Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 16, 2017
- no private tent sites; our site was right by the busy road - wish they had tent sites on river - teenage girls loved the amenities - basketball court and putt putt, bike rentals and pool- would be nice for them to put another net on other side of goal - pool and hot tub looked dirty and cloudy - friendly staff - bathrooms clean - expensive to fish - firewood expensive - game room wasn'
Apr 16, 2017
Beautiful campground! We stayed right on the river on a premium site. Well worth it.
Apr 16, 2017
This is a great campground. The staff is friendly. Donnie is very helpful. The campground offers lots to do and the surrounding area has so much to offer. We are looking forward to coming back this fall.
Apr 16, 2017
Not enough workers at the front desk. Anytime we had questions or needed to purchase something we had a long wait. Front desk staff was not friendly. Wifi was very slow and almost impossible to even check emails. We did however enjoy the facilities and fishing in the pond.
Apr 16, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 16, 2017
Way over priced... they say you have no need to leave.. but store closes to early and the prices are 3/4 higher , half the employees don't know anything or care to, expect a 20 minute wait to get a Pepsi in store as there is 10 employees but only one on the register.. and also make you believe they stock 2 times a week.. but really it's 1 , 1 in pond , 1 in river.. I probably will never go back.
Apr 16, 2017
Stay was great. activities for children wee also excellent. Two complaints-1) cabin had a lot of dust and trash under the bed & bunk beds. Looked as if the cabin had not been cleaned in a couple months. The center of the cabin area had been sweeped it seems. 2) cell phone and Wi=-Fi useless. I have a busines and needed to keep up with emails. Wi-Fi continually droped after only a few minutes
Apr 16, 2017
Awesome Campground!
Apr 16, 2017
Nice and friendly staff beautiful park
Apr 16, 2017
This has been our favorite place to camp for over 10 years, however, this weekend, the camp felt like they were not ready. As well as the employee's were not very friendly.
Apr 16, 2017
Great campground with helpful staff
Apr 15, 2017
Great location. Very nice campground, but except no Wi-Fi or phone service which could be good or bad. Cable TV fuzzy. Bathroom #3 needs attention. Overall very serene and relaxing. Mingo Falls is a must visit
Apr 15, 2017
We had a great time we can't wait to go back
Apr 15, 2017
Great as usual.
Apr 15, 2017
The campground was nice, clean, and close to the Smokey Mountain National Park. Cherokee KOA had a nice indoor swimming pool, playground for kids, river to go fishing, close to town, pet friendly, offered cable with good selection of channels. Activities were not clearly announced, internet was spotty at best, no phone reception, and slow check in and check out. This is not a bad campground.
Apr 15, 2017
Staff was very nice, was disappointed the wifi didnt work. Hope to go back soon!!
Apr 15, 2017
We all had a great time!
Apr 15, 2017
Pros: lots for kids to do, they serve food on site, nice indoor pool Cons: sites very cramped and close to one another, there was a bunch of construction going on when we were there, Wifi didn't work well
Apr 14, 2017
Front desk staff rude and inefficient. JoAnn was particularly out of her league and should not be on the front lines. Does not compare to other KOA's I've stayed at.
Apr 14, 2017
The entire Cox family should get a raise. They each went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay amazing. When one of my dogs had a medical emergency they gladly helped with my other dog. They helped me get settled and were all around amazing. I would stay at another KOA solely based on how they treated me and my family. Thank you again to the Cox family for all their hard work
Apr 14, 2017
Overall nice place to stay. At check-in would of been nice to get a map of layout of park. Counter staff got my payment, called for escort on handheld radio and started waiting on next in line when I still had questions. Dog run area trash was over running and left that way for 3 days. If you are near " bounce house" kids play area you will have A lot of noise from that attraction.
Apr 14, 2017
Lots of activities on site for families with kids
Apr 14, 2017
Except for the ants, our stay was wonderful. Our kids enjoyed the fishing, swimming and the bounce pad. We would definitely stay there again.
Apr 14, 2017
I had a great stay cabin was great,clean but I had problems with checking in and even buying things the line was long and one person working when it seams there was always 2 to 3 people standing around watching also had problems with Wifi always never worked unless standing by office
Apr 13, 2017
Beautiful area for sure! Lots of activities for the kids! Would definitely stay again....however, we were disappointed by the lack of wifi in our cabin due to its location in the camp AND we did not have cable for 3 nights out of our five night stay. Also, service at the office / camp store seemed always busy and a hassle to wait to buy something. Overall though, great family vacation.
Apr 13, 2017
It was nice I like cabin
Apr 13, 2017
The staff was great. The electrical connection was about six feet from where it needed to be for me to plug in (just the way my particular site was configured). They came out with an extension for me and quickly helped us get hooked up. The pool and dog park are fantastic.
Apr 13, 2017
We loved our stay. Lots of amenities, beautiful scenery, nice bathhouse, even a dog park. We loved it and we will be back soon I hope!
Apr 13, 2017
Cabin was very clean. Spot on the river perfect. Store and check in area were great. But as you walk through campground, just not as up kept as other KOAs. Indoor pool area wasn't great. We enjoyed it and will be back.
Apr 13, 2017
No wi-if, no tv. Paid for deluxe cabin for a reason. Had to ask front desk twice for toilet maintenance, and it seemed that we were an inconvenience for them to assist. Horrible experience, and people at desk didn't seem to think it was an issue at all. Why did I pay for a deluxe cabin when I didn't receive what I paid for?
Apr 13, 2017
The campground itself is really nice and clean. The employees however, are extremely rude. We've stayed here twice and it's been the same both trips. Except for about 2 workers, they all have very poor attitudes. Very unfriendly.
Apr 13, 2017
Staff was rude,bathrooms were constantly dirty,pool and hot tub have algae and are green
Apr 12, 2017
Apr 12, 2017
Had the best time ever!!!
Apr 12, 2017
Absolutely loved it!!! We had a late check in, but were still helped out right away!! So friendly and nice, Cabin was Great!!
Apr 12, 2017
Campground has degraded example cable TV didn't work for my entire stay. Informed employee of problems nothing happened. Price is too high for condition of campground.
Apr 12, 2017
The experience was not great and that's not usually the case. Your staff at this location was very, very unprofessional. Staff was complaining about their job during checkin. One was using foul language in ear shot of my kids. We had no hand soap in the bathroom the entire stay. My light switch was broken and reported upon arrival and no one addressed it. I had grass clippings over the porch, et
Apr 11, 2017
Very clean campground with friendly staff and a family atmosphere. I will definetly be staying again.
Apr 11, 2017
Unfortuante weather made it a miserable trip. Bad time of year.
Apr 11, 2017
Other kabin guests took up 3 of the 4 parking spaces alotted for the two kabins. Mentioned this to office but nothing changed. Toilet seat kept falling off and glass tray in microwave was missing. Other than that, comfortable and quiet. We used the Keurig and Adirondack chairs by the fire pit. Location convenient to Mingo Falls and Great Smoky Mountains.
Apr 11, 2017
very nice, roomy RV camp sites.
Apr 11, 2017
Well, I have rarely gone to a campground where I could not put my tent stakes into the ground more than 4 inches. In addition, especially in the Information Age where wireless is a KEY capability to plan hiking adventures and make other reservations - I would rate this KOA as DOA for wireless. Yes, there are two computers in the office (which closes at 6pm...), but I don't want to do that.
Apr 10, 2017
Sites very close together. Not a lot of privacy. Bathrooms very clean though.
Apr 10, 2017
Very accommodating for everyone. The indoor pool was a big plus, because the weather was so cold. Campsites were good along the creek, but the one small complaint....some of the campfires were a bit close to the neighbor next to us, (their cars) overall the KOA of Cherokee is an A+ campground. Our 2nd time there, and we will return.
Apr 10, 2017
1. There was no information on the website that cooking capabilities were removed from cabins. New sinks were way too small for washing dishes. It would have been much better to install a single, mid-size sink and leave the cooking stove in-tact. 2. Pool bathrooms were very dirty.
Apr 10, 2017
Management made every effort to ensure that cabins were clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed, and then some. Campground amenities were open and running, even in the colder spring weather. We enjoyed our stay, and hope to return again soon.
Apr 10, 2017
After last couple seasons getting steadily better I hope they are not reverting to old habits. Plenty "yellow shirts" riding around on golf carts but both the indoor hot tub and pool and the decking around was disgustingly dirty the sides of pool scummy and the water filthy and dingy. Totally disgusting!!!!!!!!
Apr 10, 2017
Unfortunately there were ants all over the cabin. Also, it was very difficult to take a shower because the water was either too hot or cold (handle was broken)
Apr 10, 2017
Had a great get away with my 8 year old son. Plenty to do, great location and close to food shopping and fun.
Apr 10, 2017
The only complaint we have is that it's advertised they have internet yet out of both groups we are with, no one was able to book into the internet.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award