Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2017
Last stay was 20 years ago, took my grandkids now, loved it as much as as we did 20 years ago. We will be back for sure.
Jul 01, 2017
We stayed for a week and loved every day! The only thing that needed improvement was the wifi / cell service. If you stay here expect great service but you'll be off the grid !
Jul 01, 2017
We love Cherokee. Great family camoground. Site 7 becomes very muddy early and takes a while to dry up. Inly complain is I told the cleaning ladies 4 different morning someone had wiped poop on the walls and they said thank you. Never cleaned it off the entire week we were there.
Jul 01, 2017
After 14 days cross country of the USA, staying at numerous KOAs...this was one of the best. Clean, large tent sites. Clean restrooms. Facility wasn't over run with lights to keep us up.
Jul 01, 2017
The only thing that needs work is the Wi-Fi. There were lots of activities that kept my kids busy!
Jun 30, 2017
We have stayed at KOA Kampgrounds all over the US and even worked at one last summer. We have stayed at the Cherokee KOA for years. The cabin was musty, there were cobwebs everywhere and no one bothered to let us know what was going on at the campground even though we were the only guests checking in. We weredisappointed in the cleanliness of the cabin and our reception. Very unexpected!
Jun 30, 2017
This is our second time back. If we're in the area again this is where we're gonna stay. We brought the grandchildren this time. They rode their skinny butts off.
Jun 30, 2017
Actually had internet some of the time. Fishing in nearby streams, swimming in heated pool, pet friendly, clean showers and bathrooms, full hook ups, and National Park within driving distance.
Jun 30, 2017
We had a great time Would like to thank your employee David Cox he was super nice Helped us when we had a dryer problem with one of your dryers Need more Davids went above and beyond his way everyday Will be back
Jun 29, 2017
Great place to stay. Everyone was super friendly.
Jun 29, 2017
Love this KOA! This has been our yearly family vacation for the past few years.
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
Beautiful place but very expensive to stay there between them charging for number of people, to the outrageous prices of renting golf carts. Indoor pool was very nasty and not appealing.
Jun 29, 2017
Great place. They really know how to show Southern hospitality....
Jun 28, 2017
Everyone on the staff were very helpful in answering our questions to helping with our needs. Would stay here again and look forward to coming again next summer.
Jun 28, 2017
Nice campground with new bathrooms. Our spot was near the office and it was a bit noisy since they were doing construction. Great location right outside the entrance to the National Park.
Jun 28, 2017
Campground was set up very well.lots of room to walk. The staff was friendly and helpful it's on the return list.
Jun 28, 2017
We stayed for four Nights in June and loved it. Great place for kids. We will be back in August.
Jun 28, 2017
It was a nice camp ground. However it has some age to it. Could use some remodeling to make activities more up to date. Bathrooms in great condition.
Jun 28, 2017
staff and amenities were great but it was very over crowded. People walked through out site constantly even after security had talked to them. No privacy at the site.
Jun 27, 2017
The campground was very nice but the outdoor hot tube was very dirty and there was slime built up on the bottom of the tub. I would not let my family go in it. The pool was freezing but it was refreshing when it got hot outside. The young man who took us to site was only working there for 2 days but he he did a great job! Our friends had someone new also but he took them to the wrong site.
Jun 27, 2017
This is our third visit to this particular KOA. I felt as if it had went downhill a bit since last year. Indoor pool was very cloudy, looked uninviting. However my kids always have a great time here with the river, bounce pillows and activities. Will most certainly be back.
Jun 27, 2017
Did not like the parking for golf carts at pool area. Every time we went there a bike was blocking the path. The steps going to pool from that parking area are not safe. The kiddie pool was closed during busy summertime. The wifi doesn't work.
Jun 27, 2017
very nice facility with great staff!
Jun 27, 2017
Great, clean facilities; fun amenities. Kiddie pool was closed :-( NO wi-fi or cell signal due to location. Check-in staff efficient but no overly friendly. Was NOT told when making reservation there was a $10 "lock fee" for requesting a specific site. Plus the $3.50 per day "resort fee" adds up.
Jun 27, 2017
loved it eveyone was so nice
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Everything was nice about the cabin except the linen was not clean. Also no wifi in the entire park. It said wifi but none whatsoever. My teenager was miserable
Jun 27, 2017
I was disappointment that our cabin didn't even have an air conditioner considering that we paid $75 per night. Also, we had to drive into town to purchase a drop cord because the KOA stores price was $32 for one and the staff was not as friendly as they used to be.
Jun 26, 2017
I stayed in cabin 236. it smell like pee. I told the escort that took me to the cabin , and was told that it was because of a tree outside the cabin call pisswood tree. he stated they could spray but that was all they could do.i bought air fresher and open all window s to help with the smell.at night the smell was so strong it would wake you up from a dead sleep.the price per night is unreasonable
Jun 26, 2017
Excellent campground. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay. The campsites are very nice with lots of room. A lot of activites available at the campground and a very friendly and helpful staff. We highly recommend this KOA. Thank you.
Jun 26, 2017
Clean bathrooms, plenty to.do for the kids in a safe environment
Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful location for KOA. Staff friendly and helpful and handle your request quickly. Camp very clean. Will come back.
Jun 26, 2017
Stayed in cabin 381 and everything was great. Plenty of things to do from fishing, swimming, miniature golf and good bike riding. Very peaceful stay.
Jun 26, 2017
Staff was great. Cabin was great. Sad the arcade wasn't open. Beautiful campground!!
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Lots of activities great for kids. Only Complaint is that cabin we rented needed some things fixed and maintenance obviously wasn't a priority. Pocket Door for bathroom wouldn't close at all. Obvious sewage leak so smell was awful a few feet from Cabin nearwhere rest of our family had tents. would go again but would be more insistent on having major items fixed or change where staying in park
Jun 26, 2017
This is my 6th time to come to your beautiful KOA, I will always return, just a few suggestions, please, please upgrade your wi-fi, it is important to us who cannot get a phone signal, also please clean the pools and spas more often, they are murky and scary for children to swim in, also the surrounding decks need pressure washing often to keep sanitary, thanks love Cherokee KOA
Jun 26, 2017
Our stay at KOA was great. We have been staying there for over 30 years. The bathrooms were nice and clean. We stayed in a premium cabin. It was nice. The only thing I didn't like is the snack bar closed at 3:00 and the store closed at 8:00 during the week. Other than that, we had a great time!!!
Jun 26, 2017
We had an awesome time staying at the KOA in Cherokee N.C. The only thing is I wish they had better WiFi. Other than that is was a awesome time. The people there are super nice and will do anything to make your stay there great. We will definitely be camping back there in the near future!!! I would recommend this campsite to any and everyone!!!
Jun 26, 2017
Cabin was great - deluxe one - great bed and linens! Clean. Right on the water! We went tubing and it was a blast. The water was up from rain so the current was great!
Jun 26, 2017
Clean, safe campground and bathhouses. Helpful staff. Pools and hot tubs poorly maintained and dirty.
Jun 26, 2017
Excellent and natural set up! Will come back again. Will recomend to friends and family!
Jun 26, 2017
My son loved it there he said he was having the time of his life.
Jun 26, 2017
Pools was nice pal was outstanding cabins smelled like a dog pissed in them mattress was to thin
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
So awesome! So kid friendly! Tip: I wish you had recycling, did not allow smoking on premises and allowed catch and release with fish at trout pond...
Jun 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay phone service would of been nice. We will be back.
Jun 26, 2017
Clean restrooms, friendly staff. My new favorite campground.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our time and it was convenient and had everything we needed in the cabin. Beautiful site and we will come again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award