Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Very Friendly and clean
Jan 05, 2015
This is the first time staying in a cabin at your KOA we usually bring our fifth wheel camper but decided to stay in the cabin since you were offering 50% discount. We were very disappointed. We were in the front of the campground and you were on top of each other. We would have rather been in the main campground where you had space to yourself and can get out and have a campfire.
Jan 05, 2015
Wife and I have been visiting this KOA for many years both in our motor home and relaxing in the cottages periodically during the year. We have never had a bad experience during any stay (except when we didn't get snow and really wanted it). I highly recommend this particular KOA.
Jan 05, 2015
Me and my family had a great time. The staff was very nice and the whole campground has a very laid back kind of feel to it. We will most likley become regulars.
Jan 04, 2015
Loved everything but the internet sucks. This was to be a learning trip for my daughter and I and the internet did not work most of the time and when it did it was so slow I couldn't download anything. They could take the TV's out but the internet a must. I wanted to teach my daughter about the history of Cherokee and there was no way without internet. Did I mention the internet sucked.
Jan 04, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The kids had a great time fishing in the ponds. Looking forward to next time.
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Cabin was very nice and clean. Customer service was great!
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
Loved the cabin on the river! Gorgeous scenery, cozy cabin with fireplace. My children loved the indoor pool. Perfect winter get away! Hope to visit in the summer!
Jan 01, 2015
Dec 31, 2014
It was great, we had an awesome time! The cabin was really cute and cozy. Also, the mini heater was a plus! :) we will be KOAing again soon!
Dec 30, 2014
This was my second time staying at the koa. I absolutely love staying on the river and the view. The cabins are super cozy. My only complaint is how the pool and hot tub close at six. I spend my time during the day exploring and would like to be able to enjoy the hot tub at night. Other than that everyting was great.
Dec 30, 2014
The winter savings was great. We had a great stay, it was our first time staying at the Cherokee location. Would definitely recommend!
Dec 30, 2014
Limited space in cabins, limited towels and pool closes at 6. Bath houses were clean
Dec 30, 2014
Our Christmas week stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA was great from start to finish! Our cabin was comfortable and cozy located right on the bank of the Raven Forks River allowing us to bask in the beauty and sound of the water as it rushed by. Our fun-filled week included trout fishing, the beauty of the Smokies, and evening campfires! Our dogs had a great time too! Can't wait to go back!
Dec 29, 2014
Dec 29, 2014
Very cozy, relaxing, lots for kids to do around campground, slept awesome. Staff very friendly. Our second Christmas with ya'll, we were so blessed to spend it there, this is now our family tradition. Can we reserve the same cabin next year? Clean!
Dec 29, 2014
Friendly staff and clean facilities (bathrooms especially). We keep coming back!
Dec 29, 2014
Love this place. Everyone was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would defiantly be staying again.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 28, 2014
Overall, great, clean, and fun for the time of year. We did encounter a plumbing problem on Christmas eve with a non flushing toilet. Would like to see the locals more familiar with local attractions for recommendations.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 28, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only small problem we had was with the Wifi, reception was very poor.
Dec 27, 2014
Dec 23, 2014
Our trip was awesome.we enjoyed everything and had a great time. My only recommenation is to have some bigger pots and six plates. If the cabins sleep six then you need six plates for dinner and a pot large enough for spaghetti.
Dec 23, 2014
Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. My partner and I loved our Deluxe Cabin on the River was perfect and had everything we needed. We will definitely be back soon!
Dec 22, 2014
The cabins were very clean, as well as the entire campground. All the staff members and campground personnel were extremely friendly. That made all the difference :)
Dec 19, 2014
Loved Cherokee KOA - will definitely be back again and tell others about it !
Dec 16, 2014
My daughter and I stayed in a cabin in KOA, in the Smokeys. We returned to where we spent several days (KOA) last year. It is such a wonderful site-- close to the National Park, our cabin was right on the river, and KOA offered more ammendities than we used. It is a wonderful place and yes, will be recommended to many. Thank you for such a lovely place to vacation!
Dec 15, 2014
This was our 2nd stay here. We are making it our tradition. My kids love the playground and air bounce. We will be back again next year and plan on making a summer trip!
Dec 13, 2014
i stay here often with ladies from church cause we feel safe and the staff is so friendly and the areas are clean. THANKS
Dec 10, 2014
LOVED everything about our stay and can NOT wait to come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
The stay started off bad but definitely ended on a positive note.
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 07, 2014
I do think the gas grills should be fixed the ignition switches don't work and its dangerous to have to light them by hand i almost blew up. other than that our stay was really great. thanks
Dec 03, 2014
Great vacation. We opted to stay in a deluxe cabin instead of towing our RV this time. That was a good decision on our part, and perfect accommodations.Thank you!
Dec 01, 2014
The staff worked to get 21 people in 2 RVS and 3 cabins right next to each other for Thanksgiving. Well done!
Dec 01, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time in our Cottage for the week of Thanksgiving. Very comfortable and clean. WIFI was sketchy and the only complaint. Thanksgiving potluck dinner was very nice and appreciated. Ready to come back for another visit.
Dec 01, 2014
Our family enjoyed the cabin. The only issue we had was with too many pets not cleaned up after.
Dec 01, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
We loved how the cottage was so clean and everyone there was so nice. Can't wait to plan our next trip to this KOA
Nov 30, 2014
Nov 30, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!
Nov 29, 2014
Every synonym of amazing would describe this KOA.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.