Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Cabins were great, good laundry room, bathrooms could be cleaner, mold on shower curtains. Any way to stop smoking in private toilets would be gr8 for those of us allergic. Loads of activities for kids. Golf cart rental a bit pricey. Beautiful park.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed at cabin 60. We had no chair or bench inside the cabin. The screen had a large rip in it and shen I asked about having it repaired ir taped for bugs- no response from front office. One toilet clogged in bath house. I asked front desk where we should wash our dishes and the response we got from front desk was to use the water pump behind our site. No hot water to wash dishes. We ...
Jul 29, 2014
My last stay in 2013 was dissapointing, bad beds and poor maintenance, steps unsafe to cabin 251. all were fixed this year, and bedding was new. Thanks for listening to my prior comments.
Jul 29, 2014
it is not obvious how people should wash dishes at your campground. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay.
Jul 29, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was very nice and clean. My 7 yr old & 4 yr old were never bored between the 2 pools, riding their bike/scooter, kid activities and visiting family & friends at other cabins! They wore me out! Thank you for all of the fun and great service with your staff!
Jul 29, 2014
We had a great time. Love the KOA's because they are so family friendly and there are activities that the kids can participate in which is GREAT! They loved each and everyone of them!
Jul 28, 2014
have always had very good experience at cherokee koa. however our camp cabin could do with some major improvement.there are carpenter bees invading the porch ceiling, and the porch step down is a little hazoradous,and the screen door has been very neglected. its a great spot though next to the river.poor ole cabin just needs a little tlc.!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Our cabin was great! No complaints. It's a great family campground. Clean, friendly. Lots of activities. Only thing I did not like was no internet to keep in touch with family while away.
Jul 28, 2014
Wonderful stay in the cabin on the river. Clean bathrooms and showers, lots of fun tubing, quick check in. Will definitely be returning!
Jul 28, 2014
wonderful. The children absolutely give it a thumbs up
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
people were very friendly and helpful
Jul 28, 2014
The staff is wonderful with the sole exception of the older lady that works in the tube rental. She wouldn't rent us the tubes since it was our last day! She told me and my boys to leave and not use any of the facilities too. On the other hand, I previously asked the front office staff about staying a while to let my boys fish in the stream and they were very gracious and hospitable.Thanks
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
I was very disappointed. For the price I paid to stay in a no/bath one room cabin I think all the amenities shown on website should be included, there're not, all except pool was extra (of course hot tub was not working). Plus, my view from my cabin was a 6ft chainlink fence, I was basically camping in a parking lot, this place is so large that the pool was to crowded to use most of the time.
Jul 27, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since the 70's. We had a Wonderful time. Awesome Staff, very friendly and helpful.We will be back next year!!!
Jul 27, 2014
great time, great staff
Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay but I was disappointed that check in was at 2:00pm. We arrived early and realized we could not check in yet but we were disappointed that we were not even allowed to use campground amenity's while we waited for our cabin to be available.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
no wi fi, last time we stayed there much better, dinners, place was full, this time not so. One of the main reasons i stayed there is I needed wifi as it was a working vacation, needless to sy, i got nothing done the 4 nites we were there, my boss is not going to be happy. no refund offered for no wo fi either.
Jul 26, 2014
Bathrooms cleaned early in the morn and filthy by mid afternoon and need fresh shower curtains. Anyway to stop people from smoking in the individual bathrooms? Laundry open 24 hrs and clean which was great. Terrific kids activities but maybe could add an earlier evening movie instead of 9:15pm for the younger kids. Great amenities - pool, jump pillow, mini golf, banana bikes, fully stocked store.
Jul 26, 2014
Great KOA. Kids loved the pool, river, and jumping. No wifi was disappointing. Only 4 stars due to no wifi.
Jul 26, 2014
The people that work there are so nice and friendly. I can't say enough nice things about them, however I was disappointed in the cabin. The furnishings were nice but when I got there the toilet looked like it had not been clean in some time. The mat at the front door was dirty. The floor needed a good cleaning and the fly's were horrible. When I pay over 200.00 a night for a stay I expect clean.
Jul 26, 2014
Very good, all facilities working, clean & cost reasonable. Staff was very pleasant & professional.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
This is our second time at this camp ground this year. We also visited last year around the same time. We will be coming back next year as well. We stayed in a tent the first time and rented a cabin on the river the second. Accommodations were very nice. The kids enjoy tubing and the pool. I enjoy the peaceful and cool campfire evenings.
Jul 23, 2014
We had an awesome time on our very first family vacation! My husband and I have been there before and knew just what to expect however my father in law was kinda upset because he didnt have a tv in his cabin and my brother in law did. Turns out some of the cabins have been upgraded. I will make sure to request this next time! Thanks for an awesome weekend.
Jul 22, 2014
The weather was bad but the cabin was spotless and the staff as always very kind and helpful...great time
Jul 22, 2014
The hallway of shower doors and bathroom doors would not properly lock. I was walked in on while in the shower when I doubled checked the locks. So was my daughter on a different day. I was disappointed that the band was not there due to rain. That was the only reason we came in the rain. I will not come again if there's a chance of rain.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Even though it rained the entire time we were here we STILL had a great time and I attribute that to this campgrounds many amenities and friendly staff. The only thing I think could improve is in front of our cabin there needs to be gravel placed so that when it rains there isn't standing water & mud that you have to walk through to get inside the camping cabin. Our feet stayed wet cause of this!
Jul 21, 2014
Loved our stay - great site. Cannot thank you enough for putting us in a cabin to get us out of the constant rain.
Jul 21, 2014
Only one problem with a vehicle going too fast at our site splashing water. The campground took care of it promptly.Really friendly and better than ever before. We stay with you yearly. Keep up the good work.
Jul 21, 2014
Mattress in camp cabin was very thin. The shower house drain was clogged "did not drain at all" light and fan in k60 was very loose. Over all one night stay was great and staff was very friendly and great location.
Jul 21, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Very family friendly and lots of kids activities. Loved the fact they even had a dog kennel. We will be back for sure.
Jul 20, 2014
Everyone was friendly from check-in to check out. The mini golf and bounce pad were great free activities for the kids. Our cabin was clean, and had a great river view. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.
Jul 20, 2014
Our family just spent 7 days in Cherokee NC at the KOA campground & this was one of our best trips ever! Was looking for a mountain cabin but wasn't sure about the risk of booking any random cabin. this was our first campground experience, we had all the luxuries & accommodations with the beauty of being creekside enjoying all of nature. staff was helpful in planning. will always stay with KOA!
Jul 20, 2014
very good time and staff was very friendly and helpful
Jul 20, 2014
Loved the campground but the cabin was very small for the price and didn't have any heat or air and they also need new mattresses in the cabins. Felt like I was sleeping on wood. It took forever for the wifi to connect too. Other than that the campground is very kid friendly.
Jul 19, 2014
Cabin n restrooms were clean pool n hot tubs needed more chlorine. Rude n slow lady workers behind desk snack bar people very nice. Thought kids stayed free got charged. Tried to get the free night that didn't work out They said couldn't use value card on my second cabin. Have stayed at this koa since 1989 has gone down hill since 1st years but better than last few times we've been ther
Jul 19, 2014
My stay was good, the cabin was clean, but we stayed 3 days an were not offered any linens and were told they only stock the cabin one time. That meant we had not enough Howells for our daily showers for 3 adults. Also no wonder-to which was falsely advertised.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
We stayed in a studio cabin and it was pretty clean. Not excellent but tolerable. Great place for kids. Staff was very personable. Felt like it was a little high priced but overall we had an enjoyable time.
Jul 18, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay. However, the "mattress" in the basic cabin is awful. It is extremley thin and you will wakeup very sore. Maybe pack additional padding if you can.The staff was kind and switched out our mattress, but sadly the new one wasn't much better. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed all of the amenities.
Jul 18, 2014
the pools should of been open till 10pm.Mr Stevens was rude about the way he walked in and yelled closed get out.shame.I spoke to a few older people like us,who said this man is very rude.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We had 25 family members rent 7 cabins. Everything was as expected and wonderful. If something was missing, we asked and the staff complied. The children loved the bounce pillow and the slide in the pool. We were next to the river and floated down the river. The staff assisted in making wild water rafting reservations. We all said we would return again and again. Congrats to the staff.
Jul 15, 2014
The stay was very nice friendly staff really enjoyed!!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.