Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Feb 23, 2017
Staff was friendly but the 1&2 cabins the toilets didn't flush the 3 was not as nice & the 4th cabin the toilet did flush but smelled heavily like marijuana the staff did give us some air fresher but we spent almost 2 hours going cabin to cabin. If the toilet don't flush DONT rent them. We had to rush dinner then walked into our concert late. Stressful weekend 🙁
Feb 21, 2017
Feb 21, 2017
Always a blast! See you same weekend next year!
Feb 21, 2017
Cabin was clean and some problems were discovered, but remedies were in place immediately. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 20, 2017
Just as great and relaxing a time as I remember from years ago. Love the cabins.
Feb 20, 2017
Feb 17, 2017
We go to this campground every year during the winter for the fishing and snow. I know that the snow is out of your control, but for that last two years the fishing has been awful. We use to come home with at least a dozen trout. We found out this last two time we went it was not stocked. Very disappointing to spend the money for two cabins for four days and come away with two trout.
Feb 13, 2017
Always nice place to stay! No soap in bathroom sink soap dispenser ! Other than that ! I'll be back
Feb 13, 2017
Brought a church group up to stay and fish... we had a great time... thank you
Feb 12, 2017
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin on the River. The cabin was perfect. The reason for our visit was to check out the campsites. We are returning next month with our Travel Trailer. We were able to decide which campsite we preferred. We are looking forward to returning soon.
Feb 06, 2017
Clean cabin. Everything worked. Loved that personnel checked on us that evening to make sure we had everything we needed.
Jan 24, 2017
Great place to stay. A few miles from all the shops in Cherokee so you get nature without being so far away from everything.
Jan 23, 2017
It's always great when we come there.it's always relaxing.
Jan 19, 2017
Enjoyed the facilities, however really expected staff to check on us since they were not busy. Luckily nothing was needed. Love that koa
Jan 19, 2017
Made resevations for a loft. Didnt get a loft. Advised the lady behind the counter. She was rude. She denied it. I said to watch the video. Her demeanor changed. She then offered fire wood which declined( i brought a truck load). she offered ice. i went to get the ice and was accused of stealing!!! feel free to call me for entire story. 478 972 7322. My grp (5 families) rented 5 cabins for 9 yrs!!
Jan 18, 2017
Jan 18, 2017
It was good
Jan 17, 2017
Great Staff, Great Location. We had a wonderful time. We will be going here again. Hope to see you.
Jan 17, 2017
The people that check you in should be more personable. The best part of our stay was your employee, Laurie, she was knowledgeable about the area. She was the nicest person there. Cabin 380 was clean. Fridge door broke and light over bed out. I saw those same complaints on reviews back from October. So slow to fix issues.
Jan 16, 2017
We love staying here but were not told there would be no activities or would not be able to rent a golf card or bike in advance. Wish they would have posted this somewhere prior to arrival. was very disappointed in that.
Jan 16, 2017
We arrived late like I had told them before we left and when we got there the office was completely dark and we didn't know what to do. Finally we found a number to call and found the cabin. The cabin looked nothing like the pictures and ended up not being private at all considering there were other people very close on both sides of us. The cabin smelled like stinky feet and the wifi did not work
Jan 10, 2017
We have camped at this campground before and enjoyed their great amenities during the summer. They have lots of fun things for the kids to do! This time we stayed in a cabin and were very pleased. We were right on the water & had a nice porch; the cabin had everything you could need during your stay. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent and super friendly. Great location as well.
Jan 09, 2017
Heat in deluxe cabin didn't work well only heat to 64 degree and cut off with thermostat set to 72. Room cleaning was not good. Dust around winow sill was very thick. Some staff not very bright and cheerful.
Jan 08, 2017
Enjoyed the stay, cabin wasn't very clean, there was hair all over the floor, mice poop in the floor as well as mice in the cabin at night
Jan 05, 2017
The overall stay was good. However while preparing for bed at the cabin we noticed the matress on the sleeper sofa was littered with crumbs and there was dust bunnies and sand on the floor underneath. (Not a major problem.) The next morning When we found some little critters (bedbugs) and mmediately checked all of the beds. The manager was notified when we departed.
Jan 05, 2017
The cabin was very roomy. My family really enjoyed their stay.
Jan 05, 2017
Top spot to stay!!
Jan 03, 2017
We loved staying in the cabin #507, it was so nice and perfect for my husband and I. Not a lot to do because of winter time but we did our own thing by going other places. Thank you for being so nice and fixing things to allow us to stay in our cabin for an extra night.
Jan 02, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay!! Thank you! We are planning to come back!!
Jan 01, 2017
Good location. Friendly staff. Nice, clean cabins. Loved being on the river. JoAnn needs a raise.
Jan 01, 2017
This was our family's first time staying here. Nice location, beautiful, loved that we were right on the river, cabins were nice and clean, the staff were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be returning!
Jan 01, 2017
The cabin was clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely nice and friendly
Dec 31, 2016
Was surprised when the young lady at checkin stated she had never been in the cabins. How can you provide outstanding customer service when you don't have full knowledge of the product?
Dec 28, 2016
MALA
Dec 28, 2016
Stay was great! TV reception was horrible in cabin 238.crew couldn't fix it,a must on rain days.
Dec 28, 2016
We loved the "Teeny Tiny House" cabin with the sleeping loft. Very clean, airy, right on the brook. It is evident that campground staff take good care of the grounds; shrubs planted, stonework, fire pits for all... We wish that someone would have answered our calls when we had questions and got lost finding you though. Otherwise, great attitudes all around.
Dec 28, 2016
I would like to speak with a manager about my experience 251-382-0605 Thanks
Dec 28, 2016
ladies restrooms were very dirty
Dec 27, 2016
everything was good but little inconvenience of your office closed for 2 day, 24, 25 Dec. i understand of Christmas but still ....
Dec 25, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We only had a couple of issues..It would have been nice to have been notified that the pool was not working. Also, we checked in after hours and they forgot to put our keys out for our cabin. We understood that these things happen but it would be good for you to put some sort of phone box outside the office to be able to contact someone for help ( no cell service)
Dec 22, 2016
poorly designed restroom/shower house. narrow stalls, no benches to sit on while dressing or undressing for showers. slippery floors.
Dec 21, 2016
Exceptional staff & facilities. We had 3 families traveling together & they went above & beyond to accommodate us & our needs.
Dec 20, 2016
Several items were needing to be fixed or repaired. I told the front desk at check out and was not offered anything for compensation. I took a couple of pictures on my cell phone. We had no hot water either. The window was open before we got there, and we didn't realize it was open until we were about to check out.
Dec 13, 2016
Stay was great. Staff was extremely attentive, friendly and helpful!
Dec 09, 2016
great campground, very friendly staff, very kid friendly, and pet friendly.
Dec 07, 2016
This was a family trip which was turned out very nice and this place is great. There was one problem if someone makes a reservation it shouldn't be changed by anyone else it should be authorized by that the person who made the reservation.
Dec 06, 2016
I've stayed here before so I know how accommodating they are. The ladies in the front office are top notch Lucy has a great personality and definitely made our stay better. We will all be coming back next year.
Dec 05, 2016
Fantastic KOA, was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff who greeted us on arrival were brilliant!
Dec 04, 2016
Always enjoy my time at the Cherokee KOA, a lot of the staff that had been there for a couple of years had left and it was very sad they were gone. I will miss them so much! I certainly hope the new staff will be as friendly as the others were.Ready for my next adventure there!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps