Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
We had a great time. This is the cleanest KOA I have ever stay at in a long time.
Sep 03, 2014
Men's bathroom was always dirty and flooded with water most of the time. People with tents didn't have anywhere to get water. Overall my grandkids enjoyed it.
Sep 03, 2014
We enjoyed another fantastic time at cherokee. probably our 7th or 8th time staying and we had a great time. Really excited to find out the cable tv was working properly. We will return asap.Only problem was some kids trying to ride off on my kids bicycles. The management took care of it quickly.
Sep 03, 2014
This KOA was great - just wish we knew about the loyalty club before we got there - we stay at another KOA earlier in the summer and missed out on points and the discount :(
Sep 03, 2014
Awesome Labor day weekend! Had lots to do for the kids! Relaxation at its best with KOA!
Sep 03, 2014
The cabin was dirty . Cook ware damaged .. Beds dirty..
Sep 03, 2014
Everything was clean, we enjoyed trout fishing while there.
Sep 03, 2014
Nice campground overall...my biggest complaint and biggest reason I would NOT come back is the camp sites are WAY TOO CLOSE and CROWDED!!! You have compromised the Customer for making as much money you can by packing TOO MANY campsites into your property!!! The cabin I stayed in, 301 was so close to the others, I couldn't even sit on my porch without hearing the conversation of my neighbors. There
Sep 02, 2014
We love this campground! This is our 3rd year coming and we plan on doing away with our yearly beach trip and replacing it with a week here. Great for kids with plenty to do.
Sep 02, 2014
love the campground...have been coming for 25yrs but this year staff was ridicious, somewhat rude, the rules have changed where we cannot guarantee our sites, boys stealing banana bikes, running over my 4 year old grandson, just not our usual camping trip, KOA is just not the same as it was years ago, most likely will be changing campgrounds next year mainly because of price kids use to be free to
Sep 02, 2014
We had a wonderful time. this was the 2nd time this year as we spent our weekly family vacation at this facility as well. we have already reserved our sites for next years labor day weekend. we will also try to make it back at least one more time before the end of the year. Brian Foster
Sep 02, 2014
This is a family place. Very safe. Kids never run out of fun. They will sleep great after a day here.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We love that it is so kid friendly.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Great stay (as usual). We love this place! We were sad when it was time to go back home but are looking forward to our next trip on 9/12.
Sep 02, 2014
Campsites were clean. Bathrooms were horrible; small and dirty. In one of the bathroom facilities near our site a clogged shower drain was reported on the men's side of the bathroom. Was told that they would not fix this until sometime in the fall after the busy season was over. Water would back up past your ankles!! We were at the campground late August. Staff service not the best overall.
Sep 02, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathrooms/bathhouse. Every time I went to use the bathroom, I had to attempt to navigate floors that were covered in water, dirt and mud. It got to the point that I was going off site and using public restrooms in order to have clean facilities. The store also has apple juice stocked that expired in July.
Sep 02, 2014
Kind and responsive.
Sep 02, 2014
We have stayed at many KOAs and this one was a really nice location. Plenty of areas to fish, kid activities and friendly staff. The only issue we encountered was the cabin. It reeked of urine and the heat only made it worst. The smell was so bad we spent most of the time outdoors. After being ill from the smell the night prior we decided to check out early.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Plenty to enjoy. Very pleasant.
Sep 02, 2014
Our first trout fishing trip ever! We loved it! Made lots of memories and will be back again (many times) soon!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA in Cherokee. The bathrooms were always clean. The amenities were great for a family with children. However, we stayed in a camping cabin that would have benefited from a more thorough cleaning, like clean windows and cobwebs swept from the ceiling. The price was high for a camping cabin as were the banana bike rentals.
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed our visit very much and absolutely would like to come back next year. It was very family oriented and lots of things to keep the children busy. Very Satisfied.
Sep 02, 2014
Stayed here over the Holiday weekend and the staff needs to be properly trained. They do not care about your comments. Each employee tells you something different. The kid activities were poorly planned and when making reservations you provide these details and pay for additional people per campsite so they are aware of how many to plan for. They also give wrong information on pond stocking.
Sep 02, 2014
this is the second time we stayed at Cherokee koa. the first time we had so many issues. This time was ok, still very unorganized, the office staff was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area as well as the campground, and regarding things that were right there in their store. We would like to give a different Koa a try but we will not recommend nor will we ever visit the Cherokee koa again
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Stay was nice because I was there with family. I booked late so I was stuck with one of the back in sites near the back of the campground. Won't do that again! Next time I will reserve early. Back area of campground could use some work.
Sep 02, 2014
My family and I always enjoy our visit to the KOA Cherokee . The campground is very well managed and the entire staff are friendly and helpful .
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
My family and I loved our time at your KOA can't wait to come back again next year with more family!
Sep 01, 2014
We enjoyed our time at the Cherokee KOA however, there was a tree stump right outside our door, just inches away from the concrete pad, that should be dug up immediately. I finally had to cover it up as best possible with a rug as my granddaughters and I fell over this or stumped our toe numerous times....also, when the grass was cut, which had been quite high, the clippings were not removed from
Sep 01, 2014
Had a great time!!! Beautiful place and everyone was very friendly! First KOA I have ever seen that had a air conditioned cabin kennel for the dogs. We didnt need it but awesome it was available if we did!! Thanks for an awesome stay!!!!
Aug 31, 2014
This was the first time for camping for my son and his family. They, as well as I, enjoyed it extremely. My 7 year old grandson can't wait to come back.
Aug 31, 2014
We had a great time. Every one was great and help for. Take care and GOD BLESS. (BLACKHAWK)
Aug 31, 2014
We have been going to this KOA for many years an I must say that this was the best experience we have ever had. The staff was great, the weather and cabin were beautiful.
Aug 30, 2014
I asked to have the men's side bath house sprayed for yellow jackets two separate time and this was never done. There was multiple lights that needed to be changed in the bath house area. The sinks were missing the screen that screws on where the water comes out. Half of the hot tub worked and the other half didn't work. Other than that, I enjoyed myself and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
NO WIFI and should not advertise that it has it. Premier sites are a ripoff. The cleanest KOA that we have stayed at. Lovely grounds.
Aug 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in the cabins. This was our second stay here. We are already looking into another trip to stay in the premium cabins on the river. Everyone was very helpful during our stay. Nice trip with friends.
Aug 27, 2014
Our deluxe cabin had a minor issue that was taken care of immediately. By a friendly and helpful staff. Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Well worth the money and ability to bring our dog in.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.