Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Nov 14, 2013
Came to get away from the city and the staff were great at gettin gme in a site away from others and provided info when I asked!
Nov 14, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
This was our first camping trip with a travel trailer. We enjoyed it! We booked one of the deluxe pull thru sites and it worked great for us as our trailer is a toy hauler with a motorcycle in the back. The site with its' concrete pad made unloading and loading the bike easy. We were impressed with the clean campground and the friendly staff. Thanks a lot.
Nov 14, 2013
the mountains were beautiful. staff was not friendly. trouble finding site. Plenty of staff outside standing around but no one bother to show us to our site. Would not recommend this to any of my friends even though it was beautiful scenery.
Nov 14, 2013
This was one of the worst KOA campgrounds that I have ever visited. Had I arrived earlier in the day, I would have seriously tried to change my camping reservation to a better campground. The bathrooms were horrible. They were poorly maintained with inadequate plumbing, showerheads, and an inadequate number of showers and bathhouses for this campground. I will never recommend this campground.
Nov 14, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
great location,friendly staff,great clean cabin. WELL DONE
Nov 13, 2013
Bath houses were pretty clean. but wife said her shower was just a trickle of cold water. Also, there is no bench and a single hook inside the shower. Guess I'm supposed to dump all my stuff on the shower floor? Had a minor electrical problem in the kabin after hours. It was responded to promptly.
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
Quiet and peaceful during the week. Too many cats. In the cabin close to me, a cat had a litter under the house. The cats roaming free drives the dogs that are on leashes hard to control. Someone, on a Friday night unplugged my electricity and turned my water off. Some people saw a man do it. One of the men on duty came to the campsite but couldn't explain. Worrisome for a woman camping alone.
Nov 12, 2013
Good location, not very clean, cold showers, pool was warm, hot tub hot, but had a foul odor. More attention to being clean.
Nov 12, 2013
I was pleased with the upgrade made with the new coach / air mattress. Significant upgrade from the previous futon. Thanks for the investment.
Nov 12, 2013
Cabin was clean. Staff was most helpful. Location was superb. We had a great time.
Nov 09, 2013
We enjoyed everything except we found out too late we had no cable as was expected (we checked in right before closing) Besides with no cable for the first night and nothing to do, we survived and had a good time at the cabin.
Nov 09, 2013
Water hookup @ site did not work, sewer hookup did not drain, tv was very fuzzy! Later found out from workers that all problems were previously known!
Nov 09, 2013
Traveled 700 miles out of my way to get to this KOA. Best Trip Decision I've ever made. I'll Travel 3500 miles one more time just to see the Place again. Thanks for making our Stay One to Remember for the Rest of Our Lives. W & R Cahill
Nov 08, 2013
After we used our credit card one time on/at your grounds; our credit was fraudulently used the next day in Laverne, TN. But grandchildren had a great time there.
Nov 08, 2013
We rented the Kabins on the river and were given the two with the wooden deck, fire pit etc. that overlooked the river. It was great! Staff went above and beyond to help us and made sure we had what we needed. I will definitely be back!
Nov 08, 2013
Great time wonderful location, I've seen some complaints about wifi ... Come on folks your camping ... Unplug ...excellent facilities
Nov 08, 2013
We had the best time - totally relaxing - lots to do - well kept - friendly and helpful. THANKS
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 06, 2013
Our stay was AWESOME! This is the third time we have stayed at this KOA and plan to go back.
Nov 06, 2013
Nov 05, 2013
all was great as I expected although the TV connection was poor, bad cable connect? I did not watch much,sat by campfire instead...hurray!
Nov 05, 2013
we had a MUCH NEEDED COZY WEEKEND . We loved the cabin by the river and the nice fireplace..we really didnt want to leave. But we do plan to visit there again as often as we can! Loved it!!!!!!
Nov 04, 2013
This campground is in a great location, right on the river. It is upgrading some features like cable and it seems to be getting better. We love this place.
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
our cabin, #240, was right on the river...just as advertised! staff was helpful and friendly!! we had a great time!
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cherokee. We plan a return visit sometime in 2014. The campground is clean and the staff was friendly. Thank you!
Nov 02, 2013
I was told there were no pull thru sites, but there were plenty. The Wi-Fi didn't work. The indoor pool had no showers. The whirlpool did not work.
Nov 01, 2013
Our 5th stay at Cherokee KOA. Never been disappointed. Always get the Kabin we request. Staff is friendly and courteous. Have seen the elk herd last 3 visits. Will keep coming back.
Oct 31, 2013
Enjoyed our stay as always. It would be nice if the camping areas had the small gravel on the ground at the sites.
Oct 31, 2013
The Halloween weekend is great! We have been coming here for Halloween for 12 years now. The only things i would recommend is to fix the jets on the hot tub & keep the temperature up. Also u should upgrade the showers & the ability to handle higher amps for the cold weather, especially for the weekends when the campground will be full.
Oct 31, 2013
Was great place. No communication. Tu reception is good for short time and then is none for a while. Internet stinks. Am seriously considering somewhere else after 10 rye there. They need help!!!
Oct 31, 2013
was amazed at how clean the bathrooms were every time I used them, very nice campground, have stayed there before.
Oct 31, 2013
Oct 31, 2013
It wa Halloween weekend!!! Our kids had the best time
Oct 31, 2013
the ladys in the office were very kind and helpful.i wish I had there names.they help with car rentals and we had phone problems and they let my wife and I use there on personal phone.they went out of there way to make things easy for us.
Oct 31, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Just a LOT of FUN for the whole family... BUT, way too expensive!!! Could get a nice hotel room with service for the same price! This was our very FIRST experience with KOA and our new RV, even up-graded to your 'frequent camper' card, but based upon your charges, I'm not sure at this time whether we'll use you again or "shop around".
Oct 30, 2013
A bit disappointed. The cabin was sufficient but not very clean. Floor was dirty. Shower drain was clogged with hair. Fortunately, we brought cleaning supplies. The staff were not friendly. The store closed at 5, which seemed way too early. Wouldn't use the bath house. We have stayed at many KOA's and will continue. This one was not typical of the brand.
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Great amenities. The only negative is the bugs in My daughter's cabin.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.