Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2017
Our stay was WONDERFUL. It was so wonderful that we have already made reservations to come back for Memorial weekend 2018! I only have 1 complaint about the park, the WiFi isn't strong enough for the capacity of the park. I go to school online and need WiFi to be able to have an internet connection. I have a MiFi in the camper, but the park's WiFi blocks it. The park is VERY kid friendly!
Sep 05, 2017
Very clean campground with clean facilities. We had a studio cabin and it was wonderful. Very clean and had all the items stocked as promised. It even had a gas grill on the deck we were not expecting and it was great. The staff was so wonderful and helpful! We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great place for our family get together. We all had a wonderful time!
Sep 05, 2017
This is a wonderful campground with great staff. We were there probably one of the busiest weekends and they were amazing in their efficiency. The one thing that I think should be noted to those booking is that because this is in the beautiful valley of the mountains, cell phone connectivity is extremely limited and the wi-fi while available can be overwhelmed so you should not count on reception.
Sep 05, 2017
A little too family friendly, I would stay again off season! Also, could not use internet or cell data there, I could not work. The wifi cannot handle the amount of devices there when you are full, a bit disappointing it understandable.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
The Women's bathhouse was out of toilet paper two mornings in a row. The men's bathhouse was trashed by I hope kids the night of the 3rd. I went into the bathhouse at 8 am on the 4th and found it trashed. The WIFI did not work . On Friday there were plenty of happy and friendly staff. The dump station is difficult to maneuver into due to it's tight location. This one is not on my return list.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great time. We look forward to coming back! There were a lot of activities for us to enjoy. The bathrooms got very dirty and ran out of toilet paper on Sunday. We went to the main office and they sent someone to clean and bring toilet paper. The neighboring campsites also had multiple cars and were very loud after quiet hours. Those are our big complaints.
Sep 05, 2017
We were placed in a pop up site that had huge mud ruts. We were unable to park our car at the site. There was no sewer at the site. The staff were unfriendly. We ordered breakfast from the snack bar and waited over an hour for service. The breakfast we got was a joke.
Sep 05, 2017
Kind of a last minute decision to camp in a cabin. We were well pleased and will definitely consider other KOA sites as well as this one again. We were glad the young lady that works with recreation was willing to pull together an informal church/devotional service Sunday morning. I suggest that you keep up the church service option even after the camping season starts to wind down. Thank yo
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was good other than the site we were on had over grown grass. The sites are very close to each other. We had a good time and we will maybe go back at a less popular time.
Sep 05, 2017
My family and I really enjoy coming to KOA Cherokee. There is so much for our kids to do, my wife and I can just sit back and relax.
Sep 05, 2017
We reserved a premium site, paid a premium rate, but did not receive a premium site.The abandoned wood shed took up a large portion of our site preventing us from using our awning and fully enjoying the site.The shed faced towards our camper so we had to look into the decay each time we wanted to sit on the picnic table or around the fire ring.The pad was muddy with pallet imprint upon arrival.#56
Sep 04, 2017
We love the KOA at Cherokee and have been coming back for several years. However, the rates have gone up considerably even though the amenities are the same. I didn't realize we were staying at a Deluxe site and paid $100+ per night. The actual site was very nice, but we were unable to sit outside most of the day because of the hot sun and our awning didn't help. Another site perhaps?
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We love the KOA in Cherokee,we will be back . Misty Myrtle Beach , SC
Sep 04, 2017
The grounds are infested with carpenter ants, fleas, and ticks. The Internet is pretty much non-existent, and the cable didn't work on my site. Service was not good. I asked for a spot on the river and was told, we don't allow travel trailers on the river. There were several travel trailers on the river and open spots all week...the campground has tons of potential, just needs better management...
Sep 03, 2017
Excellent customer service
Sep 03, 2017
My husband and I took my father on a trout fishing trip needless too say he did not want to leave.We can not wait to come back.
Sep 02, 2017
Incredible cabin vacation with our furbaby. Stayed in cabin #385 midweek. We decided to go grocery shopping so we could stay on site for 2 days without having to leave. The cabin was new and relaxing. Sitting outside, cooking, and watching the dog play in the creek was a great midweek getaway. Staff was at site within 5 minutes when we needed help with grill. Thanks Cherokee KoA, we'll be back!
Sep 02, 2017
Loved it! The amenities were great! Everything was very nice and clean!
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
It seemed that the pool area needed some deep cleaning and power spraying, so did the play ground. Those things are in the public's eye and is a reflection of KOA. We enjoyed the stay.
Sep 01, 2017
We stayed for the eclipse and everything was fabulous.
Sep 01, 2017
Outstanding, everyone was friendly, helpful, and courteous. If there was anything you needed they were there to help. A special thank you to "Rhino" (I think that was his nick name) for showing us some of the cabins we hope to stay in on our next trip !!!!!
Sep 01, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
This was our 2nd stay at this KOA and it's one of our favorites. Love to see all the children having a blast. So many activities. We were there during the eclipse and it was great. Wish you could solve the cell phone coverage issues but wifi was better than last year. Need a few updates in the bathhouses like soap and paper towels. The dryers are not effective. Still the best KOA
Aug 30, 2017
was great and relaxing
Aug 30, 2017
Well usually it is quite nice, however this experience wasn't so great! The bar b q grill didn't work.we Los water completely one morning. Only 2 chairs for 3 adults, no internet service that was advertised, doors didn't close properly, flies& spider webs in inside windows, I could go on. But really unhappy this birthday visit & embarrassed for my guests. All said kinda sad!
Aug 30, 2017
We have stayed here several times in the last 20 years. We love the trout ponds & always enjoy fresh fish cooked over the campfire. On our last stay, we brought our 15 month old grandson & there really wasn't anything in the campground for a little guy to do. He was too young for the playground & jumping areas & there wasn't a swing to be found!!! Please add some swings for his age group to enjoy!
Aug 30, 2017
This campground has well exceeded any other campground we have visited. We love it because of the great back-in sites next to the river, the activities and play sites for kids, the friendliness of staff, and the CLEAN bathhouses! We have made this trip an annual one for three years now!!
Aug 30, 2017
Very nice campground. clean pools, friendly service, nice sites.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful with the exception of the clogged showers. The restroom needed better cleaning but other than that, the staff members and location were awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
I found this to be one of the nicest campgrounds I've stayed in. Perfect location, clean, friendly staff. So many activities to keep everyone busy; fishing, indoor & outdoor pools, bicycle rentals and tubing. Loved the location, just outside of Great Smokies National Park. Many tourist activities in Cherokee & a casino. Stayed in a Kottage on the river, beautiful! We will definitely return!
Aug 29, 2017
We had a fun time, the amenities were good. Kids had a good time in the pool, on the river, tubing, riding the banana bikes, and especially on the inflated jumping pad. Dog park was good fun for the furry one. Campground was a little noisy, close to the road. The overall place needs some maintenance, and the spots were crammed together. Poor communication regarding amenities scheduling.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Everyone so so nice and helpful! And the amenities were awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
On my arrival the first thing was the bathroom in cabin . The door locked us in. But yes it was fixed quickly. Then come time to cook the grill didn't work. A lot of aggravation as soon as we arrived. Getting help at front desk is a joke. Wait for 10 mins just to buy something cause the lady stayed on the phone. My family as went there for years . It has gone down hill fast
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We loved our stay and really enjoyed the KOA campground.
Aug 29, 2017
We went tubing while there water was way to low and rocks dangerous would bot have done it if i had known
Aug 28, 2017
Campground was clean, facilities well maintained, employees friendly, quiet for the most part even though we were camped right by the entrance. The WiFi was pretty much a no-go until our last two days due to so many people in the campground. Wouldn't have been such a problem, but we didn't have cell signal to check the weather or check in with family members. Would consider staying again, though
Aug 28, 2017
We had a great stay. The campground is great.
Aug 28, 2017
This is our favorite campground so far. Had a lot of different activities for the kids and the bike rentals was a big plus!!!!
Aug 28, 2017
Very clean camp. Excellent staff. Great facility.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award