Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 24, 2016
Cabins were very clean. Great location! Only bad thing was that wifi was very limited.
Jul 23, 2016
We love staying in the two room cabins on the river. Normally they're clean when we get there but this time around I swept a bunch of dust and items left behind by the previous family, and cleaned some cobwebs. Also the screens in a couple windows were ripped. The a curtain rod was not staying up so we fixed it with duck tape to keep the curtain up.
Jul 23, 2016
I really need WIFI, I think this is obviously the biggest problem at this campground. Also, there are probably some new employees that don't know all the things they need to know. My mom asked where to be picked up at the casino, they couldn't tell her and then when she missed her shuttle it was her fault. Not cool. Otherwise, this is an awesome campground.
Jul 23, 2016
Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
No GPS locator. I passed the campsite and kept trying to follow my GPS. No Cell Phone signal when you get there. I left my Deluxe Cabin to visit and have breakfast with my family they entered my cabin and started removing things and linen before 10am. I came back to my cabin to complete my stay and stuff from my frig was gone. sheets thrown all over the place.
Jul 23, 2016
Bobbi and Lucy were great at the check in and check out. Prices of things there a bit high. Workers are in need of new shirts. Store closes early 9pm sb 10pm.Some employees not so friendly. Overall it was descent.
Jul 23, 2016
Would have liked the screens to be fixed so the bugs won't come in.
Jul 22, 2016
Lots to do and friendly staff. This is our third year staying here. Had a great time
Jul 22, 2016
I love this KOA! The staff are friendly and very on point with meeting the needs of the vacationeers. I would recommend this place for a family vaction!!
Jul 21, 2016
Two many dogs? Moving too many cabins out for too high priced cabins that is like home, can't get places you like to stay at because you can't move without (2) res.
Jul 20, 2016
Deluxe cabin was very nice and enjoyed the location. However, internet service was terrible, but when on vacation should not have to use phone much. Had very little cell access. Office help is very nice, but need more help, lines long and I would suggest having a separate line for check in or check out questions from others buying items in the camp store.
Jul 20, 2016
the grand-dtrs LOVED the excitement of staying in large campground with kids everywhere!loved the indoor pool and no one got sunburned and they didn't have to get out when it rained (which was everyday-no lightening).loved being able to warm back up in hot tub.
Jul 19, 2016
This IA an annual trip for us. We were quite disappointed in the cleanliness of the facilities, in paticular the ladies bathroom and showers. Most of your staff was excellent however some have no business working around children.
Jul 19, 2016
Great experience!
Jul 18, 2016
WE spent 4 nights there. Plenty to do for the whole family daily. its a very scenic area. will stay there again.
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed in cabin 511. Everything was good except the VERY flimsy trash bags provided and the puny air conditioner was not up to the task, also the toilet did not flush properly. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 18, 2016
awesome time with my 2 grandkids. the oldest who is 8 loved the waterslide. the last night there she wanted to see the movie but my grandson was in the cabin asleep. one of the koa girls (i think her name was kim) offered to let ciara (my 8 yr old granddaughter) stay and watch movie and walked her to the cabin when it was over. that was so sweet.
Jul 18, 2016
Non summershine staff needs to be friendlier, customer-focused, and all-in-all act like they appreciate my business. Campsite fire rings, grill portion is too high above the cement slab.
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay in one of your camping cabins. A nice quiet place. Lots of trees and places to fish.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a wonderful time! Great family vacation!
Jul 16, 2016
The new porch swing at our cabin is horrible. The last time I stayed in cabin 250, and I sat in that swing relaxing for most of the day. The new swing at cabin 249 is horrible and cheap. It has a bar running across the middle of your back. This may seem insignificant, but it definitely affected the relaxing part of my trip. Other than that we had a wonderful time. Great job
Jul 16, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Campground was well kept & clean. Great place for families & kids of all ages!
Jul 16, 2016
Our stay was wonderful. We rented four premium single cabins for a family of twelve. The adults and the children all enjoyed themselves. We have made multiple visits to your campground over the years and have always had fun. Started coming when our children were little and now coming back with our adult children and our grandkids. Always have a great time. Definitely will be returning.
Jul 16, 2016
We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness of the campgrounds at KOA Cherokee NC.
Jul 15, 2016
This was just one of our many trips to your beautiful koa. We always have a great time. Thank you for increasing your cabin numbers, adding ac, and bathrooms to individual cabins. Next time we will take advantage of your tubing bus. What fun!
Jul 14, 2016
Very nice all in all. The camp grounds could use some TLC. There were wasps nests and bee nest that should have been cared for and destroyed. We had multiple people bit trying to protect our children.
Jul 14, 2016
It was a nice stay but we were mis-informed about a few things.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
This campground is AWESOME! In the store it would be better if one person answer the phone/ assist new campers and the other person assist guest with store purchases only. There always seemed to be a bottle neck in the store area if both employees were busy assisting camping guests with questions/reservations and not store guest- Two lines would be better
Jul 13, 2016
It was just a little too crowded for me. I had of the best and secluded cabin sites and it still was not very private.
Jul 13, 2016
We stayed in a cabin and except for the spiders living with us everything was good.
Jul 12, 2016
We love the Cherokee KOA and have been coming here over the Fourth of July for four years now. We have four boys ranging from 2-9 and they love coming every year. The campground feels very safe and has lots of employees that make rounds often to ensure the safety of the little ones. If you have kids, this is the perfect KOA campground for you.
Jul 12, 2016
The campground did not advertise about poor wifi connection and when we asked the customer service the folks were quite rude. When we dropped the key at desk and still had 26 hours paid at the site and us to call as soon as we knew we were not returning It used the site. We were being considerate and did not want to keep the key if did not get back. We had a bad fan in the cabin and no help
Jul 12, 2016
When I checked in the lady at the desk overheard me say that my mother, who is 80, was sitting in the car. She lives local and was visiting for the day. The lady had the audacity to charge me $5 for a visitor. The cabin had a broken window and torn screens. The floors had an inch of dirt on them. The staff let patrons smoke by the pool in plain sight. It was horrible and I'll NEVER go back!
Jul 12, 2016
My family of 6 stayed in a 2 room Camping Cabin. I honestly have no complaints. We were really only at the campground for sleeping and showering as we wanted to see the area. KOA was an affordable option and fit our needs.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
please fix the water pressure in the showers very weak
Jul 11, 2016
visiting koa at Cherokee for more than 10 years, our home away from home, great time for the whole family
Jul 11, 2016
Cabins are great but kinda expensive
Jul 11, 2016
Todo estuvo bien con exception que ya a las 10 de la noche pasaban trabajadores a decirnos q teniamos que guardar silencio y solo nos estaban cuidando, cuando en otros lugares estaban igual y nunca les dijeron nada
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The staff was very nice and friendly. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and fun. I would highly recommend anybody to spend some time here.
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed in a kamping kabin. It was great! A suggestion is to have some hooks to hang clothes on. Other than the brief thunder storm with the straight line winds and trees breaking and nearly missing my motorcycles it was great! Hope to return again!
Jul 11, 2016
It's great! Every time. We have been going every year for the last ten years. Always clean and people always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Jul 11, 2016
Overall was a very good experience. However, as I told the front desk upon checkout, they need to provide an activity calendar when guests check in, as we missed out on a lot of fun activities for our kids. :-(
Jul 11, 2016
Nice cabin. Ceiling fan not very efficient but it did move some air. Great park. Really nice people. Would stay here again, but bring my own fan.
Jul 11, 2016
This is the best campground I've been to in a long time. Very family friendly activities for people of all ages. Great views easy access to area attractions. Very friendly staff. Will be coming back for years to come.
Jul 11, 2016
love family environment but music that went to 1030 and had vulgar lyrics in some songs as in back up big girl(this is a family campground not a club) disgusting! so loud and so long, we came to enjoy sounds of nature around campfire not filth that u can't drown out!that will keep us away.
Jul 11, 2016
We were in and out pretty quickly, but this KOA looked very fun! Wish we had more time to stay and play!
Jul 10, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award