Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

May 20, 2015
Our stay was absolutely amazing with beautiful views if the river. We continue to return to this place. Our 6th or 7th time. Exceeds expectations each time.
May 18, 2015
It was great. The people were very nice and the cabin was great. The only problem was that the bathroom floor and shower were not very clean. I had to clean them again before we used them. There was hair on the floor and you could see a ring around the lower shower wall. Other than that it was great.
May 18, 2015
Always have a great time! Great people!
May 18, 2015
All of ourstays have all been good. The campground is finally turning back around to being a family campground.
May 18, 2015
The fire pit was on the other side of another cabin. Will not be staying in any of those cabins again. Am currently looking for another campground.
May 18, 2015
Loved it. requested close to restroom did no get it, had handicapped with us.
May 18, 2015
Beautiful place, lots to do and plenty for kids
May 18, 2015
The cabin was very clean, check in and check out were very easy. It was a very pleasurable stay.
May 17, 2015
We took two of our grandkids with us they had so much fun so many things for them to do. Me and my husband have been going for over 25 years to this koa always always have a great time. The staff are so helpful and friendly
May 17, 2015
Having stayed in many campgrounds in the northeast from Pa. to Maine this is the finest run facility and well maintained I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. I rented a cabin and the stay was perfect: William P. Dunn IV
May 16, 2015
Beautiful area. Stayed in a cottage, small but good for two people. Had ants by the kitchen sink and the screen door was broken. Had to always keep the front door closed because of it. Light switch in the bathroom was not working properly either. Pool was nice. Workers were friendly. Overall average stay compared to my other stays at KOA campgrounds.
May 16, 2015
May 15, 2015
was great until without warning{No signs posted}on Tues am while swimming this guy comes in starts ripping walls down, then another cranks noisy pressure washer to wash yuck off chairs/pool deck into pool where we're swimming!VERY RUDE.
May 15, 2015
We had a great time. I was able to take my dog with me...the staff were very kind and polite...I will be back next year... everyone should visit mango falls it's beatific and worth every step... love cherokee... thanks to all the staff for helping our vacation to be a successful one...
May 13, 2015
Campground was clean/neat-wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful-wonderful. Cabin was adorable-came with everything. Only suggestions; upgrade bed as broken down and upgrade TV as poor pic/quality-can only be seen sitting in chair at table-from bed is distorted. Would def recommend and stay again! Can't wait!!!
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
it was wonderful as usual.can't wait 'til next visit!!!!
May 12, 2015
We had a really good time.
May 12, 2015
We had some friends drop by for a short 2 hr visit and they were charged $25.00 for their visit?!? That's "gouging" in our book & we're Not pleased about that occurrence!
May 12, 2015
This place was absolutely amazing. We expected a simple campground but this was so much more. The rustic cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for the hubby and I traveling with our dog. The showers and bathrooms were clean at all hours of the day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had originally planned to stay one night but we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.
May 12, 2015
We had a wonderful time camping Mother's day weekend! The staff were helpful and friendly. We can't wait to come again and share our experiences with more of the family.
May 11, 2015
Everything was great with this campground, although; the water pressure could have been a lot better in our cabin.
May 11, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for the past 8 years and it just keeps getting better. We always have an outstanding time. The team their does a great job and seeing so many of the same employees really makes it a pleasure. They remember me and my family and it is truly a fun experience. They do a great job there and the campground is more like a dude ranch/hotel atmosphere
May 11, 2015
AC went out in cabin and had ants inside. Priced to high for what it is.
May 11, 2015
We had a great weekend !!!!
May 11, 2015
I was not happy that our cabin did not have anything as the cabin we had last year . We rented to same type and came with less this year. No fridge no tv no table and chairs inside and many more items it did not have. The picture on website showed different than the cabin i got located on the river. We will never reserve online anymore only call.
May 11, 2015
We had a great time. Will do it again.
May 11, 2015
Don't stay in cabin 251. The cabin is on a beautiful spot on the river. Unfortunately, it is the public access to all KOA campers. We counted 84 people walking thru our camp site in one afternoon, not to mention the 8 golf carts that pulled right up to our porch. We complained because of no privacy. They said sorry, nothing they could do. Do not stay in cabin K251!
May 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay but was disappointed that the pool was closed most of the day on 5/10.
May 11, 2015
We were told on the phone that if our dog was a small breed there would be no charge and when we checked in there was a surprise $15 dollar charge. I also had my children over at the bathhouse in the rear of the campground when the worker (female blond) began cussing and complaining about her job over the laundry and cleaning the restrooms loud enough for my small children to hear.
May 11, 2015
I had never camped at KOA before but I really had a wonderful time and I will be back and will check out as many locations that I can. Thank you
May 11, 2015
This is our second time staying at this KOA. Both times the staff was fantastic and last time our cabin was great, but this time our cabin was over run with bees. I am not exaggerating, we could hear them all night in the walls and my 9 year old daughter was terrified to go outside during the day. Thankfully we had friends staying in a camper and she stayed at their camper most of the time.
May 11, 2015
Awesome place to stay. The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. I'll stay there again!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Breakfast was to expensive. A family of 4 and the cost was over $30 and my pancakes were free !?!?!?!?
May 11, 2015
Great campground landscaping could have been nicer.
May 10, 2015
Very friendly, clean and accommodating. We've been going to this KOA for 24 yrs. Only had one person, one time that was'nt his friendliest. Love it!
May 07, 2015
Stay was very pleasant, very quiet campground. Staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Only Negative was that their was no cell service for neither one of my cell phones. There was wifi, but hardly worked, this may be a plus for some. Campground is well kept.
May 06, 2015
May 05, 2015
Love this Kampground we come every year. My grandfather used to bring me and my brother to trout fish.. now I am carrying on the tradition with my boys. See ya next year. Maybe this year for an adult trip
May 05, 2015
We had an awesome time and are looking forward to going back.
May 04, 2015
My group has been coming to KOA, Cherokee for about 10 yrs. My brother also brings up a group. We were met this time with a very rude red-headed woman who was very condescending in her tone. We have always been able to check in early if the room was available but they did not even check to see. Stated new rules but did not try to state why just said read your email. We will not be back ever!!!
May 04, 2015
I've never been to one with so many amenities and friendly employees. We had a small issue on arrival, but it was resolved and I hope we get to return soon!
May 04, 2015
We love it at Koa we come down 2 to 3 times a year! We love to be able to come more! They have so much stuff for the kids to do moms and dads actually get to rest to
May 04, 2015
Our trip to KOA/Cherokee was perfect in every way!! This was my husband's 60th birthday present. Our 4 children and 4 grandchildren came from all over to celebrate. Our grandchildren loved the bouncing pillow, the beautiful playgrounds, putt-putt-golf, and the pool. They were too small for the bananna bikes but I rode one and had a blast!! The staff was helful and kind!! And everything was clean
May 04, 2015
Wonderful, clean campground.
May 04, 2015
Nice place to stay. Employees were polite and very helpful. Did not like the fact the we could not look at the cabin before 1:30 check in w/out a fee.
May 03, 2015
May 03, 2015
Great customer service. Very well taken care of. Can't wait to go back
May 03, 2015
Stay was great. Fireplaced didn't work the first night but was repaired the next day. Forgot to let the office know that the toilet runs. Also the barbecue grill doesn't work correctly. Takes 30 minutes to cook two hamburgers.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.