Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 02, 2016
Been going here for years. Great beautiful campground
Nov 02, 2016
Great stay clean restrooms great people
Nov 02, 2016
fairly clean had to use restroom late at night no toilet paper half gallon of milk way over priced $4.50 will not forget that again
Nov 02, 2016
Beautiful location, great amenities, good customer service. We had a great time. Campsites are pretty close together, but I guess that's common at KOAs. There was plenty for the kids to do, they loved it!
Nov 02, 2016
Spots were not as explained to us, and not true pull-thru, making it difficult. Were told no other spots available, yet the one right next to us was open all week. But the campground is very nice and friendly, helpful staff. Just make sure of the location you are getting.
Nov 02, 2016
Beautiful campground. Very clean rest rooms and showers. A couple of the ladies behind the counter during check in were not very friendly or helpful.... and then we had two pleasant experiences. We would stay again. Thank you.
Nov 02, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Staysd in a Delux cabin....shower handle broken. Also the fire extinguisher was empty. That should never happen for the safety of uour guests! The staff was extremely rude when I booked next years stay. She gave me a hard time about asking for a printed receipt for my credit card payment saying it was emailed to me. I wanted a printed copy at the time and have still not received my email copy.
Nov 01, 2016
We enjoy this KOA, and stay several times a year. I would like to suggest that you add in more activities for teens. Having a DJ is great, but having the DJ on the Saturday night of Trick or Treating wasn't very smart- it also was not advertised on the activity sheet we were given at check in.
Nov 01, 2016
Had a great time. Cable was fuzzy and wifi needs improvement but overall it was a great 4th Halloween visit.
Nov 01, 2016
Wonderful stay, great weather, beautiful scenery, grandkids had a blast, and so did we!!!
Nov 01, 2016
Best place to stay in Cherokee! A family oriented campground with plenty for the kids to do, plus great fishing. We will definitely be back!!
Nov 01, 2016
Great campground. Lots for the kids to do. We have stayed several times and we always feel safe. The only downfall is the phone reception but that is sometimes a good thing.
Nov 01, 2016
Friendly employees, clean facilities, many activities for children and adults.
Nov 01, 2016
very nice place to have fun with your kids and grand kids thanks koa cherrokee
Nov 01, 2016
Everything class clean and the staff made checking in, finding our site and getting propane a breeze. We were there on Halloween weekend and our grandson had a great time trick or treating. The elaborate decorations on some of the campsites were great. KOA had pumpkin carving and a haunted house. We plan on this being a yearly thing.
Nov 01, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Amazing facility.
Nov 01, 2016
Staff, location and amenities were excellent
Oct 31, 2016
We were in #380 Deluxe cabin. Ice box handle was broken. Dangerous for kids. Shower curtain mildewed. Reading light by bed has been broken for a few years. We love this cabin, shame other renters don't take better care of it.
Oct 31, 2016
My biggest complaint with this campground is the front desk. Reservation errors are made quite frequently. I have learned to always call and double/triple check my reservations before arriving. Would like to see pool/jump pad extended hours to accommodate the children. Close too early.
Oct 31, 2016
Another great stay!!! We come every year for Halloween weekend. We love looking at all the decorations and meeting new people. FUN time was had by all!!!
Oct 31, 2016
We love it!
Oct 31, 2016
The restrooms in the comfort station were terrible !!! There's a mouse problem we watched the run from one cabin to the next and the lady at the front desk was very rude to several of the kids that came in as we were checking in ! Not the best KOA I've stayed at by a long shot !!!
Oct 31, 2016
I have stayed at this campground for the past 10 years. I don't know what has changed but we were treated very poorly by the staff this trip. The staff in the store was totally unprofessional and definitely need to learn how to communicate better with customers. Also everything has a fee there now. I along with my entire family have always enjoyed this campground, but we will not be back.
Oct 31, 2016
Halloween weekend was great.Lots of activities for children.We will be back next year.
Oct 31, 2016
It was a great trip. Beautiful place. Friendly staff.
Oct 31, 2016
Great family campground..especially fun at Halloween.
Oct 31, 2016
Light in bedroom didn't work. Fridge that we paid extra made a loud humming noise the entire night. Loved the jump pad but my two smaller kids were constantly getting ran over by the bigger kids that were cutting flips and passing football. Maybe having one for smaller kids and one for bigger kids would work better. We had a great time taking the kids to treat at the different sites. Fun time!
Oct 31, 2016
We do this vacation every Halloween weekend. It has become a wonderful tradition for us. Love staying at KOA.
Oct 31, 2016
Lots of activities for the Halloween weekend-this may become a tradition for my family!!!
Oct 31, 2016
Everything was great staff was very helpful. only complaint neighbors had very loud music from the're golf cart i think. you could here it over the entire park. from About 10:00pm until after 12:00 midnight. It was the halloween weekend but i thought there should be a cutoff time for the noise
Oct 31, 2016
We had a great time and will definitely be back. The staff was so helpful and nice. A special thanks to Laura and Crash!
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves and had a blast with the many activities that were set up by the KOA staff. My children had a blast as well as myself and my husband.
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
Joanne, Carolyn were above and beyond AWESOME! Activities were not fun for Halloween this year - it appears they took lots of short cuts in order to save money. Upgrade to bath houses was very nice addition. You have some very rude employees. Lucy was rude over the phone. The man that lives across from site 118 YELLED at me twice and he was very ugly!
Oct 31, 2016
Loved the new bathrooms. Loved the Halloween event..
Oct 31, 2016
We had a BLAST. Didn't expect all the events and we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the people there were great. Love the seasonal people.
Oct 31, 2016
The only comments are concerning the reservation process which would be directed to KOA rather than this location specifically. The 800-number reservation system is very poor. The wait was 10 min. + each time and I was disconnected the first time. On the second, they could not tell me which campsite, though they had indicated a site on the first call, and it turned out that our camper would not
Oct 31, 2016
I fully enjoyed this KOA. My site was large,well equipt and clean. Staff was friendly and available. Thanks.
Oct 31, 2016
We stayed at one of the tent sites and really enjoyed our stay overall. The bathhouse facilities were the nicest I have ever seen at a campsite and were conviently located to the tent sites. Since we stayed the weekend before Halloween there were tons of activities going on. The one draw back is the tent sites proximity to the road; lots of road noise.
Oct 31, 2016
We loved it . All the activities were great. The escort to the wrong spot the night we came was annoying especially when we were all set up except for the awning when we were told we had to move......but Donnie escorted us to the correct spot and was very helpful in getting set up. He even checked on us the next day to make sure we settled in ok. The haunted island was great.
Oct 29, 2016
We enjoyed the park very much. It was in a beautiful setting. The lot was easy to get in and out of. The gentleman that escorted us to the sight was very helpful and nice. The office staff on the other hand, were notvery friendly at all. The were actually quite rude. Also, on our site the cable did not work properly and when we reported nothing was done. other than that, we did like the park.
Oct 29, 2016
I absolutely LOVE this little cabin! Will be back next year!
Oct 29, 2016
Had a very pleasant time, most interactions with staff were very pleasant!
Oct 29, 2016
just good all around
Oct 28, 2016
Making reservations during holidays seem to be a big problem. Not sure it is worth the hassle. Our group consists of 5 campsites & 5 cottages.
Oct 28, 2016
Encantados de haber conocido el lugar y el fabuloso personal. Me encantaron los eventos programados para el fin de semana de mi estadia. Gracias por todo!!!
Oct 28, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps