Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 06, 2014
I booked a kamping kabin a first, online. I noted that I was arriving late. I tried to call a couple times but the office was always already closed. I arrived late and found my cabin #. It was a cold night. When I checked out the person said oh you could have asked for a heater, we supply them. I did not know. Why didn't they put it inside?
Oct 06, 2014
Great place to stay quiet-clean-very nice workers-just great with children-every thing you could ask for to get away..
Oct 06, 2014
excellant stay
Oct 06, 2014
Me & my family have been coming to this KOA for many years. It is now under new management and some of the employees were so rude and unhelpful words just can't describe. So many rules have changed its more hassle than it's worth. Will never come back and most certainly will not recommend to any of my family or friends.
Oct 05, 2014
we love it here nice and relaxing by the river we will return next year
Oct 05, 2014
This is a great KOA. I've stayed at over a dozen KOAs, and this one may have been the best located: right on the river in the beautiful Great Smoky Mountains. The only thing keeping me from putting 5 stars down is that the cabin was suffocatingly musty. We like roughing it, but that smell was foul - just needs a good wipe down at least once every few months...
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
We were totally disappointed. Our campsite was a muddy mess making it quite annoying for setup and break down. The pool was not as nice as the picture and over chlorinated. The bathrooms were not clean and on top of it all we were charged an additional resort fee that was not disclosed on the website. Subsequently, we left early.
Oct 03, 2014
It was great. The staff very, very friendly. Hope to see you again real soon
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
Great place to stay. Our 3rd year in a row and plan to keep staying in Cherokee KOA in future visits!
Oct 02, 2014
This is our second time staying at this particular KOA. We will be back again! Everyone was helpful and friendly. We stayed the first time in July 2013. It was very busy/crowded, but fun! This stay by the river in Sept 2014 was perfect for our family of 4..quiet and peaceful. Almost no wi-fi or cell reception, but if you know that ahead of time you'll be prepared. Great to unplug anyway! Thanks!
Oct 02, 2014
Beautiful, clean campground and cabins. They have everything you need, right on site.
Oct 02, 2014
Well maintained, friendly staff, lots of activities, especially for kids. Well stocked camp store.
Oct 02, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Very family friendly & clean!
Oct 02, 2014
This is a great base for exploring the area. Good facilities an a great staff. A little better cell service would be a big plus.
Oct 01, 2014
Was good, would have been better if we had been placed on the space next door, as exiting our site was difficult due to a tree and our trailer length (41')
Oct 01, 2014
We had a great stay and as always we will return, all the people on your staff are very courteous and helpful
Oct 01, 2014
First time camping in 20 years . Really enjoyed our time there . We are planning to stay there again when work and time will workout .
Oct 01, 2014
No internet service, or cell phone service. No emergency contact numbers after 11:00/pm. Grounds in poor condition, filthy dog area-never cleaned, some service roads need immediate repair. A $3.50 a day resort fee was charged with only a store open daily. KOA needs to pull this franchise or clean it up. Found another campground for next trip.
Sep 30, 2014
We have gone before and this NEW management is doing a great job. Lots of improvements were very noticeable and appreciated.
Sep 30, 2014
have stayed here for 4 straight years..this year I was very disappointed. They have put new " deluxe" cabins on the river, and taken away the cozy cottages they were there. Blocked the entire view of the river from our porch. Property very overgrown and unkept. My friend bought loping shears and cut the weeds down so we could view the river. I called the office and complained..was ignored.
Sep 30, 2014
Except for the restrooms, we were very satisfied. The restroom closest to #143 was not clean, one shower was out of order the whole time we were there, plenty of time to have repaired (4 days) floor had standing water and muddy. Otherwise friendly and nice sites.
Sep 30, 2014
Park seems rundown. Leaking hand hydrants everywhere. Power/cable boxes looking worn /shakey. Trash bits everywhere. However, pools/spas were amazing. Many staff I met were really nice, too. Lots of great things for kids.
Sep 30, 2014
From our extremely late checkin (we got lost) to our lovely little cabin, everything was amazing! The staff was super friendly and very helpful! We will definitely be back sometime in the future!
Sep 30, 2014
We had a great time. Stayed 3 nights...My husband and I and our teen son & daughter. Great fishing.. Bike rental was fun.. Pools are great. Enjoyed smores by our campfire. Quiet, peaceful nights! Bath houses were fine. A little draining issue.. But overall was clean and proximity to our cabin was perfect. The staff was all friendly to us. We are already planning our next stay. Thanks so much!!!
Sep 29, 2014
clean great staff indoor pool and nice lots will be back in July 2015.
Sep 29, 2014
Great people, great sites easy to access. Very "motorcycle friendly" Thank you
Sep 29, 2014
Our group had a wonderful time.
Sep 29, 2014
Great cabin, right on the river.
Sep 29, 2014
We were a large group - 12 couples. The cabins are perfect, gathering areas are more than adequate, and the riverside delightful. Very convenient to mountain day trips. Hope to return next year.
Sep 29, 2014
Great place. Friendly, clean. Food at the snack bar was excellent. Fun for kids of all ages!
Sep 29, 2014
I would get rid of the run down seasonal sites, they bring the beauty of the place down
Sep 29, 2014
Bathhouse could have been cleaner and the wifi did not work at all anywhere away from the office nice place friendly people just dropped a few balls on the small things
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay here this past week, the KOA workers were extremely helpful and nice. The restrooms were always clean, the pool areas were kept nice. Will certainly be back to visit.
Sep 29, 2014
we were in a cabin on the river and tho we had neighbors, it was so quiet and peaceful. staff was helpful and friendly. had a great time and will be back
Sep 29, 2014
Very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Sep 29, 2014
We had a good time. We had a one bedroom cabin looking at the lake. It was nice with the windows open. I'm just glad we were there at the end of September as there was no air conditioner in the cabin. That's noy going to be a comfortable sleep in the summer.
Sep 29, 2014
The KOA was good, a little run down. We were beside of the trampoline, so that was sortof annoying. Cherokee is a very nice place, close to the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
everyone was very polite and the campcround is very clean and appears to be in a good state of repair
Sep 29, 2014
There was a steel basketball hoop set up near to our site and right in the middle of campers instead of being located with other recreational facilities. It was very annoying to hear the banging of the rim for hours on end one day. Otherwise facilities were good. One other detractor was the road noise, but the campground cannot do much about that.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Everything was clean.The amenities were great!The only complaint I would be able to make is the women's bath house near our cabin (68) was in disrepair one shower inside the bathroom was taped up and unusable and poured water constantly and the other shower sprayed water into the floor in front of the sinks so if you were just using the bathroom you had to wade through shower water.
Sep 28, 2014
Arrived to find I had a beautiful cabin with everything furnished. The deck overlooked a mountain creek and was complete with a gas grill for outside cooking. Had a great stay.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
My son and I enjoyed our stay, especially going tubing. The campgound was fun and 'resort'like camping.I had told my son I would rent him a bike and ride with him for the 30minute rental after we packed up our tent site. I did not like that we could not use the bikes or pool after we had checked out of our tent site.
Sep 27, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.