Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 02, 2014
We loved everything and management was wonderful planning on coming back as often as we can
Jan 02, 2014
The cabin was nice and everything was great except: 1) The cable TV was really fuzzy with a lot of interference. 2) There wasn't any wifi, although the website said there was. This was a bigger deal because there is no in-cabin phone or cell signal, so no communication is available from the cabin. 3) The hot water ran out during just one shower. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.
Jan 02, 2014
Dec 31, 2013
Loved the stay and will certainly be staying again. Service was great and the People were helpful and friendly. We were able to stay with our pets and have a great time. The cable was okay and the wi-fi was on and off, but they said they were getting an upgrade so I'm sure it will be fine soon. We weren't on vacation to watch TV. Loved it thanks guys we'll be back, soon I hope :)
Dec 31, 2013
We had the best time. It was very cold, but the ambiance made up for it! The staff was awesome, accommodations were very clean...we'd love to come again!
Dec 31, 2013
Had a wonderful Christmas vacation that we will never forget !!! Thanks, the Suderman's
Dec 27, 2013
The staff was great - we found out the hard way that you can not leave the sewer lines out in freezing weather, but the maintenance man took care of it for us.
Dec 24, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river side. Deluxe isn't what it feels like. It was not clean (at all), very small, and the kitchen did have only two pans of which one should have been thrown away years ago. We will never stay there again.
Dec 22, 2013
Had a great time, the kids loved the giant chess board!
Dec 10, 2013
The indoor pool neads some updating the floors were dirty is some areas. And need to be resurfaced. There was no hand rail on the steps into the hot tub, as a result I could not use it. It would have been nice if the pool was open in the evening. We could have worn the kids out so they would go to bed easily. Your campground is in a great location. Hope to see improvements when we come again.
Dec 09, 2013
We enjoyed our stay!! The river view was beautiful and the cottage was clean and new. We will definitely be back! The only complaint we had was the cable and wifi however when mentioned to the staff they let us know it was being upgraded over the winter. We look forward to a return in the summer!!
Dec 09, 2013
All Good. Plenty of good fishing in the area. As always all the crew are there for your needs..... Thank You
Dec 04, 2013
Had a great time in the fall. Can't wait to go back in the summer! Great staff...very friendly!!
Dec 04, 2013
Have stayed at this campground before, several time. Always had a good experience, until now. No hot water in bath house. Indoor hot tub was hot but not working. Water was discolored. Dogs were in the campstore. Frost free spicket at camper was froze every morning, even though we unhooked the water hose and stored it inside camper during the night.
Dec 04, 2013
We had a great time. We didn't bring the kids on this trip but most definitely want to bring them with us this summer.
Dec 04, 2013
campground need to update cable and internet. with young kids TV is a must at night and early mornings. Water pressure was low at our site. but I would and will stay their again.
Dec 03, 2013
Honestly this KOA is a hard one. The area is pretty, great for fishing. Love the paved roads. The staff was nice, not overly friendly as other KOA's we visited. We got no escort to our site, no trash pickup. A little high priced for what you get. First experience with unfriendly camping neighbors that didn't respect the quite hours and burned a fire nonstop. Just a bit much for us.
Dec 03, 2013
Everyone so helpul and very Nice ground. Trout Fishing is awesome.
Dec 03, 2013
We had a great stay. There were some mechanical problems with our cabin. But let me tell you!!! I told them and they were there in minutes to fix the problems. The staff is great and on top of any needs or problems. We Loved our stay. This is our 2nd trip in two weeks and I am going back this week again....
Dec 03, 2013
Everything was great. If I could change one thing it would be to create a changing area within the indoor pool area besides a tiny bathroom.
Dec 02, 2013
Great Stay! Can not wait to come back!
Dec 02, 2013
Staff was excellent, property was great. Location great. I was there for 5 days, WIFI is virtually unusable. I was unable to stay in touch with work. That was a big problem. Probably will not be back for that reason only. Great park otherwise !!
Dec 02, 2013
I was a little bit disappointed that the cabins did not automatically have heat in them. Stayed in one the previous weekend in WV at the KOA there & they did. Overall, great location though.
Dec 02, 2013
I wish you would get the cablevision lines at the back of the campground fixed. It is the same every year. No picture quality at all. Otherwisw everything was great.
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
Thank you so much for a great stay! We will be back next year for some fishing and hopefully with our boys! The Kabin was very clean and cozy!!
Dec 01, 2013
Dec 01, 2013
all the staff made us welcome during a major holiday. One of the best Thanksgiving yet!
Nov 30, 2013
We had an awesome Thanksgiving week with KOA in Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC! Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Nov 30, 2013
We loved it. Great manager and friendly helpful staff. We will definitely be back.
Nov 29, 2013
This is a fantastic KOA. Always immaculate, very friendly and helpful staff, and lots of things for our grandson to do. Nice level concrete pads makes set-up easy & the cable TV is a nice touch. The camp store is fully stocked and the coffee shop is a nice touch. We'll definitely be back - again & again!
Nov 26, 2013
Very nice one night stay, great amenities.
Nov 26, 2013
Great time
Nov 26, 2013
although the deluxe cabin K221 did not have gas heat. The staff went out of their way to supply us electic heaters. And also checked on us from time to time. Very pleased.
Nov 25, 2013
Nov 25, 2013
Nov 25, 2013
We booked our camping spot to have cable because we really wanted to watch the Georgia/ Auburn game, but when we hooked our cable up the cable was not working. I went to the front desk and was told that there wasn't anyone there to look at it in the middle of the day Saturday. We were disappointed since we paid for cable not to have it.
Nov 20, 2013
Nov 18, 2013
Great stay! Everyone made us feel welcome, the staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Nov 18, 2013
Upon arrival, found out the cable TV did not work. This was an issue considering the weather for these days was not ideal. When you pay right at a hundred dollars a night to stay at a campground, then what they advertised is expected by the guests. One night would not have been so bad but this was from Thursday to Sunday. After the Wi-Fi got knocked out then there was nothing to do at night.
Nov 18, 2013
Nov 18, 2013
I would like to say thank you to Lynn and the entire KOA staff for making this weekend such a memorable one. I purposed to my girlfriend at the cabin this weekend and it was perfect. I had let Lynn know my plan and she went above and beyond to help me capture this magical moment. She had roses in a vase as well as rose petals scattered throughout the cabin. Customer service at its best!! Amaz
Nov 17, 2013
Nov 17, 2013
Nov 16, 2013
Bath rooms where in poor state, run down. Showers didn't not have benches in bath house 4. staff didn't show us the site. Cable was very poor last night never came in.
Nov 16, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
beautiful setting, lots of activities, convenient to town.
Nov 15, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
Poor internet! Poor cable reception! Poor water pressure! The KOA sign is NOT seen at night, no lights on!
Nov 15, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.