Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2017
It was a little bit of a hassle checking in. GM made a rude comment about us not realizing that her voice carried through the open office door to where we could hear everything she said. I wasn't impressed with her personality or customer service. In the end we were accommodated after being offended. Once the camping started it was great. Didn't ask anything more of her. Prices are higher now
Jul 10, 2017
excellent!
Jul 10, 2017
Bathrooms was smelly and nasty. Both pool water were so nasty.
Jul 10, 2017
Awesome stay! The staff was great and the whole campground was clean. Bath houses were well kept and easily accessible. The only thing we disliked was our fire pit was roughly about 6 feet from our neighbors black water line and sewer connection.
Jul 10, 2017
Staff at this KOA are the best. They make the entire process painless and worry free. No hassles, no misunderstandings and no unfriendly staff. I love this place.
Jul 10, 2017
The wifi is terrible , should not be able to advertise they have wifi and the cable tv is not very good for picture quality. The paved pads are really great.
Jul 10, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Accommodations were sufficient. WiFi was advertised, but inaccessible at our location in the campground. Linda (staff member) was extremely polite and friendly while making reservations over the phone, and while checking in. I would recommend this venue to RV owners, as well as, those willing to "Camp."
Jul 10, 2017
It was great but if you have AT&T service, you will not have any wifi access. The wifi was overloaded! Also, the hot tubs were dirty. We really enjoyed it and will be back but those two things could be improved.
Jul 10, 2017
We arrived and got checked into our tent only site. The site turned out​ to be nothing but mud, it was directly on the other side of the fence from a trash can which stunk and there was dog poop on the site. We went to the office and asked for a different site which all they had was a small camping cabin. Then charged us full price. We will Not be going to Any KOA again.
Jul 10, 2017
Enjoyed my stay this weekend, grandkids had a great time! Thanks so much to Joann working in the recreation building,she's very helpful and has a great personality!! Definitely will be back
Jul 10, 2017
very friendly staff, and clean cabin.
Jul 09, 2017
We loved our stay there I was a little worried because we read all the reviews about how rude everyone was but we did not experience any of everyone seemed very nice and helpful and the campground was well taken care of
Jul 09, 2017
Young man who checked us in was rude. I guess it was from being so busy. The site that was assigned to us ws taken. After a 40 minute wait, they found us another site. Gave us one night free for the inconvenience. All in all an okay week.
Jul 09, 2017
Great campground for families and kids only reason for not giving five stars and a ten because not suited very well for larger rigs had to have people move vehicles to get to campsite and also when leaving other then that excellent place to stay and close to a lots of activities and town
Jul 09, 2017
Great sites and views.
Jul 09, 2017
We loved how there was so many activities for our children and us as a family. It rained everyday we were there, but with the indoor pool the kids was still able to swim. We will definitely be back.
Jul 09, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The cabin was clean and well kept. Was pleasantly surprised by the Weber grills. The only detractor was the fold out couch. It wasn't very comfortable.
Jul 09, 2017
great
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 08, 2017
Stay was good wi fi not so good. Needs updated bathhouses so so.
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Nice park. Beautiful location. Only problem were children were running amok, and I have kids of my own and I am an educator so I have a high tolerance for kids being kids. If you are looking for a quiet stay, this is not for you
Jul 08, 2017
Ask for two extra blankets & couldn't get them. Have had KOA cups for discount refills & they no longer give you the discount. We have stayed there for years and now everything has changed so much. Sure miss the evening all you can eat dinners. The Saturday night dance was much better under the game room that use to be there. That was another disappointment. No game room and no family night movie.
Jul 08, 2017
My family and I love the Cherokee KOA, we visit anywhere between 2 to 4+ times a year. There is plenty for kids and adults of all ages to do and is very relaxing. The facilities are kept clean and with the exception of a couple of rude employees all the others make it easy to over look them and are extremely nice and helpful. Can't wait till our next trip. 🎣
Jul 08, 2017
I loved it, friendly staff, clean bathrooms
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Nice park for Cherokee, It's tight, but clean and no bugs. (I could not believe,no Mosquitoes!and water everywhere.They might spray and treat the grounds. Good job)The Shuttles are a very big PLUS! Some of the RV/Campgrounds in the area look like residential trailer parks. Old,Rundown shack structures everywhere. Not Koa. They are nice and as predictable with KOA, Pricey,but more than Adequa
Jul 07, 2017
Not happy with fishing. Cabin very good. area clean.
Jul 07, 2017
The campground staff was great - from check-in to checkout. Location was also close to outside activities. Stayed during July 4th week/weekend and it was extremely crowded, as one would expect. Great place to take kids or adults. My only recommendation is that the campground invest in better wifi services. In a phone service dead zone and no wifi was the only downside.
Jul 07, 2017
Much improved from previous stay.
Jul 07, 2017
Great!!
Jul 07, 2017
The camp was safe and well maintained, bathrooms and laundry were very clean and well kept, staff was friendly and helpful. We had a one room cabin with electric. Our only issue was with the smoke alarm going off randomly and no one fixed it. Thankfully there were no issues that required having one.
Jul 07, 2017
We always enjoy our time at the koa.
Jul 07, 2017
We have stay several times and have enjoyed each stay. Our stay in the deluxe cabin this stay was the best! Love being right on the river. Employees were friendly and willing to help.
Jul 07, 2017
We loved our stay there. The cabin was clean and the bathrooms too.
Jul 06, 2017
The camp was fine but one of the selling points for me was the wifi which doesn't exist and the staff is really bad there were only two staff members at the whole place that were helpful the rest didn't have a clue about what was going on or how to do there job and people just let there kids run amuck
Jul 06, 2017
There was no wifi like advertised the food was horrible and took45 minutes to get a hot dog the pools was dirty and the showers where nasty when I asked the lady up at the front desk for the wifi password she told me good luck it may or may not work and it did not the entire time I was there very disappointed considering I paid a lot of money per night to stay there
Jul 06, 2017
This was our 3rd trip to this KOA during the July 4th holiday.The majority of the staff is very rude.The employees yell at people on golf carts for "speeding" and they drive as fast as they can down the campsite roads.They even tell kids to slow down on their bikes. No trash pick up at the sites. WiFi and cable is terrible. Game room is not available. Activities are few and cancel at last minut
Jul 06, 2017
Wifi didn't work to Well. Everything else was great.
Jul 06, 2017
The campground has very poor drainage system. Campsites were flooded each time it rained. They allow fishing in the "pond", but don't maintain the area. It reeked of dead animals (maybe fish guts in the garbage can), & the sites near the pond smelled so foul we left a day early. It was disgusting. The indoor pool was so cloudy you couldn't see your own hand in front of you under water.
Jul 06, 2017
We were put on a site that was too small for our RV. We could reach out our window and touch the camper at our back.
Jul 06, 2017
Great campground. Well maintained, no problem hookups and great amenities. Friendly staff and clean facilities. No problems at all.
Jul 06, 2017
It was our first time taking our child camping. We really enjoyed the amenities and it was an experience we want forget. Thanks for a great time.
Jul 06, 2017
The facility is great. The service is mediocre. Little to no attention to details. -- Waited hour+ for key after calling 2 hours in advance about late arrival -- No advance notice of no ATM or cash back at store & many cash only services (Grill, laundry) -- I don't mind lack of WiFi, just say so in advance -- Family of 12 was mistakenly given 2 cabins not adjacent, no apology/effort to fix
Jul 06, 2017
we stayed there a year ago in June and the cable had a lot of static and this year in June 2017 the cable still has static and barely watchable. Staff was not very friendly either and the wait time is long to check in
Jul 06, 2017
I need internet service when on vacation. The Wi-Fi there was horrible. In 3 days never got a connection. Left a day early for this reason
Jul 05, 2017
Nice campground. I paid for river front site but it wasn't what we thought for the kids. mainly was a wall with a drop off. We really liked the activities for kids during day and night. Prices for campsites seemed a little steep.
Jul 05, 2017
The activities people were not professional at all (Megan). Olympic Games consisted of randomly squeezing wet sponges at others while staff watched. Friendship bracelets??! No one even showed up to see the disapointed children. The Grill closed early twice for computer problems. Ryan seemed like a good manager but he was on his own because the other employees seemed/acted helpless.
Jul 05, 2017
Previous years, I have been very pleased with the activities & children's crafts. This year was somewhat poor. The tie shirt event did not have children sizes, XL was the smallest. The kiddie pool was shut down & the hot tub looked as if it bacteria filled tub. It had a yellow tint. Eliminate the smoke fogger at the DJ dance. It was very irritating for the kids to breathe. Still planning to return
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award