Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
We truly enjoyed ourselves. It was so relaxing and peaceful and we are definitely planning on coming back for a longer stay.
Aug 25, 2015
Great location. Nice options for cabins. Love the free activities. Great river location. Staff was not very friendly and so I took one star off for that. Sort of a lot of old mean grouchy men.
Aug 25, 2015
Very nice place and people will b coming back
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time! Love all the amenities!
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
This was our first stay and we had an absolute blast. We were in a 2 room cabin on the river and will definitely be back. From fishing, football, tye-die, swimming, etc...the kids are ready to come back every year! Thanks for a great way to end our summer!!
Aug 24, 2015
I have been coming here for 17 years and it is always a good time.I think you must stop adding cabins it is getting to crowded to relax & ruins the beauty.You also need to upgrade bathrooms for handicap.They are not handicap friendly. .It is still a nice place but it used to be awesome! rates go up and each year more of the atmosphere is gone,Nature and space tookover by cabin
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was great! Cabin was very nice and the staff was very friendly!
Aug 24, 2015
Clean and peaceful. Fun activities. Food was fresh and inexpensive.
Aug 24, 2015
My only complaint was the cabin we rented wasn't clearly explained when I booked it via phone. I wasn't told that there wasn't air conditioning in the cabin until we arrived. At that point I was told the other cabins with air conditioning were only available for a 2 night stay. Honestly, with that information, we wouldn't have driven a hour or more out of our way for this KOA. That was disappointi
Aug 23, 2015
It has been 8 years since we were there last and it still is my favorite place to stay in Cherokee.
Aug 23, 2015
Something for everyone. All 4 of my kids had a different favorite part. Beautiful location, clean, fun....
Aug 23, 2015
It was the best vacation we've had in years! The cabin was perfect. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about local attractions. The campground itself was beautiful and well maintained. There's so much to do that you don't have to leave to have a great time! We really enjoyed getting to meet campers from all over. You know that it's a great vacation when even the dogs had a good time!
Aug 22, 2015
The cabins would be a much more pleasant experience with a window air unit,especially since they charge a resort fee and I paid for an upgrade. I had to switch cabins while I was there because of the noise from some backhoe work being done. The customer service was accomodating, but not necessarily friendly,except for one clerk.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
when I got there to check in. I told the lady we were early and asked if the room was ready. She said "WHEEW your too early so I said no problem can we sit by the pool or walk the grounds? No we were not allowed on property until we checked in! So I asked if she had any suggestions on where to go for 2 hours it was my first time in North Carolina, No she said!
Aug 20, 2015
The stay was good but the only problem was that several amenities were not available after a certain hour or closed completely during the week. Alot of campers left on Sunday but there were others there during the week. We should have access to everything during our entire stay!
Aug 20, 2015
We had an awesome stay. The cabin was very clean as well as the campgrounds. The workers were very polite and helpful. Will definitely be back!
Aug 20, 2015
I was disappointed this time. The staff many times were rude,bickering with each other and arguing with campers.
Aug 20, 2015
Great family vacation! My kids are already looking forward to our return trip! I highly recommend!
Aug 17, 2015
Only spent one night, but we were so impressed with the facilities (and surrounding area) that we've decided to come back next year for a much longer stay. Already looking forward to it.
Aug 17, 2015
As always, we had a great time.
Aug 17, 2015
We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. Did have to wait in line at the camp store for around 15-20 min, while three employees worked on one person's bill.
Aug 17, 2015
Manager went out of his way and helped make our stay incredible after a big misunderstanding. Thanks for all you did David.
Aug 17, 2015
Ready to come back
Aug 17, 2015
This was our first ever KOA experience. And it was awesome we look forward to our next KOA vacation
Aug 17, 2015
I have stayed for the past ten years at KOA. The amenities are one of the top reasons why. I would only add that customer service was lacking this last trip. The staff could benefit greatly from customer service training. The environment is stunning and the experience could be even better with friendly employees.
Aug 17, 2015
My family had a great time. I would like to get qoupons for discounted stays. Price was a little high.
Aug 17, 2015
I wish the pool water would have been warmer! Is the indoor pool heated?
Aug 17, 2015
This was my first stay at a KOA campground, and I felt very disappointed. I was hesitant about paying the higher price, but heard that KOA has a reputation for cleanliness. The floor of the cabin was filthy and it smelled like vomit. The bathroom had footprints on the toilets and giant wads of hair in each shower stalls. I wouldn't pay such a high rate for those types of conditions again.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff were wonderful and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were always clean. The grounds were clean and well maintained.
Aug 17, 2015
We have been to this koa a few times. The only thing I wish were different would be for an option of a later check out time. With check in around 2 and checkout around 11, you don't even get a full 24 hr stay and we came for the campground and not sightseeing. We've already seen haha. Will continue to return here.
Aug 17, 2015
We had just left the KOA in E.ash and really enjoyed ourselves. Rented cabin with just ac (w/0 tv/fridge) for $58 each night 2 nights in total. Really enjoyed it since it was our first stay in a KOA. Got to Cherokee KOA. No ac. Tv didn't work. Was charged $100 and when checking out was only offered 10% off. Wish I could explain more but don't have enough space to tell full story. Never will return
Aug 17, 2015
We have been going for 25 years and we still love it. This time in a cabin and not our motorhome. We really enjoyed it. Our granddaughters grew up here at the park and was the first place they named when asked where they wanted to go. They are 16 and 18 now and they still love it.
Aug 16, 2015
The campground location is pretty but the campground needs some tender loving care
Aug 16, 2015
Great campground. Very clean and well maintained. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make sure you had what you needed and felt at home. The only "negatives" were that the TV reception was fuzzy and the WiFi was weak (if that's your thing), but we weren't their to watch TV or play online. We would definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2015
We look forward to our stay there at the KOA all year! We love staying in the cabins because it is camping without the tents. There is so much to do at the campground...you don't even have to leave! See you next year!
Aug 15, 2015
Extremely upset over the condition of the campground plus our unit was not CLEAN at all.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Nice KOA.
Aug 15, 2015
Clean bathrooms, lots of activities for kids, cabins a bit close together and not much space if you have little kids
Aug 14, 2015
The only complaint I have is I went on Friday to see if I could check in an hour early. You always let us have our cabin early. Well Joann refused to even look to see if the cabin was ready and said policy is 2:00 and continued to ask what did I want her to do about it. I never have ran into someone like her there. She was VERY RUDE.
Aug 14, 2015
We have been raving about this KOA since we got back home. Every KOA staff member should be sent here for training on how to create a wonderful KOA experience. The place is beautiful, the facilities are in top-notch condition, and they offer excellent and frequent activities.
Aug 14, 2015
Tammy and Thomas were the best! So helpful and made our stay wonderful. Thank you for everything!
Aug 11, 2015
No public kichen. Too many cabins and the cabins are rusty.
Aug 11, 2015
The only issue I found was that the bathroom on cabin 252 side was not handicap friendly. The counter tops at the sinks were made for the standing not wheelchair bound. An older lady in a wheelchair could not see in the mirror from her chair and her personal items were on the counter which was about "neck high" while in her chair. Very happy and will bring more of our family next year.
Aug 11, 2015
Great place to stay. Plenty of things for the kids to do.
Aug 11, 2015
Thurs, Fri, and Sat nights were miserable. The camp was super busy and even hosted a high school cheerleading camp, not my idea of fun. Crying babies and barking dogs, ugh! Sun and Mon were delightful, like a completely different park from the weekend. If you are looking for a little bit of peace avoid Thurs-Sat. The camp was clean and well kept.
Aug 10, 2015
Awesome
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.