Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
Great camp site. Lots for the kids to do.
Jul 02, 2015
Lovely location and our Kabin was right next to the river. Friendly staff. Recommend the breakfast pizza!
Jul 02, 2015
Beau camping. Deux belles piscines, bon service. Séjour agréable.
Jul 01, 2015
Kids had a blast! So glad we made this our family vacation. Will be doing it again!!
Jul 01, 2015
There was no picnic table and no porch light
Jun 30, 2015
We took our vacation with 2 other families and had a blast! This is the first time we have taken a vacation with friends. We make the trip to our Cherokee KOA at least once a year usually twice and always have fun. We will definitely be back with our friends again.
Jun 30, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 30, 2015
We had a great time, planning on coming back with the family very very soon.
Jun 29, 2015
Look forward to returning
Jun 29, 2015
Had wonderful time, cabin had everything . was very clean, staff was all very helpful and friendly. park was very well maintained and peaceful..Great time /wonderful stay we will be back again..
Jun 29, 2015
This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Cherokee NC KOA. We really enjoyed it and will probably make it a yearly trip. We just have one suggestion and that would be to have benches or something to put your stuff on while taking a shower in the main bath houses. (not just hooks) Other than that the staff was very friendly and helpful and attentive.
Jun 29, 2015
Well we loved it! Everything from the banana bikes to our cabin only one huge complaint is not enough bathrooms for the amount of people there. Someone even pooped in shower! So only wish u had more bathrooms /toilets for busy weekends.
Jun 29, 2015
only complaint is the bathrooms and showers were not very clean.
Jun 29, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at the Cherokee KOA. This weekend was great. Lots of activites for the kids, music at night, the pools are great.
Jun 28, 2015
A great family place to stay. The kids loved the pool and the bouncy trampoline. Great area attractions included Cherokee drama, reservation, and museum.
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was well kept & there was tons to do for the kids. All KOA employees were very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a 1 room cabin. Would have preferred an AC over the TV, but had a nice stay. Wish we would have known the county was dry too!
Jun 27, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. Thank you koa staff keep up the good work. See ya'll next time
Jun 27, 2015
We had an amazing time. Our cabin by the river was the perfect atmosphere to wake up to and start our day. They have shuttle tubing on the property. The kids loved it so much we went a second time. Careful, the lady in tours can be downright invasive if you want to bring a child under 7. We brought our 4 and 6 year old and they had a blast. We just tied their tube to each one of us.
Jun 26, 2015
We come down every year for a "guys" fishing trip. We love it but every year there is little water pressure in the showers and this year the men's bathroom went two days without hand soap. But we will still see you next year
Jun 26, 2015
Lots of activities for kids. Worth the price if you use many of the activities.
Jun 26, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. KOA hard to find. Cabins need a/c in them.
Jun 25, 2015
Superb location ...cabins probable too close...on l'y bar point wifi is erratic !
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time and all of your staff was friendly, helpful and smiling. There was a very large church mission group there and they made the stay even more enjoyable.
Jun 24, 2015
Very disappointed in my stay this year..between bats in cabin w/ small children to spider bites in cabin w/ small children to bee swarms and strings to small children.Would never go back to Cherokee or never recommend...BEWARE plus very POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!
Jun 24, 2015
Just not the experience we thought it would be. I felt like claustrophobic everyone packed in to close compared to the other KOA campgrounds we have been to. The cabin we were in was infested with bees and hornets outside. Wanted to fish but could not do that because it cost and you had to fight all the locals. Everything was way over priced.
Jun 24, 2015
Friendly staff, many activities to choose from, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and showers!!!! I would definitively recommend! 👍
Jun 23, 2015
I was at the KOA for father's day weekend. The cabin they rented us was full of bats. When we told them about the problem they "fixed" it. Bats swarmed our cabin every night that we were there and some were still in the cabin after being told that the problem had been taken care. We were only given excuses and temporary fixes. My children were terrified as well as my wife.
Jun 23, 2015
My two boys (10,8) and I came for two nights. The kids had a great time with ALL the activities! I had a great time because the campground was safe for my boys to ride bikes and play like kids without my constant supervision. Fun, friendly, safe place to stay!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids to do (tie-dye shirts, tubing, 2 pools, etc)!
Jun 23, 2015
I have stayed in KOA'S from Key West to Montana, either in cabins or tent. This KOA is by far the worst.. Cabin had NO air, heat, swing. The bench on the front porch sat terrible. The bath house and rest rooms were very nasty and in need of repairs. The mattress was worn out as well. Staff was friendly and the Smokey mountains are beautiful...
Jun 22, 2015
We didn't really have a good location. The cabin had ants, NO air, yellow jackets. Just wasn't what we wanted for our dads special weekend.
Jun 22, 2015
Absolutely love it...have been coming for many years..1st as young married couple..then with children.now a grandchild..there have been times in the pass,they've gotten a little expensive and i wasn't able to make the trip. I try bringing my family once a year. with the new owner and the lower prices on some of the activities..this was 1 of out best trip..thank you 4 making it affordable
Jun 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Staff friendly and helpful. Plus we were able to enjoy our visit with our Daughter ,she is on staff there this summer. Thanks
Jun 22, 2015
Great place! Great staff! Highly recommend this campground!
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Great weekend both my sons 1st camping trip & they both already wanted to come back before we left.
Jun 22, 2015
My first week there was nice, quiet, and peaceful. The people who were put next to me in a tent knocked my bike over and caused major damage which was ignored as well as by the women at that the front counter. Then the family aced next to me kids threw rocks aty bike and they refused to move me. My last week was not enjoyable at all I left home for peace and the last week was awful.Next time motel
Jun 22, 2015
The campground was groomed and clean. Bath house and bathrooms clean. No phone signal for ATT or Verizon. No WiFi.
Jun 22, 2015
We had the best time at your campground. The staff were so friendly. I have already booked my next stay.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Cherokee KOA is a Great campground with a great Staff. Always clean, and welcoming. This was our 2nd trip to Cherokee with the Classic Minis United group. I will bring the family next time we go!
Jun 21, 2015
A great time by all. Lot's to do with children...lot's of rexalation time for adults. The cabin was great. All the staff very helpful and accommodating!
Jun 21, 2015
We really enjoyed our visit. Everyone was extremely kind and my kids really enjoyed all the great activities.. Suggestion a fan or a/c in the bedroom for the deluxe cabin
Jun 21, 2015
The KOA was awesome and we didn't even need to leave to experience tubing on the river. Will be back!
Jun 20, 2015
The campsites are nice, we have been coming here now for thirteen years; last visit was seven years ago. Campsite needs more wifi; even though the front desk says it is available throughout the area it is really only around the pool and rec area. All in all everyone had fun so it was a good trip.
Jun 20, 2015
I have taking my family to this KOA for 20 years. My children and now my grand children Many changes have happened and the price had went up. But it has always been a great adventure
Jun 19, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. Expensive. Needs maintenance. Had a good time.
Jun 19, 2015
Had a blast. Campground is extremely clean and people are very friendly!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.