Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 28, 2016
The campground is spacious and well kept. Great bathroom/shower facilities. The lady at the check in desk was very nice!
Nov 28, 2016
Friendly staff and keep pool clean. But need fix wifi better.
Nov 28, 2016
This is a well equipped and well staffed facility with lots of amenities, and even more kids. If you are looking for a place for children, this is it. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, look elsewhere.
Nov 28, 2016
Great time
Nov 28, 2016
Bathrooms didn't appear to be cleaned the entire time I was there. The pool needed to be shocked and made my skin itchy. Jets in hot tub didn't work. They told me when I checked in at 4 pm the first day maintenance would bring a heater. No one showed up. I ended up talking to a guy across the way and he let me have theirs when they left thank god bc we would have frozen the second night.
Nov 27, 2016
My family stay for 3 nights with wonderful Thanksgiving party, pool and hot spa. It's best experience camping!!
Nov 27, 2016
Great staff, great amenities.
Nov 27, 2016
This was our first stay at any KOA, the staff was very welcoming, the cabin and facilities were extremely well kept. Thanksgiving dinner was provided and well organized. My family had a great experience!
Nov 27, 2016
staff very friendly clean cabin great discount
Nov 27, 2016
Beautiful cabin, confortable bed, clean, amazing view. The WiFi signal not good but who needs Internet in Paradise?
Nov 27, 2016
We only stayed 1 night this trip, but they were so friendly and welcoming. It was Thanksgiving and they had a huge dinner for everyone. We stay here every year when traveling through.
Nov 26, 2016
Friendly check in and we love the deluxe cabins- the 500's are our favorite- perfect for 2 people. We stayed in the 200's which are for a larger party but still on river and it was a nice cabin. If you are a chef bring ur own must have kitchen tools this cabin had 2 pots and 3 plastic serving spoons & regular set of silverware mugs ect...we used a lot of creative ways to prepare meals. Just FYI
Nov 25, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained. Will definitely be back!
Nov 24, 2016
Went on a fishing trip here from the Saturday before Thanksgiving up to the Wednesday before and had a great time and caught about 25 nice trout that I took home. I'm already planning next year's trip.
Nov 24, 2016
the 1 who checked me in was rude & curt. Should not work counter.
Nov 24, 2016
Great place to enjoy the outdoors. Friendly staff.
Nov 23, 2016
LOVED,LOVED JOANN!!! 👍🏼❣️💞 She's one of the nicest people I've had the pleasure of meeting! We absolutely loved our time camping with y'all ❣️👏🏼👏🏼
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 22, 2016
We had a great time staying here. The fishing was great for son. We loved being able to get into the hot tub and pool on a cold day. Lucy and Joss were very helpful and nice. We will be back
Nov 22, 2016
Good facilities, well maintained, beautiful nature all around, good staff. We went off season when the camp was largely empty. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I thought the additional resort fee was a bit chintzy.
Nov 22, 2016
We took our "new to us" used camper that we just bought out for a weekend camping trip. We had a water heater plug issue and the guys there were the best to help us out to resolve the issue. Great campground, great staff.
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 21, 2016
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at your location. The cabin was clean and well-kept. We had fun fishing and grilling out. Will be back soon!
Nov 21, 2016
I've stayed in this campground many times. The sites are excellent, but way overpriced--$58 plus fees and taxes for a concrete back in pad (along the river) in November is a bit much. The bath house I used was not cleaned from Sunday when I arrived until Friday. It apparently was checked on a daily basis, but no cleaning. 2 of the 3 toilet compartments had no lock, showers good, heated OK.
Nov 21, 2016
Everything went great. Campground was quiet and clean.
Nov 20, 2016
Nov 20, 2016
This is mine & my families favorite campground. The staff is super nice & always helpful. The grounds are maintained very well. There are 2 things I don't like. All camper sites don't have the new table & chairs & glider & the speed bumps need to be painted so they r more visible. I tell anybody & everybody to go to this koa.
Nov 20, 2016
We came here after 3 days of hiking/camping. The cabin was just what we needed afterwards. The jacuzzi was awesome as was the pool Nd it was a very clean campsite in general. We WILL be back
Nov 20, 2016
i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist in any way. I will definetly stay here at the KOA Cheroke again.
Nov 20, 2016
Great cabin, awesome price
Nov 19, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
Great location for exploring Smoky Mtn NP and surrounding area. Much more subdued than the west side of the park. Nice sites. Clean restrooms. Ample spacing. I'd give it 5 stars if they had a cap on our sewer line and if the latches on the stall doors were operational.
Nov 18, 2016
Enjoyed cabin and setting. Very relaxing.
Nov 18, 2016
A very helpful and friendly staff. Will be back when we can.
Nov 17, 2016
From Allstay review:"Crowded stacked sites...It's like a clown show with all the golf carts running around tons of employees yellow shirts zinging around in golf carts ..." This is a true fact. The meeting room has a noisy fan needs repair. Too many employees busy talking among themselves. One of them gave a response, "In the trash can." When I asked where to put trashes. Kids on bikes every where
Nov 17, 2016
As always we had a great time. Love the location and the staff met or every need. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
Nov 17, 2016
The campground was great till Saturday midday. Then the bathhouse at the back became gross and nasty. There was dog poop out front, poop on the toilet walls and smelt like poop. I told someone Sunday about it and it never got cleaned. I was looking forward to come back in the spring with my daufght but we will not come. Thanks. Jenna Roberts.
Nov 16, 2016
Nice campgrounds
Nov 16, 2016
Very friendly staff, the cabin we stayed in was extremely clean. I would recommend that they invest in better stoves, but other than that everything about our stay and this location was AMAZING to say the least.
Nov 16, 2016
One of the most beautiful koa campgrounds we have stayed at. The workers are so accommodating and friendly. Look forward to returning
Nov 16, 2016
It was ok. Was woken up very early on Sunday by Garbage Truck and people around us running there Diesel Trucks for no apparent reason other then to warn there engines for 30 to 45 min. Woke us all up at 7 am.
Nov 16, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Nov 15, 2016
Great stay! Wish there was a rod to hang clothes from, a coffee table, and luggage holder like hotels have, in the cabin. Other than those details it was a great space. WiFi and cell signals were there but really poor and unusable but having a business center helped us out a lot!
Nov 15, 2016
Great facility with very professional hosts and employees.
Nov 15, 2016
What a pleasant surprise! The facilities were immaculate, the staff was welcoming & it was a nice mix (bikes, jumping pillow, etc) mixed with a true outdoor experience (trail, falls, fishing).Wish someone would have offered us a heater for our cabin the 1st night. Overheard someone talking about it the next day so 2nd night was more comfortable.
Nov 15, 2016
There are no cleaner and nicer restrooms and shower houses in the known universe.
Nov 14, 2016
Clean cabins and campground, helpful staff. Fishing was great!
Nov 14, 2016
First time at this campground, loved it. Check in was quick, escort takes you to your site. The cabin was great, rustic just what we needed. It was next to the creek. Our son loved exploring around I, and he really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We plan on returning during the summer to enjoy all the other stuff to do, esp want to try tubing and fishing. Great camping !
Nov 14, 2016
I have been coming up to Cherokee KOA since 1993 and always had a good stay. I did write a not to good review about a month ago but Lucy changed that around on this trip!! Thanks......
Nov 14, 2016
Wifi is terrible. 1st space we got was way small, they did move us. So we set up twice. will look for other campgrounds when we visit Cherokee.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps