Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2015
KOA makes you feel special and like family. I love the staff.
Aug 08, 2015
We asked for a site with sewerage, we were told we couldn't get one. The site next to us with full hookup was empty our entire stay. Also a pillow was on the ground in the site next to us, that was never picked up as trash
Aug 07, 2015
We have spent thousands$ at your campground over the years. Our last stay,we witnessed one of your older workers yelling at the kids that clean the cabins,two days in a roll.We as campers dont need to see this.My wife was so upset she wanted to leave.The third evening my Son was standing by the basketball court, when one of your older workers started yelling get off the ball court.Wont be back!!!!
Aug 07, 2015
we loved every minute. the sites were wonderful and the staff and amenities are the best. we will return
Aug 07, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Will return many times.
Aug 07, 2015
We loved our stay. The kids loved the pools and other perks, including movie night. We had a couple of very nice gentlemen camping in the next tent site. The only downside was the volume of night traffic on Big Cove Road and the constant chorus of bullfrogs (which kids found charming, but adults not so much).
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
I have stayed here before and have enjoyed our previous visits. However, this time we were placed next to the dog park and we didn't even have a dog. The smell was horrendous. We didn't even stay at the site except to sleep. With this exception, this is an excellent place to camp. There are lots of activities for everyone. The staff is friendly and the camp is clean.
Aug 06, 2015
Had some issues with the water and sewer right after arrival but they were taken care of quickly.
Aug 06, 2015
Our site was located up front and very noisy. Delivery trucks woke us up by 7:30 am with their airhorns and jake brakes. The DJ kept us up after quiet time. People kept walking through our campsite to get to the pool and store. It has alot to offer for young families who are used to noise and no sleep. The staff was very polite, but not too accomodating. They refused to let us rent a deluxe cab
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
This KOA is a very clean campground. Stayed here several times. Employees where very nice, smileing, and asking how you are. This time I brought my 2 grandchildren. I would like to see lights at the playground where children could play more. Your employees would have everyone leave at dusk. But we all had a very pleasant stay.
Aug 06, 2015
The cabin was not clean? (Not swept and spider webs were all over the rails) the womens restroom was not kept up. Your security did not run through the night. There was a man standing by our cabin at 2:00 a.m. Our maltese saw him before my husband did. The pools and all were great. We have camped there for years, this time was a disappointment to the usual high standards there.
Aug 05, 2015
Great place so much for kids to do
Aug 05, 2015
Campers near by played music very loud all weekend!
Aug 05, 2015
Most of the staff was very helpful however there were a few staff members at the sign up for shuttles and bike rental who were not helpful. Sign in was easy and cordial by some of the staff but others were not very friendly.
Aug 05, 2015
So much to do - so little time
Aug 05, 2015
Very good campground. Lots of activities: pools, jumping pillow, putt-putt, banana bikes, etc. Good looking store and friendly staff. The wood was somewhat wet, but we managed to have a couple of fires at night. The Campfire Cafe was a nice addition when you don't want to go anywhere to eat. And we LOVED banana bikes. The campground is huge and paved, it was a great workout and fun riding those.
Aug 05, 2015
Cabin needs a recliner we had a good time very quiet a good rest thanks
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time. Being grandparents and spending time with our grandchildren and family made for a lot of memories. Beautiful campground coming back in 3 weeks.
Aug 04, 2015
Our stay was good,but not as good as previous years. I have a problem with the new early arrival fee. Don't think this is necessary. Enough is charged already.Also there were holes on my site that someone could step into and fall. There has been a tree cut down on the same site but the stump still remains. Stump needs to be level with the ground. Just don't want anyone to get hurt.
Aug 04, 2015
Had an issue with tv reception, campground had cable issue, that was the only problem we had
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The cabin was very clean,staff very friendly.We took the shuttle when we went white water rafting & zipling on two seperate days and each of our drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable.The weather was perfect.We had a great time and we will be back again!
Aug 04, 2015
A little pricey. Should offer more stay 2 nights get 3rd one free.
Aug 04, 2015
Fun trip. Campground was clean and problems were solved quickly.
Aug 04, 2015
Enjoyed the campground. There was several fun things to do right there for kids. The staff was helpful when I didn't like the first spot and they let me choose another one. I would probably not go during a peak holiday as I can see it might get pretty crowded. Sunday-Wed was a good time frame for us. Enjoyed it.
Aug 04, 2015
As always, we had a great time! This visit we stayed a full week and did not want to leave. The staff is friendly and the accommodations on the deluxe sites are great! We will definitely be back! My only suggestion would be to fix the WIFI. While we need to get away to disconnect, sometimes I have to connect for work, and it was very difficult.
Aug 04, 2015
Great
Aug 04, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back. Only complaints were the pool water was merky & the campground lost water for a while one evening.
Aug 04, 2015
We stayed with 5 grandchildren and they had a blast..didn't want to leave KOA to go anywhere else. We all had a wonderful time.
Aug 04, 2015
The area that the campgrounds is located are beautiful and all the staff were polite but there were too many cabins too close together which made for a lot of concentration of smoke.kids running wild in all of camp area.If a child is in the road there should be a parent with them at all times.
Aug 04, 2015
It really was awesome. We had the best time. Campsites are a little close but other than that it was a wonderful time. Very Clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Granddaughters, age 10 love it there, enjoy all the activities available. Rented a deluxe cabin this year instead of bringing our motorhome... Only a few concerns... silverware holder of dish drainer in kitchen is in desperate need of cleaning and sanitizing, bedroom needs a small ceiling fan or wall fan, spatula needed in kitchen. Otherwise, good, wholesome family fun is likely with every stay..
Aug 04, 2015
Great activities for the kids. pool was a little cloudy. snack bar says it stays open till 8pm but when we got in line at 740pm and waited till we reached the counter they said they stop serving at 745pm-very disturbing. cabin neighbors were sleeping outside on ground with trash all around them. no KOA employee approached them which was disturbing.
Aug 04, 2015
Biggest KOA I've ever seen! Great facility and very helpfull staff, especially someone named Miles who helped me when someone backed into my motorcycle at the registration parking lanes.
Aug 03, 2015
Best vacation ever!! Can't wait until November when we get to enjoy it again!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Would recommend it to anyone. Loved it.
Aug 03, 2015
we stayed here for a weekend trip to the mountains, the cabin was great and the staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
KOA has gone down hill, I have stayed there for almost every year for the past 25 years n this is the worse I have seen it. They ask enough money more then a nice hotel n at least they can do is clean the cabins n make sure light bulbs n fans work. Cob webs everywhere, I had to clean the cabin when I got there. Bathrooms discusting n run down. U make enough money to make these up keeps, bad mgnt
Aug 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in (242) was in really bad shape. I expected more from KOA and the price tag . The campground was a 9, the cabin was a 3
Aug 03, 2015
Awesome place to camp with kids!
Aug 03, 2015
had a lot of fun stayed at campground with kids cause it was a moneysaver and so much for them to do they loved the movie nights but not having enough butter ordered for popcorn that they look forward to all day is inexcuseable. cabin great. bathhouses clean and nice. laundry wonderful. too many large rvs around the cabin areas tho there should be separation somewhat there but we loved our stay.
Aug 03, 2015
Pool was dirty. Screens on windwos ripped. Screen door wouldnt shut.. update .. fans not working properly . BATS IN CABIN.
Aug 03, 2015
It was to crowded and way over priced the cabin we stayed in had no air conditioner and the showers were horrible the water just cut off and no way to flush or anything. We could never take aa shower it was so crowded. After almost paying 100 dollars a night i could have gone to a motel and had a way better experience.I would not recommend this campground to anybody. I would not even give it a 1
Aug 03, 2015
The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Probably one of our best and most fun camping trips to date!
Aug 03, 2015
We always love coming here each year and staying at KOA as they offer lots of activities for the kids to enjoy and have fun doing.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
My husband and I have 2 children 8 and 3 years old. This was our first but definitely NOT our last time at the KOA in Cherokee. It was so much more than expected and plan on booking in the future! Our kids loved everything about it as did we! The cabins are adorable and cozy!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.