Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 01, 2017
Great customer service
May 01, 2017
Front desk staff were a little brash initially when I called and checked in but warmed up as we talked. All other staff were very helpful and nice! Delivered wood to our site, security provided extra comfort as they made rounds at night, lots of activities for the kids, peaceful and site was very large. Will be back this summer!
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
I wish that your policy to show guests to there sites would change. I had to wait 15 minutes to show me to a site that I already knew where it was.
May 01, 2017
It is such a beautiful place and the staff was very friendly!! Darrell & Cheri Hays, Illinois
May 01, 2017
We had a great time. Love that there was so muc for the kids o do! Will be returning very soon!!!
May 01, 2017
Everyone was beyond pleasant except for one lady in the office who did not wear a name tag. (was rude to several people) Not sure her name but she was older with brown hair. Would have rated higher but food stand closed early without warning messing up dinner plans and lots and lots of bees around cabin porches!! Other than that, very nice time with family.
Apr 30, 2017
The kids had a great time on the playground and jumping pillow. The waterfall just down the road was really cool too.
Apr 30, 2017
it was an awesome place, clean everthing, only a couple things laundry needs a couple chairs for us ole folk and to have the option of a tv in bedroom. honestly thank you for the beautiful vaction and friendly people.
Apr 30, 2017
No cell service and wifi is completely unreliable. If you are looking to disconnect from the rest of the world then this is the place for you. Employees were nice but had issues with my stay and it took an excessive amount of time to get it rectified. Cabins were clean, bathrooms were cleaned and well kept which you would expect from a KOA. Probably won't go back though.
Apr 30, 2017
Apr 27, 2017
I always love our stay here.... thanks!
Apr 26, 2017
Our site was OK but very narrow and not well paved in relation to many others.
Apr 26, 2017
Excellent facility, were flexible with our needs, nice people to work with!
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Apr 25, 2017
Our stay was excellent:)
Apr 25, 2017
Your camp campground is excellent clean and full of entertainment for the whole family! Your staff was extremely polite and helpful.. Absolutely recommend to all to have your camping adventures at KOA Cherokee Nc! Planning another stand next month!!
Apr 25, 2017
Had a great fishing weekend for my dad's birthday! Great stay! Only thing you to fix would be 4 people in line with one person in the store with 8-10 ppl in yellow shirts sitting around talking outside the grill(which was closed)- that was irritating.
Apr 25, 2017
Very nice people
Apr 25, 2017
We have been staying at this KOA for 15 years, after this weekend not sure if we will return. The studio cabin we rented was $147.00 for one night and was very VERY dirty, in a construction zone (shouldn't have been avail for rent) and infested with ants. We had no plates or utensils to eat off of after we grilled. Very disappointed in the accommodations.
Apr 24, 2017
Nice campground. Good amenities. We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin. The staff seemed pre-occupied and almost rude at times. We were not informed on how to trade in towels or linens. There was no blinds in the bathroom for a full length window. We asked about this and was told that one was on order and that they should not have booked the cabin until this was fixed, but made no effort to fix it.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Stayed in a studio cabin. Very clean and perfect for two. Just a Tiny House :) Loved the Keurig coffee pot and large shower. The TV did not work, but they fixed it asap. The gas grill did not work, and they never fixed it. No Wi-Fi, and cell reception useless. Off the Grid ... ok for a short stay.
Apr 24, 2017
I know that KOA can not control the weather, but with all of the rain this weekend, the areas in front of the Kabins were a muddy mess. A little more gravel right in front would be great! Also, there was no hand soap in the ladies bathroom on Friday night or Saturday morning. Stopped in the office Saturday afternoon and it was taken care of promptly.
Apr 24, 2017
The campground is very nice, shaded and clean. I was impressed to see so many staff around working. It was nice to have a Laundry facility at each of the bath houses and so many showers at each one! The camsites are nice, grassy and flat for the most part.
Apr 24, 2017
The bathrooms and showers were very clean and that is always a huge plus. There were many things for children to do but on the bouncy pillow and the indoor pool, there were some teenagers who were a little too rough to be around smaller children. The office/store was well stocked with items that may have been forgotten. Do you not have waterfront tent sites? Overall it is a nice place to stay.
Apr 24, 2017
Totally loved this KOA!! Great campsites, awesome activities, facilities were super clean, the staff, especially Monica & Katrina, were the greatest!! Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again & again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Monica & Katrina were awesome! The campground was soooo beautiful. The bathhouses/restrooms were absolutely gorgeous & very, very clean. The staff did everything in their power to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as humanly possible. Will definitely stay at the Great Smokies KOA again!!
Apr 24, 2017
Usually we have a wonderful time at KOA, this was not one of those times. Staff was very accommodating with getting us a cabin that we wanted, however, we returned home covered in flea or bedbug bites from the 'master' bedroom. Have thrown all of our brought belongings out and will inspect any cabin rented here on out very carefully. Front desk told us it was only mosquitos. Staff usually friendly
Apr 24, 2017
Awesome trip with 3 grand children, already booking our next stay!
Apr 24, 2017
It was great and relaxing for me and my family.
Apr 24, 2017
Apr 24, 2017
Clean, Friendly & well organized. Children everywhere, so it is absolutely a family environment! Children seemed to be having fun. Just made for a relaxing time.
Apr 24, 2017
Easy check in. Clean cabin. Bad food. Great location. Good place to spendtime in smokies.
Apr 23, 2017
The campground wasn't maintained. Very well. The grass was high and it was muddy which made it difficult to unhook and hook back up.
Apr 23, 2017
Nice cabin advertised as furnished with minimal actual supplies. Front desk was chaotic, but overall a nice visit.
Apr 23, 2017
Always friendly. Helpful. Good service. Great spot.
Apr 23, 2017
We come with our family every year and rent a lot of cabins for years we come over thru out the year also. We were just there Friday night and rented two cabins we were very disappointed the big bathrooms they were so nasty u were standing in pee to go to the bathrooms no stop to wash your hands. It smelled like pee so bad we gaged both our cabins the screens had holes in them cabin needs updat
Apr 22, 2017
We had a great time fishing.
Apr 22, 2017
Had a wonderful time!
Apr 22, 2017
My kids didn't want to leave. It is a great place for family.
Apr 22, 2017
Apr 22, 2017
Check in is supposed to be at 2pm and our cabin wasn't ready until 4pm. The excuses they gave me were that they were busy & bc my reservation was online it wasn't 'hot' in their system yet. 🙄 They did give us bikes to use for 1 hr for free but that really wasn't great compensation. We stayed one night and experienced rat poop under the sink & ants. With no apology or care she recorded it.
Apr 21, 2017
Very disappointed compared with two years ago. Pool was swamp water. WiFi didn't work. Linen service never happened. Rushed along by unfriendly staff, whose morale seemed quite low. No linens on bunk beds. Cabin was in disrepair. Despite paying an extra fee for a cabin on the inlet, our cabin was not next to the creek and we had to listen to construction much of the time. We will not be back.
Apr 21, 2017
Beautiful scenery. Great location and very friendly staff
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 21, 2017
Apr 20, 2017
the weekend was filled with kids activities so families there is a lot to do...we were up front and it was all rather loud for just the two of us. However, its a great location along the river and many cabins and sweet sites to be had.,,,plus lots to do in the area. We learned so much about the Cherokee culture in town. Occasionally the men's bathrooms needed cleaning in the busy areas.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award