Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
We love your campground. It's one of our favorite places to be. We look forward to future visits.
Aug 18, 2017
We had a great time Nice campground
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Although housekeeping did not have our cabin ready at check-in time and there was confusion and delay caused we were compensated by an upgrade to another unit. The office (Katrina) handled this problem efficiently and professionally.
Aug 17, 2017
This is the 4th time I've stayed at Cherokee. They definitely made some improvements on the grounds since the last time I stayed.
Aug 17, 2017
Love it, my family been camping here since 2011 and we've enjoyed everytime. The weather is always nice and breezy.
Aug 17, 2017
We hgad a bad experience with a drunken neighbor all through the night. I understand this happens but I didfnt have service to call security which was scary. It was just my son and myself. We stayed the next day but did not feel comfortable staying at night. We made them aware and we were not the only ones that left. I feel like I spent another 10o for nothing:(
Aug 16, 2017
Our stay was great! We enjoyed the community and number of children our son was able to play with the most. The only ask we have is to provide a bike path from the cabins near the entrance to the rest of the campground. The amount of traffic in and out of the campground makes it difficult to give your children freedom to explore and still feel safe. Please add a path and we will return next yr!
Aug 15, 2017
We really enjoyed our time at Cherokee KOA. The only thing is the cabin we stayed in had ants in the Kitchen. We def will stay again.
Aug 15, 2017
It was so nice and relaxing. So much for our kids to do and I loved our cabin by the river.
Aug 15, 2017
It was great!! I just wish they would let u pick your camp site expectly when booking way in advance.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The campground was very nice and the staff was amazing BUT the pools were dirty and not well kept up.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
It was absolutely wonderful. We didn't want to leave. Very relaxing and peaceful. Staff was very helpful and friendly :)
Aug 14, 2017
It was great
Aug 14, 2017
the bathrooms need to be cleaned more and NO SMOKING signs posted in the bathrooms, everyday it smelled like smoke. the pool was a little on the green side.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a wonderful stay!we plan on coming back next summer. The one thing that could use improvement would be the pool maintenance, the pool water was really dirty when we were there. Although we didn't need to use the pool much due to the fact that we were surrounded by rivers and stream, it would've have been nice to have a clean hot tub & pool to use. Will also like to see pool hours extended!
Aug 14, 2017
That was our third time ,definitely we are going to be back!!! We love the camp!!!
Aug 13, 2017
Bathrooms were dirty and extremely cold. Cabin wasn't clean. Pool water was cloudy. The pools slide appeared shaky and unstable. Campground doesn't pick up trash like most KOAs do. We were very disappointed with our stay since we have enjoyed almost every other KOA we stayed at.
Aug 13, 2017
Beautiful campground, friendly staff! Would definitely come back and recommend to others.
Aug 12, 2017
Great campground if you have kids.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
enjoyed it... clean camp ground
Aug 11, 2017
Loved the cabin but did not like that we didn't have access to the cabin with a golf cart. We had to park it with our cars that were not right at the cabin. We stayed in 386.
Aug 11, 2017
I must admit that I was skeptical about camping at all. My husband and son were all excited so in the "family spirit" ...off we went. We were going to book a tent site, but after reading anything about a bear, mom opted for the deluxe cabin on the river. WOW ! It was perfect! It has everything you could ask for . This place is amazing. Great staff. Can't wait to return!
Aug 11, 2017
We reserved a two room queen cabin but were given a one bedroom with bunk beds. I specifically asked for two queens and was told there were 2 left, so I booked it. When we got to our cabin and it was wrong we were told sorry you were 5 minutes to late. Why have reservations then? It was a nice clean cabin but not what I booked.
Aug 11, 2017
Enjoyed my stay, but the prices on the camping cabin are too high, bathrooms needed to be cleaned. Always enjoy seeing Joann at the front desk, she makes you feel welcome and she's so nice! Love staying here, and will be back in the fall.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
It was great besides the cabins being a little closer than I remembered. The neighbors were also very noisy around midnight and very early in the morning. The bathroom closest to the river wasn't very clean, all the toilets were clogged and the showers were kind of gross. But the bathrooms by the entrance were perfect! Also a little annoyed there wasn't an option for late check out.
Aug 10, 2017
The cabin itself was great! Clean, with fresh linens, well laid out. The grounds needed some work - the game room was closed for construction, the pools were pretty gross and murkey, and the wayerslide closed, the wifi was nonexistent, even in the office itself. A convenient spot for GSMNP and a nice stay, but not everything the website makes it seem.
Aug 10, 2017
I have been coming to Cherokee for many years to enjoy the mountains and trout fishing. This is the first time staying at KOA. My family and I love the campground! We stayed in a brand new cabin on a small creek. We did have alot of aggravation the first 24 hours as we found ourselves going back and forth (4x) to the check in station to get the things that were suppose to be in the cabin.
Aug 10, 2017
The pools were nasty!!! I have pics of the pools as well as the pool filters which were full of dead frogs. These conditions were present our entire stay. The pools were not cleaned once while we were there and they were disgusting. This was very disappointing as we have stayed there a couple of times over the last years and have always found the pools in much better condition.
Aug 09, 2017
Have been coming here for years, pretty disappointed with this trip..rented cabins 511&512. Shortly after arrival was told no camp fires at the cabins...there was no mention of this when we booked or checked in. Then boys were told they were not allowed to their ride bikes from cabins to store...had to push beyond pool?! Food orders were terribly slow. Hope this was a one off bad weekend.
Aug 09, 2017
KOA outside staff were ridiculous! Told Corporate rules we cannot reserve our annual spots nor be together. Rented 2 kabins 2 tent sites & 7 RVs. 60+ yr uncle been coming since a kid. Now brings grandkids for wk stay. Told baby stroller needs headlights-never seen 1 like that before;couldn't ride wife's bike-it didn't look right. asking kids where going who are ya w/. not family friendly pool yuk
Aug 09, 2017
We did have a great week staying, but we had problem with ant in the cabin, chair broke and they did not bring us a new one.We heard that they are changes that you can not pick you spot, This is going to hurt this place, moving people off site after they had been there, because someone came in early, or they were on a concrete site for an rv. closing the grill due to less staff.
Aug 09, 2017
Very good stay, however there were some issues. A mess in the men's toilet was there for at least 11 hours. The mattresses in the cabin were not that great. My grandkids wanted to begin camping here every year.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice , clean park. The staff was very welcome went above to help make our first time stay awesome . Thank you koa staff we would definitely be back for vacation .
Aug 09, 2017
I didn't like the cabin but might bring my camper back sometime
Aug 09, 2017
Great stay... obviously internet service stink, but thats not what we came for. Jonathan really put the icing on the cake. All the staff was nice, but that fella was so pleasant to chat with. Great thanks to him.
Aug 08, 2017
My family and I have been coming here for the past 5 years. This stay was by far the worst I have ever had with any campground. We stayed in a cabin because we have a 6 baby and needed the microwave. At arrival our microwave was removed and never replaced (or even explained why) and our shower wouldn't drain. Staff was very rude. One told our friend he could not ride his wife's bicycle.
Aug 08, 2017
Had tent campers behind our cabin with a baby that screamed all night and an alarm clock that went off 8 times with them hitting snooze at 5am. The place was pretty crowded and the staff had difficulty keeping up. Ran out of ice cream etc. overall the staff worked hard and were friendly. They can't possibly help that some folks have zero camp etiquette.
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was very nice, especially Kevin. The campground is very Kid friendly. Our campsite on the river was wonderful but the rustic cabin we rented was in bad shape for the cost. There were tears in the screens and some electrical issues. For the price the cabins need better upkeep, otherwise our stay was great.
Aug 07, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was fine. The campground was way too crowded however. There are too many campsites and it feels overly packed and crowded. We were there on a weekend and it was filled. The women's bathroom toilets were all clogged and out of the 4 women's showers, only one worked and Didn't didn't have hot water. They were sold out of tubes for the tubing. Their wifi signal is terrible.
Aug 07, 2017
We rented a deluxe cabin for my daughter's 9th birthday. I hadn't been camping in years and never at a KOA property. I was extremely pleased! The cabin was like a tiny house. My family said it was above glamping! The cabin and outside area were very clean. Many items included! Gas grill with propane! The kitchen included dishes, glassware, coffee cups, utensils and more. We loved it!
Aug 07, 2017
I have stayed here many times. I was disappointed this time as the customer service seemed to be lacking a bit. I showed up early to meet some friends that were already there and decided to ask about a cabin close to them. I was told it was taken and the person would be there later. I was there 3 days and no one ever showed or stayed in that cabin and I wasn't moved after asking 3 different times.
Aug 07, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award