Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
We loved the upgrades to the bathhouse. Our cabin had a new screen door,table inside and a table and chairs outside. Food and staff were great. Thanks
Jul 28, 2016
Great as always
Jul 28, 2016
It was a great experience...extremely nice getaway from all the technology and for my kids to just enjoy the outdoors, riding bikes and making new friends.
Jul 28, 2016
Everything was nice. Lots of activities
Jul 28, 2016
Absolutely amazing campground. The staff was friendly, bathrooms clean, great experience floating on the river. We had so much fun!
Jul 28, 2016
We upgraded our primitive Kanin to a premium primitive w/fridge because my husband is diabetic so needed to keep insulin cold.. Fridge did not work ! Told office they said turn it up! Still did not work!! Why pay extra? Will not next time... Cabin was hit and full of ANTS!! Allergic husband has over 50 bites!! We are headed for ER today!! Not OK!
Jul 27, 2016
Great stay! Tons to do! Very family friendly. Will definitely be back!
Jul 27, 2016
Overall, the Cherokee KOA is nice. I think it would have been a better experience if we would have had a better spot. Most of the staff were friendly, but a couple of the fellas were not. The pool areas had a lot to offer. The bath house was very nice and appeared to be clean. We will stay there again.
Jul 27, 2016
Excellent time with great location and accommodations. Campground was clean and employees were always helpful and pleasant.
Jul 26, 2016
Great
Jul 26, 2016
The cabin was clean, the staff was friendly. Check in parking was confusing and there was no parking when stopping by the store. Our cabin was a two room right on the river. Despite the negative comments that I read before my stay, I had no issues with the campground. It was a pleasant stay.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the pool tubing the beautiful scenery and the young volunteer that work with our grandchildren were great my husband and I and our grandchildren had a wonderful week
Jul 26, 2016
I only had one complaint and its with the wifi speed. It was so horribly slow I couldn't upload video and picture or something so simple as browsing the web looking for things to do was no accomplished. I WISH YOU GUYS WOULD DO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. PLEASE !!!!
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Donnie was helpful and friendly in explaining camp activities and other fun things for kids around surrounding areas.
Jul 26, 2016
Just got back from out trip. It was a nice stay, we rented a small cabin for 4. It was cute. They had different types&size cabins. The creek area in the property is shallow. There were plenty of places nearby where you could drive to. We would definitely stay again. Just a note we wanted to pitched a tent up, they made us take it down. You can only pitch a tent up in the designated spots.
Jul 25, 2016
Wonderful vacation as always!
Jul 25, 2016
lovely, however front cabin at the river (end of the park) is not the prime cabin. People, golf carts, kids, dogs at all hours of the night. Rude teenagers cussing, when asked to quiet down they mooned us. Yup, that's right full on buttock show. Other than that, the bathrooms were par standard, but the workers there were outstanding. Loved them!
Jul 25, 2016
Really nice KOA stayed 07-16-16 thru 07-18-16. Cabin on river was A+. Very nice staff, was a busy full weekend and still moved along thru check in progress fast. Sure did miss seeing David and Sally as they where out of town. Maybe next time. Can't wait to get back to Cherokee, NC.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice facility, friendly staff. Only distraction were the open pit fires each site had. To much smoke.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed our weekend at this KOA. The only bad thing was that we didn't have MORE time. It was great to have so many family friendly activities. We will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2016
This was our second year in a row at KOA Cherokee. We were so impressed with all of the activities for kids.
Jul 25, 2016
the facilities were ok My problem is with the extra fees.A resort fee additional fees for adults and kids that totaled 42 dollars and then still had to pay for some of the kids activities.Pay attention to all the add on folks
Jul 25, 2016
The sites were small (except the premium sites). The guy that led us to our site recommended we change sites due to a large party at the site next to us which I agreed with. They upgraded us to a pull through site but it was still small. They had lots of activities for kids. The pools were nice. The WiFi was not very good. I was impressed with the bath house. It's one of the nicer parks in cheroke
Jul 25, 2016
I have been to this koa at least a half dozen times. Always a pleasure. I will be back.
Jul 25, 2016
One of the most beautiful campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Staff was extremely friendly, van driver, Don, was very knowable of the the area and history, and was a pleasure to ride with. Will definitely have this campground on our list to stay at again!!!
Jul 25, 2016
Our actual stay at this campground went well. I was a bit disappointed in our spot as I put our trailer size, and the spot we got put in was very tight to get into. Our biggest letdown was we got in on a Friday after 4, and the lady at the desk wouldn't even look for any openings, so we had to find a different campground for Friday night, and book for Saturday through Wednesday online.
Jul 25, 2016
Kids will have a great time. Very friendly staff.
Jul 25, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. We were very pleased to bring our granddaughter to spend time with her. She madesome new friend and enjoyed special time with us. Our dog enjoyed the freedom to run at the dog park. We look forward to coming back again next year.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay,thought the bath house was outstanding.water pressure was weak but sufficient. We stayed in a cabin and Will return again but would like to be on the river this time.
Jul 25, 2016
The only real complaint is that the cabins didn't have A/C like other KOA's. We have paid less at others and got A/C. This caught us by surprise as we were expecting it. This is why we rated it 4 instead of 5 stars.
Jul 25, 2016
I was very happy with the campground but I am really surprised with the cost of things. Example the bundles of firewood are $7.00 at the campground and $2.50 at the store right up the road...
Jul 24, 2016
We have been staying here for numorous years and have always enjoyed the campground and its amenities. The area is beautiful with a lot to do. The only thing I can say this year negative is the wi fi was terrible for trying to do some work. And the kids complained that they wished the arcade was better on those days the rain storms rolled through. Thanks again for a great stay at your campgroun
Jul 24, 2016
Cabins were very clean. Great location! Only bad thing was that wifi was very limited.
Jul 24, 2016
We had site 49. Backed in our 36 ft Motorhome. Many sites are the size of a postage stamp. Huge campground-at one point around 12 children went unsupervised in the hot tub. Pool water in both pools cloudy. At least it got quiet at night. If you're retired and like quiet you may not want to visit this campground. Directions on KOA app needs to change. Tells you to come in on Route 19-DON'T.
Jul 24, 2016
Awesome time
Jul 24, 2016
location was great, however I was very dissatisfied with the knowledge of the booking personnel (did not know the site information) also paid more for a site that had less amenidities than other sites that next to ours.
Jul 24, 2016
This was our first RV experience...The Cherokee KOA was lovely..The only suggestion that I would have is to have more staff in the store...It was extremely crowded and there were only 2 people helping customers..there should be a separate line for people who want to buy a bag of ice & not have to wait on a long line of customers who are checking in. But all in all your KOA was great!
Jul 24, 2016
Just wanted to say they have the prettiest bathrooms I have seen in all my travels. Beautiful!
Jul 24, 2016
Enjoyed my stay but when I called to make a reservation for a site near the river or pools, I was told I didn't need one. When I arrived there was only a site away from the river and pools. Otherwise there was a lot to do and loved the shuttle service.
Jul 23, 2016
We love staying in the two room cabins on the river. Normally they're clean when we get there but this time around I swept a bunch of dust and items left behind by the previous family, and cleaned some cobwebs. Also the screens in a couple windows were ripped. The a curtain rod was not staying up so we fixed it with duck tape to keep the curtain up.
Jul 23, 2016
The desk/front staff was very rude and seemed to be bothered when asked questions. The people who were groundskeeping were very nice and social. The front desk threatened to call the cops when my husband asked for an explaination on our camp site.
Jul 23, 2016
I really need WIFI, I think this is obviously the biggest problem at this campground. Also, there are probably some new employees that don't know all the things they need to know. My mom asked where to be picked up at the casino, they couldn't tell her and then when she missed her shuttle it was her fault. Not cool. Otherwise, this is an awesome campground.
Jul 23, 2016
Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
No GPS locator. I passed the campsite and kept trying to follow my GPS. No Cell Phone signal when you get there. I left my Deluxe Cabin to visit and have breakfast with my family they entered my cabin and started removing things and linen before 10am. I came back to my cabin to complete my stay and stuff from my frig was gone. sheets thrown all over the place.
Jul 23, 2016
Bobbi and Lucy were great at the check in and check out. Prices of things there a bit high. Workers are in need of new shirts. Store closes early 9pm sb 10pm.Some employees not so friendly. Overall it was descent.
Jul 23, 2016
If our grandkids and children had come, it would have been great. It ended up just being just my wife 62 and myself 66 and we were put at site 326 and I just had a knee replacement and my wife needs hers done. It was a long walk to everything. I mentioned that the kids had not come when we registered and the lady just said the kids would have loved it. I was charged for 4 adults and2 kids
Jul 23, 2016
Clean and full of entertainment options. Bath houses were the cleanest of any campground I've ever stayed in.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award