Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Feb 10, 2016
I was very appreciative of the changes the koa made to accommodate my dogs. Made it much less stressful :)
Feb 08, 2016
Very clean!!
Feb 06, 2016
Other than being WAY back from town, this was really nice...probably better w/out the summertime crowds. Lots of slots for campers. Really nice facilities.
Feb 03, 2016
It was a Father/Son fishing trip and this campground exeeded all of our expectations!
Feb 02, 2016
I won't stay anywhere else. Nuff said
Feb 01, 2016
Great time, great cabin. We had a group of 18, everyone liked it. It's hard to please that many people and our group especially.
Feb 01, 2016
Always nice and wonderful. So glad I found this place and a great way to get away from busy life.
Jan 29, 2016
MY family hasn't visited KOA many years. It was a tradition for to visit yearly when my daughter was young. Due to hardships we had to cancel until things got better. This year we returned w/grandchildren and loved every moment of it! Everyone was so exceptionally helpful, but one staff made it even better when he helped us find our cabin and helped with an item that we needed. Thank You!
Jan 26, 2016
Great people running this campground and the cabin was perfect.
Jan 25, 2016
We have been coming to this KOA for over 12 years. As they say, location, location, location. We stayed in a cabin due to the season rather than our camper. There were a few housekeeping issues on check in that were below the standards that we know this KOA posseses. The staff was very attentive in recording these and reporting them so they could be corrected for future campers. A+ staff
Jan 22, 2016
I would have rated this excellent, but on my last stay, I didn't catch that I didn't receive 40% winter discount upon arrival. I asked about it as I checked out and was told there was nothing they could do about it. I have stayed several times in past. May have to consider going to Townsend.
Jan 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time in Cherokee. This KOA is in a perfect location and the cabin we stayed in was clean and very cozy. The customer service from check in to check out was superb. We can't wait to go back. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!
Jan 19, 2016
My husband and I have been coming to this KOA for over 10 years. Read some negative reviews recently and got a little nervous. The stay was one of the better in my opinion. Better beds in kottages, staff was freindly. The only downfall to our stay was having to leave!
Jan 19, 2016
This was our first time staying in a cottage but not our last. We loved it there.
Jan 19, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return! Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the cabin was PERFECT!
Jan 16, 2016
I absolutely LOVED this KOA! We came from FL and brought our dog. Everyone in the front office is super nice and helpful. We stayed in a studio cabin in December for 3 nights. I LOVED our cabin - right on the river! It was BEAUTIFUL! The cabins are so clean and had everything we needed to cook. It was ridiculously cozy. The grounds are beautiful - Indian Reservation! Loved it!
Jan 11, 2016
We have stayed at koa Kamp grounds many times and have not been disappointed yet thanks for a great deal
Jan 10, 2016
We come every year at this time and love it:) not too excited that k388 and surrounding ones are being moved and our group won't be able st stay were we do each year
Jan 10, 2016
The staff at the desk wasn't friendly at all.
Jan 06, 2016
We have been visiting this campground for years, and it remains one of my favorite places to visit. Everyone is welcoming and helpful, and we look forward to returning.
Jan 05, 2016
Everything went pretty smoothly during our stay; well, everything except for the showers. Employees were very nice and they made good coffee! Now, back to the showers: I tried several showers & they weren't working right or just wouldn't get warm (I waited quite some time, yet I hate wasting water). When I found one that got a little warm, I kept using that one through our stay. That's it. :)
Jan 05, 2016
Great stay. Willreturn
Jan 04, 2016
First time in a while we got to bring in a new year as a family it was great
Jan 04, 2016
Muy complacida con este KOA. Tiene muchas Cabañas desde las más baratas hasta las más caras. Muy buena ubicación, tiene un río a todo su alrededor donde se puede pescar, tiene dos piscinas (una bajo techo cerrada, con sauna caliente) y otra piscina afuera (en tiempo de frío está cerrada). La tienda es amplia y los que trabajan en ella son muy amables. Rentan bicicletas de 9am-4pm. 100% recomendado
Jan 04, 2016
nice cabin. stock better kitchen supplies. pool in winter was cold. all other was good.
Jan 04, 2016
We had a blast. Cabins were clean and the campground is very family friendly.
Jan 04, 2016
There was water pooled on the floor of our cabin. The firewood that we purchased was not seasoned and would not catch. One of the showers in the bathroom did not work. Other than that the staff was very pleasant and the store was good. Campground was clean.
Jan 03, 2016
..
Jan 03, 2016
This is a wonderful campground. My only issues were that we booked a cabin that was supposed to have a fire pit but the cabin we were assigned did not have a fire pit and our fire place in the cabin made such a loud noise that it was impossible to use. Also, the hot tub was out of order and we were charged extra for a third person even though they advertise the cabin to sleep up to four people.
Jan 03, 2016
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river. It was peaceful and cozy. Everything was clean and well maintained. Plan to stay again when the weather is warmer.
Jan 03, 2016
Beautiful location on the river & ponds. Lots of cabins. Would stay again!
Jan 03, 2016
Everything was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA
Jan 03, 2016
Fun and relaxing place to hang out. Really appreciated the clean bathrooms.
Jan 01, 2016
Had a great time during our stay. We visit yearly and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and campground is clean well maintained. The only downfall was the new cabin we stayed in this year. It is located just at the edged of the wifi range and wound constantly have to log on anytime you needed to surf the web. Other than that, it was perfect as always! Can't wait to go back!
Dec 31, 2015
Best koa in this past of the USA. Only complaint is wireless internet service. I would recommend you either get rid of it or upgrade so it works better. If need be offer it as a service and charge your guests. Can't wait for my next trip here! Happy New Year
Dec 30, 2015
Love the KOA and the cabin we had. We will be back next year!!
Dec 30, 2015
I really enjoyed that I was able to get a deluxe cabin, as these are usually booked up during the summer months. Friendly and helpful staff with anything you may need. Will definitely stay again.
Dec 30, 2015
Cabin was in a water hole.wasn't offered to even be moved. No hot tub.just hot water..friends stayed in site 89 and we all was harassed about showing up early. Saying we need to read email on check in times but yet no one was on camp site or cabin. And email didn't say hot tub wasn't working or light in pool bathrooms wasn't working. Campground needs a lot of work.maybe new management. Very disap.
Dec 29, 2015
Family of five stayed during the Christmas holiday and even though the weather didn't cooperate our stay was great because of the koa. Neat and clean cabin indoor pool and hot tub were great and staff was super friendly!!! We will be back for sure.
Dec 28, 2015
Awesome stay!
Dec 28, 2015
Best Christmas vacation EVER!!!
Dec 28, 2015
Everyone is always so great. I have a value card but don't seem to be getting any discounts or points added to my account. Great place to stay and can't wait to go back.
Dec 28, 2015
We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. This was our 2nd time camping at a KOA campground. It's easy, affordable, and more enjoyable than staying at a hotel.
Dec 23, 2015
Dec2015. Awesome place. Awesome cabins!!! Fun for kids! Perfect!
Dec 23, 2015
First of all, Jill, Dianne, front desk staff, as well as maintenance staff, were amazing and helpful! Our campsite was perfect and the two cabins we rented for our children and Grands, were spotless! We had a great time and made wonderful memories! Will def. be back and will visit other KOAs from now on!
Dec 15, 2015
We loved the cabin. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff was very friendly.
Dec 14, 2015
Above and beyond expectations!
Dec 14, 2015
Office closes at 5, so don't expect to do anything after that. Cabins are very close together, and the wifi is horrible. The cabins were nice and clean as were the grounds,
Dec 11, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our stay.
Dec 10, 2015
I've stayed at this koa before which is why I chose to stay again, very helpful and great stay
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps