Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
great place been coming for years, love the area
Aug 24, 2016
This is a beautiful well maintained campground. It has changed a lot in the past few years. It is more suited for families w/kids or grandkids.
Aug 24, 2016
lots of amenities and great location
Aug 23, 2016
amazing koa...!I don't like to go to same place every year. this is an exception. great for families.
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was amazing. The staff was very polite and friendly. The campground is clean. I even loved that we didn't have Internet or cell phone service.
Aug 22, 2016
I have stayed many times at this campground but it only takes one time to ruin it. We rented a cabin, when we walked in it was covered in dog hair. We went back to the office to tell them, Well let's just say they swept the floor and mopped it. When they left we noticed the mattress was covered in dog hair as well. We worst part was no one cared. We never got an apology from anyone.
Aug 22, 2016
Great facility, great staff, great location.
Aug 22, 2016
Had a wonderful time!! Looking forward to coming back in nov.
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great with one exception. The kids activity organizers weren't really up to the standard of the entire rest of the KOA. Late, unorganized, not overally interested in being actively involved in activity. (Pool games, smores) Otherwise everything was wonderful and we will be back.
Aug 22, 2016
Everything was great except we had a bad aunt problem in our cabin.
Aug 22, 2016
Been going for years here never has the bathrooms been so dirty and the showers were cold :(
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Had a great time, thanks for the hospitality!
Aug 16, 2016
Other than the sub-par friendship bracelet activity that had no instruction or organization, it was a great stay. Also, the shower in our cabin cycled hot, warm, cold and the shower drain needs snaking. Other than that, we love this campground! People are so friendly & helpful and the grounds are well kept. We've already booked a return visit!
Aug 16, 2016
When we reserved we asked if the site had running water we were told yes but when we got there the site did not have running water other than that it was a great experience. Running water would have got you a 5 star review
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Our deluxe cabin with loft was very clean and had all amenities we could want. Glamping at its best! (I did bring a foam mattress topper which was well worth it because the bed was firm.) Employees were very friendly and efficient. Hadn't been back in 15 years but won't wait long to come back again.
Aug 15, 2016
Great location well maintained will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Friendly staff. I wish the pool and hot tub were open later and open earlier in the morning.
Aug 14, 2016
As usual we had a great time. The bathhouse needs to be cleaned more often.
Aug 14, 2016
That was the most relaxed I have been ever!! Wonderful place
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
My family and I love this place. I would not camp anywhere else but here.. there is so much to do for the kids and the safety of our kids. This place tries there very best to accommodate there customers.
Aug 13, 2016
Great service, wonderful staff and so much for the kids to do. Thank you!!
Aug 12, 2016
We had a wonderful time, the only problems we had were no hot (or even warm) water in the shower. We also had to wait to use the bathroom, the bath house near us only had 3 toilets.
Aug 11, 2016
We visited this KOA 4 years ago and went back because we had a wonderful time. But this time it looked like it hasn't been clean in 4 years. We stayed in a 2 room cabin by the river and that cabin was full of spider webs, dirt all over, the smell was funky, overall an awful place to sleep plus the fact that our fire pit was SO close to the fire pit from next door cabin we couldn't even enjoy it.
Aug 10, 2016
Friendly staff, beautiful campground, clean!!!
Aug 10, 2016
Overall it was mostly enjoyable. We had 2 minor electrical issues in the small cabin we rented, but it was fixed correctly the 2nd time. The dogs staying a few sites away would bark incessantly at ANY passerby which was VERY annoying and it felt like we were placed in the "smoking section" of the campground as EVERY neighboring site had smokers staying there. Those last 2 issues are risks.
Aug 10, 2016
Me and my children have stayed here many times over the years and it is always an outstanding experience!
Aug 10, 2016
All cabins should have air conditioners. I will not return in hot weather.
Aug 10, 2016
The cabin was not to our expectations. The window screens were broken and there were cobbwebs and spiders all over the outside, there were small ants on the inside and cobbwebbs on the bunkbeds.
Aug 09, 2016
This was our third time staying this summer and we enjoyed it each and every time. The only complaint I have is the restaurant there needs more employees. There were only two employees working in the kitchen. It took 30 minutes for two orders of gravy and biscuits and an order of pancakes. I would think there needs to be at least four to make everything more smoothly.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. The staff was friendly and helpful. Close to everything we wanted to do and lots to do right at the campsite. Tubing was fun and they take you up to the start point. They even had a group of youth lead a worship service Sunday morning.
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful area. Lots to do. Bath houses pretty tired.
Aug 08, 2016
My kids absolutely loved this vacation! They want to come back every year.
Aug 08, 2016
We paid extra to stay in a cabin that had A/C and a bathroom with a shower. Our shower was unusable due to the fact there was only one temperature from the faucet, scalding hot! I notified the office upon discovering this and nothing was attempted by the staff to remedy the situation. Additionally, I again notified the staff of the issue upon checkout, and still no resolve. Poor customer service.
Aug 08, 2016
Great Time!
Aug 08, 2016
A little on the expensive side. The camp store was poorly stocked.
Aug 08, 2016
Love how friendly everyone and staff members are.
Aug 08, 2016
Clean restrooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great time
Aug 08, 2016
Amazing
Aug 08, 2016
My family and I had a great time. The only issue I had was the cleanliness of the bathhouse. We had lots of fun and loved how the campground had so much to do for the kiddos!!! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 08, 2016
We stayed in cabin, so the cabin itself was hot. The fan was not working, so we ended opening the doors all night. The freshener smells bad. I highly would not recommend anyone to stay in cabins.
Aug 08, 2016
KOA campground as a whole is great. My only complaint is the water pressure in the showers. I understand trying to save water, but, when you pay money to stay you want a good shower.
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the hottest week of summer. We were staying in Cabin K60 and roasted. I asked if a small AC could be rented but was told no. These cabins are great for those on a budget but during the summer they really need AC units.
Aug 07, 2016
Poor Internet connection, Near kabin K-307, kids were making noise past mid-night so it create disturbance.
Aug 07, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award