Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 10, 2017
1. There was no information on the website that cooking capabilities were removed from cabins. New sinks were way too small for washing dishes. It would have been much better to install a single, mid-size sink and leave the cooking stove in-tact. 2. Pool bathrooms were very dirty.
Apr 10, 2017
Management made every effort to ensure that cabins were clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed, and then some. Campground amenities were open and running, even in the colder spring weather. We enjoyed our stay, and hope to return again soon.
Apr 10, 2017
After last couple seasons getting steadily better I hope they are not reverting to old habits. Plenty "yellow shirts" riding around on golf carts but both the indoor hot tub and pool and the decking around was disgustingly dirty the sides of pool scummy and the water filthy and dingy. Totally disgusting!!!!!!!!
Apr 10, 2017
Unfortunately there were ants all over the cabin. Also, it was very difficult to take a shower because the water was either too hot or cold (handle was broken)
Apr 10, 2017
Had a great get away with my 8 year old son. Plenty to do, great location and close to food shopping and fun.
Apr 10, 2017
The only complaint we have is that it's advertised they have internet yet out of both groups we are with, no one was able to book into the internet.
Apr 10, 2017
The staff was friendly the bathrooms nice and clean and the cabins are just beautiful
Apr 10, 2017
My only complaint is there was not any hand soap in the men's bathroom for 3 days
Apr 10, 2017
As always...the campground is always clean and the staff is friendly. I just wish the pool was open later especially with it being dark later.
Apr 10, 2017
Staff was great . Bath rooms could be cleaner. We had a great time and will be back .
Apr 10, 2017
The cabin was very clean and had everything as described. The One thing the website was deceitful was we thought the cabins were more secluded from other visitors but all in all a very serene location. We will be back!!!
Apr 10, 2017
Had a great time!
Apr 10, 2017
My favorite Koa
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 10, 2017
The RV park is large and active, good for kids not for those seeking a quiet time. Our parking spot on the river was great. We were only there for one night so we did not use the amenities. We did have a mysterious additional charge show up on our cc, a Resort Fee. Still sorting that out. It was not on our reservation.
Apr 09, 2017
Was good just wish the game room would be open on the rainy days we had
Apr 09, 2017
I tried to check in several hours early and was told there was $25 charge. I was fishing on the upper pond since before sunrise and the cabin was unoccupied the night before. Inconvenient. My receipt noted I was charged a pet fee. I have no pet and it was corrected. Inaccurate. Bathhouse was filthy.
Apr 09, 2017
Apr 08, 2017
it was a little rainy overall it was good.the cabin had sugar ants,also the hot water tank ran out of hot water to fast may need to look at putting a bigger tank in overall it was relaxing Thank you
Apr 08, 2017
The site we were placed at had power turned off for most of the day so we had to move sites. We were unable to get cable at either site and wifi was poor. Pool and facilities could use some work. When calling desk, you can literally never get an answer!
Apr 08, 2017
Great park
Apr 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay but our bathroom could have been cleaner- Shower curtain was nasty (mildewed)and there was a problem with ants in the kitchen. For the price it should have been cleaner.
Apr 07, 2017
Stayed in a deluxe cabin by the river. Friendly staff, clean cabin, great amenities. Enjoyed the indoor pool on cool, rainy days. Kids loved the bikes and jumping pad. Will be back!
Apr 07, 2017
Fantastic campground. Super friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful location. Loved the indoor pool and hot tub.
Apr 07, 2017
Nice area....working vacation...needed wifi. States on web site, free wifi. There was NO wifi. Complained to manager...got the "oh well not my problem" answer.
Apr 06, 2017
Liked the campground a lot. Everything you do there is expensive. From firewood to bike rentals. My kids loved the bikes. If you would have rented them for a discounted daily price I would have done that.
Apr 06, 2017
Love it here. Just wish I could stay more often.
Apr 06, 2017
Had a great stay, nothing bad to say.
Apr 06, 2017
The cabin was great. The ponds for fishing was not stocked and not even worth your time. The restaurant was not even open even though the website showed it as open.
Apr 06, 2017
Me and my family have been coming to the Koa in Cherokee for 25 years and used to have a great time the last three times we have came our reservations have been messed up I just think it is wrong to have this happen wish I could find another campground but I really like it there it just is sad when this happens it starts your vacation off on a bad note
Apr 06, 2017
The clerk was not very friendly at check in. Campground itself was nice. Cabin we rented had broken bathroom door and multiple lights burned out. Also had ants in the bathroom. Mattress on twin bed could use replacing as springs were felt during the night. It was very quiet and peaceful and the other campers were friendly. The bikes need maintenance. No Wifi coverage on back of property.
Apr 06, 2017
Our family had a wonderful time at this campground! Will definitely return. Clean, organized, and helpful staff. A+++
Apr 06, 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay! Our cabin was right on the river & had everything we needed! The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground had a great indoor pool and some type of activity for people of all ages. We will stay here again & would recommended to our friends!
Apr 06, 2017
Not very easy to get the cabin size I desired. Ask for deluxe cabin with 2 queen size beds numerous times.
Apr 05, 2017
Worst KOA around! My reservations were changed without notification until we drove 5 hours to get there, then were told upon checking in. Amenities were broken, Game room closed, and rude employees. The GM was least helpful. Simple questions, even the GM, Joann couldn't answer. Very disorganized. Double charged my account and refused to return my overcharged money. Awful experience. Won't return
Apr 05, 2017
I would recommend this place to anyone. I would like to return during the on-season to utilize more of the amenities.
Apr 05, 2017
We stay there numerous times a year. Sometimes every weekend a month. Just wish they had a place to keep my camper during the week so I didn't have to pull back and forth. Happy camping
Apr 04, 2017
Our stay was cut short. We had the people next to our cabin start drinking and very loud starting at 9:30 and didn't sop until 1:45. There is no cell reception for our phone with 3 different carriers so we couldn't call security. With no sleep and considering that they were starting drinking early on Saturday we cut our visit short. We had paid our Friday and Saturday night and both days fishing.
Apr 04, 2017
Our stay was absolutely perfect...within seconds of arriving someone helped us find our cabin late that night. All staff were extremely helpful and nice. Very clean, quiet, and peaceful. We will definitely be returning for as long as this establishment is around
Apr 03, 2017
we had a wonderful time. we come every year with our family. we always have a great time.
Apr 03, 2017
Had a great time. Loved the cabin, fishing, and the breakfast at the grill.
Apr 03, 2017
My husband and I stayed in one of the deluxe cabins on the river. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The cabin had just enough room and was super clean! We'll definitely be booking another reservation again soon!
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Me and my Children loved this campground, The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers are very clean and there is plenty for the children to do when not fishing the river or trout pond that are just outside of the campground.
Apr 03, 2017
We love the location, the cabins and the attention to detail. Hope to come back soon
Apr 03, 2017
Great stay! Just wish there was a heater in the 1 room cabins but other than that it was perfect! Will be back soon!
Apr 03, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Thanks a lot for a Great weekend.
Apr 03, 2017
Very friendly staff.
Apr 03, 2017
Taking into account a very early hiccup. ..original site was flooded. Problem was solved quickly new site was awesome. We had a great time.lots for kids to do.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps