Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
Great campground. Spacious sites! Wish the bath house could have been better maintained. It seemed very dirty. But considering we had some rain and 4th of July weekend I guess it was hard. Also the kiddie pool never looked clean at all. It did not seem to maintained by anyone. Again this was my first time here and it could have just been the weekend was overly busy.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground was very full. The bathhouse was clean with hot water each night. The pools and hot tubs could use cleaning. Overall very nice camping and friendly staff.
Jul 05, 2017
Wifi was terrible. Phone service was terrible. Indoor pool was beyond disgusting! Employees on their golf carts were very rude and reckless. Speeding and cutting through people's campsites. Campsites were too packed together. Will not be staying here again. And will make sure friends and family won't either. Very unhappy with our stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
We stay here multiple times a year for the past 4 years & are SO happy to finally see improvements. A few downers though- Parking a golf cart behind the pool with a blind turn isn't cool. The indoor pool is...just plain gross. There needs to be signs to keep kids under 16 out of the hot tubs. Little kids jumping in & out of them is quite irritating for what is supposed to be a relaxing location.
Jul 05, 2017
Bathhouse dirty no hot water one day too hot the next day. Showers broken .
Jul 05, 2017
My family and I stay at this KOA every year. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are so many things for kids to do. Great Place!
Jul 05, 2017
My kids had such a fantastic time with so many things to do that they didn't even mind the lack of cell service! They didn't want to come home! We will most certainly be back again.
Jul 05, 2017
I have stayed at this campground since I was a little girl, I'm 32 now and take my own family there. I was very disappointed because my cabin was dirty, there were spiders/spider webs all in my cabin. Under the beds were filthy, I found this out when my 1 year old daughter was crawling around. The staff were rude, and wasn't accommodating to keeping my family group together. Very DISAPPOINTED!!!
Jul 04, 2017
Our stay was greatas always but I have one complaint. The pull out sofa bed in our cabin was a torcher device. I put 6 blankets on it and the springs still came through. Please do not subject anyone else to this. Replace the mattress or just put in a futon bed. Thank you
Jul 04, 2017
Security is great. Max saved us after a golf car disaster. Recreation staff needs training but was trying. Tv never worked in cabin, it seemed like all IT was messed up. Everyone was working hard, but no one had direction. Could be the general manager. Recognized her from web page, as she pushed in front of my toddler son and I leaving the office. Obviously she doesn't put guests first.
Jul 04, 2017
Front desk dude was rude and acted like I was bothering him. The guy was lost that was "escorting us to cabin". The key they have is for cabin didn't work. And worst part, we were ate up with flea bites by end of stay, where I'm guessing animals had stayed before. I personally think that if hotels give you a choice on if you want smoking or non smoking, that there should be a choice between gettin
Jul 04, 2017
Compared to the other campgrounds in the area, this is the best for families with children. My grandchildren loved the pools, especially the one with the slide. Even though there is no lifeguard they should as least make rounds (no one did our whole stay). The grill and gift shop were very reasonably priced. Lots are small, and you don't know which you'll get. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 04, 2017
Great location, tons of kid-friendly amenities. Helpful staff. The only detractor was the density and lackluster maintenance. Sites are really close to one another, and this being the 4th of July weekend every site was taken so we had plenty of chances to 'meet our neighbors'. The bathhouses were not well cleaned - likely exascerbated this being a busy weekend.
Jul 04, 2017
The staff was very rude to say we have been staying there for 10 plus years and have never been so disrespected before. The staff was not willing to accommodate our request when it could have easily been done. I don't think we will continue our family tradition of staying at this camp ground anymore!!!!
Jul 04, 2017
me and my family was supposed to stay at yogi in smokey but when we arrived found out we was lied to about the spot we was to get could not fit anything on the spot and have got a bad attitude from the manager and workers and wife had to use restroom and said never cleaned very nasty so we went to koa and much much better people extremely clean and very nice place and very safe for my kids
Jul 04, 2017
We were so disappointed. We actually wanted to leave the night we got there, but had paid for three nights. We left after the second night. This campground has zero wifi and zero phone service. The indoor pool was disguising, the water was green. There were unsurprised kids everywhere. We were miserable! I don't not recommend this campground ever.
Jul 04, 2017
Everything was great. Max the night security man was awesome and so helpful. The only thing I don't like now is if your child is under 16 they have to have a adult with them in the pool area. I think either 13 or 14 would be appropriate.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Cabin 236 has issues that need to be addressed. The odor should be enough to take it 'off line' until resolved. The indoor swimming pool smells clean but looks murky. There was a considerable amount of 'on the job' training for new people that really slowed processes down. Outdoor pool was very clean. Employees were friendly.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Really enjoyed the deluxe cabin it was nice to have dishes there as well, only problem was the WIFI but other than that really enjoyed our stay, and still give it five stars. Thank you really appreciate it and hope to come back soon!
Jul 03, 2017
Was worried about all the dead limbs and trees around our site. My hubby pointed them out to a helper. The site we stayed at had lots of trash behind our back in, and we noticed that all up and down pond area had lots of trash/fishing hooks/empty bait containers.also food wrappers . We just was very disappointed. No internet even tho we were told we would have it,had 2go 2 office 2check mail.
Jul 03, 2017
This was only our 2nd time at a KOA. I don't know where to start: 1. Pool cloudy can not see down 2 feet, kiddie pool had no water circulating and mold growing in pool 2. No soap in Bathroom for 2 days, 3. My wife had NO warm/hot water in showers 4. Cabin did not appear cleaned when we arrived. 5. Says they offer WI-FI but it does not work (so i guess it's not offered). Sorry I can't recommend
Jul 03, 2017
I usually really enjoy staying at this KOA. This time was mediocre. Most of the staff weren't friendly. Not rude, just indifferent. Wi-Fi wasn't working 90% of the time. Showers were cold. A larger hot water heater would solve that. But the pools were clean, the cabin was clean, and bathrooms were very clean. And not all staff was bad. Some were extremely friendly. All in all I'll still come back.
Jul 03, 2017
Great kamping, clean, wonderful staff, lots of amenities, will definitely go back!
Jul 03, 2017
The cabins look like they haven't been clean. Spider and webs everywhere, the bathroom were horrible definitely need to up their cleaning staff. My cousin had to leave her cabin due to bed bugs, claimed they didn't have any more cabins when truth be told they were all eat up with bed bugs.
Jul 03, 2017
Great staff. They were all about the customers having a great time.
Jul 02, 2017
My family really enjoyed our stay here. Very clean. They did advertise WIFI but the entire 6 days we were there we wasn't able to access it so they should probably tell you it's limited. Also when I booked my trip I was very specific when I stated that I wanted river front access so initially put us by the Creek that they stated was a river. I complained & they moved us to riverside.
Jul 02, 2017
Needs to be more signage on roads leading to the property. The DJ party was shockingly loud when we pulled up at night and there was no information about how/where to check in afterhours. The main store had caution-tape around it, but luckily the camp hosts eventually brought us our reservation in their cart after we were confused about where to go. Too many people, bathrooms were new and nice!
Jul 02, 2017
If you don't care about getting WiFi or cellular this is your campground. I rated it poor for that reason only
Jul 02, 2017
All the KOA staff were very friendly and helpful. We have been staying at this campground many times in the fall, but this was our first time during the summer. What a pleasure.
Jul 01, 2017
I've been coming for 10 yrs and this will be my last time. The customer service was HORRIBLE. They were not friendly and did not care. The wifi was horrible, the pool was nasty, and bathhouse 3 was nasty. The cabins were nice and lots of activities to do. The kids kept busy.
Jul 01, 2017
Last stay was 20 years ago, took my grandkids now, loved it as much as as we did 20 years ago. We will be back for sure.
Jul 01, 2017
We stayed for a week and loved every day! The only thing that needed improvement was the wifi / cell service. If you stay here expect great service but you'll be off the grid !
Jul 01, 2017
We love Cherokee. Great family camoground. Site 7 becomes very muddy early and takes a while to dry up. Inly complain is I told the cleaning ladies 4 different morning someone had wiped poop on the walls and they said thank you. Never cleaned it off the entire week we were there.
Jul 01, 2017
After 14 days cross country of the USA, staying at numerous KOAs...this was one of the best. Clean, large tent sites. Clean restrooms. Facility wasn't over run with lights to keep us up.
Jul 01, 2017
The only thing that needs work is the Wi-Fi. There were lots of activities that kept my kids busy!
Jun 30, 2017
We have stayed at KOA Kampgrounds all over the US and even worked at one last summer. We have stayed at the Cherokee KOA for years. The cabin was musty, there were cobwebs everywhere and no one bothered to let us know what was going on at the campground even though we were the only guests checking in. We weredisappointed in the cleanliness of the cabin and our reception. Very unexpected!
Jun 30, 2017
This is our second time back. If we're in the area again this is where we're gonna stay. We brought the grandchildren this time. They rode their skinny butts off.
Jun 30, 2017
Actually had internet some of the time. Fishing in nearby streams, swimming in heated pool, pet friendly, clean showers and bathrooms, full hook ups, and National Park within driving distance.
Jun 30, 2017
We had a great time Would like to thank your employee David Cox he was super nice Helped us when we had a dryer problem with one of your dryers Need more Davids went above and beyond his way everyday Will be back
Jun 29, 2017
Great place to stay. Everyone was super friendly.
Jun 29, 2017
Love this KOA! This has been our yearly family vacation for the past few years.
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
Beautiful place but very expensive to stay there between them charging for number of people, to the outrageous prices of renting golf carts. Indoor pool was very nasty and not appealing.
Jun 29, 2017
Great place. They really know how to show Southern hospitality....
Jun 28, 2017
Everyone on the staff were very helpful in answering our questions to helping with our needs. Would stay here again and look forward to coming again next summer.
Jun 28, 2017
Nice campground with new bathrooms. Our spot was near the office and it was a bit noisy since they were doing construction. Great location right outside the entrance to the National Park.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award