Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 17, 2015
We have stayed here for 9 years. The reasons were super clean grounds and bath house. The bath house might have been cleaned once in the week we were there.Grass needed to be cut and leaves blown.Moving more cottages and fewer cabins changes the rustic feel. I don't think it is the right mood. Staff at was not as friendly and the put put coarse was covers with sand
Oct 17, 2015
The overall stay and theactual campground was ok. The problem we had was paying $60 a night for a cabin that was filthy and full of spiders(we actually killed 6)when we arrived. I really thought the cabin should have been cleaned before we arrived. One of the workers there made the comment "welcome to the spider's livingroom" when we said something about them being in the cabin.
Oct 17, 2015
Campground was great. Took a shower and the water backed up almost to the door. Other than that it was quiet and was very close to the Smokies where we could visit all week long. Keep up the good work KOA. Thanks
Oct 16, 2015
Oct 16, 2015
It was a nice place. A little hard to find. Cabins are a little too close together for my tastes.
Oct 16, 2015
we arrived at 6 PM to find the office already closing. The staff was eagerly pushing everyone out and was not helpful. That said however, the grounds were very nice and clean, and there was a lot to do for families with children.
Oct 15, 2015
Oct 15, 2015
We had a great time.Every thing was clean and the campsites were well kept.The fishing was good and the staff was nice and very helpful.We will be back!
Oct 15, 2015
The campground was nice. However, on Monday afternoon of our stay till Wednesday we were notified that they would be sandblasting the small one room cabins. Also, as a suggestion I wish they were benches in the showers that you could use to put your dry clothes on and sit down to finish dressing. I am handicapped and had a hard time getting dressed without a hand support or bench.
Oct 15, 2015
This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds ever! Sites are wide and staggered so you have a great visual of the mountains or the rushing stream. There is plenty of shade and the grounds are immaculate. Great access to the Smoky Mtns. No ATT cell service (not Koa's problem) but great WiFi.
Oct 14, 2015
Oct 14, 2015
The last 3 yrs we have camped here. Yr #1, site #5 -rained-mud hole, Yr. #2-site next to dumpster-smelly-never informed we could reserve a specific site-had reserve. for long time. This yr. #272-had to share water spigot-used our adapter.Camper next to us faced us along w/people across street. Felt like commune living.Other sites are fine.Clean, nice bath,shower,laundry-nice amenities.Nice grounds
Oct 14, 2015
It was a great stay the location was great. The river was awesome flowing right by the cabin. Sitting atn ight by a fire hearing the water flowing was a vacation in itself. Will be back...
Oct 14, 2015
Disappointed that WIFI signal wasn't strong enough to reach our cabin and also the indoor hot tub wasn't working.
Oct 14, 2015
Location is excellent. I am rating a 3 because there were various issues during our stay and nothing was ever corrected. 1)our site #7 electric is not grounded (tested with 2 testers) 2) the bathhouse ladies has no functional electrical outlets 3) the dump station is missing hoses and has plug ran over 4)the hot tub is broken 5)for a koa with fishing the staff are rude when you ask about bait
Oct 14, 2015
Staff great. But...there was dog poop around the campsites. I had a dog, but I cleaned up after my dog. On Saturday night the 10th, a lot of people did not honor the quite time hour. Still a lot of noise up to around 11:30 pm. This is the second year we have stayed. We looked at other campgrounds this weekend. Have found another, privately owned campground to stay next time we come.
Oct 14, 2015
Canisters by a busy road. Too noisy at night
Oct 14, 2015
Oct 14, 2015
It was our 1st time to stay here. I called to let them know we'd be getting in very late. They couldn't have been nicer. Beautiful place, lots of big trees, quiet, enclosed pool and lots of activities. Nice bath houses. Plus trout fishing! Just needed more time!
Oct 13, 2015
Cherokee KOA is our chosen spot for our large family gathering again in 2016. This year was our 3rd stay. Perfect place to share our time together.
Oct 13, 2015
Great place, friendly staff
Oct 13, 2015
Terrible customer service - 1-Could never reach the front desk after 5 PM; 2-At check-in almost all cabins were unoccupied and they wanted $25 to check in early; 3-Did not accommodate friend's requests for RV sites that were vacant their entire visit. Deluxe cabin extremely overpriced @ $166 per night with nothing to support the price. Paid $239 for 3 nights at a motel in town with full breakfasts
Oct 13, 2015
Oct 13, 2015
Camp Ground at Sites were Clean, but we felt like we were mislead on the site we reserved in advance. It was not river front so we had to ask multiple times to be moved. With the exception of two people, the staff were unfriendly and not knowledgeable about the tours that were available.
Oct 13, 2015
We love this campground and have stayed every year for 15 years.
Oct 13, 2015
its a great place but the guy who parked us in our spot, messed up & told us in the AM we had to move to next spot over!!!! And he yelled at us like it was our fault!! AND the people who moved in our SPOT where staying till FRIDAY LIKE US!!!!!!!!! LEAVING SAME DAY!!!!!! we didn't have to move!!!!!!!!
Oct 13, 2015
Don, Maintenance, and Jill, Front Desk, is the reason we keep coming back to Cherokee KOA
Oct 13, 2015
We always love to try to come twice a year..spring and fall. This year we could not get our usual cabin and stayed in a studio cabin. I was not happy washing dishes in the bathroom sink and our fire pit was right in front of our neighbor's bedroom window. Also on the other side the neighbor's fire pit was right next to our porch. They was only one person at the counter and there was always a line.
Oct 13, 2015
Fantastic time! Wish the hot tub and the WiFi had been working though. The staff is very friendly and my family had lots of laughs. We will be back
Oct 13, 2015
Very clean with friendly staff. Campground store needs more clerks available during busy times. Communication between front-desk and maintenance was lacking, and maintenance was not notified that we extended our stay. Maintenance then told us that we should have vacated our site by 11 AM, when we had paid for the site until 4 PM - not how guests should be treated.
Oct 13, 2015
Cabins are very small. Can't fit six adults as claimed
Oct 13, 2015
Our campsite was across from the dumpsters, streetlight and in a grove of black walnut trees that kept dropping walnuts on our campsite. Luckily no one was hit in the head and injured... The cabin could have been cleaner but overall the stay was great and this campground seems well managed, it is located in a wonderful place and had plenty of things for the whole family to explore. We'll be back!
Oct 12, 2015
I would like to thank a staff member, nick-named Crash,for his assistance and willingness to help find a solution to our cable issue. Very customer-oriented staff member. And his wife was so pleasant too. Great assets for this KOA. I wish I had more space to comment on the fishing tournament, but that's alright.
Oct 12, 2015
We have been staying at this KOA for several years now and had alot of difficulty with making reservastions this time. Computers always seem to be down and unable to access anything. Took me many phone calls as reservations were wrong several times. Doesn't seem to be as organized and well kept up as it was in the past. Love the area but may need to find another place to camp for our next trip
Oct 12, 2015
The guys in the golf carts could not have been more helpful. Enjoyed our stay and will see you again next year.
Oct 12, 2015
It was our first time staying here and we loved it!! It rained all day Saturday but we spent our morning lounging in the outside hot tub and it made a yucky day not so yucky. Everyone is incredibly nice. The only issue we encountered was in the women's bathroom, the one up front, the receptacles did not work so we couldn't dry our hair in the bathroom. Otherwise, we will be back !!!
Oct 12, 2015
Awesome!!!!
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
The location is amazing, beautiful, and highly recommendable. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is the wifi. It was not great, and we chose this campground partly because it had wifi for our family to enjoy if bad weather hit. It did, but the wifi wasn't available during good or bad weather at our site. This did allow us to "unplug," so it wasn't all bad!
Oct 12, 2015
Beautiful clean camp ground. Had a great time.
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
The WIFI at this campground is VERY poor. If you could get connected the connection speed was very slow even for emails. This problem was on multiple devices. Called the office on two different nights to report a loud party after 10:00PM and a domestic fight at 1:30AM left two messages and phone number no one ever responded. So much for the security at this KOA. Non-existent.
Oct 12, 2015
The ladies restroom was out of soap for 3 days and the restrooms were not cleaned daily. We had a walnut tree which dropped walnuts all over our camper and truck. We loved the fishing pond and the indoor pool.
Oct 12, 2015
very helpful staff. Clean and fun for everyone
Oct 12, 2015
Very enjoyable campground. Staff were friendly and nice. Grounds were well kept and the bath houses are well cleaned.
Oct 12, 2015
Love the environment. Spider webs all over the cabin ceiling.
Oct 12, 2015
Great place!
Oct 12, 2015
Vehicle broke down on the way and had to get vehicle repaired. I was originally staying for 2 nights and totally forgot calling to try and cancel. No calls from the campground and they pulled the 2nd night fee from my card. I am sure it was my fault but a phone call would have been great.
Oct 12, 2015
The campground was conveniently located to downtown, so much to do at the campsite, and a short drive from the blue ridge parkway. Very nice and inexpensive.
Oct 12, 2015
This was our first ever stay at a KOA. We were highly impressed with the facility, the staff and the amenities. Our 8 year old loved the bouncing pillow and the indoor pool.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps