Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2016
Great for families with children but also nice for adults.
Sep 06, 2016
When my husband and I called to make reservations we specially asked not to be near the bounce pad or playground. We have kids but thery are older now. The lady said ok when she gave us the spot location I asked again was it near the playground she said no we trusted her word.We arrived late and when we got there the check in people were rude and we were right across from the playground
Sep 06, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Lots to do and very helpful staff. Only recommendation is to give the cabins a good cleaning. The floors were very dirty and not swept and had a lot of spider webs and ants. Other than that, it was great!
Sep 06, 2016
Stay was great except renters of the cabin next door left 2 dogs while they were gone and they barked repeatedly all day until 10 pm.
Sep 06, 2016
The campground itself was very nice, but it was super loud from early morning til late at night. Every morning a trash truck came about 7 am and I think it woke everyone so then everyone was up super early! People were up past 12 at night even though there was a quite time. You would think the worker would tell people to quite down , but they didn't.
Sep 06, 2016
KOA employee Donnie was very helpful and curtious! Will definately be back!! Thanks again from Bruce, Glena, Bruce Jr, Erica, and Carl!
Sep 06, 2016
Only real issue was the bad thread on the sewer hookup on site 220:we had to hold the hose in position every time we dumped. We would have appreciated some more grocery variety at the store. For the rest great campsite.
Sep 06, 2016
We love this place! Such a great atmosphere!
Sep 05, 2016
The good: clean,well maintained park. The kids activities were nice and we liked the outdoor movie. The bad: kids riding electric motorcycles at 20mph unsafe. Loud music being played all around. The cable TV was fuzzy and went out twice. The area for bike and golf cart parking was confined too small area. One staff member had a bad attitude.
Sep 05, 2016
Great get away to Cherokee and the Smoky Mountain Area. Staff was very friendly, nicest facilities in the area. Look forward to returning.
Sep 04, 2016
Loved our camp site on the river !!
Sep 04, 2016
Lovely location. Lovely spot. Awesome staff!!!!
Sep 03, 2016
Great time. Clean and quiet. P
Sep 02, 2016
great facilities, clean and new updated bathrooms. The laundry room was in a great condition as well. pools are nice and fun for the kids. the rental bikes and tubes could be a little bit cheaper though.
Sep 02, 2016
Very nice campground and very convenient access to GSMNP. Could have done without the manager's cat who roams around and liked to sit on our step, patio, and table. It is my understanding that the pet policies do not only apply to dogs but all pets.
Sep 02, 2016
Beautiful location and the hot tub saved us as we've traveled on a motorcycle across the US but there's no cell service the wifi isn't good and the neighbors partied all night. Sarah was very sweet tho
Sep 01, 2016
Love it...will go back again and again. Stayed several times at this location and always had fun.
Sep 01, 2016
Very relaxing great service wonderful amenities wonderful employees! Michelle joanne Lucy Laura Everyone went out of the way to make our day great! We will be back!
Sep 01, 2016
We love staying at the KOA in Cherokee. It is our favorite place to camp. It is always clean and the accommodations are wonderful.
Sep 01, 2016
Stayed for a week. When I set up my reservationI was told I had an RV site next to the stream. The site was in the middle of the park. Also the staff failed to notify me during the check in that the lakes had not been stocked in several months and that the fish that were in the lake had died due to weather conditions. I wont be staying with this koa again. They charged way to much
Aug 31, 2016
had a great time, very nice camp site, very clean, staff very helpful and friendly, thank you
Aug 31, 2016
We rented a deluxe cabin on the river. Cabin stunk and was very hot inside when we checked in. It should be opened up, aired out, and cooled down before the guest checks in. Towels, etc should be changed out daily for new ones, shouldn't have to ask. Other than that we had a great stay at in a beautiful location!
Aug 30, 2016
Love this campground! Stayed there 18 years ago, it was great then and great now!
Aug 30, 2016
very small space to set up camper!
Aug 30, 2016
We were looking for a quiet getaway from the heat, Cherokee KOA was just that. The park was clean and the pull through sites were very large enough to feel you had some privacy. We enjoyed watching all the small children on Saturday. We had one issue and that was the unsafe acts of the kids buzzing around on the small bikes that was rented at the campground. The children were not paying attention
Aug 29, 2016
Absolutely loved it. Coming back next year!
Aug 29, 2016
I was looking for a campground that had a great family atmosphere swimming pool inside and out restaurant on site a great staff and beautiful grounds. I found all that and more and a site large enough for my 12 person tent with screen porch. Koa is the only campground we will stay at front this day forward. Thanks for a wonderful experience Chris Brown
Aug 29, 2016
Personally I had a great time. Cabin was clean and we had everything we needed. We had several other people who went the same weekend and it was a fun relaxing weekend.
Aug 29, 2016
This is the 3rd time I have been to this KOA. Had no issues previously. This was for my son's birthday and it was horrible. People were rude especially to one of the girls in our party who has lymphoma. She was wearing shorts and a shirt in pool due to scars on her body and it not being sanatory for her to wear swimming suites and they told her she couldn't swim in what she had on. Rude rude rude
Aug 29, 2016
I was a litte disappointed in thye quality and quanity of kitchen utensils and the fact that no dishwashing soap was in the cabin. Other than those very minor issues, the ccampground deserves the 10 rating.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
I come here 3-4 times a year and rent the delux cabins. The AC was broken when I checked in. They could not fix it Friday. No one showed Sat. I requested again. Still could not fix and they put in a temporary one sat night. I waited about 3-4 hours for someone to show. Also requested another pillow and was told no that they did not have any?? Had 5 in my cabin and I needed an extra one.
Aug 29, 2016
Nice campground. Site could have been leveler and the roads could have been wider
Aug 29, 2016
Very nice facility. Friendly and helpful staff. However, rates to rent bikes and golf carts way too expensive.
Aug 28, 2016
We have brought our 5 grand kids for the 3rd year in a row. A lot of activities for the kids. They enjoy bicycling around the camp without any grown up supervision.
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
A bit more expensive than most KOA campgrounds for a tenter that wants electricity. The place is well cared for and clean.
Aug 26, 2016
did not get to stay but one night because child injured his leg on the bouncy pad had the go to ER staff was very helpful and showed true concern for him
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
Wonderful campground but could greatly improve on the WiFi
Aug 26, 2016
One of t.he top parks I have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2016
Me and my son stayed the weekend and had a great time !
Aug 26, 2016
Cherokee KOA is the nicest KOA that I've stayed in. I've been in several, in 18 states, in the past three months. Excellent layout. Plenty of room. We stayed on a premium lot with stone patio, patio furniture, and paved parking.
Aug 24, 2016
CABLE BARELY WORKED FOR PART OF THE STAY. THE WI-FI CONNECTION EVEN AT THE HOT-SPOTS WAS TERRIBLE. PRICES SHOULD BE LOWER DUE TO THESE TWO THINGS THEY ADVERTISE AND CHARGE FOR. THE CAMPGROUND AND WORKERS WERE NICE. THERE WERE LOTS OF ACTIVITIES THAT YOU COULD ACCESS THROUGH THE KOA, THAT JUST ISN'T WHAT WE WENT THERE FOR.
Aug 24, 2016
great place been coming for years, love the area
Aug 24, 2016
This is a beautiful well maintained campground. It has changed a lot in the past few years. It is more suited for families w/kids or grandkids.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to camp one of the best
Aug 24, 2016
Great. The grandkids loved it.
Aug 24, 2016
Great amenities, but the whole campground has a drainage problem. There were puddles everywhere. There is also no room for parking for the tent sites unless you park in the deep mud. Also, most of the games in the game room were busted, and the recreation post closed at like 5, so no putt putt.
Aug 24, 2016
Drove 3 hours for a 3 day stay only to find out that the fishing tournament had been cancel. Could have had better communications.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award