Chicago Northwest KOA

Open April 15 - October 17

Reserve: 800-562-2827

Info: 815-923-4206

Email

8404 South Union Road

Union, IL 60180

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 04, 2016
Staff friendly, but this is the first campground I've ever had to pay an extra $5 just for visitors to pick us up for lunch (they were on site for less than 30 minutes!). NARROW roads made it difficult to navigate our coach+trailer. Rain flooded outside our entry door and made our exit MUDDY. Rest rooms all locked, ostensibly too early in the season (water at site, but not in restrooms? Hmmmm..
May 03, 2016
Nice little campground. Has a pool, play ground, and a dog park. Staff was very nice and helpfull
Apr 27, 2016
We enjoy coming here every year. It is nice to see all the improvements that the owners make every year.
Apr 27, 2016
Apr 26, 2016
Extremely nice and clean bathrooms/showers.
Apr 26, 2016
Local campground for us but a perfect get away spot. Staff is very friendly. Walk to Wild West town and a short drive to A Train Museum. Still early in season so not everything was open yet.
Apr 26, 2016
We stayed the second weekend of the season. Staff was very friendly and nice. Some great pull thru premium sites. Other pull thrus are a little close together. Love the wooden swing on the premium site we had. Water pressure not so good and wi-fi was spotty. Great campground for a weekend visit!
Apr 25, 2016
We have stayed at the Chicago Northwest, IL KOA many times. It seems as if each time we go there are constant improvements to the grounds and amenities. Thomas and Sylvia are doing a fantastic job.
Apr 25, 2016
Very nice campground clean facilities and the owners and all the staff are excellent!!!!
Apr 25, 2016
Everything good nice place
Apr 25, 2016
Great time !
Apr 25, 2016
Nice... Clean... Friendly
Apr 23, 2016
Over night
Apr 22, 2016
I enjoyed my stay. The staff and owners are great. You can tell it's a clean and well kept park. I am going back.
Apr 20, 2016
Nice campground. Very friendly
Apr 19, 2016
Great campground to stay and close to Chicago.
Apr 18, 2016
Nice campground and excellent, very clean facilities (early season). Limited showers due to one shower block not being operational and the remain showers were in restroom where sewer was blocked so unavailable Sunday morning. Staff very friendly. Pull through sites a bit small but fine for couple of nights. Sewer hookup was UPHILL from our pad which was a little problematic. Will be back.
Apr 18, 2016
Couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay and the people were very very nice
Apr 18, 2016
The campground employees were very, very accommodating. Check in was easy. The campground is small so the lots are pretty close together. We camped with friends so it worked out well for us. I will definitely camped at this KOA again BUT I will request not to camp next to anyone with a dog. There are some great sites on the prairie side which we will request when we reserve out lot.
Oct 26, 2015
i Visited Chicago Northwest KOA in September for a 10 day stay, and I must say I was impressed with the Park and exspceialy the staff the grounds and the washrooms are well taken care of and there is plenty to do and see in the area not to mention Chicago is nearby, I will defently stay here again when in the area,
Oct 25, 2015
This place should never have been located near farmland. There were flies everywhere! In addition I had to listen to 3 incessantly barking dogs the whole time we were there. Koa should limit dogs to 1 per family.
Oct 20, 2015
Pleasant people, helpful, & courtesy
Oct 16, 2015
Oct 15, 2015
Great place to stay overnight while traveling. Thanks
Oct 14, 2015
Nice spot, close to home but felt like we were in the middle of nowhere...walk to Wild West. Well maintained grounds, hook ups in very good condition. Staff all very friendly. We'll be back.
Oct 13, 2015
Oct 13, 2015
it was nice but as it seems like in all koa's the sites are very close to each other
Oct 13, 2015
Good location for what we had to do.
Oct 13, 2015
Very friendly. Not happy closer bathrooms were being remodeled, but it happens.
Oct 13, 2015
Very friendly, clean, and a beautiful setting.
Oct 13, 2015
Great site, clean shower and toilet. I will come again.
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
we love it!
Oct 12, 2015
The grounds are nice. The sites are narrow but the flies and bees are horrible. This is our 2nd stay and the bees were bad last time. For what ever reason, the flies were atrocious. I probably killed over 20 during our lunch on Saturday. Thank goodness I had a fogger. Also the sewers were overflowing when we left. I am happy we were already drained. People were nice and we like dog areas.
Oct 12, 2015
The owners were very accommodating and we thought the CG was really nice. We hope to be back in the future!! My only suggestion would be to open up the driveway wider...we were already checked in and returning, but had to wait a pretty long time while campers ahead of us checked in. If it was wider, we could have driven past them. But all in all, it is a very well kept facility!!
Oct 12, 2015
Clean, organized, efficient
Oct 11, 2015
Only complaint was that we were trying to relax and enjoy our fire and kept getting blinded with all the cars driving in at night. Would've preferred a fire pit off to the side. Cabin was cute and comfy and staff was mostly friendly.
Oct 11, 2015
Nice park but a long way from anywhere...30 min to train station but it is the closest to Chicago. Would stay here again. For a very empty park could not understand why they crammed everyone together, side by side...could have spread them out some.
Oct 10, 2015
This is our preferred place to stay when visiting Chicago. Staff is very friendly and always make our stay a great memory.
Oct 10, 2015
It's out a bit from Chicago BUT it is an extremely quiet location. We don't have children traveling with us but we could see where children would love this place. I felt very secure with the security gate. We could see that the management was very busy getting the place ready for winter AND ready for next year. I hope to come back to this one!
Oct 08, 2015
The extra effort and consideration that allowed us to stay two nights; store for five nights and return for the final night of the season was incredible. The additional help with outside resources made our stay in Chicago wonderful. And all this at the end of the season when everyone could have just turned away.On top of this the service level was great. Security great and low noise in evening.
Oct 06, 2015
the staff gave me great directions on how to avoid Chicago on my way out. Made me feel special by having me put a pin on their map as the 1st person from Napa, CA.
Oct 05, 2015
The camping was great. Sad that we need to wait until April to camp again.
Oct 05, 2015
Friendly , clean, and very helpful finding your site. The office also helpful.
Oct 05, 2015
Enjoyed time with my family. Bathrooms clean and comfy-showers roomy! Playground perfect for grandchildren!
Oct 05, 2015
You would have gotten 5 stars if a jackhammer didn't wake us up on Saturday and continue going off all throughout the morning.
Oct 04, 2015
Bathroom showers were not cleaned daily , or thoroughly , septic tanks on motor home were not able to drain into , site standpipe , motor home was infested with flies ? Bathrooms were clean staff friendly, dump station worked well ! Quiet!!
Oct 03, 2015
Oct 02, 2015
Convenient, clean and safe
Oct 02, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals