Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2015
Wonderful mountain views, excellent place to get away from the hustle and bustle. Disconnect from all the Internet devices and go camping!
Jun 09, 2015
Great as usual. Love it
Jun 09, 2015
Great time. Lots for the kids to do, helpful staff and very clean. We'll be back when we're in the area.
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very. Staff was great and very friendly.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Thomas, tamie and terrible we're all delightful members of the koa team! The staff kept the restrooms extra clean which is always super important to usee parents with children. Staff always had a positive attitude any time we had questions. One suggestion would be to have more individuals working the food service bar next to pool, there were several times we had to wait 30 min or more!
Jun 09, 2015
The cabin and campground was great. The only bad thing was the evening sun made our cabin hot.
Jun 09, 2015
Great staff. Fun amenities. Very clean and maintained. Easy check-in. Beautiful location and surroundings.
Jun 08, 2015
The campground was very nice. A group of about 20 camped next to us. Very noisy. No peace. Would have moved except friend in cabin next to us.
Jun 08, 2015
All in all this KOA was pretty good. We had a couple of rude hosts but most were friendly. The grounds and activities are certainly important B+,but the friendliness of the hosts, workers is key to guests returning.
Jun 08, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. Didn't want to leave!
Jun 08, 2015
We had a wonderful time! This was our second trip to the Cherokee KOA. My daughter requested this trip her High School Graduation present because she enjoyed it so much the first time. The only problem we had was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock and couldn't be fixed because the parts weren't available but overall I would highly recommend this KOA.
Jun 08, 2015
Our family had a great time while staying at this KOA campsite. My son had a blast riding his bike, swimming, tubing, playing in the river, jumping on the jumpy pillow, hanging out with friends, and participating in the recreational activities. Our primitive cabin was perfect and the bath house was not far. The bath house was clean too. The KOA staff were very friendly.
Jun 08, 2015
This was a trip to celebrate the ending of End Of Grade testing for my two Daughters (12 & 10), and we had a blast. Thank You so much!!! John, Sara, Katherine & Emma Mertz of Asheville, NC
Jun 08, 2015
Stayed in the deluxe cabins on the river. So clean, so much fun the kids did not want to leave the river outside our cabin. We will be back soon. Loved it!
Jun 08, 2015
My wife and I had had an amazing stay here. All the staff were always courteous, helpful and friendly. No question went unanswered, no request went unfulfilled. Thanks for a fun and relaxing week! Tim and Sara Gillespie.
Jun 08, 2015
I camp here every yr & really enjoy it. Seems to rain on my stay every yr haha. I do wish you would spray the poison ivy in tent sites. All 7 of us are broke out with it.
Jun 08, 2015
Wonderful stay. Staff is great with kids activities. Would like to have a shelve or hooks in showers to put clothes and towel. BEST KOA EVER!
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great trip. A little disappointed to find out the One room cabins did not have A/C. The previous two KOA's we have visited did. Therefore, I assumed it was a standard. I'll know to check closer in the future. Weather was absolutely perfect. Couldn't have ask for a better weekend. Kudos to the Family/Kids program. Very Very happy with our $6 T-shirts and loved the dance party music.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
The staff members were very attentive and helpful, and always greeted with a friendly smile. The staff seems to have a vested interest in their guests.
Jun 08, 2015
Very nice stay
Jun 07, 2015
Cabin was very clean. Great activities for children. It was a safe environment for our autistic children. Employees were very friendly and greeted everyone with a smile. Going to plan another vacation for next year.
Jun 07, 2015
Outstanding facility - everything well maintained with a lot of amenities
Jun 07, 2015
Beautiful. Very clean. Hugely kid friendly with constant kid activities. Much to do close by. Staff friendly and helpful. This was our fourth visit and we will do it again.
Jun 07, 2015
We had ur kids meet us from out of state and we all arrived at different times. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe cabin with my daughters family. On booking we were told that they would honor my daughter's military I'd for the discount, but they did not arrive until 3 am. We were assured her discount would be applied upon arrival. We were denied this discount the next day. I had to pay in full.&
Jun 06, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice and relaxing loved the local recreation center girls that take care of all the crafts and children's activities. Very clean and we had a wonderful relaxing stay. Thank you! !! I will recommend this campground to all my friends back home in Texas.
Jun 06, 2015
Great campground, excellent staff offering full service. We have a 40' MH and the site was perfect.
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice looking and clean. The staff was helpful and waited to bring us back to camp after a show that had run way over. Thank you very much.
Jun 06, 2015
Wi-Fi signal was very weak. My tablet was slow or non-functional.
Jun 06, 2015
As a family with three children we were very happy with everything. Very quiet and extra clean. But other reviews were correct, the "old ladies" in the office, not friendly at all, all business.
Jun 06, 2015
Great camp ground. Very family friendly. There are activities for the kids. Clean facility. Friendly staff.
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice campground and facilities. Took a group of friends and everyone thought the same. We will be back.
Jun 05, 2015
Great KOA , plenty to do in campground. Get up early and see the park, then spend the afternoon fishing, tubing , or swimming at the KOA , they have bikes also.
Jun 05, 2015
Loved our cabin with porch over the water. Peaceful and beautiful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Cabin was very nice. Loved our stay
Jun 05, 2015
This was our second stay at KOA CHEROKEE...will definitely return again. 👍👍
Jun 05, 2015
Lisa and Carol were so friendly as well as the rest of the staff we came in contact with. We wish we would have stayed longer. It was fantastic!
Jun 05, 2015
We came up to camp for the weekend and fish and unfortunately we never put our poles in the water. My daughter woke up saturday morning and needed to go to the hospital and was admitted for surgery for her gall bladder. We spent the week in the hospital and never got to enjoy the campground. We will return another time to finish what we started.
Jun 03, 2015
the staff were accommodating and friendly .. park was clean . the ammedities were great! would have liked to see the pool open later hours ..
Jun 03, 2015
Requested a space for my 33 ft travel trailer for 1 week, when we checked in our space was too small trailer but not room for truck. Too many kids running wild, had lots of koa people joy ridding around in their golf carts but not enforcing rules. Price wal out of line too high for area total rip off
Jun 03, 2015
My family and I loved this campground. So many things to do and very friendly environment. LOVE IT AND WILL BE BACK
Jun 03, 2015
I love this campground.I love the hot tub and pool,the fact that fishing is available,it is pet friendly,the nice restrooms and showers,the river,The van that will take you on tours.It is also nice that it has a place to get food,and the movie on the weekends.It is also great that it has fire pits that you can grill on.The people there are also very friendly!
Jun 03, 2015
The fishing use to be awesome, now you're lucky to catch a fish,don't know what happened. Some staff were very rude. Not sure if I'm going back.
Jun 03, 2015
Been coming to this KOA for 10 years. We absolutely love it!
Jun 02, 2015
WiFi is weak. Spaces are very crowded. It unfortunately rained during our stay. Not KOA fault.
Jun 02, 2015
We camped RV style and we loved our stay. There was tons of fun activities or our kids and the grounds were clean and well maintained. The staff was also super helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to going back next year!
Jun 02, 2015
Beautiful and well kept, spacious , super nice people. So much to do and see in and around here. My favourite campsite so far!
Jun 02, 2015
The staff was superb and very profesional. I found them to be very friendly and some of hte happiest folks. Thnaks for such a great experience. Beautiful location as well, and the campground was spotless.
Jun 02, 2015
Nice campground, nice people. Really great place for kids and families.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.