Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 08, 2015
I camp here every yr & really enjoy it. Seems to rain on my stay every yr haha. I do wish you would spray the poison ivy in tent sites. All 7 of us are broke out with it.
Jun 08, 2015
Wonderful stay. Staff is great with kids activities. Would like to have a shelve or hooks in showers to put clothes and towel. BEST KOA EVER!
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great trip. A little disappointed to find out the One room cabins did not have A/C. The previous two KOA's we have visited did. Therefore, I assumed it was a standard. I'll know to check closer in the future. Weather was absolutely perfect. Couldn't have ask for a better weekend. Kudos to the Family/Kids program. Very Very happy with our $6 T-shirts and loved the dance party music.
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
The staff members were very attentive and helpful, and always greeted with a friendly smile. The staff seems to have a vested interest in their guests.
Jun 08, 2015
Very nice stay
Jun 07, 2015
Cabin was very clean. Great activities for children. It was a safe environment for our autistic children. Employees were very friendly and greeted everyone with a smile. Going to plan another vacation for next year.
Jun 07, 2015
Outstanding facility - everything well maintained with a lot of amenities
Jun 07, 2015
Beautiful. Very clean. Hugely kid friendly with constant kid activities. Much to do close by. Staff friendly and helpful. This was our fourth visit and we will do it again.
Jun 07, 2015
We had ur kids meet us from out of state and we all arrived at different times. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe cabin with my daughters family. On booking we were told that they would honor my daughter's military I'd for the discount, but they did not arrive until 3 am. We were assured her discount would be applied upon arrival. We were denied this discount the next day. I had to pay in full.&
Jun 06, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice and relaxing loved the local recreation center girls that take care of all the crafts and children's activities. Very clean and we had a wonderful relaxing stay. Thank you! !! I will recommend this campground to all my friends back home in Texas.
Jun 06, 2015
Great campground, excellent staff offering full service. We have a 40' MH and the site was perfect.
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice looking and clean. The staff was helpful and waited to bring us back to camp after a show that had run way over. Thank you very much.
Jun 06, 2015
Wi-Fi signal was very weak. My tablet was slow or non-functional.
Jun 06, 2015
As a family with three children we were very happy with everything. Very quiet and extra clean. But other reviews were correct, the "old ladies" in the office, not friendly at all, all business.
Jun 06, 2015
Great camp ground. Very family friendly. There are activities for the kids. Clean facility. Friendly staff.
Jun 06, 2015
Very nice campground and facilities. Took a group of friends and everyone thought the same. We will be back.
Jun 05, 2015
Great KOA , plenty to do in campground. Get up early and see the park, then spend the afternoon fishing, tubing , or swimming at the KOA , they have bikes also.
Jun 05, 2015
Loved our cabin with porch over the water. Peaceful and beautiful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Cabin was very nice. Loved our stay
Jun 05, 2015
This was our second stay at KOA CHEROKEE...will definitely return again. 👍👍
Jun 05, 2015
Lisa and Carol were so friendly as well as the rest of the staff we came in contact with. We wish we would have stayed longer. It was fantastic!
Jun 05, 2015
We came up to camp for the weekend and fish and unfortunately we never put our poles in the water. My daughter woke up saturday morning and needed to go to the hospital and was admitted for surgery for her gall bladder. We spent the week in the hospital and never got to enjoy the campground. We will return another time to finish what we started.
Jun 03, 2015
the staff were accommodating and friendly .. park was clean . the ammedities were great! would have liked to see the pool open later hours ..
Jun 03, 2015
Requested a space for my 33 ft travel trailer for 1 week, when we checked in our space was too small trailer but not room for truck. Too many kids running wild, had lots of koa people joy ridding around in their golf carts but not enforcing rules. Price wal out of line too high for area total rip off
Jun 03, 2015
My family and I loved this campground. So many things to do and very friendly environment. LOVE IT AND WILL BE BACK
Jun 03, 2015
I love this campground.I love the hot tub and pool,the fact that fishing is available,it is pet friendly,the nice restrooms and showers,the river,The van that will take you on tours.It is also nice that it has a place to get food,and the movie on the weekends.It is also great that it has fire pits that you can grill on.The people there are also very friendly!
Jun 03, 2015
The fishing use to be awesome, now you're lucky to catch a fish,don't know what happened. Some staff were very rude. Not sure if I'm going back.
Jun 03, 2015
Been coming to this KOA for 10 years. We absolutely love it!
Jun 02, 2015
WiFi is weak. Spaces are very crowded. It unfortunately rained during our stay. Not KOA fault.
Jun 02, 2015
We camped RV style and we loved our stay. There was tons of fun activities or our kids and the grounds were clean and well maintained. The staff was also super helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to going back next year!
Jun 02, 2015
Beautiful and well kept, spacious , super nice people. So much to do and see in and around here. My favourite campsite so far!
Jun 02, 2015
The staff was superb and very profesional. I found them to be very friendly and some of hte happiest folks. Thnaks for such a great experience. Beautiful location as well, and the campground was spotless.
Jun 02, 2015
Nice campground, nice people. Really great place for kids and families.
Jun 02, 2015
Excellent for kids, very friendly and helpful staff, and the restrooms/showers were always clean.
Jun 02, 2015
Friendly staff throughout the campground. Clean campground, family friendly and safe.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
It was busy. Lots of people. All the cabins and RV spots where within spitting distance. Aside from that there where lots of activities going on and it was fun.
Jun 02, 2015
All was good as always , just keep up the good work thanks
Jun 02, 2015
Our favorite place to camp. So clean and well maintained. Staff is very friendly. Will definitely be back.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
It was awesome!
Jun 01, 2015
Golf cart rentals were too expensive. The carts were filthy. Staff was friendly, campground was clean. We had a problem with the refrigerator in our cabin and the staff replaced it very quickly.
Jun 01, 2015
The only reason it is not a 5 star... This camp ground is great, but only on the off times. It really has a hard time taking care of guest when it is full/busy.
Jun 01, 2015
nice place; the only trouble i had was with the internet service: couldn't even send text msgs on my phone. i enjoyed the hot tub and warm indoor pool. employees were friendly and helpful. the bagged ice freezer registered at 0 degrees, which was a pleasant surprise.
Jun 01, 2015
The neighbors beside my family were fighting and drinking. It made for a very unpleasant say. We ended up leaving a day early because of them.
Jun 01, 2015
My only complaint is that there were no blinds or curtains in the front of the cabin. Although we fronted the water, there were often kids running around in front of our cabin as well as people fishing. Being a family of five, it was hard for everyone to get dressed in the bedroom but we had to do that because there were always people loooong in the cabin.
Jun 01, 2015
Our stay at the KOA was great!! Tons of great activities to do & beautiful and clean camp grounds. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. Overall we had a great experience and we will definitely be back!!
Jun 01, 2015
Great stay. Cabin was not clean and bathrooms had very little hot water. Other than that, we had the best time ever
Jun 01, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.