Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
Love the deluxe cabins but very expensive.
Aug 01, 2015
We were impressed with the customer service and upkeep. Thanks so much. Go Summer Shiners!
Aug 01, 2015
Overall not a bad campground. We rented one of the nice cabins, but it was dirty with a lot of dust and dead flies on the shelves, top of frige, floor and food residue in the microwave. Gas grill was extremely nasty and in poor condition. The supplied cookware was beyond worn out.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff very rude. Mold present in bathrooms. Staff accused my mother and husband of being liars. Staff put out our fire at 10:30 am when checkout time was 11am.
Aug 01, 2015
There was dredging outside our cabin on pond very noisy in the morning . Porch cabin very dirty cobwebs all over front porch. Shower heads slow water not enough pressure and not very clean.needs more through cleaning walls and corners showers.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the campground but prices have really gone up since I started staying there many years ago.
Aug 01, 2015
The Cabin had holes in the screens and a problem with bugs, when I asked them to repair and spray,maintenance man was very negative & stated it would be awhile before it could be fixed. There was insufficient parking near our cabin due to a huge trailer parked out front. Management said they would have the trailer moved, but that didn't happen. A staff was rude to our grandson with special needs.
Aug 01, 2015
This is our 3rd stay this year. We stayed at one of the cabins. Only issue is that every one we stayed in had ceiling fan issues. They seem to all be unbalanced and were extremely noisy when turn on at night. Otherwise; excellent stay. We will be back.
Aug 01, 2015
We love the KOA in Cherokee! It's our favorite place to camp! Great amenities and friendly staff! The only thing we wasn't pleased with this time is our camping cabin site as the outside was muddy, and some gravel or pavement at site 315 would have been great. We really liked the cable TV and fridge on our rustic site!! Great job KOA, we will return soon!!!!
Jul 31, 2015
Enjoyed it very much, riverside cabins are great and scenery fantastic. Minor point was enormous smell of vinegar inside the cabin.
Jul 31, 2015
The cabin we rented was great, right next to the river! Amazing scenery & plenty of activities for the grandkids. Had a really good time.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
campgroung great management team awful, not acomidating at all. can not say what is needed in less than 400 characters!
Jul 29, 2015
It was an awesome campground with plenty of activities to be social. The KOA staff was great, friendly, engaging and helpful if you had a question. I definitely plan on visiting again.
Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and there was lots to do and we plan on coming again. The kids loved it. We had a deluxe cabin on the river and it was nice and clean. The only con is the pool area both inside and outside really need a good cleaning and sprucing up there was a strong smell of urine when entering the outside pool area on the first day but did not notice it on the second day.
Jul 28, 2015
My twin 3 year olds did not want to come home they loved it so much. I would recommend some rails in the handicap showers though.
Jul 28, 2015
Front Desk Staff was very rude. One point cutting me off as I spoke and wagged a finger in front of my face. Our cabin was very cramped with our campfire/grill placed directly next to our neighbors parking space. Campsite was extremely crowded. Pool was nice but doesn't offset the complete lack of service training of their staff.
Jul 28, 2015
plenty of planned activities options and impromptu things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Some staff members were snarky and rude. The lady at the activity hut told me they were all out of tubes to rent. She was generally short and not helpful. I walked around back and there were 4 available. I asked the other girl working and she said I could rent them. I just found everything to be difficult - from checking in, to getting credit for my points, to asking questions, to renting tubes.
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly staff- indoor pool water temp too cold - cabins a little close to neighbors -restrooms clean- well stocked store - great activities for kids
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived Thursday night and were surprised we had NO air conditioner in our cabin. I have stayed in several KOA's before and just assumed we would have air in these . I would have tent camp if I knew before. It was cooler on the outside than inside. We had to run to walmart and buy 2 fans so we could sleep. Other than that we had a great time. I will read details more clearly when booking a cabi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool allowed the fun to continue in the rain. Church service was great. No complaints and cant wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location in the Great Smoky Mountains area! Great Pool facility and activities for the kids. Only issue was with he construction on the Trout pond on the other side of the fence from our cabin about 30 feet away. Not pretty to look at and they started working pretty early. Not at all the camps fault as they didn't know it was happening until they showed up and grounds were full.
Jul 27, 2015
Cabins too close together, no privacy.
Jul 27, 2015
Stay needed to be longer great place we will be back
Jul 27, 2015
We had a wonderful time and everyone was so nice. Thanks for a great memory!
Jul 26, 2015
It was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome camping experience! Great place to unwind and spend quality family time!
Jul 25, 2015
The tubing in the creek was great fun. You might think about a nice fence or small stone wall along the creek were the cabins are located, we saw a young boy slip into the creek while fishing. He was ok but it sure scared us.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a wonderful visit as we always do. The only thing is I wish the sheets for the bunks were fitted. Very difficult to make and do not stay on at all. You would think with all the koa cabins across the USA they could make sheets for the bunk beds.
Jul 25, 2015
Grandchildren loved pool and able to ride their bikes everywhere
Jul 24, 2015
Oh my gosh my family and I enjoyed our stay so well I booked our stay for next year . Our grandkids had so much fun which in turn gives us satisfaction and pleasure . The deluxe cabins were absolutely perfect. My husband and I visited KOA about 18 yrs ago and enjoyed it
Jul 23, 2015
Great for families with kids. Lots to do...if you aren't kid friendly, you may want a less active campground.
Jul 23, 2015
Great. Value for the price
Jul 23, 2015
Fantastic campground! Traveled there with a BSA Troop, and they treated us very well.
Jul 23, 2015
excellent staff, good activities for kids, tucked away from town...
Jul 22, 2015
Office staff does not do what they say, nobody seems to know what the other is doing nor do they take responsibility. It's pretty much what they say or the highway. Exchange of towels after being there three days was a hassle. She accused of changing that morning and had us confused with someone else. The placard in the bathroom says that they should en exchanged at the registration office but we
Jul 22, 2015
The stay was ok but the office was told about the people getting drunk and using the restroom out side in frount of children and wemom and did not care wemon do not want to sea there junk Ithank they should have been ask to leave,the camp ground. other that we realy enjoyed the time we spent...
Jul 22, 2015
When we arrived our mini fridge didn't work. We had to wait for a maintenance man to come and replace it. Then we bought fire wood from the office. The wood was wet and some of it was green. We went back to the front office and was able to exchange it....for more wet green wood. we had no campfires for our 2 day stay. We also weren't notified ahead of time of decreased fish stocks so no fish.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a good time.
Jul 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, the cabin we stayed in was clean and the food at the grill was great and affordable. Will be back again. The river flowing right by our cabin was a plus also.
Jul 21, 2015
I had a fun time and liked the environment a lot! Nice people and good facilities. The cabins seem a bit pricey though.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
great place. cabin on the water was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views and soothing sounds of running water. Booking again for sure
Jul 20, 2015
Love it, I always come 3 or 4 times each year.
Jul 20, 2015
Had a Great time
Jul 20, 2015
Our Kabin had FLEAS! We were moved twice. Our stay was very uncomfortable and we were NEVER even offered any compensation for the stress, physical discomfort and time we lost from our vacation. I cannot tell you how heartbroken we feel since we stay there ALL the time. I would like someone to follow up with me with regards to this incident. Thank You.
Jul 20, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.