Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2016
Laura was very nice
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we stayed during the hottest week of summer. We were staying in Cabin K60 and roasted. I asked if a small AC could be rented but was told no. These cabins are great for those on a budget but during the summer they really need AC units.
Aug 07, 2016
Poor Internet connection, Near kabin K-307, kids were making noise past mid-night so it create disturbance.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Hi Rich,,, I stayed in site 118 as you WELL know of my problem with your RUDE employee, you know who HE is. I have stayed in many KOA,s and sad to say yours was the worst. Activity leaders a total shambles, snack bar teen was not focused was like she was in a play ground scene. Do end, I recommend you clean house , before you get a law suit. Oh, by the way I am a Lawyer. Koa corp. Will hear mor
Aug 06, 2016
No WI-FI our entire stay No shower heads in back shower Front shower had been updated but onky 2 showers septic was awful, talked with maintenence and he joked "Guess you guys are full of s---" and left! Had to leave it closed and just empty holding tank. We paid for this service and was not able to use the service!
Aug 06, 2016
Have stayed here several times. Seems like we are paying more for less service. Actually was given a flooded site to stay at and it took our escorted to suggest going back to office and request a different site. Needed to pay an upcharge for the only non flooded sites were concrete and we paid for asphalt. Also need to bring garbage to dumpster yourself - what are all the fees for?
Aug 06, 2016
we loved our stay at KOA. Our family gets together there for reunions as much as we can. our goal is to get together at KOA every year.
Aug 06, 2016
Thank you Joann, Michele, Tammy, Crash, Manita, Shawn and all the ladies and gentelmen in the office and grounds for the Best Vacation Ever! We loved it at the Cherokee Koa from the people to the activities. We can't wait to go back. Prices were great along with the employees. Please take the time to go to this wonderful KOA! Also, the Summer Shiners were a Great addition to the KOA!
Aug 06, 2016
This is our families favorite campground! we enjoy the tubing, shopping, checkers, and the local sites!
Aug 06, 2016
This is a great KOA! Unfortunately our rude neighbors were loud until 3 a.m. Otherwise a good place for family fun!
Aug 06, 2016
As always we enjoyed our stay. We tried to stay another night but you all were booked. The bathrooms and showers could use some maintenance. Shower heads missing, screws keeping doors from closing and blown light bulbs. Water pressure weak. We had an issue with ants even though we kept our place clean and trash taken to dumpster. Love the peaceful serene campground.
Aug 05, 2016
I would appreciate it if your manager or customer relations rep would call me at 321-433-3501 or 321543-3317. Our stay was a 10 but had a horrible encounter with one of your checking personnel. I was in tears. We have been coming there for at least 15 yrs and I have never been treated in that way. short blonde hair about 50 's
Aug 05, 2016
Tubing was fun and the staff was very nice and helpful. Loved the Campfire Grill!
Aug 05, 2016
Shuttle bus drivers good . Front office personnel good Recreation office clerk rude and not open to answer a question!
Aug 05, 2016
Campground was very clean but some of the store employees were rude and unknowledgebale.
Aug 05, 2016
The Staff was extremely friendly and helpful
Aug 04, 2016
We had a great stay at Koa. The river site 229 was great. Ready to come back. The kids loved it.
Aug 04, 2016
Had three grandkids along and they had a great time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Could use some road work in the campground though.
Aug 04, 2016
Great Place, we love all the activities and fun options. Stayed in Basic Cabin. Few suggests- need to spray for spiders-they were all over the roofing and webs in bunk beds underneath and all around them! Had to clean with broom. Maybe use flashlight to look and clean around them. Need a mirror in bathhouse or shower areas or cabins.
Aug 04, 2016
Great!!
Aug 04, 2016
Great. A little expensive. Too many activities for older folks. You need a senior rate. I would be there more often with senior rates
Aug 04, 2016
Loved the campground! Clean, quiet and lots to do! A little expensive that is why I gave a 9 rating--hard to pay these prices continually. Other than that this is the best KOA I have ever stayed at!!!!
Aug 03, 2016
awesome
Aug 03, 2016
This was our second summer time visit and it was great. Thanks KOA staff.
Aug 03, 2016
It was a great stay. There are some needed upgrades like wifi (total joke; they blame the kids on cells), maintence issues(poor fixes) and various other things. Those were our two main issues. The campground is in an awesome location and the workers were great. We will definitely be back next summer.
Aug 03, 2016
Was not told that there was no AC n cabins when booking our stay (it was hot,even w/fans. Shower place has no vent to help draw out heat. Some people working n store were rude. (Donnie was nice...he drove us to & from our rafting trip,enjoyed talking to him)
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Well I use to love staying here,but now they've gone up on prices so much.Some of the staff have gotten very rude. When you pay that much for a site the last thing you need is some rude staff. The roads need attended to.Two of the staff members were racing on golf carts one night and could have run over someone very easily. There septic kept smelling and nats kept coming up through the septic.
Aug 02, 2016
Great activities, lots of things for young and old to do! Clean bathrooms! Perfect location!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. I understand that camping in the mountains without Wifi is part of the experience. However, we own a business and still need to work even when we are on vacation. I am also in graduate school. The wifi was so bad that we had to drive into town several times and leave the great outdoors. The wifi needs to be upgraded.
Aug 02, 2016
My family had a great time at the park. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends and family.
Aug 02, 2016
I would like someone to call me so I can tell them how are experience was, my number is 828-329-9700 it would be nice to have someone higher in the food chain call because I need to report some things that they may not realize is going on in the Cherokee KOA. Thank you Megan
Aug 02, 2016
The amentities at the KOA was great for kids. The campsite however stayed continually flooded, due to a leak in the well spout.
Aug 02, 2016
The local attractions and activities are great! The bathrooms are the cleanest campground bathrooms ever. I do have a complaint though.the website talks up the trout ponds. We were required to buy a tribal fishing license to fish in the trout ponds, however no one bothered to tell us that they quit stocking the trout ponds when we were buying the multiple tribal licenses. I did not appreciate that
Aug 02, 2016
One of the best KOA we have stayed at!! We go to Cherokee every year around the same time, and LOVE IT!!! Only place to stay in Cherokee, N.C.
Aug 02, 2016
The campground was very nice the showers and bathrooms are very clean and the staff was extremely friendly
Aug 02, 2016
We had a great time! The campground is beautiful.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Overall it was a great stay. The campground is in a great location and they staff was helpful and in abundance. Our spot was well maintained and everything worked as it should. Bathrooms could use some updating. WiFi was seriously spotty.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
This is a beautiful and clean campground with a ton of amenities. Having the river run past our site was fantastic. The downside is the sites are small, the campground is and feels very crowded, and there is a lot of vehicle traffic at all hours. Many KOA's we've visited had friendly outgoing staff, most of the staff here failed to look at us, some even turned away rather than talk to us.
Aug 01, 2016
Love this KOA. Had a great time. We'll be back next year!
Aug 01, 2016
Great cabin stay. Nice, neat, clean and well equipped. Wonderful activities for families - especially children. Conveniently located.
Aug 01, 2016
Love it here. Great sites, ours was the best, on the bank of a cool flowing river. Great escape from the 90s at home. Enjoyed our stay, didn't want to leave.
Aug 01, 2016
We loved this campground and everyone we came in contact with was great!
Aug 01, 2016
The campground was not well kept and clean. We were in campsite 5 and they had filled a mud hole with straw and we found out when it rained, that is where all the water ran as we were in water 6 inches deep and like a river. The streets and sidewalks need to be swept. bathhouses were kept clean though and mini-golf needs to be re-carpeted and brick borders reattached. Dirt,mud, and potholes.
Aug 01, 2016
Convenient to Cherokee. Good for RVs - So so for tenters. Bathrooms need to be cleaner.
Aug 01, 2016
Had a great time!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award