Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2016
Lovely place with lots to do. Staff was friendly.
Jun 27, 2016
Stay was great, cabin was not as clean inside or outside as I expected, but still always like this campground and location
Jun 27, 2016
Stay was great, however, this time there were problems with the restaurant. They were seriously understaffed. It took 30 minutes standing in line just to place an order for pizza. Never experienced this problem before.
Jun 27, 2016
We loved staying at Cherokee koa its the best !!! The town its self has nothing much to offer we recommend this campground highly tho the kids loved it and so did we!
Jun 26, 2016
fabulous
Jun 26, 2016
stayed there for 4 nites didn't like the complete lack of privacy at the sites, this campground is more a trailer park, resort area, geared to the occasional camper. Too commercialized for us. Also, for what we paid per nite, reliable internet is expected. Mens room had one working toilet, the other was overflowing with waste. Mens room was dirty & no hand soap
Jun 26, 2016
Stay was great, no problems at all other than the very weak wifi and no phone service.
Jun 26, 2016
Our 5-8 year old kids had a fantastic time. The adults were not concerned for their safety as they roamed the camp ground. Activities were on point. Very relaxing atmosphere. Bikes are a must...we used our every day.
Jun 26, 2016
Had a great time. Restrooms very clean and staff helpful and friendly.
Jun 26, 2016
Best campground for kids, counselors are awesome, activities are what we come to enjoy. Love you KOA
Jun 26, 2016
Awesome. Lots of activities for kids!
Jun 26, 2016
Have stayed at this KOA numerous times and the staff is always friendly and willing to help or answer questions. Very family oriented, and great for kids
Jun 25, 2016
Plenty of showers and toilets. Staff friendly. We booked two sites requested for them to be side by side when we arrived the sites were not site by site Lucy fixed the problem. Thanks Lucy
Jun 25, 2016
My family and I had a great time here. The staff was courteous and helpful. The grounds are well kept and the views are amazing. We will definitely be back again.
Jun 25, 2016
Great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will be back. Relaxing. Miss the campfire already.
Jun 25, 2016
I thought the campsite was beautiful. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Would have gave more stars but the sewer connection at the site was broken and they did not fix it sewage leaks when draining the tanks. Campgrounds also we're not able to fix my water hookup after several tries.
Jun 25, 2016
One of only two ladies showers in working order all week Septic drain stopped up Splashed all over my feet
Jun 24, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay. The only problem I had was my husband got there before me and checked in and got car tags for both our vehicles. So they didn't let me go straight in. The guy who stopped me wasn't that friendly and I told him my husband had my car tag and he said how do you know and i said we've been texting and he said no you haven't the reception is good here. I said yes sir
Jun 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Great site and lots to do in the area.
Jun 24, 2016
We can't round was very nice but our site was extremely small. It seems like it was not even meant to be a campsite, but was just a small spot with enough room for a tent and the fir but was just a small spot with enough room for a tent and the fire ring. With a small four person tent we did not have hardly any room at all to walk around the campsite for put out a chair. The rest of the tent sit
Jun 24, 2016
Site 232 should be shut down until the water valve gets fixed.
Jun 24, 2016
This has to be one of the best KOA's anywhere. Facilities are first class and the on-site activities make this a fun stay for anyone.
Jun 24, 2016
I have been staying at this campground for years. This year was so disappointing. Usually I'm greeted with good hospitality. Not this time. The prices went up on everything. I got there a little early and had to pay a 25 dollar fee. For early check in. This place use to be my family get away. I am a local resident, and work in hospitality. They are lacking in so many areas. I won't be back
Jun 23, 2016
We absolutely loved it! Already planning our next visit!
Jun 23, 2016
Family fun on Fathers Day! Great staff,great facilities and great memories! Highly recommend this campground for everyone!
Jun 23, 2016
We stayed at 6 different KOA campgrounds on our recent trip and this one was by far our favorite. It was gorgeous and there were so many activities for the kids! Absolutely a 10!!!
Jun 23, 2016
Had a great time as always.
Jun 22, 2016
We've camped at the Cherokee KOA for over 20 years and are very pleased with the improvements. We love his place and the beauty surrounding it, and even our adult children continue to come back! Lucy checked us in and on her day off caught fish for us since we weren't having much luck. She was very sweet and we hope to see her again next year!
Jun 22, 2016
There were problems with getting our tent stakes in the ground due to tree roots. Manager went out of her way & was very willing to make another site available to work for us. Unfortunately, the lady camped beside us in tent site T42 on June 17, 2016 was verbally abusive to our children. Coming on our tent site & scaring the children. Hope she is banned from KOA camps. I should have reported her.
Jun 22, 2016
Everything was great. Only issue was with ants, but I expect that to happen. Employee notified at checkout, so future guest will be more comfortable. Will be back soon...reservation made for JULY!!!! YEAH!!!!
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
we loved it as usual
Jun 21, 2016
The campground was very clean, excellent staff supervision, well maintained, friendly service, family friendly activities. I only wish we could have stayed longer. It was so peaceful and I felt safe staying there alone with the kids. The kennels were perfect for our pet too. WILL stay here again and looking forward to our next trip. PERFECT vacation!
Jun 21, 2016
The only problem is unsupervised kids riding their bikes not looking where they are going with no regards for vehicles
Jun 21, 2016
Another great weekend at Cherokee KOA!I liked the remodeled bathroom and bathhouse.Friendly staff,clean campground.Going back in Aug,Oct and Nov.
Jun 20, 2016
Been returning for 20+ years. Looking forward to back bathhouse showers getting renovated. Special thanks to Lucy for helping us through arriving too early and not catching fish. Only negative was a KOA staff person who said she was too busy to take a picture of our family for us.
Jun 20, 2016
We come every year and enjoy it greatly!!! This year the bathrooms/showers were a little scarier than years past. But overall, we love Cherokee KOA
Jun 20, 2016
I love to stay at this campground. we had a few issues on this camping trip but I talked to the manager this morning and he apologized and is trying to make things right. I understand that things happen but it seems we had more than our share of bad experiences this stay. I am going to give it another try and hopefully it will be a good trip.
Jun 20, 2016
had a great stay golf carts a little to much but don't understand prices 12 hours for 50 or 24 for 100 u can only use it till 11 so why do 24 don't make since
Jun 20, 2016
Cabin was clean and was in a great location. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Pool and Jacuzzi water needed to be cleaned. Overall great time and we will be back.
Jun 20, 2016
What a wonderful setting with friendly prompt staff. With the many activities throughout the KOA, it kept our stay very entertaining.
Jun 20, 2016
This is the third year in a row we have stayed at the Cherokee KOA and we have already booked our stay for next year! We always have a great time. Almost all of the staff is very friendly and helpful. I especially like the fact, at the pool if there are children under 16 they make sure an adult is in there with them!
Jun 20, 2016
1/2 roll of TP and no extra, only 2 spoons, no fry pan, got 1 from next door, no can opener, no big spoons, neither reading lights at bed, didn't work, needs fan in bedroom, at the nightly rate, should be totally equipped, have camped for 40 yrs., never told there was a $25 early ck, in fee for just an hour!!cheap kitchen garbage bag tore, no extra in basket...a few added amenities would make itni
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
.
Jun 20, 2016
Awesome family vacation in the mountains...we stayed in the first cabin, next to the pool...many fun activities for kids...my only recommendation would be to add a ceiling fan or an AC Unit in the bedroom...when bedroom door closed, too hot to sleep comfortably...when bedroom door open, it was ok...thanks, Kelly
Jun 20, 2016
It's been one of our favorite campgrounds for many years. The new management has made some very nice improvements.
Jun 20, 2016
WiFi did not work, I had to go in to town to get a reliable on line connection. FYI, cell phone, both AT&T and Verizon was extremely poor often took several calls to complete a conversation trying to find a spot in a clearing near the main parking. Usually no signal in my RV.(not KOA's fault)
Jun 20, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at this KOA in a one room basic camper cabin. We found the cabin to be in excellent shape and very clean. The KOA site is in a nice wooded area next to a lake or stream. It was very quiet. The rest rooms were the nicest I had seen at any KOA. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Amenities appeared to be really nice tho we did not use them due to a shortage of time.
Jun 20, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award