Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Apr 24, 2017
Nice campground. Good amenities. We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin. The staff seemed pre-occupied and almost rude at times. We were not informed on how to trade in towels or linens. There was no blinds in the bathroom for a full length window. We asked about this and was told that one was on order and that they should not have booked the cabin until this was fixed, but made no effort to fix it.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Stayed in a studio cabin. Very clean and perfect for two. Just a Tiny House :) Loved the Keurig coffee pot and large shower. The TV did not work, but they fixed it asap. The gas grill did not work, and they never fixed it. No Wi-Fi, and cell reception useless. Off the Grid ... ok for a short stay.
Apr 24, 2017
I know that KOA can not control the weather, but with all of the rain this weekend, the areas in front of the Kabins were a muddy mess. A little more gravel right in front would be great! Also, there was no hand soap in the ladies bathroom on Friday night or Saturday morning. Stopped in the office Saturday afternoon and it was taken care of promptly.
Apr 24, 2017
The bathrooms and showers were very clean and that is always a huge plus. There were many things for children to do but on the bouncy pillow and the indoor pool, there were some teenagers who were a little too rough to be around smaller children. The office/store was well stocked with items that may have been forgotten. Do you not have waterfront tent sites? Overall it is a nice place to stay.
Apr 24, 2017
Usually we have a wonderful time at KOA, this was not one of those times. Staff was very accommodating with getting us a cabin that we wanted, however, we returned home covered in flea or bedbug bites from the 'master' bedroom. Have thrown all of our brought belongings out and will inspect any cabin rented here on out very carefully. Front desk told us it was only mosquitos. Staff usually friendly
Apr 24, 2017
It was great and relaxing for me and my family.
Apr 24, 2017
Easy check in. Clean cabin. Bad food. Great location. Good place to spendtime in smokies.
Apr 23, 2017
Nice cabin advertised as furnished with minimal actual supplies. Front desk was chaotic, but overall a nice visit.
Apr 23, 2017
Always friendly. Helpful. Good service. Great spot.
Apr 23, 2017
We come with our family every year and rent a lot of cabins for years we come over thru out the year also. We were just there Friday night and rented two cabins we were very disappointed the big bathrooms they were so nasty u were standing in pee to go to the bathrooms no stop to wash your hands. It smelled like pee so bad we gaged both our cabins the screens had holes in them cabin needs updat
Apr 22, 2017
We had a great time fishing.
Apr 22, 2017
Had a wonderful time!
Apr 22, 2017
My kids didn't want to leave. It is a great place for family.
Apr 22, 2017
Apr 22, 2017
Check in is supposed to be at 2pm and our cabin wasn't ready until 4pm. The excuses they gave me were that they were busy & bc my reservation was online it wasn't 'hot' in their system yet. 🙄 They did give us bikes to use for 1 hr for free but that really wasn't great compensation. We stayed one night and experienced rat poop under the sink & ants. With no apology or care she recorded it.
Apr 21, 2017
Very disappointed compared with two years ago. Pool was swamp water. WiFi didn't work. Linen service never happened. Rushed along by unfriendly staff, whose morale seemed quite low. No linens on bunk beds. Cabin was in disrepair. Despite paying an extra fee for a cabin on the inlet, our cabin was not next to the creek and we had to listen to construction much of the time. We will not be back.
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 19, 2017
the KOA was wonderful. It was very well kept and the bathrooms were extremely well kept. There was so much for kids to do. The office staff that delivered us to our cabin and brought us wood and the people at the Grill were just wonderful. The only complaint I have was the staff in the office. They were very rude. If I judged wether or not I would stay at this location per front office I would not
Apr 18, 2017
The Campground and ammenities were great. The Cabin we stayed in was great, however the cabin was full of dog hair and looked as if it hadn't been cleaned very well. There was even dog hair in the shower. We had to get toilet paper from another cabin we rented, as ours only had a quarter of a roll.
Apr 18, 2017
Lots to do here with the grandkids without ever leaving the campground.
Apr 18, 2017
As always staff was very nice and helpful, however this was the worst I have seen I honestly don't think staff was at fault but just nasty people camping this weekend evertime I went to bathroom it was terrible poop all over toilet stopped up sinks were muddy one time had fish guts in them not really blaming KOA just very nasty people I think,
Apr 18, 2017
Been staying here for 25 years but first time I have negative to report. 25$ for wanting to check in 1 hour early?.1 smooor per child--come on .Egg hunt- if for 10 and under it should have said so no eggs left for bigger kids when their turn came No golf balls to play miniature golf.1 basketball?? pool dirty. The cabin nice, location good, patio nice but too many cabins close together No privacy
Apr 18, 2017
We stayed in the small sleeping Cabins. We have a wonderful time.
Apr 17, 2017
Very nice campground. They do need more staff inside and if cabins are ready, they need not to charge an early check in fee.
Apr 17, 2017
Would give better rating but the Wifi at this KOA does not work at all. I believe that if its advertised that they have Wifi, it should work. I was not able to get it to work at all.
Apr 17, 2017
Great family fun for Easter! The staff and the facilities were both exceptional and this KOA is the best campground we have ever been to. We can't wait for our next visit
Apr 17, 2017
We love Cherokee KOA. Between the indoor pool, bounce pillow, bikes, the river, fishing and the Grille, my kids always have a blast. Cody and Monica were great at the desk helping us rent bikes, golf carts and having firewood and ice delivered to our cabin.
Apr 17, 2017
Everything was great other then the bathrooms stayed cligged and floors where disgusting we actually decided to not shower cause we would of been nastier bathing in the bathroom vs not showering at all.
Apr 17, 2017
I was disappointed when my husband was told that he was purchasing a fishing license from koa that was good for fishing in all of Cherokee, and then come to find out he was misled and was fined $100. When my husband let management know he said he would have to train his staff better and offered nothing to offset their mistake. Being on vacation and then being slapped with a hefty fine for their mi
Apr 17, 2017
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for over 17 years. We always have a great time. Cody was a great help with anything from when I called to make the reservation, to when I needed to rent bikes, get firewood, ice et. We always love this KOA.
Apr 17, 2017
Met family there, fished swam and hung out. Went to casino, had a great time . Next time we will reserve a Delux Cabin. Much nicer than premitive ones. Had a great time. We will be back.
Apr 17, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was nice and meet our needs and expectations. The men's bathroom shower was but there was not any soap in the dispensers.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 16, 2017
25$ for early check in is to much. And we had to call five times and leave two messages to get a call back . We liked the facilities and tought the where very nice.
Apr 16, 2017
When arrived was not given cabin that was suppose to be reserved. I called the campground to verify I had reserved the cabin and was assured everything was in place. The staff tried to move us to the cabin but it had been given to another family. The pool and hot tub was disgusting. The arcade was closed the whole week and the jump pillow only open approx 4 hrs the whole time we were there.
Apr 16, 2017
Not enough workers at the front desk. Anytime we had questions or needed to purchase something we had a long wait. Front desk staff was not friendly. Wifi was very slow and almost impossible to even check emails. We did however enjoy the facilities and fishing in the pond.
Apr 16, 2017
Stay was great. activities for children wee also excellent. Two complaints-1) cabin had a lot of dust and trash under the bed & bunk beds. Looked as if the cabin had not been cleaned in a couple months. The center of the cabin area had been sweeped it seems. 2) cell phone and Wi=-Fi useless. I have a busines and needed to keep up with emails. Wi-Fi continually droped after only a few minutes
Apr 16, 2017
Awesome Campground!
Apr 16, 2017
This has been our favorite place to camp for over 10 years, however, this weekend, the camp felt like they were not ready. As well as the employee's were not very friendly.
Apr 15, 2017
We had a great time we can't wait to go back
Apr 15, 2017
Staff was very nice, was disappointed the wifi didnt work. Hope to go back soon!!
Apr 15, 2017
We all had a great time!
Apr 14, 2017
Front desk staff rude and inefficient. JoAnn was particularly out of her league and should not be on the front lines. Does not compare to other KOA's I've stayed at.
Apr 14, 2017
Except for the ants, our stay was wonderful. Our kids enjoyed the fishing, swimming and the bounce pad. We would definitely stay there again.
Apr 14, 2017
I had a great stay cabin was great,clean but I had problems with checking in and even buying things the line was long and one person working when it seams there was always 2 to 3 people standing around watching also had problems with Wifi always never worked unless standing by office
Apr 13, 2017
Beautiful area for sure! Lots of activities for the kids! Would definitely stay again....however, we were disappointed by the lack of wifi in our cabin due to its location in the camp AND we did not have cable for 3 nights out of our five night stay. Also, service at the office / camp store seemed always busy and a hassle to wait to buy something. Overall though, great family vacation.
Apr 13, 2017
It was nice I like cabin
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps