Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 25, 2016
I have been going there for over 30 years. Gets better every year.
Apr 25, 2016
The staff was very friendly, our cabin was clean and spacious, pool and hot tub was phenomenal, but no A/C in our cabin.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
Bathrooms were clean and modern with nice showers. The shower curtains were not wide enough for the openings and there were very few hooks in the shower and lavatory areas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pretty location.
Apr 25, 2016
Wonderful stay looking toward for next time
Apr 25, 2016
This was our first stay, it was very clean, quiet friendly staff , we had everything we needed 1st the koa , we loved it and can't wait to c9me back again soon.
Apr 25, 2016
We live in Otto, we stay here very often. When last we stayed, the front desk staff told me that I shouldn't make my reservations online anymore, to call or just walk in and I will receive the same discounts and have a better choice of site or cabin. Well, I followed their advice this time and was a walk in. I was not given the $25 discount on a cabin rental. Could be a little friendlier and smile
Apr 24, 2016
Firewood cost jumped from 3/$10.00 to $7.00 each in one day. Kinda sounds like gouging doesn't it?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The increase in price was due to a new shipment of kiln dried firewood. Our costs went up so, unfortunately, we had to increase our price.
Apr 23, 2016
A lot of upgrades are taking place so facilities will be even better. Staff always pleasant and very helpful
Apr 23, 2016
We don't have a negative thing to say. We had a fun time..Nice Kampground!!!! Beautiful area!!!
Apr 23, 2016
Very nice KOA with lots of amenities. Because it was early in season, not much doing.
Apr 22, 2016
We come twice-- a year we would come more if we could get away! We love this place and we love all of you!Thank you so much! Billy Scull
Apr 22, 2016
excellent staff and facility
Apr 22, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed talking with Bill! The only complaint is that the firewood went from $4 a bundle to $7. The staff agreed to let me continue to pay the original price.
Apr 21, 2016
We camped!!! We walked!!!! We went to sleep at night!!! We went to the pool but came back because the hot tub was to hot for anyone to get in. We couldn't stay in touch with anyone on the phone or internet because of only one bar.
Apr 20, 2016
Awesome place with lots of things to do. Beautiful area to spend time outdoors with family and friends.
Apr 20, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
My husband and I visited the Cherokee KOA for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were surprised to find that they had set up the cabin with a goodie basket and made the bed with monogrammed pillows for us (my parents had left the surprise, but staff took time to set everything up). They even gave us one bundle of firewood and a lighter on the house! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Apr 19, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!
Apr 19, 2016
Apr 19, 2016
Rude inconsiderate
Apr 19, 2016
Lots of construction going on even during weekend. Bathroom soap dispenser always empty, pool water smelled like chlorinated sewer water, campsites very close together.
Apr 19, 2016
The cabin was great..very comfortable bed! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful river! Excellent vacation spot!
Apr 19, 2016
Like the activities there. But had to check out early because of our cabin being covered in ants and spider webs. Our 1 year old little girl has bites all over her leg. We also think it's a very strict campground. Too many rules
Apr 18, 2016
I love the koa the staff is friendly if you need help they are there to assist. If they are in there golf carts and see you walking to the store they would ask you if you need a ride. The cleanliness of the campground is very exceptional. I love the Kamp ground.
Apr 18, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
The people that work there are so rude, the place is not well kept, the staff does not know alot about what is going on around them. Not well stocked.
Apr 18, 2016
We have been coming to KOA in Cherokee for over 20 years! We love the fishing and all the amenities. The staff is right on top of things! I have noticed tho that the last few trips the cabins are not as clean as they used to be. Other than that everything else was great!
Apr 18, 2016
We had a wonderful experience with our entire family while at this KOA. Kids loved the fishing and all the things to do while all inside the campground
Apr 18, 2016
Breaker was tripped our first night and we froze... when this was brought up to maintenance they came out and fixed but never apologized. Also, we were with 4 other groups and were harassed by the staff because we had too many vehicles at the site.
Apr 18, 2016
Our stay was great. Met new friends. Everyone was friendly!
Apr 18, 2016
Been there many times and will definitely continue to come back.
Apr 18, 2016
We had a great stay! Absolutely wonderful experience. The only change would be for the check in- perhaps a little smoother next time. We had to pay for our entire weekend up front( which we understood) and then our friends site as well before we could go in. A little frustrating!
Apr 18, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
Very Nice Campground. Friendly Staff, Comfortable Sites, Well Organized.
Apr 18, 2016
Our stay was very enjoyable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We are already planning another long weekend trip.
Apr 18, 2016
Apr 17, 2016
We loved the river view. Staff very helpful. Joanne was very friendly and helpful.
Apr 17, 2016
The only problem was the KOA's WIFI.
Apr 16, 2016
It's perfect !!! ♡♡♡
Apr 15, 2016
Apr 14, 2016
Check in was frustrating because of computer complications. Our stay was very well enjoyable
Apr 13, 2016
Park has great potential with some work. Lot of stuff broken such as in laundry room hot tub jets game room closed for vandalism should have cameras .Roads in bad shape need repair.office personnel was kind of rude during check in seemed overwhelmed because they were busy but was ok other days.I left a day early.
Apr 13, 2016
The staff was extremely friedly and helpful. We had trouble with our cable connection,and the staff were right there to solve the problem
Apr 12, 2016
This KOA is as good as it's staff. We find those that work at CKOA to be so friendly and helpful. It really makes you feel at ease knowing that they have your stay as the number one priority. Thanks to all.
Apr 12, 2016
Apr 12, 2016
My first KOA experience. Best part is the people. Very friendlly and helpful. Campsite is upgrading for summer, but seems to be behind on many things including restroom remodel and remodel of picnic table shelters. Hopefully by end of April, all will be complete. We stayed in basic cabin, which exceeded our expectations.(More Convenient than Tent, price not much different). Thank You !
Apr 12, 2016
Campground seemed nice, but we didn't really have time to utilize many of the amenities. Stayed in a cabin and it was ok. Not super clean or maintained. Hair in the shower, dirt on the floor and fridge missing handle. Nothing real bad, just enough to not be worthy of 5 stars.
Apr 12, 2016
We had such a great time in this campground. Lots of things for the kids to do, and very clean. We are already planning another long weekend trip at the end of July. This time we will be bringing our whole family with us.
Apr 12, 2016
The only problem was not having wii fi
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award