Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2015
We had another great stay this past weekend. Might come again next fall.
Oct 26, 2015
No WIfi...no phone service... We slept none because the people beside us kept us up all night. The guys that helped escort us to our site were great and helpful. It seemed to me the same people stay a lot and the staff recognize them... which is great! But the ones of us new are just as important. But loved the KOA in Fancy Gap!
Oct 26, 2015
Cute cabin on river. Kids loved jumping on blob.
Oct 26, 2015
Carolyn was wonderful
Oct 26, 2015
EXCELLENT
Oct 26, 2015
I have been staying at this Koa for years.This time I was a little disappointed with the friendliness of one of your staff. We booked with 11 of our other camping buddies to all camp together. Our kids wanted to rent banana bikes for an hour. The lady told us we would have to wait.So we waited for abt 30 min. More bikes came in. When we went back in to rent them the lady said it was closed! At 4??
Oct 26, 2015
Had yet another great visit at your location. That's why we keep coming back every year!
Oct 26, 2015
Staff were so helpful and went above and beyond for us!!!!
Oct 26, 2015
We had a great weekend! My kids had a fantastic time trick-or-treating and all the Halloween activities!!
Oct 26, 2015
The Halloween activities were very fun. I wish the hot tub had been working the entire weekend.
Oct 26, 2015
Cherokee KOA is wonderful. The only complaint I have is that it has gotten very expensive with price increases, added fees, etc.
Oct 26, 2015
Very enjoyable stay.. Kids had a great time and I enjoyed the relaxation.
Oct 26, 2015
Wish they had movie night for kids on Friday night.
Oct 26, 2015
Love this campground! We have taken the kids here two years in a row. This year we did the trick or treat. It was really good.
Oct 26, 2015
My only complaint is that in the mens bathhouse, there are no shelves, no hooks, no way to hang up any of your cloths, towel or anything else you need to keep off the floor. We stayed at the cabin 256 (I think) and it was very dark on this end. I think the outside light may have been burned out. Anyway, add shelves and hooks in the showers and you'll improve tremendously.
Oct 26, 2015
The campground is very nice! However the wifi is horrible! Please update the system. We were staying right next to a hot spot and could barley even send a text message. There was absolutely no getting on the Internet! The events for the weekend were great!
Oct 26, 2015
It was wonderful and I can't wait to come back next year!
Oct 26, 2015
Great facilities. Lodging, services, kids' activities were nice.
Oct 26, 2015
Had a great time, the cabin was great and the fall colors were fantastic!!! Very friendly staff!!!!
Oct 26, 2015
In our 3 nights there, the bathhouses were never once cleaned. We know this because there was a wad of hair and empty used shampoo tube laying outside the women's shower the whole time and in the men's bathhouse, there was dental floss left on the sink counter all 3 days. Low 30's at night and no heat in bathhouse the 1st night and not much more after that. Not particularly good attitudes either
Oct 26, 2015
Such a wonderful, family friendly campground! My family loved all the fun activities for Halloween.
Oct 26, 2015
Great campground except for wifi. There was basically none even though it is listed as available. Other than that it was wonderful.
Oct 26, 2015
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. We couldn't stay long but we were very impressed with the facility and will plan to be back and spend more time.
Oct 25, 2015
Everyone we dealt w were outstanding. I do take issue two points. Frist we were early on arrival the site was. clean n vacant were told to wait or pay 25$ early check in fee. I find that outrageous. It did NOT start our stay well. Scondly your wifi coverage is terrible. Our next park wss smaller but had 7 dif wifi access servers. Wonderfull upgrade over yours. And inexpensive to d
Oct 25, 2015
good stay enjoyable stay.
Oct 25, 2015
Need to improve their WiFi and cable TV service.
Oct 24, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Oct 24, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Oct 24, 2015
Wifi is nonexistent, basically worthless. Paying such high prices should get you excellent wifi. Bathrooms were dirty and needed attention. Women' s bath house was poorly lit. Evening were quiet!
Oct 23, 2015
Had a great time! Wonderful park!
Oct 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much. Clean neat well groomed. Will come back again.
Oct 23, 2015
We stay in your riverside deluxe cabins when we come to NC. We love your KOA! Thanks for being service friendly.
Oct 23, 2015
Had a great time with the Stewart's and Williams, who go every year.
Oct 23, 2015
Great campground with friendly staff and clean facilities....kids love this place!
Oct 22, 2015
My husband and I love the camp ground. We will camp there again. Maybe with family members.
Oct 22, 2015
To start off I was not put where I had reserve to be put. The bathrooms were filthy at all times. All KOA's need to work on their Wi-Fi signal. Theirs was bad at best. The people were friendly though.
Oct 22, 2015
I paid extra to stay on the river and they gave me a site with a ditch full of water. The grass needed mowed. The bathrooms were terrible. Tile was off the wall and exposed in the shower. The bathroom was nasty and I know they didn't clean bathroom all day till the next morning. Toilet stayed stopped up. The campground doesn't look like it has been kept up since the campground was built 25 years.
Oct 22, 2015
When I booked my cabin it said it had a TV and mini frig, but when I got there it didn't. I didn't make a fuss about it because I really didn't have to have them. My kids would have liked the tv during downtime. Good area for the kids to play. It meet our needs for this trip. Will most likely stay at another KOA in the future.
Oct 22, 2015
We enjoyed our time at the campground until we went to the bathhouse. The showers were less than lukewarm! When it is 30 degrees outside a warm shower would be nice. We got ourshowers on a Sunday afternoon and everyone left that morningSo the cold shower was not because people were using the showers. Other than the cold showers we enjoyed ourselves.
Oct 22, 2015
AWESOME time even though it rained a little. We went with one of the two bedroom camping cabins and it was great with two adults and four kids. Was not crazy about having water access right in front of our cabin and campers washing their dishes right in our front but overall there was a lot to keep us all busy and we had a great time. Will be back!
Oct 22, 2015
Excellent!
Oct 22, 2015
we arrived about 1/2 hour b4 office was too close. they seemed put out that we did not have a reservation, she said I will have to find you a site. Nuts there looked like there were at least 200 empty ones. And for what we used only electric 30 amps. Did no hayrides or ice cream s We feel that it was way over priced. If it had been summer and nearly full then cost would have been more appropiate
Oct 21, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Clean facilities. Many shade trees. Lots of activities for our children. We will definitely be back.
Oct 21, 2015
My wife and I throughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful KOA. The grounds were well maintained, gift shop was fantastic, the service was great with friendly helpful staff, and the bathroom were newly updated, and clean. We will be back for sure. Thank you for a very enjoyable time.
Oct 21, 2015
Great campground - only improvements would be better wifi and cell service.
Oct 21, 2015
Wonderful cabins and atmosphere
Oct 20, 2015
Well kept in a beautiful setting.
Oct 20, 2015
We have been staying here every year since 2006. Workers are very friendly and helpful. Lots of room for our large unit right on the river.
Oct 20, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was gorgeous. The only thing we would suggest is cleaning the cobwebs from the ceiling and the bathroom floor.
Oct 20, 2015
We've stayed here in the past many years ago and decided to try it again last Oct. fell in love with it and came back this year. Already planning next years visit. I'ts away from everything, but close to everything worth seeing and visiting. It's clean, quiet and organized.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps