Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2016
Every one was great we had a small ac problem they were out immediately to correct it. Cabin was great my grandkids loved the loft!
Jul 09, 2016
Overall, very good. Beautiful grounds, lots of fun to be had.
Jul 09, 2016
Restrooms were so clean! Thanks. Maybe have maps to Great Smoky Mtn Natl Park. Older lady directions were wrong. Enjoyec our stay. Again, great restrooms!!!
Jul 09, 2016
I would say if you are staying in a tent to look elsewhere due to no power and water on those sites also the fact that when it rains the tent sites are mudholes can't we put something there for tent's to be on like sand or something. Other than that its a great campground with lots of activities for the kids. If your staying in an rv you should have no problem those sites are concrete and nice.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Beautiful stayed on riverfront will definitely be back. Friendly customer service
Jul 08, 2016
We enjoyed all the activities and amenities this KOA has but the WIFI was very slow and the phone service was very poor. We could never get phone connection at the campground.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
We had an awesome experience at this particular KOA. The staff was amazing and the camp itself was on point. The trips at the outpost made for a fun filled day with family. We literally have no complaints. Much deserving of the KOA Founders Award. We will return in the future.
Jul 08, 2016
Great personal,cable, after almost a week, started working.Internet is horrible. Spend more money to repair the service, add it to the cost of staying. Most people, while on vacation, still have to keep up with their jobs and families.Th is has been a ongoing long problem at this Koa.With today's lifestyles, internet is a part of life now. Love bathhouse 2 new look.
Jul 08, 2016
This was our 6th summer coming to this KOA. Customer service was definitely not up to par this time and they ran out of ice. Very inconvenient! Also septic problems on campsite next to us, terrible odor the entire weekend and cable was out half of the time.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
The grill ran out food should not have happen had to wait to long for after ordering the fishing was terrible that's why you come there for the fishing or family members rented 5 cabins to spend the July 4 week it was terrible you up sale the camp ground the activities was not up to par everybody in our family that was there went home early the power went out and no compensation was done at all
Jul 08, 2016
The entire staf was extremely friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and so picturesque we can't wait to come back!!!
Jul 08, 2016
Kids had a blast, lots for them to do. I was kinda bummed that there was only soap in the ladies bathroom for the first couple days we were there, said shipment hadn't come in. There was also a few older women who were hateful and not friendly who worked there. But still had a good time.
Jul 07, 2016
Nice place, good fishing, clean facilities.
Jul 07, 2016
We had no television reception at all for 2 of the 3 days we were there. I understand it was beyond the campgrounds control but some type of refund on our cabin should have been offered.
Jul 07, 2016
VERY VERY poor internet service. The worst we have had at a KOA. Picnic tables need to be painted. GREAT shuttle service to area adventures.
Jul 07, 2016
Cabins were nasty and staff no very friendly no were they willing to help
Jul 07, 2016
Overall it was a good stay. However when we got ready to leave, we were packing up or stuff we found mice fecies, spider webs, and all kids of dead bugs under the bed in our cabin! We stayed in 316. My family found the same in there cabin in 303 and we were not very pleased!! I hope u clean up better for other guest!!!
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Ok stay,No music,or band on the 4th?Should be Adult swim after pool closes for kids.
Jul 07, 2016
It would have been a lot better if the right hand would have known what the left was doing!!!! I'm not finished with this yet and plan on taking it to the top!!!! I'm not the least bit happy about this trip!!!!
Jul 07, 2016
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. My kids (grown) and grandkids went tubing and they loved it. we will be staying a week next year. Can't wait till next July 4th!!!!
Jul 07, 2016
We had a great time. Lost power one night, went smoothly to get it on. The next morning at the store was caotic. We will be back.
Jul 06, 2016
Our cabin toilet is 244 had not been cleaned. Nothing for teens to do. Could not believe that there was no activity on July 4th (no music)You should think about playing music around the pool area. Could be such a great place to stay...Poor Management. My family and I have been coming to the KOA for 4 years. July 4th and again in October. Went we first started coming things were really differe
Jul 06, 2016
Wonderful! So much to do!
Jul 06, 2016
This is a great KOA, I really would like to rate it a 10 with 5 stars. All the Koa's I have stayed in this one had the worst cable TV reception I have ever seen. SNOW nothing but SNOW. If you went to the office they had a great picture. I asked at the office but no one showed up.
Jul 06, 2016
We love staying at this KOA,but there needs to be some improvements in showers,very little water pressure. Some cabin sites do not have water access anymore.Needs new ceiling fans in cabins. Completely Worn out.Fish not stocked in ponds as in past.Some people still like to camp instead of staying in a deluxe cabin. Don't do away with all of them. Pool is nice. Staff very helpful and friendly tks.
Jul 06, 2016
Almost every person was as nice as could be except a lady with a facial piercing, she was rude to my children which for me is inappropriate behavior at your job.
Jul 06, 2016
Our 2nd time staying at the Cherokee location. Staff is awesome and the facilities are well kept. Thx!
Jul 06, 2016
Best campsite I've been to out of all, the facility was 5 star, the staff was organized and very friendly, this place is beautiful.. They put all other sites in Cherokee to shame. Thank you KOA!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Realizing it was holiday, & packed, internet was down, ran out of ice, ice cream, etc. should be more prepared for crowd
Jul 06, 2016
Clean bathrooms, clean campgrounds. Hate that there is stumps everywhere on the tent sites but overall loved the campground.
Jul 06, 2016
The visit was good but the spit they put us in was not suitable for a popup we tryed to work with the worker that placed us and he would not help us if we decide to come again and get a bad spot again we will leave
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
The campground is great. The staff however is really rude at times. Less activities for the July 4th weekend than in past for the kids. Great
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
super service et accueil. moment spéciale de notre voyage car nous avions réservé 2 nuit mais vu la pluie et nous étions en moto nous n'avons pas pu nous rendre donc nous somme resté une seul nuit. la gentille demoiselle nous a crédité la nuit que nous ne somme pas séjourné. tout est super. les douche, le site, l'accueil.
Jul 06, 2016
Even though it was a holiday the staff was friendly and kept all the sites clean.
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
We had a great time! Everyone was nice and willing to help or answer questions. Employees did great with the kids during crafts and other activities. Bathrooms were clean as well as park and pool. We will defiantly be coming back.
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice and friendly with a lot to do
Jul 05, 2016
Activities were great for kids. Cabin was nice but not clean upon arrival. Floors were nasty. Dead bugs, dirt. Hair in shower. That's my only complaint. This was my first time at a KOA in a cabin so I don't know if this typically how they are kept or not. This was just my experience. I definitely would stay at this KOA again though.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We stayed over July 4th weekend. Even though it was crowded and very busy, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from Unto These Hills was right on time and came right to the front of the amphitheater. Due to the number of people (over400) the Internet was very slow.. But we didn't go camping to surf the net. We will definitely be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was super awesome, especially Lucy. There was one guy, though, who when I asked him where we could get water for our cabin when all the camper spots filled up he said the cabins didn't come with water. Really? But...it was a great stay in a beautiful area. Great pool, too.
Jul 05, 2016
I stay at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA annually, always enjoy this campground. Plenty to do and if you just want to relax, there is that as well.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award