Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 11, 2016
Apr 10, 2016
Apparently we stayed at the wrong time of year and they are still working out the "kinks" before the busy season. Had issues with bath house #1 (no hot water for shower), cabin door had huge gap (over 2" gap on upper portion). Also blacktop could use some help. On a positive note the gift shop & store were well stocked
Apr 10, 2016
Very clean. Nice views. Very family and kid friendly. Not a lot of water pressure in the showers...bathrooms were very clean though. Staff was nice. Games in the laundry room took the kids money. Nice laundry room though and the price was very resonable at only a $1 apiece to wash and dry. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. We had a great time.
Apr 10, 2016
Check in was too much hassle. You need to install a fish cleaning station.
Apr 10, 2016
Very nice we had a great time! Wish we could have stayed longer!
Apr 10, 2016
We were only here for one night as we passed through but it was very nice. The sites are gravel, not paved and site 81 needed a little leveling. It's easy to get to off of I-81 but it's far enough off the highway to be nice and quiet. There was nice spacing between RV's. Nice people and a nice place.
Apr 10, 2016
Great place! Pretty site by the river! Attendants helpful in setting up. Pool was nice but spa wasn't working. Wifi did not always work. No cell phone service. Staff was nice and amenities were great!
Apr 09, 2016
Would be 5 stars but indoor swimming pool was dirty & indoor hot tub was hot but jets were broken & it was also dirty. Bathroom was ok but toilet bowls could have been cleaner. Wifi ok but weak. Good cable.
Apr 09, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 09, 2016
Had everything you want at a camp grounds.
Apr 08, 2016
I love staying at this KOA. But in the cabin there were a bunch of light bulbs bad especially in the loft area which made it hard to see at night, also no dish soap. Other than that it is a great place to stay and the cabins are awesome.
Apr 08, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. Bath houses were very clean with lots of hot water. Staff very friendly and helpful. We can't wait for our next visit!
Apr 07, 2016
The campground was very well maintained and managed. We stayed in the Deluxe Cabins and absolutely loved it. The cabin was extremely clean, comfortable and the view was remarkable. As a bonus, there is a grill, full refrigerator, fireplace, bathroom, microwave, and stove top. We were extremely ccomfortable and would recommend
Apr 07, 2016
Beautiful location in a bowl surrounding by mountains and next to a pretty river. The grounds are well maintained with a professional & helpful staff. The amenities are good and store and grill have about everything you need. To me the $50. for the cart is too high. It is reasonably close to town for shopping, stores, and museum. Would love to stayed in deluxe cabin. 2 room cabin was ok.
Apr 06, 2016
what a gorgeous place to stay! the wonderful stream the tadpoles, the great pool, island and immaculate grounds. terrific friendly people.
Apr 06, 2016
Our family continues to enjoy staying at this beautiful hidden treasure. We love the raw beauty of this campground. It also has great accommodations with nice convenience of big resorts. We have stayed here for over 12 years. My recommendations would be to focus on making each camper feel welcomed with great customer service & friendly, positive smiles.
Apr 06, 2016
Wonderful trip. Great campground. Helpful staff. Great facilities. Wifi didn't work like it said it would, but we actually enjoyed that!! Loved it!
Apr 06, 2016
We had a great time at KOA Cherokee. It is now one of my favorite campgrounds to stay at and I can't wait to come again. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We did have WiFi issues and cell phone reception was few and far between, but we managed. Also, the game room was vandalized and closed, which is a shame that someone would do that, so I hope when we return it will be open for the kids.
Apr 06, 2016
Plenty of activities inside and outside the park to keep the whole family occupied!!
Apr 05, 2016
Always a nice place to stay. I've been visiting since 1995. I appreciate the bathroom improvements over the years, but the main thing is that the shower stall are too small. The men's shower by the playground should be about 12" wider. Instead of 4 teeny showers, you should have 3 spacious showers.
Apr 05, 2016
bath house needed attention . one of single showers water only trickled . another the light would not come on .needed cleaning .
Apr 05, 2016
We had a wonderful time the kids had fun. Cabin was very nice. Bathroom needed stocked better and more often. Thank you we will see y'all again.
Apr 05, 2016
Very friendly and well maintained facilities. Unfortunately, we had a bad weather for camping and I had to change plans, but I am planning to come back. Thanks to all staff for being so kind.
Apr 05, 2016
pot noles in the roads need to be fixed, arcade and hot tub were not open ,kids did'nt like that,other than that, good time.
Apr 04, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We do not have any children, but I'm sure if we did they would have had a blast. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The dog park was right across from our site which was nice for our Lab. We would recommend it to anybody with children.
Apr 04, 2016
Bathroom were nasty blood and poop smear on walls and bathroom doors no one would clean it all they done was refill the paper towels and toilet paper
Apr 04, 2016
Check in staff was very pleasant cabin was nice but after that things went down hill. Very rude staff cleaning restrooms, toilet paper out blown light bulbs,rude employee working the pool area, hot tub jets weren't working last 2 days of stay, bath house and restrooms filthy, trash over flowing through out. very disappointed this Koa stay.
Apr 04, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
Wonderful stay. Campground spotless and staff both friendly and helpful...Still a bit pricey
Apr 04, 2016
Great family fun lots to do there on site friendly staff clean cabin.
Apr 04, 2016
Loved it. Had a great time!
Apr 04, 2016
The campsite was great on the river. Our cabin at lot 246 has major air leaks around the front door. Warming the space was very difficult. Overall we had a great time as usual
Apr 04, 2016
Had a wonderful time, will definitely be returning before the summer ends. Kids loved it.
Apr 04, 2016
We stayed in a basic camping cabin and weren't at the campground very long to enjoy the amenities. But, the kids liked the jumping pillow. My only complaint is the noise. This was the loudest KOA we've stayed at. Our neighbors were quite noisy outside after quiet hours, but quieted down after we mentioned that we could hear them.
Apr 04, 2016
It was awesome as usual, staff is nice and helpful. We love this campground.
Apr 04, 2016
We absolutely loved the Cherokee KOA & can't wait to return! Staff were all so nice & helpful! Loft cabin was super clean and fit our needs perfectly! The setting & area are just beautiful!
Apr 04, 2016
The location is great. Most of the staff is friendly. If you're looking for a camping expierence, this isn't the place. The tent sites and cabins are stacked on top of each other and give zero privacy/secludness. Not many posted rules are enforced, no alcohol by pool, no littering, no bball after 8, quiet time after 11. Fire wood burns like paper. You should limit how many lights people can hang
Apr 04, 2016
I like all the amenities and location of this koa but we were crammed in like sardines. Great place for families but not for solitude. Staff is wonderful, facilities clean- would just like a little more space between meighbors.
Apr 04, 2016
It was great...no issues..and we will be back
Apr 03, 2016
Our cabin was supposed to be ready at 2pm, and we couldn't get in until after 3:30pm. The cabin floors were dusty and the bedding had dog hair on it. We requested toilet tissue twice, and both times we had to make a second request because the first one was never addressed. The indoor pool and hot tub was dirty. One of the tables had ketchup on it the my entire week.
Apr 03, 2016
Apr 03, 2016
I thought it was very expensive for a poorly maintained campground. Had trouble with electrical and the roads were terrible
Apr 03, 2016
I woke in my tent- I came out of my tent to find that I was being looked at by 10 fishermen fishing in the trout pond .. No privacy at all
Apr 03, 2016
Fantastic stay!!!
Apr 03, 2016
great place to stay- friendly people.
Apr 03, 2016
Great staff, Great site. Clean. Off the beaten path but not hard to get to. Would stay again.
Apr 03, 2016
Wish there was better river access.
Apr 02, 2016
Wonderful location, excellent view and outstanding staff.
Apr 02, 2016
It was a great place to stay and we enjoyed it tremendously. I only have two comments. We would like to see you have recycle containers. We reserved a site that backs to the pond. The website did not state that there was a vine covered chain link fence between the site and the pond so that was disappointing. Having seen the campground now I would have picked a different site.
Apr 02, 2016
Great relaxing stay
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals