Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 22, 2016
We had a great time and can't wait to come back in the summer!
Feb 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much and are looking forward to coming back VERY soon!! Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Feb 22, 2016
We had a wonderful time here. Clean cabin and friendly hosts.
Feb 22, 2016
Always a pleasant stay, great employees.
Feb 20, 2016
Everyone is so nice and helpful every time I go. They treat me like family and why I go back so often. Kevin
Feb 17, 2016
very nice cabin. everything we needed. comfortable clean and quaint!
Feb 17, 2016
cabin was great..only problem was our gas grill would not work and they did not have a replacement. Everyone working there were helpful and willing to assist us with anything we ask.
Feb 17, 2016
Very clean and accommodating. Cabin was ready for us - warm and all set up when we got there. Thank you.
Feb 16, 2016
It was incredibly cold but we had a great time. The staff was very friendly. The grounds were clean. Some of the sites are very close together but ours was nice.
Feb 16, 2016
We rented a camping cabin for one night for valentines. When we arrived, they had not placed a heater in the cabin and it was freezing! We had took an infrared heater for additional heat. We plugged it in and left for 5 hours. When we returned, it was still cold in the cabin. I mentioned it to the front desk when we turned in the keys. All she said was she would let housekeeping know.
Feb 16, 2016
Beautiful campground! Very well maintained and the people working their are so friendly! We enjoyed our stay so much we already booked our next trip!
Feb 15, 2016
Cabin 226. Is not that great. Bad drafts around door frame area and heating is not babalncr in cabin. Will be cold in room and burning up in another. Choose the cottages
Feb 15, 2016
Wonderful place. Great trip. Nice relaxing in our cabin by the creek. Cabin was precious.
Feb 15, 2016
The people was friendly and helpful. It was the best place we could have picked for our honeymoon.
Feb 14, 2016
First time staying at this campground. Loved it, will definitely be going back.
Feb 10, 2016
I was very appreciative of the changes the koa made to accommodate my dogs. Made it much less stressful :)
Feb 08, 2016
Very clean!!
Feb 08, 2016
The front office lady was not very bright and a bit rude.
Feb 06, 2016
Other than being WAY back from town, this was really nice...probably better w/out the summertime crowds. Lots of slots for campers. Really nice facilities.
Feb 03, 2016
It was a Father/Son fishing trip and this campground exeeded all of our expectations!
Feb 03, 2016
great campground
Feb 02, 2016
I won't stay anywhere else. Nuff said
Feb 01, 2016
Great time, great cabin. We had a group of 18, everyone liked it. It's hard to please that many people and our group especially.
Feb 01, 2016
My family had a wonderful time at the KOA/Cherokee. The staff and facilities where excellent we are planning on returning in a couple of weeks for another weekend. Thanks to all the employees at the KOA for making it so enjoyable.
Feb 01, 2016
Always nice and wonderful. So glad I found this place and a great way to get away from busy life.
Jan 29, 2016
MY family hasn't visited KOA many years. It was a tradition for to visit yearly when my daughter was young. Due to hardships we had to cancel until things got better. This year we returned w/grandchildren and loved every moment of it! Everyone was so exceptionally helpful, but one staff made it even better when he helped us find our cabin and helped with an item that we needed. Thank You!
Jan 26, 2016
Bike rentals should be included in price paid for site, not an additional fee.
Jan 26, 2016
Great people running this campground and the cabin was perfect.
Jan 25, 2016
We have been coming to this KOA for over 12 years. As they say, location, location, location. We stayed in a cabin due to the season rather than our camper. There were a few housekeeping issues on check in that were below the standards that we know this KOA posseses. The staff was very attentive in recording these and reporting them so they could be corrected for future campers. A+ staff
Jan 22, 2016
I would have rated this excellent, but on my last stay, I didn't catch that I didn't receive 40% winter discount upon arrival. I asked about it as I checked out and was told there was nothing they could do about it. I have stayed several times in past. May have to consider going to Townsend.
Jan 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time in Cherokee. This KOA is in a perfect location and the cabin we stayed in was clean and very cozy. The customer service from check in to check out was superb. We can't wait to go back. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!
Jan 19, 2016
My husband and I have been coming to this KOA for over 10 years. Read some negative reviews recently and got a little nervous. The stay was one of the better in my opinion. Better beds in kottages, staff was freindly. The only downfall to our stay was having to leave!
Jan 19, 2016
This was our first time staying in a cottage but not our last. We loved it there.
Jan 19, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return! Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the cabin was PERFECT!
Jan 16, 2016
I absolutely LOVED this KOA! We came from FL and brought our dog. Everyone in the front office is super nice and helpful. We stayed in a studio cabin in December for 3 nights. I LOVED our cabin - right on the river! It was BEAUTIFUL! The cabins are so clean and had everything we needed to cook. It was ridiculously cozy. The grounds are beautiful - Indian Reservation! Loved it!
Jan 16, 2016
Park was nice,bathrooms were clean and the employee's were nice and helpful. The only negative with the place is the campsites in the middle of the campground had little to no privacy
Jan 11, 2016
We have stayed at koa Kamp grounds many times and have not been disappointed yet thanks for a great deal
Jan 10, 2016
We come every year at this time and love it:) not too excited that k388 and surrounding ones are being moved and our group won't be able st stay were we do each year
Jan 10, 2016
The staff at the desk wasn't friendly at all.
Jan 07, 2016
Special thanks to Lisa for contacting us before arrival to assist us with any last minute details. All of the staff was very nice and helpful.
Jan 06, 2016
Our stay was very good. Every one was very polite and helpful. The one thing that has stood out is when I walk my dog at night. It is spooky after dark. The campground needs more street lights. We have camp there many times, and we will keep coming. Your employes need a pat on the back from you.
Jan 06, 2016
We have been visiting this campground for years, and it remains one of my favorite places to visit. Everyone is welcoming and helpful, and we look forward to returning.
Jan 06, 2016
my kids and I loved it. We already booked another week for this June
Jan 05, 2016
Everything went pretty smoothly during our stay; well, everything except for the showers. Employees were very nice and they made good coffee! Now, back to the showers: I tried several showers & they weren't working right or just wouldn't get warm (I waited quite some time, yet I hate wasting water). When I found one that got a little warm, I kept using that one through our stay. That's it. :)
Jan 05, 2016
Jan 05, 2016
Really great experience, can't wait to do it again!
Jan 05, 2016
Great stay. Willreturn
Jan 04, 2016
First time in a while we got to bring in a new year as a family it was great
Jan 04, 2016
Muy complacida con este KOA. Tiene muchas Cabañas desde las más baratas hasta las más caras. Muy buena ubicación, tiene un río a todo su alrededor donde se puede pescar, tiene dos piscinas (una bajo techo cerrada, con sauna caliente) y otra piscina afuera (en tiempo de frío está cerrada). La tienda es amplia y los que trabajan en ella son muy amables. Rentan bicicletas de 9am-4pm. 100% recomendado
Jan 04, 2016
nice cabin. stock better kitchen supplies. pool in winter was cold. all other was good.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals