Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2016
Our cabin toilet is 244 had not been cleaned. Nothing for teens to do. Could not believe that there was no activity on July 4th (no music)You should think about playing music around the pool area. Could be such a great place to stay...Poor Management. My family and I have been coming to the KOA for 4 years. July 4th and again in October. Went we first started coming things were really differe
Jul 06, 2016
Wonderful! So much to do!
Jul 06, 2016
This is a great KOA, I really would like to rate it a 10 with 5 stars. All the Koa's I have stayed in this one had the worst cable TV reception I have ever seen. SNOW nothing but SNOW. If you went to the office they had a great picture. I asked at the office but no one showed up.
Jul 06, 2016
We love staying at this KOA,but there needs to be some improvements in showers,very little water pressure. Some cabin sites do not have water access anymore.Needs new ceiling fans in cabins. Completely Worn out.Fish not stocked in ponds as in past.Some people still like to camp instead of staying in a deluxe cabin. Don't do away with all of them. Pool is nice. Staff very helpful and friendly tks.
Jul 06, 2016
Almost every person was as nice as could be except a lady with a facial piercing, she was rude to my children which for me is inappropriate behavior at your job.
Jul 06, 2016
Our 2nd time staying at the Cherokee location. Staff is awesome and the facilities are well kept. Thx!
Jul 06, 2016
Best campsite I've been to out of all, the facility was 5 star, the staff was organized and very friendly, this place is beautiful.. They put all other sites in Cherokee to shame. Thank you KOA!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Realizing it was holiday, & packed, internet was down, ran out of ice, ice cream, etc. should be more prepared for crowd
Jul 06, 2016
Clean bathrooms, clean campgrounds. Hate that there is stumps everywhere on the tent sites but overall loved the campground.
Jul 06, 2016
The visit was good but the spit they put us in was not suitable for a popup we tryed to work with the worker that placed us and he would not help us if we decide to come again and get a bad spot again we will leave
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
The campground is great. The staff however is really rude at times. Less activities for the July 4th weekend than in past for the kids. Great
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
super service et accueil. moment spéciale de notre voyage car nous avions réservé 2 nuit mais vu la pluie et nous étions en moto nous n'avons pas pu nous rendre donc nous somme resté une seul nuit. la gentille demoiselle nous a crédité la nuit que nous ne somme pas séjourné. tout est super. les douche, le site, l'accueil.
Jul 06, 2016
Even though it was a holiday the staff was friendly and kept all the sites clean.
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
We had a great time! Everyone was nice and willing to help or answer questions. Employees did great with the kids during crafts and other activities. Bathrooms were clean as well as park and pool. We will defiantly be coming back.
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice and friendly with a lot to do
Jul 05, 2016
Activities were great for kids. Cabin was nice but not clean upon arrival. Floors were nasty. Dead bugs, dirt. Hair in shower. That's my only complaint. This was my first time at a KOA in a cabin so I don't know if this typically how they are kept or not. This was just my experience. I definitely would stay at this KOA again though.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We stayed over July 4th weekend. Even though it was crowded and very busy, the staff was always friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from Unto These Hills was right on time and came right to the front of the amphitheater. Due to the number of people (over400) the Internet was very slow.. But we didn't go camping to surf the net. We will definitely be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Everyone was super awesome, especially Lucy. There was one guy, though, who when I asked him where we could get water for our cabin when all the camper spots filled up he said the cabins didn't come with water. Really? But...it was a great stay in a beautiful area. Great pool, too.
Jul 05, 2016
I stay at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA annually, always enjoy this campground. Plenty to do and if you just want to relax, there is that as well.
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was very clean; however, they should not say they have wifi because it was very limited and did not work 90% of the time. I would have preferred to been able to select my site online, because the camp spot we had was dirt not concrete like we had hoped.
Jul 05, 2016
It was great! Some of the staff was a little to bossy but I think it was because they were so many people there.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was great, our kids had a great time. I would definitely call and ask for a different campsite next time - our tent was backed up to the dog area and at the intersection of the two main roads, kept us up all night, every night.
Jul 05, 2016
Safe secure and always something to do
Jul 04, 2016
Very friendly staff, very nice restrooms & showers, a lot of activities for kids, we stayed in a 23' trailer on the river, best sites in the campground
Jul 04, 2016
Great campground for exploring the Great Smokies. Quiet and clean and friendly staff. Only the WiFi and the Cable could be more reliable.
Jul 04, 2016
We had a great time at this campground! My only disappointment was I did not feel the staff love bed up to the KOA name. We are used to overly friendly and helpful staff. Some of the staff was very friendly but in other instances you would walk up to the food counter for example and he just stared at you waiting for your order without a "Hello, how can I help you?"
Jul 04, 2016
I love the camp ground.! We rented a cabin. I must say we left 1 day early due to the cabin. There were spider webs everywhere. I just could not stay another night. Bathrooms were amazingly clean. Thank you. Del
Jul 04, 2016
Over crowded. Wi-Fi stinks. I paid extra a night for an upgraded cabin which wasn't worth it. Cable was out for the TV we paid extra for. No picnic table. No parking for the one car we had. No place for my dog outside. We checked out early and went someplace else.
Jul 04, 2016
Muy bueno
Jul 03, 2016
Everything was great and the staff nice. Only negative comment is that the central AC unit in deluxe cabin does not cool either of the bedrooms and it's a very loud unit.
Jul 03, 2016
It was our family's first time at any KOA and I have to say, the staff were very helpful and nice. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do on the campground. They enjoyed it, had fun and no complaints. The fishing ponds just outside of the campground are a plus. The entire campground and bathrooms are kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return again, no doubt. Thanks!
Jul 03, 2016
We had a blast! The tubing was great and nice they shuttle to the casino. Wish the shuttles ran later than 945 back from casino. Overall very nice camp site.
Jul 03, 2016
I camped alone with my chihuahua Gabbie. The staff were very friendly and helpful when I needed help getting my canopy up. The campground is very beautiful and the bath houses were very clean. I only have one complaint and that is the $3.00 charge for a 10 lb.bag of Ice and the $7.00 charge for a small bundle of firewood. I purchased both at a much lower price at a gas station in Cherokee.
Jul 03, 2016
The facilities are all clean and working. Clean and private restrooms and showers. The laundry is good sized to allow several users. Camp store is large and offers anything you may have forgot. Friendly staff and a great location. Definitely would recommend this campground.
Jul 02, 2016
Great family oriented place. Everybody is very friendly. Special thanks to Michelle our driver to river rafting.
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We had a great time, the whole family had something to do. Staff were great.
Jul 01, 2016
Always have a great time!
Jul 01, 2016
Clean, organized and well run. Beautiful location.
Jul 01, 2016
JoAnn was soooo helpful to us when we were trying to pack the most into our stay She took time to explain things to do & places to go. THANKS
Jul 01, 2016
The lunch staff was absolutely the worst service I've ever had. 30 minutes after ordering I'm told they are out of what I ordered. As long as you don't eat there it's great
Jul 01, 2016
The workers were rude, quiet time was not between 10:30 and 7:00, there were many people drinking alcohol, and the people next to me were smoking pot. It was very disappointing to see the girls enter the bathrooms to "clean" but the toilets were not cleaned the entire time I was there. I know this because there was a pink ring around the middle toilet. I will not be back to KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
A wonderful place to stay. There are lots of things to do in the area and when at the park my children were very busy swimming, wading in the river, on the jumping pillow or they could have been doing other activities we didn't have time for. I came to this KOA as a child and was excited to see I love it just as much or more now!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award