Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2014
Pics of cabin did NOT represent! That is illegal.. Handles to fridge stained black. Bottom of shower stained black. Outside grill just disgusting. Mattress cover was covered with hair and dried bug carcasses. I paid $170. I could have gotten suite at motel and been clean. I would be embarrassed if I owned/managed that campground. Back bedroom hot/no air. No closets. The cracks floor dirt!
Sep 07, 2014
Maybe because it was late in the season or maybe just the Kabins are getting old and run down. Could use a facelift and freshened up. Still very good stay. Very friendly staff.
Sep 07, 2014
all was good except the bathrooms were over populated and always dirty. especially the showers and the toilets. the employees at the tube rental were less than helpful, you would have thought we were asking for they're first born very lazy people.
Sep 07, 2014
koa was better than what the reviews stated. clean, neat, lots to do for children, paved roads-no complaints other than the ride from town to the KOA was slow going-past the school, etc. would recommend & go again.
Sep 07, 2014
We came down just for one night because my daughter wanted to camp for her 10th birthday. My only complaint was that we requested to stay by the river and was told no cabins were available there. I called around 1:00 that day and told her I would be in around 8. To our surprise there were open cabins on the river. We were told the next morning that they were short staffed and the cabins were dirty
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
We have stayed twice at KOA Cherokee and each time it has been aweful. Our Deluxe Cabin was hot, the microwave did not work and the staff are not friendly or helpful.
Sep 05, 2014
Campground was awesome. Only problem was the site was to small for my camper could not open awning and build a campfire. Very annoying not being able to make fire and do s'mores with the kids.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
wood stolen, EXACTLY 11-2 KOA drivers greeted us at cabin to leave, not to mention reservation error and how situation was handled...hummm
Sep 04, 2014
August 2014 The activities for the kids were great!
Sep 04, 2014
The site was to small for the price. The charge for golf carts unreal,$100.00 a day. the cell phone reception was a joke. Candy bars $1.69,really? The candy flashlight and candy bingo was also a joke. I don't think the people in charge had any idea what they were doing. They were not fun and the prizes were cheap, especially for the bingo games. To come as far as we did the trip was not worth it.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. My only suggestion is to have more events that everyone can participate in and also more cleanliness in the bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Enjoyed our 4 night stay,the only problem at all was I wished the ladies bath/shower area were cleaner.
Sep 04, 2014
The tubing and bike rental were not open on Labor Day. We left early because of this.
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was dirty, spider webs inside, broken cabinet doors, and cabin had flees. The cabin was on the river but blocked by brush and small trees. Other cabins were open to the river. The place seems to be neglected. Another issue, everything shutdown on labor day, no grill/food and no rentals. I was disappointed nothing was mentioned these service were seasonal. And we got ate up by flees.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
We had a great time. This is the cleanest KOA I have ever stay at in a long time.
Sep 03, 2014
Men's bathroom was always dirty and flooded with water most of the time. People with tents didn't have anywhere to get water. Overall my grandkids enjoyed it.
Sep 03, 2014
We enjoyed another fantastic time at cherokee. probably our 7th or 8th time staying and we had a great time. Really excited to find out the cable tv was working properly. We will return asap.Only problem was some kids trying to ride off on my kids bicycles. The management took care of it quickly.
Sep 03, 2014
This KOA was great - just wish we knew about the loyalty club before we got there - we stay at another KOA earlier in the summer and missed out on points and the discount :(
Sep 03, 2014
Awesome Labor day weekend! Had lots to do for the kids! Relaxation at its best with KOA!
Sep 03, 2014
The cabin was dirty . Cook ware damaged .. Beds dirty..
Sep 03, 2014
Everything was clean, we enjoyed trout fishing while there.
Sep 03, 2014
Nice campground overall...my biggest complaint and biggest reason I would NOT come back is the camp sites are WAY TOO CLOSE and CROWDED!!! You have compromised the Customer for making as much money you can by packing TOO MANY campsites into your property!!! The cabin I stayed in, 301 was so close to the others, I couldn't even sit on my porch without hearing the conversation of my neighbors. There
Sep 02, 2014
We love this campground! This is our 3rd year coming and we plan on doing away with our yearly beach trip and replacing it with a week here. Great for kids with plenty to do.
Sep 02, 2014
love the campground...have been coming for 25yrs but this year staff was ridicious, somewhat rude, the rules have changed where we cannot guarantee our sites, boys stealing banana bikes, running over my 4 year old grandson, just not our usual camping trip, KOA is just not the same as it was years ago, most likely will be changing campgrounds next year mainly because of price kids use to be free to
Sep 02, 2014
We had a wonderful time. this was the 2nd time this year as we spent our weekly family vacation at this facility as well. we have already reserved our sites for next years labor day weekend. we will also try to make it back at least one more time before the end of the year. Brian Foster
Sep 02, 2014
This is a family place. Very safe. Kids never run out of fun. They will sleep great after a day here.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We love that it is so kid friendly.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Great stay (as usual). We love this place! We were sad when it was time to go back home but are looking forward to our next trip on 9/12.
Sep 02, 2014
Campsites were clean. Bathrooms were horrible; small and dirty. In one of the bathroom facilities near our site a clogged shower drain was reported on the men's side of the bathroom. Was told that they would not fix this until sometime in the fall after the busy season was over. Water would back up past your ankles!! We were at the campground late August. Staff service not the best overall.
Sep 02, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathrooms/bathhouse. Every time I went to use the bathroom, I had to attempt to navigate floors that were covered in water, dirt and mud. It got to the point that I was going off site and using public restrooms in order to have clean facilities. The store also has apple juice stocked that expired in July.
Sep 02, 2014
Kind and responsive.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed at many KOAs and this one was a really nice location. Plenty of areas to fish, kid activities and friendly staff. The only issue we encountered was the cabin. It reeked of urine and the heat only made it worst. The smell was so bad we spent most of the time outdoors. After being ill from the smell the night prior we decided to check out early.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Plenty to enjoy. Very pleasant.
Sep 02, 2014
Our first trout fishing trip ever! We loved it! Made lots of memories and will be back again (many times) soon!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.