Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, and would stay again. Would be nice if the rates were a little less expensive as many seniors are on a fixed income and aren't able to stay at resorts like this.
Jul 27, 2015
We have already re-booked. My only 2 complaints where the internet was not very good. We had good signal but connection was not very good. With my wife and I being business owners it was definitely a struggle. The only other issue was a employee you have was harassing one of our kids. Any thing he did this employee would be telling him not to do it but allowing other kids to do them with out saysi
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time
Jul 27, 2015
Some staff members were snarky and rude. The lady at the activity hut told me they were all out of tubes to rent. She was generally short and not helpful. I walked around back and there were 4 available. I asked the other girl working and she said I could rent them. I just found everything to be difficult - from checking in, to getting credit for my points, to asking questions, to renting tubes.
Jul 27, 2015
Friendly staff- indoor pool water temp too cold - cabins a little close to neighbors -restrooms clean- well stocked store - great activities for kids
Jul 27, 2015
We had the best stay at Cherokee KOA. So much fun for my son!!! The only negative is Internet did not work. There is no cell reception in the campground either so Internet would be very helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived Thursday night and were surprised we had NO air conditioner in our cabin. I have stayed in several KOA's before and just assumed we would have air in these . I would have tent camp if I knew before. It was cooler on the outside than inside. We had to run to walmart and buy 2 fans so we could sleep. Other than that we had a great time. I will read details more clearly when booking a cabi
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing I might say, is that the sites are very close and small. However, the amenities made up for that in a big way, and we will definitely be bringing our kids back next time!
Jul 27, 2015
Wish I could have stayed longer
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. Having both an indoor and outdoor pool allowed the fun to continue in the rain. Church service was great. No complaints and cant wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location in the Great Smoky Mountains area! Great Pool facility and activities for the kids. Only issue was with he construction on the Trout pond on the other side of the fence from our cabin about 30 feet away. Not pretty to look at and they started working pretty early. Not at all the camps fault as they didn't know it was happening until they showed up and grounds were full.
Jul 27, 2015
Cabins too close together, no privacy.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Stay needed to be longer great place we will be back
Jul 27, 2015
we stayed from Sunday to Sunday. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone that is nature oriented. we went White Water Rafting as a family on Wednesday and Tubing on Thursday. Pools and game room for kids and our kids loved the games put on by the workers. Corn Hole, tag, Hula Hoops, Banana Bikes, Putt Putt. Cherokee downtown was a good day trip when it rained. Employees were great and friendly
Jul 27, 2015
We arrived early and with this being the first time at this campground was not aware a $25.00 early check in fee would be added which it was.The store is very nice but would sale more if customers didn't have to stand in line with people checking in,I waited 25 min to make a small purchase.This stay was costly so will not frequent this campground often.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time. will be back next year
Jul 27, 2015
Loved it! This was our first time renting an RV and everyone, including KOA employees and fellow campers nearby, were so helpful! So much for the kids to do all day long, in rain or shine, that we will never go back to state campgrounds again!
Jul 27, 2015
Well for one they put us ina horriblr spot right beside the trampoline with kids on our spot we couldnt even pull in. The office staff was sooooo unorganized. This was my first stay at a KOA and I was not happy and well cancel my reservations that I made at another KOA. I might try another one later but much much later. This was not a good experience.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a wonderful time and everyone was so nice. Thanks for a great memory!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great Place and the sites very comfortable. The Manager Sally and Jessica did a great Job helping us extended our stay, because before that we were treated very rude from another front desk lady.
Jul 27, 2015
My family loves this place !!best koa around 😊
Jul 26, 2015
3 staff members very rude, guy with glasses and pony tail, short haired women with glasses where you rent tubes and stuff, and old man at night with ear piece radio, unreal that they should have any contact with the public, we have been to this park many years, and it seems like the help is getting worse, spnd a lot of, $$ each yr ,2 yrs in a row brought friends to your cabins, time to change????
Jul 26, 2015
for kids, A+ swimming pools etc. are excellent. This alone means a lot. Very kid friendly. Wifi is almost non existent. Nice to have when searching for things to do. They might consider opening the grill during movies, ice cream or a cheeseburger would be great. Bath houses need upgrading along with more hot water. Overall experience was very good and would be great with a very few improvement
Jul 26, 2015
Great, friendly staff. Clean conditions.
Jul 26, 2015
Kids loved it. Great people. Very relaxing for me and lots to do for the kids. Great weather and good food.
Jul 26, 2015
Our family really enjoyed KOA in Cherokee,the staff was great and helpfull , nice and clean
Jul 26, 2015
It was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 26, 2015
No hot water for showers Thursday morning, July 23, 2015. Had a power glich Friday afternoon, July 25, 2015, that tripped our CB. Still enjoyed our stay and will return.
Jul 26, 2015
Great people .
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome camping experience! Great place to unwind and spend quality family time!
Jul 25, 2015
The tubing in the creek was great fun. You might think about a nice fence or small stone wall along the creek were the cabins are located, we saw a young boy slip into the creek while fishing. He was ok but it sure scared us.
Jul 25, 2015
Love this koa. Only two things that I feel need attention, the roads between the deluxe sites need to be repaved and when they cut grass pick up the clippings they blow them all over your camper and anything sitting around having a grass catcher is not that hard. But other than those two area's everything else was great staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a wonderful visit as we always do. The only thing is I wish the sheets for the bunks were fitted. Very difficult to make and do not stay on at all. You would think with all the koa cabins across the USA they could make sheets for the bunk beds.
Jul 25, 2015
Grandchildren loved pool and able to ride their bikes everywhere
Jul 25, 2015
Beautiful location. Exceptionally quiet even filled with children. Restrooms were clean however the showers were either cold or luke warm. Shuttle bus is useful but only goes into Cherokee and not always reliable. Lots of activities, great little store, very friendly staff. Loved the concrete flat pads, not too close to neighbor. Nice pools. Lovely stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Nice campground. Very clean. Nice activities. Campground could improve tent areas by adding tent pads, it's a cheep investment that would add a lot of convenience
Jul 25, 2015
Great experience. Grounds and facilities were immaculate, and all of your staff, without exception, were helpful, courteous, and professional.
Jul 24, 2015
Oh my gosh my family and I enjoyed our stay so well I booked our stay for next year . Our grandkids had so much fun which in turn gives us satisfaction and pleasure . The deluxe cabins were absolutely perfect. My husband and I visited KOA about 18 yrs ago and enjoyed it
Jul 24, 2015
This is a great place to stay if you have kids.My child had a great time riding his bike, playing in the pool, and on the air bouncer.There were a lot of kids there for him to play with.We are tent campers,the sight was loud at night from traffic,and bit small. It would be nice if tenters had a water supply so we would not have to walk through RV sites for water. Bathhouse good.
Jul 24, 2015
The koa has an excellent pool and great camp sites!
Jul 24, 2015
Pools was nice but that's it! People that was working was all very rude and hateful. We will not be coming back. My husband is a disabiled veteran with only one leg and after asking to be something near the bathroom we was put very far away in a horrible tent site. We was very disappointed in the whole park because of the employees.
Jul 23, 2015
Great for families with kids. Lots to do...if you aren't kid friendly, you may want a less active campground.
Jul 23, 2015
Great. Value for the price
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, clean camp ground.
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome
Jul 23, 2015
Fantastic campground! Traveled there with a BSA Troop, and they treated us very well.
Jul 23, 2015
excellent staff, good activities for kids, tucked away from town...
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.