Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 20, 2015
We've stayed here in the past many years ago and decided to try it again last Oct. fell in love with it and came back this year. Already planning next years visit. I'ts away from everything, but close to everything worth seeing and visiting. It's clean, quiet and organized.
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you
Oct 20, 2015
Couldn't have been better!! Staff was very kind and helpful. Cabin was clean and well furnished. Hopefully we get to come back soon. Thank you !!
Oct 20, 2015
I love this KOA but the deluxe cabins are too expensive for the size compared to other cabins in the area. I didn't like that the website tells you that coffee is provided, but they only provide you 2 k-cups of regular coffee and you have to purchase the rest even if you stay more than one night. They also do not change your towels on a daily basis unless you request.
Oct 20, 2015
We had a great stay. When had issue with power corrected the issue very quickly.
Oct 20, 2015
I stayed in a cabin for one cold night. The accommodations and staff were above my expectations and I enjoyed my stay. The single complaint regards the firewood. The wood may as well have had live leaves on it. Very green,impossible to light. It shouldn't have been accepted on delivery. It's seemingly minor, but more important on a cold night when you charge folks for it... I will still return.
Oct 19, 2015
Except for the RAIN (which I know we can't control) the stay was fabulous. Staff is always on top of any issues and respond quickly to your needs. We've already booked for next year. Our favorite annual event!
Oct 19, 2015
Campground nice but no cell phone service and wifi was extremely poor
Oct 19, 2015
The employees was very helpful
Oct 19, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at Cherokee KOA, very friendly staff, great camp sites, and the restrooms are always clean!!
Oct 19, 2015
The site is good , plenty of community activities , nice ground Bathrooms can be better . Staffs are nice , will come back again
Oct 19, 2015
The front desk people were a little rude while checking in. The lady was on the phone as we were checking in, told my 75 year old mother in law that she was on the phone, no one was even talking to her.
Oct 19, 2015
Dislike was the people next to us paid $50 less a night for the same cabin and booked through KOA. Did not like all of the little kids in the hot tub and it was not working properly either.
Oct 19, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. The only complaints would be all of the large dogs barking all day long and the loud music coming from a few campers that you could hear all over some of parts of the campground. The facilities were great and so clean.
Oct 19, 2015
My family and I had a great time as usual at KOA Cherokee. The deluxe cabin was great place to stay and accommodated six of us very comfortably. Plus waking up on the river is great way to start your morning. Can't wait to visit there again!
Oct 19, 2015
We loved our stay in the deluxe studio cabin. The amenities at the KOA were great. Can't wait to go back.
Oct 19, 2015
The campground is in a great location. The service was great, staff was very helpful.
Oct 19, 2015
Definitely much better last couple years. But training,training, training, too many yellow shirts wandering without purpose with areas like bathrooms needing attention. Front desk people always mess something up with the stay. Always! Twice this time. Have some staff meetings you can afford it as busy as you are.
Oct 19, 2015
Weather was cold and the showers were not hot all the time. Love this campground but hot showers is a must have.
Oct 19, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. It is in a beautiful part of NC with lots to do and great places to eat and visit. We went to Santa's Land while we were there. We will be back!
Oct 19, 2015
This camp was great! We stayed in a one room cabin for two nights. The little trikes that we rented were well worth the money everyone enjoyed riding them. I didn't like that all the registers were for checking in and buying something from the store, but other than that everything was great.
Oct 19, 2015
Over the years, I have stayed many times at this campground in Cherokee, and have always had a great experience. Although my family did have a great time during this recent stay as well, I will say that we are certain the bathrooms were not cleaned during our five day stay. This experience may deter us from staying there again.
Oct 19, 2015
We loved the trikes!The small cabin was perfect for what our family needed. It was kept toasty warm with a small space heater.
Oct 19, 2015
This was about our 10th or 11 th stay here. Love the cabins, wish shower was warm lol but otherwise very satisfied as usual.
Oct 19, 2015
Love this place because the whole family can enjoy their stay with something for everyone. Friendly staff there to help in any way they can. A+
Oct 19, 2015
I would like to see a bit larger shower curtains in the restrooms.
Oct 19, 2015
Awesome
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 19, 2015
Staff not very friendly, got a cabin without a picnic bench, had to go back to get a heater that was too small for the cabin, could only get wi fi by the bathroom or entrance. This by far was the worst KOA I have visited. Staff was not rude but not friendly. When I mentioned these things they thier excuse was they were much busier than expected.
Oct 19, 2015
Loved everything about this place. Staff went out of their way to help us. Eveythung we could have wanted was at our fingertips!
Oct 19, 2015
Spectacular view and very kind personal! Very kids friendly...
Oct 19, 2015
1) This is a pricy KOA. 2) It would be better if you could select your campsite online. State parks can do this why not KOA. 3) The pool is nice but the hot tub was broken. 4) lots of things for the kids to do.
Oct 19, 2015
Nice campground but is a pricey.
Oct 19, 2015
The staff was amazing at the koa in Cherokee! Very very accommodating, we can't wait to go back!
Oct 19, 2015
Great location. Ample space between campers. Lots of cabins & at least 3 laundry mats. Close to town of Cherokee as well as Bryson city Very friendly staff & lots of fun activities for the kids to do
Oct 19, 2015
The campsite was very nice and the personnel very friendly. The roads to the campsite are not very well marked so we were not able to locate our campsite in the middle of the night. Because of that we had to move the next morning to our assigned campsite.
Oct 19, 2015
Awesome and friendly staff!! Safe place for kids to play! Clean and very relaxing!! Will definitely b back!!
Oct 19, 2015
We come to the Cherokee KOA at least 3 or more times a year and usually have no problems except the time the heat went out in the deluxe cabin. When we booked I asked if we could pay to check in 2 hours early to meet with friends and wouldn't be back till the office was closed. We wish you would consider early arrival for a fee and we would stay more often. We didn't get our key till after 2pm.
Oct 18, 2015
Very nice camp ground. Friendly and helpful staff. Heated indoor pool was awesome. Large jump mat was a big hit with the kids. Hot showers, clean bathroom, coin laundry, store on site. We had a wonderful time!
Oct 18, 2015
Oct 18, 2015
Front desk employees were unable to process refund. It took four clerks and then the manager to get refund.
Oct 18, 2015
This was our third trip to the Cherokee KOA. We came to participate in the fishin tournament. Althouh we did not catch a fish worth money we did catch a lot of really nice fish. The only complaint we have is that the indoor pool hot tub was not workin and the room was ettin cooler every day. Seems to me as much money this KOA makes they could et this fixed sooner.
Oct 18, 2015
Staff in the office has gone down in customer service and seems more bothered than happy to see you. This park gets a premium rate and needs to keep the amenities up and in good repair .The hot tub jets were out our whole week. in door tub and pool are the main reasons that we go to this park and really getting tired of the decline in functioning equipment. Wify is terrible.cable hook up 6"off grd
Oct 18, 2015
Our second trip to this Kampground, and we'll definitely be back.
Oct 18, 2015
This was our first time staying at a KOA Kampground and it was very pleasing. It's very family oriented. Children running and playing all over. The cabins were in great shape, very clean. Nice beds. Very friendly staff. We will be staying here again. Only downfall, was on the site we seen the kennel for the dogs while you're out for the day, it doesn't state that they aren't taken out during day.
Oct 18, 2015
This is a nice place to stay and I would stay there again. Bathrooms were always clean, which is a great thing. People were friendly and helpful.
Oct 17, 2015
We had a great time. I wish I had room here to offer you a few suggestions that would have made our stay better.
Oct 17, 2015
Staff were friendly and accommodated us when the initial site we were assigned was not suitable.
Oct 17, 2015
great
Oct 17, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps