Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Another great weekend at Cherokee KOA!I liked the remodeled bathroom and bathhouse.Friendly staff,clean campground.Going back in Aug,Oct and Nov.
Jun 20, 2016
Been returning for 20+ years. Looking forward to back bathhouse showers getting renovated. Special thanks to Lucy for helping us through arriving too early and not catching fish. Only negative was a KOA staff person who said she was too busy to take a picture of our family for us.
Jun 20, 2016
We come every year and enjoy it greatly!!! This year the bathrooms/showers were a little scarier than years past. But overall, we love Cherokee KOA
Jun 20, 2016
I love to stay at this campground. we had a few issues on this camping trip but I talked to the manager this morning and he apologized and is trying to make things right. I understand that things happen but it seems we had more than our share of bad experiences this stay. I am going to give it another try and hopefully it will be a good trip.
Jun 20, 2016
Cabin was clean and was in a great location. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Pool and Jacuzzi water needed to be cleaned. Overall great time and we will be back.
Jun 20, 2016
This is the third year in a row we have stayed at the Cherokee KOA and we have already booked our stay for next year! We always have a great time. Almost all of the staff is very friendly and helpful. I especially like the fact, at the pool if there are children under 16 they make sure an adult is in there with them!
Jun 20, 2016
1/2 roll of TP and no extra, only 2 spoons, no fry pan, got 1 from next door, no can opener, no big spoons, neither reading lights at bed, didn't work, needs fan in bedroom, at the nightly rate, should be totally equipped, have camped for 40 yrs., never told there was a $25 early ck, in fee for just an hour!!cheap kitchen garbage bag tore, no extra in basket...a few added amenities would make itni
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Awesome family vacation in the mountains...we stayed in the first cabin, next to the pool...many fun activities for kids...my only recommendation would be to add a ceiling fan or an AC Unit in the bedroom...when bedroom door closed, too hot to sleep comfortably...when bedroom door open, it was ok...thanks, Kelly
Jun 20, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at this KOA in a one room basic camper cabin. We found the cabin to be in excellent shape and very clean. The KOA site is in a nice wooded area next to a lake or stream. It was very quiet. The rest rooms were the nicest I had seen at any KOA. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Amenities appeared to be really nice tho we did not use them due to a shortage of time.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
We love the koa
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
My family had a great time.
Jun 20, 2016
As always, had a great time.
Jun 20, 2016
We stayed in one of the newer cabins near the front and loved the location!
Jun 19, 2016
the only thing we had trouble with was the air conditioner didn't work right
Jun 19, 2016
Love the kid friendly atmosphere. Great staff. Wish it could be smoke free!
Jun 19, 2016
The area and amenities are nice, however, there is poison ivy all along walkways and my entire family had to go to the doctor. Upon check in I was not given the desired cabin I had booked, but staff was friendly and did attempt to transfer me but there were no available cabins.
Jun 19, 2016
My river front cabin was more of a drainage area from the pond. Almost all the staff was grumpy. The only really nice person , was Michelle the driver that took us up River. (The real River) to tube.
Jun 19, 2016
Very disappointed with this campground. We stayed in a cabin (no-air)and tent site. At both areas we smelled someone smoking pot. The campground staff and security did nothing to these people. We actually had to leave our vacation early because we had small children with us and I did not want them inhaling pot smoke. Very disappointed with KOA! I recommend bringing own camper.
Jun 19, 2016
We always enjoy our visit and stay at this KOA camp.
Jun 19, 2016
I've stayed at the Cherokee KOA a couple of times. Both cabins were clean and in the shade. The bath houses are very nice. Couldn't beat the location
Jun 18, 2016
we sure enjoyed our stay we look forward to our next stay also thank you for the coupons
Jun 17, 2016
We had a great time and plan on returning in the future.
Jun 17, 2016
Beautiful place, and very friendly people.
Jun 16, 2016
We stayed for three nights in a deluxe cabin. Everything was awesome and we had a great time.
Jun 16, 2016
Staff was helpful. Beautiful setting in one of my favorite places in all the world: Big Cove!
Jun 16, 2016
Nice place to stay and plenty of activities to do. Would be nice for a/c in the camping cabins.
Jun 15, 2016
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for four years now. We had a family reunion this year and it was great. We are planning on doing it again next year. One of the biggest highlights of the trip was the staff you have that rents the bikes, tubes and other stuff. Kim-Chee and Jo-Ann were awesome! Only downside of the trip was a run in that my oldest had with some poison ivy! Still had a blast!
Jun 15, 2016
I love being in Cherokee. KOA was awesome. There are So many activities to keep the kids busy and the adults can have fun too. We Especially loved the banana bikes. My wife and daughter said were for sure going back next summer! Our home away from home!
Jun 15, 2016
we were visiting famliy and stayed people were friendly front desk was very helpful only issue was our cabin was in the direct sun all day so no place to hide over all though we loved it
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
We had a great time! We did have ants in our cabin, but when we talked to an employee, someone came right away. WiFi was non-existent. If it is not reliable, then do not advertise that you have it. Overall clean bathrooms and good campground.
Jun 14, 2016
Myself and three friends rode our motorcycles up from Houston for the great riding in the area. The Cherokee KOA cabin was perfect for our needs. The staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay even better. Thanks to them our trip of a lifetime went perfectly.
Jun 14, 2016
It was awesome! The worker were accommodating and the public facilities were very clean. We plan to come several times a year.
Jun 14, 2016
We loved the campground and amenities. Very family friendly. I just wish there were more deluxe studios on the river, and/or that had fire rings on the woods side instead of on the road.
Jun 14, 2016
The staff was great and the activities for the kid's were plentiful. The fishing was challenging due so many people competing for the few fish that were there. The internet was a problem, not good at all. Overall, the experience was good.
Jun 14, 2016
MYSELF AND MY 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON HAD A GREAT TIME. THE KOA STAFF WAS MORE THAN FRIENDLY WHICH MADE OUR STAY FANTASTIC. THE CABINS WERE SUFFICIENTLY STOCKED WITH SUPPLIES AND VERY CLEAN.
Jun 14, 2016
As a company owned KOA I would expect the best and the latest and the greatest. Unfortunately this park suffers from disappointment in site quality. I'll be glad to send you an actual picture that would be an embarrassment to Pat Hitmeier and the rest of the KOA staff
Jun 14, 2016
Although the campground was very nice and the scenery is beautiful, I felt that the price of the cabin that we rented was not worth it. I guess $200 a night for a cabin that is as small as this cabin was is to expensive
Jun 14, 2016
It was very clean, cozy, and a great stay! We loved it.
Jun 13, 2016
We love the koa! Lots of fun things to keep the kids busy. I would have given you a 10 if the staff were more accommodating. I asked far an emergency 24hr number that I could give to my family at home since my mom was very ill and on hospice care and was told that they would be glad to take a message as long as the store was open. Could use some customer service education.
Jun 13, 2016
Relaxing,Entertaining, Quiet ,Cool, comfortable, Just what we needed and expected,Thanks
Jun 13, 2016
The Activities and Lodging were great! However, The Showers had so little pressure that it took a very long time to get washed. There was a lot of Poison Ivy on the main walk to the showers. Uneducated campers will have their entire stay ruined by just one light brush-up against this toxic plant. Needed this area marked with signs to alert guests till its safely removed.
Jun 13, 2016
The cabin was a great experience, but would like to have air condition in both rooms. Cabin 512 had the air condition in the front of the room and the back room and bathroom was very warm and not comfortable to sleep or use the bathroom at times. Also, I would add one more thing to to the cabin.. an iron and iron board.
Jun 13, 2016
Some of the ladies that work in the store can be snobby at times. The one room cabin I stayed in was nice, but the rode and parking need work.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a wonderful time at Cherokee KOA. Our cabin floor could have been cleaned better but even with that downfall we still plan to return. We loved all the planned activities and things for kids to do. We will be back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award