Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 27, 2016
Friendly staff...updating facilities. ....great area....definitely a do over! Tammy was great!
Mar 27, 2016
Great campground , kids really enjoy.bathhouse is super.
Mar 27, 2016
A few days of R&R in the Smokey Mountains, all centered around our stay at the Cherokee KOA - we had a great and relaxing time! Thank you.
Mar 27, 2016
Bathhouse was beautiful
Mar 26, 2016
Nice area. Short drive to the Smokys.
Mar 26, 2016
We stayed here as a base camp to explore the region.
Mar 25, 2016
Clean, quiet, lots of attractions near by. Already planning our next trip back. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Mar 25, 2016
Great sites,facilities indoor pool nice, poor wifi or cell service... In a valley
Mar 24, 2016
Everything was excellent! Clean bathrooms/showers and cabin! Plus the location and view are superb!!!
Mar 24, 2016
The only suggestion I would make is that since the campground is in a cellular black hole, they need to upgrade their wifi. It was not even useable.
Mar 24, 2016
Great staff and beautiful settings, highly recommended!
Mar 24, 2016
The WiFi was slow or nonexistent and the cable had lots of channels but the picture was not clear at all.
Mar 22, 2016
Overall I really like this campground. The only problem we had was with our toilet in the cabin..it would'nt flush and for the price per night I would expect them to work. We tried to use the bath house toilet and the same thing with those the one I used didn't flush either. This is my second stay at this campground, I will give it one more try before ruling it completely out as an option.
Mar 22, 2016
We had a good time. Camground was pretty much empty and nothing going on at all
Mar 21, 2016
Great staff. Wish things would open up a little earlier but that is NC in March. The weather was nice but the activities were shut down (trout pond, outdoor pool, BBQ). Put-put was fun and the hot tub/pool is great.
Mar 21, 2016
It was my first time staying at this or any other KOA for that matter. The location of the cabin we had stunk as our fire pit was facing RV right next to us. Cabin had broken stuff when we showed up. I had to fix chair myself. Maintenance replaces remote to AC unit. Kids couldn't rent and ride bikes around property because it was "rv leaving day" leaving them heartbroken. Everyone left upset
Mar 21, 2016
The bounce pillow was always clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great stay.
Mar 19, 2016
Had great adminaties for the kids to enjoy. It was raining when we went, and most of our camp site stayed 3-4" deep in water. If you carry a dog expect to keep them inside your camper, or pay as much a day as the campsite to keep them in a kennel. I left my 10 month old lab on a runner with food & water for maybe 2 hours while we went to eat. When I returned I had a note scolding me for it.
Mar 19, 2016
I can't recommend this KOA. Long wait at check in, waited again for our "mandatory" escort to the cabin, wasn't given the usual brochure with wifi code and park map, wifi was spotty and extremely slow (just checking email) , construction.
Mar 18, 2016
Loved the Indoor Pool. Would have given them a 5 star but the campground is undergoing some improvements so there was some construction stuff happening and should be completed by Memorial Day. Great place!
Mar 17, 2016
Nice place and staff.
Mar 17, 2016
Loved our cabin, clean and neat, perfect! Can't wait to come back in the summer and go tubing!
Mar 16, 2016
My family had a great time at this KOA and cant wait to come back and experience summer here.
Mar 15, 2016
Great place to stay with a lot for the kids to do. We will go back again
Mar 15, 2016
Mar 15, 2016
The staff at this KOA were not friendly and made our whole group feel that we were a bother!
Mar 15, 2016
Everyone was very helpful, pleasant, and made our stay wonderful. My husband and I travel a lot, and stay at many KOA's around the country... This one hands down was our favorite. If we had kids this would be an amazing spot for the kiddos, they offer put put, 2 pools, frisbee golf, a blow up trampoline, fishing, and is surrounded by a river for them to explore.
Mar 14, 2016
Great campground! Stayed in a camping cabin, which was a little spartan but still comfortable. Enjoyed all the activities my 7-year old son was able to do: giant jump pillow, bike rentals, pool, and hot tub. Will be staying here again next time we come to Cherokee!
Mar 14, 2016
ALL the staff went out of their way to make everything great for us. Hope to get back up there. Beautiful!!
Mar 14, 2016
Staff was very polite and helpful, cabin and site was very clean. We always stay at this koa when we are in cherokee, which is about 3 times a year.
Mar 14, 2016
Great campground! Friendly staff! Plenty of amenities geared toward children and adults alike. We will definitely return. The only thing I would recommend is adding some lighting as it was difficult to get parked and set up in our sight after dark, which is when we arrived. Other than that it was great!
Mar 14, 2016
I thought the pool was heated, to cold to enjoy, the internet has always had problems when several people are on it , having my daughter and son come visit for lunch cost me 11.05, I disagree with the fees for parking within reason, I understand you can't have unlimited guests but my kids visiting and it costing is too much. Park staff are very friendly
Mar 09, 2016
This was our children's first time camping and they had a fabulous time. Beautiful place. We all had a great time and we will be back.
Mar 08, 2016
Great camping experience. Will probably be back this spring and summer
Mar 07, 2016
Rude staff . Filthy restrooms. I use to camp there every year. I was treated like a burden..
Mar 07, 2016
Ongoing work appreciated. Like to see new asphalt on all drives. I know it is expensive. Enjoyed stay
Mar 07, 2016
Beautiful, very clean, staff extremely friendly and kind, will look forward to my next stay. My pets were welcome and treated very nice with lots of pet friendly areas.
Mar 07, 2016
There is always room for improvement.
Mar 04, 2016
Too expensive.
Feb 29, 2016
Joanne the tour lady was absolutely amazing!! I appreciate her being a very professional and fun person.
Feb 28, 2016
Feb 25, 2016
Love this KOA. Staff is great and studio cabins are nice and peaceful.
Feb 24, 2016
Very friendly and quiet. Only complaint was the nearest restrooms were not in working order
Feb 23, 2016
Wonderful!
Feb 23, 2016
Cabins are nice but the Wi-Fi is bad need to up grade your Wi-Fi for those of us that need it for our Jobs
Feb 23, 2016
Very nice campground. Friendly staff. My only complaint is the number of dumpy long term campers on the campground. I really takes away from the campground and it is a very nice place aside from that!
Feb 22, 2016
Just way too expensive!!
Feb 22, 2016
All thing was neat and orderly, staff very friendly and helpful.Thanks
Feb 22, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back!
Feb 22, 2016
We had a great time. The staff were great. The only bad thing was ants all over the kitchen table from the moment we got there. Otherwise it was nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps