Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2014
Our stay at your KOA was a fun and wonderful experience. I also loved the activities for my kids. HOWEVER, it would be great if all the shower stalls (inside the bathroom ones) had a small table or more hooks for our clothes.
Jun 29, 2014
The staff was friendly and the site was great. The facilities were a problem. The shower water backed up over our ankles. Before we could use the toilets we had to flush 3-6 times and then another 3-6 afterwards. The restrooms were not clean although it seemed like a staff member was there often. The pools and spas need work and cleaning as well.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
It was okay but the cabin had ants in it we left a day early cause my kids were scared they were going to go in their ears
Jun 29, 2014
Need table in showers. Check window screens to make sure they are not ripped out
Jun 29, 2014
Beautiful campground on a pristine river! Would have given it a 5star rating except the cabin we got was the most bare bones we have ever stayed in..no picnic table,porch swing, mirror or A/C. The advertised wifi is only near the office...90% of the campground is wifi-less. Will come back with our RV!
Jun 29, 2014
Place 151 was a spacious but since we had some showers it was rather muddy since little grass at the place. The utility connections was in a big muddy pool.
Jun 28, 2014
Your KOA was all that you said it would be. We liked the location and being able to go into Cherokee by shuttle. Most employees were friendly and helpful. The younger ones in the registration office didn't seem to be well trained or people friendly. The campground was quiet and not too brightly lit at night. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Bathroom buildings need replacing and the roads need much repair work.
Jun 28, 2014
the campground was clean and well maintained . the only issue is the roads inside the campground need to be marked with arrows indicating their direction.
Jun 28, 2014
not as good as last year
Jun 28, 2014
1 star off because the wifi only worked at the office/pool area. We were only 3 spots away from the office so there's significant improvement needed there. The other star came off because we paid a premium for being on the river but it wasn't really the river. It was an unfishable little creek that came off of the river. That said, the amenities were abundant and it's a great place for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
A great place to camp. My kids enjoy the jump pillow and pools/water slide.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
The only problem was the water was cut off twice during our stay at inconvenient times. Bathrooms, showers and laundry were extremely clean.
Jun 27, 2014
No Wi-Fi to speak of! You have to go to the office area to use it. I wish I would of known that prior to booking our cabin. Other than that the staff were great!
Jun 27, 2014
I love this campground, but I think it could be improved. We have been going here for years and the grounds need to be updated and some of the facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
Great Place to stay and play, nice staff and best fudge ever.
Jun 27, 2014
showers were awful, no place to hang your clothes nothing but a wet floor.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Bathrooms needs updated. Had a wonderful time. Staff is very nice.
Jun 25, 2014
We have stayed here before and both times have been GREAT! We will be back! Can't wait to plan our next visit!!!
Jun 25, 2014
Cabin was dirty and smelled. Showers and restrooms were very nasty. Been staying at this koa since 2003 each year has gotten worse this being the worst and my last.
Jun 25, 2014
The location was great, but there were a few items that we noted:1)Lack of Wi-Fi availability, and they advertise this amenity 2)Cabin bathroom needed repair, and they new about it before visit 3) Front Office, Rec. Staff and Shuttle driver not knowing the days a well known local cultural (Unto These Hills)show is held, especially the Shuttle Driver;no Sunday Shows and that was our last night.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. The lady in charge of the front desk (sorry can't remember her name) was most helpful-THANK YOU! Great staff and facilities.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Campsite and facilities were well-kept, clean and in a beautiful setting. Most staff members were polite and helpful. On the 2nd to last day of our weeklong stay I experienced an overflowing sewer pipe when I tried to empty our black tank. 3 attempts were made to clear it and the last person to work on it said there was nothing wrong with it (not). He was extremely rude. Mgr. credited us 3 nites.
Jun 24, 2014
I live within walking distance of North Myrtle Beach.I have never really been a mountain person,but my stay at KOA last week was one of the best I have ever had.I had both sons and two grandkids with me and their were more than enough activities to keep them busy and happy! The staff was excellent,the grounds well kept,and the food was very good at the snack bar! Phone service wasnt good however@
Jun 24, 2014
We used the wheelchair accessible cabin and found it to be excellent. We plan to return in the future.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Very nice campground overall. The indoor pool was a little concerning with the cloudy water. No problems noted.
Jun 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! Plan to visit again :)
Jun 24, 2014
I love this spot and would give it higher ratings, but some of the staff rude. I am a very easy person, but going in to check in I do wish to be treated better. I have spent a lot of money here over the past couple years. A lot of the people are nice but it only takes one to spoil that. There is an older blonde women who works in the store doing check ins, who's unpleasant and rude. Just saying.
Jun 23, 2014
Loved the clean facilities and activity options on site. Thank you and will visit again!
Jun 23, 2014
The staff were very friendly, and helpful during our stay. Everything was very clean and at night was lit up so felt safe there. Our favorite place to camp! Thanks!
Jun 23, 2014
This KOA campground has everything!! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We just got back home and our grandson is already talking about next year's camping trip. He just loves this campground and all the activities.
Jun 23, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. The campground was very neat and clean. The only problem was that both hot tubs were way too hot to enjoy.
Jun 23, 2014
Staff friendly, lots of activities, nice facilities, this place has it all. We have a 2 1/2 year-old and she had a blast. It was our second visit and we will be back. The only reason it was a 9 out of 10 is that the internet was very spotty. Other than that...fantastic!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
CHILDREN AND GRAND KIDS. WHAT A STAY. NEVER TURNED ON THE TV.
Jun 23, 2014
I stay here a few times a year and I am always thoroughly satisfied. A truly wonderful place to camp with my kids.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
This is a really big resort with a lot of great activities for younger kids. Rafting, pool with slide, bikes all where great. Lots of fun things for kids to do.
Jun 23, 2014
Staff was GREAT, area was clean, activities for all, young and old. NC was beautiful! Thanks
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time, just wished the sites weren't so close together. Paid for river front thinking we would have river access, but didn't. Really enjoyed all the kid activities and all the family oriented things the park had to offer!
Jun 22, 2014
The only problems we had was how rude the front desk was to everybody & not just us.
Jun 21, 2014
I scowred the area for a campground that would give us mountains water trees, and things to do, swimming golf and bounce pillow. Although we never made it to the activities and missed the music we had a blast. Clean quiet and just what our family was looking for. Thank you!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.