Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Apr 23, 2015
We loved it. Our only complaint is were the fire pits are located at for the river cottages.
Apr 23, 2015
We love being part of the KOA Cherokee family. Not only was Lisa amazing and very happy to help by moving us around to make sure our family was together but Dean stopped by every time we were outside to be sure we had everything we needed and we were having a geat time. It Is unusual to have that much attention. The facility is always beyond clean and so well maintained! Thank you! ♡
Apr 22, 2015
Great place, beautiful surroundings, clean and well managed.
Apr 22, 2015
I've stayed at this KOA several times and we will definitely be back!
Apr 20, 2015
I was part of the Mini group. The staff was most courteous and specially with my medication package that I left home and was sent to me FEDEX. Cabin was comfortable and very clean. I'd love to come back. It would be my 3rd time.
Apr 20, 2015
beautiful clean camp in stunning surroundings, friendly and helpful employees,great family retreat
Apr 20, 2015
We stayed in a cabin on the creek. It was very nice and clean.We really liked the deck over looking the creek.We cooked on the gas grill. Had a great time and we will come back.
Apr 20, 2015
Apr 20, 2015
Our stay was wonderful because of your great staff. We were there for a car event with a broken down car! Terrie, Dean, and Bo went out of their way to help us, and we really appreciated it. They even recommended a great mechanic...Red! We got our car back on the road. A big thanks to the staff!
Apr 20, 2015
Everything was great--clean bathroom facilities, clean grounds! Was a little dissapointed in the lakes--used to be 3...now only 2 (and they werent that good). Camp store was a little understocked, but we brough most everything anyway. DEFINETLY will be back!
Apr 20, 2015
Kabin was great.no hot water in bath house so cold shower was miserable.staff shrugged it off as water heater was down the hill.not acceptable when mostly what we were paying for was hot showers and a roof.could have stayed at a motel with hot shower for same money.camp was much better 4 years ago.glad I didn't purchase the discount.probably won't be back
Apr 18, 2015
First time taking the family to Cherokee. 9 year old twins b/g. The people were extremely nice. The facilities were clean as well as the grounds. It was a pleasure camping in one of the cabins. Looking forward to booking next trip.
Apr 15, 2015
Really enjoyed are stay already making plans for another vacation at your location on Big Cove Rd.
Apr 14, 2015
The only issue that we had was the fire wood sold seemed to be a bit green. Took forever to get a good fire started.
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
The only thing that we had was the mattresses need to be thicker.The guest shout not start playing basket ball at 11;00 p.m.
Apr 13, 2015
Check in policy is stinks. if room was not used the night before and you arrive at 1:30 I don't see and issue with checking in. We stay at this resort at least 8 different time a year and this is first I've had this issue. I spent over $800 on this team building event and we are considering not using your resort again next year.
Apr 13, 2015
I am a regular for many years. I rate the campground very highly and most of the long time staffers are great. I and many other regulars don't care at all for the new management team or the people he brought with him. They are almost going out of their way to be rude. The manager has yet to introduce himself to me or several other regulars. I am coming back but not because of those individuals.
Apr 13, 2015
SEEMS THAT THERE IS A THIEF IN YOUR CABIN CLEANING CREW THAT DID NOT TURN IN A ITEM THAT WAS LEFT WHEN VACATING CABIN!
Apr 13, 2015
The pond side of the campground (the tenting side) is a swamp when it rains. That and the fact that it rained like crazy gave us a large swamp to traverse to get out of the tent. On the good good side is that we upgraded to a cabin that worked out well. The staff was great and always stopped on their rounds to make sure everything was ok. Bathhouse was just renovated!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place and time. Major prob. w ants in cabin.koa sprayed but still had to buy spray. Ants in kitchen/ bath and even in bed. 3 of us including 6 yr old came home with ant bites on us.Had to keep all we had in fridge. Couldnt keep ants under control.Ants even in our clothes. I stay here several times a yr without problems. Not happy after compl. no one offered any solution or seemed to care
Apr 13, 2015
We loved it!
Apr 13, 2015
Koa really needs to improve the WiFi and the hot water in the showers this has been a problem for years
Apr 13, 2015
Stay was great. One negative experience was someone stealing all our firewood off the porch of our camping cabin. That was a huge disappointment.
Apr 13, 2015
Our first time camping and it was great can't wait to see you guys again :)
Apr 13, 2015
Very nice staff cabin was great we really enjoyed it didn't catch any fish but had a great time
Apr 13, 2015
friendly people, nice accommodations, beautiful weather and scenery
Apr 13, 2015
Always a great experience...I am a repeat customer...
Apr 13, 2015
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Park is always clean and beautiful. Even the construction of the new cabins is kept minimal. Love this place!
Apr 13, 2015
The staff was great!! The only problem we had... We had rented cabins and there was cabins all around us.. But there were two tent sites on each side of our cabin.. One of the tents were at our front steps, which felt very uncomfortable.. And they were right outside our window.. Which again was very uncomfortable. But our children had a blast playing with all the other children camping
Apr 13, 2015
Wonderful staff and clean facilities. Loved the cabin we stayed in and plan to come again.
Apr 13, 2015
Great stay. I am a business owner and each time we stay at your KOA, I have a lot of problems getting internet connections at our campsite or cabin. Would like to get better receiption ther than having to go to the office area to get on line.
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
We had a great visit to your KOA for our little granddaughters' first campimg trip. We will be back soon!
Apr 12, 2015
The only thing keeping my rating from being five star is the pool area is still being worked on. Other than that it was great staff was very nice and campground was clean and welcoming !!!
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
It was great!
Apr 11, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at the cabin on the river. It had been raining and there were lots of puddles and muddy areas around the campers we were visiting, otherwise everything was lovely.
Apr 10, 2015
Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Great views of river and mountains. Had a great time!
Apr 09, 2015
We had a great time
Apr 08, 2015
Great stay I would like to see benches added to the area where the jump pillow is located. This would allow parents the opportunity to watch thier children without sitting in the gravels.
Apr 08, 2015
Computer issues caused a lot of problems. Other than that is was great.
Apr 07, 2015
Management was unpleasant. Cabin was clean Not good for camping! Fire pit is on the road. Corporate policy on cabin changes is awful. Not a good experience. Then I got charged for a night when I informed the desk I would like another cabin or check out. I did not stay and was still charged!
Apr 07, 2015
We loved it. Its been sixteen years since i have been there. Yall have really improved the place. I could if stayed anywhere, but i choose KOA. i enjoyed my birthday.
Apr 07, 2015
Overall great experience but someone stole our marshmallow rods and unwind our porch lights and laid them on the porch. If lights were not allowed, they should have left us a note rather than remove them.
Apr 07, 2015
We love to visit KOA in Cherokee, NC. The staff are so pleasant and knowledgeable as far as meeting our needs. The cabin was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and cozy! We will be returning in the next few months! Thank you for all you do to make a vacation splendid!
Apr 07, 2015
First time there and DEFINITELY won't be the last....Had a blast.
Apr 06, 2015
I love to bring my friends and children to this place it is always so clean and pleasant. I have to say a little pricey but sometimes they give a few free nights per year or give incredible reduced rate at times, I will always be glad to stay here as long as I can afford it, like I said it was wonderful.
Apr 06, 2015
I wished that check in time was little closer to check out time if the site that you have reserved is ready!
Apr 06, 2015
The campground was fine,It was the staff that i was not happy with.We got there earlier than the check in time and it was like the end of the world! My site was empty. I have never been to a campground that would not let you in if your site was ready.I was willing to pay extra if needed. I had 2 cabins and 1 rv site. I Went to check in for a cabin and was told i was 15 minutes early!REALLY PEOPLE!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.