Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Dec 04, 2016
Always enjoy my time at the Cherokee KOA, a lot of the staff that had been there for a couple of years had left and it was very sad they were gone. I will miss them so much! I certainly hope the new staff will be as friendly as the others were.Ready for my next adventure there!!
Dec 03, 2016
THIS KOA IS BIG AND IMPERSONAL AND STAFF IN A HURRY DID NOT TAKE US TO CABIN. CABIN JUST OK. CAFE ON SITE BUT NOT OPEN NOT VERY HELPFULWITH ATTRACTIONS IN AREA. BATHROOM JUST OK DID NOT LIKE SHOWERS. DOG PARK OK. I THINK THE BIGGER THEY GET THEN CUSTOMER SERVICES NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED.
Dec 01, 2016
CABINS ARE POORLY FURNISHED. IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE MORE KITCHEN ACCESSORIES TO COOK WITH. A TOASTER OVER WOULD BE GREAT SINCE THERE IS NOT AN OVEN. THE TINY REFRIGERATORS JUST DONT GET IT. IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT THERE IS NOT A FULL SIZE REFRIGERATOR IN A CABIN THAT SLEEPS 6 PEOPLE. MATTRESS IS AWFUL. NO HANGERS TO HANG ANYTHING IN CABIN. SHOWER LINER IS DIRTY.
Nov 30, 2016
First time staying at koa. Enjoyed fishing the ponds. Stayed in camping cabin and was really nice. Liked having the bathroom across from cabin. Only downfall, was not able to build fire due to being under a burn ban :( next trip, plan on bringing our children with us. So much for them to do.
Nov 29, 2016
kids love to ride bikes and they do so all day long. Good place for kids
Nov 29, 2016
We come every year as a family and is never disappointed.This year was no different. we had a blast.
Nov 29, 2016
We loved everything.
Nov 29, 2016
IT WAS VERY NICE. I STAYED IN #236. ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT FLOORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN MOPPED NOT JUST SWEPT. IT RAINED WHILE I WAS THERE SO I TOOK MY SHOES OFF AND WHITE SOCKS WERE BLACK ON THE BOTTOM. BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS GREAT
Nov 28, 2016
Deluxe cabin not well equipped with kitchen utensils. Had to request additional utensils.
Nov 28, 2016
Thanksgiving dinner was great!Lucy was wonderful ! Great time we'll be back!
Nov 28, 2016
Very poor customer service and not nearly as clean as other KOAs. WiFi is unusable.
Nov 28, 2016
The ladies in the office are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river and it was great. We'll definitely be back to enjoy all of the amenities.
Nov 28, 2016
The campground is spacious and well kept. Great bathroom/shower facilities. The lady at the check in desk was very nice!
Nov 28, 2016
Great time
Nov 28, 2016
Bathrooms didn't appear to be cleaned the entire time I was there. The pool needed to be shocked and made my skin itchy. Jets in hot tub didn't work. They told me when I checked in at 4 pm the first day maintenance would bring a heater. No one showed up. I ended up talking to a guy across the way and he let me have theirs when they left thank god bc we would have frozen the second night.
Nov 27, 2016
My family stay for 3 nights with wonderful Thanksgiving party, pool and hot spa. It's best experience camping!!
Nov 27, 2016
This was our first stay at any KOA, the staff was very welcoming, the cabin and facilities were extremely well kept. Thanksgiving dinner was provided and well organized. My family had a great experience!
Nov 27, 2016
staff very friendly clean cabin great discount
Nov 27, 2016
Beautiful cabin, confortable bed, clean, amazing view. The WiFi signal not good but who needs Internet in Paradise?
Nov 26, 2016
Friendly check in and we love the deluxe cabins- the 500's are our favorite- perfect for 2 people. We stayed in the 200's which are for a larger party but still on river and it was a nice cabin. If you are a chef bring ur own must have kitchen tools this cabin had 2 pots and 3 plastic serving spoons & regular set of silverware mugs ect...we used a lot of creative ways to prepare meals. Just FYI
Nov 24, 2016
Went on a fishing trip here from the Saturday before Thanksgiving up to the Wednesday before and had a great time and caught about 25 nice trout that I took home. I'm already planning next year's trip.
Nov 23, 2016
LOVED,LOVED JOANN!!! 👍🏼❣️💞 She's one of the nicest people I've had the pleasure of meeting! We absolutely loved our time camping with y'all ❣️👏🏼👏🏼
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 21, 2016
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at your location. The cabin was clean and well-kept. We had fun fishing and grilling out. Will be back soon!
Nov 20, 2016
Nov 20, 2016
We came here after 3 days of hiking/camping. The cabin was just what we needed afterwards. The jacuzzi was awesome as was the pool Nd it was a very clean campsite in general. We WILL be back
Nov 20, 2016
i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist in any way. I will definetly stay here at the KOA Cheroke again.
Nov 20, 2016
Great cabin, awesome price
Nov 18, 2016
Enjoyed cabin and setting. Very relaxing.
Nov 18, 2016
A very helpful and friendly staff. Will be back when we can.
Nov 17, 2016
As always we had a great time. Love the location and the staff met or every need. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
Nov 17, 2016
The campground was great till Saturday midday. Then the bathhouse at the back became gross and nasty. There was dog poop out front, poop on the toilet walls and smelt like poop. I told someone Sunday about it and it never got cleaned. I was looking forward to come back in the spring with my daufght but we will not come. Thanks. Jenna Roberts.
Nov 16, 2016
Very friendly staff, the cabin we stayed in was extremely clean. I would recommend that they invest in better stoves, but other than that everything about our stay and this location was AMAZING to say the least.
Nov 16, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Nov 15, 2016
Great stay! Wish there was a rod to hang clothes from, a coffee table, and luggage holder like hotels have, in the cabin. Other than those details it was a great space. WiFi and cell signals were there but really poor and unusable but having a business center helped us out a lot!
Nov 15, 2016
What a pleasant surprise! The facilities were immaculate, the staff was welcoming & it was a nice mix (bikes, jumping pillow, etc) mixed with a true outdoor experience (trail, falls, fishing).Wish someone would have offered us a heater for our cabin the 1st night. Overheard someone talking about it the next day so 2nd night was more comfortable.
Nov 14, 2016
Clean cabins and campground, helpful staff. Fishing was great!
Nov 14, 2016
First time at this campground, loved it. Check in was quick, escort takes you to your site. The cabin was great, rustic just what we needed. It was next to the creek. Our son loved exploring around I, and he really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We plan on returning during the summer to enjoy all the other stuff to do, esp want to try tubing and fishing. Great camping !
Nov 14, 2016
I have been coming up to Cherokee KOA since 1993 and always had a good stay. I did write a not to good review about a month ago but Lucy changed that around on this trip!! Thanks......
Nov 14, 2016
The camp ground is beautiful, well Maintained and large. There is something for everyone . It is a destination not a stop over. All the amenities are above average. Jump pad, swimming pools & Hot Tub inside and out. Trikes, fishing. We rented a cabin and on the river with views and serene sounds. There were some staff that were less than polite & quite rude. That's said, I'd still go back.
Nov 14, 2016
We've been coming here for nearly 15 years. We've seen Cherokee at it's best, and also at it's worst. Love what the new management is doing to get this KOA great again!!! Can't wait to come back in January!!
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience
Nov 14, 2016
This years stay marks the sixteenth year , always a relaxing great time .
Nov 14, 2016
Great staff what you expect at a five star hotel, we love this place and we are already planning our next trip!
Nov 14, 2016
Was not given the cabin type I reserved for my son's birthday - he cried because of it. Wifi was horrible - could get a signal but couldn't use it for anything simple. have stayed here several times but this weekend really disappointed me. Was told that if you want a specific type of cabin you have to call after making reservations and have them notate your reservation to not change it.
Nov 14, 2016
2nd time staying here in 2 years. Love it and will be back. Only complaint is part of the shower / bathroom area was shutdown hopefully just for remodeling. Also some locks need to be fixed in the bathrooms. Thank you!
Nov 14, 2016
Staff was super
Nov 14, 2016
We arrivesd late and had rented a primative cabin. Someone was thoughtfull enough to unlock the cabin, turn on the porch light and turn in a portable heater. We were so pleasantly surprised. Thanks for the extra steps.
Nov 13, 2016
wife got call from doc & we had to leave early. we had no problems checking out early, thx
Nov 12, 2016
We love staying at KOA but have been disappointed the last 2 times we have stayed. In May we had trouble with the AC and when we went in October the heat was not working in the Deluxe cabins. Just disappointed we pay so much for those and then they don't work properly.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award