Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Nov 08, 2013
After we used our credit card one time on/at your grounds; our credit was fraudulently used the next day in Laverne, TN. But grandchildren had a great time there.
Nov 08, 2013
We rented the Kabins on the river and were given the two with the wooden deck, fire pit etc. that overlooked the river. It was great! Staff went above and beyond to help us and made sure we had what we needed. I will definitely be back!
Nov 08, 2013
Great time wonderful location, I've seen some complaints about wifi ... Come on folks your camping ... Unplug ...excellent facilities
Nov 08, 2013
We had the best time - totally relaxing - lots to do - well kept - friendly and helpful. THANKS
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 06, 2013
Our stay was AWESOME! This is the third time we have stayed at this KOA and plan to go back.
Nov 06, 2013
Nov 05, 2013
all was great as I expected although the TV connection was poor, bad cable connect? I did not watch much,sat by campfire instead...hurray!
Nov 05, 2013
we had a MUCH NEEDED COZY WEEKEND . We loved the cabin by the river and the nice fireplace..we really didnt want to leave. But we do plan to visit there again as often as we can! Loved it!!!!!!
Nov 04, 2013
This campground is in a great location, right on the river. It is upgrading some features like cable and it seems to be getting better. We love this place.
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
our cabin, #240, was right on the river...just as advertised! staff was helpful and friendly!! we had a great time!
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cherokee. We plan a return visit sometime in 2014. The campground is clean and the staff was friendly. Thank you!
Nov 02, 2013
I was told there were no pull thru sites, but there were plenty. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The indoor pool had no showers. The whirlpool did not work.
Nov 01, 2013
Our 5th stay at Cherokee KOA. Never been disappointed. Always get the Kabin we request. Staff is friendly and courteous. Have seen the elk herd last 3 visits. Will keep coming back.
Oct 31, 2013
Enjoyed our stay as always. It would be nice if the camping areas had the small gravel on the ground at the sites.
Oct 31, 2013
The Halloween weekend is great! We have been coming here for Halloween for 12 years now. The only things i would recommend is to fix the jets on the hot tub & keep the temperature up. Also u should upgrade the showers & the ability to handle higher amps for the cold weather, especially for the weekends when the campground will be full.
Oct 31, 2013
Was great place. No communication. Tu reception is good for short time and then is none for a while. Internet stinks. Am seriously considering somewhere else after 10 rye there. They need help!!!
Oct 31, 2013
was amazed at how clean the bathrooms were every time I used them, very nice campground, have stayed there before.
Oct 31, 2013
Oct 31, 2013
It wa Halloween weekend!!! Our kids had the best time
Oct 31, 2013
the ladys in the office were very kind and helpful.i wish I had there names.they help with car rentals and we had phone problems and they let my wife and I use there on personal phone.they went out of there way to make things easy for us.
Oct 31, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Just a LOT of FUN for the whole family... BUT, way too expensive!!! Could get a nice hotel room with service for the same price! This was our very FIRST experience with KOA and our new RV, even up-graded to your 'frequent camper' card, but based upon your charges, I'm not sure at this time whether we'll use you again or "shop around".
Oct 30, 2013
A bit disappointed. The cabin was sufficient but not very clean. Floor was dirty. Shower drain was clogged with hair. Fortunately, we brought cleaning supplies. The staff were not friendly. The store closed at 5, which seemed way too early. Wouldn't use the bath house. We have stayed at many KOA's and will continue. This one was not typical of the brand.
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Great amenities. The only negative is the bugs in My daughter's cabin.
Oct 29, 2013
This is an amazing family friendly campground with lots of stuff to do!!
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
It is always a lot of fun with all the Halloween activities. The only problem I have is that the electricity keeps going out.
Oct 29, 2013
Very nice and clean facility. Beautiful area and will be back.
Oct 29, 2013
Wonderful, we reserved a tent spot online(late) a week before our camping plans because of gov't. Shutdown.We arrived with temperatures forecast to be a hard freeze(24) so inquired of kabin avbl, staff checked and 1 cancellation gave us the kabin and we were so thankful. Beautiful kampgrounds, been staying here almost every october for 30 years! Thx :-) my family loves it here too ! Will return!
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 27, 2013
The park is very nice but the basic rule are not followed.We had picked a site that had plenty of grass for our dogs .The gentleman staying in the cabin next to use park a truck with a trailer and an SUV all on the grass.Then he blew all the leaves of his area and piled them in a line between his truck and our site.It has been my understanding that if you vehicle will not fit on in your parking
Oct 27, 2013
First time at KOA Cherokee and very happy with everything. The indoor pool was nice and warm and the HOT Tub was okay hot. Couldn't figure out how to turn on the jets but it was relaxing. The staff were friendly.
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at KOA. We call it City camping for we stayed in a cabin with all the necessities of home. This was our first time at a KOA and I foresee many more stays with KOA. The Cherokee North Carolina was excellent. If you needed anything, they were right there to take care of your needs.We want to thank everyone involved with our stay.
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 24, 2013
Great stay at KOA cherokee. The only thing that needs work is the wifi. Had problems connecting and staying connected from our cabin. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing!
Oct 24, 2013
Oct 24, 2013
great..going to talk to the family about a reunion there next year. problem with the charges, will explain by mail when I return a key I found. thanks, Walt

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.