Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
Enjoyed it very much.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was courteous and very helpful. Accommodations were clean and nice.
Jul 13, 2015
Totally enjoyed our stay. Campground staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay . Our kids had plenty of activities to do . For most part staff was friendly
Jul 13, 2015
It is in a great location and has lots of fun things to for kids. The staff is the reason I did not give it a five star reccomedation. One check in clerk was flat out rude and did not have much of person skills. We were thirty minutes early and she made fill out paper work to walk around the camp ground to check on sites we could switch too. Overall a good experience after we got to our site .
Jul 13, 2015
Great
Jul 13, 2015
Awesome,clean koa..can't wait to go back
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Loved the tubing and tube rental.Concerns of breed restrictions not being enforced. Large PIT BULL on site next to us, some times not on tie down. A lot of traffic and golf cart cruising as well as road traffic noise.
Jul 13, 2015
everything was great. i like that u have a grill on site we ate there a couple of times it was always good. the only really needs upgrading is the wifi i was really disapointed in it. but everything else i was very pleased with and we will are looking foward to coming back. thnk yall very much for having us.
Jul 13, 2015
By far & away the best Koa or any campsite we've been to.
Jul 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Planning on coming back!
Jul 12, 2015
Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Felt very safe at the campground.
Jul 12, 2015
Huge campground. Cabins right on the river. Tons of amenities for kids. Great place.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time
Jul 11, 2015
We had a great time again this year! The renovated bath house looked great. However, the toilets are very difficult to flush. The laundry room also looked great. It will be even better after the wash tub is working. The kids activities were fun and your staff was pleasant as usual :) See ya next year!!!
Jul 11, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA several times prior but this time was not so good. We were put on the first site next to the jump pillow. It has no drainage and was a muddy swamp due to rain. The fire pit was right in swamp so we couldn't even have a fire. 3 out of 4 kids got stung by Carpenter bee's. One had to go to urgent care. Fishing was not good. Very sad.
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground with helpful and friendly staff
Jul 11, 2015
We had a great time. The camp is in another world. From the friendly staff to the many camp activities we never wanted to leave.
Jul 11, 2015
We have been camping at this Cherokee KOA for many years. We love it and keep coming back for campsite on the river!
Jul 11, 2015
This place was very cool. Had everything we needed and they let us stay with 3 dogs. Great cabins, great people. We will be back.
Jul 11, 2015
We really like to fish and the ponds were never restocked whil we were there
Jul 11, 2015
Always an adventure. Great staff very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Too big. Too many people. Other than that, it was great.
Jul 10, 2015
A great stay. Really no complaints other than the streets need patching or repaving. too many large pot holes. also it would be nice if store would stay open later . Wifi is still horrible. I would pay extra per day to get get good wifi.Park very clean, courteous employees.Will be back, and will recommend it to my friends. Thanks
Jul 09, 2015
I have been staying at this KOA for the past two years. I have already made reservations for next year. The staff is very friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
poor wi fi service
Jul 09, 2015
My husband and I usually love staying at the Cherokee KOA, but this time it was not very enjoyable. The day after we arrived, some tent campers moved into the area behind our kamping kabin. They moved their table and shelter literally up against our kabin. Normally I would rated this campground a 5 but for holiday weekends I would not recommend. Tent sites are way to close to kabins.
Jul 09, 2015
enjoyed very much
Jul 09, 2015
It sucked or campsite had 3in of water standing cabin was full of ants and koa people were told but nothing was done probably lost your business to yogi bear from now on also advertised free wifi but we were never able to connect
Jul 08, 2015
Love the campground but please trim some trees. We spend a lot of money on our units and do not need limbs scraping down our roofs and hitting your air conditioners, etc. Also you cannot make some of the turns due to trees that are in need of trimming. Other than that, awesome campground.
Jul 08, 2015
We had an amazing time and are already planning our next stay! Despite the rain, we were glad that there was a list of events throughout the day. We barely left the campground because there was always something going on. Great place and environment and everyone was very friendly!
Jul 08, 2015
I understand that it rained a lot, but I feel like some of the sites could be more level to allow more drainage. Also the bathrooms didn't have soap for the first two days we were there. They also had us down for a different that we did not reserve and the KOA employee that came out was very rude to us. This was our second time here and I wasn't as pleased as I was the first.
Jul 08, 2015
All associates very friendly. Camping store was great and had a-lot to offer. DJ patio party and movie night was fun! Loved the nearby attractions such as the July Indian Pow Wow! Unfortunately this KOA is way too crowded for the location and amenities offered. There is not nearly enough lounge seating available in outside pool area. The Wi-Fi is horrible. Several showers need new shower heads.
Jul 08, 2015
Our electric to our kabin consistently went out over the first two nights/ three days we stayed. We continued to report it and the employees worked on it and replaced several parts and thankfully by the third night it stayed on. That was a huge inconvenience and no one offered to make amends for that. Also, there was enough hair in the women's showers to supply a wig shop. Seriously gross.
Jul 08, 2015
Reservation messed up (too small site for our camper) called week in advance to correct - awful customer service! (Was fixed but cost us extra $ that was not budgeted) Then upon arrival charged double credited full amount (on holiday weekend) causing entire bank account to be locked up (very rude customer service at desk) ruining our entire vac. because we were then not able to do other activite
Jul 08, 2015
We really like this campground, they have so much to offer. We had our two granddaughters with us and they were so entertained with the pools and other activities. The van took us to the inner tubing drop off and that was a blast. Good job KOA Cherokee, we'll be back.
Jul 08, 2015
we really enjoyed our stay although our campsite was very wet and muddy after 3 days of rain.
Jul 08, 2015
The actual spot we had was less than desire alb compared to those around us no sewer hook up because neighbors was permanently plumbed in and we had no concrete apron. Staff was great and grounds were kept up nice. We were first timers at KOA and will likely try other sites in future.
Jul 08, 2015
Worst KOA experience ever. The campsite consisted of nothing but mud. The parking area was completely underwater. Meanwhile, there were many unoccupied campsites throughout the campground. I politely told the staff at checkout and they just shrugged it off and told me to have a "better rest of the day". I've been camping at this KOA for many years, but this was the last time.
Jul 07, 2015
Rain-rain-rain, but still enjoyed the weekend. KOA staff and campground were great as always. Plenty of activities for the grandchildren, and enjoyed the free shuttle service to the casino, the driver brought us right back to our camper, since it was raining. Looking forward to our next trip to KOA/Cherokee!
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time but it rained.
Jul 07, 2015
Fantastic campground with lots to do and breathtakingly beautiful scenery. Staff is top notch, the kids always have a blast. We keep coming back for more.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We reserved a premium pull thru but got bumped to a 30amp site that was right by the playground. Wasn't happy to be bumped but we will stay again
Jul 07, 2015
This was the first time we stayed here and we loved it and will be back soon everybody was so nice and we had lots of fun even tho it rained the hole time
Jul 07, 2015
What happened to this KOA? SITE 320 NOT a site! A huge propane tank & an unlocked unsafe elect bldg. $60+ per night. No room to park. And a campfire? They said NOT on this site. 4 teenagers & load of firewood & was to be our GREAT CAMPING TRIP of the year?! I booked early. Rude older red head lady @ check in. Check in 2 hours early= $25 FEE! MONEY RACKET. No tents allowed on rv site. Awful!
Jul 07, 2015
We have been coming to this park for many, many years. Fishing has always been the main draw for the family. Ponds were stocked twice a week. Fishing was good. We always brought friends who returned on their own. The last 2 trips, fishing has been horrible. We are considering not returning again. It's a shame because you have a nice park.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.