Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
We had a great time and the facilities were very nice, bathhouses very clean. However, I have never been treated so poorly as I was by a staff member. There is no reason for staff to argue and yell across pool deck at anyone for any reason. We will not be back to this location again! Depending on how KOA handles this, we may not be back to another KOA! Lets see if this really matters.....
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean and staff was extremely friendly. We had a great time!
Sep 28, 2015
Near the road for tent but night is very quiet
Sep 28, 2015
OUR STAY WAS SUPER!! MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE BATH HOUSE TOILETS DIDNT FLUSH PROPERLY, AND THERE WAS NOT GOOD VENTILATION IN THE WOMENS RESTROOM. THE HOT WATER INSIDE THE BATH HOUSE COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE ON THE HOTTER SIDE, BUT WAS LIVABLE....OTHERWISE, EXCELLENT STAY, EXCELLENT STAFF AND SUPER ACCOMODATING!
Sep 28, 2015
Beautiful campground, very nice and clean bathrooms and showers and the staff is so friendly and helpful.
Sep 28, 2015
Some of the showers did not work and when making the reservation, I tried to make it on the phone and the people there were not knowledgeable about the cabin that we wanted. They knew all about the cabins all except the one we wanted. I ended up making my reservation on line then calling to check to make sure I had the correct thing. Otherwise everyone were friendly and everything else was great.
Sep 28, 2015
Nice campground. Stayed in one of the small lodges. The bed was way too soft and I doubt the mattress has ever been flipped. This dishes and flatware were dirty. The gas canister for the grill was empty. The shower curtain was too short for the shower stall. Nice little cabin, but a little underwhelmed by the lack of preparation the staff did to the cabin before my stay.
Sep 28, 2015
Very clean campground! The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I have seen in a campground. Plenty of activities for the family. We never even left the campground the whole time
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Kinda dirty looking and run down compared to the last few times I have stayed here
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 27, 2015
Very well satisfied with the koa employees they were very helpfull and nice.the only drawback was the trout ponds was closed. Even with that the main reason was to spend time as a family before my son goes to basic and that was a success .thank you
Sep 27, 2015
Nicest people you will ever meet!
Sep 25, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the deluxe cabins on the river with our daughters (6 and 4). Even though it was off season our girls had a great time riding their bikes throughout the campgrounds, jumping on the pillow bouncer and swimming in the outdoor and indoor pools. Staff was very friendly; the cabins were just what we expected and more....bring your K-cups they actually have a keurig!
Sep 25, 2015
The setting was beautiful. Very clean. It was really just the staff. From the check in lady to the guys who showed you to your site, they were all crabby. Didn't seem to like their jobs and in some cases we're a little rude.
Sep 24, 2015
Good place to stay. My neighbors had some issues with my dogs barking, they contacted the office. The office attempted to contact me but called my home number instead of my cell phone. Will probably ask for a more secluded area next time. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 24, 2015
your campground was centrally located to everything we wanted to see, the bath house was clean and the cabin was cozy. other than the green fire wood we were sold (which we were compensated for) everything was great. We will be back as I have been for 20 years now. Thanks, The Palmer Family.
Sep 24, 2015
Campground was in good shape, facilities were clean and maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful though they were very busy.
Sep 24, 2015
It was a very quiet & clean place to stay. Everyone was very helpful.
Sep 24, 2015
ponds near tent camping were drained and the mosquitos were terrible. I guess nothing could be done about it.
Sep 23, 2015
Lots of activities for children. Great location near the entrance of Smoky Mtn. NP. However, attempting to charge early check in fee is ridiculous. First time I have ever experienced that and I was just in DC the week before and checked into a hotel early with NO fee. And that was downtown DC, Mayflower Hotel. Overall great park though. Keep up the great work!
Sep 23, 2015
The stay was fine except for the number of camp fires and the out of control children. If anyone had asthma they would have had to go to the ER the air was so badf from all the camp fires. Mnay burned over night while the occupants were sleeping. Some very small children played in the street with no adult supervision.
Sep 23, 2015
wish we were still there!!!!!!!!!
Sep 22, 2015
If you are having customer appreciation weekend and the campground is not full why the early check in fee? When men who have took off work to come they get excited about the fishing part of weekend. Yes, they are ready to fish. Campground was not full or crowded and site was empty. I understand early check-in rule in summer but in fall. That is great customer service, for sure.
Sep 22, 2015
Not what I booked through the 800# which made me rather mad, cabin smelled funky, walnuts droping on cars, no place to sit or park where we were put. told there was a shuttle to cascino, food was closed, ect.
Sep 22, 2015
Clean, nice employees, beautiful surroundings, very close to many of the things we really wanted to do. Had such a great time in the Smokies! Planning on another trip next year!
Sep 22, 2015
Had a great time, campground and staff are awesome. Cant wait to book another trip.
Sep 22, 2015
great park, lot of activities, very friendly staff
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Fantastic! Super fun place and really great staff.
Sep 21, 2015
I ENJOY GOING TO KOA CHEROKEE NC,THEY HAVE CHANGED ALOT OVER THE LAST 25 YRS THAT WE BEEN GOING THERE,,, SOME OF THE OLD WAYS ARE BETTER,,, IT SEEM THAT EVERY THING COST MORE,, I LIKED THE HAY RIDES AND ICE CREAM SUNDAY,,,, I WOULD LIKE TO COME BACK,,, WE TYE DYE THIS WEEKEND IT WAS FUN ROBIN AND LISA WAS GOOD, MY GRANDAUGHTER AND I ENJOYED IT,MY CABIN NEEDS SOME SPOONS,THANK YOU TAMARA WENDT
Sep 21, 2015
very busy weekend but staff handled it well. hot tubs out of order not a good thing. generally grounds not maintained, grass needed cut. being the BOGO weekend you would think they would spruce it up and it was not.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Would recommend it, beautiful, beautiful.....great place to stay...
Sep 21, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground was clean have been going to koa in cherokee NC for 25 years. We took our children every year now taking our grandchildren. They love it as much as our kids
Sep 21, 2015
loved the studio cabin had everything you need
Sep 21, 2015
This was my 3rd KOA Cherokee vacation this summer and all of them were fantastic! My favorite part is that each staff member I have encountered was more than helpful and more than friendly! I have already recommended the Cherokee KOA to friends and family and I will continue to do so!
Sep 21, 2015
shower fixtures loose, pocket door to bathroom needs some work
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Park is beautiful and roomy. 1 shower head did not work in back bath house. Wifi. Was terrible!!! Other than that a good time was had by all.
Sep 21, 2015
We stayed last weekend for our 3rd time and we love the place but we were disappointed that the tribal ponds had been drained. I understand that the ponds are not owned by koa but koa advertises the stocked ponds on the website but never bothered to notate on the website or send out an email to the ones that had reservations advising. We drove 7hrs with our main reason being to fish in those ponds
Sep 21, 2015
We loved our stay - we loved most of the staff and our cabin. There was one person at the counter in the store that was just not nice. I believe her name was Carolyn - short red hair. The other staff more than made up for her but, she wasn't even nice to them. You'd be much better off without her.
Sep 21, 2015
We made a reservation for 1 room cabin on river and when we arrived we were told they no longer have them That was really wrong then we found out about the drained ponds These were both things that we should have been told when we called for reservations We have never been so disappointed in KOA as we were this LAST trip
Sep 21, 2015
Have stayed with this KOA for years. However, I'm guessing it is under new mangt. because things have changed a great deal from my last stay with the staff. The sites were clean as normal. BUT the response's that you get from your questions are random. One employee would say one thing one day and another employee another day. The woman with short gray hair RUDE they've LOST THE SOUTHREN CHARM!
Sep 21, 2015
Bought firewood and it was too fresh to be lit. Also, it would be helpful being a family style campground that there is a changing area with table/counter in the bath house to be able to change small children after shower.
Sep 21, 2015
This is a fabulous setting for a campground.The facilities are first rate and well maintained. However, we will not return or recommend it to any of our acquaintances. We make it a policy not to pay to be treated poorly and that was our experience each time we interacted with the front office staff.
Sep 21, 2015
The bathrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had to deal with very noisy neighbors which made the stay a little rough, but was good other than that.
Sep 21, 2015
Good stay..........
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA every year for about 7 yrs now. I wish there was someone patrolling to keep the children from riding their bikes too fast. And the showers are really nasty. The biggest thing that I don't like is that alcoholic beverages are allowed to be openly consumed at the pools and elsewhere throughout the park. Not something I want my son to be around. Gameroom needs work too
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps