Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 22, 2013
Nice Amenities! My Grandchildren will love to visit.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Very family friendly and everyone was helpful.
Oct 22, 2013
I was a little disappointed that not all cabins have wall heaters like some of the other KOAs I've stayed in. But I guess that is something I should've queried upon reserving. Outside that, the stay was awesome!!!! The size and amenities at this location are off the scale. We'll definitely return in the very near future!!
Oct 22, 2013
The campground was very clean. The staff was very helpful. The wood we purchased was wet and very difficult to get it burning. We wished the campground was more in the woods, but we still had a great time!
Oct 22, 2013
Some of the staff could have been a tad friendlier, but great stay
Oct 21, 2013
Enjoyed our vacation. Been a return customer since 1988! Great place. Could stand to catch more fish, but oh well.
Oct 21, 2013
Great location! Check in was quick and easy.The staff was very friendly.We were given a choice of tent sites and when we decided to switch it was no problem. Nice bathhouses. My 10 yr. old son LOVED the bike rental, mini golf and bouncing pad. We LOVED swimming in the warm indoor pool and hot tub while my husband enjoyed a football game on TV. Outdoor movie by a firepit! Fantastic family weekend!
Oct 21, 2013
Get some benches in your showers! There's no place to put clothes or towels while showering. Also, our cabin smelled like a frat house(old booze, sweat, and farts). The area around the fire pit was tiny. We paid for a 6 person cabin, but only had enough room for 4 chairs around the fire. The only good things were the trees, and you can't actually take credit for that.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
I was disappointed in the cleanliness or lack of in our cabin. The floors were dirty and so were the blankets. The futon had dirt in the creases. The bathroom floor is about to fall in. I was expecting a little cleaner place for what we paid. Also our front door and windows had no blinds. My kids were excited about going,but I don't think we will be going again. Sorry I was SO DISAPPOINTED.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
loved it
Oct 20, 2013
Everyone was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will definately stay again. We loved the concrete pads. Jerry DeLoach
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
Best KOA yet!
Oct 19, 2013
We love this KOA and have stayed there several times. The only problem we had was that the TV cable was bad. I wish the could fix that and then it would be perfect.
Oct 19, 2013
We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.
Oct 19, 2013
tv and internet are the worst I have ever seen. I will go to a different RV park next time.
Oct 19, 2013
Nice large indoor pool and gift shop. Very close to beautiful Mingo Falls. Cabin left much to be desired. No chair, no porch swing, no light bulb for porch light. Cabin smelled very musty and we didnt know where to park our car. Best thing about it was the location to Mingo Falls and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Very disappointed on how dirty the bathhouses were. One bathhouse was so disgusting, I turned around at the door. Plus, I know the cabins are primitive but that doesn't mean you shouldn't clean under the beds and the corners once in a while. Highly disappointed at the overall cleanliness. Further, felt like it was all about filling their spots in the campground and not personal service.
Oct 19, 2013
The firewood was green and not usable. one of the staff was rude. Indoor Pool was dated had chunks of concrete missing from the bottom.
Oct 19, 2013
My spot was muddy the water valve leaks and formed big lake. Showers ok not great one bath house was not up to par.
Oct 18, 2013
Friendly staff, great campground.
Oct 17, 2013
Nice KOA it is large with plenty of space per sight. The only downfall I have was how crowded it was. The pull through sites are located by the entrance so if you have onebof these spot expect plenty of traffic noise.
Oct 17, 2013
Great location to access the Blue Ridge Pkwy, Smoky Mtn Nat. Pk & Cherokee, NC. Nice laundry facilities & many amenities (2 pools, hot tubs, bike rentals, etc.) Gets busy on weekends, so book early.
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
WIFI WAS TERRIBLE!! In this day and age it's a must! The river site 233 is the best site there! We have stayed at the other so called river sites as you come in on the right but that's a creek at best. We still have a Great week though!
Oct 16, 2013
The stay was good. Not overly thrilled with sharing a fire pit in the cabin area and the store seemed understaffed most of the time. Was disturbed when i watched the camp staff go into store empty coffee pots in giant mugs while people were behind them waiting to get coffee. The only other person in the store was on the phone.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
We found the area and the KOA were very nice. We wish we had been prepared for the fact that there is NO cell signal and very little internet. We understand that we were going camping but when you are away from your family it is nice to be able to check in. The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice temperature, but there are not jets in the hot tub. Over all the the the grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay and we will definitely be going again next year
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
People are very nice. Enjoyed the outdoor movies on Fri and Sat night. Wifi needs to be upgraded as it was unusable most of the weekend.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
I loved this campground. The lots are not too close together, and I loved walking my dog and meeting other campers doing the same thing. Plenty of fishing and other neat things to do.
Oct 16, 2013
Low-Speed WiFi/Partly not available at all One hot-tob Not Open, the other Not really hot and without bubbles
Oct 16, 2013
Nice size spaces, EZ in and out. No wifi we could get in our spot. No cell service in outside Cherokee.
Oct 16, 2013
cabin dirty, mattress cut and stained, windows filthy, plug coming out of wall. Light went out in cabin one afternoon no one showed up till the next morning...WHAT good was that? Were we suppose to stay the night in the dark? Extremely disappointed. We have been camping at KOA's for years, never had any problems until staying at this KOA and it was awful. Never again!!!
Oct 15, 2013
I will admit that I almost canceled my stay based from reading the reviews I saw on the website. The reviews I saw ranged from the campground being dirty to the staff being unfriendly and unhelpful. My family and I experienced none of this; we had a very pleasant stay. This park is very child-friendly so if you like peace and quiet, it isn't for you. Very friendly staff and clean campground
Oct 15, 2013
I've stayed here multiple times since 1995. This time, the Kamping Kabin was unusually musty and the fan was noisy (needs maintenance). Electric panel coming apart and needs maintenance.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.