Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
WIFI WAS TERRIBLE!! In this day and age it's a must! The river site 233 is the best site there! We have stayed at the other so called river sites as you come in on the right but that's a creek at best. We still have a Great week though!
Oct 16, 2013
The stay was good. Not overly thrilled with sharing a fire pit in the cabin area and the store seemed understaffed most of the time. Was disturbed when i watched the camp staff go into store empty coffee pots in giant mugs while people were behind them waiting to get coffee. The only other person in the store was on the phone.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
We found the area and the KOA were very nice. We wish we had been prepared for the fact that there is NO cell signal and very little internet. We understand that we were going camping but when you are away from your family it is nice to be able to check in. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice temperature, but there are not jets in the hot tub. Over all the the the grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay and we will definitely be going again next year
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
People are very nice. Enjoyed the outdoor movies on Fri and Sat night. Wifi needs to be upgraded as it was unusable most of the weekend.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
I loved this campground. The lots are not too close together, and I loved walking my dog and meeting other campers doing the same thing. Plenty of fishing and other neat things to do.
Oct 16, 2013
Low-Speed WiFi/Partly not available at all One hot-tob Not Open, the other Not really hot and without bubbles
Oct 16, 2013
Nice size spaces, EZ in and out. No wifi we could get in our spot. No cell service in outside Cherokee.
Oct 16, 2013
cabin dirty, mattress cut and stained, windows filthy, plug coming out of wall. Light went out in cabin one afternoon no one showed up till the next morning...WHAT good was that? Were we suppose to stay the night in the dark? Extremely disappointed. We have been camping at KOA's for years, never had any problems until staying at this KOA and it was awful. Never again!!!
Oct 15, 2013
I will admit that I almost canceled my stay based from reading the reviews I saw on the website. The reviews I saw ranged from the campground being dirty to the staff being unfriendly and unhelpful. My family and I experienced none of this; we had a very pleasant stay. This park is very child-friendly so if you like peace and quiet, it isn't for you. Very friendly staff and clean campground
Oct 15, 2013
I've stayed here multiple times since 1995. This time, the Kamping Kabin was unusually musty and the fan was noisy (needs maintenance). Electric panel coming apart and needs maintenance.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
The cabin that we reserved online turned out to be a handicapped cabin instead of one with a queen bed that the reservation indicated. We refused to stay in the handicapped cabin so we were offered another cabin which turned out to be one that they obviously had not rented because it needed a lot of maintenace. There were electrical issues and it had not been cleaned as it should. Disappointed!!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. When we first arrived - we could not get in our site because someone had fallen and there was an ambulance, etc. in our spot. The staff was great and even upgraded us to a better spot. The facility was clean and the hot tub was very relaxing. Will definitely come again.
Oct 15, 2013
The staff at check in were incredibly helpful and made it easy for us to change tent sites. Our initial site was too small and we were able to move. There was a large group staying across from us in cabins. They were very loud until after midnight each night. It would be helpful to have someone patrol the park occasionally during quiet hours to enforce this rule.
Oct 15, 2013
What we have come to expect. We go there because of the indoor pool and hot tub. That being said poor maintaining of facilities, benign staff standing around doing nothing, over priced rates.
Oct 15, 2013
Wonderful stay!
Oct 14, 2013
We always enjoy the cleanliness and feel it is safe for our children. We have been disappointed in the fishing the last couple of years. We were also disappointed there were no halloween or fall activities for the children, although there had been the week prior and would be the week after. arcade was was also closed when they went.
Oct 14, 2013
Cable awful. Nice restrooms and sites. Office closes too early. More signs needed; campground hard to find.
Oct 14, 2013
I have been coming to this KOA for the last 13 years.Every year it just gets better. The management of this facility is the best I have seen.Please keep up the good work. Cannot wait to get back here.
Oct 14, 2013
Even though it is a large campground, it is very clean. It's one of my favorite KOA's in the south!
Oct 14, 2013
I forgot to get discount for second night with value card. No bigs
Oct 14, 2013
Missed the escort to the camp site. Bathroom were very dark. They only had few rental bikes for the kids available, and the once they did have were taped up with duck tape.... not very safe....
Oct 14, 2013
Everyone we encountered was friendly and nice. Everything was clean and well kept.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
We have been visiting cherokee KOA almost 10 years. This has always been a special place for my children to visit. We had a great time this past weekend, except for the bikes and the office staff. That was one of the things my kids were most disappointed in. Every time they asked when they would be back, no one knew and the staff were very rude and unprofessional. We are in hopes this will change
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Cottage was not as depicted when reservation was made but location was probably equally good. Cabin definitely could have been cleaned better. Major cobwebs on the legs of the chairs, makes you worry about a spider climbing up your leg. Porch needed swept still beer caps on it from previous guests. Cabin flor had been swept but certainly not mopped had grocery store feet in short order.
Oct 14, 2013
Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.
Oct 14, 2013
Children should not be allowed on the playground after dark. It is unsafe. There are no lights there.
Oct 14, 2013
wonderful stay, great people, good mgt team, great faimiley fun. Iwill be back by spring.
Oct 14, 2013
I was unhappy with the amount of staff for the activities. We had to wait 30 mins for anyone to come to the banana bike station cud they bra rely had any stock. They said there was no one to take people on the tubing trip, even though last year this time, we went tubing at this same koa. They had no four wheeler bikes like they had last year that my mother and son rode on.
Oct 14, 2013
Too crowded on the weekends. No hot water in the sinks. Otherwise, an ok stay.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Wifi very slow. Our site was small asked to move to the one right behind us and told it was reserved. It was not and stayed open all weekend. But my son had Fun.
Oct 14, 2013
We LOVED this campground. When we arrived - after dark -we discovered we had selected the wrong site online (no sewer) - but the personnel worked with us and found us a site with sewer! Great amneties here - indoor pool and hot tub - our kids loved the outdoor movie! Pizza from Hunt Brothers was great - can't say enough good things - we will definitely be back!
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Great experience from start to finish. Thank you KOA!
Oct 13, 2013
Had a blast, beautiful, nice, loved it!!
Oct 13, 2013
Beautiful area and campground. Clean and easy in/easy out. Will definitely return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.