Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Nov 17, 2014
Very nice deluxe cabin & patio/firepit...enjoyed the atmosphere..a great camping experience...we'll be back....
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Had a great time. Hope to come back and do some fishing.
Nov 12, 2014
Hard to find. My old Gps could not know where it is. Campground is good and calm.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
The cabin was awesome. I was very impressed with the way the cabin looked and everything worked great. It was my wife's first time in a campground and I wanted her to enjoy it. It was perfect for her. She loved it and we will be back. Thanks!!
Nov 10, 2014
The staff is helpful but lukewarm. The bathrooms and cabins are very clean though.
Nov 10, 2014
Excellent
Nov 10, 2014
We have been staying at the Cherokee KOA for 15 years and it is always a great trip . We love the Cherokee KOA !!!
Nov 10, 2014
We had a great time but did experience an issue with the water in the shower. It was very cold. Stood in there for 10+ minutes waiting for it to warm up (last time we stayed this worked) and it stayed cold. It was miserable to come in from a long day of trout fishing in the cold waters to have to take a cold shower.
Nov 09, 2014
This was just what our family needed. A small break from the stress, to just be a family. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Nov 08, 2014
Don't advertise a deluxe cabin and then it a trailer with little room and appliances.
Nov 06, 2014
We stayed in a cabin near the river. It has 2 bedrooms, with bathroom and half kitchen. It's not big but very cozy. KOA site is not far from the trails.
Nov 06, 2014
We arrived after hours and had to get our packet ( we rented a cabin) from the outside box. We waited for about 30 minutes before we found someone who worked there. He said he would be at our cabin with the key in a few minutes. We went to our cabin and went and unpacked everything to the front porch. The guy never came with the key. I had to leave and go find him.
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Great place, but a little pricey for a kabin. Still had a great time
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
very pleasant stay. Clean cabin, and campground. Thanks
Oct 31, 2014
Had a wonderful time thank you
Oct 31, 2014
The stire wasn't very well stocked, so what was there, some lunch meat was spoiled. Luckily the cashier noticed it before we paid for it and ate it. But really even though it wasn't summer there wasn't much to choose from to eat. We didn't bring food due to our car being overloaded, and traveling with dogs. We also, froze in the cabin, it is not warm at all,to the point my dogs even crawled in bed
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Very disappointed in Halloween parade and trick or treat time change not indicated on internet. Granddaughter missed because of coming at 4 and it was over. Hope next year will be better advertised time wise, so we will know if we can attend.
Oct 28, 2014
Great staff. Lots of fun activities for the children. The cabin had not been swept out from the last campers. Other than that we had a wonderful time!
Oct 28, 2014
Wonderful weather and wonderful stay.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
The only challenge we had was that the cabin next to ours kept their dog locked in their or tied up barking a lot
Oct 27, 2014
The cabin was nice and fit out needs! However the stench of car ur in and feces was almost unbearable. The entire cabin smelled like that. We knew the center was full so we did not ask to move. When we checked out and I expressed my concern I was told they would look into it. I saw several cats in the area of the cabin. I sure hope this issue gets taken care of or I will never stay at this koa
Oct 27, 2014
Staff & amenities are the greatest! Cabin was clean & decently-equipped but TINY & awkwardly laid out...pretty frustrating when you're driven inside by weather. We've been here before & definitely will return. LOVE the campground --just not that particular style of cabin!
Oct 27, 2014
great hospitality; loved the heated indoor pool; thanks for the memories
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
While KOA is always a positive experience, This is one of the largest, and cleanest of all the KOAs I've stayed at. Stayed at a deluxe cabin to sleep 4. My ONLY recommendation is for linens for 4 to be provided without having to request them! We had plenty of towels and such but only the one bed was with linens. The pull it couch did not have any provided bedding.
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
Plainly stated, this KOA is pretty awesome. As they upgrade this to a resort caliber campground, I hope they do not charge a resort fee if you only desire to throw up a tent and not use say nay thing more than the showers and laundry.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Very impressed with the cabin. Could not bring the camper this trip but had everything at our fingertips. We will return soon!
Oct 22, 2014
We always have a wonderful time when we visit. Really clean facilities. Very friendly customer service, they had trees down this visit and when I wanted to switch cabins they traded us out with no questions asked. They are a little out of they way but worth the few minutes drive and seeing wildlife on the morning trip is the most amazing thing.
Oct 21, 2014
Very peaceful
Oct 21, 2014
Made our reservations fir next year!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Awesome staff and some pretty good coffee too. If they would just get the WiFi fixed . . . I'd give'em six stars
Oct 21, 2014
We've stayed at several KOA's in the Western NC, this is the best one by far! Will be staying again soon.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.