Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 01, 2013
Front desk clerks were not as friendly and customer-service oriented as I would expect. Other than that, the campground itself is awesome. I love our riverside cabin, and have stayed there for three years straight. Plan to continue the tradition..:)
Oct 01, 2013
This is our second time staying here and will stay again next year when we come back to Cherokee. Great place and great people!!!!
Oct 01, 2013
We love this campground and returned from last year. It needs a little updating but overall we are very happy and will highly recommend it. We love the nicer cabins.
Oct 01, 2013
ok but the campground in all needs a lot of attention such as roads
Sep 30, 2013
I enjoyed the Campground but needs some maintenance on pool and store. The Cabin was nice and good location but needed cleaned better. Futon was very uncomfortable.
Sep 30, 2013
Great campground stayed before. Only thing make sure if you get a riverside site. Fishermen will be walking through and around your camper.
Sep 30, 2013
This was my 4tn stay at this KOA. Their internet WI-FI or Hot Spot never has worked well. I always had to go into town to connect for business, Some of their blacktop roads need repair. I asked for assistance with a tool from their maintenance dept but no one ever came.
Sep 30, 2013
we nice clean fun pool awesome time for a camp ground thanks
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
I loved it all!
Sep 30, 2013
Very clean and nice environment and the staff was great!!
Sep 30, 2013
Its always a great get away. Love it. Kathi
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
We love coming in the early Fall. The weather was perfect, and it's not very full.
Sep 29, 2013
i love it we have been th 1986
Sep 29, 2013
They advertise internet service and it is there but it is not good, always kicking you off. We had trouble finding our site due to the roads are not marked. If you come in at night, good luck. With all of this being said, it is still a nice place and I will go back.
Sep 29, 2013
Only negative about this campground is the driving access to it. Otherwise it is great!
Sep 29, 2013
As always, a clean, fun RV park. We will return!
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
We are return guests from Asheville, and were looking for a quick one night stay, and our family had a great time at the Cherokee KOA for our overnight. From the rental bikes, to the outdoor movie under the stars - it was all very nice! Thanks, and we will be back.....
Sep 29, 2013
the reason we would not recommend the campground is it is not friendly, no smiles on anyone faces. we drove around for over an hr. with no one to help us. the office help not friendly and no smiles. the waitress in town was more friendly then the employess.it was so noisie. sorry but we are being truefull.
Sep 29, 2013
Great facilities lovely to have somewhere to eat on sight!
Sep 29, 2013
Friendly & accommodating emploeees; nice facilities.
Sep 28, 2013
The camp ground and staff were great. We will be back!!!!
Sep 28, 2013
Sep 27, 2013
We have been staying at this KOA off and on since 1990. Our stays have always been wonderful, however, this trip I noticed a decline in maintenance. The refrigerators in the store were out of order for the entire week. Bathroom doors in both of our cabins were broken, there was only a four cup hotel coffee maker in one of the cabins. Minor items but a sign for a need for improvement.
Sep 27, 2013
The deluxe sites are great. Office personnel were wonderful passing along notes from family and helping when we had a mechanical problem since we had no cell coverage.
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 27, 2013
This site offers many plus options, but they are poorly maintained and frequently break down. Overall a nice site except for maintenance.
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
This is a beautiful place to stay. The lodge was clean & had a great view of the Raven Fork River. We will definately be back!
Sep 25, 2013
We have been coming there for over 12 yrs, the only thing I had a problem with was the bathroom closest to the river was always dirty.
Sep 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time. I was a little shocked that the store closed so early. We stayed in a delux cabin on the creek and had no complaints with our site.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
very clean, quiet during the off season. Only small issue was the cable reception in the cabin we stayed in(hubby's football games) but still thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Sep 24, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
At the time of arrival, it was raining very hard so after being assigned our space, we had a hard time finding it since the streets were not marked and the space signs were on the opposite side of the posts so that you could not see them until you had drove past, and of course, no escort was provided. After finding our site, we began to set up only to find that our site was flooded.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
It was very enjoyable, very clean, the staff was very pleasant would highly recommend this to campground to anyone
Sep 23, 2013
The deluxe cabin that we stayed in was clean and very well appointed. I was not pleased with the cleanliness and toilet paper situation of the bathroom in the indoor pool. This however, would not be a deal-breaker for deciding whether or not to return. I'm already thinking about the next visit to your campground!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
is was a very pleasent trip. We'll do it again
Sep 23, 2013
Except for the cable and internet this was beyond a doubt the nicest place to stay in the Cherokee area. HOWEVER, they gave many excuses about a "temporary" problem with the cable extremely POOR reception. It was obvious that it is an ongoing issue with the provider. Instead of getting my hopes up they could have just told me the truth. WIFI was also POOR.
Sep 23, 2013
Staff friendly, but not knowledgable on their wifi. One of the reasons for us to stay. You can only get on Internet at office. Not an amenity when it's raining. Internet down both times we stayed there. Leads me to believe they aren't concerned.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.