Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 06, 2015
Been coming here for 10+ years. Have a great time everytime
Nov 05, 2015
Has been 5 years since being here. Was the same, which is good & bad. Very helpful staff. Checked in after hours, a staff member happened to be out & retrieved our key from the night kiosk & directed us to the cabin. Restrooms & outside showers could be updated. One outside shower did not produce hot water, one shower head damaged, but worked. Halloween activities very fun for the kids & adults.
Nov 05, 2015
Awesome! There was no cell signal, so no calls from work :) The view of the Blue Ridge is breath taking...
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 04, 2015
Great fun for kids and adults at Halloween! Lots to do!
Nov 04, 2015
It was wanderful
Nov 04, 2015
This was our second visit in October. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The staff and fellow campers are all so wonderful and friendly!
Nov 04, 2015
We had a great campsite on the river. Halloween activities were really good! We will be back!
Nov 04, 2015
When using the bath house in the back of the campground, I had to try 3 separate showers before I found hot water.
Nov 04, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Having facility with both traditional camping, including RV'S, and Cabins together is wonderful for large families to spend time together!
Nov 03, 2015
We enjoy this location, and will again.
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
Some of the staff did not know what was going on. There should be more patrol and staffing to control children playing in the main roads where cars travel.
Nov 02, 2015
Ladies bathroom smelled awful the entire time we stayed. Smelled like kitty litter. Also the fridge in our cabin wasn't working correctly. Neither flashlight on our key sets worked. Other than that it was a great stay. Loved the activities for the kids. Looking forward to coming back next year.
Nov 02, 2015
We've stayed at many KOA's and this one many times. We always have great experiences. Not this time!! The customer service was horrible! In the afternoon the staff gathers in golf carts by the road near the office and seem to look for reasons to harass guests! We experienced this ourselves, we also witnessed this on several occasions with others during our stay. Not a camper friendly environment!
Nov 02, 2015
It was the Holloween weekend. Had a great time. Love seeing al the camp sites decked out for the holiday. Also enjoyed all the trick or treaters. Gave out a lot of candy.
Nov 02, 2015
Had a great time
Nov 02, 2015
We have always loved this KOA when we visit the mountains. There is plenty for the kids to do besides the indoor pool. The parking for more than one vehicle can be tricky on some lots.
Nov 02, 2015
Activities were enjoyable. Sites definitely could use some more gravel.Cars constantly blocked in pull thru site. Annoying since we were in a class c.
Nov 02, 2015
we had a great time, it was good to get back to KOA Cherokee after a few years, it will not be as long next time!
Nov 02, 2015
This was our 3rd stay here over the last several years and was by far our worst. Musty, smelly cabin, cold showers with poor draining, combined with the rude staff made our stay very uncomfortable . Couldn't wait to leave, don't want to go back.
Nov 02, 2015
everything was great but their was an increase in the amount we had to pay that they did not tell me before hand.
Nov 02, 2015
Very family oriented.
Nov 02, 2015
This campground is the best one we have stayed. Friendly staff, lots of amenities, and the campsite by the river was beautiful. We even went swimming in October at he heated pool. Wonderful time.
Nov 02, 2015
Very nice staff. Great cabin. WE'll definitely be back!
Nov 02, 2015
Love it. Would camp here again
Nov 02, 2015
The staff was friendly. But our neighbors kept us up late with their party. So we checked out the next am early.we had paid for 2days. The camp reimbursed us for the other day.If we come back we'll rent a cabin away from the permanent rv's.Thank you.
Nov 02, 2015
Sites 1-7 suck. People constantly walking through campsite,and aconsistant flow of traffic in front of campsite. Would stay here again but now on the first row
Oct 31, 2015
Stayed 30 days arrived early was asked to pay $25.00 early check in fee which I didn't pay as a owner of 4 hotels I have never asked anyone to pay early check in fees was glad they were doing business with me.
Oct 31, 2015
It was great
Oct 30, 2015
Had a great weekend for my daughter's birthday. Had fun tie dying t-shirts. We will b staying there again. The people were very nice.
Oct 30, 2015
Kids driving bikes though pur campsite all day. Internet was very very very slow almost none
Oct 29, 2015
Huge KOA. They have everything you can think of. After getting set up at our site we went for a ride. When we arrived back at our site there were golf carts and bicycles in our site- next to the bouncy pillow. We requested a different site and luckily they were able to move us to a very nice quit site in the back. Enjoyed our stay but spent most of our time in the park not the campground.
Oct 29, 2015
Very limited WiFi until most of campers exited. Showers were not good. The stall used had very poor drainage and water was barely warm. Not enough hooks to hang clothes and towel and no place to set your toiletries.
Oct 29, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at koaThe accommodations that was offered was more than satisfactory.Thank you
Oct 29, 2015
Oct 29, 2015
Great clean campground. Check out at 11:00 is imperative. Lots of fun things to do for kids. We ll be back soon with grandkids.
Oct 28, 2015
Stayed in a small kamping cabin. No Heat or AC. Floors needed to be mopped. Lots of amenities & helpful attendants. Had fun & relaxed.
Oct 28, 2015
friendly and helpful staff
Oct 28, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Sites were clean and comfortable. Loved the trick or treating and all the decorations and kids in costumes!
Oct 28, 2015
We came especially for the fish tournament. The showers were hard to keep things dry. Nowhere to put them. Shower curtains had mold on them.ad for tournament false ad because it did not pay out all fish tags because of miscommunication. Should have at least pay something.
Oct 28, 2015
We had a ton of fun seeing the entire campground decorated for Halloween.
Oct 28, 2015
Bathroom's need to be upgrade for handicapped people. Thay need handrail and bar's
Oct 28, 2015
Beautiful cabin!
Oct 27, 2015
We had a great time! Cottage was cozy and everyone was very friendly!
Oct 27, 2015
My family and I enjoyed our stay at KOA. The only thing we would like to have you do is bring back the outdoor movie night, we really like the fire pit and big screen movie. Great activities for all. Thank you, see you soon.
Oct 27, 2015
The campground staff and amenities were phenomenal The site (320) was nothing short of horrible it is extremely small, a large propane storage tank and electrical box is at your front door once you set up There was neither a fire ring nor a picnic table at the site The sewer connection was at least 25' from the center of the site We will not return unless we get a better site.
Oct 27, 2015
Had a great time!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps