Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Jul 19, 2014
Cabin n restrooms were clean pool n hot tubs needed more chlorine. Rude n slow lady workers behind desk snack bar people very nice. Thought kids stayed free got charged. Tried to get the free night that didn't work out They said couldn't use value card on my second cabin. Have stayed at this koa since 1989 has gone down hill since 1st years but better than last few times we've been ther
Jul 19, 2014
My stay was good, the cabin was clean, but we stayed 3 days an were not offered any linens and were told they only stock the cabin one time. That meant we had not enough Howells for our daily showers for 3 adults. Also no wonder-to which was falsely advertised.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
We stayed in a studio cabin and it was pretty clean. Not excellent but tolerable. Great place for kids. Staff was very personable. Felt like it was a little high priced but overall we had an enjoyable time.
Jul 18, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay. However, the "mattress" in the basic cabin is awful. It is extremley thin and you will wakeup very sore. Maybe pack additional padding if you can.The staff was kind and switched out our mattress, but sadly the new one wasn't much better. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed all of the amenities.
Jul 18, 2014
the pools should of been open till 10pm.Mr Stevens was rude about the way he walked in and yelled closed get out.shame.I spoke to a few older people like us,who said this man is very rude.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We had 25 family members rent 7 cabins. Everything was as expected and wonderful. If something was missing, we asked and the staff complied. The children loved the bounce pillow and the slide in the pool. We were next to the river and floated down the river. The staff assisted in making wild water rafting reservations. We all said we would return again and again. Congrats to the staff.
Jul 15, 2014
The stay was very nice friendly staff really enjoyed!!!
Jul 15, 2014
Really enjoyed out weekend. Plenty to do and even caught a trout or two. Only thing keeping it from a 5 is the cabin we had has some bees digging in the wood and creating some holes. They didn't really bother us but they should spray and get them out if there.
Jul 14, 2014
Deluxe cabin was great. Plenty of activities for everyone.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The area wasn't what we expected. The showers were kind of ugly. The cabin itself was good.
Jul 14, 2014
It was great. The pools were warm and the cabin was clean! Thanks
Jul 14, 2014
We had a great time and it was a really nice campground. I just wish the restrooms were closer to the cabins and also that ALL cabins had air conditioning in them. Other than that it was a very clean, very nice campground!! We will definately come back!!!
Jul 14, 2014
Maintenance of bath house in center of campground left a lot to be desired. Otherwise an enjoyable stay.
Jul 14, 2014
I don't like to see the camping cabins being replaced by those camping trailers. I know why you are doing it. Because of money!! But you are going to lose a very unique and beautiful rustic look.
Jul 14, 2014
We have been coming to this KOA for 20 years. Last summer I did have issues with the bath houses being pretty dirty in the evening but this visit they were improved. I do think the camp store is not as well stocked as it used to be. Over all we had a fun vacation, and we will be back next year!
Jul 14, 2014
We had a great time and will come back again.
Jul 14, 2014
We had a few ants in the cabin and it had a funny smell when we first arrived. The pool was unsupervised and rowdy. The tubing experience was terrible. Water wasnt high enough and we rubbed our bottoms on rocks. Our 7 year old got scared and we were stranded alone and had to get thru the best way we could. The fan and light in the cabin were loose and flashing off and on. The shower didnt work in
Jul 13, 2014
This KOA is currently under a new management from my understanding. Our family has stayed here many times over the past several years however I will say that this has been the worse experience we have had here. We had visitors for the day and they had to actually pay to just come see us!! Other issues too - too many for 400 characters. Very disappointed this time. Will probably not come back
Jul 13, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. The mountain view was beautiful. Our church took 19 young teens for a youth trip. We had such a wonderful time as we reflected on God in our lives. Thank you. We hope to return in the future.
Jul 13, 2014
We asked for a quite cabin and they put us next to the road. We use to visit this koa almost every year back in the 90's. But now it is so busy and noisy that we will not be coming back.
Jul 12, 2014
Loved the location and most of the staff wasn't friendly. The kabin was cozy and clean. The activities kept my little girl entertained and the peaceful porch provided a great recharge for me. We will be going back often. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Jul 12, 2014
Love stating here but wish the cabins were farther apart
Jul 12, 2014
Very quite and peaceful. Although the vehicle got vandalized.
Jul 11, 2014
Had a great time! Very clean! Workers very friendly and helpful...
Jul 11, 2014
We had a great stay at this KOA. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our only recommendation to the management is to pay attention to the bathrooms. They can use a little more attention since they were dirty more than one day in a row. Other than that we had a great time at your campground.
Jul 10, 2014
Stay was great- only issue would be when checking in- I would have hoped someone would have gone over kids functions and fishing areas - would recommend kids activities throughout the day and in evening- all we saw were notes for the day- do you have a activities director? Our recent camping experience at myrtle beach camp resort had activities all day and night- also wi fi needs repaired.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Love the upgrades to the basic cabins (outlets, ceiling fans)
Jul 05, 2014
Perfect place to stay away from the everyday's rush! Chill out, have fun, enjoy the nature! :-)
Jul 03, 2014
This camp is in the middle of no where. Their site promotes that they have wifi but you do NOT get any wifi or even cell reception for that matter. Staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked what things to do around the site such as smokey mountains or sites to visit around campsite, lady just looked at me and said i don't know. How do you live/work in a town when you don't know what's around
Jul 03, 2014
Loved having cabin on the river and grounds were very well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. The only thing I would have liked is water hook up at cabin instead of having to use camper site behind us.
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great time and wanted to thank the staff member for the beautiful rose petals and long steim roses that were in our cabin. That made our 35 anniversary even more special. We love staying at KOA because they always make you feel like family and it is a great value. We will always use KOA for out vacation stays because we have so much fun at them. Thanks again!!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
This KOA campground has everything!! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We just got back home and our kids are already talking about next year's camping trip. They just loves this campground and all the activities. The staff were very friendly, and helpful during our stay. Everything was very clean.This is our favorite place to camp! Thanks!
Jun 30, 2014
Great koa, loved the bathrooms. Lots of activity and the BBQ was wonderful.
Jun 30, 2014
everything was wonderful our entire family had a fabulous time!
Jun 30, 2014
Our cabin was quite grimey and could have used a thorough cleaning, we stayed without complaint because we liked our over all spot and didn't want to switch cabins, I cleaned up as best I could, but for this reason would be reluctant to recommend this KOA to friends. This is our 17th KOA to visit and it was by far the dirtiest cabin, although we enjoyed all the other amenities.
Jun 30, 2014
HUGE difference than last year. Our cabin was clean, the staff was friendly, lots of activities. Great family fun. Can't wait to come back. Highly recommend this campground.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The bathroom doors wouldn't lock, the ice machine was broke, and the air conditioner was squeeky. Had a great time, enjoyed the cabin, nothing was horrible that made the stay bad. It was great and can't wait to go back.
Jun 30, 2014
This is our 2nd visit and enjoyed it very much. The cabin we had was located near the fishing pond outside the gate and close to the pools . We are booking our next visit for Labor Day!!!
Jun 29, 2014
It was okay but the cabin had ants in it we left a day early cause my kids were scared they were going to go in their ears
Jun 29, 2014
Need table in showers. Check window screens to make sure they are not ripped out
Jun 29, 2014
Beautiful campground on a pristine river! Would have given it a 5star rating except the cabin we got was the most bare bones we have ever stayed in..no picnic table,porch swing, mirror or A/C. The advertised wifi is only near the office...90% of the campground is wifi-less. Will come back with our RV!
Jun 27, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.