Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 03, 2017
Great stay! Just wish there was a heater in the 1 room cabins but other than that it was perfect! Will be back soon!
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Thanks a lot for a Great weekend.
Apr 03, 2017
Very friendly staff.
Apr 03, 2017
Taking into account a very early hiccup. ..original site was flooded. Problem was solved quickly new site was awesome. We had a great time.lots for kids to do.
Apr 03, 2017
We had a great time, accomadations were great and staff helpful,we will be back soon
Apr 02, 2017
We have been visiting your KOA since 1999, usually in our RV. But the last few years have been extremely busy for us and we haven't been able visit until this week. We had promised our grandson we would take him and finally time allowed us to do that. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to return sooner than it has been. We normally are in our RV but this time decided on a cabin and it was enjoya
Apr 02, 2017
Great fishing ,clean cottages, friendly people we will be back
Apr 01, 2017
We enjoyed the location near the river and waterfall. The camp store was not very well stocked and there was no VKRewards card discounts. The shake machine had a "Clean Now" light on the entire time we were there. Would have liked on-site recycling or at least to have been told where nearby off-site recycling was. Staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were clean and well maintained.
Apr 01, 2017
Extremely nice and clean bath and laundry facilities!
Apr 01, 2017
Apr 01, 2017
Dirty mattress,blow dryer broken, unfriendly at check in. I spent over 200.00 for one night and expected alot better.
Mar 31, 2017
It took an extremely log time to check in!
Mar 30, 2017
found it to be tight quarters, site had an odd layout
Mar 30, 2017
Personennel at check in were not at all receptive to my 19 yr old staying in the camp site even calling me at home to tell me if there are any problems they would be asked to leave and I would be responsible which is already understood according to my confirmation and agreement to camp rules all ages were listed on form The bathrooms never had paper and they came into the camp site hours prior
Mar 29, 2017
too expensive for what you get. Not a child hater but there were too many kids on bikes..not safe when trying to pull a camper or rv they don't stop on a dime.
Mar 28, 2017
We have been coming to the KOA for over 40 years for opening weekend. We always get there about noon time. We have never been charged a early check in fee until this year. The manager would not even come out and talk to us, she just hid in the office. This is bad business in my opinion and we should have been told about this before we arrived. 40 years!!
Mar 28, 2017
The cabin was great with a great view of the river.
Mar 28, 2017
We stayed in a Kottage and it was wonderful!Donnie and his family(KOA staff) made us feel at home and it was a dream come true! They need a raise!The bedding was comfortable, it was clean, everything worked well, and the fireplace was a dream!Even my puppies loved it!I will try to post some pictures soon! This was a very special trip for my family and because of your staff we will be booking again
Mar 28, 2017
The wifi was the only thing that we had a problem with.the staff was very nice . We had a water leak in the bathroom and they came and fixed it right away. We love staying there. Will be back
Mar 28, 2017
Our family loves this campground. This is our third long weekend stay in the last 2 years and we will surely be back. Beautiful place, very family friendly. Clean. Giving four of five because I did pay for TV we had some issues with but a very friendly staff member worked hard to get us the best he could giving the circumstances. Looking forward to another visit.
Mar 28, 2017
We enjoy staying here. Only thing sucks this time was the parking spot for our cabin. Overall, everything is great.
Mar 28, 2017
The staff was wonderful at a very busy check-in process. They were also nice and pleasant throughout my stay. They made me feel welcome. I will be back.
Mar 28, 2017
I don't think you should be charged extra if a cabin sleeps 4 or 6 .But everything else was awesome!
Mar 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and my grandson had a ball. He didn't want to leave. Prices in store are Lil high. But hey what do you expect with a spoiled grand child.
Mar 28, 2017
I love all of the activities and the friendly customer service at KOA> Awesome place to go anytime of the year.
Mar 28, 2017
The campgrounds were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We plan on returning very soon.
Mar 28, 2017
It was ok til my daughter woke up with some bites that turned into big blisters, ended up taking her to the er the day after we left koa.
Mar 28, 2017
Everything about the stay was great!!! All the staff was friendly everything was clean...
Mar 28, 2017
Mar 28, 2017
Nice,clean,very helpful Cant wait to come back.
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 27, 2017
Everything was wonderful except the fire pit being wright at the RV door .. the RV filled with smoke every time we opened the door and the smoke detector kept going off ... I would love to come again next year what site would you suggest that wouldn't have the same issue for a 40' RV ???
Mar 27, 2017
Had a great time thanks
Mar 27, 2017
We really enjoy camping at Cherokee KOA and fishing the Cherokee enterprise waters. Your location couldn't be better. The employees are very courteous and helpful. Some finely graded gravel in front of the cabin, 309, that we stayed in would reduce the potential for mud puddles to form during rain events. Overall we enjoyed our stay and plan to return in late April.
Mar 27, 2017
Management didn't know the answers to normal questions and told falsehoods to customers concerning rules of the campground. But the cabin was very nice and I will stay again once I figured out the rules
Mar 27, 2017
Stayed many times here.. so glad to see it being cleaned up around the grounds. Pool area still needs alot of work and gravel (alot) throughout the whole campground... all and all awesome trip...
Mar 27, 2017
The cabins are nice but I booked in January and never was notified that I couldn't get the one requested to be beside of my elderly father that has disabilities and the organization of the fishing tournament was very poorly ran with all the information put out by the KOA staff was totally incorrect. There is ditches all over the campground not at all marked and my wife fell in and was soaking wet.
Mar 27, 2017
It was great l will be back
Mar 27, 2017
I enjoyed our two nights the only gripe I have is the fire pits should be lit up or guarded some how on my way to the bathroom at night I walked right into it bruising my toes I may have to get x Ray of my toes they are turning black everything else was excellent
Mar 27, 2017
Arrival day: NO water(hot or cold),NO trash bags, NO blankets on bunks, NO water in shower even after turned on. Next day: still NO hot water or water in shower until after 8am. I understand this was a new cabin, but I felt like this all should've been checked on prior to our arrival. I been here several times and never had this problem. Staff was great and stay overall was fine.
Mar 27, 2017
Our cabin smelled like dead mice.
Mar 27, 2017
Another great weekend at the KOA,can't wait until the next trip!
Mar 27, 2017
I would not change a thing except I would like to see the camp store stay open a little later in the evening.
Mar 27, 2017
Our first time as campers. Excellent service
Mar 27, 2017
Friendly staff, very clean campground. We felt safe our entire stay and every other time we've stayed there.
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 27, 2017
Great friendly staff and wonderful facilities!
Mar 27, 2017
Wasn't pleased, I was lied to about the trout tournament, I had asked repeatedly what time it start, 8am is what they keep telling me, when in fact was 6:30am causing all of us to be late. Probably would stay else where next time.
Mar 27, 2017
Great campground! It was our first time staying here, but we will definitely be back! Bathhouses were very clean and staff was very friendly!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps