Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
This cabin was excellent. The best we've ever stayed in!
Aug 02, 2015
Had a lot of fun. Tubing and hiking was a good time
Aug 02, 2015
I think it is to expensive. I found a great campground in Pigeon Forge that is only 37.00 full hook up. 2 pools lazy river and many more amenities.When it rained everything flooded. Terrible drainage. Not as clean as they use to be. Womans bathroom smelled like urine. Probably want go back after finding this other campground in Tenn. It is futher away but we checked it out after we stayed at KOA.
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time. We camped in a tent. The bath facilities were kept clean. There were multiple activities for my 3yo, and 5yo, and 8yo to do. I was impressed the snack/deli prices were not inflated. We will definitely return. Thanks! !
Aug 01, 2015
Love the deluxe cabins but very expensive.
Aug 01, 2015
We were impressed with the customer service and upkeep. Thanks so much. Go Summer Shiners!
Aug 01, 2015
A very nice campground convenient to the national park. Our site was level with a concrete pad, picnic table and fire ring. The staff was friendly, helpful and arranged for tours, activities, etc. Plenty of kid friendly activities in the park. Only negatives were poor wifi and a lack of hot water in the showers at certain times of the day.
Aug 01, 2015
Overall not a bad campground. We rented one of the nice cabins, but it was dirty with a lot of dust and dead flies on the shelves, top of frige, floor and food residue in the microwave. Gas grill was extremely nasty and in poor condition. The supplied cookware was beyond worn out.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff very rude. Mold present in bathrooms. Staff accused my mother and husband of being liars. Staff put out our fire at 10:30 am when checkout time was 11am.
Aug 01, 2015
There was dredging outside our cabin on pond very noisy in the morning . Porch cabin very dirty cobwebs all over front porch. Shower heads slow water not enough pressure and not very clean.needs more through cleaning walls and corners showers.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the campground but prices have really gone up since I started staying there many years ago.
Aug 01, 2015
The Cabin had holes in the screens and a problem with bugs, when I asked them to repair and spray,maintenance man was very negative & stated it would be awhile before it could be fixed. There was insufficient parking near our cabin due to a huge trailer parked out front. Management said they would have the trailer moved, but that didn't happen. A staff was rude to our grandson with special needs.
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
campsite across from store, supposed to be pull through, but has parking spaces for store in front of it. Store is severly understaffed and poorly managed. One line for store purchases and checkin with the exception of one young lady staff is extremely slow. All this adds to parking confusion in front of store. Employees directing traffic in lot didn't have a clue what they were doing.
Aug 01, 2015
This is our 3rd stay this year. We stayed at one of the cabins. Only issue is that every one we stayed in had ceiling fan issues. They seem to all be unbalanced and were extremely noisy when turn on at night. Otherwise; excellent stay. We will be back.
Aug 01, 2015
We love the KOA in Cherokee! It's our favorite place to camp! Great amenities and friendly staff! The only thing we wasn't pleased with this time is our camping cabin site as the outside was muddy, and some gravel or pavement at site 315 would have been great. We really liked the cable TV and fridge on our rustic site!! Great job KOA, we will return soon!!!!
Jul 31, 2015
Was very disappointed when we arrived 22 hours before check in and was told we could not check in early without paying a 25.00 fee. I have been camping at this KOA for 28 years and on the same site for almost 9 years now and have never been charged a fee before. playground issue. Water issue. Ran out of characters was on site 292 from 6/24-7/29 call me if you want more feedback
Jul 31, 2015
Enjoyed it very much, riverside cabins are great and scenery fantastic. Minor point was enormous smell of vinegar inside the cabin.
Jul 31, 2015
The cabin we rented was great, right next to the river! Amazing scenery & plenty of activities for the grandkids. Had a really good time.
Jul 31, 2015
i have visited many koa's and y far carolyn in the office is head and shoulders above all the other office workers ihave encountered SHE GETS THINGS DoNE i have owned businesses in the past and would have loved to have had carolyn work for me then i met crash not knowing he was carolyns husband he also took care of my cable problem with the same enthusiam that carolyn had WHAT A GREAT PAIR oF
Jul 31, 2015
Do wish campground would place more signs that show correct direction to entrance. GPS can send you the wrong way.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
There is not enough lighting, pot holes. Enjoyed our group,and staff was friendly.
Jul 30, 2015
My wife & I with our 5 grandchildren enjoyed our stay at KOA Cherokee. There were a lot of activities for the kids. They were never bored. The kids ranched in age from 4 to 10. The only fault that I found was there was no supervision when we were tubing on the river/creek. It was kind of scary when I couldn't see the kids when I was stuck on the rocks. There was no help @ the launch area.
Jul 30, 2015
Quite hours were definitely not enforced. People were loud until after 1 AM. One staff member yelled at another staff member very, very loudly in the early morning, in the middle of the camp ground, which I thought was very unprofessional. Take it behind closed doors. Not in front of families. Bees were an issue. Otherwise, it was a very nice KOA. Lots of fun things to do and beautiful camp ground
Jul 30, 2015
I was worried about being so far from town and knowing the family wanting to do things in town . . . then I found out your vans would take us any place and pick us up any time. SCORE 100% for Cherokee KOA! We will be back! ! ! !
Jul 30, 2015
Our grandkids had a wonderful time and Grandpa and I were also impressed. Great facility!
Jul 29, 2015
campgroung great management team awful, not acomidating at all. can not say what is needed in less than 400 characters!
Jul 29, 2015
First of all, the site YOU assigned me was double booked, so I was moved to another site. I was compensated with one free night. Second, The WiFi almost worked one day out of four. Third, the free cable was so snowy, I could not watch it. Probably never will return.
Jul 29, 2015
It was an awesome campground with plenty of activities to be social. The KOA staff was great, friendly, engaging and helpful if you had a question. I definitely plan on visiting again.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff here is very unprofessional, rude, and ignorant. There were multiple problems starting from day one on our six day trip. Debbie is especially rude our son has a learning disability and she continuously degraded him for not answering her questions for his fishing license. He is very shy and get very nervous when people speak to him rudely. Nota kid friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2015
had a great time and will be back.
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Our back in campsite was muddy when it rained, concrete pull thrus are much nicer.
Jul 29, 2015
we had a great time as usual, you shouldn't advertise wifi because it doesn't work
Jul 28, 2015
Employes were extremely helpful and the campground was awesome.
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great time as always. Even though it is a little pricey, this is one of the cleanest campgrounds around. We would love to come more often but can't due to cost.
Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and there was lots to do and we plan on coming again. The kids loved it. We had a deluxe cabin on the river and it was nice and clean. The only con is the pool area both inside and outside really need a good cleaning and sprucing up there was a strong smell of urine when entering the outside pool area on the first day but did not notice it on the second day.
Jul 28, 2015
My twin 3 year olds did not want to come home they loved it so much. I would recommend some rails in the handicap showers though.
Jul 28, 2015
Kids Loved it both said it was their favorite trip yet! Nice large site only negatives is no phone service and WiFi was patchy due to mountains I suppose
Jul 28, 2015
Front Desk Staff was very rude. One point cutting me off as I spoke and wagged a finger in front of my face. Our cabin was very cramped with our campfire/grill placed directly next to our neighbors parking space. Campsite was extremely crowded. Pool was nice but doesn't offset the complete lack of service training of their staff.
Jul 28, 2015
plenty of planned activities options and impromptu things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
This is a fantastic place for families with children. It's like a safe neighborhood for them to ride bikes, swim, and play without the parents being afraid for their safety.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The campground is awesome and the staff at amazing. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the Wi-Fi was pretty much non-existent on our site. There is no phone service if you have AT&T so I really needed Wi-Fi but it was very unreliable.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
If you advertise WiFi you need it can make sure it can handle full capacity, might need to look into having fiber optics installed to get better service

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.