Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 03, 2015
Been coming to this KOA for 10 years. We absolutely love it!
Jun 02, 2015
WiFi is weak. Spaces are very crowded. It unfortunately rained during our stay. Not KOA fault.
Jun 02, 2015
We camped RV style and we loved our stay. There was tons of fun activities or our kids and the grounds were clean and well maintained. The staff was also super helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to going back next year!
Jun 02, 2015
Beautiful and well kept, spacious , super nice people. So much to do and see in and around here. My favourite campsite so far!
Jun 02, 2015
The staff was superb and very profesional. I found them to be very friendly and some of hte happiest folks. Thnaks for such a great experience. Beautiful location as well, and the campground was spotless.
Jun 02, 2015
Nice campground, nice people. Really great place for kids and families.
Jun 02, 2015
Excellent for kids, very friendly and helpful staff, and the restrooms/showers were always clean.
Jun 02, 2015
Friendly staff throughout the campground. Clean campground, family friendly and safe.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
It was busy. Lots of people. All the cabins and RV spots where within spitting distance. Aside from that there where lots of activities going on and it was fun.
Jun 02, 2015
All was good as always , just keep up the good work thanks
Jun 02, 2015
Our favorite place to camp. So clean and well maintained. Staff is very friendly. Will definitely be back.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
It was awesome!
Jun 01, 2015
Golf cart rentals were too expensive. The carts were filthy. Staff was friendly, campground was clean. We had a problem with the refrigerator in our cabin and the staff replaced it very quickly.
Jun 01, 2015
The only reason it is not a 5 star... This camp ground is great, but only on the off times. It really has a hard time taking care of guest when it is full/busy.
Jun 01, 2015
nice place; the only trouble i had was with the internet service: couldn't even send text msgs on my phone. i enjoyed the hot tub and warm indoor pool. employees were friendly and helpful. the bagged ice freezer registered at 0 degrees, which was a pleasant surprise.
Jun 01, 2015
The neighbors beside my family were fighting and drinking. It made for a very unpleasant say. We ended up leaving a day early because of them.
Jun 01, 2015
My only complaint is that there were no blinds or curtains in the front of the cabin. Although we fronted the water, there were often kids running around in front of our cabin as well as people fishing. Being a family of five, it was hard for everyone to get dressed in the bedroom but we had to do that because there were always people loooong in the cabin.
Jun 01, 2015
Our stay at the KOA was great!! Tons of great activities to do & beautiful and clean camp grounds. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Overall we had a great experience and we will definitely be back!!
Jun 01, 2015
Great stay. Cabin was not clean and bathrooms had very little hot water. Other than that, we had the best time ever
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Great amenities. Entry for parking is confusing. Wish the quiet hours were enforced.
May 31, 2015
Great location, well-run, professional staff who wants to be certain you enjoy your stay. Everyone is friendly and welcoming.
May 31, 2015
Great staff, everyone very helpful.
May 31, 2015
May 31, 2015
Our tent stay was great. Staff is eager to please. I will be going back.
May 31, 2015
Everything was ok except for the women's restroom. Two of the toilets were clogged all weekend. One shower had a large portion of tile torn off and the water did not get hot in that one. The other shower had what looked like feces or mud smeared on the wall when we arrived on Thurs. It was still on the wall when I showered Sun. I saw the cleaning ladies in the restroom, but they missed the problem
May 31, 2015
May 31, 2015
We had so many activities! I never had to leave the camp ground n oh gosh the food was perfect! I cooked at camp but we ate at grill and it was soo good!
May 30, 2015
May 29, 2015
great location bathrooms where very clean
May 29, 2015
The stay was great. Very family oriented . Will be back again.The only thing were the toilets don't flush all the way. You have to flush them at least twice for the paper to go down.
May 29, 2015
Nice but very pricey for what you offer in the cabins. No oven or even a toaster.
May 29, 2015
cabin floor was dirty when we moved in. other than that a great place to stay.
May 28, 2015
great amenities and great staff
May 28, 2015
This is our fourth time here and we have enjoyed it each time. Pleasant staff, great amenities, nice mature trees, tubing down the river.
May 28, 2015
the shuttle system left us stranded in town for over an hour. Not much to do if you don't have kids. Alot of kids driving around golf carts. Employees were really great, esp Robert. The tubing was alot of fun
May 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, nice facility,clean and well kept. Laundry very affordable
May 28, 2015
Family friendly campground. Staff was great!
May 28, 2015
Not good but GREAT for the whole family..! Truly a wonderful place to unwind
May 28, 2015
Cabin fan was very noisy, so it had to be turned off to sleep, and set to winter rotational direction, not summer, though in 80's. The bathhouse showers, all of the mens and unisex showers in the furthest bathhouse, had so little hot water pressure and were mixing the warm and cold water so poorly that showers were essentially cold. One of the front desk ladies was not welcoming or overly helpful
May 28, 2015
Facilities were very clean. Camp grounds very impressive. Looking forward to staying in one of the on river cabins. Will be returning in September.
May 27, 2015
WiFi was non existent. As much as we tried could not get on line Barely one bar intermitely. There also was basically now cell phone service
May 27, 2015
we had a great time as always.This is our third year.Everybody is so friendly and helpful.
May 27, 2015
Weather was perfect and so was the campground.
May 27, 2015
Wonderful place to stay!Lots of things to do. Great place to stay if you enjoy motorcycle touring in the mountains.
May 27, 2015
Very clean and well managed. Great camp sites. Fun fishing and a beautiful setting.
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
Our family made the trip to Cherokee with our travel trailer over memorial day. Two other family members decided to join us in the cabins. We all had a great time and the staff at Cherokee Koa did a great job. Tons of stuff to do for the entire family. will Return soon

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.