Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 13, 2015
We loved it!
Apr 13, 2015
Great place to stay - Definitely our choice for the Cherokee area Only one major complaint & that is with the wifi connections - Lots of work needed there !!!
Apr 13, 2015
The campground was awesome! There were fun things for the entire family to enjoy. It was also very clean and kept!
Apr 13, 2015
Koa really needs to improve the WiFi and the hot water in the showers this has been a problem for years
Apr 13, 2015
Stay was great. One negative experience was someone stealing all our firewood off the porch of our camping cabin. That was a huge disappointment.
Apr 13, 2015
Great staff,beautiful view,roads and bath houses could use some attention. I will be back later this year.
Apr 13, 2015
If you have an issue, they will resolve it quickly and professionally! Very friendly staff! Coming back next month!
Apr 13, 2015
Like this koa already have Rsv for more stays this year including month of October,however I feel the streets need repaving more attention to water system and grounds upkeep
Apr 13, 2015
Our first time camping and it was great can't wait to see you guys again :)
Apr 13, 2015
Very nice staff cabin was great we really enjoyed it didn't catch any fish but had a great time
Apr 13, 2015
I visted KOA probably 10 years ago when I was a little girl with my family. I now have my own family & brought them. I did enjoy it however it seems to crowded. There is hardly any camping sites & the one we had was surrounded by people. I did not like that at all. The staff that I seen outside of the office did not speak to me they just looked at me. I did not like that either.
Apr 13, 2015
friendly people, nice accommodations, beautiful weather and scenery
Apr 13, 2015
Always a great experience...I am a repeat customer...
Apr 13, 2015
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Park is always clean and beautiful. Even the construction of the new cabins is kept minimal. Love this place!
Apr 13, 2015
THE CAMP GROUND WAS CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. THE THING THAT WE DIDN'T LIKE IS THAT THEY CLOSED THE POOL DOWN AT 8PM INSTEAD OF 10PM LIKE MOST PLACES.
Apr 13, 2015
The staff was great!! The only problem we had... We had rented cabins and there was cabins all around us.. But there were two tent sites on each side of our cabin.. One of the tents were at our front steps, which felt very uncomfortable.. And they were right outside our window.. Which again was very uncomfortable. But our children had a blast playing with all the other children camping
Apr 13, 2015
Wonderful staff and clean facilities. Loved the cabin we stayed in and plan to come again.
Apr 13, 2015
Our 3 yr old had a great time at the playground and jumping pillow. We enjoyed fishing but came up empty handed. Everything was enjoyable but compared to other campgrounds, I didn't find the staff overly personable or friendly. They weren't rude, but didn't wave, smile, etc when you passed them or encountered them except at sign in/check in.
Apr 13, 2015
I was overall pleased with the price and amenities provided by the staff. The only issue was the wifi. It took forever to connect to my devices and then it was very slow to load apps.
Apr 13, 2015
Great stay. I am a business owner and each time we stay at your KOA, I have a lot of problems getting internet connections at our campsite or cabin. Would like to get better receiption ther than having to go to the office area to get on line.
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
We had a great visit to your KOA for our little granddaughters' first campimg trip. We will be back soon!
Apr 12, 2015
The only thing keeping my rating from being five star is the pool area is still being worked on. Other than that it was great staff was very nice and campground was clean and welcoming !!!
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
our cable didn't work at our site. construction on new cabins was annoying in the early morning hours.
Apr 12, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Beautiful campground with creek and ponds. Nice indoor pool and things for kids to do. Staff was very friendly and helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and regret we could not stay longer. even for a KOA it was clean and neat. We hope to return again this summer so we can enjoy all the amenities that were not open yet.Everyone was very courteous and pleasant toward us. . looking forward to returning soon.
Apr 11, 2015
It was great!
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
Apr 11, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at the cabin on the river. It had been raining and there were lots of puddles and muddy areas around the campers we were visiting, otherwise everything was lovely.
Apr 10, 2015
Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Great views of river and mountains. Had a great time!
Apr 10, 2015
Great as always.
Apr 09, 2015
Nice camp site. Management was excellent. Went out of there way to make us happy.
Apr 09, 2015
We had a great time
Apr 08, 2015
Great stay I would like to see benches added to the area where the jump pillow is located. This would allow parents the opportunity to watch thier children without sitting in the gravels.
Apr 08, 2015
Computer issues caused a lot of problems. Other than that is was great.
Apr 08, 2015
Great campground ,clean restrooms,return trip planned
Apr 08, 2015
We like going to the Cherokee KOA because of the relaxed feeling of the place, all there is to do and the friendly people like Ms. Mary!!! A++++
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
This was our 2nd time here. We really the campground,the staff,things to do on site. The bathhouse & laundry facility were Clean and nice. Cable had improved with the amount of channels. Only draw back is there is no cell service.not their fault, but the Wi-Fi was TERRIBLE. We Were not able to connect but a handful of times, and get booted. Family couldn't contact us.
Apr 07, 2015
Management was unpleasant. Cabin was clean Not good for camping! Fire pit is on the road. Corporate policy on cabin changes is awful. Not a good experience. Then I got charged for a night when I informed the desk I would like another cabin or check out. I did not stay and was still charged!
Apr 07, 2015
Campground was nice just needed some attention to bath houses&restrooms. The biggest complaint we have is the lack of general information from staff. We asked several staff members simple questions like the pool hours or info about fishing licenses and no one could give us a straight answer. I would think the pool hours would be very simple to relay and actually would be posted but they weren't.
Apr 07, 2015
We loved it. Its been sixteen years since i have been there. Yall have really improved the place. I could if stayed anywhere, but i choose KOA. i enjoyed my birthday.
Apr 07, 2015
ENJOYED OUR STAY. REAL NICE CAMPGROUND.
Apr 07, 2015
Overall great experience but someone stole our marshmallow rods and unwind our porch lights and laid them on the porch. If lights were not allowed, they should have left us a note rather than remove them.
Apr 07, 2015
We love to visit KOA in Cherokee, NC. The staff are so pleasant and knowledgeable as far as meeting our needs. The cabin was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and cozy! We will be returning in the next few months! Thank you for all you do to make a vacation splendid!
Apr 07, 2015
First time there and DEFINITELY won't be the last....Had a blast.
Apr 06, 2015
I love to bring my friends and children to this place it is always so clean and pleasant. I have to say a little pricey but sometimes they give a few free nights per year or give incredible reduced rate at times, I will always be glad to stay here as long as I can afford it, like I said it was wonderful.
Apr 06, 2015
I wished that check in time was little closer to check out time if the site that you have reserved is ready!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.