Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

Cabin Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
campgroung great management team awful, not acomidating at all. can not say what is needed in less than 400 characters!
Jul 29, 2015
It was an awesome campground with plenty of activities to be social. The KOA staff was great, friendly, engaging and helpful if you had a question. I definitely plan on visiting again.
Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and there was lots to do and we plan on coming again. The kids loved it. We had a deluxe cabin on the river and it was nice and clean. The only con is the pool area both inside and outside really need a good cleaning and sprucing up there was a strong smell of urine when entering the outside pool area on the first day but did not notice it on the second day.
Jul 28, 2015
My twin 3 year olds did not want to come home they loved it so much. I would recommend some rails in the handicap showers though.
Jul 28, 2015
Front Desk Staff was very rude. One point cutting me off as I spoke and wagged a finger in front of my face. Our cabin was very cramped with our campfire/grill placed directly next to our neighbors parking space. Campsite was extremely crowded. Pool was nice but doesn't offset the complete lack of service training of their staff.
Jul 28, 2015
plenty of planned activities options and impromptu things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Some staff members were snarky and rude. The lady at the activity hut told me they were all out of tubes to rent. She was generally short and not helpful. I walked around back and there were 4 available. I asked the other girl working and she said I could rent them. I just found everything to be difficult - from checking in, to getting credit for my points, to asking questions, to renting tubes.
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly staff- indoor pool water temp too cold - cabins a little close to neighbors -restrooms clean- well stocked store - great activities for kids
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived Thursday night and were surprised we had NO air conditioner in our cabin. I have stayed in several KOA's before and just assumed we would have air in these . I would have tent camp if I knew before. It was cooler on the outside than inside. We had to run to walmart and buy 2 fans so we could sleep. Other than that we had a great time. I will read details more clearly when booking a cabi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool allowed the fun to continue in the rain. Church service was great. No complaints and cant wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location in the Great Smoky Mountains area! Great Pool facility and activities for the kids. Only issue was with he construction on the Trout pond on the other side of the fence from our cabin about 30 feet away. Not pretty to look at and they started working pretty early. Not at all the camps fault as they didn't know it was happening until they showed up and grounds were full.
Jul 27, 2015
Cabins too close together, no privacy.
Jul 27, 2015
Stay needed to be longer great place we will be back
Jul 27, 2015
We had a wonderful time and everyone was so nice. Thanks for a great memory!
Jul 26, 2015
It was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome camping experience! Great place to unwind and spend quality family time!
Jul 25, 2015
The tubing in the creek was great fun. You might think about a nice fence or small stone wall along the creek were the cabins are located, we saw a young boy slip into the creek while fishing. He was ok but it sure scared us.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a wonderful visit as we always do. The only thing is I wish the sheets for the bunks were fitted. Very difficult to make and do not stay on at all. You would think with all the koa cabins across the USA they could make sheets for the bunk beds.
Jul 25, 2015
Grandchildren loved pool and able to ride their bikes everywhere
Jul 24, 2015
Oh my gosh my family and I enjoyed our stay so well I booked our stay for next year . Our grandkids had so much fun which in turn gives us satisfaction and pleasure . The deluxe cabins were absolutely perfect. My husband and I visited KOA about 18 yrs ago and enjoyed it
Jul 23, 2015
Great for families with kids. Lots to do...if you aren't kid friendly, you may want a less active campground.
Jul 23, 2015
Great. Value for the price
Jul 23, 2015
Fantastic campground! Traveled there with a BSA Troop, and they treated us very well.
Jul 23, 2015
excellent staff, good activities for kids, tucked away from town...
Jul 22, 2015
Office staff does not do what they say, nobody seems to know what the other is doing nor do they take responsibility. It's pretty much what they say or the highway. Exchange of towels after being there three days was a hassle. She accused of changing that morning and had us confused with someone else. The placard in the bathroom says that they should en exchanged at the registration office but we
Jul 22, 2015
The stay was ok but the office was told about the people getting drunk and using the restroom out side in frount of children and wemom and did not care wemon do not want to sea there junk Ithank they should have been ask to leave,the camp ground. other that we realy enjoyed the time we spent...
Jul 22, 2015
When we arrived our mini fridge didn't work. We had to wait for a maintenance man to come and replace it. Then we bought fire wood from the office. The wood was wet and some of it was green. We went back to the front office and was able to exchange it....for more wet green wood. we had no campfires for our 2 day stay. We also weren't notified ahead of time of decreased fish stocks so no fish.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a good time.
Jul 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, the cabin we stayed in was clean and the food at the grill was great and affordable. Will be back again. The river flowing right by our cabin was a plus also.
Jul 21, 2015
I had a fun time and liked the environment a lot! Nice people and good facilities. The cabins seem a bit pricey though.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
great place. cabin on the water was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views and soothing sounds of running water. Booking again for sure
Jul 20, 2015
Love it, I always come 3 or 4 times each year.
Jul 20, 2015
Had a Great time
Jul 20, 2015
Our Kabin had FLEAS! We were moved twice. Our stay was very uncomfortable and we were NEVER even offered any compensation for the stress, physical discomfort and time we lost from our vacation. I cannot tell you how heartbroken we feel since we stay there ALL the time. I would like someone to follow up with me with regards to this incident. Thank You.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was excellent. However the campfire wood that we purchase (4 bundles) was all green (wet) wood. Making it VERY frustrating and difficult to keep the fire going.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean campground,bathrooms and cabins. Staff was wonderful! I would highly recommend a stay at the Cherokee,NC KOA!
Jul 20, 2015
We always LOVE staying at the KOA!
Jul 19, 2015
Love the camp grounds just disappointed this year. We rented deluxe cabins the AC unit broke in the bedroom and they never fixed it the whole 7 nights we stayed there no discount given for the inconvenience
Jul 19, 2015
Totally enjoyed our 5 night stay! Staff was very courteous and provided top notch service to us. Have already recommended the campground to others.
Jul 19, 2015
As I was checking out, I booked a week for spring break next year for the family. I will also be coming the 1st of Oct. for a father/son weekend with friends. So, yeah, we love it.
Jul 19, 2015
Camping Cabin. This place was ok, not great. Pros: great pool area, 2nd pool, food reasonably priced, good activities for kids. Cons: sites are way too congested. Our site (K385) was at the very back and was bad -- soggy grounds, could not park right next to cabin, big sewer line running behind the cabin and along the "creek".
Jul 19, 2015
Our family had a great time!!! So much to do.
Jul 18, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA several times and always look forward to coming back. Beautiful area and well kept grounds!
Jul 17, 2015
VERRY NICE
Jul 16, 2015
Large KOA, beautiful location. Nice place to stay "off the grid". Wifi & cell serv was almost non-existent. No A/C's in kabins. Cherokee is a "dry" county so much make any alcohol purchases prior to visit. The walk in health clinic also does not treat you if not from Cherokee tribe. Staff was not overly friendly or inviting. Tubing was a blast.
Jul 16, 2015
We arrived on Friday and the air conditioner quit on Saturday. When we checked out on Wednesday(2 days earlier than expected) the a/c was still not working. I was told it froze up due to humidity and ambient temperature changes. The last day we were there a maintenance man said the drain was clogged. Whatever it was the problem was not fixed.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.