Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Nov 30, 2013
We had an awesome Thanksgiving week with KOA in Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC! Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Nov 30, 2013
We loved it. Great manager and friendly helpful staff. We will definitely be back.
Nov 29, 2013
This is a fantastic KOA. Always immaculate, very friendly and helpful staff, and lots of things for our grandson to do. Nice level concrete pads makes set-up easy & the cable TV is a nice touch. The camp store is fully stocked and the coffee shop is a nice touch. We'll definitely be back - again & again!
Nov 26, 2013
Very nice one night stay, great amenities.
Nov 26, 2013
Great time
Nov 26, 2013
although the deluxe cabin K221 did not have gas heat. The staff went out of their way to supply us electic heaters. And also checked on us from time to time. Very pleased.
Nov 25, 2013
Nov 25, 2013
Nov 25, 2013
We booked our camping spot to have cable because we really wanted to watch the Georgia/ Auburn game, but when we hooked our cable up the cable was not working. I went to the front desk and was told that there wasn't anyone there to look at it in the middle of the day Saturday. We were disappointed since we paid for cable not to have it.
Nov 20, 2013
Nov 18, 2013
Great stay! Everyone made us feel welcome, the staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Nov 18, 2013
Upon arrival, found out the cable TV did not work. This was an issue considering the weather for these days was not ideal. When you pay right at a hundred dollars a night to stay at a campground, then what they advertised is expected by the guests. One night would not have been so bad but this was from Thursday to Sunday. After the Wi-Fi got knocked out then there was nothing to do at night.
Nov 18, 2013
Nov 18, 2013
I would like to say thank you to Lynn and the entire KOA staff for making this weekend such a memorable one. I purposed to my girlfriend at the cabin this weekend and it was perfect. I had let Lynn know my plan and she went above and beyond to help me capture this magical moment. She had roses in a vase as well as rose petals scattered throughout the cabin. Customer service at its best!! Amaz
Nov 17, 2013
Nov 17, 2013
Nov 16, 2013
Bath rooms where in poor state, run down. Showers didn't not have benches in bath house 4. staff didn't show us the site. Cable was very poor last night never came in.
Nov 16, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
beautiful setting, lots of activities, convenient to town.
Nov 15, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
Poor internet! Poor cable reception! Poor water pressure! The KOA sign is NOT seen at night, no lights on!
Nov 15, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
Came to get away from the city and the staff were great at gettin gme in a site away from others and provided info when I asked!
Nov 14, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
This was our first camping trip with a travel trailer. We enjoyed it! We booked one of the deluxe pull thru sites and it worked great for us as our trailer is a toy hauler with a motorcycle in the back. The site with its' concrete pad made unloading and loading the bike easy. We were impressed with the clean campground and the friendly staff. Thanks a lot.
Nov 14, 2013
the mountains were beautiful. staff was not friendly. trouble finding site. Plenty of staff outside standing around but no one bother to show us to our site. Would not recommend this to any of my friends even though it was beautiful scenery.
Nov 14, 2013
This was one of the worst KOA campgrounds that I have ever visited. Had I arrived earlier in the day, I would have seriously tried to change my camping reservation to a better campground. The bathrooms were horrible. They were poorly maintained with inadequate plumbing, showerheads, and an inadequate number of showers and bathhouses for this campground. I will never recommend this campground.
Nov 14, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
great location,friendly staff,great clean cabin. WELL DONE
Nov 13, 2013
Bath houses were pretty clean. but wife said her shower was just a trickle of cold water. Also, there is no bench and a single hook inside the shower. Guess I'm supposed to dump all my stuff on the shower floor? Had a minor electrical problem in the kabin after hours. It was responded to promptly.
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
Quiet and peaceful during the week. Too many cats. In the cabin close to me, a cat had a litter under the house. The cats roaming free drives the dogs that are on leashes hard to control. Someone, on a Friday night unplugged my electricity and turned my water off. Some people saw a man do it. One of the men on duty came to the campsite but couldn't explain. Worrisome for a woman camping alone.
Nov 12, 2013
Good location, not very clean, cold showers, pool was warm, hot tub hot, but had a foul odor. More attention to being clean.
Nov 12, 2013
I was pleased with the upgrade made with the new coach / air mattress. Significant upgrade from the previous futon. Thanks for the investment.
Nov 12, 2013
Cabin was clean. Staff was most helpful. Location was superb. We had a great time.
Nov 09, 2013
We enjoyed everything except we found out too late we had no cable as was expected (we checked in right before closing) Besides with no cable for the first night and nothing to do, we survived and had a good time at the cabin.
Nov 09, 2013
Water hookup @ site did not work, sewer hookup did not drain, tv was very fuzzy! Later found out from workers that all problems were previously known!
Nov 09, 2013
Traveled 700 miles out of my way to get to this KOA. Best Trip Decision I've ever made. I'll Travel 3500 miles one more time just to see the Place again. Thanks for making our Stay One to Remember for the Rest of Our Lives. W & R Cahill
Nov 08, 2013
After we used our credit card one time on/at your grounds; our credit was fraudulently used the next day in Laverne, TN. But grandchildren had a great time there.
Nov 08, 2013
We rented the Kabins on the river and were given the two with the wooden deck, fire pit etc. that overlooked the river. It was great! Staff went above and beyond to help us and made sure we had what we needed. I will definitely be back!
Nov 08, 2013
Great time wonderful location, I've seen some complaints about wifi ... Come on folks your camping ... Unplug ...excellent facilities
Nov 08, 2013
We had the best time - totally relaxing - lots to do - well kept - friendly and helpful. THANKS
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 06, 2013
Our stay was AWESOME! This is the third time we have stayed at this KOA and plan to go back.
Nov 06, 2013
Nov 05, 2013
all was great as I expected although the TV connection was poor, bad cable connect? I did not watch much,sat by campfire instead...hurray!
Nov 05, 2013
we had a MUCH NEEDED COZY WEEKEND . We loved the cabin by the river and the nice fireplace..we really didnt want to leave. But we do plan to visit there again as often as we can! Loved it!!!!!!
Nov 04, 2013
This campground is in a great location, right on the river. It is upgrading some features like cable and it seems to be getting better. We love this place.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.