Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 10, 2016
Jun 09, 2016
The scenery is tremendous. There are plenty of fun things to do in the campgrounds whether you're a kid or adult. Will be back for sure!
Jun 09, 2016
Worse customer service,. Changing out the cabins for little houses. Not much like camping. I can not stress enough how horrible the custoer service at the front desk. There focus and dedication is to POLICY. Old adults with limited computer knowledge but experts on everything they read. They refused to let my certified registered service dog in and more. WORCE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Will not renew KOA.
Jun 09, 2016
It was great. The staff was super friendly.
Jun 09, 2016
Need a sign close to where we sign in telling new arrivals they can't park in front of the Admin Building especially when it is raining- I was told to move my RV.
Jun 08, 2016
Wi-Fi needs to be improved. Signal was weak. You did a disservice by putting a mattress on the hide a bed sofa. The air mattress works better.Was not prepared for the single cup coffee maker. Had to go by regular coffee maker. People need to know what type coffee maker is in the cabins.
Jun 08, 2016
Awesome staff.
Jun 08, 2016
Great mountain location a short distance to town and the National Park. Nice indoor pool.
Jun 08, 2016
We stayed 5 nights and it rained almost every night. Our tent site had no grass so it was very muddy. It was also next to the sump pump and our parking area was also muddy. The bath areas were very clean and nice. We used the laundry facility and it was also nice. A lot of activities for kids and families. The staff were very nice and always helpful.
Jun 08, 2016
Great place to camp!
Jun 07, 2016
Love staying at Cherokee KOA! Great place to get away.
Jun 07, 2016
Wi-Fi could be better with very little or not any phone service with major carriers. Low hanging and dead limbs need to be cleared from sites and along all roadways. Staff was great. Several washers and dryers not in working order in a couple of laundry rooms. We had a great stay and will be back.
Jun 07, 2016
Great
Jun 07, 2016
This KOA would be great if they only attended to details. Our cabin required screen repair (which was done, but not adequately and it popped out again), all but one light bulb in the cabin were blown, one lamp was broken, under the beds there was a coke bottle and remains of a hot dog as well as lots of dirt. Outside carpenter bees were damaging the unit. For the money someone needs to check unit
Jun 07, 2016
Great staff excellent service. That was the best week long camping experience for a family with a 3 year old. So much to do we need to go back to do it all.
Jun 07, 2016
Super, only one issue which was with the air compressor which had to be manually reset to inflate large motor home tires....think it just needs a new pressure switch.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great time and really enjoyed the campground and friendly staff.
Jun 07, 2016
Plenty of activities for the kids to do. Great staff. Super campground to relax at.
Jun 06, 2016
Had a great time! Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities was clean and well kept. In fact, the only inconvenience we had was they were pressure washing the cabins to re stain them for a couple of days while we were there. Overall a very good experience.
Jun 06, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
LOVE this place! So glad to see those beautiful upgrades in bathhouses & some of the rock pits at sites. My concern is...even tho those table & chairs look good, tables kind of small when spreading food out for 5-6 family members! Other than that....thumbs up!
Jun 06, 2016
The Best this location has been in 10 years . Pools and Hot tubs were clean and functioning as they should .This is one of the priciest location due to location and amenities and this trip was great and worth it . Thomas, Betty , Crash and many others made this a true pleasure with their assistance .The coffee bar being closed 15 - 20 mins before the store closed was my only complaint .Mike B
Jun 06, 2016
Great place. Only issues were with the outdoor recreation post booking our rafting trip (bad experience) and poor or no internet service). Other than that it was great.
Jun 06, 2016
I think this is a fairly good campground, however I think it is overpriced. I have paid the same price for a much better site. The sites are pretty close and there are some long term campers that are very un-kept and make the park look bad. Also, there needs to be trash pick-up for charging these rates Trash Dumpsters not convenient Cable is extremely fuzzy.WiFi is non-existent.
Jun 06, 2016
Clean park but the cable tv in the park is very limited and very poor in clarity. All channels very fuzzy.
Jun 06, 2016
Excellent facility and terrific staff. Perfect for families with children.
Jun 06, 2016
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins. In all, it was a good stay, but there were a few minor problems. The gas grill was out of gas, the ad said there were both a kureg and a regular coffee pot but the regular pot had to be asked for and, lastly, the air conditioner cycled on and off 10 seconds at a time.
Jun 06, 2016
Everything was clean and the staff very helpful and accommodating. This was our second stay in two years around the first week of June. Last year there were planned activities for the kids every day and at least one movie night during the week. This year, there were no planned activities and no movie. Minor details, but we were expecting more for the kids.
Jun 06, 2016
It was very nice
Jun 06, 2016
The campground associates were extremely courteous. We enjoyed the evening meal that was cooked. The area was very clean.
Jun 06, 2016
Fun, pleasant and comfortable.
Jun 06, 2016
Everyone was so nice and helpful. I would especially like to say how nice Gary (our driver) and JoAnn were who help us with many questions during our stay. Great trip!! Wifi is the only thing that was not great.
Jun 06, 2016
We had very noisy neighbors with teenaged kids that kept us up half the night. Also there seems to be a drainage problem all over the campground; after it rained all the campgrounds and streets flooded. It was very unpleasant walking my dog through all the rain puddles. I doubt I'll ever return to this campground.
Jun 06, 2016
This is a nice campground. The maintenance and grounds employees are very nice and helpful. Though some are nice, several of the desk employees are rude and some struggle with the English language. And one in particular, at the grill, definitely did not need to be dealing with English speaking customers - I ended up having to write what I needed. Everything is extremely overpriced.
Jun 05, 2016
very helpful folks. Nice sites
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
This was our 2nd stay here and we loved it yet again! Everyone is very nice. Wish the benches in the showers were just a bit bigger. but all was AWESOME!!!! Thank you!
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
good park to relax
Jun 03, 2016
I was unaware of the shuttles available to take me to town or other venues. It was unfortunate that they were not running on Monday 5/30. I didn't get to explore any of the local region as a result. 😩
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves. We've been coming for awhile now, and we always have a great time. The only problem we had was getting housekeeping to supply us with toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. It often took us calling or stopping by several times to get the supplies we needed. We eventually went to the grocery store for some of the items because we couldn't wait any longer.
Jun 02, 2016
Friendly people, clean bathrooms, beautiful scenery, lots of activities. We stay every Memorial Day weekend.
Jun 02, 2016
We and another family came to camp with y'all over Memorial Day weekend. We all had a great time. Plenty of activities for the whole family. Also, we appreciate the family atmosphere of a KOA.
Jun 02, 2016
Very Enjoyable . . . People were very friendly and helpful Have made reservations for the 4th of July
Jun 02, 2016
The facility was clean and well maintained. The staff were the best part of it. Everyone was very willing and ready to help. Gary, Laura, and office staff were awesome. The WiFi connection could be better. The staff for activities planning were also very helpful and provided good information to plan our stay.
Jun 02, 2016
We stayed in one of the new cabins and it was so nice! Like staying in a little hotel room. A couple of thoughts: add a small "kitchen" sink by removing or hanging the microwave. We didn't use the microwave once. Make sure there are 4 of each size plate/cups/silverware. Only other minor complaint was the AC was a bit noisy (haha). The grounds were beautiful! Can't wait to return!!
Jun 02, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award