Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2016
The campground was very clean, excellent staff supervision, well maintained, friendly service, family friendly activities. I only wish we could have stayed longer. It was so peaceful and I felt safe staying there alone with the kids. The kennels were perfect for our pet too. WILL stay here again and looking forward to our next trip. PERFECT vacation!
Jun 21, 2016
The only problem is unsupervised kids riding their bikes not looking where they are going with no regards for vehicles
Jun 21, 2016
Another great weekend at Cherokee KOA!I liked the remodeled bathroom and bathhouse.Friendly staff,clean campground.Going back in Aug,Oct and Nov.
Jun 20, 2016
Been returning for 20+ years. Looking forward to back bathhouse showers getting renovated. Special thanks to Lucy for helping us through arriving too early and not catching fish. Only negative was a KOA staff person who said she was too busy to take a picture of our family for us.
Jun 20, 2016
We come every year and enjoy it greatly!!! This year the bathrooms/showers were a little scarier than years past. But overall, we love Cherokee KOA
Jun 20, 2016
I love to stay at this campground. we had a few issues on this camping trip but I talked to the manager this morning and he apologized and is trying to make things right. I understand that things happen but it seems we had more than our share of bad experiences this stay. I am going to give it another try and hopefully it will be a good trip.
Jun 20, 2016
had a great stay golf carts a little to much but don't understand prices 12 hours for 50 or 24 for 100 u can only use it till 11 so why do 24 don't make since
Jun 20, 2016
Cabin was clean and was in a great location. Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Pool and Jacuzzi water needed to be cleaned. Overall great time and we will be back.
Jun 20, 2016
What a wonderful setting with friendly prompt staff. With the many activities throughout the KOA, it kept our stay very entertaining.
Jun 20, 2016
This is the third year in a row we have stayed at the Cherokee KOA and we have already booked our stay for next year! We always have a great time. Almost all of the staff is very friendly and helpful. I especially like the fact, at the pool if there are children under 16 they make sure an adult is in there with them!
Jun 20, 2016
1/2 roll of TP and no extra, only 2 spoons, no fry pan, got 1 from next door, no can opener, no big spoons, neither reading lights at bed, didn't work, needs fan in bedroom, at the nightly rate, should be totally equipped, have camped for 40 yrs., never told there was a $25 early ck, in fee for just an hour!!cheap kitchen garbage bag tore, no extra in basket...a few added amenities would make itni
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
.
Jun 20, 2016
Awesome family vacation in the mountains...we stayed in the first cabin, next to the pool...many fun activities for kids...my only recommendation would be to add a ceiling fan or an AC Unit in the bedroom...when bedroom door closed, too hot to sleep comfortably...when bedroom door open, it was ok...thanks, Kelly
Jun 20, 2016
It's been one of our favorite campgrounds for many years. The new management has made some very nice improvements.
Jun 20, 2016
WiFi did not work, I had to go in to town to get a reliable on line connection. FYI, cell phone, both AT&T and Verizon was extremely poor often took several calls to complete a conversation trying to find a spot in a clearing near the main parking. Usually no signal in my RV.(not KOA's fault)
Jun 20, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at this KOA in a one room basic camper cabin. We found the cabin to be in excellent shape and very clean. The KOA site is in a nice wooded area next to a lake or stream. It was very quiet. The rest rooms were the nicest I had seen at any KOA. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Amenities appeared to be really nice tho we did not use them due to a shortage of time.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
We love the koa
Jun 20, 2016
It was Great! Thank you! Really good Pizza!
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
My family had a great time.
Jun 20, 2016
Awesome!
Jun 20, 2016
As always, had a great time.
Jun 20, 2016
Great time.
Jun 20, 2016
AWSOME!!! NOT ENOUGH TIME TO SPEND THERE. THAT IS NOT YOUR FAULT
Jun 20, 2016
We stayed in one of the newer cabins near the front and loved the location!
Jun 19, 2016
The Cherokee KOA is a fantastic campground. The staff, the cleanliness, the facilities, the activities and the location are all fantastic!
Jun 19, 2016
the only thing we had trouble with was the air conditioner didn't work right
Jun 19, 2016
Love the kid friendly atmosphere. Great staff. Wish it could be smoke free!
Jun 19, 2016
The area and amenities are nice, however, there is poison ivy all along walkways and my entire family had to go to the doctor. Upon check in I was not given the desired cabin I had booked, but staff was friendly and did attempt to transfer me but there were no available cabins.
Jun 19, 2016
My river front cabin was more of a drainage area from the pond. Almost all the staff was grumpy. The only really nice person , was Michelle the driver that took us up River. (The real River) to tube.
Jun 19, 2016
Great time on our camping trip. We enjoyed our stay and "Carolyn" at check in was very sweet and helpful. We will return to KOA Cherokee!
Jun 19, 2016
Very disappointed with this campground. We stayed in a cabin (no-air)and tent site. At both areas we smelled someone smoking pot. The campground staff and security did nothing to these people. We actually had to leave our vacation early because we had small children with us and I did not want them inhaling pot smoke. Very disappointed with KOA! I recommend bringing own camper.
Jun 19, 2016
Great Camping site with a lot of extras. The indoor and outdoor pool with slide make it great as well the animation programs is super
Jun 19, 2016
We always enjoy our visit and stay at this KOA camp.
Jun 19, 2016
I've stayed at the Cherokee KOA a couple of times. Both cabins were clean and in the shade. The bath houses are very nice. Couldn't beat the location
Jun 18, 2016
Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The entire campground was taken carrot very well. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be coming back.
Jun 18, 2016
we sure enjoyed our stay we look forward to our next stay also thank you for the coupons
Jun 18, 2016
Clean, seemed family-friendly. Staff was super nice.
Jun 17, 2016
A Well run Resort gave us a most enjoyable stay!
Jun 17, 2016
Amazing sound of the rapids next to our site!
Jun 17, 2016
This is a great campground, conveniently located, but not traffic noise. Lot's of amenities. Bathrooms could be better.
Jun 17, 2016
We had a great time and plan on returning in the future.
Jun 17, 2016
This was our 5th year with our grandson at Cherokee KOA. We will be back that is how much we like it. We are also impressed how they are always improving the campground.
Jun 17, 2016
Beautiful place, and very friendly people.
Jun 17, 2016
We arrived late and were very pleased that there was availability for us. Everything was clean and the staff was wonderful. We wished our plans would have permitted us to stay longer. We will definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2016
We stayed for three nights in a deluxe cabin. Everything was awesome and we had a great time.
Jun 16, 2016
Staff was helpful. Beautiful setting in one of my favorite places in all the world: Big Cove!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award