Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Apr 15, 2014
We loved the cabin it was very clean. The tv reception was terrible.
Apr 15, 2014
Great
Apr 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay, it just wasn't long enough. Good time!
Apr 13, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
the only problem we had was that we had a late scheduled arrival but when we arrived we had a hard time with anyone finding the key to our cabin since the office closed at 6pm.
Apr 12, 2014
Very clean cabin, just had a "cat urine" smell which was not so pleasant.
Apr 12, 2014
my husband and I had a wonderful stay with KOA and hope to come back with our grandchildren for a week very soon.
Apr 10, 2014
Our group has been coming here for 25 years, spring and fall, we always have a good time!!
Apr 09, 2014
Very Disappointed with NO WI FI AND VERY POOR CABLE RECEPTION. They should inform people before they check in. Mike Martin 770 539 4797 mikemartin53@hotmail.com
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
we are avid tent campers. we choose to kabinkamp for the perks it provides. There was no working TV and when inquired the lady in the office said they were working on it.other customers having problems. outside the KOA guy working said it had been out 3to4 days. A customer should be advised when they checkin to make choices or even refund. bad comm outside KOA &with inside KOA.
Apr 09, 2014
The cabin we stayed inwas fine however, walking to the bathroom during the night was a challenge due to no lighting.
Apr 08, 2014
My cabin was filthy,the steps were falling apart...better yet a hazard,the roof was leaking,bugs in the light fixtures,light bulbs were burt out,chain was broken off the light fixture..i have stayed there several years...I would have to think long and hard to ever come back...sorry some things need to change before I could consider coming back. I was and am disappointed with my stay there,this yea
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Very clean, friendly staff, great location and quiet this time of year.
Apr 07, 2014
we had a fabulous time!! Can't wait to come back! everyone was so nice and very help full! We loved the free shuttle to the casino too!! Makes things so much easier.
Apr 07, 2014
Wifi poor. Wifi antenna box was open to the elements (that can't be good for electronics). Disappointed there was no effort made to put us near my brother even tho we checked in on a Thursday before the weekenders got there.
Apr 06, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
Appear to be making more improvements. We loved the location of the cabin. We'll be back.
Apr 03, 2014
Stayed in a deluxe cabin at KOA in Cherokee, NC the first week in APRIL. The desk staff were friendley, cabin could have been cleaner inside and out, but overall a good stay.
Apr 03, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
It was good as usual. Stayed in a cabin on the river, campsite was kept nice and clean. The only issue we had is that they sold us firewood which turned out to be poplar, it burns twice as fast and is very smoky. Everyone knows firewood should be oak or hickory. Not too happy about that, especially considering the price. Will definitely bring my own next time.
Apr 01, 2014
Overall very nice. Would love to see a porch swing and outside water spigot on K355 where we stayed.Have been coming here for 25 yrs. When Walt had it we stayed 6 or 7 times yearly now we only come 1 or 2 times yearly. Fresh paint is nice but need to return to the feeling that Walt Schumacher created. We always felt like we were staying with family that is why we came so often.
Apr 01, 2014
This was our first time staying at a KOA and our first time in Cherokee. We loved it! The staff was wonderful. We orginally wanted to camp in a tent,but the forecast looked terrible. We called last minute and changed to a cabin ( last one left) When we arrived, we were escorted to our cabin!!! After a long drive with a 3 year old and a puppy it was the nicest gesture! We will be back for sure!
Apr 01, 2014
This KOA is top notch, I dont generally like the whole RV atmosphere of a KOA, but if i were to go to one this would be it. whoever was the guy on night watch deserves a raise! he was great.
Mar 31, 2014
I'm very upset with them. I got there to check in and there was to be 5 people but one was unable to come and all they deducted was $11.00. My bill for 4 people was $185.99. I went on line today and pulled it up and it showed it was $155. I feel that they over charged me. We will most likely not come back.
Mar 31, 2014
Our cable didnt work and even after reporting it they never came to fix it. The poll and hot tub were very dirty. The inflatable jumping activity outside was never inflated. It was very disappointing this year. I don't feel like I got what I paid for.
Mar 31, 2014
Understanding this campground is being worked on. it needs ALOT of help. hope KOA CHEROKEE gets help getting things back up to great standards.
Mar 31, 2014
This was my first time at Koa and we enjoyed it so much. Very clean and employees were very helpful and friendly. We will be back again.
Mar 31, 2014
This KOA offers an indoor swimming area and hot tub. Which was nice since we had a lot of rain.
Mar 31, 2014
I love coming to KOA in Cherokee! Mainly for the fishing & it's family friendly.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
Under New Management, Staff rude, ill prepared for fishing tournament. My Family has attended opening day for past 25 years. will not attend next year. a lot of drinking alcohol by campers, Staff did not know how to remove these campers from FAMILY campground. My Grandchildren were with me this year, I felt very unsafe at campground. New Manger did not introduce his self to campers.SAD for campers
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Very nice. We stayed in cottage on the river. Would go again.
Mar 29, 2014
We stay in one of the deluxe cabin on the river felt the rate was a little high but the cabin was great had ever thing you needed.
Mar 28, 2014
It was very restful to visit at the time we did. We plan on repeating the experience every year!!! Thanks for the smiles!
Mar 25, 2014
We stayed in one of the riverside cottages. It was clean and the deck over the river was lovely! We will come back soon! Thank you Koa!
Mar 24, 2014
Cherokee is a very nice campground. TheWi-Fi is nonexistent. The guys that run around in the golf cart and monitor the place need to to have better people skills. My wife and children were in the indoor swimming pool and a guy comes busting in questioning (yelling) everyone is that their white car out there? I talked to several other campers that had similar problems with the same people.
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
I like the fishing most of all and the cabin was well furnished and clean. Also its nice you can rent for one night .
Mar 18, 2014
we arrived at about 10 pm, and someone was there to help us get into our cabin--a very warm welcome. overall, we had a great time: people are friendly and helpful.
Mar 18, 2014
I had a deluxe cabin on the river and instead of having a poarch right on the river I was the closest to the pool so I had a area where others could be in front of us. that was a let down but the cabins were nice. I just wish our patio would have been river front like listed and we had no others around us so I don't know why we were not given one. we were cabin 502
Mar 17, 2014
WIFI needs to be WAY better if you expect to charge for it !
Mar 17, 2014
Mar 14, 2014
The grounds and cabins are well taken care of. The staff is extremely helpful and overall rate our stay 5 stars. If I had to throw out a negative it would be the price we payed. Willingly we paid the total fee of $161. We were one of few people on the grounds and would of hoped for a discounted price. Overall we would definately come back to the Cherokee location or any other KOA campground.
Mar 10, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We loved the little cabin and everything about the koa. We will be coming again.
Mar 04, 2014
Stayed in a cabin. Very comfortable beds. Glad however we did not have to sleep on the futon. It was not comfortable even to sit on. But over all very satisfied with our stay.
Mar 03, 2014
The campground, as always, was wonderful to visit. We have been going for 11 years to Cherokee and have always enjoyed ourselves. The only critique we have is that there is some rodent activity around the cabin we stayed in (KT236). I understand that with the outdoors, big trash bins etc. that rodents can be a constant nusiance, but you do need to do some type of rodent control and soon.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.