Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Feb 26, 2015
no running water at site no hot water in shower no indoor pool no hot tub/sauna reservation screwed up
Feb 23, 2015
The stay was very good this year. I appreciate the heater being left in the cabin. That was a nice touch and the staff was very accommodating. I would say things have improved at this KOA.
Feb 23, 2015
nice friendly people. very helpful.
Feb 18, 2015
Weather was very cold, but the cabin was nice and warm.
Feb 18, 2015
Great place to spend a night, a weekend or a month! Friendly staff, access to Cherokee area attractions.
Feb 17, 2015
We are usually campers, but for the Valentin's weekend we wanted to do something different. We stayed on one of the deluxe cabins. They were wonderful. The beds wee comfy and the setting was perfect. We had a great time. It was cold and a threat of snow almost kept us away but we had a great time. We're disappointed that were not able to use the indoor pool and hot tub.
Feb 17, 2015
If the pool and hottub had not been closed we wouldve been happy but it was an inconvenience because our kids had little to do with the weather being so cold. We were counting on the indoor entertainment.
Feb 17, 2015
This is a great KOA. Have stayed here both in our motor home and in the cabins and never had a bad experience. Highly recommend it.
Feb 17, 2015
Our stay was great . Only downfall was the pool and hit tub was closed for maintenance all weekend and the game room was closed.
Feb 16, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean kabin.
Feb 16, 2015
Rates were great for valentine's weekend. Had issues with leaking sink in cabin and door know coming off immediately upon check in. Repaired sink fast but door know came off all stay. Woke up on Sunday with no hot water, it was subzero Temps an windchill, left water running all night as directed, no shower for ride home 21/2 hours.
Feb 16, 2015
There was no hot water in bath house nearest cabin 60. Other than that it was a fantastic stay!
Feb 16, 2015
Simply wonderful...in every aspect! :)
Feb 16, 2015
It sucked we stayed in a rustic cabin they said they had a space heater in the cabin it was small and didn't heat the cabin. Me and my husband stayed there and froze to death. It definitely gave a reason for us to cudfle. If we could have found a cheap hotel then we would have stayed in the hotel.
Feb 14, 2015
I was disappointed. got a 50% discount only cause the indoor pool was closed which i was not told about. Had to move cabins cause the thermostat wasn't working and the toilet was broke. Arcade didn't work, thought i got a 50% discount but it was only cause the pool was closed.
Feb 11, 2015
Good price. Clean kabin, bathrooms and campgrounds. Everyone I met was friendly and helpful. I will return for another stay.
Feb 09, 2015
Everyone was very helpful. The delux cabin was awesome, clean, and cute! Enjoyed our stay! Will come back with friends!
Feb 09, 2015
Feb 07, 2015
Great cabin on the river, love falling asleep to the sound of rushing water. Also, very clean environment.
Feb 02, 2015
great, clean facility. even had a space heater already turned on for us so cabin was warm when we got there.
Feb 02, 2015
We had a great time, the cabin was clean and i would stay there again.
Feb 02, 2015
The staff were wonderful. When we arrived, there was a problem with the water heater in the cabin which was quickly repaired. Everyone is always friendly and helpful. This KOA will always be a favorite!
Jan 28, 2015
We LOVE this KOA...We have stayed several weekends this winter and already have our week booked for Summer. The cabins are very nice and clean. Alot of activities for kids. Highly recommend!!!
Jan 26, 2015
Our stay was great! The staff was friendly. Our cabin was cozy. We essentially had everything needed for a small getaway.
Jan 26, 2015
Had a great time. Cabin & Bathhouse very clean. Staff very friendly. We will be back. My only concern is so many things out of order..shower in ladies bathhouse, several washers, several games in gameroom, after hrs ice mach..all the while, new carpet was being installed in the office..why, with all the needed repairs on the grounds?? But we do love this KOA & we will return!
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 19, 2015
Absolutely the best campground I have stayed at in Cherokee, NC! Highly recommend this place for family fun or couples romance!
Jan 19, 2015
wonderful
Jan 19, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Cabin was clean & relaxing. Staff made us feel welcome .
Jan 17, 2015
Jan 14, 2015
We loved staying here. It was off season, so it was empty which was very relaxing. The only issue we had was that the shower in the cabin did not have running water, but it was freezing temperatures so we understood. Also, we only stayed one night, so it wasn't an inconvenience.
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Very Friendly and clean
Jan 05, 2015
This is the first time staying in a cabin at your KOA we usually bring our fifth wheel camper but decided to stay in the cabin since you were offering 50% discount. We were very disappointed. We were in the front of the campground and you were on top of each other. We would have rather been in the main campground where you had space to yourself and can get out and have a campfire.
Jan 05, 2015
Wife and I have been visiting this KOA for many years both in our motor home and relaxing in the cottages periodically during the year. We have never had a bad experience during any stay (except when we didn't get snow and really wanted it). I highly recommend this particular KOA.
Jan 05, 2015
Me and my family had a great time. The staff was very nice and the whole campground has a very laid back kind of feel to it. We will most likley become regulars.
Jan 04, 2015
Loved everything but the internet sucks. This was to be a learning trip for my daughter and I and the internet did not work most of the time and when it did it was so slow I couldn't download anything. They could take the TV's out but the internet a must. I wanted to teach my daughter about the history of Cherokee and there was no way without internet. Did I mention the internet sucked.
Jan 04, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The kids had a great time fishing in the ponds. Looking forward to next time.
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Cabin was very nice and clean. Customer service was great!
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
Loved the cabin on the river! Gorgeous scenery, cozy cabin with fireplace. My children loved the indoor pool. Perfect winter get away! Hope to visit in the summer!
Jan 01, 2015
Dec 31, 2014
It was great, we had an awesome time! The cabin was really cute and cozy. Also, the mini heater was a plus! :) we will be KOAing again soon!
Dec 30, 2014
This was my second time staying at the koa. I absolutely love staying on the river and the view. The cabins are super cozy. My only complaint is how the pool and hot tub close at six. I spend my time during the day exploring and would like to be able to enjoy the hot tub at night. Other than that everyting was great.
Dec 30, 2014
The winter savings was great. We had a great stay, it was our first time staying at the Cherokee location. Would definitely recommend!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.