Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 21, 2016
Exceptional staff & facilities. We had 3 families traveling together & they went above & beyond to accommodate us & our needs.
Dec 20, 2016
Several items were needing to be fixed or repaired. I told the front desk at check out and was not offered anything for compensation. I took a couple of pictures on my cell phone. We had no hot water either. The window was open before we got there, and we didn't realize it was open until we were about to check out.
Dec 16, 2016
Everyone was so ice. Our water hose froze the first night but maintenance came to our rescue immed. and loaned us one that wouldn't freeze up while we were there. My husband loved the fishing. And we were right by the river, it couldn't have been nicer.
Dec 13, 2016
Stay was great. Staff was extremely attentive, friendly and helpful!
Dec 09, 2016
great campground, very friendly staff, very kid friendly, and pet friendly.
Dec 07, 2016
This was a family trip which was turned out very nice and this place is great. There was one problem if someone makes a reservation it shouldn't be changed by anyone else it should be authorized by that the person who made the reservation.
Dec 06, 2016
I've stayed here before so I know how accommodating they are. The ladies in the front office are top notch Lucy has a great personality and definitely made our stay better. We will all be coming back next year.
Dec 05, 2016
Friendly staff, great river view. Good ammenties.
Dec 05, 2016
Fantastic KOA, was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff who greeted us on arrival were brilliant!
Dec 04, 2016
Always enjoy my time at the Cherokee KOA, a lot of the staff that had been there for a couple of years had left and it was very sad they were gone. I will miss them so much! I certainly hope the new staff will be as friendly as the others were.Ready for my next adventure there!!
Dec 03, 2016
THIS KOA IS BIG AND IMPERSONAL AND STAFF IN A HURRY DID NOT TAKE US TO CABIN. CABIN JUST OK. CAFE ON SITE BUT NOT OPEN NOT VERY HELPFULWITH ATTRACTIONS IN AREA. BATHROOM JUST OK DID NOT LIKE SHOWERS. DOG PARK OK. I THINK THE BIGGER THEY GET THEN CUSTOMER SERVICES NEEDS TO BE IMPROVED.
Dec 01, 2016
CABINS ARE POORLY FURNISHED. IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE MORE KITCHEN ACCESSORIES TO COOK WITH. A TOASTER OVER WOULD BE GREAT SINCE THERE IS NOT AN OVEN. THE TINY REFRIGERATORS JUST DONT GET IT. IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT THERE IS NOT A FULL SIZE REFRIGERATOR IN A CABIN THAT SLEEPS 6 PEOPLE. MATTRESS IS AWFUL. NO HANGERS TO HANG ANYTHING IN CABIN. SHOWER LINER IS DIRTY.
Nov 30, 2016
Very nice sites. Kind and helpful staff. Thank you for the onsite air compressor for tires, etc.. Had a bit of a hard time with directions as "Campground Road" is not recognized by GPS. Real address is on website but needed human employee to help find it.
Nov 30, 2016
First time staying at koa. Enjoyed fishing the ponds. Stayed in camping cabin and was really nice. Liked having the bathroom across from cabin. Only downfall, was not able to build fire due to being under a burn ban :( next trip, plan on bringing our children with us. So much for them to do.
Nov 29, 2016
Nov 29, 2016
kids love to ride bikes and they do so all day long. Good place for kids
Nov 29, 2016
Staff was friendly. Store needs later hours. Small bathhouse. Only 2 shower stalls. Usually someone waiting to shower. But, bathhouse was nice and warm for the chilly weather experienced.
Nov 29, 2016
We come every year as a family and is never disappointed.This year was no different. we had a blast.
Nov 29, 2016
We loved everything.
Nov 29, 2016
Everything was awesome at this campground. We definitely want to return.
Nov 29, 2016
IT WAS VERY NICE. I STAYED IN #236. ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT FLOORS SHOULD HAVE BEEN MOPPED NOT JUST SWEPT. IT RAINED WHILE I WAS THERE SO I TOOK MY SHOES OFF AND WHITE SOCKS WERE BLACK ON THE BOTTOM. BUT OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS GREAT
Nov 28, 2016
Deluxe cabin not well equipped with kitchen utensils. Had to request additional utensils.
Nov 28, 2016
Thanksgiving dinner was great!Lucy was wonderful ! Great time we'll be back!
Nov 28, 2016
Very disappointed about the burn ban and no up front communication to us that it was in effect prior to visiting. I understand the fire concern in the state, but we had called less then a week ahead and they stated all was okay. When it changed, it should have triggered an email to the folks booked so wd could plan for it. Propane fire pits were allowed and they had an open flame.
Nov 28, 2016
Well maintained facility. Huge Thanksgiving meal
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
We had a GREAT time at Cherokee KOA. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The amenities were above par. This campground is where we will stay from now on when we are in Cherokee.
Nov 28, 2016
Bathroom needed cleaning
Nov 28, 2016
Very poor customer service and not nearly as clean as other KOAs. WiFi is unusable.
Nov 28, 2016
We really liked the campground. The amenities, location, facilities,and staff were great. Our site - 005 - should be converted into a sidewalk. 24 hours a day we had people cutting across our site, often within two feet of our camper door. The bathrooms, although beautiful and new, were not cleaned once during our four night stay.
Nov 28, 2016
The ladies in the office are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river and it was great. We'll definitely be back to enjoy all of the amenities.
Nov 28, 2016
Nov 28, 2016
Spent Thanksgiving there and really enjoyed the stay. Very nice park, staff and bath houses. Thanks!
Nov 28, 2016
Nice campground overall. Not much going on since we stayed at the end of November but we didn't mind that. We will be back next year.
Nov 28, 2016
The campground is spacious and well kept. Great bathroom/shower facilities. The lady at the check in desk was very nice!
Nov 28, 2016
Friendly staff and keep pool clean. But need fix wifi better.
Nov 28, 2016
This is a well equipped and well staffed facility with lots of amenities, and even more kids. If you are looking for a place for children, this is it. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, look elsewhere.
Nov 28, 2016
Great time
Nov 28, 2016
Bathrooms didn't appear to be cleaned the entire time I was there. The pool needed to be shocked and made my skin itchy. Jets in hot tub didn't work. They told me when I checked in at 4 pm the first day maintenance would bring a heater. No one showed up. I ended up talking to a guy across the way and he let me have theirs when they left thank god bc we would have frozen the second night.
Nov 27, 2016
My family stay for 3 nights with wonderful Thanksgiving party, pool and hot spa. It's best experience camping!!
Nov 27, 2016
Great staff, great amenities.
Nov 27, 2016
This was our first stay at any KOA, the staff was very welcoming, the cabin and facilities were extremely well kept. Thanksgiving dinner was provided and well organized. My family had a great experience!
Nov 27, 2016
staff very friendly clean cabin great discount
Nov 27, 2016
Beautiful cabin, confortable bed, clean, amazing view. The WiFi signal not good but who needs Internet in Paradise?
Nov 27, 2016
We only stayed 1 night this trip, but they were so friendly and welcoming. It was Thanksgiving and they had a huge dinner for everyone. We stay here every year when traveling through.
Nov 26, 2016
Friendly check in and we love the deluxe cabins- the 500's are our favorite- perfect for 2 people. We stayed in the 200's which are for a larger party but still on river and it was a nice cabin. If you are a chef bring ur own must have kitchen tools this cabin had 2 pots and 3 plastic serving spoons & regular set of silverware mugs ect...we used a lot of creative ways to prepare meals. Just FYI
Nov 25, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained. Will definitely be back!
Nov 24, 2016
Went on a fishing trip here from the Saturday before Thanksgiving up to the Wednesday before and had a great time and caught about 25 nice trout that I took home. I'm already planning next year's trip.
Nov 24, 2016
the 1 who checked me in was rude & curt. Should not work counter.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps