Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great weather. My spot was too close to the road (noise). Will pick a better spot in future stays.
Oct 20, 2016
DISSATISFIED.We were looking at different sites for next year. went to office for prices,Lucy told us to check on line. Like it was bothering her, She asked us what site we were at, lot 338, she said they sent somebody to the site to tell us about the dogs barking, and nobody told us. THEY LIED. Are dogs wasn't the ones barking. So we were HIGHLY UPSET, and decided to cut are vacation early.
Oct 20, 2016
One of the best KOA campgrounds we experienced. Looking forward to bringing the grandkids with us with our next stay.
Oct 20, 2016
It was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cabin was awesome very clean and quiet. I will be back to stay there. Thank you for everything.
Oct 20, 2016
Beautiful KOA. All concrete sites. Employees there were so helpful. They are constantly riding their golf carts making sure that everyone has what them need. Beautiful time of year. Week of October 12th.
Oct 19, 2016
My husband and I were unable to make our reserved first night stay due to RV breakdown, so we called that day, they made a note, still kept our place reserved for the next two nights, and didn't charge us for that first missed night. They were extremely nice and very helpful with all questions we had. We will definitely go back there.
Oct 19, 2016
Laura (swimming pool attendant and campground maintenance) was top notch. She made our stay the best it could be and treated us with great respect.
Oct 19, 2016
Park clean, employees helpful
Oct 18, 2016
It was a great stay and the facilities were amazing. We had 32 total people across 5 sites and cabins with our whole crew and they were able to get us very close together. The only thing lacking is that the website needs to be better. When making a reservation, if I could see all available sites for the day and book a particular site, that would be ideal. More pics of the cabins are needed too.
Oct 18, 2016
Oct 18, 2016
Cabins are nice just need to updat the bed
Oct 18, 2016
It was so much fun! Definitely a great campground for families....nice playgrounds and play areas. Pool was nice. Very clean! Bathrooms and showerslooked like you walked into a hotel (honestly, I didn't expect them to be so nice). Can't wait to plan my next trip!
Oct 18, 2016
We had a fabulous visit! Accommodations were clean and the staff was helpful and friendly.
Oct 18, 2016
As we have found at most campgrounds, the internet service leaves a lot to be desired, from no internet service to very slow here. Otherwise, comfortable.
Oct 18, 2016
The campground was overun with noisy children dodging and riding in front of moving vehicles with camp-supplied recumbant tricycles. No parent supervision enforced. Cramped adjacent campsites and the valley location created major problems with campfire smoke. Quiet hours 11PM-8AM disrupted by loud talking, road traffic, and motorcycles from other campers. Nice bathrooms.
Oct 18, 2016
Great place! Staff is friendly! They keep everything clean! Meet a lot of great people! Was there twice this year and sure to come back!
Oct 18, 2016
Our cabin was disappointing there were spiderwebs over our bed on ceiling and on the wall .The bath house was kept clean. The screens were full of bugs and spiderwebs.
Oct 18, 2016
The most curtious and helpful staff. Beautiful campground looking forward to returning with our family. One of the best we have visited so far!
Oct 17, 2016
I was at KOA Cherokee NC from 10/12 - 10/16/16. I had a cabin and enjoyed it. Thanks
Oct 17, 2016
Well run campground. Great facilities and helpful staff. Only downside is the poor wifi which is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars
Oct 17, 2016
Oct 17, 2016
We truly enjoyed our stay at KOA Cherokee. People were wonderful/friendly. Campground was maintained well. The cabin was awesome. Like a mini hotel room in the woods.
Oct 17, 2016
Many of the staff members were rude, inflexible, and not customer-focused. Parts of this park offer privacy and pretty views. Other parts...not so much. If you do not have the ability to see your potential site first hand, I highly recommend that you demand to have pictures sent to you.
Oct 17, 2016
Our stay was grate, the host & staff was most courteous. We had a grate time with family while we were there. We come every year the last of Sept. or the first of Oct. The only thing I and some others had a problem with was the bath houses,are not really set up for a place to hang clothes when taking a shower. Thanks B.J.
Oct 17, 2016
Although the facility itself was lovely...the staff were not friendly. We had a reservation for a certain cabin that was verified twice before arrival but wasn't available to is for our confirmed date. The people checking is in were not kind of helpful.It took us putting on our "game face" to get what we were promised...which they did in the end...so why not just do that in the beginning???!!
Oct 17, 2016
Great campground and some of the nicest people working there. Can't wait to go back. Ms Jo Ann was a great help and a great sport when poked fun with. Keep up the good work!
Oct 17, 2016
There is no excuse for the condition of the bathhouse we used. One of the shower handles was missing, most toilets were loose, some door latches were broken,and the showers had little pressure. The garbage cans were overflowing and there was garbage under our bed when we arrived.
Oct 17, 2016
We had a good time. The cabin we stayed it was nice. Could have been alittle cleaner. The mattress was dirty, drink had been spilled on it. Not wiped off. The door screen needed repair. And, I think, they could have kept the bathrooms alittle cleaner thru out are visit. They also, need a step stool for the kids to reach the sink, to brush their teeth, it would help. But, we had a great time.
Oct 17, 2016
I loved my cabin and location. My only complaints are the wifi signal was horrible and unable to get coffee until 8 am.
Oct 17, 2016
We had an issue with the site the we were places on originally but it was worked out and the stay was great
Oct 17, 2016
Easy check-in. Clean campground, in spite of the full campground. Friendly staff
Oct 17, 2016
Great stay in the fall! Great amenities and clean bathrooms. Highly recommend!
Oct 17, 2016
The park was clean and the staff was very friendly. Check in was easy and they even gave you an escort to your cabin or lot if you wanted it.There were lots of things to do, young and older!! Great place to stay!
Oct 17, 2016
Oct 17, 2016
Need to add heat and air to your cabins. You are the only Koa that I've been to that does not have it! The extra $20 a night upgrade is a joke, you get a light, tv, fridge, and table? I can stay in a nice hotel for the price you charge for a 2 room cabin, which would include all of that and a bathroom at n the room. I love this KOA, but you are getting so expensive I probably will not return.
Oct 17, 2016
The staff at the campground was not friendly. Every time I went to the office, I was treated more like a number than a person. I was a bother to them and they were not accommodating. The cabin was so so. No TV, no air conditioning, but it was a place to sleep. I will not be back to this campground.
Oct 17, 2016
What an amazing stay, we loved it! Didn't catch or see anyone else catch a single fish and wish the tent site weren't by a busy road and barbed wire fence. Still... great time and would stay again!
Oct 17, 2016
Excellent facility with fun amenities. One of the cleanest KOA restrooms we have ever visited. Friendly & helpful staff. We will return!
Oct 17, 2016
Customer service on phone needs to come together with rules for reserving sites. We we told we only reserve a specific site type, not site. We had to stay right beside the jumpy thing and listen to kids screaming all day. Not good and was woke up at 8:00 am to screaming kids again.
Oct 17, 2016
Very clean,nice people, felt really safe there.J just wish they had actives for Halloween
Oct 17, 2016
When I booked site there was only 1 site available water/electric only. Before we arrived there was a premium site available so I called to upgrade. Still did not get premium site. But we still enjoyed our stay. WiFi reception is terrible.
Oct 17, 2016
My family had an amazing stay. Every staff member there was simply awesome
Oct 17, 2016
Great time. Kampground was very busy. Employees were very helpful. Will definitely stay again.
Oct 17, 2016
We always love our stays at the Cherokee KOA! We are already planning our return visit :)
Oct 17, 2016
Week Wi-Fi
Oct 17, 2016
75 a night is a little to much for a camp site
Oct 17, 2016
We had a much better time this go around. Connie was a ( GREAT ) help. Hope to be back in November
Oct 16, 2016
I always enjoy staying at the KOA in Cherokee, however this time was a little different. The cabin was clean the site was extra large. But there was a large group that set up beside us management could not do anything with them. Their kids ran through my campsite constantly. I complained at checkout and management took care of that and that for me. I would recommend using law enforcement more of
Oct 16, 2016
Oct 16, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award