Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
Needs some work in places but overall more than satisfied and would stay again
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was fine. You need to have maintenance check the lamp assembly on the ceiling fan. It appears to be missing some screws.Cabin 60.
Aug 10, 2014
We have a great time Li my eight-year-old little boy loved the campground. We had a great time have used your services for the last 20 years. years old loved it. He said we must return again.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Rented two cabins and had the best stay.
Aug 10, 2014
Outstanding for families. Don't know if I would stay of were just the wife and I, as it is pricey; however, a perfect place if you have kids or grand kids...makes the price worth it with all the activities they have. Great sites, great atmosphere, clean grounds and restrooms. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 10, 2014
The only complaint I have about the whole wonderful trip is that I wish you would please pressure wash the pool deck so it is not so dirty. The outdoor pool deck could use a cleaning periodically, otherwise I love KOA and will always recommend it. Thank you for a great memory
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome campground!! Very friendly staff, lots of activities, beautiful surroundings, great location!! This was our 3rd time here and it gets better every time!!
Aug 09, 2014
Great stay. Just wish internet was usable. You can connect but that all!
Aug 09, 2014
This is my favorite koa. It has lost some of it's appeal. Misinformation, no response to questions maybe not understanding what was asked. But I still had an amazing time and will go back many times
Aug 09, 2014
Tubing the river makes this campground special. Nice pools and good sevice.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I've stayed here many times and am always sad to leave. The location is so beautiful and there are so many fun things to do. I'll be back!
Aug 08, 2014
My family had a great time!! We will be back. Nice people and great staff!
Aug 08, 2014
Is a very nice campground with everything you would need inside the campground should you not want to wander around outside. Very good place for children.
Aug 08, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We had friends in the cabin next to our motorhome and they had some problems with the cabin but the Manager was great in making it right. Great campground for kids and LuLu my Basenji enjoyed the "dog park".
Aug 08, 2014
the faucet doesn't work, where the Pet Walk should be, was none, $60 for 30Amp and defect water-faucet, no sewer-I had better places for less.
Aug 07, 2014
Showers tended to be a bit on the dirty side. Wifi really needs work. Couldn't connect the whole time we were there.
Aug 07, 2014
Had a great stay with you.
Aug 06, 2014
I enjoy my stay, I plan to come back soon . How can I apply for a job at your campground
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Perfect! The cabin had everything we needed in a beautiful setting. Planning on coming back soon!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay!! We loved the pool and all the fun things they offer for the kids. The shuttle was great also! We will be back soon!!
Aug 05, 2014
cabins broken down, showers are broke no hot water,dog crap everywhere,food was terrible and expensive,activity people knew nothing, they were very unprofessional, and rude! how about refunding some of my money!
Aug 05, 2014
Of all the KOAs I have stayed at this was my worst experience--bathrooms were not clean, no picnic table at my cabin and sites way too close together--I will find other accommodations when I am in area again
Aug 05, 2014
This is our favorite KOA. We have been going there since 1989. The river tubing is fun. Like your own natural water park. Sites are spacious. Not many sites on the river so book early. Great area tours can be arranged at the recreation area. The Smokey Mt. National Park right there for hiking and touring. Harrahs Casino right in town and the Cherokee Indian Reservation with many
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Very tight spots, not really any grass spots to play on, or set up a game to play. Never went to pool, lots and lots of kids, fast golf carts and toys. We were in a more quiet area but space to back in was very tight. Little road noise, washing machine 3 out of 4 did not work. Very very busy park, maybe too big, Not really convienient location, happy holiday campground might be better next time
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Peaceful back-in site on the river. Loved the paved site with picnic table and fire pit/grill. Kids loved both pools, renting bikes, tubing and planned activities. Camp store well stocked. Bath house was clean. Liked the shuttle service. Pleasant staff; they all were really nice.
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great time.. The staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and polite.
Aug 05, 2014
nice place to stay, wonderful family atmosphere.
Aug 05, 2014
We spent about $60 a night just an ok site. We did get a site on the pond as requested, what was not shown on the map was the 8 foot fence separating us from the pond and could not see the pond at all as vines growing on the fence blocked the view. Staff was great, site ok, no internet,no cell. $60 a night I don't think so. Spent 30 a night, on stream, full hook up elsewhere.
Aug 04, 2014
Too many dogs, showers need reworking, to many thieves , left cell phone in shower house 4 & someone got & keep it,
Aug 04, 2014
The location of the campground, the cabin, and the children's program are all great! The cleanliness of the bath houses and bathrooms were not at all up to standards. I did report this to the desk staff at check out and asked that she report to management. I witnessed a housekeeper come in to clean but only took a glance- did not clean. A tampon was left on the floor in a toilet stall all day.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Two thumbs up to the new management. It would be worth 5 stars if the WiFi was reliable!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Our trailer site flooded on the first night. We moved to another site the next day without problems, however with no apology or recognition of the inconvenience caused. Wifi internet only available at a hotspot beside the office. Not the end of the world, yet not up to our experience at other KOA's.
Aug 04, 2014
it is false advertisement to claim you have wifi and cable. It was not even sporadic. The pool could have been cleaner. Perhaps the most disturbing aspect of our visit was my family witnessing your employee, Jill (old blonde woman), mistreat a customer, whose points were valid in that she was checking in and her site was still occupied, way past check out. Jill is not fit to clean your toilets.
Aug 04, 2014
Great stay...very clean bathrooms....all staff super nice....my kids had fun and I was so comfortable letting them ride bikes ..we will be back hopefully sooner than next year!!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We love this campground!!!! The girls who did all the activities with the kids were awesome and the activities themselves were great!!!! Can't wait to come back!
Aug 04, 2014
Not to busy not to big awesome for families loved it !!!!
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great but could not get Wifi service.
Aug 04, 2014
Wi-Fi would not reach camp site. Staff was extremely ride. Staff not manning stations so you could get putt-putt things. Bought wood and an hour and a half later had to go back to office to ask for it again. Worst koa ever stayed at. Will never go back
Aug 04, 2014
Hubby did plenty of fishing. I love the concrete pad pull thru sites, we stayed on the super site that allows two campers to share the same pad. My daughter and I really enjoyed the tubing! That was our favorite part. The staff that workks in the tubing rentals area was very friendly and informative. But the inflatable jumping thing is very dangerous! There is no supervision on it!!!
Aug 04, 2014
The staff were so nice and friendly and went out of their way to help us make an emergency phone call to family. We appreciated the free shuttle to go horseback riding and tubing. Lots of fun activities too!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.