Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 02, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Very family friendly & clean!
Oct 02, 2014
This is a great base for exploring the area. Good facilities an a great staff. A little better cell service would be a big plus.
Oct 01, 2014
Was good, would have been better if we had been placed on the space next door, as exiting our site was difficult due to a tree and our trailer length (41')
Oct 01, 2014
We had a great stay and as always we will return, all the people on your staff are very courteous and helpful
Oct 01, 2014
First time camping in 20 years . Really enjoyed our time there . We are planning to stay there again when work and time will workout .
Oct 01, 2014
No internet service, or cell phone service. No emergency contact numbers after 11:00/pm. Grounds in poor condition, filthy dog area-never cleaned, some service roads need immediate repair. A $3.50 a day resort fee was charged with only a store open daily. KOA needs to pull this franchise or clean it up. Found another campground for next trip.
Sep 30, 2014
We have gone before and this NEW management is doing a great job. Lots of improvements were very noticeable and appreciated.
Sep 30, 2014
have stayed here for 4 straight years..this year I was very disappointed. They have put new " deluxe" cabins on the river, and taken away the cozy cottages they were there. Blocked the entire view of the river from our porch. Property very overgrown and unkept. My friend bought loping shears and cut the weeds down so we could view the river. I called the office and complained..was ignored.
Sep 30, 2014
Except for the restrooms, we were very satisfied. The restroom closest to #143 was not clean, one shower was out of order the whole time we were there, plenty of time to have repaired (4 days) floor had standing water and muddy. Otherwise friendly and nice sites.
Sep 30, 2014
Park seems rundown. Leaking hand hydrants everywhere. Power/cable boxes looking worn /shakey. Trash bits everywhere. However, pools/spas were amazing. Many staff I met were really nice, too. Lots of great things for kids.
Sep 30, 2014
From our extremely late checkin (we got lost) to our lovely little cabin, everything was amazing! The staff was super friendly and very helpful! We will definitely be back sometime in the future!
Sep 30, 2014
We had a great time. Stayed 3 nights...My husband and I and our teen son & daughter. Great fishing.. Bike rental was fun.. Pools are great. Enjoyed smores by our campfire. Quiet, peaceful nights! Bath houses were fine. A little draining issue.. But overall was clean and proximity to our cabin was perfect. The staff was all friendly to us. We are already planning our next stay. Thanks so much!!!
Sep 29, 2014
clean great staff indoor pool and nice lots will be back in July 2015.
Sep 29, 2014
Great people, great sites easy to access. Very "motorcycle friendly" Thank you
Sep 29, 2014
Our group had a wonderful time.
Sep 29, 2014
Great cabin, right on the river.
Sep 29, 2014
We were a large group - 12 couples. The cabins are perfect, gathering areas are more than adequate, and the riverside delightful. Very convenient to mountain day trips. Hope to return next year.
Sep 29, 2014
Great place. Friendly, clean. Food at the snack bar was excellent. Fun for kids of all ages!
Sep 29, 2014
I would get rid of the run down seasonal sites, they bring the beauty of the place down
Sep 29, 2014
Bathhouse could have been cleaner and the wifi did not work at all anywhere away from the office nice place friendly people just dropped a few balls on the small things
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay here this past week, the KOA workers were extremely helpful and nice. The restrooms were always clean, the pool areas were kept nice. Will certainly be back to visit.
Sep 29, 2014
we were in a cabin on the river and tho we had neighbors, it was so quiet and peaceful. staff was helpful and friendly. had a great time and will be back
Sep 29, 2014
Very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Sep 29, 2014
We had a good time. We had a one bedroom cabin looking at the lake. It was nice with the windows open. I'm just glad we were there at the end of September as there was no air conditioner in the cabin. That's noy going to be a comfortable sleep in the summer.
Sep 29, 2014
The KOA was good, a little run down. We were beside of the trampoline, so that was sortof annoying. Cherokee is a very nice place, close to the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
everyone was very polite and the campcround is very clean and appears to be in a good state of repair
Sep 29, 2014
There was a steel basketball hoop set up near to our site and right in the middle of campers instead of being located with other recreational facilities. It was very annoying to hear the banging of the rim for hours on end one day. Otherwise facilities were good. One other detractor was the road noise, but the campground cannot do much about that.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Everything was clean.The amenities were great!The only complaint I would be able to make is the women's bath house near our cabin (68) was in disrepair one shower inside the bathroom was taped up and unusable and poured water constantly and the other shower sprayed water into the floor in front of the sinks so if you were just using the bathroom you had to wade through shower water.
Sep 28, 2014
Arrived to find I had a beautiful cabin with everything furnished. The deck overlooked a mountain creek and was complete with a gas grill for outside cooking. Had a great stay.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
My son and I enjoyed our stay, especially going tubing. The campgound was fun and 'resort'like camping.I had told my son I would rent him a bike and ride with him for the 30minute rental after we packed up our tent site. I did not like that we could not use the bikes or pool after we had checked out of our tent site.
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
First time at this campground and it was very enjoyable. The only problems we encountered were the water pressure in the showers and the time it took to figure out how to get hot water. However, I was told that the shower/bathhouse #1 is to be rebuilt. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and the camp store one of the very best I have ever been in. All in all I will most likely return.
Sep 26, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA and we loved it. Beautiful site for our motorhome next to the river with rapids, people fishing and the majestic mountains all around us. Breathtaking.
Sep 26, 2014
I wanted to take a relaxing vacation for a few days, and get away from it all. Ive stayed in KOA cabins all my life, and I knew KOA would be a place to go. I researched about 8 of them, but the one in Cherokee was the best. A day before arriving, I emailed them asking what time are they open to, as I planned a "late arrival". Well, they said they closed at 6pm. I found this odd. Ive NEVER had a KO
Sep 25, 2014
Friendly family campground. Fun for all ages.
Sep 25, 2014
Everything was great except for one thing. The sewer connection at our back-in site was uphill from our camper connection,so it did't drain as well as it should. Other than that we enjoyed the stay.
Sep 25, 2014
Roads seem to be in disrepair. Not many people abided by the rules and regulations as far as clothes lines, and walking through your site with you sitting right outside your camper. Most of the standard sites need resurfaced and repaired. Office personnel were pleasant but not knowledgeable of events in the area. Prices were a little high for this time of the year.
Sep 25, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
Hi, I want to start by saying that the staff was top notch. only found one toilet room that locked on the mens side. I even opened the door on some poor woman sitting on the can. I realize that being in a mountainous region you can't do much about the wifi signal but it wasn't available. Don't advertise free wifi that doesn't work! Overall my stay was nice. Just a few glitches.
Sep 24, 2014
Wonderful!
Sep 24, 2014
Great trip, Will bring the grand kids next time to enjoy the play grounds and pools.
Sep 24, 2014
Beautiful location. nice LARGE heated/covered pool & hot tub. Second pool and hot tub outside with a waterslide & childrens waterplay area. Great people.
Sep 24, 2014
Bathrooms was not cleaned for a whole day and a half even after we told a gentleman that the two that came to clean would just set in front of the bathrooms taking pictures of each other then would drive around to the other side and do the same. VERY disappointed in the cleanest of the camp ground.
Sep 24, 2014
Great facility with wonderful personnel. Only drawback was a stopped up drain in the men's shower building. Thanks Colby for opening the rec room for us.
Sep 23, 2014
We have been coming to this KOA for 25 years. It will probably be our last. The woman that checked us in did nothing but argue with us and tell us we didn't know what we were talking about.The $3.50 charge per day for a RESORT is bull crap.Nothing has changed for the better at this KOA in 25 years and it's no resort.We were furious the gate to the pond was boarded up.Get the code box fixed!!!!
Sep 23, 2014
Site exceptionnel, piscine extérieure plutôt froide, personnel très courtois.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.