Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 24, 2016
Went on a fishing trip here from the Saturday before Thanksgiving up to the Wednesday before and had a great time and caught about 25 nice trout that I took home. I'm already planning next year's trip.
Nov 24, 2016
the 1 who checked me in was rude & curt. Should not work counter.
Nov 24, 2016
Great place to enjoy the outdoors. Friendly staff.
Nov 23, 2016
LOVED,LOVED JOANN!!! 👍🏼❣️💞 She's one of the nicest people I've had the pleasure of meeting! We absolutely loved our time camping with y'all ❣️👏🏼👏🏼
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 22, 2016
We had a great time staying here. The fishing was great for son. We loved being able to get into the hot tub and pool on a cold day. Lucy and Joss were very helpful and nice. We will be back
Nov 22, 2016
Good facilities, well maintained, beautiful nature all around, good staff. We went off season when the camp was largely empty. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I thought the additional resort fee was a bit chintzy.
Nov 22, 2016
We took our "new to us" used camper that we just bought out for a weekend camping trip. We had a water heater plug issue and the guys there were the best to help us out to resolve the issue. Great campground, great staff.
Nov 22, 2016
Nov 21, 2016
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at your location. The cabin was clean and well-kept. We had fun fishing and grilling out. Will be back soon!
Nov 21, 2016
I've stayed in this campground many times. The sites are excellent, but way overpriced--$58 plus fees and taxes for a concrete back in pad (along the river) in November is a bit much. The bath house I used was not cleaned from Sunday when I arrived until Friday. It apparently was checked on a daily basis, but no cleaning. 2 of the 3 toilet compartments had no lock, showers good, heated OK.
Nov 21, 2016
Everything went great. Campground was quiet and clean.
Nov 20, 2016
Nov 20, 2016
This is mine & my families favorite campground. The staff is super nice & always helpful. The grounds are maintained very well. There are 2 things I don't like. All camper sites don't have the new table & chairs & glider & the speed bumps need to be painted so they r more visible. I tell anybody & everybody to go to this koa.
Nov 20, 2016
We came here after 3 days of hiking/camping. The cabin was just what we needed afterwards. The jacuzzi was awesome as was the pool Nd it was a very clean campsite in general. We WILL be back
Nov 20, 2016
i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist in any way. I will definetly stay here at the KOA Cheroke again.
Nov 20, 2016
Great cabin, awesome price
Nov 19, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
Great location for exploring Smoky Mtn NP and surrounding area. Much more subdued than the west side of the park. Nice sites. Clean restrooms. Ample spacing. I'd give it 5 stars if they had a cap on our sewer line and if the latches on the stall doors were operational.
Nov 18, 2016
Enjoyed cabin and setting. Very relaxing.
Nov 18, 2016
A very helpful and friendly staff. Will be back when we can.
Nov 17, 2016
From Allstay review:"Crowded stacked sites...It's like a clown show with all the golf carts running around tons of employees yellow shirts zinging around in golf carts ..." This is a true fact. The meeting room has a noisy fan needs repair. Too many employees busy talking among themselves. One of them gave a response, "In the trash can." When I asked where to put trashes. Kids on bikes every where
Nov 17, 2016
As always we had a great time. Love the location and the staff met or every need. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
Nov 17, 2016
The campground was great till Saturday midday. Then the bathhouse at the back became gross and nasty. There was dog poop out front, poop on the toilet walls and smelt like poop. I told someone Sunday about it and it never got cleaned. I was looking forward to come back in the spring with my daufght but we will not come. Thanks. Jenna Roberts.
Nov 16, 2016
Nice campgrounds
Nov 16, 2016
Very friendly staff, the cabin we stayed in was extremely clean. I would recommend that they invest in better stoves, but other than that everything about our stay and this location was AMAZING to say the least.
Nov 16, 2016
One of the most beautiful koa campgrounds we have stayed at. The workers are so accommodating and friendly. Look forward to returning
Nov 16, 2016
It was ok. Was woken up very early on Sunday by Garbage Truck and people around us running there Diesel Trucks for no apparent reason other then to warn there engines for 30 to 45 min. Woke us all up at 7 am.
Nov 16, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Nov 15, 2016
Great stay! Wish there was a rod to hang clothes from, a coffee table, and luggage holder like hotels have, in the cabin. Other than those details it was a great space. WiFi and cell signals were there but really poor and unusable but having a business center helped us out a lot!
Nov 15, 2016
Great facility with very professional hosts and employees.
Nov 15, 2016
What a pleasant surprise! The facilities were immaculate, the staff was welcoming & it was a nice mix (bikes, jumping pillow, etc) mixed with a true outdoor experience (trail, falls, fishing).Wish someone would have offered us a heater for our cabin the 1st night. Overheard someone talking about it the next day so 2nd night was more comfortable.
Nov 15, 2016
There are no cleaner and nicer restrooms and shower houses in the known universe.
Nov 14, 2016
Clean cabins and campground, helpful staff. Fishing was great!
Nov 14, 2016
First time at this campground, loved it. Check in was quick, escort takes you to your site. The cabin was great, rustic just what we needed. It was next to the creek. Our son loved exploring around I, and he really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We plan on returning during the summer to enjoy all the other stuff to do, esp want to try tubing and fishing. Great camping !
Nov 14, 2016
I have been coming up to Cherokee KOA since 1993 and always had a good stay. I did write a not to good review about a month ago but Lucy changed that around on this trip!! Thanks......
Nov 14, 2016
Wifi is terrible. 1st space we got was way small, they did move us. So we set up twice. will look for other campgrounds when we visit Cherokee.
Nov 14, 2016
The camp ground is beautiful, well Maintained and large. There is something for everyone . It is a destination not a stop over. All the amenities are above average. Jump pad, swimming pools & Hot Tub inside and out. Trikes, fishing. We rented a cabin and on the river with views and serene sounds. There were some staff that were less than polite & quite rude. That's said, I'd still go back.
Nov 14, 2016
We've been coming here for nearly 15 years. We've seen Cherokee at it's best, and also at it's worst. Love what the new management is doing to get this KOA great again!!! Can't wait to come back in January!!
Nov 14, 2016
Awesome!!!! As always!! We go several times a year. We love it!!
Nov 14, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, but encountered an employee (Lucy) in the office that was nothing short of rude. We arrived late Thurs night and left early Fri morning for an all day event for our little girl, which didn't get us back to camp until 9:15 pm so we could not stop at the office on Fri since they were not open when we left or returned. When I stopped in Sat morning, Lucy was extremely rude.
Nov 14, 2016
The staff at this KOA were incredibly friendly and helpful. I love that they have an indoor pool and hot tub for the colder months. Also, the bike rentals were a lot of fun. We will definitely be returning in the summer so that we take advantage of all the activities, indoor and out.
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience
Nov 14, 2016
This years stay marks the sixteenth year , always a relaxing great time .
Nov 14, 2016
We loved our stay, the kids especially loved it on the bouncing pillow, mini golf, bike rental, and playground. All the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Especially JoAnn who realized I hadn't included my discount. We will definitely be returning here in the future.
Nov 14, 2016
So great....lots of activities for kids...even in November...
Nov 14, 2016
enjoyed our visit, staff helpful and friendly
Nov 14, 2016
Great staff what you expect at a five star hotel, we love this place and we are already planning our next trip!
Nov 14, 2016
Was not given the cabin type I reserved for my son's birthday - he cried because of it. Wifi was horrible - could get a signal but couldn't use it for anything simple. have stayed here several times but this weekend really disappointed me. Was told that if you want a specific type of cabin you have to call after making reservations and have them notate your reservation to not change it.
Nov 14, 2016
2nd time staying here in 2 years. Love it and will be back. Only complaint is part of the shower / bathroom area was shutdown hopefully just for remodeling. Also some locks need to be fixed in the bathrooms. Thank you!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps