Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA several times and always look forward to coming back. Beautiful area and well kept grounds!
Jul 18, 2015
Great place if you have kids or grand kids, lots for them to do.
Jul 18, 2015
Loved it
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground. Kid friendly, don't go unless you really like kids everywhere. Grand kids had a blast. Bath house, pools, fishing, etc. really nice. Internet and Verizon cell did not work. In 3 days I only hooked to the internet once but, it would not do anything. No internet and phone but, the rest was great.
Jul 18, 2015
This was our second visit. My husband was disappointed that it was too hot for trout fishing but we enjoyed the pool and shopping. The first campsite given to us was too muddy for us to use and we were allowed to move to another much better site. The bathrooms/showers were really nice. Also the laundry room (and the prices for laundry were good too). They had a DJ there on Saturday night and it
Jul 18, 2015
Everyone was so helpful when our tent took on water with the terrible storms in the area!! They saved our vacation by moving us to an available cabin which allowed us to continue our vacation rather than packing up and going home!! The services they provided for arranging activities in the surrounding areas and then the shuttle service and employees we worked with were all awesome!!
Jul 17, 2015
The campground and location was very nice but Wi-Fi did not work throughout.That was a major problem as we had a hard time planning nearby activities and routes.There was one person at the front desk that was quite rude on several occasions.It would have also been helpful if there was a note on the website, or when we made reservations about not using gps routes through the mountains with an rv.
Jul 17, 2015
Absolutely loved our stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! Already booked for another week!
Jul 17, 2015
VERRY NICE
Jul 17, 2015
Staff office people are rude. We want to bring our grankids kids with us but the staff told us no tent on rv site. So we are looking for other camp grounds to take our kids in a tent so they can be all together
Jul 17, 2015
Grounds are beautiful! Wifi stinks, no cellphone service, (not your fault, but counts in rating), bathrooms should be <5 in Good Sam ratings.
Jul 16, 2015
We had a great time here! It's a beautiful location and the staff are wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is because of the lack of cell phone service and the very limited internet. If you just want to unplug, this is the place to be!
Jul 16, 2015
Large KOA, beautiful location. Nice place to stay "off the grid". Wifi & cell serv was almost non-existent. No A/C's in kabins. Cherokee is a "dry" county so much make any alcohol purchases prior to visit. The walk in health clinic also does not treat you if not from Cherokee tribe. Staff was not overly friendly or inviting. Tubing was a blast.
Jul 16, 2015
We arrived on Friday and the air conditioner quit on Saturday. When we checked out on Wednesday(2 days earlier than expected) the a/c was still not working. I was told it froze up due to humidity and ambient temperature changes. The last day we were there a maintenance man said the drain was clogged. Whatever it was the problem was not fixed.
Jul 16, 2015
It was great
Jul 15, 2015
clean and friendly,I would recommend to everyone.
Jul 15, 2015
# 3 showers needs reworking bad, older personal checking in campers are rude, cabins are dirty , ants on walls, scream had large hole in it.
Jul 15, 2015
The only thing I missed was no street lights at nite....soooo dark
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We found two primitive cabins right on the river on very short notice and had an absolutely wonderful time! You made our impromtu family get-together possible. We converged from MS and NC to your campground. Lots of rainbow trout were caught and consumed. My 4 year old grandaughter even caught one! Campground, cabins, showers, bathrooms, pools, everything was clean and welcoming. Thanks KOA!!!
Jul 14, 2015
We got to stay in a Deluxe Lodge for the first time and it was awesome. The campground was clean and employees very helpful as always. Thanks, be back soon.
Jul 14, 2015
we had a cabin which had runoff from next site washing dishes. floors were dirty and paw prints on mattress. bathroom in need of cleaning and after a young lady had cleaned bathrooms not, pee all over toilet she left, but didn't do her job very good. our lock was stuck and we got good help with that. lots of employees someone must know how to clean even with all the people there.
Jul 14, 2015
Had a great time. The campground was very clean. The workers were very helpful and went above and beyond their duties to make sure you enjoyed everything. The kids really enjoyed the activities there.
Jul 14, 2015
Nice campground but a little pricey. Lots of activities for children, roads/streets need a little maintenance.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Excellent campground very clean big sites been coming here 22 years and plan on coming back 22 more years. The staff is all very friendly and will help any way they can
Jul 14, 2015
The campground is very large with sparse trees. We had a campsite toward the rear of the campground with no trees. $75 for the site seemed a little stiff.
Jul 14, 2015
One of the best campgrounds that I have ever stayed at. Great staff with a wide variety of amenities. It is well maintained and very clean! 5 stars for sure.
Jul 13, 2015
Great campground! We wished the snack bar/grill/ice cream place would have stayed open later than 8pm.
Jul 13, 2015
our only problem was we could not connect to the Cable for tv. we are sure it was on our end. great time! thank you
Jul 13, 2015
The bathrooms and shower were so gross. The camping lots are far to close to the cabins and I was up all night because of loud drunk people camping just a few feet away from my cabin. Staff was extremely slow and not very helpful. It was a dirty mud hole in a lot of areas too. The cabin floor was sandy too. I would have preferred it to be just a little cleaner. I realize it's camping.
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 13, 2015
From first phone contact through checkout, everyone was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The facilities for my grandkids, especially the bounce pillow, and the safe environment of a friendly community, were superb. The programs, especially the Cherokee speaker, were excellent and free. The cabins were very comfy for such economical spaces. Great place by the river.
Jul 13, 2015
The greatest KOA we have been to, actually been there several times. However site 211 is not comparable to other "Super sites. There is no room in front or behind the site. We were very cramped but had a great, up close view of the RV in the adjoining site.
Jul 13, 2015
The workers there were 100% outstanding. Extremely helpful and friendly!! Just wished you prices were a tad lower!
Jul 13, 2015
Staff is unfriendly and do not acknowledge anyone. They stare and follow people around and that is very unnerving, making us feel unwanted or that we had done something . My daughter-in-law was talked down to by a young snippy cashier. Paid 200.00 per night and the Kottage smelled funky. After 23 years coming to this KOA, I do not think I will be back, so sad.
Jul 13, 2015
Would be great to have a swing on the porch of the cabin.
Jul 13, 2015
Great place. Very helpful staff. Great location
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We had a great time. Will def be back.
Jul 13, 2015
I had a great time here all the people who stayed that weekend were friendly had a misunderstanding about the cabin we reserved didn't really get resolved or didn't seem to matter to office staff manager didn't care if we stayed or left probably won't stay again
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed out stay. The front desk staff could stand to be a little more friendly; however, the staff that helped children with activities were outstanding. There is so much to do at the campground we did not leave the grounds during our stay. Our cabin neighbors did show up at 3am one morning shining their headlights into our windows. I would suggest a maybe a curfew for the campground.
Jul 13, 2015
Camping here many times and generally love the park, but it needs a little TLC (rough roads, potholes, bathrooms need to be spruced up). Biggest complaint is the lack of a stronger WI-FI system. We were told 2 years ago that it was going to be updated? We were at the far end of the park and could not get a signal until we got within 50 yards of the office. It's 2015...time to upgrade.
Jul 13, 2015
Wonderful , great people
Jul 13, 2015
Nice campground. Rates were high compared to other campgrounds I have stayed in. Campgrounds in the same area were about 30% cheaper.
Jul 13, 2015
Enjoyed it very much.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was courteous and very helpful. Accommodations were clean and nice.
Jul 13, 2015
Totally enjoyed our stay. Campground staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay . Our kids had plenty of activities to do . For most part staff was friendly
Jul 13, 2015
It is in a great location and has lots of fun things to for kids. The staff is the reason I did not give it a five star reccomedation. One check in clerk was flat out rude and did not have much of person skills. We were thirty minutes early and she made fill out paper work to walk around the camp ground to check on sites we could switch too. Overall a good experience after we got to our site .

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.