Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
Love it, I always come 3 or 4 times each year.
Jul 20, 2015
OUR STAY OVERALL WAS VERY NICE. THE ONLY PROBLEM WE HAD WAS THE TRAILOR NEXT TO US, WHICH WAS OCCUPIED BY KOA EMPLOYEES, HAD OTHER KOA EMPLOYEES POUNDING ON THEIR DOOR AT MIDNITE. LACK OF SLEEP MAKES A 7 HOUR RIDE HOME SEEM LIKE A LOT LONGER.
Jul 20, 2015
Staff very friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
We were very taken about by the welcome we received upon arrival. After a 9 hour drive in a 28ft motor home, we were greeted by an older gentlemen with headset very rudely. He should not check in late arrivals...last thing you need that late is someone very rude. Rest of the staff, just lovely
Jul 20, 2015
Had a Great time
Jul 20, 2015
My family had a great visit with this KOA campground. They have a lot of activities but we decided to tube for the most part. The tubes were high quality and they offer shuttle rides for long tube trips.
Jul 20, 2015
Our Kabin had FLEAS! We were moved twice. Our stay was very uncomfortable and we were NEVER even offered any compensation for the stress, physical discomfort and time we lost from our vacation. I cannot tell you how heartbroken we feel since we stay there ALL the time. I would like someone to follow up with me with regards to this incident. Thank You.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was excellent. However the campfire wood that we purchase (4 bundles) was all green (wet) wood. Making it VERY frustrating and difficult to keep the fire going.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay but real expensive 75.00 a night high for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
It was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Clean campground,bathrooms and cabins. Staff was wonderful! I would highly recommend a stay at the Cherokee,NC KOA!
Jul 20, 2015
Analog cable TV, broken water stand pipe. Very crowded and no place to park the MH and go into the store on check out. Other than those few things, we were happy.
Jul 20, 2015
Wish the wifi was a little faster
Jul 20, 2015
My kids loved it! Lots of good bike riding. The bath houses needed to be cleaned more often.
Jul 20, 2015
We always LOVE staying at the KOA!
Jul 19, 2015
Love the camp grounds just disappointed this year. We rented deluxe cabins the AC unit broke in the bedroom and they never fixed it the whole 7 nights we stayed there no discount given for the inconvenience
Jul 19, 2015
Site 269 should be a parking spot for a cabin the site was recently was Site 269 should be a parking space for cabins. The sewer inlet is 11" above the ground. Water continues to leak underground and site of excavation was not even leveled. what about a refund??
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed every minute at Cherokee. Staff is fabulous , helpful, and everything was clean and so well kept. I'd go back any time I could.
Jul 19, 2015
Totally enjoyed our 5 night stay! Staff was very courteous and provided top notch service to us. Have already recommended the campground to others.
Jul 19, 2015
Well maintained. Good level concrete sites. Very convenient to the GSMNP but a little remote to everything else. Limited cell service (voice only) and wi-fi was slow and unreliable.
Jul 19, 2015
As I was checking out, I booked a week for spring break next year for the family. I will also be coming the 1st of Oct. for a father/son weekend with friends. So, yeah, we love it.
Jul 19, 2015
Our first KOA stay, and the first time I've been in a campground in 40 years. We were very pleased and hope to come back.
Jul 19, 2015
Camping Cabin. This place was ok, not great. Pros: great pool area, 2nd pool, food reasonably priced, good activities for kids. Cons: sites are way too congested. Our site (K385) was at the very back and was bad -- soggy grounds, could not park right next to cabin, big sewer line running behind the cabin and along the "creek".
Jul 19, 2015
Wow.....when I arrived I felt like I was dropped into the middle of a bee hive, or maybe the next Woodstock, or possibly the middle of Disney world.... Not that all that is a bad thing but it was obvious, based on where my tent sight was, that it would NOT be a peaceful night. The help was super friendly, the crowds are just not for me.
Jul 19, 2015
Our family had a great time!!! So much to do.
Jul 18, 2015
we enjoy the park and the staff great place to camp and set back and relax see you next Sept 2016
Jul 18, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA several times and always look forward to coming back. Beautiful area and well kept grounds!
Jul 18, 2015
Great place if you have kids or grand kids, lots for them to do.
Jul 18, 2015
Loved it
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground. Kid friendly, don't go unless you really like kids everywhere. Grand kids had a blast. Bath house, pools, fishing, etc. really nice. Internet and Verizon cell did not work. In 3 days I only hooked to the internet once but, it would not do anything. No internet and phone but, the rest was great.
Jul 18, 2015
This was our second visit. My husband was disappointed that it was too hot for trout fishing but we enjoyed the pool and shopping. The first campsite given to us was too muddy for us to use and we were allowed to move to another much better site. The bathrooms/showers were really nice. Also the laundry room (and the prices for laundry were good too). They had a DJ there on Saturday night and it
Jul 18, 2015
Everyone was so helpful when our tent took on water with the terrible storms in the area!! They saved our vacation by moving us to an available cabin which allowed us to continue our vacation rather than packing up and going home!! The services they provided for arranging activities in the surrounding areas and then the shuttle service and employees we worked with were all awesome!!
Jul 17, 2015
The campground and location was very nice but Wi-Fi did not work throughout.That was a major problem as we had a hard time planning nearby activities and routes.There was one person at the front desk that was quite rude on several occasions.It would have also been helpful if there was a note on the website, or when we made reservations about not using gps routes through the mountains with an rv.
Jul 17, 2015
Absolutely loved our stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! Already booked for another week!
Jul 17, 2015
VERRY NICE
Jul 17, 2015
Staff office people are rude. We want to bring our grankids kids with us but the staff told us no tent on rv site. So we are looking for other camp grounds to take our kids in a tent so they can be all together
Jul 17, 2015
Grounds are beautiful! Wifi stinks, no cellphone service, (not your fault, but counts in rating), bathrooms should be <5 in Good Sam ratings.
Jul 16, 2015
We had a great time here! It's a beautiful location and the staff are wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is because of the lack of cell phone service and the very limited internet. If you just want to unplug, this is the place to be!
Jul 16, 2015
Large KOA, beautiful location. Nice place to stay "off the grid". Wifi & cell serv was almost non-existent. No A/C's in kabins. Cherokee is a "dry" county so much make any alcohol purchases prior to visit. The walk in health clinic also does not treat you if not from Cherokee tribe. Staff was not overly friendly or inviting. Tubing was a blast.
Jul 16, 2015
We arrived on Friday and the air conditioner quit on Saturday. When we checked out on Wednesday(2 days earlier than expected) the a/c was still not working. I was told it froze up due to humidity and ambient temperature changes. The last day we were there a maintenance man said the drain was clogged. Whatever it was the problem was not fixed.
Jul 16, 2015
It was great
Jul 15, 2015
clean and friendly,I would recommend to everyone.
Jul 15, 2015
# 3 showers needs reworking bad, older personal checking in campers are rude, cabins are dirty , ants on walls, scream had large hole in it.
Jul 15, 2015
The only thing I missed was no street lights at nite....soooo dark
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We found two primitive cabins right on the river on very short notice and had an absolutely wonderful time! You made our impromtu family get-together possible. We converged from MS and NC to your campground. Lots of rainbow trout were caught and consumed. My 4 year old grandaughter even caught one! Campground, cabins, showers, bathrooms, pools, everything was clean and welcoming. Thanks KOA!!!
Jul 14, 2015
We got to stay in a Deluxe Lodge for the first time and it was awesome. The campground was clean and employees very helpful as always. Thanks, be back soon.
Jul 14, 2015
we had a cabin which had runoff from next site washing dishes. floors were dirty and paw prints on mattress. bathroom in need of cleaning and after a young lady had cleaned bathrooms not, pee all over toilet she left, but didn't do her job very good. our lock was stuck and we got good help with that. lots of employees someone must know how to clean even with all the people there.
Jul 14, 2015
Had a great time. The campground was very clean. The workers were very helpful and went above and beyond their duties to make sure you enjoyed everything. The kids really enjoyed the activities there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.