Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2015
Fantastic campground! Traveled there with a BSA Troop, and they treated us very well.
Jul 23, 2015
excellent staff, good activities for kids, tucked away from town...
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 22, 2015
This was the best campground we've ever stayed at. We had our grand kids and they LOVED it! The staff was the best! Everything was perfect. Thanks for a GREAT TIME.
Jul 22, 2015
Office staff does not do what they say, nobody seems to know what the other is doing nor do they take responsibility. It's pretty much what they say or the highway. Exchange of towels after being there three days was a hassle. She accused of changing that morning and had us confused with someone else. The placard in the bathroom says that they should en exchanged at the registration office but we
Jul 22, 2015
We purchased our1st camper 3 weeks ago and were trying it out for the first time. Koa was recommended by a friend who uses it quite often so we decided to try it out we were not disappointed Our experience was great and we will be using it in the near future.
Jul 22, 2015
The reason for the rating is because the park did not require that parents control their kids. It is dangerous to walk through the park with kids racing their bikes virtually at all times. Nice park but needs to control the kids.
Jul 22, 2015
The stay was ok but the office was told about the people getting drunk and using the restroom out side in frount of children and wemom and did not care wemon do not want to sea there junk Ithank they should have been ask to leave,the camp ground. other that we realy enjoyed the time we spent...
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice kampground with plenty to do for the kids!
Jul 22, 2015
When we arrived our mini fridge didn't work. We had to wait for a maintenance man to come and replace it. Then we bought fire wood from the office. The wood was wet and some of it was green. We went back to the front office and was able to exchange it....for more wet green wood. we had no campfires for our 2 day stay. We also weren't notified ahead of time of decreased fish stocks so no fish.
Jul 21, 2015
Nice and clean with a lot to do around the campground but products in the store were very expensive so bring all u may need
Jul 21, 2015
Awesome place. They really go above to make sure that you are having fun. If I had to say anything is that with no cell service the WiFI should be a lot better. Great stay, see you next year or sooner.
Jul 21, 2015
As much as it costs to stay here there should be curb side trash pick up. Please do not advertise you have wi fi when it does not even connect.
Jul 21, 2015
Only complaint is no phone service. I am more and more dependent on my cell phone, so I just wish there was service there.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a good time.
Jul 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, the cabin we stayed in was clean and the food at the grill was great and affordable. Will be back again. The river flowing right by our cabin was a plus also.
Jul 21, 2015
had a good time. Bathrooms could use better cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
We usually love this campground but our last stay wasnt the greatest. One of the guest service employees wasn't friendly, at all, upon arrival and check in. Our campsite was FULL of cigarette butts that my small children constantly wanted to pick up. Lastly, it was very loud late into the night due to rambunctious teens roaming the campground (which I know is out of your control).
Jul 21, 2015
Loved all of the amenities and activities. A great camping destination for families with children. We enjoyed the smoked pork dinner! It was lip smackin'!
Jul 21, 2015
I had a fun time and liked the environment a lot! Nice people and good facilities. The cabins seem a bit pricey though.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Extremely expensive, no phone reception, WIFI was up and down everyday, fire-pit was to close to neighbors truck and our awning, our lot was small, I felt cramped.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time. The sites were level and clean. The bath house was also very nice. Can't wait to visit again!!
Jul 20, 2015
Would have been a 10 out of 10 and 5 stars if the WiFi had worked as advertised. These sites are not exactly cheap and there is no excuse not to have a usable Wifi system considering that cost. Everyone I met had the same complaint about the Wifi. When we asked the front desk about the problem here was no real explanation offered. This issue should have been thought out better on KOA's end.
Jul 20, 2015
great place. cabin on the water was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views and soothing sounds of running water. Booking again for sure
Jul 20, 2015
Had a blast camping here for the first time. Just wish we would have known that the ponds were not stocked like we thought they were going to be but iver all a great time thank you for the experience
Jul 20, 2015
Love it, I always come 3 or 4 times each year.
Jul 20, 2015
OUR STAY OVERALL WAS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE HAD WAS THE TRAILOR NEXT TO US, WHICH WAS OCCUPIED BY KOA EMPLOYEES, HAD OTHER KOA EMPLOYEES POUNDING ON THEIR DOOR AT MIDNITE. LACK OF SLEEP MAKES A 7 HOUR RIDE HOME SEEM LIKE A LOT LONGER.
Jul 20, 2015
Staff very friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
We were very taken about by the welcome we received upon arrival. After a 9 hour drive in a 28ft motor home, we were greeted by an older gentlemen with headset very rudely. He should not check in late arrivals...last thing you need that late is someone very rude. Rest of the staff, just lovely
Jul 20, 2015
Had a Great time
Jul 20, 2015
My family had a great visit with this KOA campground. They have a lot of activities but we decided to tube for the most part. The tubes were high quality and they offer shuttle rides for long tube trips.
Jul 20, 2015
Our Kabin had FLEAS! We were moved twice. Our stay was very uncomfortable and we were NEVER even offered any compensation for the stress, physical discomfort and time we lost from our vacation. I cannot tell you how heartbroken we feel since we stay there ALL the time. I would like someone to follow up with me with regards to this incident. Thank You.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was excellent. However the campfire wood that we purchase (4 bundles) was all green (wet) wood. Making it VERY frustrating and difficult to keep the fire going.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay but real expensive 75.00 a night high for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
It was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Clean campground,bathrooms and cabins. Staff was wonderful! I would highly recommend a stay at the Cherokee,NC KOA!
Jul 20, 2015
Analog cable TV, broken water stand pipe. Very crowded and no place to park the MH and go into the store on check out. Other than those few things, we were happy.
Jul 20, 2015
Wish the wifi was a little faster
Jul 20, 2015
My kids loved it! Lots of good bike riding. The bath houses needed to be cleaned more often.
Jul 20, 2015
We always LOVE staying at the KOA!
Jul 19, 2015
Love the camp grounds just disappointed this year. We rented deluxe cabins the AC unit broke in the bedroom and they never fixed it the whole 7 nights we stayed there no discount given for the inconvenience
Jul 19, 2015
Site 269 should be a parking spot for a cabin the site was recently was Site 269 should be a parking space for cabins. The sewer inlet is 11" above the ground. Water continues to leak underground and site of excavation was not even leveled. what about a refund??
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed every minute at Cherokee. Staff is fabulous , helpful, and everything was clean and so well kept. I'd go back any time I could.
Jul 19, 2015
Totally enjoyed our 5 night stay! Staff was very courteous and provided top notch service to us. Have already recommended the campground to others.
Jul 19, 2015
Well maintained. Good level concrete sites. Very convenient to the GSMNP but a little remote to everything else. Limited cell service (voice only) and wi-fi was slow and unreliable.
Jul 19, 2015
As I was checking out, I booked a week for spring break next year for the family. I will also be coming the 1st of Oct. for a father/son weekend with friends. So, yeah, we love it.
Jul 19, 2015
Our first KOA stay, and the first time I've been in a campground in 40 years. We were very pleased and hope to come back.
Jul 19, 2015
Camping Cabin. This place was ok, not great. Pros: great pool area, 2nd pool, food reasonably priced, good activities for kids. Cons: sites are way too congested. Our site (K385) was at the very back and was bad -- soggy grounds, could not park right next to cabin, big sewer line running behind the cabin and along the "creek".

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.