Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2014
Crash is the man,took very good care of us. But everyone was so helpful,Great times
Jul 23, 2014
Great stay nice and peaceful loved the stream the short distance to Gatlinburg and pigeon forge. We have already biiked next years vacation at the sane spot. While we were down there we checked out more koa none compared to yours. Your are the best thanks
Jul 23, 2014
We had an awesome time on our very first family vacation! My husband and I have been there before and knew just what to expect however my father in law was kinda upset because he didnt have a tv in his cabin and my brother in law did. Turns out some of the cabins have been upgraded. I will make sure to request this next time! Thanks for an awesome weekend.
Jul 23, 2014
We were assigned a campsite as far away from the pool area as possible. We arrived early and would have preferred to wait for a better site. There were definitely better sites available. We were put right next to the dumpster and our water hookup did not work. Customer service was lacking at registration.
Jul 23, 2014
Great staff, well maintained, lots for the kids to do. Very much enjoyed our stay!
Jul 22, 2014
Wifi is terrible ,otherwise we love this KOA.
Jul 22, 2014
weather was not great still had great time
Jul 22, 2014
bathhouse near front of campground was extremely dirty. Everything else was great.
Jul 22, 2014
No complaints. ..EXCEPT...No WIFI as advertised. Could not get WIFI at campsites.
Jul 22, 2014
The weather was bad but the cabin was spotless and the staff as always very kind and helpful...great time
Jul 22, 2014
The hallway of shower doors and bathroom doors would not properly lock. I was walked in on while in the shower when I doubled checked the locks. So was my daughter on a different day. I was disappointed that the band was not there due to rain. That was the only reason we came in the rain. I will not come again if there's a chance of rain.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Would like to see you get WIFI thru out the park. But other than that it was great.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
The site we had was a bit small, others were larger, to safely have a campfire next to our trailer. Since we had a group at this campground, our nightly campfire was at the site next to ours. If we weren't with a group and couldn't have a campfire, I would probably lower my rating of the campground.
Jul 21, 2014
When my wife and I travel we need access to the internet so we can keep in touch with our work. There was no internet access anywhere in the campground, even though they stated there was. The office told us it was available, but we could never connect. There was also no cell service either. We will not be going back.
Jul 21, 2014
This is a great place to take your family - plenty of activities in the park and definitely child friendly.
Jul 21, 2014
Even though it rained the entire time we were here we STILL had a great time and I attribute that to this campgrounds many amenities and friendly staff. The only thing I think could improve is in front of our cabin there needs to be gravel placed so that when it rains there isn't standing water & mud that you have to walk through to get inside the camping cabin. Our feet stayed wet cause of this!
Jul 21, 2014
Everything was great. Food service is a little slow.
Jul 21, 2014
Awesome KOA!! Kids had a blast... Only thing of concern is some litter along the river. I would get employees to add that to there daily duties...
Jul 21, 2014
Loved our stay - great site. Cannot thank you enough for putting us in a cabin to get us out of the constant rain.
Jul 21, 2014
Even though it rained the first 26 hours we were there, we enjoyed our weekend with our 3 grand kids very much.Everyone with KOA were friendly and helpful. We will return, hopefully this summer and try out one of your cabins.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We have not visited for quite some time, but this visit was the best, thanks for the up grades.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Only one problem with a vehicle going too fast at our site splashing water. The campground took care of it promptly.Really friendly and better than ever before. We stay with you yearly. Keep up the good work.
Jul 21, 2014
Great campground - We had a great time even though the weather did not cooperate. There were a multitude of indoor activities to keep the kids happy (including the indoor swimming pool) while it rained. We will definitely be back.
Jul 21, 2014
Campground was great but the camper next to me would not clean up after their dog.
Jul 21, 2014
Mattress in camp cabin was very thin. The shower house drain was clogged "did not drain at all" light and fan in k60 was very loose. Over all one night stay was great and staff was very friendly and great location.
Jul 21, 2014
We had a great campsite but unfortunately the weather wasn't kind. You have a great kid-friendly and dog-friendly environment, and we hope someday to bring our grandchildren.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Very family friendly and lots of kids activities. Loved the fact they even had a dog kennel. We will be back for sure.
Jul 20, 2014
Enjoyed the amenities at the campground as well as the sight-seeing and area amusements.
Jul 20, 2014
Stay was great the only problem was some of the bathroom faucets were loose and water sprinkle you all over also.Showers could be better?
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Everyone was friendly from check-in to check out. The mini golf and bounce pad were great free activities for the kids. Our cabin was clean, and had a great river view. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Our family just spent 7 days in Cherokee NC at the KOA campground & this was one of our best trips ever! Was looking for a mountain cabin but wasn't sure about the risk of booking any random cabin. this was our first campground experience, we had all the luxuries & accommodations with the beauty of being creekside enjoying all of nature. staff was helpful in planning. will always stay with KOA!
Jul 20, 2014
We had a very nice stay. It would be nice if we were allowed to check out of our tent site, but stay on site for a couple of extra hours. My kids wanted to do a couple of activities, but we were told we had to leave by 11:00
Jul 20, 2014
very good time and staff was very friendly and helpful
Jul 20, 2014
Loved the campground but the cabin was very small for the price and didn't have any heat or air and they also need new mattresses in the cabins. Felt like I was sleeping on wood. It took forever for the wifi to connect too. Other than that the campground is very kid friendly.
Jul 19, 2014
Cabin n restrooms were clean pool n hot tubs needed more chlorine. Rude n slow lady workers behind desk snack bar people very nice. Thought kids stayed free got charged. Tried to get the free night that didn't work out They said couldn't use value card on my second cabin. Have stayed at this koa since 1989 has gone down hill since 1st years but better than last few times we've been ther
Jul 19, 2014
My stay was good, the cabin was clean, but we stayed 3 days an were not offered any linens and were told they only stock the cabin one time. That meant we had not enough Howells for our daily showers for 3 adults. Also no wonder-to which was falsely advertised.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great location and activities for children.
Jul 18, 2014
We stayed in a studio cabin and it was pretty clean. Not excellent but tolerable. Great place for kids. Staff was very personable. Felt like it was a little high priced but overall we had an enjoyable time.
Jul 18, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.