Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2016
A little on the expensive side. The camp store was poorly stocked.
Aug 08, 2016
We have stayed several times this summer at this KOA and loved it. This time was different. I am not sure if there was a lack of help since the summer is coming to an end but the bathrooms where not as clean, there were problems with a few of the showers, they ran out of certain food at the camp grill, the game room was out of order and a few other things. We were disappointed to say the least.
Aug 08, 2016
Hands down the best campground that I've been to this year. Great grounds & staff was amazing. I will be coming back again in the near future
Aug 08, 2016
We love this campground. Second time staying in less than a month. River is beautiful, paved sites are lovely. Plenty of activities for the children, the KOA employees are always helpful. Clean and at a great location, just a few miles from downtown.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for me to bounce we had a great time at KOA the kids love to come there the bouncy outfront was too hot for kids to bounce on had to at night
Aug 08, 2016
Love how friendly everyone and staff members are.
Aug 08, 2016
Great place to be and will be back soon. Very clean campground and friendly
Aug 08, 2016
Clean restrooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great time
Aug 08, 2016
Amazing
Aug 08, 2016
My family and I had a great time. The only issue I had was the cleanliness of the bathhouse. We had lots of fun and loved how the campground had so much to do for the kiddos!!! Thanks for a great time!
Aug 08, 2016
restrooms are not clean. information for recreation is very poor.
Aug 08, 2016
We stayed in cabin, so the cabin itself was hot. The fan was not working, so we ended opening the doors all night. The freshener smells bad. I highly would not recommend anyone to stay in cabins.
Aug 08, 2016
KOA campground as a whole is great. My only complaint is the water pressure in the showers. I understand trying to save water, but, when you pay money to stay you want a good shower.
Aug 07, 2016
Cherokee is fantastic. The campground is pristine and the staff are so nice and helpful. We love going there. The mountains are beautiful. My only suggestion would be to extend the café to provide for food options and more of it. It would be so convenient to have a more full service restaurant. We love it and keep coming back.
Aug 07, 2016
Laura was very nice
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the hottest week of summer. We were staying in Cabin K60 and roasted. I asked if a small AC could be rented but was told no. These cabins are great for those on a budget but during the summer they really need AC units.
Aug 07, 2016
Poor Internet connection, Near kabin K-307, kids were making noise past mid-night so it create disturbance.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Hi Rich,,, I stayed in site 118 as you WELL know of my problem with your RUDE employee, you know who HE is. I have stayed in many KOA,s and sad to say yours was the worst. Activity leaders a total shambles, snack bar teen was not focused was like she was in a play ground scene. Do end, I recommend you clean house , before you get a law suit. Oh, by the way I am a Lawyer. Koa corp. Will hear mor
Aug 06, 2016
No WI-FI our entire stay No shower heads in back shower Front shower had been updated but onky 2 showers septic was awful, talked with maintenence and he joked "Guess you guys are full of s---" and left! Had to leave it closed and just empty holding tank. We paid for this service and was not able to use the service!
Aug 06, 2016
Have stayed here several times. Seems like we are paying more for less service. Actually was given a flooded site to stay at and it took our escorted to suggest going back to office and request a different site. Needed to pay an upcharge for the only non flooded sites were concrete and we paid for asphalt. Also need to bring garbage to dumpster yourself - what are all the fees for?
Aug 06, 2016
we loved our stay at KOA. Our family gets together there for reunions as much as we can. our goal is to get together at KOA every year.
Aug 06, 2016
Thank you Joann, Michele, Tammy, Crash, Manita, Shawn and all the ladies and gentelmen in the office and grounds for the Best Vacation Ever! We loved it at the Cherokee Koa from the people to the activities. We can't wait to go back. Prices were great along with the employees. Please take the time to go to this wonderful KOA! Also, the Summer Shiners were a Great addition to the KOA!
Aug 06, 2016
This is our families favorite campground! we enjoy the tubing, shopping, checkers, and the local sites!
Aug 06, 2016
This is a great KOA! Unfortunately our rude neighbors were loud until 3 a.m. Otherwise a good place for family fun!
Aug 06, 2016
As always we enjoyed our stay. We tried to stay another night but you all were booked. The bathrooms and showers could use some maintenance. Shower heads missing, screws keeping doors from closing and blown light bulbs. Water pressure weak. We had an issue with ants even though we kept our place clean and trash taken to dumpster. Love the peaceful serene campground.
Aug 05, 2016
I would appreciate it if your manager or customer relations rep would call me at 321-433-3501 or 321543-3317. Our stay was a 10 but had a horrible encounter with one of your checking personnel. I was in tears. We have been coming there for at least 15 yrs and I have never been treated in that way. short blonde hair about 50 's
Aug 05, 2016
Tubing was fun and the staff was very nice and helpful. Loved the Campfire Grill!
Aug 05, 2016
Shuttle bus drivers good . Front office personnel good Recreation office clerk rude and not open to answer a question!
Aug 05, 2016
Campground was very clean but some of the store employees were rude and unknowledgebale.
Aug 05, 2016
The Staff was extremely friendly and helpful
Aug 04, 2016
We had a great stay at Koa. The river site 229 was great. Ready to come back. The kids loved it.
Aug 04, 2016
Had three grandkids along and they had a great time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Could use some road work in the campground though.
Aug 04, 2016
Great Place, we love all the activities and fun options. Stayed in Basic Cabin. Few suggests- need to spray for spiders-they were all over the roofing and webs in bunk beds underneath and all around them! Had to clean with broom. Maybe use flashlight to look and clean around them. Need a mirror in bathhouse or shower areas or cabins.
Aug 04, 2016
Great!!
Aug 04, 2016
Great. A little expensive. Too many activities for older folks. You need a senior rate. I would be there more often with senior rates
Aug 04, 2016
Loved the campground! Clean, quiet and lots to do! A little expensive that is why I gave a 9 rating--hard to pay these prices continually. Other than that this is the best KOA I have ever stayed at!!!!
Aug 03, 2016
awesome
Aug 03, 2016
This was our second summer time visit and it was great. Thanks KOA staff.
Aug 03, 2016
It was a great stay. There are some needed upgrades like wifi (total joke; they blame the kids on cells), maintence issues(poor fixes) and various other things. Those were our two main issues. The campground is in an awesome location and the workers were great. We will definitely be back next summer.
Aug 03, 2016
Was not told that there was no AC n cabins when booking our stay (it was hot,even w/fans. Shower place has no vent to help draw out heat. Some people working n store were rude. (Donnie was nice...he drove us to & from our rafting trip,enjoyed talking to him)
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Well I use to love staying here,but now they've gone up on prices so much.Some of the staff have gotten very rude. When you pay that much for a site the last thing you need is some rude staff. The roads need attended to.Two of the staff members were racing on golf carts one night and could have run over someone very easily. There septic kept smelling and nats kept coming up through the septic.
Aug 02, 2016
Great activities, lots of things for young and old to do! Clean bathrooms! Perfect location!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. I understand that camping in the mountains without Wifi is part of the experience. However, we own a business and still need to work even when we are on vacation. I am also in graduate school. The wifi was so bad that we had to drive into town several times and leave the great outdoors. The wifi needs to be upgraded.
Aug 02, 2016
My family had a great time at the park. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family.
Aug 02, 2016
I would like someone to call me so I can tell them how are experience was, my number is 828-329-9700 it would be nice to have someone higher in the food chain call because I need to report some things that they may not realize is going on in the Cherokee KOA. Thank you Megan
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award