Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Oct 21, 2014
Very peaceful
Oct 21, 2014
Made our reservations fir next year!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Awesome staff and some pretty good coffee too. If they would just get the WiFi fixed . . . I'd give'em six stars
Oct 21, 2014
We've stayed at several KOA's in the Western NC, this is the best one by far! Will be staying again soon.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Beautiful facility with lots to do. Some of the office staff was belittling, negative, short and unwelcoming to the guest. Us included.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
need to update bath house
Oct 19, 2014
It has gotten very expensice to stay in the kamping kottages and it appears that everytime we stay there tey have issues with the wi-fi. I have been coming there for years but I don't think I will return again.
Oct 19, 2014
The staff was friendly, the campground was clean, the river was nice to see. The cabin was clean but had a bad smell, many of the facility bathrooms either didn't lock or the lights didn't work, and the shower did not drain so I had to get dressed in a flooded room. The wood we bought for our fire was wet, so we could not start a fire the first night.
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 18, 2014
I enjoyed staying at this KOA, but it needs to do some upkeep work to the deluxe cabin we stayed it. The floors need a really good cleaning. There is dirt and gum in the corners, and the flooring has really discolored badly. The curtain at the door fell down and needs to be remounted correctly. Also, It is time for a new couch. The one in the cabin is worn, old and ripped in places.
Oct 18, 2014
Our cabin was perfect of a little getaway for newlyweds, but by the second night we had loud drunk adults next to us. Our last night there they were so drunk and loud we heard them talking about hitting each other and it not going to hurt. Our sweet little getaway was kinda ruined.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Lots for children to do. They expanded tremendously since last stay years ago. They are overcrowded now with so many cabins. Camping cabin we stayed in was VERY musty/mildewy. Half of cabins were vacant but not clean. Could not give us another. Did have cleaning come and mop with febreeze. Attempt at shower one time-no hot water. No help from staff when asked. Pool/hot tub perfect temp.
Oct 15, 2014
We usually take our camper, but this time we decided to stay in their cabins - they were very nice and clean. As always the entire campground was well kept and the staff friendly.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
It was great! Enjoyed every minute of it, even in the rain!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
The only reason I booked with the Kampground is that my husband wanted to stay in a cabin. It was clean, but the frig leaked and there were some ants. I thought the price was too high, but I knew this coming in.
Oct 14, 2014
My husband JW and myself really enjoyed very much and that cabin where we stayed were so cozy and neat and comfortable and that site of KOA is so perfectly place to go and stay beside good for the kids and I personally will want to bring our grandchildren with us one day soon...Thank you so much for allowing us stayed there and enjoyed our time during the fall and colorful season:)!
Oct 14, 2014
2nd year family spent the weekend in October at this KOA & it is perfect & family friendly
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Want to go back. However, showers could be rechecked and fixed. Cabin had an odor. But overall great stay.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful campground very clean and quiet. Loved the outdoor shower stalls. Close to everything but yet felt like you were a million miles away! Loved it!!! Will be back 😊
Oct 14, 2014
I have camped at the Cherokee KOA several times and always have found it to be 5Star. This was the first time I rented a cottage for my Daughter and Grandsons...they will definitely want to come again and stay longer..see you in the Spring!
Oct 13, 2014
We always enjoy our stay because our grandchildren can ride bikes and swim
Oct 12, 2014
Bed was terribly uncomfortable - sunken in the middle. dishes were dirty. The shower drain was blocked. I don't consider the tiny bathroom sink as a sink in which to wash dishes. All in all a nice facility collectively speaking. I would return using a larger full facility unit.
Oct 12, 2014
cabins are to high cost wise,guests should not be required to carry thier own trash to the dumpster .food is too high and disabled people have little to do there.will not be back!also i had to ask for towels daily.
Oct 12, 2014
Great campground! Lots to do. Excellent Fishing. Bounce toy too noisy to camp near.
Oct 07, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and campground was maintained t
Oct 07, 2014
It was good. Need to work on internet connectivity issues.
Oct 07, 2014
Should've heeded warning from prior reviews about flea problem in cabins. Also,very much lacking in welcoming you upon arrival. Certain employees did try to make-up for lost time, but weekend was ruined by then. I don't usually submit negative reviews, but we won't be returning here.
Oct 07, 2014
you have a awesome location, cabin was great, staff friendly, will be back
Oct 07, 2014
we were unhappy this time with how we were treated. we have a large camper and we had to rent a cabin for our daughter and her husband. they would have made 8 in our camper. we have been staying there for many years and were never treated this way. we will not be back.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
The staff is always friendly and helpful. We love the Cherokee KOA!!
Oct 06, 2014
Hot water was scarce in the ladies bathhouse this stay. A repairman showed up as we were leaving. Also we woke up the first morning and maintenance removed our (block) steps leading up to the porch. I asked an employee about it and was told that he was instructed to remove by management, that they planned to replace it with a wooden step. Never saw replacement. 3 day stay.
Oct 06, 2014
Stay overall was and always is great.We usually stay in the rustic cabins or bring our fifth wheel, this time we stayed in the studio cabin, be prepared to wash your dishes in the shower and before you use them. Housekeeping needs some training, but as a campground this is the best we stay in and very reasonable.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
I was put in a cabin that the toilet didnt work, and no way to fix it during my stay. I had my wife and 2 kids.
Oct 06, 2014
The place is first-class. A very friendly staff, nice facilities and beautiful environment. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is very spotty...but, that s kind of nice to be away from it all. I can't wait to go back!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.