Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 25, 2016
We have been coming to this KOA for 25 years and now we are looking for somewhere different for one thing the price is outrageous you can get a very nice hotel cheaper than you can camp here. I really think you should reconsider this crazy rates then on top of that they throw in a resort fee. I have talked to a lot of people who say they can not afford to stay at the KOA.
Oct 25, 2016
Disappointed this time. Assigned a site &I not allowed to change or pick a different one when usually we can. Site flooded when it rained. Bathrooms not as clean either.
Oct 25, 2016
A very nice campground with clean restrooms and showers! All of the sites are spacious enough. Great amenities, but wifi is not good at all. Camp staff are very nice. We would definitely return if we come to this area again!
Oct 25, 2016
Great experience. Kind and friendly staff. Clean restrooms with hot showers. Lots to do for the whole family.
Oct 25, 2016
The bathroom upgrades are wonderful. It felt so clean! We had a great time!
Oct 25, 2016
It was a nice place with exceptionally clean and updated bathrooms! Would stay again.
Oct 25, 2016
Only problem was power outage on and off on Sat nite and we were in a cabin so we didn't have light.
Oct 25, 2016
enjoyed my stay . very clean and the staff was great . look forward to the next koa
Oct 25, 2016
After 5 months on the road, this was one of our favorite KOAs. Love the area, the amenities and the CG itself. Only negative was one of the ladies in the office was very rude. Wanted to extend our stay by one night and she found every reason we couldn't. I immediately(2 minutes) went online and found available sites. Seems like she just didn't want to make an effort to accommodate us.
Oct 25, 2016
Tent site had no power outlet which made charging cell phones, etc difficult.
Oct 25, 2016
Stayed here for their Halloween family weekend. We don't have children, and it was still a blast!
Oct 25, 2016
This was a wonderful campground, excellent staff they even offered to take my wife and I to the casino because the Cherokee transport was running late.
Oct 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay with the exception of a couple of employees at the campground. We had problems with her last year and we will no longer deal with her no matter how long we have to wait. The other is a man that works the grounds, he was screaming at children for some type of infraction. There is absolutely no reason to treat people so rudely. We did not know these children.
Oct 24, 2016
Look forward to this KOA every fall! It's a three family event yearly. Thank you Cherokee KOA for helping make more memories.
Oct 24, 2016
Came up for Halloween bash. Campground was clean as usual.A wonderful office crew. Love the renovated bathrooms.Really love the Saturday night DJ. Only complaint I have is ,please ask the trash truck to stop coming around at 7-8 am. Some of us old people like our sleep. lol. Keep up the good word.
Oct 24, 2016
The hot water in the shower is not consistent?. The faucet id hard to adjust cabin 389. You either get scolding hot water or freezing cold water!
Oct 24, 2016
Lovely campground but in need of maintenance. Check in attendant was rude. Water pressure was inadequate requiring showers at the bath house. Water pressure there not much better. Drains were clogged, standing in water while showering. Clothes hooks were broken on shower doors. Showers were not heated. My rv was. For a KOA, I expected better, especially for the cost.
Oct 24, 2016
The campground is great! The only complaint I have is the wifi. Please up grade it!
Oct 24, 2016
No electricity means unhappy campers Although we were told it was power co. We were told by other campers it happens every year about this time. We won't stay at this time again.
Oct 24, 2016
Halloween festivities were awesome cabin was nice bathroom clean showers were private nice staff was nice gave poor score due to our first time to stay there we had electricity first night but was cold did not realize until asking staff member next day they provide space heaters got space heater sat but power went out our cabin and bathroom at 32degrees that night We froze will not go back sorry
Oct 24, 2016
This was our 2nd visit and we will definitely be back!!! So much fun for ALL ages.
Oct 24, 2016
Way over priced, lots of deferred maintenance. Staff is the exception, they are great. The owners need to spend some of their over charging on fixing the place up.
Oct 24, 2016
We always have such a wonderful time when we stay at KOA!! Very family friendly environment!
Oct 24, 2016
Location was good, Cabin facility as advt. The bathrooms I feel should have been better managed, looks like toilets were being cleaned only once a day, with having full campground occupancy, it should have been frequent. Wi-Fi signal was very weak, i am against electronic devices during vacation, but with no cellphone signal i feel it should be available thru the campground for emergencies.
Oct 24, 2016
We so enjoyed the Halloween festivities! Thank you for a great weekend!
Oct 24, 2016
We had a great time wand a great view of the river!
Oct 24, 2016
Oct 24, 2016
It was awesome
Oct 24, 2016
Everything was great and we were having lots of fun until our section lost power Saturday night. It went off about9pm and went off and on throughout the night. Finally it stayed off for the rest of the night and was fixed sometime in the morning. It wouldn't have been a problem if it wasn't so cold.
Oct 24, 2016
Loved it😀
Oct 24, 2016
I wish I would have been offered a heater. We got very cold in the one room cabin. I am a catch and release fisherman so I could not fish because I was told I had to keep what I caught.
Oct 24, 2016
Amazing experience, clean, friendly, and wonderful staff. I will be back, over and over.
Oct 24, 2016
Loss power several times no heat froze with 4 mth baby. the worse night ever. Love your campground and activities
Oct 24, 2016
Site was extremely small. #116 it was a paved back in but they paved over large tree roots so it wasn't flat. Also this large tree made it impossible to put up awning. They stated during reservation several weeks before that this was only area with openings however there were numerous pull through and better sites available. Also power kept going out so it was very cold 32 degrees the last night.
Oct 24, 2016
Billed amount while booking is different than the amount charged while checking in. Electricity was off and on. Bathrooms are not that great.
Oct 24, 2016
We had a staff person that was very helpful in helping us back in for our first time.it was very cold that weekend and our furnace went out. The same person suggested a local business to talk with about the problem. Thank you Mr. Work camper!! Sorry we did not get your name.
Oct 24, 2016
Very nice campground. Great area.
Oct 24, 2016
This was our first stay here. A friend recommended this place. We were welcomed with smiles from every one in the team and it was so cold, a room heater was provided promptly. We enjoyed our stay, might return whenever possible.
Oct 23, 2016
Nice campground close to the smokies and blue ridge The campground spots are a little close together
Oct 23, 2016
This is our favorite campground. You are a 10. We love the indoor pool, but would prefer a softer rock Sirius channel, and not quite so loud.
Oct 23, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Great views. Very clean.
Oct 22, 2016
The only thing wrong with our stay is you need to inforce your quiet time at 10 o'clock
Oct 22, 2016
Was not happy withcondition of the site. Was a fire warning out and the sites were all covered with leaves. Neighbors burning in provided ring but move off pad to under the tree.was afraid of a fire and our safty. No handicapped showers. My husband is handicap. Showers not handicap friendly. His bathroom and womens shower curtians had mildew. Fishing was fun but hard to get to for handicap. 
Oct 22, 2016
Excellent campground and facilities always clean. Very good place for kids.
Oct 22, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! Staff was extremely helpful!We needed to change sites and they were very willing to help us get into our new site and set up. Campground was clean and inviting. Internet was very weak. It was possible to get internet in certain areas. The campground was close to shops and sightseeing, yet far enough away to enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of the Smoky Mountains.
Oct 22, 2016
The sites were a little tight, but for the area not bad. WIFI was almost useless and no cable tv. No cell service for AT&T. The area is beautiful, the Kampground was clean and well kept.
Oct 22, 2016
Only complaint is had was the wifi was very poor
Oct 21, 2016
The only issue we had was an invasion of lady bugs. They were dozens everywhere. And I have a great fear of spiders and killed one in the bed. I freaked!!
Oct 21, 2016
Had fantastic time.hope and pray trout ponds are full by March.please email when trout tournament is in March. Thanks
Oct 21, 2016
loved it...thanks for the discounts
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award