Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2016
The workers were rude, quiet time was not between 10:30 and 7:00, there were many people drinking alcohol, and the people next to me were smoking pot. It was very disappointing to see the girls enter the bathrooms to "clean" but the toilets were not cleaned the entire time I was there. I know this because there was a pink ring around the middle toilet. I will not be back to KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
A wonderful place to stay. There are lots of things to do in the area and when at the park my children were very busy swimming, wading in the river, on the jumping pillow or they could have been doing other activities we didn't have time for. I came to this KOA as a child and was excited to see I love it just as much or more now!
Jul 01, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA twice in a camping cabin on the river. We love all of the amenities including the pool, the grille, jumping pad, mini golf and shuttle to activities. The bathrooms are spotless which is a deal breaker for me! The only complaint I had this visit was that our cabin had not been swept out very well. We did not have that issue when we stayed here last summer.
Jul 01, 2016
Camp site day one no grill over pit. Day two after I wanted refund grill immediately. Bathrooms-floors very dirty, hair and pee Campsite -flooded 3 young kids and dog lots of mud. Moved us but we had to pay a lot nothing was available. Tube rides to drop off we had our own tubes the rides free first week second week close to July 4th $3 per tube. Should be free! Not cool!
Jul 01, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Great for kids. Clean. Friendly staff.
Jun 30, 2016
The campground it's self was ok. The outdoor pool closed early on multiple occasions 8:45PM and we were all forced to the indoor pool. They had a dj and closed the pool early???? I also had a problem with some of the employees, as they were above the rules that they were enforcing. This place has really gone down hill and I have been camping there for 20 years.
Jun 30, 2016
Checking in and out was fast and employees were very courteous! The poolside grill has fantastic food! A huge suggestion would be to look at how much you charge for golf cart rentals... We have been to other campgrounds and their rentals prices are much more affordable. Other than that, we will definitely go back.
Jun 30, 2016
Really enjoyed the weekend there with the family. Nice clean and big. Will definitely stay again
Jun 30, 2016
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed! Great amenities, bathrooms & showers were updated and extremely clean. Office staff were all friendly and helpful. We loved the pool and snack bar, and relaxed daily there! The nature island and tubing were great! We will definitely visit again!
Jun 30, 2016
Can't connect to wifi. Cable did not work for most of our stay and when it did work it was very snowy. Pot Holes throughout the campground. Grass clippings piled up in the grass so it was constantly tracked in and out of our camper. The most expensive campground I have ever stayed in. Very few activities are actually scheduled at check in and there were no outdoor movies even in good weather..Aged
Jun 30, 2016
It was great nice atmosphere. Lots of kids and activities for the kids to do. The outdoor movie Friday night was a nice addition. We have already made reservations for August at the campground.
Jun 30, 2016
We love the koa we go every year several times. This trip our campsite272 had no shade whatsoever. It was measurable the sun beat down on us the whole time.if we go back we will not be staying in the 270 sites.. other then that the koa is very family oriented and the kids love all the activities they have!
Jun 30, 2016
It was ok; bathrooms and the overall areas could be cleaner. Camping spaces are too crowded for my taste.
Jun 29, 2016
Staff was helpful, grill knobs were worn out, enjoyed my stay
Jun 29, 2016
THE CABAINS BY THE RIVER WERE AWSOME, THE SERVICE AND EVERYONE THERE WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND NICE, AND RAFTING AND TUBING WAS FUN, I HAVE BEEN GOING TO THAT KOA FOR A WHILE AND IT HAS ALWAYS MADE ME WANT TO COME BACK.
Jun 29, 2016
We enjoyed the amenities. This campground was very clean. I was happy with the bug spray they sprayed to avoid getting bit.
Jun 29, 2016
Great experience! All the staff were super friendly and helpful, special thanks to Jim who helped us to our site and checked on us on our day of departure. All the kids had a blast swimming, tubing and bike riding.
Jun 29, 2016
Love camping with REAL camping people. Friendly, real campers they eat and cook outside (compared to some RV campgrounds no one greets you or they all eat inside their fancy motor homes etc. That is our #1 reason we like Cherokee KOA. The only neg. thing is time to up-date the bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2016
Great!
Jun 28, 2016
What a beautiful facility. The folks behind the desk were extra-special. Love your coffee bar. Bathrooms in back could use a little more attention, but there was a group of teens staying in the area! We had a great stay.
Jun 28, 2016
The campground is very well kept with an extremely friendly staff. The amenities for the kids were excellent. We stayed for 9 days and were never bored.
Jun 28, 2016
We love this KOA. Very clean and friendly staff. We are coming back again next year and bring several other RV'ers with us. Great place to stay with so many activities you never have to leave the campground.
Jun 28, 2016
We love to visit Cherokee KOA but feel they are pricing us out of coming back ,when we booked our site it a was around 88 dollars a night which we paid to reserve our stay of 10 nights but when we arrived the nightly rate was 108 dollars a night. Plus we arrived a little early and was charged a extra 35 dollars. We have stayed here a number of years but this year sadly will probably be our last .
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground but too many cabins in front of Creek no access to water.stayed there for years when I was a kid it was great but now no water access. Will stay some where else next year.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
great as always maintenance made quick work of a water issue
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cable and internet was not working at the time of visit.
Jun 28, 2016
Second time camping at the cherokee koa and had a wonderful time. Hoping to stay a week next time.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
First time staying here and everything met our expectations. RV sites are very large and kept nice.
Jun 28, 2016
No phone service. No internet service and the space they gave us had no tv. Other spaces had tv but when I complained they made no attempt to move me. We decided to not extend our stay. WAY overpriced for such lousy services.
Jun 28, 2016
Wevarrived knowing we rented a 1 room cabin off the river. We ended up with the best 2 room cabin on the property! We happily paid the difference and were surrounded by water on 3 sides! I'd say this is the best site we've ever stayed on, ever! Tubers and kayaks came down river all day. Fly fishing was really interesting. Stress level dropped 75% just looking ahead at the river. Stay here!
Jun 27, 2016
Clean and well cared for. Only downside we had was the food bar, which is the only place to get ice cream any where close, closes at 8pm. Too early for me.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
It's a nice campground the only thing that bothered me is that it's advertised that they have wifi here and they do but it's so poor and weak that you can't do anything. We had a business emergency come up and couldn't take care of it at the campground because there is little to no cell service and horrible wifi connectivity. It was frustrating We kept having to leave instead of enjoying ourselves
Jun 27, 2016
Hope to return soon .Very pleased with our stay and accommodations
Jun 27, 2016
Best was stuff for kids and other activities. Polite, helpful staff. Camp site was muddy. Bathroom was worst part. Hot,not enough hooks to hang clothes and towels. No seat to sit on while changing. Some showers don't have soap "shelf". VERY small shower stals.
Jun 27, 2016
We have been coming to KOA for 34 years. It is always an exciting time for our family.
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice Very busy. Lots of campers but still quiet. Cable, phone and texting service is sketchy.
Jun 27, 2016
This was the 1st time my mom & grandson came with us & they loved it. My mom can't wait to come back.
Jun 27, 2016
Had a great time. The only complaint is the slow service at the food stand. Other than that it's a great place to take your kids.
Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay & Learning More about the Cherokees
Jun 27, 2016
Staff was great, park awesome, so much to do. Came because of Jim and Linda Appleman, but will definitely be back.
Jun 27, 2016
Great accomodations and ammenities for adults as well as kids. Prices are a bit extreme for campsites tho.
Jun 27, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 27, 2016
Our stay at KOA was fun as always ! However , the site we stayed on could've been blown off to be cleaner, our cable didn't work ,internet was slow and the staff wasn't to friendly ! I feel like the men riding around on golf carts doing nothing productive could've been fixing our TV ! The office was nice ! Will be back but I hope the TV works next time and the staff could be more helpful !
Jun 27, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award