Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 03, 2016
Nice campground and the staff was nice but I was totally deceived into getting the 2 most expensive sites there by being told they were booked up and when we were there that was untrue with a lot of empty sites that would could have been in. Just beware of the deception when booking by phone instead of online.
Oct 03, 2016
We had the best time (Daughter, puppy, and me) The staff was really nice and the guests were really friendly. Will recommend and obviously return.
Oct 02, 2016
Great staff. Friendly environment. Would highly recommend
Oct 02, 2016
3rd time here! Hard to get to but worth the effort! Will come back again and again!
Oct 02, 2016
We had a great week here! Very clean campground, friendly staff. Only complaint was the wifi, not a great signal.
Oct 02, 2016
We have been camping here for about 30 years and always look forward to coming. The campground is clean and the staff members always seemed to be very nice. The only issue we had this time was when we were walking from the indoor pool out to the parking lot, just as my wife was about to step out one of the staff members came flying by on a golf cart and almost hit her. He was going way too fast
Oct 02, 2016
Cabin dirty floors and furniture, trash on porch, view not what website shows.
Oct 01, 2016
The hot tub, pool, slide, the cabin's loft, the location on the stream, nearby historical landmarks, Cherokee Museum and waterfalls.
Oct 01, 2016
Everything was excellent. The wifi could have been a little better and we didn't have cell service but other than that we love our stay
Oct 01, 2016
This was a very nice facility.
Oct 01, 2016
Lots of improvements since our last visit. We had a great time with all the amenities at this park!!!
Sep 30, 2016
The KOA was nice on the outside, but the cabin was not as clean as it could be. But the AC broke on the 2nd day and could not be fixed. We could not stay there, it was too hot.They would not work with us on price, and were not polite to us. Maint. man was the only decent person. Desk help was rude. Not a good vacation.
Sep 30, 2016
We stayed at a site that backed up to the river. Nice and quiet since it is the off season. I imagine during peak season it might not be as relaxing, but looks like a good place for families with young children.
Sep 30, 2016
Very nice campground. Employee Donnie Cox helped me with an RV problem above and beyond the call of duty. Grateful for this.
Sep 30, 2016
We love staying at KOA campgrounds; however this one did not meet our usual expectations. The staff couldn't help us find the place when we called. The cabin we booked was extremely dirty as though it never gets cleaned and it was very old, very much unlike the cabins we have experienced in other places and cost more money than those. The pool and hot tub were nice however.
Sep 30, 2016
GREAT LOCATION FOR THE SOMKEYS
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 29, 2016
It was great. We just missed fishing in your ponds. We will be back hopefully soon. The best campground around. Your staff is so friendly and helpful. We did have a few cold showers though in the bathhouse by our site #26. Over all see had enjoyable weekend
Sep 28, 2016
Love the area Great staff. I will be back.
Sep 28, 2016
We stayed in a cabin ,it was very dirty had to get housekeeping to reclean!Bed was very uncomfortable.very disappointed.
Sep 28, 2016
We loved it, beautiful view, clean and quite And would recommend it to friends and family
Sep 28, 2016
Very nice bathrooms and showers. Wi-Fi non-existant. Huge sites no crowding.
Sep 28, 2016
very nice campground. I have stayed in many KOA but this one was by far the best.
Sep 28, 2016
Great facility Attentive staff Needs better signage
Sep 28, 2016
Wonderful staff! Such sweet, sweet people. Super clean and super nice bath house. We will definitely be back SOON!
Sep 28, 2016
great stay, need to expand wifi as there is no cell phone service on majority of campground, reliable wifi would be great!
Sep 27, 2016
Had a good vacation and excitement when the rescue helicopter landed in the parking lot.
Sep 27, 2016
Overall a great experience. However, the wait was excessive at the grill/snack area and the staff there were rude unlike the great folks encountered everywhere else.
Sep 27, 2016
Great place to stay, we liked it.
Sep 27, 2016
We stayed 4 days /3 nights and had a nice peaceful stay. the people were extremely friendly and offered their help if we needed it. Will return again in the near future.
Sep 27, 2016
The campgrounds were extremely clean! Everyone was also polite. My kids will remember this trip for the rest of there lives!
Sep 27, 2016
Very nice campground! Snack bar is very conveniant
Sep 27, 2016
We had a fabulous time. My son enjoyed his first rainbow trout catch. We will be back!
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
We stayed the last weekend in sept. Grill and store closed super early bc it wasn't in season. There were still many visitors at the campground that would have benefited from them staying open.
Sep 27, 2016
Lot was fine, place clean, showers not so much. The ad that they have wifi was not to spect in fact no wifi nor cell signal therefore hard to plan our days and worried of not being able to tell our family where we were.2
Sep 26, 2016
Nice Campground, Nice long even sites. Big Cove Road REAL narrow getting there. Got to be careful driving to the RV Park. Great place for kids, however there are No cell service or wifi signal even tho they save they have wireless there. They need a wifi booster throughout park. People walking dogs and NOT PICKING UP THEIR dogs Poop and letting their dogs PEE all over everyone's campsite!
Sep 26, 2016
No cell service and wi-if that doesn't work sucks. Other than that very nice campground, clean and well taken care. Quite great camping area
Sep 26, 2016
Very clean, nice paved roads and sites. Store has better prices than downtown. Will be back.
Sep 26, 2016
I was very upset that the rate I was charged on arrival was well over the rate on-line after I submitted all my info. Also, the showers were terrible. Tried several, all either had leaky, bad shower heads and shower controls that went from hot to cold and back again with no control. Either scalding you or freezing you. Beware and get a price in writing before making a reservation.
Sep 26, 2016
Staff was great! Garbage truck to early and loud. Was treated to Helicopter landing in parking area.
Sep 26, 2016
We had a nice time, personel were good peopl. There were a few things that we ran in too. We found dog droppings in our campsite right where we set up our tent. The mens room had the same trash in the shower the whole time we were there (4days). The womens bathroom had a dispenser on the wall that once held small plastic bags for used tampons and pads.The dispenser was full of used tampons and pa
Sep 26, 2016
Great Place to Stay!
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
My husband did the check out and he did not mention a couple of things that could be improved in the cabin we stayed #244 the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been I was really wondering if it had been cleaned after the last guest...the faucet in the tub did not work properly. Everything else was great!
Sep 26, 2016
Loved it..just me and wife for a weekend getaway. We may be back with our kids in the spring.
Sep 26, 2016
Host campers were wonderful! Pool was beautiful! Office staff very helpful. We did not have cell service due to our carrier, will ask when making reservations in future KOA campgrounds. Look forward to our next stay!
Sep 26, 2016
First time here, and we loved it. Glad I'm up at 6 a.m. because the trash truck hits the dumpsters at 7:50 a.m. & our pop-up site was just 2 sites down from it. We really enjoyed our stay & will be back!
Sep 26, 2016
Love this place. Great location and staff. I have camped here many times. My one complaint is about the showers. Some have no clothes hook. Some have no place to sit. Some have neither. I do not understand this in an otherwise superb camp.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award