Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2015
My site was 185 and it was great
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
came in a 40 ft motorcoach concrete pad and pull thru site very nice compared to some i have stayed at nice staff will be staying again in future
Aug 11, 2015
Great place to stay. Plenty of things for the kids to do.
Aug 11, 2015
Thurs, Fri, and Sat nights were miserable. The camp was super busy and even hosted a high school cheerleading camp, not my idea of fun. Crying babies and barking dogs, ugh! Sun and Mon were delightful, like a completely different park from the weekend. If you are looking for a little bit of peace avoid Thurs-Sat. The camp was clean and well kept.
Aug 10, 2015
every thing was perfect
Aug 10, 2015
Awesome
Aug 10, 2015
Stayed in cottage on river. It was great. Kids had a blast. Kitchen needed more dishware and a working hotplate but otherwise beautiful.
Aug 10, 2015
we had a great time. and enjoyed staying there. it was relaxing.and can,t wait to come back.thank
Aug 10, 2015
Nice location
Aug 10, 2015
Wonderful camping site!
Aug 10, 2015
This is a great campground! It has a resort feel with lots of things to do without ever leaving the grounds. The surroundings are very beautiful!
Aug 10, 2015
I've been camping @ this KOA since the mid 90's. Things so much cleaner & organized than with old ownership. Food was a big disappointment. Only 2 workers on breakfast shift & 30 min waits!?! What happened to the all you could eat breakfast specials and prompt service? You had to do better on your excursion bookings and profits by filling all those tables & chairs. You were out of tubes Sat!
Aug 10, 2015
I would recommend everything at this campground except the tent sites. The sites right across from a busy, noisy road.
Aug 10, 2015
A great place for families. The view & sound of the river is so peaceful.
Aug 10, 2015
Everything was great. We had 19 people in our group and we all had a great trip!! We have been coming for about 20 years, our kids were so excited to return as adults. We missed the all you can eat pancakes, but the café was good. See you next year.
Aug 10, 2015
The Camp Ground is a very nice facility but for the amount of money spent I feel that there should be trash pickup at the site. There are plenty of employees on KOA golf carts riding around. They all didn't look that busy. There are to many kids on small peddal bikes that were not with parents and not paying attention to traffic. Great revenue but should be scaled back.
Aug 10, 2015
This is our favorite KOA!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a nice time. Need to improve the hot water in the showers.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall we had a great time staying at the Cherokee KOA. Our only issues were the cleanliness of the men's restrooms, and the condition of the fenced dog park area which had zero grass for the dogs to play without getting very dirty (no ideal when they are staying in the RV.) we would definitely come stay again though as there are tons of activities for all ages and the sites are well maintained.
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. Great bunch of folks running the campground. Had a lot of activities for my 10 year old.
Aug 10, 2015
Our family had a great time camping and tubing, the river runs along side the campground, so they drive you up the mountain and drop you off at the river, then you float back to the KOA. The most fun you can have for ten bucks! Great deal.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great time...family memories will be good ones..I didn't give a 5 star because on our way walking to store we stepped in what looked like sewer on the edge of other camp sites..other than that, it was wonderful.. staff were very efficient too..
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. paved roadways. nice pools. Activities scheduled for kids. The outdoor movies were great! Shuttle service awesome too.
Aug 10, 2015
Wonderful! Friendly staff, very clean facilities!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time.
Aug 10, 2015
The grounds are kept nice. The showers were not great. No place to place your stuff and difficult to get dressed need a little bench. Campfire grill was awful. Waited 45 min for breakfast.
Aug 10, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff, all around great experience. Would recommend air conditioning in the smaller cabins and it would have been nice to have the fire pits numbered to match the cabins. We were not sure which fire pit was to go with our cabin. Other than that great experience!
Aug 10, 2015
We've stayed at this KOA many times over many years and love it. This is our Grandson's favorite place to stay. We were very disappointed with out site this time. It was 144. We have never stayed in such a small spot before. I really didn't even realize they had such small spots and VERY expensive for such a small spot!!! It was long enough but no room between spots.
Aug 09, 2015
Our family absolutely enjoyed our vacation to this campground. Upon arrival we were a little disappointed that our cabin didn't have air conditioning since it was summer(No fault of the KOA). We quickly found out how cool it got at night and found ourselves covering up with blankets. In my opinion, the cabins by the river are the best way to go. Extremely peaceful.
Aug 09, 2015
Our family has been coming to Cherokee koa for over 7 years, we come with a group of other famies and we love this campground. The kids in our group are any where from preschool to high school age and there is something for all them to do,
Aug 09, 2015
We have been coming to Koa for at least 10 years now and we love it! The kids always have a ball and the staff make sure there is lots to do for them while we are there!
Aug 09, 2015
Overall the facilities are great. This was our third stay at this particular location. The only negative would be the lack of Wi-fi during our stay. One of the draws to the property is the fact that I can work while there. Internet was non existent with no real response from staff. At one point I was told I could go down town. Not really what I had envisioned for my trip.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great week with KOA. The pools, the hot tubs, and all other amenities were super. Lots of scheduled events for the kids!! The staff were awesome too!!
Aug 09, 2015
Cabin nice, but really small for a deluxe cabin. Price very expensive. Found ants in the cabin, but people in the office were so busy I wasn't able to let them know
Aug 08, 2015
Loved our site (river); the store had all that we needed; the amenities were great; the staff were helpful; the location is beautiful!
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome campground with plenty to do. Thank you for making our family stay unforgettable!
Aug 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay, brought 2 of our grand-kids with us, they wanted to move there. The deluxe studio camping cabin was clean and nice. The quiet hours , were as they say, which is really refreshing from stays in most hotels. Pools, playground, movies, the extras @ no charge made our stay complete. Thanks
Aug 08, 2015
enjoyed our stay at koa -- was a great atmosphere for our family
Aug 08, 2015
Love staying at KOA in Cherokee! Very friendly staff,the campground is always clean and just a very peaceful place to be.So many things to do there.Can"t wait to visit again!!!
Aug 08, 2015
The best place to take your family
Aug 08, 2015
KOA makes you feel special and like family. I love the staff.
Aug 08, 2015
We asked for a site with sewerage, we were told we couldn't get one. The site next to us with full hookup was empty our entire stay. Also a pillow was on the ground in the site next to us, that was never picked up as trash
Aug 07, 2015
We have spent thousands$ at your campground over the years. Our last stay,we witnessed one of your older workers yelling at the kids that clean the cabins,two days in a roll.We as campers dont need to see this.My wife was so upset she wanted to leave.The third evening my Son was standing by the basketball court, when one of your older workers started yelling get off the ball court.Wont be back!!!!
Aug 07, 2015
we loved every minute. the sites were wonderful and the staff and amenities are the best. we will return
Aug 07, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Will return many times.
Aug 07, 2015
We loved our stay. The kids loved the pools and other perks, including movie night. We had a couple of very nice gentlemen camping in the next tent site. The only downside was the volume of night traffic on Big Cove Road and the constant chorus of bullfrogs (which kids found charming, but adults not so much).
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
I have stayed here before and have enjoyed our previous visits. However, this time we were placed next to the dog park and we didn't even have a dog. The smell was horrendous. We didn't even stay at the site except to sleep. With this exception, this is an excellent place to camp. There are lots of activities for everyone. The staff is friendly and the camp is clean.
Aug 06, 2015
Had some issues with the water and sewer right after arrival but they were taken care of quickly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.