Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 31, 2016
We stayed at one of the tent sites and really enjoyed our stay overall. The bathhouse facilities were the nicest I have ever seen at a campsite and were conviently located to the tent sites. Since we stayed the weekend before Halloween there were tons of activities going on. The one draw back is the tent sites proximity to the road; lots of road noise.
Oct 31, 2016
We loved it . All the activities were great. The escort to the wrong spot the night we came was annoying especially when we were all set up except for the awning when we were told we had to move......but Donnie escorted us to the correct spot and was very helpful in getting set up. He even checked on us the next day to make sure we settled in ok. The haunted island was great.
Oct 29, 2016
We enjoyed the park very much. It was in a beautiful setting. The lot was easy to get in and out of. The gentleman that escorted us to the sight was very helpful and nice. The office staff on the other hand, were notvery friendly at all. The were actually quite rude. Also, on our site the cable did not work properly and when we reported nothing was done. other than that, we did like the park.
Oct 29, 2016
I absolutely LOVE this little cabin! Will be back next year!
Oct 29, 2016
Had a very pleasant time, most interactions with staff were very pleasant!
Oct 29, 2016
just good all around
Oct 28, 2016
Making reservations during holidays seem to be a big problem. Not sure it is worth the hassle. Our group consists of 5 campsites & 5 cottages.
Oct 28, 2016
Encantados de haber conocido el lugar y el fabuloso personal. Me encantaron los eventos programados para el fin de semana de mi estadia. Gracias por todo!!!
Oct 28, 2016
Oct 28, 2016
Very nice and very clean very nice people great stay
Oct 27, 2016
We were there for a Foretravel rally. The staff was very helpful and the facilities were great.
Oct 27, 2016
Oct 27, 2016
Been coming to this KOA for almost 30 years and had the worst check in experience, Lucy spent almost 40 minutes checking in other campers and relocating the couple in front of me to several campsites but when I wanted to see about relocating to another site due to tree/satellite issues she said they were already booked and proceeded to wait on the next guest.
Oct 26, 2016
We stayed in cabin 244 by the river and it was beautiful.I especially liked it at night when the moon rose over the mountains and reflected on the river.We took full advantage of the pool and hot tub.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The only negative thing I can say about our stay was that it ended to soon!
Oct 26, 2016
Everything was great. The only complaint I have is the grill that serves breakfast/lunch. They were EXTREMELY slow. It took thirty minutes to make one egg and three pancakes with no one in front of us.
Oct 26, 2016
I had a great time and enjoyed my stay at KOA Cherokee. My cabin was clean and the bed was comfortable for a camping cabin. Even though the outside temperature dropped down into the thirties with the use of a small space heater, I stayed warm and cozy at night.
Oct 25, 2016
Been visiting KOA Six years in a row. Always a pleasure. Look forward to this vaca every year!!!! Thank you
Oct 25, 2016
Staff was not very friendly this time not sure what issues were. Also breakfast team on Sunday very slow acted like no be deal wait 40 minutes fir food need to close if no better service.
Oct 25, 2016
Oct 25, 2016
we came at Halloween it was a great time
Oct 25, 2016
Activities could have been more planned out and better done than they were everything was a rush job.
Oct 25, 2016
FABULOUS. Have been to many KOA campgrounds in years past and this one was cream of the crop. Kids activities, store, amenities, cafe...staff was awesome. Just so impressed.
Oct 25, 2016
We have been coming to this KOA for 25 years and now we are looking for somewhere different for one thing the price is outrageous you can get a very nice hotel cheaper than you can camp here. I really think you should reconsider this crazy rates then on top of that they throw in a resort fee. I have talked to a lot of people who say they can not afford to stay at the KOA.
Oct 25, 2016
Disappointed this time. Assigned a site &I not allowed to change or pick a different one when usually we can. Site flooded when it rained. Bathrooms not as clean either.
Oct 25, 2016
A very nice campground with clean restrooms and showers! All of the sites are spacious enough. Great amenities, but wifi is not good at all. Camp staff are very nice. We would definitely return if we come to this area again!
Oct 25, 2016
Great experience. Kind and friendly staff. Clean restrooms with hot showers. Lots to do for the whole family.
Oct 25, 2016
The bathroom upgrades are wonderful. It felt so clean! We had a great time!
Oct 25, 2016
It was a nice place with exceptionally clean and updated bathrooms! Would stay again.
Oct 25, 2016
Only problem was power outage on and off on Sat nite and we were in a cabin so we didn't have light.
Oct 25, 2016
enjoyed my stay . very clean and the staff was great . look forward to the next koa
Oct 25, 2016
After 5 months on the road, this was one of our favorite KOAs. Love the area, the amenities and the CG itself. Only negative was one of the ladies in the office was very rude. Wanted to extend our stay by one night and she found every reason we couldn't. I immediately(2 minutes) went online and found available sites. Seems like she just didn't want to make an effort to accommodate us.
Oct 25, 2016
Tent site had no power outlet which made charging cell phones, etc difficult.
Oct 25, 2016
Stayed here for their Halloween family weekend. We don't have children, and it was still a blast!
Oct 25, 2016
This was a wonderful campground, excellent staff they even offered to take my wife and I to the casino because the Cherokee transport was running late.
Oct 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay with the exception of a couple of employees at the campground. We had problems with her last year and we will no longer deal with her no matter how long we have to wait. The other is a man that works the grounds, he was screaming at children for some type of infraction. There is absolutely no reason to treat people so rudely. We did not know these children.
Oct 24, 2016
Look forward to this KOA every fall! It's a three family event yearly. Thank you Cherokee KOA for helping make more memories.
Oct 24, 2016
Came up for Halloween bash. Campground was clean as usual.A wonderful office crew. Love the renovated bathrooms.Really love the Saturday night DJ. Only complaint I have is ,please ask the trash truck to stop coming around at 7-8 am. Some of us old people like our sleep. lol. Keep up the good word.
Oct 24, 2016
The hot water in the shower is not consistent?. The faucet id hard to adjust cabin 389. You either get scolding hot water or freezing cold water!
Oct 24, 2016
Lovely campground but in need of maintenance. Check in attendant was rude. Water pressure was inadequate requiring showers at the bath house. Water pressure there not much better. Drains were clogged, standing in water while showering. Clothes hooks were broken on shower doors. Showers were not heated. My rv was. For a KOA, I expected better, especially for the cost.
Oct 24, 2016
The campground is great! The only complaint I have is the wifi. Please up grade it!
Oct 24, 2016
No electricity means unhappy campers Although we were told it was power co. We were told by other campers it happens every year about this time. We won't stay at this time again.
Oct 24, 2016
Halloween festivities were awesome cabin was nice bathroom clean showers were private nice staff was nice gave poor score due to our first time to stay there we had electricity first night but was cold did not realize until asking staff member next day they provide space heaters got space heater sat but power went out our cabin and bathroom at 32degrees that night We froze will not go back sorry
Oct 24, 2016
This was our 2nd visit and we will definitely be back!!! So much fun for ALL ages.
Oct 24, 2016
Way over priced, lots of deferred maintenance. Staff is the exception, they are great. The owners need to spend some of their over charging on fixing the place up.
Oct 24, 2016
We always have such a wonderful time when we stay at KOA!! Very family friendly environment!
Oct 24, 2016
Location was good, Cabin facility as advt. The bathrooms I feel should have been better managed, looks like toilets were being cleaned only once a day, with having full campground occupancy, it should have been frequent. Wi-Fi signal was very weak, i am against electronic devices during vacation, but with no cellphone signal i feel it should be available thru the campground for emergencies.
Oct 24, 2016
We so enjoyed the Halloween festivities! Thank you for a great weekend!
Oct 24, 2016
We had a great time wand a great view of the river!
Oct 24, 2016
Oct 24, 2016
It was awesome
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps