Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 29, 2014
The KOA was good, a little run down. We were beside of the trampoline, so that was sortof annoying. Cherokee is a very nice place, close to the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
everyone was very polite and the campcround is very clean and appears to be in a good state of repair
Sep 29, 2014
There was a steel basketball hoop set up near to our site and right in the middle of campers instead of being located with other recreational facilities. It was very annoying to hear the banging of the rim for hours on end one day. Otherwise facilities were good. One other detractor was the road noise, but the campground cannot do much about that.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Everything was clean.The amenities were great!The only complaint I would be able to make is the women's bath house near our cabin (68) was in disrepair one shower inside the bathroom was taped up and unusable and poured water constantly and the other shower sprayed water into the floor in front of the sinks so if you were just using the bathroom you had to wade through shower water.
Sep 28, 2014
Arrived to find I had a beautiful cabin with everything furnished. The deck overlooked a mountain creek and was complete with a gas grill for outside cooking. Had a great stay.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
My son and I enjoyed our stay, especially going tubing. The campgound was fun and 'resort'like camping.I had told my son I would rent him a bike and ride with him for the 30minute rental after we packed up our tent site. I did not like that we could not use the bikes or pool after we had checked out of our tent site.
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
First time at this campground and it was very enjoyable. The only problems we encountered were the water pressure in the showers and the time it took to figure out how to get hot water. However, I was told that the shower/bathhouse #1 is to be rebuilt. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and the camp store one of the very best I have ever been in. All in all I will most likely return.
Sep 26, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA and we loved it. Beautiful site for our motorhome next to the river with rapids, people fishing and the majestic mountains all around us. Breathtaking.
Sep 26, 2014
I wanted to take a relaxing vacation for a few days, and get away from it all. Ive stayed in KOA cabins all my life, and I knew KOA would be a place to go. I researched about 8 of them, but the one in Cherokee was the best. A day before arriving, I emailed them asking what time are they open to, as I planned a "late arrival". Well, they said they closed at 6pm. I found this odd. Ive NEVER had a KO
Sep 25, 2014
Friendly family campground. Fun for all ages.
Sep 25, 2014
Everything was great except for one thing. The sewer connection at our back-in site was uphill from our camper connection,so it did't drain as well as it should. Other than that we enjoyed the stay.
Sep 25, 2014
Roads seem to be in disrepair. Not many people abided by the rules and regulations as far as clothes lines, and walking through your site with you sitting right outside your camper. Most of the standard sites need resurfaced and repaired. Office personnel were pleasant but not knowledgeable of events in the area. Prices were a little high for this time of the year.
Sep 25, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
Hi, I want to start by saying that the staff was top notch. only found one toilet room that locked on the mens side. I even opened the door on some poor woman sitting on the can. I realize that being in a mountainous region you can't do much about the wifi signal but it wasn't available. Don't advertise free wifi that doesn't work! Overall my stay was nice. Just a few glitches.
Sep 24, 2014
Wonderful!
Sep 24, 2014
Great trip, Will bring the grand kids next time to enjoy the play grounds and pools.
Sep 24, 2014
Beautiful location. nice LARGE heated/covered pool & hot tub. Second pool and hot tub outside with a waterslide & childrens waterplay area. Great people.
Sep 24, 2014
Bathrooms was not cleaned for a whole day and a half even after we told a gentleman that the two that came to clean would just set in front of the bathrooms taking pictures of each other then would drive around to the other side and do the same. VERY disappointed in the cleanest of the camp ground.
Sep 24, 2014
Great facility with wonderful personnel. Only drawback was a stopped up drain in the men's shower building. Thanks Colby for opening the rec room for us.
Sep 23, 2014
We have been coming to this KOA for 25 years. It will probably be our last. The woman that checked us in did nothing but argue with us and tell us we didn't know what we were talking about.The $3.50 charge per day for a RESORT is bull crap.Nothing has changed for the better at this KOA in 25 years and it's no resort.We were furious the gate to the pond was boarded up.Get the code box fixed!!!!
Sep 23, 2014
Site exceptionnel, piscine extérieure plutôt froide, personnel très courtois.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
lovely campground.a little far from town on a narrow road. great place to take kids camping.
Sep 23, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA Cherokee. The Deluxe Cabin was more than we expected. It was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely return!
Sep 23, 2014
Restrooms should have been cleaned daily
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
while returning to find the camp all we remembered,l would like to say that it was a bit dissapointing to find our cabin was not as accomadating as previous rentals. also you should update online because style names of cabins do not match up to your camp overview phamplet. Seems a bit deceiving. you advertise two playgrounds and only have one.No sink in bathrooms? and stovetops do not heat up well
Sep 22, 2014
Granddaughter loves your campground. Only wish the price wasn't so high, we could come more often.
Sep 22, 2014
Beautiful site (#378)backed up to a creek, perfect weather, friendly & helpful staff.
Sep 22, 2014
had a great time staff were very friendly !
Sep 22, 2014
Enjoyed our stay.This was our third time staying and can't wait to camp there again!!
Sep 22, 2014
Enjoyed my stay here. No problems whatsoever. Very clean park and restrooms. Very courteous staff. Will be back.
Sep 22, 2014
Check in was excellent and the staff was very friendly. However not clean. The pool was dirty but I could over look that because yes we are kamping but the Bathrooms are NASTY. Several times through out our stay they would pull up to clean but never get out of the golf cart, then they just drive off. When we left on Monday the bathroom had not been clean since Saturday Night.
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
We have always loved this KOA. However, management has changed which has caused many staffing and property changes. As a result, many people have not returned. The focus needs to be put back on customer service and not on the bottom line. Secondly, it has been a year full of empty promises regarding the wifi. It is time to get the wifi completed or stop lying about deadlines.
Sep 22, 2014
We stayed in one of the single cabins for two nights. Very peaceful place. Staff was very friendly, and the place well kept. Already told 3 people they must go. Definately returning next year after winter goes away.
Sep 22, 2014
The campground, service, weather was awesome. Thank you for caring.
Sep 22, 2014
Great place, very relaxing, store closes early, so get needed supplies ahead of time.Kampground is well kept, great staff alway"s ready to help , A little hard to find my GPS did'nt find it set cord. before leaving for easy return. Been looking at Cherokee koa for about 3 years no regrets Enjoyed are stay. Now it's your turn plan your trip today!!!!
Sep 22, 2014
ALWAYS GREAT!!Great facilities, great people, great value!!
Sep 22, 2014
Great fun for kids. Polite staff. Definitely will bring the family here again
Sep 21, 2014
I enjoyed my weekend at KOA...so relaxing!
Sep 21, 2014
We totally enjoyed our week staying here. So relaxing....We didn't want to leave! See you next year!
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
We were told we couldn't rent tubes for the river. By luck, one of our party asked a different employee and was told that we could. We lost valuable tubing time before we finally were able to tube. Also, I was told I could switch to a different cabin closer to my friends if I came back after 3pm. I came back and they wanted to charge me $50. The earlier employee wasn't going to charge extra.
Sep 21, 2014
we had a great time. the staff is very friendly and the campsites are very clean. we checked out other campgrounds while there and yours is the best around.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.