Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 20, 2017
We had a great experience. The staff was great.
Jun 20, 2017
Great campground. Mostly clean, good prices. We will stay here again!
Jun 20, 2017
This was our first time to stay both at a KOA as well as the Smokies(2 adults 2 children from Oklahoma). I couldn't have been more pleased with the service provided, the value and comfort of the deluxe cabin rented, the friendliness of staff and other campers, and the cleanliness of the whole campground. We have already discussed a return trip, and have told others about our great experience.
Jun 20, 2017
love the stay as always and ryan was very helpful. he went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and to make our stay enjoyable. thank goodness for employees like him and the whole staff at cherokee koa
Jun 19, 2017
We have stayed here the last 3 years in a cabin with a large group - the last 2 in a deluxe. This year the cabins were showing wear and tear. The banks around the cabins were covered in poison ivy and poison Oak. This year the KOA changed the policy so we could not reserve for next year until the end of July. We have decided not to come back since we can not be sure we will get the same cabin.
Jun 19, 2017
This was our 4 year in row of coming to the Cherokee KOA. We really like it there, but the staff has changed alot. There are alot of younger staff memebers that don't exactly know what they are doing. Our overall stay was good, we were very disappointed that we could not book at stay for next year when we checked out, as we have every other year in the past. Over all we did enjoy our stay!
Jun 19, 2017
2nd stay here. Very nice facility.
Jun 19, 2017
My family had a wonderful time. There's always something to do. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The best camping site I've ever stayed at!
Jun 19, 2017
We really enjoyed the dance party Saturday night, and the outdoor pool. Just wish the kiddie pool area had been open, my kids were looking forward to that. The indoor pool was so nasty you couldn't see the bottom of it. At all other KOA sites we have been to the camping cabins come with a small AC unit. That is most certainly a need for this KOA.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
I was supposed to be in cabin 104 but got changed to cabin 18 because was told 104 had broken bunk bed.I rode by one hour later and the cabin had people using it and looked like to me had been there for a while.I had cabin reservation for 104 and 105.My real gripe is the cabin I was changed to stayed fluded with water all around it most of our stay and when we tried to use the water hydrant the ar
Jun 18, 2017
The campground and all staff were excellent. We had a great time. The cabin we stayed in was very nice.The proximity of the campground to shopping, Casino, parks was perfect. One of the best campgrounds we ever stayed in.
Jun 18, 2017
We were there from Saturday to Saturday. The Sunday worship group was great! Workers around the park were all nice and friendly, wifi was iffy at best. Bathrooms and laundry area were nice and clean. Really disappointed that people walked through our campsites, even after asking them not to. We were a group of 6 travel trailers.
Jun 18, 2017
We really enjoyed it , and we will come back,everyone was so friendly
Jun 17, 2017
Awesome! And this is coming from a person who does not like camping and that is what I thought KOA was. To my delight the cabin was great, bed was soft, just like a hotel bed, air condition, TV, kitchen. Absolutely loved my stay. My cabin was right on the river. Staff were very friendly, always smiling and saying hello. I was surprised to see 2 pools, indoor and outdoor. So many things for the kid
Jun 16, 2017
Great stay with a lot of activities. Fishing was fun and the cabin had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful and courteous Will be back in a couple of years.
Jun 15, 2017
Staff was friendly, and our cabin was great (comfy beds, good air conditioning, functional kitchen, nice towels). The kids loved the pools and the air pillow, fishing, and finding otters in the river. The only negative was that the internet almost never worked, and when it did you had to be in just the right spot. So be prepared to be "unplugged", and it's all good.
Jun 15, 2017
loved every second at koa. will for sure stay again very soon
Jun 15, 2017
Great location, very quiet. Well kept, beautiful grounds. Staff was great, friendly and helpful. Food from cafe was good, but very slow coming out,
Jun 14, 2017
The cabin had a strong animal urine odor inside. I found an air freshener sponge under the bed, but it did not mask the smell whatsoever. Staff seemed very unhappy and complained a lot (not to me directly-overheard WAY more than I should have). Wi-fi service did not work. Was told to go to the bathrooms where service was best, but even there I was rarely able to get signal.
Jun 14, 2017
Wonderful stay at Cherokee KOA NC! Staff made our time there fantastic! Smiling and helpful staff. My first time to stay in a cabin. Not my last!
Jun 13, 2017
Very clean, cabin was very nice, lots to do for the kids, and the shuttle service was awesome!
Jun 13, 2017
The staff was fantastic, the facility is very well maintained. Lots to do for all ages...kids especially. The location in a mountain valley with the river flowing through the property is priceless.
Jun 13, 2017
we rented a cabin for the weekend that had a very nice view of the river from our porch. We enjoyed the music at the karaoke party. We cooked on the gas grill at the cabin and enjoyed sitting around the camp fire. Very relaxing weekend and ready to go back again. We arrived at midnight and staff was at the entrance waiting on our arrival.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time
Jun 12, 2017
We had a great time!! The staff were all so friendly!! The activities staff for the kids were amazing!!
Jun 12, 2017
very nice campground everyone was very nice also the breakfast and lunch from your grill was very good too
Jun 12, 2017
Well organized, clean, huge camping area with lots of cabins as well. The only thing that I would say that needs improvement would be the wifi coverage. Coverage was spotty & came & went a lot. I would stay here again. Conveniently located.
Jun 12, 2017
Very clean facilities, great activites and fun for kids.
Jun 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, bathrooms were kept clean, neat and we'll supplied. Thank you
Jun 08, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river. What a wonderful location. The cabin had everything we needed (except for a third air conditioner in the second bedroom). We would definitely stay here again.
Jun 07, 2017
Wifi does not work. Staff unfriendly.
Jun 07, 2017
I had a fantastic stay with my children. All the ammentities were in great condition and the cabins were very well kept.
Jun 06, 2017
We had a great time and great cabins. This was for the Johnson family reunion and I believe everyone enjoyed getting together again.. Only negative was the poor (no) internet and TV reception. Sorry, work goes on vacation too...
Jun 05, 2017
Though the cabins are nice, the expense is over the top and rivals a beachfront house or condo with none of the amenities. Scenic and pristine, with motorcycle noise running late into the night with too many campfires, smoking the campground out. The staff are very nice and attentive
Jun 05, 2017
Stay was great, accommodations and linens need to be a little more spelled out in the description of what is truly included. Keurig and coffee, but no coffee cups. Bed was squeaky but we were "camping" so not complaining. Most of the employees (ground keepers) were Helpful but some (office staff) could careless to help. Our stay was great and we will be going back again!
Jun 05, 2017
Had a hard time at first. However, Ryan the manager took care of it. Great place to stay. Love this place.
Jun 05, 2017
I came for a weekend getaway with some girls for their graduation and loved it! My distant family and immediate family are very frequent visitors of the KOA in Cherokee. We always have tons of laughter and leave with great memories.
Jun 05, 2017
we use to camp a lot there, a lot has changed. no shuttle tours, no cooking all you can eat breakfast and dinner. the new cabins are extremely expensive. But there was very nice and friendly staff.
Jun 05, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, everything was awesome!!
Jun 05, 2017
Great friendly staff and management Disappointed outside Hot tub was broken the 12 days I was there. See you in a few months
Jun 05, 2017
Well as me having to call over 30 times & I couldn't get anyone to answer the phone I finally called the Wilmington KOA were they answered the phone right away and was more than friendly to help me book a reservation! Also front desk staff was extremely rude & very slow! Needless to say I will not be going back to Cherokee if anything I will go to Wilmington!!!!
Jun 04, 2017
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for many years and always have enjoyed our time this trip was Very much needed and enjoyed.Thanks We loved the New cabins clean and very nice everyone was very helpful The only problem we experienced was not once but twice while in our cabin camp workers walked in on us without warning Still we enjoyed our retreat
Jun 02, 2017
friendly, relaxing, and helpful.
Jun 02, 2017
My stay was great had lots of fun
Jun 02, 2017
Wonderful place to camp with children. We has so much fun
Jun 01, 2017
The KOA staff and Sunshiners are all amazing. Even when put in difficult situations they always rise above. There was some vandalism of KOA property during our visit perpetrated by some unsupervised kids and teenagers. This effected everyone who was staying at the KOA and of course the other kids. I appreciate all that the KOA staff did to make our stay wonderful regardless of these issues.
Jun 01, 2017
Lots of camping cabins to choose from. Clean and updated showers and bathrooms. Tons of things for kids to do. Only draw back is cost for fire wood and golf cart rental.
Jun 01, 2017
The front desk staff is rude and lacks customer service skills! We went on one of the biggest camping holidays of the year and there were very little activities planned which was a bummer! We ordered a pizza and a cheeseburger at the little restaurant outside and it took 30 minutes to get our food and by the time they gave us our drinks the ice was melted and nasty! Showers were updated however th

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize if any of the staff was rude. There were many actives tie-die and movie night, Dj dance party, along with many other crafts. we post it in the store and on facebook. Thanks for your feedback.
May 31, 2017
Great staff. Very friendly and accommodating.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award