Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
This was a great KOA with plenty to do. My only complaint is the staff could be a little nicer. Upon check out we were at the pool and a worker came by yelling "anyone checking out has 5 min to leave the campground". We tried to check in 1 hr early and was told no and that we couldn't use the property either. I've stayed at serveral KOA's but this one has the most rules ever.
Jun 15, 2015
We usually have a wonderful time at this specific campground. The location, amenities and most of the staff were great. We did not enjoy our stay in the camping kabins. They did not have air conditioning and the lack of ventilation made it hotter than camping in a tent. We were miserable and even purchased box fans that didn't help much. I don't recommend these through the hotter months.
Jun 14, 2015
remodeled bathrooms were kept very clean and nice to use. Sites were also well kept.
Jun 14, 2015
The staff were nice except for Joann who had a horrible attitude. The batista was hardly ever at the counter for coffee or lattes, and the rest of the staff acted like they didn't know how to make one. There was also one of the male staff that kept riding by our cabin slowly, it was kind of creepy.
Jun 14, 2015
We have stayed at KOA Cherokee several times and it seems to better each year. The staff is very freindly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The grounds and comfort stations and kept in excelent condition. Thanks again KOA and see you next year. Jean
Jun 13, 2015
Overall it was great, most of the staff was super friendly, except this one guy,older guy with a ponytail, goatee blondish brown hair, wore glasses. Seem to be always jumping on somebody about something, taking the whole authority thing a little too far. But other than him it was great, and Emma, she was wonderful, super sweet girl
Jun 13, 2015
Memorable moments for our family the staff was very helpful and very friendly. Bathrooms always clean and recreation team was amazing, Emma and all the team was A+++ Thank you to all KOA team!!!!
Jun 13, 2015
We had the best time. The staff was the most accommodating, friendliest staff I have ever encountered.
Jun 12, 2015
The only problem we had in our trip is that twice people were setting up at 2:30am and 12:30 am which we do not appreciate because VERY noisy and their kids were riding skate boards at 2:30am right behind our motorhome. The 10:00 pm quiet time should be the latest time to set up. Other than that our trip was nice. I wish they would inforce the rules more. Like quiet time.
Jun 12, 2015
This KOA had so much for the kids to do. It is a great family location. We have a big rig and the staff put us right on top of a large family with a trailer. There were many unused other spots they could have choosen. It was very uncomfortable for both parties.
Jun 12, 2015
Excellent experience. I wish it had lasted longer.
Jun 12, 2015
Pretty nice. Liked the cabin, but we felt kind of spooked being the only occupied cabin by the fishing lake. Several roads were pretty wet, even though we didn't have much rain. Seems like they could use some work. Like having a koa on the NC side of GSM Nat Park. Staff was nice.
Jun 11, 2015
We loved it all! Sites were great (we had a river site), staff were friendly, lots of great activities for kids, and a super pool area with great cafe!!! Can't wait to stay at this KOA again!!
Jun 11, 2015
We camp in a 42 ft toyhauler and needed a long pull through. They were able to accommodate our needs. There was an initial problem with the 50 amp breaker on the post, which was fixed before we had the camper set up. Great, friendly staff. Beautiful park like setting.
Jun 11, 2015
Campground was great. Only issue was that WiFi was down last Monday for several hours. Access to river for kids to play in would have been nice also.
Jun 10, 2015
The only problem we had in our trip is that twice people were setting up at 2:30am and 12:30 am which we do not appreciate because VERY noisy and their kids were riding skate boards at 2:30am right behind our motorhome. The 10:00 pm quiet time should be the latest time to set up. Other than that our trip was nice.
Jun 10, 2015
the only thing they need to cut bushes back its scratch my truck all up
Jun 10, 2015
Overall, our trip was enjoyable. I was disappointed in a couple of things. While the cabin was really nice, my husband and I both felt it could have been cleaned better. The refrigerator had obviously not been wiped down and the drawers that contained the pots and pans had a brown gooey substance in them. Also, there was hair from previous guests in the shower.
Jun 09, 2015
Wonderful mountain views, excellent place to get away from the hustle and bustle. Disconnect from all the Internet devices and go camping!
Jun 09, 2015
Great as usual. Love it
Jun 09, 2015
Great time. Lots for the kids to do, helpful staff and very clean. We'll be back when we're in the area.
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very. Staff was great and very friendly.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Thomas, tamie and terrible we're all delightful members of the koa team! The staff kept the restrooms extra clean which is always super important to usee parents with children. Staff always had a positive attitude any time we had questions. One suggestion would be to have more individuals working the food service bar next to pool, there were several times we had to wait 30 min or more!
Jun 09, 2015
The cabin and campground was great. The only bad thing was the evening sun made our cabin hot.
Jun 09, 2015
Great staff. Fun amenities. Very clean and maintained. Easy check-in. Beautiful location and surroundings.
Jun 08, 2015
The campground was very nice. A group of about 20 camped next to us. Very noisy. No peace. Would have moved except friend in cabin next to us.
Jun 08, 2015
All in all this KOA was pretty good. We had a couple of rude hosts but most were friendly. The grounds and activities are certainly important B+,but the friendliness of the hosts, workers is key to guests returning.
Jun 08, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. Didn't want to leave!
Jun 08, 2015
We had a wonderful time! This was our second trip to the Cherokee KOA. My daughter requested this trip her High School Graduation present because she enjoyed it so much the first time. The only problem we had was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock and couldn't be fixed because the parts weren't available but overall I would highly recommend this KOA.
Jun 08, 2015
Our family had a great time while staying at this KOA campsite. My son had a blast riding his bike, swimming, tubing, playing in the river, jumping on the jumpy pillow, hanging out with friends, and participating in the recreational activities. Our primitive cabin was perfect and the bath house was not far. The bath house was clean too. The KOA staff were very friendly.
Jun 08, 2015
This was a trip to celebrate the ending of End Of Grade testing for my two Daughters (12 & 10), and we had a blast. Thank You so much!!! John, Sara, Katherine & Emma Mertz of Asheville, NC
Jun 08, 2015
Stayed in the deluxe cabins on the river. So clean, so much fun the kids did not want to leave the river outside our cabin. We will be back soon. Loved it!
Jun 08, 2015
My wife and I had had an amazing stay here. All the staff were always courteous, helpful and friendly. No question went unanswered, no request went unfulfilled. Thanks for a fun and relaxing week! Tim and Sara Gillespie.
Jun 08, 2015
I camp here every yr & really enjoy it. Seems to rain on my stay every yr haha. I do wish you would spray the poison ivy in tent sites. All 7 of us are broke out with it.
Jun 08, 2015
Wonderful stay. Staff is great with kids activities. Would like to have a shelve or hooks in showers to put clothes and towel. BEST KOA EVER!
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great trip. A little disappointed to find out the One room cabins did not have A/C. The previous two KOA's we have visited did. Therefore, I assumed it was a standard. I'll know to check closer in the future. Weather was absolutely perfect. Couldn't have ask for a better weekend. Kudos to the Family/Kids program. Very Very happy with our $6 T-shirts and loved the dance party music.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
The staff members were very attentive and helpful, and always greeted with a friendly smile. The staff seems to have a vested interest in their guests.
Jun 08, 2015
Very nice stay
Jun 07, 2015
Cabin was very clean. Great activities for children. It was a safe environment for our autistic children. Employees were very friendly and greeted everyone with a smile. Going to plan another vacation for next year.
Jun 07, 2015
Outstanding facility - everything well maintained with a lot of amenities
Jun 07, 2015
Beautiful. Very clean. Hugely kid friendly with constant kid activities. Much to do close by. Staff friendly and helpful. This was our fourth visit and we will do it again.
Jun 07, 2015
We had ur kids meet us from out of state and we all arrived at different times. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe cabin with my daughters family. On booking we were told that they would honor my daughter's military I'd for the discount, but they did not arrive until 3 am. We were assured her discount would be applied upon arrival. We were denied this discount the next day. I had to pay in full.&
Jun 06, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice and relaxing loved the local recreation center girls that take care of all the crafts and children's activities. Very clean and we had a wonderful relaxing stay. Thank you! !! I will recommend this campground to all my friends back home in Texas.
Jun 06, 2015
Great campground, excellent staff offering full service. We have a 40' MH and the site was perfect.
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice looking and clean. The staff was helpful and waited to bring us back to camp after a show that had run way over. Thank you very much.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.