Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2015
So much to do - so little time
Aug 05, 2015
Very good campground. Lots of activities: pools, jumping pillow, putt-putt, banana bikes, etc. Good looking store and friendly staff. The wood was somewhat wet, but we managed to have a couple of fires at night. The Campfire Cafe was a nice addition when you don't want to go anywhere to eat. And we LOVED banana bikes. The campground is huge and paved, it was a great workout and fun riding those.
Aug 05, 2015
Cabin needs a recliner we had a good time very quiet a good rest thanks
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time. Being grandparents and spending time with our grandchildren and family made for a lot of memories. Beautiful campground coming back in 3 weeks.
Aug 04, 2015
Our stay was good,but not as good as previous years. I have a problem with the new early arrival fee. Don't think this is necessary. Enough is charged already.Also there were holes on my site that someone could step into and fall. There has been a tree cut down on the same site but the stump still remains. Stump needs to be level with the ground. Just don't want anyone to get hurt.
Aug 04, 2015
Had an issue with tv reception, campground had cable issue, that was the only problem we had
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The cabin was very clean,staff very friendly.We took the shuttle when we went white water rafting & zipling on two seperate days and each of our drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable.The weather was perfect.We had a great time and we will be back again!
Aug 04, 2015
A little pricey. Should offer more stay 2 nights get 3rd one free.
Aug 04, 2015
Fun trip. Campground was clean and problems were solved quickly.
Aug 04, 2015
Enjoyed the campground. There was several fun things to do right there for kids. The staff was helpful when I didn't like the first spot and they let me choose another one. I would probably not go during a peak holiday as I can see it might get pretty crowded. Sunday-Wed was a good time frame for us. Enjoyed it.
Aug 04, 2015
As always, we had a great time! This visit we stayed a full week and did not want to leave. The staff is friendly and the accommodations on the deluxe sites are great! We will definitely be back! My only suggestion would be to fix the WIFI. While we need to get away to disconnect, sometimes I have to connect for work, and it was very difficult.
Aug 04, 2015
Great
Aug 04, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back. Only complaints were the pool water was merky & the campground lost water for a while one evening.
Aug 04, 2015
We stayed with 5 grandchildren and they had a blast..didn't want to leave KOA to go anywhere else. We all had a wonderful time.
Aug 04, 2015
The area that the campgrounds is located are beautiful and all the staff were polite but there were too many cabins too close together which made for a lot of concentration of smoke.kids running wild in all of camp area.If a child is in the road there should be a parent with them at all times.
Aug 04, 2015
It really was awesome. We had the best time. Campsites are a little close but other than that it was a wonderful time. Very Clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Granddaughters, age 10 love it there, enjoy all the activities available. Rented a deluxe cabin this year instead of bringing our motorhome... Only a few concerns... silverware holder of dish drainer in kitchen is in desperate need of cleaning and sanitizing, bedroom needs a small ceiling fan or wall fan, spatula needed in kitchen. Otherwise, good, wholesome family fun is likely with every stay..
Aug 04, 2015
Great activities for the kids. pool was a little cloudy. snack bar says it stays open till 8pm but when we got in line at 740pm and waited till we reached the counter they said they stop serving at 745pm-very disturbing. cabin neighbors were sleeping outside on ground with trash all around them. no KOA employee approached them which was disturbing.
Aug 04, 2015
Biggest KOA I've ever seen! Great facility and very helpfull staff, especially someone named Miles who helped me when someone backed into my motorcycle at the registration parking lanes.
Aug 03, 2015
Best vacation ever!! Can't wait until November when we get to enjoy it again!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Would recommend it to anyone. Loved it.
Aug 03, 2015
we stayed here for a weekend trip to the mountains, the cabin was great and the staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
KOA has gone down hill, I have stayed there for almost every year for the past 25 years n this is the worse I have seen it. They ask enough money more then a nice hotel n at least they can do is clean the cabins n make sure light bulbs n fans work. Cob webs everywhere, I had to clean the cabin when I got there. Bathrooms discusting n run down. U make enough money to make these up keeps, bad mgnt
Aug 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in (242) was in really bad shape. I expected more from KOA and the price tag . The campground was a 9, the cabin was a 3
Aug 03, 2015
Awesome place to camp with kids!
Aug 03, 2015
had a lot of fun stayed at campground with kids cause it was a moneysaver and so much for them to do they loved the movie nights but not having enough butter ordered for popcorn that they look forward to all day is inexcuseable. cabin great. bathhouses clean and nice. laundry wonderful. too many large rvs around the cabin areas tho there should be separation somewhat there but we loved our stay.
Aug 03, 2015
Pool was dirty. Screens on windwos ripped. Screen door wouldnt shut.. update .. fans not working properly . BATS IN CABIN.
Aug 03, 2015
It was to crowded and way over priced the cabin we stayed in had no air conditioner and the showers were horrible the water just cut off and no way to flush or anything. We could never take aa shower it was so crowded. After almost paying 100 dollars a night i could have gone to a motel and had a way better experience.I would not recommend this campground to anybody. I would not even give it a 1
Aug 03, 2015
The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Probably one of our best and most fun camping trips to date!
Aug 03, 2015
We always love coming here each year and staying at KOA as they offer lots of activities for the kids to enjoy and have fun doing.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
My husband and I have 2 children 8 and 3 years old. This was our first but definitely NOT our last time at the KOA in Cherokee. It was so much more than expected and plan on booking in the future! Our kids loved everything about it as did we! The cabins are adorable and cozy!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
staff very rude, didn't want to accomodate our problems with hook-ups. In the past years when we have stayed there all of the staff was friendly must have all new staff because very rude and we will not be back at that KOA.
Aug 03, 2015
I have stayed with you guys for 16 years straight then I missed 3 years and I came back with my grandkids! They loved it and so did my wife and I, everyone was great and very helpful I had no problems with our stay.. We will be back thanks to all your employees and tell them thanks!!
Aug 03, 2015
Been coming here for three years as long as the prices stay reasonable we will continue to come back.
Aug 03, 2015
Our stay was great and most of the folks were very helpful when asked questions. I'd definitely like to go again.
Aug 03, 2015
Excellent campground! Very friendly and accommodating staff. We will be back soon.
Aug 03, 2015
Great as always, this is our third year tent camping the first of August. The upgrade on the bathhouse is very nice and clean. Felt more comfortable entering a remodeled bathhouse rather an old run-down bathhouse. See you next year in 2016.
Aug 03, 2015
The campground was clean and the staff did good job. However, the tent site backed up to a busy road and they are very close together. Therefore, the people beside us who chose to stay up until 3 am talking was the biggest issue we had. Not the campgrounds fault.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place to stay again - seemed to have something for all ages to do!
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean well taken care of . Great staff.
Aug 03, 2015
This is only the second KOA we have stay at. We usually stay at KOA East Asheville. The only thing I can think of that was missing in comparison is trash pick up. I know the dumpsters are made readily available at your location. It's just a nice perk to sit your trash out every morning and it is picked up.
Aug 03, 2015
Awesome campground!! My family will definitely be visiting again in the near future!!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time. Have been camping at this KOA for over 35 years, brought children, now grandchildren. A week is never long enough!
Aug 02, 2015
We love Cherokee and enjoy taking our grandchildren and there are so many activities. However, I must say it is time for a new slide. Several kids were getting hurt on it including my grandaughter. She had a bruised head and gash in her side. The bolts inside the slide are dangerous. I hope you get a safer slide in the near future. There were others saying the same thing.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
This cabin was excellent. The best we've ever stayed in!
Aug 02, 2015
Had a lot of fun. Tubing and hiking was a good time

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.