Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2014
cabins are to high cost wise,guests should not be required to carry thier own trash to the dumpster .food is too high and disabled people have little to do there.will not be back!also i had to ask for towels daily.
Oct 12, 2014
The ONLY negative!!!- Some very large dogs on vacation allowed to crap wherever they chose to. Pet owners should be fined if caught not picking up after them.
Oct 12, 2014
As usual a great stay. Over the years as we have gotten larger campers we like that you have plenty of spaces big enough, but turns are too tight making getting in the sites difficult. This past stay we had to back out of our supposed pull through. Trees, shrubs, etc. should be trimmed, cut back or removed to allow for appropriate access to sites for 40+ foot campers.
Oct 12, 2014
Great campground! Lots to do. Excellent Fishing. Bounce toy too noisy to camp near.
Oct 12, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, large pull thrus for big rigs. We stayed there before and will definitely return.
Oct 12, 2014
This campground is very well run. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting the mountains and Cherokee!
Oct 11, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice campground well maintained - Would need a better cell service. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Good laundry facilities. Lots of amenities--play ground, dog park, and fishing just offsite. River one side, pods on other. The big disadvantage for us was no cellular service. (AT&T). WIFI worked great.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean, large pull thru
Oct 08, 2014
Biggest KOA I have been to. Very nice, excellent wifi service, lot's of extras to do.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Friendly staff , great location and we'll maintained. One thing that could be improved is the cell and wifi reception. Guest need to keep in contact .
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and campground was maintained t
Oct 07, 2014
It was good. Need to work on internet connectivity issues.
Oct 07, 2014
Should've heeded warning from prior reviews about flea problem in cabins. Also,very much lacking in welcoming you upon arrival. Certain employees did try to make-up for lost time, but weekend was ruined by then. I don't usually submit negative reviews, but we won't be returning here.
Oct 07, 2014
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, fabulous mountainside view. We will definitely return.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
you have a awesome location, cabin was great, staff friendly, will be back
Oct 07, 2014
we were unhappy this time with how we were treated. we have a large camper and we had to rent a cabin for our daughter and her husband. they would have made 8 in our camper. we have been staying there for many years and were never treated this way. we will not be back.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
The staff is always friendly and helpful. We love the Cherokee KOA!!
Oct 06, 2014
Hot water was scarce in the ladies bathhouse this stay. A repairman showed up as we were leaving. Also we woke up the first morning and maintenance removed our (block) steps leading up to the porch. I asked an employee about it and was told that he was instructed to remove by management, that they planned to replace it with a wooden step. Never saw replacement. 3 day stay.
Oct 06, 2014
Stay overall was and always is great.We usually stay in the rustic cabins or bring our fifth wheel, this time we stayed in the studio cabin, be prepared to wash your dishes in the shower and before you use them. Housekeeping needs some training, but as a campground this is the best we stay in and very reasonable.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
One of the prettiest KOA park we have ever visited. Sites were large and level. Well stocked store and very helpful staff. Only negative was the restroom facilities. They were clean but very old and in need of a update. All in all we loved this park and hope to visit again.
Oct 06, 2014
I was put in a cabin that the toilet didnt work, and no way to fix it during my stay. I had my wife and 2 kids.
Oct 06, 2014
The place is first-class. A very friendly staff, nice facilities and beautiful environment. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is very spotty...but, that s kind of nice to be away from it all. I can't wait to go back!
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
I booked a kamping kabin a first, online. I noted that I was arriving late. I tried to call a couple times but the office was always already closed. I arrived late and found my cabin #. It was a cold night. When I checked out the person said oh you could have asked for a heater, we supply them. I did not know. Why didn't they put it inside?
Oct 06, 2014
Great place to stay quiet-clean-very nice workers-just great with children-every thing you could ask for to get away..
Oct 06, 2014
excellant stay
Oct 06, 2014
Me & my family have been coming to this KOA for many years. It is now under new management and some of the employees were so rude and unhelpful words just can't describe. So many rules have changed its more hassle than it's worth. Will never come back and most certainly will not recommend to any of my family or friends.
Oct 05, 2014
we love it here nice and relaxing by the river we will return next year
Oct 05, 2014
This is a great KOA. I've stayed at over a dozen KOAs, and this one may have been the best located: right on the river in the beautiful Great Smoky Mountains. The only thing keeping me from putting 5 stars down is that the cabin was suffocatingly musty. We like roughing it, but that smell was foul - just needs a good wipe down at least once every few months...
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
We were totally disappointed. Our campsite was a muddy mess making it quite annoying for setup and break down. The pool was not as nice as the picture and over chlorinated. The bathrooms were not clean and on top of it all we were charged an additional resort fee that was not disclosed on the website. Subsequently, we left early.
Oct 03, 2014
It was great. The staff very, very friendly. Hope to see you again real soon
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
Great place to stay. Our 3rd year in a row and plan to keep staying in Cherokee KOA in future visits!
Oct 02, 2014
This is our second time staying at this particular KOA. We will be back again! Everyone was helpful and friendly. We stayed the first time in July 2013. It was very busy/crowded, but fun! This stay by the river in Sept 2014 was perfect for our family of 4..quiet and peaceful. Almost no wi-fi or cell reception, but if you know that ahead of time you'll be prepared. Great to unplug anyway! Thanks!
Oct 02, 2014
Beautiful, clean campground and cabins. They have everything you need, right on site.
Oct 02, 2014
Well maintained, friendly staff, lots of activities, especially for kids. Well stocked camp store.
Oct 02, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Very family friendly & clean!
Oct 02, 2014
This is a great base for exploring the area. Good facilities an a great staff. A little better cell service would be a big plus.
Oct 01, 2014
Was good, would have been better if we had been placed on the space next door, as exiting our site was difficult due to a tree and our trailer length (41')
Oct 01, 2014
We had a great stay and as always we will return, all the people on your staff are very courteous and helpful
Oct 01, 2014
First time camping in 20 years . Really enjoyed our time there . We are planning to stay there again when work and time will workout .

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.