Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2016
The only real complaint is that the cabins didn't have A/C like other KOA's. We have paid less at others and got A/C. This caught us by surprise as we were expecting it. This is why we rated it 4 instead of 5 stars.
Jul 25, 2016
I was very happy with the campground but I am really surprised with the cost of things. Example the bundles of firewood are $7.00 at the campground and $2.50 at the store right up the road...
Jul 24, 2016
We have been staying here for numorous years and have always enjoyed the campground and its amenities. The area is beautiful with a lot to do. The only thing I can say this year negative is the wi fi was terrible for trying to do some work. And the kids complained that they wished the arcade was better on those days the rain storms rolled through. Thanks again for a great stay at your campgroun
Jul 24, 2016
Cabins were very clean. Great location! Only bad thing was that wifi was very limited.
Jul 24, 2016
We had site 49. Backed in our 36 ft Motorhome. Many sites are the size of a postage stamp. Huge campground-at one point around 12 children went unsupervised in the hot tub. Pool water in both pools cloudy. At least it got quiet at night. If you're retired and like quiet you may not want to visit this campground. Directions on KOA app needs to change. Tells you to come in on Route 19-DON'T.
Jul 24, 2016
Awesome time
Jul 24, 2016
location was great, however I was very dissatisfied with the knowledge of the booking personnel (did not know the site information) also paid more for a site that had less amenidities than other sites that next to ours.
Jul 24, 2016
This was our first RV experience...The Cherokee KOA was lovely..The only suggestion that I would have is to have more staff in the store...It was extremely crowded and there were only 2 people helping customers..there should be a separate line for people who want to buy a bag of ice & not have to wait on a long line of customers who are checking in. But all in all your KOA was great!
Jul 24, 2016
Just wanted to say they have the prettiest bathrooms I have seen in all my travels. Beautiful!
Jul 24, 2016
Enjoyed my stay but when I called to make a reservation for a site near the river or pools, I was told I didn't need one. When I arrived there was only a site away from the river and pools. Otherwise there was a lot to do and loved the shuttle service.
Jul 23, 2016
We love staying in the two room cabins on the river. Normally they're clean when we get there but this time around I swept a bunch of dust and items left behind by the previous family, and cleaned some cobwebs. Also the screens in a couple windows were ripped. The a curtain rod was not staying up so we fixed it with duck tape to keep the curtain up.
Jul 23, 2016
The desk/front staff was very rude and seemed to be bothered when asked questions. The people who were groundskeeping were very nice and social. The front desk threatened to call the cops when my husband asked for an explaination on our camp site.
Jul 23, 2016
I really need WIFI, I think this is obviously the biggest problem at this campground. Also, there are probably some new employees that don't know all the things they need to know. My mom asked where to be picked up at the casino, they couldn't tell her and then when she missed her shuttle it was her fault. Not cool. Otherwise, this is an awesome campground.
Jul 23, 2016
Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
No GPS locator. I passed the campsite and kept trying to follow my GPS. No Cell Phone signal when you get there. I left my Deluxe Cabin to visit and have breakfast with my family they entered my cabin and started removing things and linen before 10am. I came back to my cabin to complete my stay and stuff from my frig was gone. sheets thrown all over the place.
Jul 23, 2016
Bobbi and Lucy were great at the check in and check out. Prices of things there a bit high. Workers are in need of new shirts. Store closes early 9pm sb 10pm.Some employees not so friendly. Overall it was descent.
Jul 23, 2016
If our grandkids and children had come, it would have been great. It ended up just being just my wife 62 and myself 66 and we were put at site 326 and I just had a knee replacement and my wife needs hers done. It was a long walk to everything. I mentioned that the kids had not come when we registered and the lady just said the kids would have loved it. I was charged for 4 adults and2 kids
Jul 23, 2016
Clean and full of entertainment options. Bath houses were the cleanest of any campground I've ever stayed in.
Jul 23, 2016
Great park! Lots to do if have children! Tube the river right at the park. No alcohol at the river. Campsite only! No phone service if you have AT&T. WIFI is not very good! You can send text messages and that's about it! They did accommodate me another night at my expense due to repairs to be made to my Motorhome! Close to great sights !
Jul 23, 2016
Would have liked the screens to be fixed so the bugs won't come in.
Jul 22, 2016
Lots to do and friendly staff. This is our third year staying here. Had a great time
Jul 22, 2016
I love this KOA! The staff are friendly and very on point with meeting the needs of the vacationeers. I would recommend this place for a family vaction!!
Jul 21, 2016
Very nice stay, improved Wi-Fi, better phone service, poor cable
Jul 21, 2016
People wasn't very helpful. I bought ice and didn't know where the ice machine was. I was talked to like I was stupid. One of the bathroom stall door stuck., was real hard to open. The change machine didn't work in the game room.
Jul 21, 2016
Please work on roads in campground & phone and wifi service. Great to have better TV service thanks
Jul 21, 2016
Two many dogs? Moving too many cabins out for too high priced cabins that is like home, can't get places you like to stay at because you can't move without (2) res.
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
I have been going to this KOA for about 20 years.We have camped at KOA all across the country.They are allways nice,but this one is our favorite
Jul 20, 2016
Deluxe cabin was very nice and enjoyed the location. However, internet service was terrible, but when on vacation should not have to use phone much. Had very little cell access. Office help is very nice, but need more help, lines long and I would suggest having a separate line for check in or check out questions from others buying items in the camp store.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Delightful weather in July. Cannot wait to return
Jul 20, 2016
the grand-dtrs LOVED the excitement of staying in large campground with kids everywhere!loved the indoor pool and no one got sunburned and they didn't have to get out when it rained (which was everyday-no lightening).loved being able to warm back up in hot tub.
Jul 19, 2016
This IA an annual trip for us. We were quite disappointed in the cleanliness of the facilities, in paticular the ladies bathroom and showers. Most of your staff was excellent however some have no business working around children.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
Just a great place to stay
Jul 19, 2016
Cable TV very poor. No wi-fi. Staff great and facilities nice.
Jul 19, 2016
Great experience!
Jul 19, 2016
Enjoyed out short family vacation at Cherokee KOA. Very family oriented and the kids never get bored. We lived tubing down the river and the kids enjoyed the Dj/Dance party. Nice clean bath houses. Only thing that seems to be missing is some type of hanger or shelf for clothing in the showers. Everything gets wet.
Jul 19, 2016
WIFI almost non existent and cable wasn't working. Corporate made camping cost at 30% higher that competing RV Campgrounds.
Jul 19, 2016
This was the first tent camping trip for my 3 and 6 year old. KOA did a great job. Clean, friendly and fun! Keep up the great work! We will be back!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
WE spent 4 nights there. Plenty to do for the whole family daily. its a very scenic area. will stay there again.
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed mid July. Tent sites are pure mud pits when it rains. We were on site 41, which had paved parking but some of the others near us were nasty. The bathhouse near these sights were updated, however the women's restroom/shower constantly smelled like urine.
Jul 18, 2016
Jill(KOA) mixed up our reservation #605530.000 called me said the site we had reserved was not available but she offered us a deluxe site w/ no extra chg. we DID NOT have a deluxe site as Jill had told me. KOA manager offered an apology & said Jill was mistaken about the site. The site we ended up w/ was very disappointing. Plus the bathhouse closest to the ponds had no water pressure for shower
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed in cabin 511. Everything was good except the VERY flimsy trash bags provided and the puny air conditioner was not up to the task, also the toilet did not flush properly. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our time at this KOA. It is a beautiful place with lots for our family to do. Our only disappointment was that some of the music played Saturday night was not family friendly. Even though we didn't attend the dance party, we could hear the music at our campsite.
Jul 18, 2016
awesome time with my 2 grandkids. the oldest who is 8 loved the waterslide. the last night there she wanted to see the movie but my grandson was in the cabin asleep. one of the koa girls (i think her name was kim) offered to let ciara (my 8 yr old granddaughter) stay and watch movie and walked her to the cabin when it was over. that was so sweet.
Jul 18, 2016
Non summershine staff needs to be friendlier, customer-focused, and all-in-all act like they appreciate my business. Campsite fire rings, grill portion is too high above the cement slab.
Jul 18, 2016
Nice campground, we go every year and the kids always have a blast
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award