Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
Some staff are rude. Indoor pool and hot tub are so dirty you can't see the bottom. Kids activities are fun. Lots of road to ride bikes. Love the river so you can tube. If not using the shuttle and just in the campground tubes should be $5 a day not $10. Hopefully the pool will be cleaner when we come back in Oct.
Jul 28, 2014
what a great place. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the only thing i could see to improve on would be to add a DJ on saturday night playing music that teens would appreciate. Great place .
Jul 28, 2014
The staff is wonderful with the sole exception of the older lady that works in the tube rental. She wouldn't rent us the tubes since it was our last day! She told me and my boys to leave and not use any of the facilities too. On the other hand, I previously asked the front office staff about staying a while to let my boys fish in the stream and they were very gracious and hospitable.Thanks
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Wonderful stay....as always. My entire family loves it here! We were so sad when it was time to leave. We made our next reservations for this resort before we left.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time.. so many activities and great staff !!!
Jul 28, 2014
I was very disappointed. For the price I paid to stay in a no/bath one room cabin I think all the amenities shown on website should be included, there're not, all except pool was extra (of course hot tub was not working). Plus, my view from my cabin was a 6ft chainlink fence, I was basically camping in a parking lot, this place is so large that the pool was to crowded to use most of the time.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since the 70's. We had a Wonderful time. Awesome Staff, very friendly and helpful.We will be back next year!!!
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
great time, great staff
Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay but I was disappointed that check in was at 2:00pm. We arrived early and realized we could not check in yet but we were disappointed that we were not even allowed to use campground amenity's while we waited for our cabin to be available.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
This is a great campground, if for anything the surroundings and the amenities. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The only negatives were that the pool could be cleaned more often and we didn't use the bathrooms very much but when we did, they were dirty. And this was sometimes in the afternoon when they should have been cleaned by then.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
no wi fi, last time we stayed there much better, dinners, place was full, this time not so. One of the main reasons i stayed there is I needed wifi as it was a working vacation, needless to sy, i got nothing done the 4 nites we were there, my boss is not going to be happy. no refund offered for no wo fi either.
Jul 26, 2014
Bathrooms cleaned early in the morn and filthy by mid afternoon and need fresh shower curtains. Anyway to stop people from smoking in the individual bathrooms? Laundry open 24 hrs and clean which was great. Terrific kids activities but maybe could add an earlier evening movie instead of 9:15pm for the younger kids. Great amenities - pool, jump pillow, mini golf, banana bikes, fully stocked store.
Jul 26, 2014
Great KOA. Kids loved the pool, river, and jumping. No wifi was disappointing. Only 4 stars due to no wifi.
Jul 26, 2014
The people that work there are so nice and friendly. I can't say enough nice things about them, however I was disappointed in the cabin. The furnishings were nice but when I got there the toilet looked like it had not been clean in some time. The mat at the front door was dirty. The floor needed a good cleaning and the fly's were horrible. When I pay over 200.00 a night for a stay I expect clean.
Jul 26, 2014
the camp sites were very nice ,but I would not stay there again because you allow people to build camp fires people with lung problems and health issues are in trouble we couldnot even sit out side and enjoy the site because both people on each side had fires!It was bad plus your wi-fi sucks you need a new system or something people that camp in todays time are wanting to get on internet !
Jul 26, 2014
The amenities are Wonderful..pool, bounce pillow, mini golf, AND you can float down the river on a tube! Also staff great and will take you to in-town activities. Bath houses could use a little update, but overall good value for the money. Will go back for a tubing trip next summer!!
Jul 26, 2014
Very good, all facilities working, clean & cost reasonable. Staff was very pleasant & professional.
Jul 26, 2014
Just as we expected, Perfect
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved it and we plan on returning again!
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
This is our second time at this camp ground this year. We also visited last year around the same time. We will be coming back next year as well. We stayed in a tent the first time and rented a cabin on the river the second. Accommodations were very nice. The kids enjoy tubing and the pool. I enjoy the peaceful and cool campfire evenings.
Jul 24, 2014
We had a great time. There is lots to do and the staff was extremely friendly. The restrooms were clean as well. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only down side are some of the sites are close together.
Jul 24, 2014
This is a great campground. I loved the large concrete lots. Will definitely stay at this KOA again
Jul 24, 2014
It was great as it was previous years. If i would have a negative comment. It would be the WIFI reception at our site was not that great but hey, it's camping!
Jul 24, 2014
Extended my stay for 2 more days but didn't receive by KOA discount on that day.
Jul 24, 2014
very friendly staff
Jul 24, 2014
Crash is the man,took very good care of us. But everyone was so helpful,Great times
Jul 23, 2014
Great stay nice and peaceful loved the stream the short distance to Gatlinburg and pigeon forge. We have already biiked next years vacation at the sane spot. While we were down there we checked out more koa none compared to yours. Your are the best thanks
Jul 23, 2014
We had an awesome time on our very first family vacation! My husband and I have been there before and knew just what to expect however my father in law was kinda upset because he didnt have a tv in his cabin and my brother in law did. Turns out some of the cabins have been upgraded. I will make sure to request this next time! Thanks for an awesome weekend.
Jul 23, 2014
We were assigned a campsite as far away from the pool area as possible. We arrived early and would have preferred to wait for a better site. There were definitely better sites available. We were put right next to the dumpster and our water hookup did not work. Customer service was lacking at registration.
Jul 23, 2014
Great staff, well maintained, lots for the kids to do. Very much enjoyed our stay!
Jul 22, 2014
Wifi is terrible ,otherwise we love this KOA.
Jul 22, 2014
weather was not great still had great time
Jul 22, 2014
bathhouse near front of campground was extremely dirty. Everything else was great.
Jul 22, 2014
No complaints. ..EXCEPT...No WIFI as advertised. Could not get WIFI at campsites.
Jul 22, 2014
The weather was bad but the cabin was spotless and the staff as always very kind and helpful...great time
Jul 22, 2014
The hallway of shower doors and bathroom doors would not properly lock. I was walked in on while in the shower when I doubled checked the locks. So was my daughter on a different day. I was disappointed that the band was not there due to rain. That was the only reason we came in the rain. I will not come again if there's a chance of rain.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Would like to see you get WIFI thru out the park. But other than that it was great.
Jul 21, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.