Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay but I was disappointed that it was not a smoke free campground. I hated smelling and seeing cigarettes. Also, many of the workers were overheard swearing. I have small children and this was unprofessional. Lastly, I felt the pool should have been cleaner. The water appeared cloudy and the concrete was chipped/cracked and stained.
Aug 03, 2014
We had a great stay at this KOA. But I think the cabins were not as clean as other KOAs. Inside was dusty and beds didn't look too clean. Overall, it is a decent KOA with friendly staffs.
Aug 03, 2014
stayed at the delux kamping cabins with bathroom. Price was $240.00 a night, way over priced for this kabin. employees were rude and not helpful. I wont be going back to this koa again in Cherokee nc.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We liked the campground but there should be more spots for people with tents. We were first assigned a camping area next to the dog toilet which was rather smelly. When we complained, we were assigned a better tent site though. Otherwise good breakfast offers, nice pool, helpful and friendly employees.
Aug 01, 2014
Very nice campground, friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2014
We had a great time & are planning to return again soon. We stayed in a deluxe cabin & it was really cute & cozy.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Always enjoy staying here. Great place, clean and good customer service.
Jul 31, 2014
Although it was great place, i have found that the #62.99 a night has become too expensive esp when having to pay for the different fun things. My grands are teens now.. in the others 4 years, there was much free things to do as they were younger and the sonshiners kept them busy...and i didn't notice the price much......
Jul 31, 2014
Our only concern was the cleanliness of the grounds and bathhouses. Also parking spaces were not clearly marked around the store,pool area and lighting of grounds and bathrooms made nighttime walking a problem
Jul 31, 2014
We stayed in a Kamping Cabin. It was clean and located on the river. The campground had so much to do. The recreational staff and front desk people were great.
Jul 31, 2014
Fun place. Lots to do. Nice location. Great people.
Jul 31, 2014
Stayed one night and everything was good.
Jul 30, 2014
Need more security. Don't let kids ride bikes after dark. Enforce quiet time.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly. Great place for the entire family. No time to be bored! There were activities everyday. Clean campsite, bathrooms. Convenient store was pricey, paid $4 for water. No need for a car, there was transportation everyday! Drivers are great! Will definitely come back.
Jul 30, 2014
We had a great time! Everyone there is so nice! We will visit again!
Jul 30, 2014
We travel all over the country and this is the highest priced ($63.00 per night)campground ever for a site that was small, muddy plus the sewer overflowed. We will never stay here again.
Jul 30, 2014
We were tent campers. $60.00 a night speaks for itself. Site too small. Bathrooms not what I expected for that price, no where to put clothes on after shower.
Jul 30, 2014
Friendly staff and clean cabin and bathroom. We brought our 2 dogs and love having a dog park and kennel.Nice pool and spa. This was our second stay and we are ready for another trip.
Jul 30, 2014
The campground is great! I visited here many summers as a child and now bring my children. However, the bunks my children slept in contained bed bugs. Hoping we didn't bring them home. Other than that, the trip was great!
Jul 30, 2014
It was ok but there were a few issues. Indoor pool was closed for decontamination. Outdoor pool was filthy. Staff inside was not very friendly.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great-lots to do nice people-great staff- very well stocked general store-good to camp on cement pads-thanks for a great time
Jul 29, 2014
wifi connection could be better. need to be able to use this at our campsite.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was very friendly. The guard was extremely helpful. I was carrying a large laundry basket and he gave me a ride to the laundromat and even offered to come back for me later.
Jul 29, 2014
Cabins were great, good laundry room, bathrooms could be cleaner, mold on shower curtains. Any way to stop smoking in private toilets would be gr8 for those of us allergic. Loads of activities for kids. Golf cart rental a bit pricey. Beautiful park.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed at cabin 60. We had no chair or bench inside the cabin. The screen had a large rip in it and shen I asked about having it repaired ir taped for bugs- no response from front office. One toilet clogged in bath house. I asked front desk where we should wash our dishes and the response we got from front desk was to use the water pump behind our site. No hot water to wash dishes. We ...
Jul 29, 2014
My last stay in 2013 was dissapointing, bad beds and poor maintenance, steps unsafe to cabin 251. all were fixed this year, and bedding was new. Thanks for listening to my prior comments.
Jul 29, 2014
it is not obvious how people should wash dishes at your campground. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay.
Jul 29, 2014
My one 'concern' with the park is the lack of WiFi service. I would give a '10' & five stars if that could be corrected.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed in a tent and really appreciated the upgrade to cabin free of charge when a severe storm came. Thank you
Jul 29, 2014
Campground nice, people not personable, over priced, no wifi, roads need repair, we used to go there all the time in late 90's and early 2000's. Won't be visiting any time soon.
Jul 29, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was very nice and clean. My 7 yr old & 4 yr old were never bored between the 2 pools, riding their bike/scooter, kid activities and visiting family & friends at other cabins! They wore me out! Thank you for all of the fun and great service with your staff!
Jul 29, 2014
I think this is one of the best KOA's I've been to on the East coast! I do however have a few suggestions...the pools needed cleaned for tubers were coming into them a muddy dirty mess and not hitting the showers before hand so the pools were murkey because of this. Showers should be enforced and maybe some clarifier in the water? The only thing missing was karaoke! Gotta have karaoke!...:)
Jul 29, 2014
We had a great time. Love the KOA's because they are so family friendly and there are activities that the kids can participate in which is GREAT! They loved each and everyone of them!
Jul 28, 2014
the only thing that i will complain about is the wifi it is free but you can only get it when you are at the koa store it needs to upgraded REALLY BAD if it was not for that i would have given them 5 stars
Jul 28, 2014
We had a great stay. It was our 2nd time in 10 years. One disappointment was the outside hot tub didn't stay hot; the heater broke. Other than that, it was a great time. My family truly enjoyed it!
Jul 28, 2014
We had a site that was amazing and we really loved the feeling of being right there with nature.
Jul 28, 2014
have always had very good experience at cherokee koa. however our camp cabin could do with some major improvement.there are carpenter bees invading the porch ceiling, and the porch step down is a little hazoradous,and the screen door has been very neglected. its a great spot though next to the river.poor ole cabin just needs a little tlc.!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great stay. Husbands bday. The guys at the pool concession stand do a great job. Breakfast sandwiches and food are excellent.
Jul 28, 2014
Our cabin was great! No complaints. It's a great family campground. Clean, friendly. Lots of activities. Only thing I did not like was no internet to keep in touch with family while away.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.