Chicago Northwest KOA

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 26, 2013
good site. People opened office as we were late arriving. Thank you we really appreciated it.
Aug 26, 2013
The team there welcomes all campers like one of their own family. Making all feel welcome when they camp their.
Aug 25, 2013
I expected the camp to be significantly closer to Chicago. The KOA was fine with good amenities; just not where I anticipated it.
Aug 25, 2013
It's a convenient location to all things Chicago and suburbs, yet takes you away from the hectic pace for a relaxing easy pace. This KOA has improved greatly with new ownership.
Aug 25, 2013
Everything was just great. The swimming pool water was a bit too cold and the mattresses were too hard making it had to sleep and waking up with a sore back in the morning. Otherwise we had a wonderful time. Thanks a lot.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
seul défaut pull trhu pas toujours au niveau bcp de difficultés à ajuster le niveau
Aug 24, 2013
Another great stay in Union. Thanks for another great weekend. See ya again soon
Aug 24, 2013
Sorry to say I give the cg only 2 stars. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But The park's water had a bad smell and it was cloudy and had a faint yellow color which my water filter did not help to remove. Lastly I could only use cold water in their washing machines and their dryers only blew cold air during the delicate and regular cycles.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
WONDERFUL....THANK YOU
Aug 22, 2013
Nice folks, extremely clean grounds and facilities. New owner's upgrades are well thought out and are helping to restore this great location.
Aug 21, 2013
helpful kindly person some of them speak german:) clean restrooms and showers, bookexchange DVD for rent. And we enjoyed to go with the train to chicago its a long way 90 min, but great to do that
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
This is a nice park. Well maintained and clean. Nice staff. A country setting in the Chicago area. Wi-fi being a little sketchy is the only drawback.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
The grounds are extremely well maintained, lots of activities for the kids.and the hosts and staff were friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great time, great staff, very clean and organized.
Aug 19, 2013
Great fun with 2 grandsons.Loved the cabin! Very family and kid orientated! Unfortunatley ice cream social was scheduled before we had dinner so we missed it. Loved our stay...will be back!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Grounds were clean & well kept. Lots of fun activities for kids. Staff was very nice. We would definitely stay again. However, the campsites were really close together with no privacy. Disappointed that the pool was too cold to swim in, as I thought it mentioned heated pool. The bathrooms were a bit dated but they did good job of keeping them fairly clean. Overall very nice!
Aug 19, 2013
had a good time
Aug 19, 2013
WONDERFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF!! The only thing we would have changed was that there was no adult swim for maybe the last hour the pool was open. There were too many kids in all day and not much room. It would be nice for the adults with no children to enjoy the pool too. Also, since there were so many kids in the pool, the pool was closed all day the next day because of the high levels of bacteria
Aug 19, 2013
Everything was nice except the pool. It was so cold it made swimming an unpleasant experience. I would not bring my grandkids here.
Aug 19, 2013
Tent sites too close and crowded, way too much noise at night - esp the concert at Wild West Town and highway >50yds away. Seemingly little enforcement of quiet hours. Son loved playground and pool. (though unheated, hello hypothermia)
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Bathrooms well maintained - nice private showers, lots of activities for kids, well maintained pool , next door to Wild West Town a plus, sites were nice although alittle tight. Felt very safe lots of patrol and friendly hosts - will frequent site in the coming months and years.
Aug 19, 2013
Weird configuration of elect/h2o on neighboring spot. Had great site near shower/restroom. Spot was a little small. Liked planned activities 4 kids. Will bring grandkids back next year. Great campground for families.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
I have stayed here in years past but may not be returning. The showers and Men's room in the full hookup area were never cleaned acceptably despite the checklist being signed off as evidenced by pubic hair and dirt on the toilets. Only one of the three sinks had a faucet that would stay on briefly to conserve water. The other two had to be held down manually a total pain.
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. I was a little surprised at how full the campground was when we arrived. The bathrooms reflected the high traffic. But it was peaceful never the less, and the staff had planned lots of exciting events for campers. Overall it was a very nice visit!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
We have a super camping weekend
Aug 17, 2013
Nice campground. We did a day trip to downtown Chicago. Wanted to do the nearby train museum, but didn't have time. Quiet and clean.
Aug 17, 2013
We loved the campground. Jennifer was particularly terrific. She watched our dog. This allowed us to go to Chicago and attend a friend's 90th Birthday Party.
Aug 17, 2013
Great facilities. Sleeping was difficult with car alarms, alarm clocks, and security alarms(from wild west town) going off ALL NIGHT LONG.
Aug 16, 2013
we had a wonderful time. Sylvia and Thomas go way "above and beyond" creating an environment that allows campers to feel comfortable and have fun. they have also instilled this philosophy in all of their workers, as everyone is so friendly and accomadating. Hats off to Sylvia, Thomas, and the whole crew.
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful grounds and facilities. Friendly folks. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 15, 2013
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Restrooms and showers very clean. Water pressure not very strong in showers.
Aug 15, 2013
Campground was well maintained and clean. Somewhat quiet as we stayed Sunday thru Wednesday.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
I loved all the activities for the kids! Will book again!
Aug 13, 2013
need back flow preventor other than that stuff very good
Aug 13, 2013
Very family oriented. Great quick getaway if it's less than an hour drive..The site's are a bit closer together than I would've prefer, Also even though dogs are aloud it'd be nice if they had play area for dogs rather leashed the whole time. Easy camping especially when you have little kids. It'd also be nice too if there was a lifeguard at the pool so parent's could relax. We'd like go again!!
Aug 13, 2013
I realize that not many handicapped people go camping, but there could be simple modifications to make it a little easier. A second set of toilets closer to the campers near the highway would also be nice. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised, it is quite some time since I was last camping, the bathroom was clean and the cabin nicer than I expected. Thank you.
Aug 13, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.