Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 20, 2015
need after dark security. ice chest bandits hit us twice in the week for adult beverages.
Apr 20, 2015
Had a wonderful stay -in spite of the weather. The ground staff could have been more friendly.
Apr 20, 2015
Everything was great--clean bathroom facilities, clean grounds! Was a little dissapointed in the lakes--used to be 3...now only 2 (and they werent that good). Camp store was a little understocked, but we brough most everything anyway. DEFINETLY will be back!
Apr 20, 2015
Kabin was great.no hot water in bath house so cold shower was miserable.staff shrugged it off as water heater was down the hill.not acceptable when mostly what we were paying for was hot showers and a roof.could have stayed at a motel with hot shower for same money.camp was much better 4 years ago.glad I didn't purchase the discount.probably won't be back
Apr 19, 2015
Indoor pool in October was great!
Apr 18, 2015
First time taking the family to Cherokee. 9 year old twins b/g. The people were extremely nice. The facilities were clean as well as the grounds. It was a pleasure camping in one of the cabins. Looking forward to booking next trip.
Apr 16, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and clean grounds. We will visit this campground again!
Apr 16, 2015
It was Great everything I expeced
Apr 16, 2015
Had a blast
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful area OFFICE needs training of area and phone calls
Apr 15, 2015
Really enjoyed are stay already making plans for another vacation at your location on Big Cove Rd.
Apr 15, 2015
Had a great spring break with our kiddos! Thanks for providing such a clean and fun campground! We will be back!
Apr 14, 2015
The only issue that we had was the fire wood sold seemed to be a bit green. Took forever to get a good fire started.
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
GOOD........
Apr 14, 2015
The only thing that we had was the mattresses need to be thicker.The guest shout not start playing basket ball at 11;00 p.m.
Apr 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay
Apr 13, 2015
Check in policy is stinks. if room was not used the night before and you arrive at 1:30 I don't see and issue with checking in. We stay at this resort at least 8 different time a year and this is first I've had this issue. I spent over $800 on this team building event and we are considering not using your resort again next year.
Apr 13, 2015
This was the 3rd time we have stayed with you. The campground is always nice and clean. I love the activities that are available for kids to do. We will be back.
Apr 13, 2015
I am a regular for many years. I rate the campground very highly and most of the long time staffers are great. I and many other regulars don't care at all for the new management team or the people he brought with him. They are almost going out of their way to be rude. The manager has yet to introduce himself to me or several other regulars. I am coming back but not because of those individuals.
Apr 13, 2015
SEEMS THAT THERE IS A THIEF IN YOUR CABIN CLEANING CREW THAT DID NOT TURN IN A ITEM THAT WAS LEFT WHEN VACATING CABIN!
Apr 13, 2015
The workers were all very nice and helpful, lots for the kids to do. Clean bathhouses.
Apr 13, 2015
I would rate five stars however the indoor pool was taken over by bigger kids without supervision. Making t for little kids they weren't able to play. The kids were throwing a ball back and forth very hard trying to hit one another. I'd like to see a staff person occasionally coming in to check on behavior. This is now a second time this has happened we have camped there at least 3 times.
Apr 13, 2015
The pond side of the campground (the tenting side) is a swamp when it rains. That and the fact that it rained like crazy gave us a large swamp to traverse to get out of the tent. On the good good side is that we upgraded to a cabin that worked out well. The staff was great and always stopped on their rounds to make sure everything was ok. Bathhouse was just renovated!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place and time. Major prob. w ants in cabin.koa sprayed but still had to buy spray. Ants in kitchen/ bath and even in bed. 3 of us including 6 yr old came home with ant bites on us.Had to keep all we had in fridge. Couldnt keep ants under control.Ants even in our clothes. I stay here several times a yr without problems. Not happy after compl. no one offered any solution or seemed to care
Apr 13, 2015
We loved it!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place to stay - Definitely our choice for the Cherokee area Only one major complaint & that is with the wifi connections - Lots of work needed there !!!
Apr 13, 2015
The campground was awesome! There were fun things for the entire family to enjoy. It was also very clean and kept!
Apr 13, 2015
Koa really needs to improve the WiFi and the hot water in the showers this has been a problem for years
Apr 13, 2015
Stay was great. One negative experience was someone stealing all our firewood off the porch of our camping cabin. That was a huge disappointment.
Apr 13, 2015
Great staff,beautiful view,roads and bath houses could use some attention. I will be back later this year.
Apr 13, 2015
If you have an issue, they will resolve it quickly and professionally! Very friendly staff! Coming back next month!
Apr 13, 2015
Like this koa already have Rsv for more stays this year including month of October,however I feel the streets need repaving more attention to water system and grounds upkeep
Apr 13, 2015
Our first time camping and it was great can't wait to see you guys again :)
Apr 13, 2015
Very nice staff cabin was great we really enjoyed it didn't catch any fish but had a great time
Apr 13, 2015
I visted KOA probably 10 years ago when I was a little girl with my family. I now have my own family & brought them. I did enjoy it however it seems to crowded. There is hardly any camping sites & the one we had was surrounded by people. I did not like that at all. The staff that I seen outside of the office did not speak to me they just looked at me. I did not like that either.
Apr 13, 2015
friendly people, nice accommodations, beautiful weather and scenery
Apr 13, 2015
Always a great experience...I am a repeat customer...
Apr 13, 2015
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Park is always clean and beautiful. Even the construction of the new cabins is kept minimal. Love this place!
Apr 13, 2015
THE CAMP GROUND WAS CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. THE THING THAT WE DIDN'T LIKE IS THAT THEY CLOSED THE POOL DOWN AT 8PM INSTEAD OF 10PM LIKE MOST PLACES.
Apr 13, 2015
The staff was great!! The only problem we had... We had rented cabins and there was cabins all around us.. But there were two tent sites on each side of our cabin.. One of the tents were at our front steps, which felt very uncomfortable.. And they were right outside our window.. Which again was very uncomfortable. But our children had a blast playing with all the other children camping
Apr 13, 2015
Wonderful staff and clean facilities. Loved the cabin we stayed in and plan to come again.
Apr 13, 2015
Our 3 yr old had a great time at the playground and jumping pillow. We enjoyed fishing but came up empty handed. Everything was enjoyable but compared to other campgrounds, I didn't find the staff overly personable or friendly. They weren't rude, but didn't wave, smile, etc when you passed them or encountered them except at sign in/check in.
Apr 13, 2015
I was overall pleased with the price and amenities provided by the staff. The only issue was the wifi. It took forever to connect to my devices and then it was very slow to load apps.
Apr 13, 2015
Great stay. I am a business owner and each time we stay at your KOA, I have a lot of problems getting internet connections at our campsite or cabin. Would like to get better receiption ther than having to go to the office area to get on line.
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
We had a great visit to your KOA for our little granddaughters' first campimg trip. We will be back soon!
Apr 12, 2015
The only thing keeping my rating from being five star is the pool area is still being worked on. Other than that it was great staff was very nice and campground was clean and welcoming !!!
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
our cable didn't work at our site. construction on new cabins was annoying in the early morning hours.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.