Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
Every man I talked with was rude. The women's bathroom in the camp ctr was without soap for over a day and was nasty. The enclosed pool water was cloudy, needed to be cleaned.
Jul 06, 2015
It rained everyday,but the indoor pool,hot tub was great.The music outside on the 4th was great,while the rain stayed away.great place for kids.
Jul 06, 2015
Besides the rainy weather (which had absolutely nothing to do with the site) it was AMAZING my first time staying at a KOA. The kids loved it and so did we. Definitely a start to a family tradition.
Jul 06, 2015
the pools were dirty w/ no supervison of children cabins were very expensive, 190 a night you could get a real cabin in the mountains, the campground was full which meant the staff seemed to careless I fell down slippery steps from being under the trees the maintainance man came and cleaned them w/o him or anyone there asking if I was ok. I wasn't, I have a bruised toe and arm. will not return.
Jul 06, 2015
My first time' loved everything about campground and personnel! Rained a massive amount all day and night and we literally swept water "from around our pop up" contstantly.But everthing was so nice we didnt we wanted to tough it out. We plan to return many times in future. Thanks for having us!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It rained the entire time, however the activities still happened and it was still an amazing time for us, our kids and grandkids. Thanks. Looking forward to my Sept trip to fish.. !
Jul 06, 2015
We had a great time at the campground and really enjoyed the activity they had
Jul 06, 2015
Great Campground !!!! Would stay there again and trout fishing great.
Jul 06, 2015
Campsite was nice as usual. Food seemed a little pricey. We paid almost $40 for what I would call a $25 meal. Paid $15 for the rib meal and they were dry, and for that price should have come with a drink at least. I have paid $15 for a similar meal, but it was at a famous rib restaurant. Coffee was a little watered down for my taste, even the dark roast.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It was perfect enjoyed every moment thanks so much so family oriented
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Nice, quiet, and clean. Plenty to do in the area. 4 stars because they advertise WiFi and do not provide it.
Jul 05, 2015
We always stay at this koa. This year was not as good. The ponds drained the creek gone behind the cabin we stay in. The mud and gunk from all the rain. I understand it rains but put rock or mulch so not looking like sewer when walk out of cabin! The young kids that clean didnt spend 2 minutes cleaning any of the pool bathrooms! And shower house were at the worst we have ever seen. Safety A+!
Jul 04, 2015
We love camping at this KOA every summer! My three girls make the best of friend and memories to last a lifetime.
Jul 04, 2015
Everything was fantastic except the wi-fi. I believe advertising that you have it available is false advertising. I booked 2 weeks expecting to be able to work part of that time and was unable to. It needs a serious upgrade and you should not list it as a feature of your campground.
Jul 03, 2015
Great camp site. Lots for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2015
This our 2nd time staying at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The kids love this place, it is convenient to everything western NC has to offer. There is so much to do at the camp grounds we have a tough time leaving. Its a great destination!
Jul 03, 2015
EVERYTHING WAS GREAT BUT THE WEATHER
Jul 02, 2015
Lovely location and our Kabin was right next to the river. Friendly staff. Recommend the breakfast pizza!
Jul 02, 2015
Beau camping. Deux belles piscines, bon service. Séjour agréable.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved the staff and enjoyed our stay very much ! This was our first time and we will definitely be back :-)
Jul 01, 2015
Kids had a blast! So glad we made this our family vacation. Will be doing it again!!
Jul 01, 2015
Kids love it as well as we do awesome staff thanks to Miles and Terri for treating us like family
Jul 01, 2015
Great place, kids loved it, and we will come back again. Hopefully WiFi access will improve soon.
Jul 01, 2015
Always fun to visit. Has friendly staff and always clean. Wifi has not worked last three visits. Our space was considered a deluxe spot yet not wide enough to extend awning and have a campfire....somewhat disappointed.
Jul 01, 2015
There was no picnic table and no porch light
Jul 01, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
We took our vacation with 2 other families and had a blast! This is the first time we have taken a vacation with friends. We make the trip to our Cherokee KOA at least once a year usually twice and always have fun. We will definitely be back with our friends again.
Jun 30, 2015
I had few complaints except that our site was mostly red clay. The grass was missing in a large section of the middle of the site. We were tent camping and it was rainy so this was a real problem. I did not see any other sites that were this bad (missing grass). There were available sites so I feel that this site should not have been used. Bad first impression.
Jun 30, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Jun 30, 2015
Our favorite campground in the Smokies.We started in the late 70's, early 80's and continue to come. The new management has a good handle on how to run a campground and continues to make improvements every year. We are "young" seniors and come up in the Spring and Fall. Great place for families and seniors of all ages.
Jun 30, 2015
Sites are small, desk people at the recreation center seemed rude/annoyed when I wanted to book a rafting trip. overall good experience.
Jun 30, 2015
We had a great time, planning on coming back with the family very very soon.
Jun 29, 2015
Love the campground, the only issue we had was the indoor pool had a slimy feeling to it.
Jun 29, 2015
Look forward to returning
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely awesome camping trip! Our boys, 7 and 9, were on could nine the whole time with the activities. Will never stay anywhere else when visiting Cherokee.
Jun 29, 2015
Had wonderful time, cabin had everything . was very clean, staff was all very helpful and friendly. park was very well maintained and peaceful..Great time /wonderful stay we will be back again..
Jun 29, 2015
This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Cherokee NC KOA. We really enjoyed it and will probably make it a yearly trip. We just have one suggestion and that would be to have benches or something to put your stuff on while taking a shower in the main bath houses. (not just hooks) Other than that the staff was very friendly and helpful and attentive.
Jun 29, 2015
Well we loved it! Everything from the banana bikes to our cabin only one huge complaint is not enough bathrooms for the amount of people there. Someone even pooped in shower! So only wish u had more bathrooms /toilets for busy weekends.
Jun 29, 2015
only complaint is the bathrooms and showers were not very clean.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
we had a wonderful time , excellent staff, well maintained park, bathrooms were very clean.. great stay,, we will be back next year ..
Jun 29, 2015
Awesome campground!
Jun 29, 2015
Internet does not work period never has! Fishing ponds were being drained would have been nice to know that before buying license in KOA store we keep going back but could be great with some changes
Jun 29, 2015
Water was a little too low for tubing and the trout ponds were not stocked for fishing. The only real disappointment was the bath house nearest or site was trashed twice by somebody; no fault of the campground and was cleaned immediately upon notification.
Jun 29, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at the Cherokee KOA. This weekend was great. Lots of activites for the kids, music at night, the pools are great.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Best KOA I ever stayed at.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.