Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 18, 2017
Wifi is almost non-existant; zero cell coverage; extremely poor water pressure. Water was manageable but the inability to check on an elderly family member at home will likely prevent a return to this campground. We had 3 families there, all with different cell plans, and no one could call home. Drove to Bryson City to make the call.
Apr 18, 2017
Been staying here for 25 years but first time I have negative to report. 25$ for wanting to check in 1 hour early?.1 smooor per child--come on .Egg hunt- if for 10 and under it should have said so no eggs left for bigger kids when their turn came No golf balls to play miniature golf.1 basketball?? pool dirty. The cabin nice, location good, patio nice but too many cabins close together No privacy
Apr 18, 2017
A lot for a family to do. Some things are more important then others such as the cleanliness of the facilities. They don't get touched to much
Apr 18, 2017
We had a great time. My one and only complaint was that the Wifi service was very inconsistent.
Apr 18, 2017
I found the staff to be very rude and you could tell that there was definitely distention in the ranks! I don't know if the business recently sold or if it's gotten too busy or what but I was not impressed it definitely wasn't the normal KOA experience.
Apr 18, 2017
We stayed in the small sleeping Cabins. We have a wonderful time.
Apr 17, 2017
The campground is on the large side, but overall it is a nice place in a great setting. The place that needs help is the full time staff. Many are rude. Being a corporate store - this is disappointing
Apr 17, 2017
Very nice campground. They do need more staff inside and if cabins are ready, they need not to charge an early check in fee.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
{ not good} { no to BAD } not to friendly check in WY-FI is so BAD .... that you need to go to down town Cherokee to us it. KOA WY-FI need and upgrade yesterday for the price WE pay.....
Apr 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA in Cherokee, NC. Plenty of things to do in and around the area, such as fishing, hiking, horseback riding, and museums. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are only 45 minutes to an hour away too. Staff was great and professional.
Apr 17, 2017
Great Location with lots of kid-friendly 'to-do's' on the property. Clean bathrooms and camp sites. Check in service was very unfriendly and borderline rude. They seemed uninterested in welcoming us while eating ice cream behind the computer.
Apr 17, 2017
Would give better rating but the Wifi at this KOA does not work at all. I believe that if its advertised that they have Wifi, it should work. I was not able to get it to work at all.
Apr 17, 2017
Great family fun for Easter! The staff and the facilities were both exceptional and this KOA is the best campground we have ever been to. We can't wait for our next visit
Apr 17, 2017
We love Cherokee KOA. Between the indoor pool, bounce pillow, bikes, the river, fishing and the Grille, my kids always have a blast. Cody and Monica were great at the desk helping us rent bikes, golf carts and having firewood and ice delivered to our cabin.
Apr 17, 2017
Everything was great other then the bathrooms stayed cligged and floors where disgusting we actually decided to not shower cause we would of been nastier bathing in the bathroom vs not showering at all.
Apr 17, 2017
I was disappointed when my husband was told that he was purchasing a fishing license from koa that was good for fishing in all of Cherokee, and then come to find out he was misled and was fined $100. When my husband let management know he said he would have to train his staff better and offered nothing to offset their mistake. Being on vacation and then being slapped with a hefty fine for their mi
Apr 17, 2017
We loved we will be back again soon!!!😀
Apr 17, 2017
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for over 17 years. We always have a great time. Cody was a great help with anything from when I called to make the reservation, to when I needed to rent bikes, get firewood, ice et. We always love this KOA.
Apr 17, 2017
Met family there, fished swam and hung out. Went to casino, had a great time . Next time we will reserve a Delux Cabin. Much nicer than premitive ones. Had a great time. We will be back.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was nice and meet our needs and expectations. The men's bathroom shower was but there was not any soap in the dispensers.
Apr 17, 2017
Cable was out for 4 days, no wi-fi to speak of and the sites were so close I could hear the whispered conversations on the next site. Roads not marked one way so traffic, golf carts and bicycles were a nightmare. Camp store closed at 6 and its a good 10 minute drive to the next available store. Ive stayed in better KOA's right off the interstate.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
I love this campground and we have been coming here for 40 years. But I am sorry to say that it is going down hill. The grass had not been cut and everything just had a rundown look to it. I hope that with summer coming on they will start cleaning things up. It just needs some love and care. we will keep on coming for a while longer to see if things get better.
Apr 17, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay everyone was really nice & everyone always seemed to be in a really good mood the phacillity was was clean & fishing was excellent will definitely be back soon
Apr 16, 2017
For the most part a decent experience, but not the best. The pool is small, over crowded, and does not appear to be the cleanest. Some of the staff were very nice but there were a few who just did not seem to want to be there and that came out in their treatment of guests (Cody). The ponds are also extremely busy and crowded at times. Not bad but could be better
Apr 16, 2017
25$ for early check in is to much. And we had to call five times and leave two messages to get a call back . We liked the facilities and tought the where very nice.
Apr 16, 2017
When arrived was not given cabin that was suppose to be reserved. I called the campground to verify I had reserved the cabin and was assured everything was in place. The staff tried to move us to the cabin but it had been given to another family. The pool and hot tub was disgusting. The arcade was closed the whole week and the jump pillow only open approx 4 hrs the whole time we were there.
Apr 16, 2017
- no private tent sites; our site was right by the busy road - wish they had tent sites on river - teenage girls loved the amenities - basketball court and putt putt, bike rentals and pool- would be nice for them to put another net on other side of goal - pool and hot tub looked dirty and cloudy - friendly staff - bathrooms clean - expensive to fish - firewood expensive - game room wasn'
Apr 16, 2017
Beautiful campground! We stayed right on the river on a premium site. Well worth it.
Apr 16, 2017
This is a great campground. The staff is friendly. Donnie is very helpful. The campground offers lots to do and the surrounding area has so much to offer. We are looking forward to coming back this fall.
Apr 16, 2017
Not enough workers at the front desk. Anytime we had questions or needed to purchase something we had a long wait. Front desk staff was not friendly. Wifi was very slow and almost impossible to even check emails. We did however enjoy the facilities and fishing in the pond.
Apr 16, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 16, 2017
Way over priced... they say you have no need to leave.. but store closes to early and the prices are 3/4 higher , half the employees don't know anything or care to, expect a 20 minute wait to get a Pepsi in store as there is 10 employees but only one on the register.. and also make you believe they stock 2 times a week.. but really it's 1 , 1 in pond , 1 in river.. I probably will never go back.
Apr 16, 2017
Stay was great. activities for children wee also excellent. Two complaints-1) cabin had a lot of dust and trash under the bed & bunk beds. Looked as if the cabin had not been cleaned in a couple months. The center of the cabin area had been sweeped it seems. 2) cell phone and Wi=-Fi useless. I have a busines and needed to keep up with emails. Wi-Fi continually droped after only a few minutes
Apr 16, 2017
Awesome Campground!
Apr 16, 2017
Nice and friendly staff beautiful park
Apr 16, 2017
This has been our favorite place to camp for over 10 years, however, this weekend, the camp felt like they were not ready. As well as the employee's were not very friendly.
Apr 16, 2017
Great campground with helpful staff
Apr 15, 2017
Great location. Very nice campground, but except no Wi-Fi or phone service which could be good or bad. Cable TV fuzzy. Bathroom #3 needs attention. Overall very serene and relaxing. Mingo Falls is a must visit
Apr 15, 2017
We had a great time we can't wait to go back
Apr 15, 2017
Great as usual.
Apr 15, 2017
The campground was nice, clean, and close to the Smokey Mountain National Park. Cherokee KOA had a nice indoor swimming pool, playground for kids, river to go fishing, close to town, pet friendly, offered cable with good selection of channels. Activities were not clearly announced, internet was spotty at best, no phone reception, and slow check in and check out. This is not a bad campground.
Apr 15, 2017
Staff was very nice, was disappointed the wifi didnt work. Hope to go back soon!!
Apr 15, 2017
We all had a great time!
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: lots for kids to do, they serve food on site, nice indoor pool Cons: sites very cramped and close to one another, there was a bunch of construction going on when we were there, Wifi didn't work well
Apr 14, 2017
Front desk staff rude and inefficient. JoAnn was particularly out of her league and should not be on the front lines. Does not compare to other KOA's I've stayed at.
Apr 14, 2017
The entire Cox family should get a raise. They each went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay amazing. When one of my dogs had a medical emergency they gladly helped with my other dog. They helped me get settled and were all around amazing. I would stay at another KOA solely based on how they treated me and my family. Thank you again to the Cox family for all their hard work
Apr 14, 2017
Overall nice place to stay. At check-in would of been nice to get a map of layout of park. Counter staff got my payment, called for escort on handheld radio and started waiting on next in line when I still had questions. Dog run area trash was over running and left that way for 3 days. If you are near " bounce house" kids play area you will have A lot of noise from that attraction.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award