Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 11, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
The only complaint I have is that people were allowed to smoke in pool area and around the grill area. Very irritating to try to enjoy the fresh air and smell cigarette smoke.
Jun 10, 2014
Wonderful as always.
Jun 10, 2014
Needed to fix the screens to keep bugs out, otherwise great.
Jun 10, 2014
Beautiful two room basic cabin right on the river. Helpful staff. Bathroom always clean and smelled good. Great location to the national park and rafting.
Jun 10, 2014
could not have had a better stay. the weather was great and the campworkers were just as great. we will be back in Sept. for 30 days can't wait.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
We had a wonderful time. I was not happy with the person that miss represented her self. Once we got with the new Manager every thing went well and they were vary accommodating.We have reservations for 20 RV's for 2015. Jim
Jun 09, 2014
Enjoyed my stay at Cherokee Koa. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and listening to the river run.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time staying at any KOA and we couldn't be more pleased!! Our two-night stay was great!! The only thing I would change is a later check out time.
Jun 09, 2014
very clean quiet and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
All the staff at the KOA seems to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time there very much and will hopefully be back soon. Thanks Jean
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff.
Jun 09, 2014
absolutely wonderful
Jun 09, 2014
Short weekend trip to get away. Staff was excellent! Kids loved the pools and water slide. The activities provided by the koa were awesome as well. The kids loved the flash light candy hunt. My wife and I enjoyed the ease of check in and the R&R. Very clean campground as well.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Very nice and helpful staff! WIFI issues kept it from being perfect.
Jun 08, 2014
Very clean, and everyone is very nice.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
Enjoyed our stay except the weather wasn't good with rain. Pool seemed clean and restrooms.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Grouped with our friends in side by side cabins, pools were clean, staff friendly, lots to do for the kids, bring bikes!
Jun 05, 2014
I expected the pool to stay open till 11:00 pm because that's what the web site said, only to find it closed at 9:00 pm. Kids were not happy!!!
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Wonderful stay just wish the internet wifi had been better.
Jun 04, 2014
Nice place, needs to upgrade bath houses.Would have been better to be able to go down to the river without weeds.Friendly people. Well mantained other than river.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
You advertise wifi and you have none, they said they are working on it but for how long? We stayed until June 5 and most of the day of June 4 NO WATER. How would you like us to rate this camp??
Jun 03, 2014
Had a great time with my family there I can't wait to comeback.
Jun 03, 2014
Beautiful location. Fun amenities. Indoor pool was cloudy (dirty?). Island park not kept up, but lots of potential. Movie night postponed. If it's on the schedule, follow schedule.
Jun 03, 2014
We decided at the last minute to go, everyone was very nice. I would recommend to check your cabin and make sure everything is in them and working.That was the only thing.
Jun 02, 2014
Great KOA, but I highly recommend improving the WiFi. Would get 5 stars if the wifi could have reached my RV site.
Jun 02, 2014
Wi-Fi was very poor. you had it so it would knock you off after an hour so people could not stream movies,and did not consider people working on their computer. it was to slow to download needed materials, and to slow to do a video call on Skype. The campfire grill was to be open from 8am to 8pm it was not and no reason given as to why.
Jun 02, 2014
LOVED IT WILL BE BACK AGAIN
Jun 02, 2014
Recommendation: Staff should have a designated smoking area. Staff were smoking beside the kitchen entrance, beside the pool and on the golf carts. Unprofessional.
Jun 02, 2014
We had a great time!
Jun 02, 2014
Spent Memorial Day Weekend 2014 in one of your one room Kabins. Was perfect for a family of three. Quoting a five year old " I wish we could live here" lol. She loved the cabin, the air pillow, the pools, riding bikes, fishing, playground, etc. What a great family vacation. Thank You!
Jun 02, 2014
Great time
Jun 02, 2014
Everything was great except for a male staff worker who's only interaction with us was negative (he apparently wants an authoritative position)- he told us we needed to return banana bikes when I had just rented them 15 minutes before (which I advised him of) and got haughty when I came out without two passes for our cars even though I told the front desk girl we had two cars and she gave me one.
Jun 02, 2014
Peaceful, loved it all , posted pics on Facebook showing our kabin off...ended up selling your place to a couple of friends that you will be hearing from soon...lol
Jun 01, 2014
We had a great time with friends and family. The kids always have fun and enjoy the pool. The only problem we had was that we rented a golf cart and someone else took it while it was charging. The guys at the office finally got us another one. The rates on the golf carts are a little bit expensive. Other than that we had a great time.
Jun 01, 2014
The amenities that demand a premium price for this park are getting very weak. Hot tubs not working above 25% not jets on upper outside lower inside. Wifi is non existent , forcing us to leave even to check work email. Pools and hot tubs have large amounts of crumbling sand and residue in them I have been staying at this park 10-15 days a year for five years and see declining values
Jun 01, 2014
Fantastic campground!! Loved it!
May 31, 2014
We have stayed in the cabins on the creek for several years because they allow dogs. We have enjoyed every stay and find the cabin clean and comfortable. Yes, we will visit again and I hope soon.
May 31, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was extremely clean,young man took us to site explained every thing even lite grill.Site was everything we expected real memorable stay.KOA all the way is always our 1st choice when camping.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.