Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2015
Vehicle broke down on the way and had to get vehicle repaired. I was originally staying for 2 nights and totally forgot calling to try and cancel. No calls from the campground and they pulled the 2nd night fee from my card. I am sure it was my fault but a phone call would have been great.
Oct 12, 2015
The campground was conveniently located to downtown, so much to do at the campsite, and a short drive from the blue ridge parkway. Very nice and inexpensive.
Oct 12, 2015
This was our first ever stay at a KOA. We were highly impressed with the facility, the staff and the amenities. Our 8 year old loved the bouncing pillow and the indoor pool.
Oct 12, 2015
Friendly service, extremely clean facilities, will be returning and soon!! Found a great new campground to revisit
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
This campground is our favorite place to camp but this time we were very disappointed that the ponds didn't have any fish.We were told the campground didn't have control over the ponds.We would have like to have been informed before we got there & we could have come a week later.
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
Clean and neat.
Oct 11, 2015
No cell service. Lousy wifi when I Could get it. Went down all nite with Rain outside. Inside pool closed too Early. Inside hot tub out of order. Cable very limited Nothing to do all Nite with rain outside. Tried to tell Manager she could not have cared Less.
Oct 11, 2015
Excellent park, very clean and friendly staff. Great location!
Oct 10, 2015
Everything was as expected and described on the website. The only improvement would be to restock coffee each day instead of providing only on arrival.
Oct 10, 2015
Great stay. Been coming here sense the 1980s.
Oct 10, 2015
My family loved the campground. We only had two issues with our stay. The first was that it was difficult to take a hot shower. The showers were not hot. If you did get the water warm, it would go cold if some oen else took a shower or washed their hands. Very frustrating. The second issue was that the indoor hot tub was not working.
Oct 09, 2015
Oct 09, 2015
Very clean, lots of things to do, a great location. If noise bothers you, you might not want to be beside the playground but we didn't mind since my 12 year old grandson was with us. We already have reservations for Nov.
Oct 09, 2015
Stay was great. Kids love it here. A lot for kids to do. Only negitive thing I can say is the bathhouse near us. The toilet was stopped up for 2 days, and most of the shower heads didn't work or was barely working. We will go back again.
Oct 08, 2015
Oct 07, 2015
Nice cabin, but would be better if TV in bedroom (and loft), bedside table in bedroom, and larger frig.
Oct 06, 2015
Enjoyed, many empty sites away from play ground, we were right next to it. Wished there would have been a little distance. Grounds were awsome
Oct 06, 2015
We love this KOA, its a great family get a way if you love the outdoors as much as we do! Plenty of things for the kids to get out and do!
Oct 06, 2015
It was wonderful the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean everything was quiet and peaceful we really enjoyed the breakfast as well
Oct 06, 2015
Staff was not very friendly
Oct 06, 2015
This Koa is excellent. It is clean and up to date. Staff friendly and helpful.
Oct 05, 2015
Absolutely wonderful.
Oct 05, 2015
Real nice great for the kids
Oct 05, 2015
Other than rain good. Need to add more RV camping supplys & and AC light bulbs.
Oct 05, 2015
Not as clean as previously kept. Bathrooms and showers really need a good bleaching! They are moving in deluxe cabins by the river in place of regular cabins. If we can't camp by the river we won't be camping at Cherokee KOA. Staff is wonderful.
Oct 05, 2015
The only issue during our stay was parking. During check-in I attempted to obtain a second parking pass. I was given the run around by both individuals working at the desk about having a second vehicle on the koa property. Also the same two individuals were talking about another coworker while I was being helped. It was not the first impression koa would like for customers to have. Thanks.
Oct 05, 2015
The employees were very professional and friendly and the campground was very clean and well kept. We will return in March!
Oct 05, 2015
Could have lived without a bathroom which I was aware of but a mirror in the cabin would have been nice so I would not have to trudge to the bathroom to apply makeup and fix my hair especially in the rain on the other hand who knew about no heat certainly not me as the website does not reveal this I guess the ants crawling up the wall were cold too I just covered up my head and waited for this nig
Oct 04, 2015
Loved the cabin! Can't wait to take our family!
Oct 03, 2015
advertised wifi was sketchy at best. storm drains were not adequate to handle heavy rain and our campsite and several others were under 4 to 6 inches of water. during these heavy rains, there was a strong odor of raw sewage were we connected to sewer hookup.
Oct 03, 2015
SUPER CLEAN GREAT ATMOSPHERE FRIENDLY STAFF AND GREAT CAMPING NEIGHBORS
Oct 02, 2015
So sorry weather was not better. Best campground we have stayed in! Thanks to all staff for making it a real pleasure!
Oct 02, 2015
Love this place. Some staff can be a little smart. But not to the point we wouldn't come back. Have stayed many times.
Oct 02, 2015
the staff goes beyond helpful and friendly!! We look forward to coming back again next year!!
Oct 02, 2015
Nice place to stay. Need more direction signs. Grill was only open on the weekends so we had to drive to eat. Water pressure needs kicked up a bunch.Staff was excellent. A special thanks to Thomas.Took care of all of our needs.Would like to come back when the weather was better. All in all, a great stay
Oct 01, 2015
Very nice campground with lots to do without leaving the park. I was a little disappointed about the ponds being drained and generators running all day to power the indoor pool but the campground had no control over these two things. The tribe has to approve the repairs to the power lines for the pool and the tribe drained the ponds for repair.
Oct 01, 2015
Close to GSM NP without being over-crowded. Only about a 5-10 minute drive to the closest NP visitor's center. This KOA has a lot do do for kids and the hosts are very friendly. The showers and bathrooms were VERY CLEAN.
Sep 30, 2015
Cabin was clean and perfect for our stay. We will be back soon.
Sep 29, 2015
This is a very nice facility - one of the nicest KOAs that we have stayed at. The campers beside us were very loud and did not observe the quite hours. It was a disappointment.
Sep 29, 2015
WiFi access is too spotty. Not very good by the river, where we located. Some employees were harsh mannered to the kids on the bounce pad.
Sep 29, 2015
Love it! Have been going every fall for years!
Sep 29, 2015
Sep 29, 2015
Had a wonderful time with my family. Very clean. Nice employees!
Sep 29, 2015
Could have used heat in the Kabin, but I knew that before I went.
Sep 28, 2015
Reserved two deluxe cabins for my family to celebrate my son's 30th birthday. Perfect place for family together time. Time around the campfire on Sat night was priceless!
Sep 28, 2015
The staff was not friendly and we felt they could have been more light Harty. This caused all three families to feel as though the staff could care less if we stayed there are not. They were about rules with no care of the joy of the camper. After I found out that several of them were married and lived on site,well that made sense. They are taking their job for granted. Very sad.
Sep 28, 2015
Our refrigerator leaked and our shower was clogged. These issues were quickly addressed. We were in a studio and it would have been very helpful to have had a dish pan to use as our only sink was in the bathroom. All of those that helped us were efficient and kind.
Sep 28, 2015
Excellent vacation campground. Clean, well kept and near many fun activities.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps