Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 01, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
Amazing facility.
Nov 01, 2016
Staff, location and amenities were excellent
Oct 31, 2016
We were in #380 Deluxe cabin. Ice box handle was broken. Dangerous for kids. Shower curtain mildewed. Reading light by bed has been broken for a few years. We love this cabin, shame other renters don't take better care of it.
Oct 31, 2016
My biggest complaint with this campground is the front desk. Reservation errors are made quite frequently. I have learned to always call and double/triple check my reservations before arriving. Would like to see pool/jump pad extended hours to accommodate the children. Close too early.
Oct 31, 2016
Another great stay!!! We come every year for Halloween weekend. We love looking at all the decorations and meeting new people. FUN time was had by all!!!
Oct 31, 2016
We love it!
Oct 31, 2016
The restrooms in the comfort station were terrible !!! There's a mouse problem we watched the run from one cabin to the next and the lady at the front desk was very rude to several of the kids that came in as we were checking in ! Not the best KOA I've stayed at by a long shot !!!
Oct 31, 2016
I have stayed at this campground for the past 10 years. I don't know what has changed but we were treated very poorly by the staff this trip. The staff in the store was totally unprofessional and definitely need to learn how to communicate better with customers. Also everything has a fee there now. I along with my entire family have always enjoyed this campground, but we will not be back.
Oct 31, 2016
Halloween weekend was great.Lots of activities for children.We will be back next year.
Oct 31, 2016
It was a great trip. Beautiful place. Friendly staff.
Oct 31, 2016
Great family campground..especially fun at Halloween.
Oct 31, 2016
Light in bedroom didn't work. Fridge that we paid extra made a loud humming noise the entire night. Loved the jump pad but my two smaller kids were constantly getting ran over by the bigger kids that were cutting flips and passing football. Maybe having one for smaller kids and one for bigger kids would work better. We had a great time taking the kids to treat at the different sites. Fun time!
Oct 31, 2016
We do this vacation every Halloween weekend. It has become a wonderful tradition for us. Love staying at KOA.
Oct 31, 2016
Lots of activities for the Halloween weekend-this may become a tradition for my family!!!
Oct 31, 2016
Everything was great staff was very helpful. only complaint neighbors had very loud music from the're golf cart i think. you could here it over the entire park. from About 10:00pm until after 12:00 midnight. It was the halloween weekend but i thought there should be a cutoff time for the noise
Oct 31, 2016
We had a great time and will definitely be back. The staff was so helpful and nice. A special thanks to Laura and Crash!
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves and had a blast with the many activities that were set up by the KOA staff. My children had a blast as well as myself and my husband.
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
Joanne, Carolyn were above and beyond AWESOME! Activities were not fun for Halloween this year - it appears they took lots of short cuts in order to save money. Upgrade to bath houses was very nice addition. You have some very rude employees. Lucy was rude over the phone. The man that lives across from site 118 YELLED at me twice and he was very ugly!
Oct 31, 2016
Loved the new bathrooms. Loved the Halloween event..
Oct 31, 2016
We had a BLAST. Didn't expect all the events and we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the people there were great. Love the seasonal people.
Oct 31, 2016
The only comments are concerning the reservation process which would be directed to KOA rather than this location specifically. The 800-number reservation system is very poor. The wait was 10 min. + each time and I was disconnected the first time. On the second, they could not tell me which campsite, though they had indicated a site on the first call, and it turned out that our camper would not
Oct 31, 2016
I fully enjoyed this KOA. My site was large,well equipt and clean. Staff was friendly and available. Thanks.
Oct 31, 2016
We stayed at one of the tent sites and really enjoyed our stay overall. The bathhouse facilities were the nicest I have ever seen at a campsite and were conviently located to the tent sites. Since we stayed the weekend before Halloween there were tons of activities going on. The one draw back is the tent sites proximity to the road; lots of road noise.
Oct 31, 2016
We loved it . All the activities were great. The escort to the wrong spot the night we came was annoying especially when we were all set up except for the awning when we were told we had to move......but Donnie escorted us to the correct spot and was very helpful in getting set up. He even checked on us the next day to make sure we settled in ok. The haunted island was great.
Oct 29, 2016
We enjoyed the park very much. It was in a beautiful setting. The lot was easy to get in and out of. The gentleman that escorted us to the sight was very helpful and nice. The office staff on the other hand, were notvery friendly at all. The were actually quite rude. Also, on our site the cable did not work properly and when we reported nothing was done. other than that, we did like the park.
Oct 29, 2016
I absolutely LOVE this little cabin! Will be back next year!
Oct 29, 2016
Had a very pleasant time, most interactions with staff were very pleasant!
Oct 29, 2016
just good all around
Oct 28, 2016
Making reservations during holidays seem to be a big problem. Not sure it is worth the hassle. Our group consists of 5 campsites & 5 cottages.
Oct 28, 2016
Encantados de haber conocido el lugar y el fabuloso personal. Me encantaron los eventos programados para el fin de semana de mi estadia. Gracias por todo!!!
Oct 28, 2016
Oct 28, 2016
Very nice and very clean very nice people great stay
Oct 27, 2016
We were there for a Foretravel rally. The staff was very helpful and the facilities were great.
Oct 27, 2016
Oct 27, 2016
Been coming to this KOA for almost 30 years and had the worst check in experience, Lucy spent almost 40 minutes checking in other campers and relocating the couple in front of me to several campsites but when I wanted to see about relocating to another site due to tree/satellite issues she said they were already booked and proceeded to wait on the next guest.
Oct 26, 2016
We stayed in cabin 244 by the river and it was beautiful.I especially liked it at night when the moon rose over the mountains and reflected on the river.We took full advantage of the pool and hot tub.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The only negative thing I can say about our stay was that it ended to soon!
Oct 26, 2016
Everything was great. The only complaint I have is the grill that serves breakfast/lunch. They were EXTREMELY slow. It took thirty minutes to make one egg and three pancakes with no one in front of us.
Oct 26, 2016
I had a great time and enjoyed my stay at KOA Cherokee. My cabin was clean and the bed was comfortable for a camping cabin. Even though the outside temperature dropped down into the thirties with the use of a small space heater, I stayed warm and cozy at night.
Oct 25, 2016
Been visiting KOA Six years in a row. Always a pleasure. Look forward to this vaca every year!!!! Thank you
Oct 25, 2016
Staff was not very friendly this time not sure what issues were. Also breakfast team on Sunday very slow acted like no be deal wait 40 minutes fir food need to close if no better service.
Oct 25, 2016
Oct 25, 2016
we came at Halloween it was a great time
Oct 25, 2016
Activities could have been more planned out and better done than they were everything was a rush job.
Oct 25, 2016
FABULOUS. Have been to many KOA campgrounds in years past and this one was cream of the crop. Kids activities, store, amenities, cafe...staff was awesome. Just so impressed.
Oct 25, 2016
We have been coming to this KOA for 25 years and now we are looking for somewhere different for one thing the price is outrageous you can get a very nice hotel cheaper than you can camp here. I really think you should reconsider this crazy rates then on top of that they throw in a resort fee. I have talked to a lot of people who say they can not afford to stay at the KOA.
Oct 25, 2016
Disappointed this time. Assigned a site &I not allowed to change or pick a different one when usually we can. Site flooded when it rained. Bathrooms not as clean either.
Oct 25, 2016
A very nice campground with clean restrooms and showers! All of the sites are spacious enough. Great amenities, but wifi is not good at all. Camp staff are very nice. We would definitely return if we come to this area again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award