Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Sep 18, 2014
We always enjoy our stay at Cherokee KOA. All of the staff is always friendly an don't helpful. We will continue to add to our son's childhood memories that we can make at your location!
Sep 18, 2014
This is my favorite campground. I have been going there for 20 plus years. The bathrooms are clean, showers hot, my cabin is peaceful and the fishing is good. If I didn't love this place my kids would have send most summer holidays here. And they learnt more about their culture here than any white school could have taught them. Thanks!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Our first kabin smelled like cat pee, so we switched to another 1, which had hillbilly neighbors who stayed up till 4am and were very loud. Since KOA added Kottages, the public bathrooms & showers are an afterthought and run down. Used to be a really nice place.
Sep 17, 2014
Best KOA I have stayed at. I have stayed in KOAs from NY to Fl. All of the staff were absolutely wonderful.They were very friendly, made you feel at home. This is the first KOA I have stayed at that has an indoor pool and a food court. They have good food, at affordable prices. I went for a sister's weekend.I will be back with the family!
Sep 17, 2014
This KOA is just fine. There are lots of things to do. The staff was friendly and helpful. I like the grill and the indoor/outdoor pool options. The only thing I would change - which is not feasible in your situation - is to have more space between kabins/RVs. More privacy. Given that you are a BIG KOA you are doing well.
Sep 16, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 16, 2014
Surprised with no a/c or heater in camping cabins. Other koas we have stayed at had both. No swing on front porch either.
Sep 16, 2014
overall good stay ,got there real late on first night and left early next morning to go ride the train in Bryson city ,when i got back went to drop off the others who came with me at the cabin ,and the guy who was working at the koa came up and ask for car pass and i told him i needed to go back to office to get it but i was going to dropped off the other people first ,he got a little smart mouth
Sep 16, 2014
our stay was wonderful we will for sure be back.thank you
Sep 15, 2014
It was a wonderful stay. Staff very helpful and friendly
Sep 15, 2014
LOVE this campground. My family has been coming here for 8 years and it gets better and better. My kids are all teenagers now but the still love the place and we end up bringing friends. Staff is top notch!
Sep 15, 2014
I was annoyed when my husband had to until 2pm we have never had to wait before.We are both disabled.when we went to look what kottage we had there was a other couple at there site unloading.I thought this was very unfair.
Sep 15, 2014
Love staying here as always. Always something to do yet peaceful.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
We have stayed at several different KOA's through-out the south and this one is our favorite. Our children did not want to leave. The staff was extremely nice. I saw a staff member helping a kid fix it's bike. The restaurant on site was nice and clean the staff there were great and the food was wonderful. We are looking forward to our next trip to this KOA.
Sep 15, 2014
This was our best stay yet. We have been visiting with KOA Cherokee for the past four years. We had stayed previous to this at another cheaper campground and wasn't satisfied. We plan to possibly buy a camper and rent a site year round.
Sep 15, 2014
Out of all the campground. This was best campground we went to. Everything was close. We really didn't need to leave the campground. My family had fun and we will return if we ever decide to come to the mountain.
Sep 15, 2014
Rented the same type cabin, that I had previously rented, 2 years ago, this time had no linen. Rude staff argued about this, and no notification of this change when registering was given. Also, had workers patrolling grounds constantly and approach our visitors and confronted them very nasty about paying for visiting us. Very RUDE staff! Will not return.
Sep 14, 2014
We had a blast here!!! The indoor and outdoor pools w/ accompanying hot tubs were a lot of fun and so relaxing! Having the option to eat on site was great (and the food delicious and reasonably priced). Renting tubes for the creek and the shuttle made for another super fun time as well. We stayed in a cabin that was clean and nice as were the bathrooms. We can't wait to return!!!!
Sep 13, 2014
Second year we have stayed here and are already planning our trip for next year. Love the activities for kids and the clean amenities.
Sep 13, 2014
stayed in new cabins which were very nice! we plan to return with our motor home next time. we really enjoyed the area.
Sep 13, 2014
very friendly super clean great service lots to enjoy
Sep 12, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was friendly, the store was well stocked, the bath house was clean and the cabin we stayed in was clean.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
We Stay in 367 & 368 It Need a Wooded Walk Way up closer to these Cabin with Older one and young Kids it was hard to make it to the restroom in time with them But our stay KOA we love it thanks so much.
Sep 09, 2014
my son slept on a bunkbed,he got bug bites like crazy,dampened our stay,he said he felt bugs but i did not believe him,he came home with bites all over ,k244,nice stay but for the bugs in our cabin
Sep 08, 2014
loved the pool and the cabin by the river/ neither of the whirlpools worked the whole week/the cabin was not very clean/ the shower and toiles were still dirty from previous campers/ Kitchen sink had beans still in the drain/ no wifi as had been advertised(a big deal to us)
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We had an issue with our cabin upon check in, we were upgraded and apologized. Workers are beyond friendly and helpful!
Sep 07, 2014
Pics of cabin did NOT represent! That is illegal.. Handles to fridge stained black. Bottom of shower stained black. Outside grill just disgusting. Mattress cover was covered with hair and dried bug carcasses. I paid $170. I could have gotten suite at motel and been clean. I would be embarrassed if I owned/managed that campground. Back bedroom hot/no air. No closets. The cracks floor dirt!
Sep 07, 2014
Maybe because it was late in the season or maybe just the Kabins are getting old and run down. Could use a facelift and freshened up. Still very good stay. Very friendly staff.
Sep 07, 2014
We came down just for one night because my daughter wanted to camp for her 10th birthday. My only complaint was that we requested to stay by the river and was told no cabins were available there. I called around 1:00 that day and told her I would be in around 8. To our surprise there were open cabins on the river. We were told the next morning that they were short staffed and the cabins were dirty
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
We have stayed twice at KOA Cherokee and each time it has been aweful. Our Deluxe Cabin was hot, the microwave did not work and the staff are not friendly or helpful.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
wood stolen, EXACTLY 11-2 KOA drivers greeted us at cabin to leave, not to mention reservation error and how situation was handled...hummm
Sep 04, 2014
August 2014 The activities for the kids were great!
Sep 04, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. My only suggestion is to have more events that everyone can participate in and also more cleanliness in the bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was dirty, spider webs inside, broken cabinet doors, and cabin had flees. The cabin was on the river but blocked by brush and small trees. Other cabins were open to the river. The place seems to be neglected. Another issue, everything shutdown on labor day, no grill/food and no rentals. I was disappointed nothing was mentioned these service were seasonal. And we got ate up by flees.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Awesome Labor day weekend! Had lots to do for the kids! Relaxation at its best with KOA!
Sep 03, 2014
The cabin was dirty . Cook ware damaged .. Beds dirty..
Sep 03, 2014
Nice campground overall...my biggest complaint and biggest reason I would NOT come back is the camp sites are WAY TOO CLOSE and CROWDED!!! You have compromised the Customer for making as much money you can by packing TOO MANY campsites into your property!!! The cabin I stayed in, 301 was so close to the others, I couldn't even sit on my porch without hearing the conversation of my neighbors. There
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We love that it is so kid friendly.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Kind and responsive.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed at many KOAs and this one was a really nice location. Plenty of areas to fish, kid activities and friendly staff. The only issue we encountered was the cabin. It reeked of urine and the heat only made it worst. The smell was so bad we spent most of the time outdoors. After being ill from the smell the night prior we decided to check out early.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.