Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 15, 2016
we were visiting famliy and stayed people were friendly front desk was very helpful only issue was our cabin was in the direct sun all day so no place to hide over all though we loved it
Jun 15, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
We had a great time! We did have ants in our cabin, but when we talked to an employee, someone came right away. WiFi was non-existent. If it is not reliable, then do not advertise that you have it. Overall clean bathrooms and good campground.
Jun 14, 2016
Myself and three friends rode our motorcycles up from Houston for the great riding in the area. The Cherokee KOA cabin was perfect for our needs. The staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay even better. Thanks to them our trip of a lifetime went perfectly.
Jun 14, 2016
It was awesome! The worker were accommodating and the public facilities were very clean. We plan to come several times a year.
Jun 14, 2016
We loved the campground and amenities. Very family friendly. I just wish there were more deluxe studios on the river, and/or that had fire rings on the woods side instead of on the road.
Jun 14, 2016
The staff was great and the activities for the kid's were plentiful. The fishing was challenging due so many people competing for the few fish that were there. The internet was a problem, not good at all. Overall, the experience was good.
Jun 14, 2016
First time, won't be last! Loved it!
Jun 14, 2016
MYSELF AND MY 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON HAD A GREAT TIME. THE KOA STAFF WAS MORE THAN FRIENDLY WHICH MADE OUR STAY FANTASTIC. THE CABINS WERE SUFFICIENTLY STOCKED WITH SUPPLIES AND VERY CLEAN.
Jun 14, 2016
As a company owned KOA I would expect the best and the latest and the greatest. Unfortunately this park suffers from disappointment in site quality. I'll be glad to send you an actual picture that would be an embarrassment to Pat Hitmeier and the rest of the KOA staff
Jun 14, 2016
The campground and staff were outstanding, friendly, knowledgable and a pleasure. Site was also amazing. Only one issue, kids kept running through our site and by our windows. Quite odd to see strangers up close and personal while relaxing in our RV.
Jun 14, 2016
Although the campground was very nice and the scenery is beautiful, I felt that the price of the cabin that we rented was not worth it. I guess $200 a night for a cabin that is as small as this cabin was is to expensive
Jun 14, 2016
It was very clean, cozy, and a great stay! We loved it.
Jun 14, 2016
Very friendly staff....excellent park overall
Jun 13, 2016
We reserved on the phone for a specific site in feb of this year and the site was not available when we arrived. we got another site but it was in the full sun. We were very disappointed that our request was not honored after our phone conversation to reserve that site. If we come again we will request our detailed reserved in writing. Weren't offered an upgrade to comp us at all.
Jun 13, 2016
We love the koa! Lots of fun things to keep the kids busy. I would have given you a 10 if the staff were more accommodating. I asked far an emergency 24hr number that I could give to my family at home since my mom was very ill and on hospice care and was told that they would be glad to take a message as long as the store was open. Could use some customer service education.
Jun 13, 2016
Excellent stay.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Relaxing,Entertaining, Quiet ,Cool, comfortable, Just what we needed and expected,Thanks
Jun 13, 2016
The only issue we had was the noise from the main road which runs parallel to the tent site where we stayed. This is a GREAT place for families and children!
Jun 13, 2016
The Activities and Lodging were great! However, The Showers had so little pressure that it took a very long time to get washed. There was a lot of Poison Ivy on the main walk to the showers. Uneducated campers will have their entire stay ruined by just one light brush-up against this toxic plant. Needed this area marked with signs to alert guests till its safely removed.
Jun 13, 2016
very nice and clean place to stay
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time. Used the pool, the bouncing pillow, rented the little bikes. The sites are not too close together, our site on the river was nice. There is a lot of shade. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend to others.
Jun 13, 2016
The cabin was a great experience, but would like to have air condition in both rooms. Cabin 512 had the air condition in the front of the room and the back room and bathroom was very warm and not comfortable to sleep or use the bathroom at times. Also, I would add one more thing to to the cabin.. an iron and iron board.
Jun 13, 2016
The activities for kids are great! Also the staff were so friendly and helpful. Free rides to town and a clean, well kept facility.
Jun 13, 2016
Some of the ladies that work in the store can be snobby at times. The one room cabin I stayed in was nice, but the rode and parking need work.
Jun 13, 2016
This was the fifth time I've visited here. Excellent facilities. My only problem with it, & it's not the campgrounds fault, is that there is no cell phone service. This became a problem on this stay because a family member had an emergency and was trying to reach us.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
We had a wonderful time at Cherokee KOA. Our cabin floor could have been cleaned better but even with that downfall we still plan to return. We loved all the planned activities and things for kids to do. We will be back!
Jun 12, 2016
Convenient to fishing. Friendly staff. Only complaint is some people have yappy dogs and should be told to keep them quiet or leave.
Jun 12, 2016
Very nice beautiful site with great emengitys
Jun 12, 2016
Our first, wonderful stay!
Jun 12, 2016
Awesome time with my family!! Great place to go! This is a yearly must go vacation spot!!!
Jun 11, 2016
It was a great vacation thanks to my family's stay at KOA.
Jun 11, 2016
Loved the cabin by the river. It was small, but we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. All the employees were very nice and helpful.
Jun 10, 2016
We had a spot for our rv and rented a cabin for our daughter and 2 young children.Beautiful campground, lots to do for the kids. Everything was great, hope to return in the near future.
Jun 10, 2016
This was probably the least friendly campground we've ever stayed at with the exception of a couple of the staff that were out on golf carts the rest would not even look at you. This could be a great place with a little effort.
Jun 10, 2016
Well staffed. Very clean campground.
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly staff, any problems they were fast to repair, beautiful facilities and clean campground! One of the best KOA campgrounds I've ever stayed.
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 09, 2016
The scenery is tremendous. There are plenty of fun things to do in the campgrounds whether you're a kid or adult. Will be back for sure!
Jun 09, 2016
Worse customer service,. Changing out the cabins for little houses. Not much like camping. I can not stress enough how horrible the custoer service at the front desk. There focus and dedication is to POLICY. Old adults with limited computer knowledge but experts on everything they read. They refused to let my certified registered service dog in and more. WORCE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Will not renew KOA.
Jun 09, 2016
It was great. The staff was super friendly.
Jun 09, 2016
Need a sign close to where we sign in telling new arrivals they can't park in front of the Admin Building especially when it is raining- I was told to move my RV.
Jun 08, 2016
Wi-Fi needs to be improved. Signal was weak. You did a disservice by putting a mattress on the hide a bed sofa. The air mattress works better.Was not prepared for the single cup coffee maker. Had to go by regular coffee maker. People need to know what type coffee maker is in the cabins.
Jun 08, 2016
Awesome staff.
Jun 08, 2016
Great mountain location a short distance to town and the National Park. Nice indoor pool.
Jun 08, 2016
We stayed 5 nights and it rained almost every night. Our tent site had no grass so it was very muddy. It was also next to the sump pump and our parking area was also muddy. The bath areas were very clean and nice. We used the laundry facility and it was also nice. A lot of activities for kids and families. The staff were very nice and always helpful.
Jun 08, 2016
Great place to camp!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award