Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 13, 2013
Other than the No water, with the repair, it was perfect. This is our favorite place to camp!
Oct 12, 2013
Very very disappointed with the stay. We stayed in a cabin in which we were the only people staying in the row and the Koa decided to start a construction project next door to us very early in the morning. I was told I shouldn't be sleeping in while I was camping by one of the crew members. This went on multiple days. Another day they chose to shut off the water to the park without warning anyone.
Oct 12, 2013
Friendly, caring staff greeted us at check in. Our cabin was new and perfect with warm blankets and lots of clean linen.Next time we will reserve one on the river!
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
We love it because of the number of spots large enough to accomodate our large camper and 2 vehicles.
Oct 10, 2013
We have been coing for years this was our 12 season and it gets better every time. Love , lo9ve the kampin studios. Will be back very soon.
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
staff very friendly delux cabin was off the hook,which was on the river.5 stars from me.
Oct 08, 2013
Mark and his staff were amazing and I will continue to bring new people to this wonderful place. Thank you Mark
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, heat in our cabin was broken and we were told repair folks could not come out for a week!! We were given small space heaters...but had it been really cold, that would not have been sufficient. Outdoor hot tub wasn't working. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but we feel like the campground could be better maintained for the money we pay to stay.
Oct 07, 2013
Hi,sorry it took so long to reply.I love koa and staff.When i arrived on the 13th and saw no swing and notified staff.Mark and his wonderful staff brought me one I was so pleased!! thank you KOA!!!....Joan Pulliam
Oct 07, 2013
Did not want to leave.
Oct 07, 2013
Really nice campground enjoyed the fishing and the things to do in surrounding area we will stay again
Oct 07, 2013
My kids had a blast!! There was a lot to do and we loved relaxing here. The bathrooms were very clean.
Oct 07, 2013
Awesome destination. You don't even have to leave the campground. We went for a father son trip was amazing
Oct 07, 2013
Campground nice as usual, bathrooms clean, pools well maintained, sites level and spacious. Quiet times enforced. Just wish the fishing would have been better especially in the river behind the campground.
Oct 07, 2013
As first time visitors to this KOA, we found it slightly difficult to find our site. We didn't see any signage and there was no escort to the site as we have found with other KOAs. Had it not been for our friends who arrived before us, we might still be riding around trying to find out site.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Great friendly service.
Oct 07, 2013
We always have an excellent time. The fishing is great, and the kids love the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast.
Oct 07, 2013
Streets not very well marked. Need to have escort to sites,a must at night.
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Had a wonderful weekend to camp. But. We reserved our spot on Friday. Checked in and went to set up tent. Someone had our spot so we took the one next to it. Wish we had went somewhere else. They kept us up all night drinking and being loud. Security had to come 3 times. They should have been made to leave. Got to stay free. The staff was great. But won't be back no time soon. Beautiful campgrou
Oct 06, 2013
This is a great campground for families, lots of activities for the kids. But, not so much for a quiet time away. For my time, the cabins are too close together, mine needed a good cleaning, the ground was too rocky and uneven to sit by the fire pit or have a level table. I arrived near the end of the day (5:00)and the staff seemed ready to head out the door, not especially friendly.
Oct 06, 2013
Beautiful setting, clean cabin with nice outdoor space, and accommodating staff. I would definitely choose this campground again.
Oct 06, 2013
The staff was amazing, the cleanliness of the park was great. We enjoyed ourselves so much the first nite, that we chose to book another nite. We got a late arrival and someone greeted us and showed us our site. The next day the staff was very good at accomodating us for another night. We chose to skip the tent and rent a cabin instead since someone reserved our site already. The staff was great.
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Beautiful time of the year in the mountains of North Carolina. Koa was so neatly kept. Leaves were just beginning to change colors. And we did not want to leave. Thank you to the staff
Oct 03, 2013
The cable tv did not work.the restrooms needed cleaning.the steak dinner Saturday night was so tuff my dad could. Not cut it.
Oct 03, 2013
our reservation said we had a queen bed, ended up with bunk beds. they tried to chg us but were filled.Hard to find campground. Need more signs. mapquest and our garmin took us to the wrong place. Had to call and get directions.Found a beautiful water fall.(Mingo)We found it because it was on our campground map, but it wasn't clear how to find it. We almost gave up. I am so glad we didn't.
Oct 03, 2013
Great service, great views, great campground
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
I will never stay at KOA again. What you see on internet is very different after you get to the camp ground, was told caben had heat , cable and inter net, gas grill. this was all lies. Cold, on cable tv didn't work, grill had just enough gas to cook one hot dog please go to hotel are just bring your on outdoor tent.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Front desk clerks were not as friendly and customer-service oriented as I would expect. Other than that, the campground itself is awesome. I love our riverside cabin, and have stayed there for three years straight. Plan to continue the tradition..:)
Oct 01, 2013
This is our second time staying here and will stay again next year when we come back to Cherokee. Great place and great people!!!!
Oct 01, 2013
We love this campground and returned from last year. It needs a little updating but overall we are very happy and will highly recommend it. We love the nicer cabins.
Oct 01, 2013
ok but the campground in all needs a lot of attention such as roads
Sep 30, 2013
I enjoyed the Campground but needs some maintenance on pool and store. The Cabin was nice and good location but needed cleaned better. Futon was very uncomfortable.
Sep 30, 2013
Great campground stayed before. Only thing make sure if you get a riverside site. Fishermen will be walking through and around your camper.
Sep 30, 2013
This was my 4tn stay at this KOA. Their internet WI-FI or Hot Spot never has worked well. I always had to go into town to connect for business, Some of their blacktop roads need repair. I asked for assistance with a tool from their maintenance dept but no one ever came.
Sep 30, 2013
we nice clean fun pool awesome time for a camp ground thanks
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
I loved it all!
Sep 30, 2013
Very clean and nice environment and the staff was great!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.