family oriented. Great quick getaway if it's less than an hour drive..The site's are a bit closer together than I would've prefer, Also even though dogs are aloud it'd be nice if they had play area for dogs rather leashed the whole time. Easy camping especially when you have little kids. It'd also be nice too if there was a lifeguard at the pool so parent's could relax. We'd like go again!!
Aug 13, 2013
I realize that not many handicapped people go camping, but there could be simple modifications to make it a little easier. A second set of toilets closer to the campers near the highway would also be nice. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised, it is quite some time since I was last camping, the bathroom was clean and the cabin nicer than I expected. Thank you.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The staff very friendly and helpful. Lots are pretty small. Didn't have room to set up ladder toss or any other games. The bathrooms could be cleaner. Last day there watched man go into Men's restroom and less than 2 minutes later came out and marked down that it was cleaned. I am not sure that the showers were cleaned at all the week that we were there. The park is quiet.
Aug 12, 2013
Loud neighbors past quiet time didn't start asking for quiet until at least 1230 and had to ask three times. Candy hunt big kids missed out in the candy because the little kids got it all.
Aug 12, 2013
it was very clean and the staff was nice they need more activities for the kids i would tell my friends and family about this campground hope to come soon
Aug 12, 2013
Our family went for the weekend in hopes to have a relaxing time. The place was clean but very small, so your neighbor was literally a few feet away. Our first night was horrible, we had a camper (right next to us) who decided that they were going to party all night! We didn't get any sleep and although the workers tried to shut them up they continued until 2am in the morning.not going there again
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Our tent was right next to the busy road and was very loud. There were not many activities for adults. The other KOA's have more things to do. I was disappointed we couldn't have a different camp site. The two bundles of wood we bought were wet and wouldn't light. We came here for our 5th anniversary and was a little disappointing.
Aug 12, 2013
We did it for our boys and they loved it. I and my husband had a good time as well, but there is one thing I'd like to be improved - the bathrooms:). We would like to come some time next year.
Aug 12, 2013
The staff were considerate and informed us of all the benefits and accomadtions, it was very clean, and well organized. It felt safe, and that was important for me with two smal children.
Aug 12, 2013
4 Stars, only because of the dusty gravel roads that some people drive too fast on. And also the noise you endure from the Wild West town. Including the employees at the Wild West Town on a Sunday Morning screaming at other employees "god da*n it shut that f'ing water off. Not good for kids to hear. One of the guys driving the carts would stop and give us puzzles to solve, what a hoot! Loved it!
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great time with my 10 year old son and great niece. We only stayed for 2 nights but it was just a midweek get away from Chicago And a trip to wild west town. Great that you have discounted tickets and our cabin was at the walk way to the wild west town.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice enough camp ground and wonderful management that enforces the rules, but for me it was a pricey site for what you get for camping. It was clean and comfortable, great place for families for sure.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice campground. Great and friendly staff
Aug 12, 2013
The staff was extremely helpful & friendly!!
Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly staff and accommodating. The grounds and facility's are very clean and well taken care of. Pride is put into this KOA and it shows!
Aug 12, 2013
Good facilities, overcrowded for our taste.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
WE DIDN'T LIKE THAT KIND OF SHOWER
Aug 10, 2013
KOA was very nice. Only real issue we had were with the laundry. Quite pricey compared to other campgrounds and once you turned on dryer, sign said you couldn't open until done. washrooms could use updating. Everything was clean and the people working there were very friendly.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
we loved the closeness to Chicago. We liked the very friendly and helpful staff and the clean facilities. We also liked the security.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Nice clean place. The owner, Thomas doesn't smile but he runs a taught and well organized ship. Could use cable though.
Aug 09, 2013
We stayed a few days at this KOA. The KOA campground is very country oriented and the staff was extremely courteous and helpful during my stay. The site had ample room and was very comfortable. All amenities were clean and very well kept. The Wild West steakhouse next to the campground serves a very delicious rib eye for all you steak lovers. I will be staying at this KOA again!!
Aug 09, 2013
Very helpful staff. We are new to camping and they helped us immensely both pulling in and what to do when we found a flat on the new trailer. We will certainly visit again.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Very good campground. The site, grounds and pool area are very well maintained. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only area for improvement would be larger sites.
Aug 08, 2013
Extremely clean and well taken care of
Aug 07, 2013
We had a great time at KOA, definitely going to plan a return trip.
Aug 07, 2013
We had family visitors while there, and the whole family was disappointed that visitors were charged extra to come in even though we had paid for a camp site. Just another way for you to make money. Why be so greedy? You already charge more for your campsites than most other campgrounds.
Aug 07, 2013
My grandson had a wonderful time with all the activities you provide, but we were disapointed with our campsite. It was not the size I ordered. I ordered one with 50 amp., but I realy only needed 30 amp, but was told those sites were gone, but was charged for the 50 amp.
Aug 06, 2013
The whole campground was very well maintained. The workers were all very pleasant and willing to help.
Aug 06, 2013
The showers in the out building in the back could use more water pressure. Also, sinks with a faucet that stays running instead of shutting off. Cheaper firewood!
Aug 06, 2013
when checking out if there is more then one checking out there is on where to park
Aug 06, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.