Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 02, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Cabin was very nice and clean. Customer service was great!
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
Loved the cabin on the river! Gorgeous scenery, cozy cabin with fireplace. My children loved the indoor pool. Perfect winter get away! Hope to visit in the summer!
Jan 01, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
staff and facilities were great, but we prefer campgrounds with more trees, privacy.
Dec 31, 2014
It was great, we had an awesome time! The cabin was really cute and cozy. Also, the mini heater was a plus! :) we will be KOAing again soon!
Dec 31, 2014
The staff is so friendly and helpful!
Dec 30, 2014
This was my second time staying at the koa. I absolutely love staying on the river and the view. The cabins are super cozy. My only complaint is how the pool and hot tub close at six. I spend my time during the day exploring and would like to be able to enjoy the hot tub at night. Other than that everyting was great.
Dec 30, 2014
The winter savings was great. We had a great stay, it was our first time staying at the Cherokee location. Would definitely recommend!
Dec 30, 2014
Limited space in cabins, limited towels and pool closes at 6. Bath houses were clean
Dec 30, 2014
Our Christmas week stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA was great from start to finish! Our cabin was comfortable and cozy located right on the bank of the Raven Forks River allowing us to bask in the beauty and sound of the water as it rushed by. Our fun-filled week included trout fishing, the beauty of the Smokies, and evening campfires! Our dogs had a great time too! Can't wait to go back!
Dec 30, 2014
Excellent campground and we do plan to return for another visit!
Dec 29, 2014
Dec 29, 2014
Very cozy, relaxing, lots for kids to do around campground, slept awesome. Staff very friendly. Our second Christmas with ya'll, we were so blessed to spend it there, this is now our family tradition. Can we reserve the same cabin next year? Clean!
Dec 29, 2014
Friendly staff and clean facilities (bathrooms especially). We keep coming back!
Dec 29, 2014
Love this place. Everyone was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would defiantly be staying again.
Dec 29, 2014
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 28, 2014
Overall, great, clean, and fun for the time of year. We did encounter a plumbing problem on Christmas eve with a non flushing toilet. Would like to see the locals more familiar with local attractions for recommendations.
Dec 28, 2014
Extremely pleased with all the facilities available. Office staff very friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure. Thanks for the hospitality!
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 28, 2014
Very clean and quiet.Just the Christmas vacation we needed. Will recommend this campground to our friends.
Dec 28, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only small problem we had was with the Wifi, reception was very poor.
Dec 27, 2014
Dec 23, 2014
We absolutely LOVE this place :) everyone is very friendly! Would most definitely recommend to a family, friend or even a stranger!
Dec 23, 2014
Our trip was awesome.we enjoyed everything and had a great time. My only recommenation is to have some bigger pots and six plates. If the cabins sleep six then you need six plates for dinner and a pot large enough for spaghetti.
Dec 23, 2014
Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. My partner and I loved our Deluxe Cabin on the River was perfect and had everything we needed. We will definitely be back soon!
Dec 23, 2014
Very friendly staff, nice tenting areas
Dec 22, 2014
The cabins were very clean, as well as the entire campground. All the staff members and campground personnel were extremely friendly. That made all the difference :)
Dec 19, 2014
Loved Cherokee KOA - will definitely be back again and tell others about it !
Dec 16, 2014
My daughter and I stayed in a cabin in KOA, in the Smokeys. We returned to where we spent several days (KOA) last year. It is such a wonderful site-- close to the National Park, our cabin was right on the river, and KOA offered more ammendities than we used. It is a wonderful place and yes, will be recommended to many. Thank you for such a lovely place to vacation!
Dec 15, 2014
This was our 2nd stay here. We are making it our tradition. My kids love the playground and air bounce. We will be back again next year and plan on making a summer trip!
Dec 13, 2014
i stay here often with ladies from church cause we feel safe and the staff is so friendly and the areas are clean. THANKS
Dec 10, 2014
LOVED everything about our stay and can NOT wait to come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
The stay started off bad but definitely ended on a positive note.
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Everything was very good. Wish we had more grass area for dogs. Staff was very friendly.
Dec 07, 2014
I do think the gas grills should be fixed the ignition switches don't work and its dangerous to have to light them by hand i almost blew up. other than that our stay was really great. thanks
Dec 04, 2014
Dec 03, 2014
Great vacation. We opted to stay in a deluxe cabin instead of towing our RV this time. That was a good decision on our part, and perfect accommodations.Thank you!
Dec 02, 2014
loved the pool and hot tub - the kids coukdn't get enough of it and the bouncy pillow....lovely dinner for thanksgiving - thanks for your generosity - we'll be back
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
The staff worked to get 21 people in 2 RVS and 3 cabins right next to each other for Thanksgiving. Well done!
Dec 01, 2014
We really enjoyed spending our "Campsgiving" at the Cherokee KOA. We met family and friends from LA, FL, WA, DC, KY, and AL. Some stayed in your fabulous deluxe cabins, while others traveled and camped in their RV's. We enjoyed the beautiful river flowing past the cabins and were impressed with the clean bathrooms. The Thanksgiving communal dinner was very much appreciated!
Dec 01, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time in our Cottage for the week of Thanksgiving. Very comfortable and clean. WIFI was sketchy and the only complaint. Thanksgiving potluck dinner was very nice and appreciated. Ready to come back for another visit.
Dec 01, 2014
Our family enjoyed the cabin. The only issue we had was with too many pets not cleaned up after.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.