Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2014
This KOA is currently under a new management from my understanding. Our family has stayed here many times over the past several years however I will say that this has been the worse experience we have had here. We had visitors for the day and they had to actually pay to just come see us!! Other issues too - too many for 400 characters. Very disappointed this time. Will probably not come back
Jul 13, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. The mountain view was beautiful. Our church took 19 young teens for a youth trip. We had such a wonderful time as we reflected on God in our lives. Thank you. We hope to return in the future.
Jul 13, 2014
We asked for a quite cabin and they put us next to the road. We use to visit this koa almost every year back in the 90's. But now it is so busy and noisy that we will not be coming back.
Jul 13, 2014
The only thing which should improve soon is WiFi at all camping sites, instead of one hotspot at the store.
Jul 12, 2014
We loved the amenities - great pool, playgrounds, etc. but not the tent site or bathroom. Our tent side flooded easily with many puddle-holes. The guys side of the bathroom had a clogged drain and kept water/mud on the floor the entire week. This would be a great place to park a camper.
Jul 12, 2014
We got charged for a creek site, but wish we could have had 234 .
Jul 12, 2014
Loved the location and most of the staff wasn't friendly. The kabin was cozy and clean. The activities kept my little girl entertained and the peaceful porch provided a great recharge for me. We will be going back often. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Jul 12, 2014
Love stating here but wish the cabins were farther apart
Jul 12, 2014
Très beau camping dans une très belle région. Coin de pays à découvrir.
Jul 12, 2014
Very quite and peaceful. Although the vehicle got vandalized.
Jul 11, 2014
Had a great time! Very clean! Workers very friendly and helpful...
Jul 11, 2014
We had a great stay at this KOA. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our only recommendation to the management is to pay attention to the bathrooms. They can use a little more attention since they were dirty more than one day in a row. Other than that we had a great time at your campground.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
We stay at a lot of KOAs but this one was not as near and clean. The bathrooms were of particular concern. Showers scummy with hair observed each day. Need to pressure wash and steam clean then maintain.
Jul 10, 2014
advertised wifi, poor at best, not at camp site, needs to quite advertising free wifi. pool really cloudy, needs lots of repair
Jul 10, 2014
Some of customer service clerks were very rude. Nothing exciting to do during our stay. My family and I are not likely to stay again. Bathrooms were very nasty. We paid a lot of money to stay and thats what we got in return. Not happy at all.
Jul 10, 2014
Stay was great- only issue would be when checking in- I would have hoped someone would have gone over kids functions and fishing areas - would recommend kids activities throughout the day and in evening- all we saw were notes for the day- do you have a activities director? Our recent camping experience at myrtle beach camp resort had activities all day and night- also wi fi needs repaired.
Jul 09, 2014
Great campground, well run, nice security, great staff that were very helpful and the summershiners were terrific!
Jul 09, 2014
ONE NIGHT THERE WERE KIDS DRIVING GOLF CART AND THROWING ROCKS AT OTHER CAMPERS, 9 PEOPLE WERE HIT. The manager was told but she did nothing. The Sheriff was called and solved the problem without the manager
Jul 09, 2014
Very nice campground with level sites and very clean. However, too many people smoking to include the staff. People smoking in common areas like pool, playground, etc. Not to mention that we would consistently see staff members riding around in golf carts and working with a cigarette. Very unprofessional.
Jul 08, 2014
Would like to see the BRIGHT lights turned off around the camp-ground at quiet time ENFORCED.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and peaceful. Family friendly!!
Jul 07, 2014
This campground was designed with too many spaces for the size of the location. I was so far from the store and pool areas that I would have to drive. People all day and night were cutting through my site and one tapped the side along my camper while whistling at 6:20 am. People smoked in the bathroom and the site was noisy until after midnight. This is not a "Model KOA" by any stretch.
Jul 05, 2014
Great campground ! You won't be disappointed !
Jul 05, 2014
Love the upgrades to the basic cabins (outlets, ceiling fans)
Jul 05, 2014
Perfect place to stay away from the everyday's rush! Chill out, have fun, enjoy the nature! :-)
Jul 04, 2014
One of our favorite KOA campgrounds. Have stayed there a number of times and will stay there again.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Friendly atmosphere, clean park, great staff, plenty to do. I will be back!!!
Jul 03, 2014
KOA Cherokee NC is a beautiful friendly park. There is so much to do there and the staff is always helpful. We will definately be returning.
Jul 03, 2014
This camp is in the middle of no where. Their site promotes that they have wifi but you do NOT get any wifi or even cell reception for that matter. Staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked what things to do around the site such as smokey mountains or sites to visit around campsite, lady just looked at me and said i don't know. How do you live/work in a town when you don't know what's around
Jul 03, 2014
Loved having cabin on the river and grounds were very well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed. The only thing I would have liked is water hook up at cabin instead of having to use camper site behind us.
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing trip to KOA Cherokee! Everyone was so kind, helpful, and accommodating! Will definitely come here many more times for years to come! :)
Jul 03, 2014
Overall pretty good experience but the parking space for t38 is nothing but railroad ballast and black slime mud, not fun. And why a tent space with no hookups is so expensive is beyond me.
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great time and wanted to thank the staff member for the beautiful rose petals and long steim roses that were in our cabin. That made our 35 anniversary even more special. We love staying at KOA because they always make you feel like family and it is a great value. We will always use KOA for out vacation stays because we have so much fun at them. Thanks again!!
Jul 02, 2014
One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in!
Jul 02, 2014
Been coming to this KOA for over 20 years. Glad to see the changes. The new Manager David and his wife were very friendly and so was the staff. It's nice to come back. And VERY GLAD Mark the old manager is gone.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We loved it so much we decided to make it a tradition and come back every year at the same time. The staff was so super friendly and helpful with everything. The activities during the day for the kids were great. The restrooms were cleaned several times during the day. It was a great experience.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
We had an AMAZING time! The staff was very helpful and always friendly. My girls said it was the BEST vacation EVER! We will be going back next summer for sure!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
This KOA campground has everything!! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We just got back home and our kids are already talking about next year's camping trip. They just loves this campground and all the activities. The staff were very friendly, and helpful during our stay. Everything was very clean.This is our favorite place to camp! Thanks!
Jul 01, 2014
Love the Cherokee KOA, except the last stay we had site 175.It was hot/no shade, could not position 5th wheeler on it so that our rug would be on the pad because the elec/water were too far away. It was strange.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
One employee seemed to think he was a police officer. Rude to more than one family member on more than one occasion. Arrival day I checked in and paid for 2 sites. Son to arrive late. He acted as if we were criminals in the night. My grandchildren overheard him being rude to other campers. This one employee keeps me from rating excellent. Otherwise it was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 01, 2014
There are two sides to this camp ground - if you have an RV you have some very nice spaces - if you are just camping with a tent it becomes very crowed. Avoid the back of the facility.
Jul 01, 2014
Wonderful camping weekend good restful stay/ pool and hot tubs could use a little cleaning/ we skimmed onetime just to get in and unfortunately kids thought it was a kiddy pool could not relax without them jumping in. But overall a very good and Clem place to stay, staff super friendly and we plan to came back, thank you!
Jun 30, 2014
This is the place to be with kids!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.