Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2017
KOA itself is nice - don't depend on staff to book. Called & booked 3 sites a month prior for family vaca - when we arrived, they had moved one family across the park, stating no record of us being together, despite same last name, same card used to reserve, etc. Each staff passed the buck (and actually lied) until it became my fault. Refused to acknowledge their mistake or try to make it right.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
This KOA is extremely kid friendly. The staff is superb, and the camp is well maintained. The wifi needs to be improved as those without cell service (AT&T) cannot communicate with home, and is a drawback for staying here. Other than that we love this KOA, and have been here several times. I would rate it a five star if the wifi was improved. Thanks
Jul 23, 2017
Well maintained and clean campground with horrible guest services. We were charged more at check-in than was listed on our confirmation email. Spoke to 3 people (manager included) and all they did was try to justify their cost. We were told for 3 days there were no golf carts and our cabin was far back... so my grandfather was confined to the site even though there were carts sitting up front.
Jul 23, 2017
Loved our stay. Need a life guard at the pool
Jul 22, 2017
Waited over an hour to check in pAst checking time
Jul 22, 2017
Had a great time as aways. Love the changes that are being made. Was NOT happy that we couldn't book our trip for next year.
Jul 22, 2017
Would not let elderly parents check in before 2 and cabin was ready and empty.
Jul 22, 2017
After a long day of traveling my 4 teenagers and I were looking forward to a nicr evening around the campfire. We arrived after a little rain but there was loud music (sponsored by the csmpground) blaring loud and people were all over and kids riding aimlessly through our campsite through puddles and mud. We were very close to the front. WiFi was a waste. No privacy. Didn't stay! Ate $60!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
The good; The place looked very nice and the staff was courteous. The not so good; the extras were a little over priced. For example, the fire wood is $7 and the tube ride is $17 each person, the three wheel bike is $7 for an hour.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
We took our grandchildren so they could swim and play in the pools and the pools had not been cleaned and algea was growing in them. The kiddy pool was the worst. I hope the health dept closes them down.
Jul 21, 2017
We were put on a site that had mud puddles. We couldn't get in or out of our RV without trying to get around the puddles. Also the site was pretty expensive compared to other places. We ordered burgers from the snack bar. It took a very long time to get them and they were burnt. TV reception on cable was poor. We did appreciate the shuttle to the "Unto These Hills" pageant. Kids had fun.
Jul 21, 2017
We had a great time and would definitely recommend to others. The only priblem we had was our cable did not work and we had to mention it twice before someone cam to fix it and it still was not as clear as the previous time we have been there but it was the day before we left we it was fixed so it didnt matter at that point
Jul 21, 2017
Overall, the stay was okay. The cabin was clean, and staff was cooperative. However, the public showers were a bit inconvenient as there were no usable flat surfaces to place objects on to use, especially when redressing.
Jul 21, 2017
Another great family vacation in the books! Thank you KOA for being our favorite family getaway in the Smokies! Already looking forward to a trip in the fall!
Jul 20, 2017
Could not get towels for 8 hours!!! The service was very slow.
Jul 20, 2017
We stayed in a cabin for the second time. The prices were very high for a facility that was in poor condition. The cabin floors are dirty, not cleaned after every use. The bathroom and shower doors all had locking issues and showers floors were littered with debris. The outdoor pool was green with algae.
Jul 20, 2017
I have stayed at Cherokee many times,this time WIFI did not work. I was offered to use the desktop in the office if I needed to use the internet. Wifi is offered as an amenity. I had to pay an additional $25 for arriving early. While I understand the need for monies, if a customer who has camped several times arrives a couple of hours early-just smile an say no problem. Not sure that I'll return
Jul 20, 2017
Had a situation and the staff went above and beyond!!
Jul 20, 2017
Staff was friendly
Jul 19, 2017
We.have been coming every year for 5 years now. Always have a blast. This visit tho our grill didn't work 2x, tv remote batteries were dead and thr sitting area outside was a mess w cigarette butts, bottle caps, glass pieces, fishing lures etc. It took me an hour to sweep it up. I have kids and wasn't wanting them to cut their feet. We love cabin 381s location tho!
Jul 19, 2017
Camped here 20yrs,payed for prem,site.After 3 complaints @cable,staff member said it was issue w/my coach,talked w/other campers in my site area ,same issue !! KOA cares more @ $ than service,time to find another campground to make memories !!!
Jul 19, 2017
This KOA was very well equipped and we met many repeat customers. The crew went out of their way to escort us to our camping site and helped me back into the site. The facilities are very nice. We'll be back.
Jul 19, 2017
Rental tubes are expensive No 2 wheel bike rentals
Jul 19, 2017
There was a little bit of poor communication between employees.My vehicle was almost towed after being told to park it in that spot by employee
Jul 19, 2017
staff was not friendly at all. other than that very nice place
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
Nice Cabin, not cleaned well found cobweb above bed and under cabinet over fridge. Nice people , a bit frazzled in front office. In need of new mattresses. Nice cabin, quite site No WiFi ,
Jul 19, 2017
They say there is WiFi, yep if you want to stay at the 3 bathrooms that have it. There is no cell service so I would think this KOA would at least have better WiFi then they do. They no longer have a game room, not sure when they closed it but it's one of the reason we chose to stay here b/c it gives our boys something to do. The pools was nasty!Only 4 friendly people works there,the rest wasn't.
Jul 19, 2017
Staff very friendly camp ground clean . Only problem was WIFI is non existant constantly kicking you off. We could not schedule next leg of trip without going into town and using cell service.
Jul 19, 2017
The price of $109 dollars per night for cabin is too pricey! Other than that it's beautiful place and mountain are breathtaking
Jul 18, 2017
Disappointed in atmosphere and amenities within the newest cabins at this location.
Jul 18, 2017
We had a wonderful time and wish we could have stayed longer. The only issue was water went out on our last day but was back on when we got up to leave the next morning.
Jul 18, 2017
Great. Fishing outstanding.
Jul 18, 2017
Everything is is great at this particular campground. The reasons I gave 4 stars is that the rest rooms could have been a little cleaner, commode seats needed to be wiped down more often and the commodes did not have enough water pressure to flush them correctly. There was always "stuff" in the bowl and I had to flush several times to clear the bowl. But, definitely not the worst I've seen.
Jul 18, 2017
What great staff did so much to do. Me and my family had so much fun we will be back
Jul 18, 2017
So family friendly and so much to do! Everyone was super nice and helpful. I loved the laid back atmosphere.
Jul 18, 2017
There are a verity of things for the children to do as well as the adults. The whole family enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2017
Awesome camping experience.
Jul 17, 2017
Cabin was nice and koa is in convenient area close to town however the staff is very rude and racist. This was our first stay and will be our last. So sad would be a wonderful place to visit once a year and has great potential because of all the amenities within the grounds. But at the end of the day customer service is everything!
Jul 17, 2017
Can't wait to go back. Love the mountains and hiking.
Jul 17, 2017
Very dnjoyable
Jul 17, 2017
Best, clean, beautiful, close to attractions but still in wooded quiet envirorment. Loved it.
Jul 17, 2017
It rained off and on our entire stay so I know it was difficult to avoid puddles. But we had a a huge puddle, the size of a pond right in front of our camp site. We had to walk trough our neighbors site to get ours in order to avoid it and I had to drive the car through it to park it and then pull up and take park of our site in order to avoid parking in it. Dirt, gravel, or something to avoid the
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Great place to stay and nice people. Internet needs work.
Jul 17, 2017
Recreation folks were fantastic
Jul 17, 2017
My family has been staying here for years. We love this KOA. I would have given it 5 stars as usual but we encountered a couple of rude staff members and were disappointed that the pool closes earlier and they don't have family movie night any more. We would love for the pool hours to be extended at least.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award