Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2016
Always a favorite campground to get away to.
Oct 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee, NC KOA. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very kid friendly. We look forward to going back.
Oct 10, 2016
This past weekend, I proposed to the love of my life at Waterrock Knob Overlook (just about 45 minutes from the Kampground). When we returned back both nights to our cabin, the view of the stars and the southern sky to the east was breathtaking. Great service and great facilities!
Oct 10, 2016
This by far was the best kOA that I've stayed at. Everything was very clean, the staff was super friendly, indoor/outdoor pool, fishing a short walk away and you can get your license there. I will return as often as possible
Oct 10, 2016
The staff is always helpful and kind! We love coming to your KOA! Please have the Indians do a rain dance so the ponds can get restocked!!😀
Oct 10, 2016
loved it!i wish the ponds had been open but yall can't make it rain.
Oct 10, 2016
Great Staff!! Very helpful
Oct 10, 2016
we had a great time. we loved the campground and the staff was awesome. will definitely be coming back.
Oct 10, 2016
The TV signal in this Koa is extremely poor.Need fix as it has been poor for a long time.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
We arrived at 7:30, check in was at 2. Still waited for cabin to be cleaned. Customer service was slow and rude. I've been coming here for 20 years the condition of this place keeps declining. Very disappointed. Will be looking for other accommodations.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Even though we had no children with us, was impressed with all the things to do for kids. I think it was a little pricey compared to other campgrounds.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Loved the campground! Great amenities and very clean.
Oct 10, 2016
I was very pleased with this campground over all! I was not expecting much being in the mountains but man was I shocked! The bathhouses were amazing! The only thing was the wifi didn't do much, I know being in the mountains has to do with it but I would love to see this be improved if at all possible! Overall we enjoyed our time with you guys and look forward to returning!
Oct 09, 2016
this was our first time @ a KOA & we loved it . Everyone was so helpful from the time we first arrived till we left. They took us to our spot ,helped us get lined up to our plug in's,. Everything was clean,quiet & so much to do . No complaints here Would highly recommend this as a KOA to visit They also had fishing which was great
Oct 09, 2016
The campground is beautiful, and in a great location. Downside was horrible WiFi, and a seasonal camper who was not there kept her bright lights on all week.
Oct 09, 2016
Beautiful, lively yet quiet campground. Lots of activities available. Well maintained.
Oct 09, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
Great campground, amenities and helpful staff. We had a a amazing trip!
Oct 08, 2016
Sites & facility excellent. Guide in great. Registration average. MAIN REASON FOR POOR RATING IS LOUSY INTERNET SERVICE. FOR PRICE & CONSIDERING MARGINAL TO NO CELL SERVICE EXPECTED BETTER. Also, many of the sites with permanent residents have to much junk/trash piled around their RVs.
Oct 08, 2016
Very friendly. Well taken care of and very helpful.
Oct 07, 2016
clean well maintained and friendly staff
Oct 07, 2016
Requested site due to members of our group disabled and with service animals.was told could have it one night it was reserved for people who had booked 6 nights. Never showed up to the site we requested. Were put near obnoxious children harassing service animals with balls & no parents.disability not a concern here only $$$$
Oct 07, 2016
Where tents are, extremely noisy by passing trucks, cars and motorcycles. Too close to the road. Could not get any sleep. This is my second time there
Oct 07, 2016
Really nice clean campground, I took my wife, mother in law and two grandchildren here to Cherokee, NC KOA for some fun and adventure, nice place but a little expensive. The bundles of firewood which had 6 pieces of wood cost a whopping $7 now that to me is outrageous but all in all I would stay there again but bring my own firewood.
Oct 06, 2016
Everything was great until our last night. Our smoke alarm in our room beeped all night. We were not able to get any restful sleep all night long. The smoke alarms were too high to reach and There is no cell phone signal at this location and we could not contact anyone as they are not in the office 24/7. Not happy about that!!!At checkout our clerk did not seem very concerned :( :(
Oct 06, 2016
We had a wound earful time. Everyone was helpful and kind.
Oct 06, 2016
Peaceful quiet and clean. Employees very friendly and helpful. Showers need benches, shelves and a way to keep water actually in the shower. Wifi is nonexistent no matter the time of day. Would stay again if in the area.
Oct 06, 2016
Hard to locate from KOA address...but cool campground, sorry we were only there for one night...May return soon so we can visit Maggie Valley..
Oct 05, 2016
We love staying at Cherokee KOA. The staff this year was very helpful and friendly. I don't like the energy efficient hot water heaters because the water only stayed hot in shower for about 1min unless you were also running the water in the sink which is very wasteful and defeats purpose of water heater! Thanks
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 05, 2016
We were very happy with the campground itself our greatest complaint was with the wifi being spotty and our interactions with the staff. We needed a better Wi-Fi because we had traveled 12hrs and wanted to let loved ones know we arrived. At arrival we had a VERY bad experience with the office staff. They were rude and unhelpful.
Oct 05, 2016
Needs benches and hooks in showers. We were way in back and it was very peaceful but busy toward the front. Nice and clean and lots of shade.
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 04, 2016
Very strict rules but they worked with us. Staff was really sociable and nice
Oct 04, 2016
The stay was ok. The campground was very crowded & loud! People had dogs that kept barking. I felt like we were on top of each other. Not my cup of tea for camping!
Oct 04, 2016
Showers very dirty. Worst KOA we stayed at all summer. Booked on line, so picked accommodations we was looking for. Picked cabin by river with Tv. When we checked in was told oh your not gaurenteed what you picked out online. Well we paid for what we picked out. She moved us finally to river view with hesitation. Cabin very dirty and no TV. Amenities did not match website.
Oct 04, 2016
Great place.wonderful people.
Oct 03, 2016
Staff was great- property neat and well organized - will stay here again!!
Oct 03, 2016
the only problem we had was how long it took for them to fix our breakfast after we ordered it.
Oct 03, 2016
Wonderful stay. GREAT accommodations, friendly staff and the park was wonderful. Price was nice as well. Loved the cabin and the location
Oct 03, 2016
Oct 03, 2016
It was our first time in a KOA, it was very nice the staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and well took care of, we will be back!!!!
Oct 03, 2016
Everyone very friendly and helpful. Cabin was great, quality of pillows and towels what I'd expect in a great hotel. Well stocked. Wifi not available in our cabin, would have been nice if it reached us since mobile signal was poor
Oct 03, 2016
We took our 3 year old grandson and he loved everything that was available for him to do. We will definitely take him again. We always try to stay in a KOA because the bathrooms are usually good and this campground is no exception.
Oct 03, 2016
Everything was great with the exception of the breakfast we ordered (very slow service, small portions,$2 very tiny slice of ham that taste bad)
Oct 03, 2016
It was a very nice place. Definitely want to come back
Oct 03, 2016
We had a awesome time. Friendly staff. Great place. Lots of fun.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award