Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2014
My cabin was dirty and there were people at the fishing pond cussing and yelling.
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time with you all. There was always something going on to keep everyone going. Thanks For Having Us. Can't wait to come back on the July 3rd
Jun 15, 2014
My family and I have been camping here for about 30 years. Seen some changes, some good, some not so good, but overall enjoy the campground and facilities. We mainly come to trout fish and usually have pretty good luck. We enjoy the convenience of the snack bar especially for breakfast and lunch. We look forward to coming each year.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
While the facilities that we used were clean the staff was rude. We used the kennel and it was a great option to have but I was concerned anyone had access if they paid the fee for the day...maybe some locks for the kennels would help. When checking in we were not given or offered a schedule and the store and pool closed too early every night.
Jun 15, 2014
beautiful & the staff was so friendly, there is so much activities to do here, so if it rains (like it did on us) we had something and someone to visit with. A place you would come back to.
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
The campground is very nice and it has a lot of amenities. The pools are relatively clean and in good condition. The outdoor hot tub wasn't working however. The playground is very nice and well-kept. The mini golf and bouncing pillow were a nice treat for the kids. The only issue we had was the extremely rude lady working in the office during check-in. We have never seen a KOA employee like her.
Jun 14, 2014
We had a great time, despite the rainy conditions. Kids enjoyed the bounce pad and the pools!
Jun 14, 2014
We had a great time! Don was very helpful and was always asking us how we were and if there was anything he could do for us. My kids had the best time EVER at this one and only KOA!! Thank you for having all of the kids activities! One thing is we wished breakfast was served until noon at the cafe. We were in the mood for egg sandwiches but breakfast closed at 10. We went back and made our own.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Wonderful
Jun 12, 2014
This was our 1st visit to a KOA It was very family friendly and had great activities to keep the kiddies busy. Will be back for our summer vaca next year.
Jun 11, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
The only complaint I have is that people were allowed to smoke in pool area and around the grill area. Very irritating to try to enjoy the fresh air and smell cigarette smoke.
Jun 10, 2014
Wonderful as always.
Jun 10, 2014
Needed to fix the screens to keep bugs out, otherwise great.
Jun 10, 2014
Beautiful two room basic cabin right on the river. Helpful staff. Bathroom always clean and smelled good. Great location to the national park and rafting.
Jun 10, 2014
could not have had a better stay. the weather was great and the campworkers were just as great. we will be back in Sept. for 30 days can't wait.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
We had a wonderful time. I was not happy with the person that miss represented her self. Once we got with the new Manager every thing went well and they were vary accommodating.We have reservations for 20 RV's for 2015. Jim
Jun 09, 2014
Enjoyed my stay at Cherokee Koa. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and listening to the river run.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time staying at any KOA and we couldn't be more pleased!! Our two-night stay was great!! The only thing I would change is a later check out time.
Jun 09, 2014
very clean quiet and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
All the staff at the KOA seems to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time there very much and will hopefully be back soon. Thanks Jean
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff.
Jun 09, 2014
absolutely wonderful
Jun 09, 2014
Short weekend trip to get away. Staff was excellent! Kids loved the pools and water slide. The activities provided by the koa were awesome as well. The kids loved the flash light candy hunt. My wife and I enjoyed the ease of check in and the R&R. Very clean campground as well.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Very nice and helpful staff! WIFI issues kept it from being perfect.
Jun 08, 2014
Very clean, and everyone is very nice.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
Enjoyed our stay except the weather wasn't good with rain. Pool seemed clean and restrooms.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Grouped with our friends in side by side cabins, pools were clean, staff friendly, lots to do for the kids, bring bikes!
Jun 05, 2014
I expected the pool to stay open till 11:00 pm because that's what the web site said, only to find it closed at 9:00 pm. Kids were not happy!!!
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Wonderful stay just wish the internet wifi had been better.
Jun 04, 2014
Nice place, needs to upgrade bath houses.Would have been better to be able to go down to the river without weeds.Friendly people. Well mantained other than river.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
You advertise wifi and you have none, they said they are working on it but for how long? We stayed until June 5 and most of the day of June 4 NO WATER. How would you like us to rate this camp??
Jun 03, 2014
Had a great time with my family there I can't wait to comeback.
Jun 03, 2014
Beautiful location. Fun amenities. Indoor pool was cloudy (dirty?). Island park not kept up, but lots of potential. Movie night postponed. If it's on the schedule, follow schedule.
Jun 03, 2014
We decided at the last minute to go, everyone was very nice. I would recommend to check your cabin and make sure everything is in them and working.That was the only thing.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.