Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Clean, Friendly & well organized. Children everywhere, so it is absolutely a family environment! Children seemed to be having fun. Just made for a relaxing time.
Apr 24, 2017
Easy check in. Clean cabin. Bad food. Great location. Good place to spendtime in smokies.
Apr 23, 2017
The campground wasn't maintained. Very well. The grass was high and it was muddy which made it difficult to unhook and hook back up.
Apr 23, 2017
Nice cabin advertised as furnished with minimal actual supplies. Front desk was chaotic, but overall a nice visit.
Apr 23, 2017
Always friendly. Helpful. Good service. Great spot.
Apr 23, 2017
We come with our family every year and rent a lot of cabins for years we come over thru out the year also. We were just there Friday night and rented two cabins we were very disappointed the big bathrooms they were so nasty u were standing in pee to go to the bathrooms no stop to wash your hands. It smelled like pee so bad we gaged both our cabins the screens had holes in them cabin needs updat
Apr 22, 2017
We had a great time fishing.
Apr 22, 2017
Had a wonderful time!
Apr 22, 2017
My kids didn't want to leave. It is a great place for family.
Apr 22, 2017
Apr 22, 2017
Check in is supposed to be at 2pm and our cabin wasn't ready until 4pm. The excuses they gave me were that they were busy & bc my reservation was online it wasn't 'hot' in their system yet. 🙄 They did give us bikes to use for 1 hr for free but that really wasn't great compensation. We stayed one night and experienced rat poop under the sink & ants. With no apology or care she recorded it.
Apr 21, 2017
Very disappointed compared with two years ago. Pool was swamp water. WiFi didn't work. Linen service never happened. Rushed along by unfriendly staff, whose morale seemed quite low. No linens on bunk beds. Cabin was in disrepair. Despite paying an extra fee for a cabin on the inlet, our cabin was not next to the creek and we had to listen to construction much of the time. We will not be back.
Apr 21, 2017
Beautiful scenery. Great location and very friendly staff
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 20, 2017
the weekend was filled with kids activities so families there is a lot to do...we were up front and it was all rather loud for just the two of us. However, its a great location along the river and many cabins and sweet sites to be had.,,,plus lots to do in the area. We learned so much about the Cherokee culture in town. Occasionally the men's bathrooms needed cleaning in the busy areas.
Apr 20, 2017
Campsite flooded that we were camping on, Site 151. The first day there was a water leak. The maintenance man came and fixed the leak but the next day it rained and the site flooded. I know this is an ongoing thing because we have had these sites before. It's been years and nothing changes. Very disappointed in this visit!
Apr 19, 2017
It's always a pleasure to stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC Kampground! We look forward to our next trip!
Apr 19, 2017
Amazing place to stay with family!!
Apr 19, 2017
The park is nice and has a lot to offer campers. Its in a wonderful spot next to the river. Most (not all) of the employees are nice and helpful. The only issue is the sight selection. I drove in pulling a 34' fifth wheel camper and a large truck that makes my setup over 55' long. They placed me on a sight that was to small. Most of the camper was on the grass and the truck had to park sidewa
Apr 19, 2017
the KOA was wonderful. It was very well kept and the bathrooms were extremely well kept. There was so much for kids to do. The office staff that delivered us to our cabin and brought us wood and the people at the Grill were just wonderful. The only complaint I have was the staff in the office. They were very rude. If I judged wether or not I would stay at this location per front office I would not
Apr 19, 2017
We love the KOA!
Apr 18, 2017
There is not enough to space to complain about everything. The pool and hot tub was DISGUSTING! Probably has not been cleaned in years. Gameroom still not fixed. Jumping pillow down the whole week we were there (should have been fixed before spring break). Wifi nonexistent, every time we stay we are told they are working on it.
Apr 18, 2017
We had a great stay. The campground was very quiet in our area. The kids were entertained with all of the amenities. Upon check in the staff was helpful and kind.
Apr 18, 2017
The Campground and ammenities were great. The Cabin we stayed in was great, however the cabin was full of dog hair and looked as if it hadn't been cleaned very well. There was even dog hair in the shower. We had to get toilet paper from another cabin we rented, as ours only had a quarter of a roll.
Apr 18, 2017
We've stayed at Cherokee KOA numerous times. This time there we a couple of issues. We were charged an early access fee for being less than 2 hours early and had a broken sewer connection. Moving was not an option as we were with a group. We will stay again.
Apr 18, 2017
The campground was very clean,the pool and hot tub not so much, I didn't feel good about letting my children swim in it ,the only other problem I had was when we arrived the man who escorted us to the site wasn't sure where we were going to park our trucks after we unhooked from our camper's, I rented a super site or as they called it a buddy site.he actually said to my husband that he had no idea
Apr 18, 2017
Lots to do here with the grandkids without ever leaving the campground.
Apr 18, 2017
we loved the bouncy pillow.
Apr 18, 2017
The wifi could be better. Only down fall to the campground
Apr 18, 2017
Campground was nice, however the Wi-Fi should not even be advertised because it does not work. Also the grass in our site needed cut when we arrived and was never cut in the week we were there so the grass was a foot high. Overall not the nicest KOA we have stayed at and the $3.50 a day resort fee was an insult when nothing was open to use, not sure what that was about for.
Apr 18, 2017
Apr 18, 2017
Apr 18, 2017
We loved this campground. So nice and so many activities for the kids. We will definitely be back soon.
Apr 18, 2017
Have stayed twice now and will go again. The fishing ponds are large and stocked weekly. The RV spaces are large...you are not right on your neighbor. Tons of things for the kids to do.
Apr 18, 2017
As always staff was very nice and helpful, however this was the worst I have seen I honestly don't think staff was at fault but just nasty people camping this weekend evertime I went to bathroom it was terrible poop all over toilet stopped up sinks were muddy one time had fish guts in them not really blaming KOA just very nasty people I think,
Apr 18, 2017
Everybody there was very helpful,nice,n polite especially the ladies in the office.
Apr 18, 2017
Wifi is almost non-existant; zero cell coverage; extremely poor water pressure. Water was manageable but the inability to check on an elderly family member at home will likely prevent a return to this campground. We had 3 families there, all with different cell plans, and no one could call home. Drove to Bryson City to make the call.
Apr 18, 2017
Been staying here for 25 years but first time I have negative to report. 25$ for wanting to check in 1 hour early?.1 smooor per child--come on .Egg hunt- if for 10 and under it should have said so no eggs left for bigger kids when their turn came No golf balls to play miniature golf.1 basketball?? pool dirty. The cabin nice, location good, patio nice but too many cabins close together No privacy
Apr 18, 2017
A lot for a family to do. Some things are more important then others such as the cleanliness of the facilities. They don't get touched to much
Apr 18, 2017
We had a great time. My one and only complaint was that the Wifi service was very inconsistent.
Apr 18, 2017
I found the staff to be very rude and you could tell that there was definitely distention in the ranks! I don't know if the business recently sold or if it's gotten too busy or what but I was not impressed it definitely wasn't the normal KOA experience.
Apr 18, 2017
We stayed in the small sleeping Cabins. We have a wonderful time.
Apr 17, 2017
The campground is on the large side, but overall it is a nice place in a great setting. The place that needs help is the full time staff. Many are rude. Being a corporate store - this is disappointing
Apr 17, 2017
Very nice campground. They do need more staff inside and if cabins are ready, they need not to charge an early check in fee.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
{ not good} { no to BAD } not to friendly check in WY-FI is so BAD .... that you need to go to down town Cherokee to us it. KOA WY-FI need and upgrade yesterday for the price WE pay.....
Apr 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA in Cherokee, NC. Plenty of things to do in and around the area, such as fishing, hiking, horseback riding, and museums. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are only 45 minutes to an hour away too. Staff was great and professional.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award