Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Cabin Reviews

Oct 28, 2014
Very disappointed in Halloween parade and trick or treat time change not indicated on internet. Granddaughter missed because of coming at 4 and it was over. Hope next year will be better advertised time wise, so we will know if we can attend.
Oct 28, 2014
Great staff. Lots of fun activities for the children. The cabin had not been swept out from the last campers. Other than that we had a wonderful time!
Oct 28, 2014
Wonderful weather and wonderful stay.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
The only challenge we had was that the cabin next to ours kept their dog locked in their or tied up barking a lot
Oct 27, 2014
The cabin was nice and fit out needs! However the stench of car ur in and feces was almost unbearable. The entire cabin smelled like that. We knew the center was full so we did not ask to move. When we checked out and I expressed my concern I was told they would look into it. I saw several cats in the area of the cabin. I sure hope this issue gets taken care of or I will never stay at this koa
Oct 27, 2014
Staff & amenities are the greatest! Cabin was clean & decently-equipped but TINY & awkwardly laid out...pretty frustrating when you're driven inside by weather. We've been here before & definitely will return. LOVE the campground --just not that particular style of cabin!
Oct 27, 2014
great hospitality; loved the heated indoor pool; thanks for the memories
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 25, 2014
While KOA is always a positive experience, This is one of the largest, and cleanest of all the KOAs I've stayed at. Stayed at a deluxe cabin to sleep 4. My ONLY recommendation is for linens for 4 to be provided without having to request them! We had plenty of towels and such but only the one bed was with linens. The pull it couch did not have any provided bedding.
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
Plainly stated, this KOA is pretty awesome. As they upgrade this to a resort caliber campground, I hope they do not charge a resort fee if you only desire to throw up a tent and not use say nay thing more than the showers and laundry.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Very impressed with the cabin. Could not bring the camper this trip but had everything at our fingertips. We will return soon!
Oct 22, 2014
We always have a wonderful time when we visit. Really clean facilities. Very friendly customer service, they had trees down this visit and when I wanted to switch cabins they traded us out with no questions asked. They are a little out of they way but worth the few minutes drive and seeing wildlife on the morning trip is the most amazing thing.
Oct 21, 2014
Very peaceful
Oct 21, 2014
Made our reservations fir next year!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Awesome staff and some pretty good coffee too. If they would just get the WiFi fixed . . . I'd give'em six stars
Oct 21, 2014
We've stayed at several KOA's in the Western NC, this is the best one by far! Will be staying again soon.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Beautiful facility with lots to do. Some of the office staff was belittling, negative, short and unwelcoming to the guest. Us included.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
need to update bath house
Oct 19, 2014
It has gotten very expensice to stay in the kamping kottages and it appears that everytime we stay there tey have issues with the wi-fi. I have been coming there for years but I don't think I will return again.
Oct 19, 2014
The staff was friendly, the campground was clean, the river was nice to see. The cabin was clean but had a bad smell, many of the facility bathrooms either didn't lock or the lights didn't work, and the shower did not drain so I had to get dressed in a flooded room. The wood we bought for our fire was wet, so we could not start a fire the first night.
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 18, 2014
I enjoyed staying at this KOA, but it needs to do some upkeep work to the deluxe cabin we stayed it. The floors need a really good cleaning. There is dirt and gum in the corners, and the flooring has really discolored badly. The curtain at the door fell down and needs to be remounted correctly. Also, It is time for a new couch. The one in the cabin is worn, old and ripped in places.
Oct 18, 2014
Our cabin was perfect of a little getaway for newlyweds, but by the second night we had loud drunk adults next to us. Our last night there they were so drunk and loud we heard them talking about hitting each other and it not going to hurt. Our sweet little getaway was kinda ruined.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Lots for children to do. They expanded tremendously since last stay years ago. They are overcrowded now with so many cabins. Camping cabin we stayed in was VERY musty/mildewy. Half of cabins were vacant but not clean. Could not give us another. Did have cleaning come and mop with febreeze. Attempt at shower one time-no hot water. No help from staff when asked. Pool/hot tub perfect temp.
Oct 15, 2014
We usually take our camper, but this time we decided to stay in their cabins - they were very nice and clean. As always the entire campground was well kept and the staff friendly.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
It was great! Enjoyed every minute of it, even in the rain!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
The only reason I booked with the Kampground is that my husband wanted to stay in a cabin. It was clean, but the frig leaked and there were some ants. I thought the price was too high, but I knew this coming in.
Oct 14, 2014
My husband JW and myself really enjoyed very much and that cabin where we stayed were so cozy and neat and comfortable and that site of KOA is so perfectly place to go and stay beside good for the kids and I personally will want to bring our grandchildren with us one day soon...Thank you so much for allowing us stayed there and enjoyed our time during the fall and colorful season:)!
Oct 14, 2014
2nd year family spent the weekend in October at this KOA & it is perfect & family friendly
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Want to go back. However, showers could be rechecked and fixed. Cabin had an odor. But overall great stay.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.