Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2015
Great stay. Perfect base camp for Cherokee and GSMNP. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Bad site. Put next to(facing pull-thru) at #277. "Group" on site never had less than 10 people and never shut up well after "quite" time. No shade as requested.
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our 4-day stay. Good, friendly, helpful people! You will be glad you stayed here!
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin by the river. But, with no cell service, we depended on the Wi-Fi which was advertised but it did not work. We had no contact with family left at home, nor were we able to receive email unless we went into town. We chose this one because of the advertised Wi-Fi.
Jun 16, 2015
The staff was amazing. Everyone you passed walking or around the pool said hello and asked how everything was going and if we needed anything. The resort was clean and well maintained. We will gladly recommend to anyone! Because we will be back as soon as we can!
Jun 15, 2015
So much fun. Such a pretty location. And so many things to do. Tubing was our family's favorite! Can't wait to come back!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved your campground. Everyone friendly and helpful. By far better than others around the area! Great for kids.
Jun 15, 2015
The stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly. Much better than the stay in 2013.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice campground and great stay. 1st time at this campground or any KOA. Many activities for kids. Would have been a 5 but somehow it seemed we ended up with the one bad campsite in the campground. Couldn't even fully extend our awning due to a power box and had a LP gas tank right next to us. Any other site, and it would be 5 stars.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice the river is wonderful. However, they need a plumber to fix there bathroom fixtures.
Jun 15, 2015
The campground itself wasn't bad. Lots of large dogs, German Sheperds Doberman and a pit bull. Unusual for a campground. The wi-fi is weak. Not bad early but as people get up it goes bad. And there were multiple sites with the sewer blocked up and extremely slow at best. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 15, 2015
Loved the new upgrades (flatsceens TV and refridgerator in the kabins)
Jun 15, 2015
loved it. very friendly friendly kids heaven. loved the facility with all the amenities.
Jun 15, 2015
Clean campground, friendly staff, plenty to do! Great place to stay.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
This was a great KOA with plenty to do. My only complaint is the staff could be a little nicer. Upon check out we were at the pool and a worker came by yelling "anyone checking out has 5 min to leave the campground". We tried to check in 1 hr early and was told no and that we couldn't use the property either. I've stayed at serveral KOA's but this one has the most rules ever.
Jun 15, 2015
We usually have a wonderful time at this specific campground. The location, amenities and most of the staff were great. We did not enjoy our stay in the camping kabins. They did not have air conditioning and the lack of ventilation made it hotter than camping in a tent. We were miserable and even purchased box fans that didn't help much. I don't recommend these through the hotter months.
Jun 14, 2015
remodeled bathrooms were kept very clean and nice to use. Sites were also well kept.
Jun 14, 2015
The staff were nice except for Joann who had a horrible attitude. The batista was hardly ever at the counter for coffee or lattes, and the rest of the staff acted like they didn't know how to make one. There was also one of the male staff that kept riding by our cabin slowly, it was kind of creepy.
Jun 14, 2015
We have stayed at KOA Cherokee several times and it seems to better each year. The staff is very freindly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The grounds and comfort stations and kept in excelent condition. Thanks again KOA and see you next year. Jean
Jun 13, 2015
Overall it was great, most of the staff was super friendly, except this one guy,older guy with a ponytail, goatee blondish brown hair, wore glasses. Seem to be always jumping on somebody about something, taking the whole authority thing a little too far. But other than him it was great, and Emma, she was wonderful, super sweet girl
Jun 13, 2015
Memorable moments for our family the staff was very helpful and very friendly. Bathrooms always clean and recreation team was amazing, Emma and all the team was A+++ Thank you to all KOA team!!!!
Jun 13, 2015
We had the best time. The staff was the most accommodating, friendliest staff I have ever encountered.
Jun 12, 2015
The only problem we had in our trip is that twice people were setting up at 2:30am and 12:30 am which we do not appreciate because VERY noisy and their kids were riding skate boards at 2:30am right behind our motorhome. The 10:00 pm quiet time should be the latest time to set up. Other than that our trip was nice. I wish they would inforce the rules more. Like quiet time.
Jun 12, 2015
This KOA had so much for the kids to do. It is a great family location. We have a big rig and the staff put us right on top of a large family with a trailer. There were many unused other spots they could have choosen. It was very uncomfortable for both parties.
Jun 12, 2015
Excellent experience. I wish it had lasted longer.
Jun 12, 2015
Pretty nice. Liked the cabin, but we felt kind of spooked being the only occupied cabin by the fishing lake. Several roads were pretty wet, even though we didn't have much rain. Seems like they could use some work. Like having a koa on the NC side of GSM Nat Park. Staff was nice.
Jun 11, 2015
We loved it all! Sites were great (we had a river site), staff were friendly, lots of great activities for kids, and a super pool area with great cafe!!! Can't wait to stay at this KOA again!!
Jun 11, 2015
We camp in a 42 ft toyhauler and needed a long pull through. They were able to accommodate our needs. There was an initial problem with the 50 amp breaker on the post, which was fixed before we had the camper set up. Great, friendly staff. Beautiful park like setting.
Jun 11, 2015
Campground was great. Only issue was that WiFi was down last Monday for several hours. Access to river for kids to play in would have been nice also.
Jun 10, 2015
The only problem we had in our trip is that twice people were setting up at 2:30am and 12:30 am which we do not appreciate because VERY noisy and their kids were riding skate boards at 2:30am right behind our motorhome. The 10:00 pm quiet time should be the latest time to set up. Other than that our trip was nice.
Jun 10, 2015
the only thing they need to cut bushes back its scratch my truck all up
Jun 10, 2015
Overall, our trip was enjoyable. I was disappointed in a couple of things. While the cabin was really nice, my husband and I both felt it could have been cleaned better. The refrigerator had obviously not been wiped down and the drawers that contained the pots and pans had a brown gooey substance in them. Also, there was hair from previous guests in the shower.
Jun 09, 2015
Wonderful mountain views, excellent place to get away from the hustle and bustle. Disconnect from all the Internet devices and go camping!
Jun 09, 2015
Great as usual. Love it
Jun 09, 2015
Great time. Lots for the kids to do, helpful staff and very clean. We'll be back when we're in the area.
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very. Staff was great and very friendly.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Thomas, tamie and terrible we're all delightful members of the koa team! The staff kept the restrooms extra clean which is always super important to usee parents with children. Staff always had a positive attitude any time we had questions. One suggestion would be to have more individuals working the food service bar next to pool, there were several times we had to wait 30 min or more!
Jun 09, 2015
The cabin and campground was great. The only bad thing was the evening sun made our cabin hot.
Jun 09, 2015
Great staff. Fun amenities. Very clean and maintained. Easy check-in. Beautiful location and surroundings.
Jun 08, 2015
The campground was very nice. A group of about 20 camped next to us. Very noisy. No peace. Would have moved except friend in cabin next to us.
Jun 08, 2015
All in all this KOA was pretty good. We had a couple of rude hosts but most were friendly. The grounds and activities are certainly important B+,but the friendliness of the hosts, workers is key to guests returning.
Jun 08, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. Didn't want to leave!
Jun 08, 2015
We had a wonderful time! This was our second trip to the Cherokee KOA. My daughter requested this trip her High School Graduation present because she enjoyed it so much the first time. The only problem we had was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock and couldn't be fixed because the parts weren't available but overall I would highly recommend this KOA.
Jun 08, 2015
Our family had a great time while staying at this KOA campsite. My son had a blast riding his bike, swimming, tubing, playing in the river, jumping on the jumpy pillow, hanging out with friends, and participating in the recreational activities. Our primitive cabin was perfect and the bath house was not far. The bath house was clean too. The KOA staff were very friendly.
Jun 08, 2015
This was a trip to celebrate the ending of End Of Grade testing for my two Daughters (12 & 10), and we had a blast. Thank You so much!!! John, Sara, Katherine & Emma Mertz of Asheville, NC
Jun 08, 2015
Stayed in the deluxe cabins on the river. So clean, so much fun the kids did not want to leave the river outside our cabin. We will be back soon. Loved it!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.