Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jan 19, 2017
Enjoyed the facilities, however really expected staff to check on us since they were not busy. Luckily nothing was needed. Love that koa
Jan 19, 2017
Made resevations for a loft. Didnt get a loft. Advised the lady behind the counter. She was rude. She denied it. I said to watch the video. Her demeanor changed. She then offered fire wood which declined( i brought a truck load). she offered ice. i went to get the ice and was accused of stealing!!! feel free to call me for entire story. 478 972 7322. My grp (5 families) rented 5 cabins for 9 yrs!!
Jan 18, 2017
Jan 18, 2017
It was good
Jan 17, 2017
Great Staff, Great Location. We had a wonderful time. We will be going here again. Hope to see you.
Jan 17, 2017
The people that check you in should be more personable. The best part of our stay was your employee, Laurie, she was knowledgeable about the area. She was the nicest person there. Cabin 380 was clean. Fridge door broke and light over bed out. I saw those same complaints on reviews back from October. So slow to fix issues.
Jan 16, 2017
We love staying here but were not told there would be no activities or would not be able to rent a golf card or bike in advance. Wish they would have posted this somewhere prior to arrival. was very disappointed in that.
Jan 16, 2017
We arrived late like I had told them before we left and when we got there the office was completely dark and we didn't know what to do. Finally we found a number to call and found the cabin. The cabin looked nothing like the pictures and ended up not being private at all considering there were other people very close on both sides of us. The cabin smelled like stinky feet and the wifi did not work
Jan 10, 2017
We have camped at this campground before and enjoyed their great amenities during the summer. They have lots of fun things for the kids to do! This time we stayed in a cabin and were very pleased. We were right on the water & had a nice porch; the cabin had everything you could need during your stay. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent and super friendly. Great location as well.
Jan 09, 2017
Heat in deluxe cabin didn't work well only heat to 64 degree and cut off with thermostat set to 72. Room cleaning was not good. Dust around winow sill was very thick. Some staff not very bright and cheerful.
Jan 08, 2017
Enjoyed the stay, cabin wasn't very clean, there was hair all over the floor, mice poop in the floor as well as mice in the cabin at night
Jan 05, 2017
The overall stay was good. However while preparing for bed at the cabin we noticed the matress on the sleeper sofa was littered with crumbs and there was dust bunnies and sand on the floor underneath. (Not a major problem.) The next morning When we found some little critters (bedbugs) and mmediately checked all of the beds. The manager was notified when we departed.
Jan 05, 2017
The cabin was very roomy. My family really enjoyed their stay.
Jan 05, 2017
Top spot to stay!!
Jan 03, 2017
We loved staying in the cabin #507, it was so nice and perfect for my husband and I. Not a lot to do because of winter time but we did our own thing by going other places. Thank you for being so nice and fixing things to allow us to stay in our cabin for an extra night.
Jan 02, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay!! Thank you! We are planning to come back!!
Jan 01, 2017
Good location. Friendly staff. Nice, clean cabins. Loved being on the river. JoAnn needs a raise.
Jan 01, 2017
This was our family's first time staying here. Nice location, beautiful, loved that we were right on the river, cabins were nice and clean, the staff were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be returning!
Jan 01, 2017
The cabin was clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely nice and friendly
Dec 31, 2016
Was surprised when the young lady at checkin stated she had never been in the cabins. How can you provide outstanding customer service when you don't have full knowledge of the product?
Dec 28, 2016
MALA
Dec 28, 2016
Stay was great! TV reception was horrible in cabin 238.crew couldn't fix it,a must on rain days.
Dec 28, 2016
We loved the "Teeny Tiny House" cabin with the sleeping loft. Very clean, airy, right on the brook. It is evident that campground staff take good care of the grounds; shrubs planted, stonework, fire pits for all... We wish that someone would have answered our calls when we had questions and got lost finding you though. Otherwise, great attitudes all around.
Dec 28, 2016
I would like to speak with a manager about my experience 251-382-0605 Thanks
Dec 28, 2016
ladies restrooms were very dirty
Dec 27, 2016
everything was good but little inconvenience of your office closed for 2 day, 24, 25 Dec. i understand of Christmas but still ....
Dec 25, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We only had a couple of issues..It would have been nice to have been notified that the pool was not working. Also, we checked in after hours and they forgot to put our keys out for our cabin. We understood that these things happen but it would be good for you to put some sort of phone box outside the office to be able to contact someone for help ( no cell service)
Dec 22, 2016
poorly designed restroom/shower house. narrow stalls, no benches to sit on while dressing or undressing for showers. slippery floors.
Dec 21, 2016
Exceptional staff & facilities. We had 3 families traveling together & they went above & beyond to accommodate us & our needs.
Dec 20, 2016
Several items were needing to be fixed or repaired. I told the front desk at check out and was not offered anything for compensation. I took a couple of pictures on my cell phone. We had no hot water either. The window was open before we got there, and we didn't realize it was open until we were about to check out.
Dec 13, 2016
Stay was great. Staff was extremely attentive, friendly and helpful!
Dec 09, 2016
great campground, very friendly staff, very kid friendly, and pet friendly.
Dec 07, 2016
This was a family trip which was turned out very nice and this place is great. There was one problem if someone makes a reservation it shouldn't be changed by anyone else it should be authorized by that the person who made the reservation.
Dec 06, 2016
I've stayed here before so I know how accommodating they are. The ladies in the front office are top notch Lucy has a great personality and definitely made our stay better. We will all be coming back next year.
Dec 05, 2016
Fantastic KOA, was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff who greeted us on arrival were brilliant!
Dec 04, 2016
Always enjoy my time at the Cherokee KOA, a lot of the staff that had been there for a couple of years had left and it was very sad they were gone. I will miss them so much! I certainly hope the new staff will be as friendly as the others were.Ready for my next adventure there!!
Dec 03, 2016
THIS KOA IS BIG AND IMPERSONAL AND STAFF IN A HURRY DID NOT TAKE US TO CABIN. CABIN JUST OK. CAFE ON SITE BUT NOT OPEN NOT VERY HELPFULWITH ATTRACTIONS IN AREA. BATHROOM JUST OK DID NOT LIKE SHOWERS. DOG PARK OK. I THINK THE BIGGER THEY GET THEN CUSTOMER SERVICES NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED.
Dec 01, 2016
CABINS ARE POORLY FURNISHED. IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE MORE KITCHEN ACCESSORIES TO COOK WITH. A TOASTER OVER WOULD BE GREAT SINCE THERE IS NOT AN OVEN. THE TINY REFRIGERATORS JUST DONT GET IT. IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT THERE IS NOT A FULL SIZE REFRIGERATOR IN A CABIN THAT SLEEPS 6 PEOPLE. MATTRESS IS AWFUL. NO HANGERS TO HANG ANYTHING IN CABIN. SHOWER LINER IS DIRTY.
Nov 30, 2016
First time staying at koa. Enjoyed fishing the ponds. Stayed in camping cabin and was really nice. Liked having the bathroom across from cabin. Only downfall, was not able to build fire due to being under a burn ban :( next trip, plan on bringing our children with us. So much for them to do.
Nov 29, 2016
kids love to ride bikes and they do so all day long. Good place for kids
Nov 29, 2016
We come every year as a family and is never disappointed.This year was no different. we had a blast.
Nov 29, 2016
We loved everything.
Nov 29, 2016
IT WAS VERY NICE. I STAYED IN #236. ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT FLOORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN MOPPED NOT JUST SWEPT. IT RAINED WHILE I WAS THERE SO I TOOK MY SHOES OFF AND WHITE SOCKS WERE BLACK ON THE BOTTOM. BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS GREAT
Nov 28, 2016
Deluxe cabin not well equipped with kitchen utensils. Had to request additional utensils.
Nov 28, 2016
Thanksgiving dinner was great!Lucy was wonderful ! Great time we'll be back!
Nov 28, 2016
Very poor customer service and not nearly as clean as other KOAs. WiFi is unusable.
Nov 28, 2016
The ladies in the office are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river and it was great. We'll definitely be back to enjoy all of the amenities.
Nov 28, 2016
The campground is spacious and well kept. Great bathroom/shower facilities. The lady at the check in desk was very nice!
Nov 28, 2016
Great time
Nov 28, 2016
Bathrooms didn't appear to be cleaned the entire time I was there. The pool needed to be shocked and made my skin itchy. Jets in hot tub didn't work. They told me when I checked in at 4 pm the first day maintenance would bring a heater. No one showed up. I ended up talking to a guy across the way and he let me have theirs when they left thank god bc we would have frozen the second night.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award