Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 29, 2015
We have stayed there quite a few times but this was the most enjoyable. Easy check-in and everything on the site worked like it was supposed to. We will be back.
Apr 29, 2015
Enjoyable!!!
Apr 29, 2015
Great place with good food. I had an excelent tent site and the camp store was even open late.
Apr 28, 2015
1. Was put in wrong cabin. 2. Heat did not work. 3. No wifi or wrong password was provided.
Apr 27, 2015
Had a great time. Clean facilities and nice and helpful staff. Will definitely go again.
Apr 27, 2015
Our stay was wonderful the staff was very attentive and the grounds were beautiful love the bubbling brook and the tree frogs at night.
Apr 27, 2015
The campground was very clean, accomodations were everything we wanted and more and the staff were the friendliest and most helpful staff we've ever encountered. We can't wait to come back next year!!
Apr 27, 2015
clean - super friendly staff, It was our second stay here - be back again!!
Apr 27, 2015
My wife and I had a great time staying here. The only problem we had was trying to navigate thru the park after arriving in the night and not being familiar with the park. The roads were not marked and hard to locate in the dark, but now that i am familiar with it, it will be easier next time. We are planning another trip here this summer. Jeremy
Apr 27, 2015
Had a blast. Was so relaxing. Loved our deluxe cabin.
Apr 27, 2015
Great cafe, reasonable and tasty food. Very friendly staff!
Apr 26, 2015
Mattresses were old and needed replacing. Wi-Fi was not available in our cabin. Had to stand outside to get a signal.
Apr 25, 2015
Beautiful environment , friendly people all around and most of all RELAXING!!! thanks koa:)
Apr 23, 2015
We loved it. Our only complaint is were the fire pits are located at for the river cottages.
Apr 23, 2015
It was a very clean, quite campground. The workers were very helpful with info. about places to eat or shop. We didn't have children with us, but there would have been plenty for them to do if they were with us. The river beside us was nice and relaxing to listen to. We have camp here twice and we will be coming back.
Apr 23, 2015
We love being part of the KOA Cherokee family. Not only was Lisa amazing and very happy to help by moving us around to make sure our family was together but Dean stopped by every time we were outside to be sure we had everything we needed and we were having a geat time. It Is unusual to have that much attention. The facility is always beyond clean and so well maintained! Thank you! ♡
Apr 22, 2015
Great place, beautiful surroundings, clean and well managed.
Apr 22, 2015
I've stayed at this KOA several times and we will definitely be back!
Apr 20, 2015
excellent the campground is extremely well run and cared for. all the staff were so helpful and friendly
Apr 20, 2015
I was part of the Mini group. The staff was most courteous and specially with my medication package that I left home and was sent to me FEDEX. Cabin was comfortable and very clean. I'd love to come back. It would be my 3rd time.
Apr 20, 2015
beautiful clean camp in stunning surroundings, friendly and helpful employees,great family retreat
Apr 20, 2015
A suggestion, as much as I like and appreciate trees and a natural setting, the trees that hung over our coach made a huge mess of it and our awning. Even with an 800 mile trip home in the rain there is still tree droppings everywere. I will have a full day in cleaning it up. Otherwise excellent facility.
Apr 20, 2015
We stayed in a cabin on the creek. It was very nice and clean.We really liked the deck over looking the creek.We cooked on the gas grill. Had a great time and we will come back.
Apr 20, 2015
Excellent time with CMU Mini get together. Staff was VERY helpfull, Will be back but request sunny weather next time instead of rain. ;-)
Apr 20, 2015
Apr 20, 2015
Our stay was wonderful because of your great staff. We were there for a car event with a broken down car! Terrie, Dean, and Bo went out of their way to help us, and we really appreciated it. They even recommended a great mechanic...Red! We got our car back on the road. A big thanks to the staff!
Apr 20, 2015
Love this place! Only con is that the wifi is not good at all Perhaps an update would help.
Apr 20, 2015
need after dark security. ice chest bandits hit us twice in the week for adult beverages.
Apr 20, 2015
Had a wonderful stay -in spite of the weather. The ground staff could have been more friendly.
Apr 20, 2015
Everything was great--clean bathroom facilities, clean grounds! Was a little dissapointed in the lakes--used to be 3...now only 2 (and they werent that good). Camp store was a little understocked, but we brough most everything anyway. DEFINETLY will be back!
Apr 20, 2015
Kabin was great.no hot water in bath house so cold shower was miserable.staff shrugged it off as water heater was down the hill.not acceptable when mostly what we were paying for was hot showers and a roof.could have stayed at a motel with hot shower for same money.camp was much better 4 years ago.glad I didn't purchase the discount.probably won't be back
Apr 19, 2015
Indoor pool in October was great!
Apr 18, 2015
First time taking the family to Cherokee. 9 year old twins b/g. The people were extremely nice. The facilities were clean as well as the grounds. It was a pleasure camping in one of the cabins. Looking forward to booking next trip.
Apr 16, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and clean grounds. We will visit this campground again!
Apr 16, 2015
It was Great everything I expeced
Apr 16, 2015
Had a blast
Apr 16, 2015
Beautiful area OFFICE needs training of area and phone calls
Apr 15, 2015
Really enjoyed are stay already making plans for another vacation at your location on Big Cove Rd.
Apr 15, 2015
Had a great spring break with our kiddos! Thanks for providing such a clean and fun campground! We will be back!
Apr 14, 2015
The only issue that we had was the fire wood sold seemed to be a bit green. Took forever to get a good fire started.
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
GOOD........
Apr 14, 2015
The only thing that we had was the mattresses need to be thicker.The guest shout not start playing basket ball at 11;00 p.m.
Apr 14, 2015
I enjoyed my stay
Apr 13, 2015
Check in policy is stinks. if room was not used the night before and you arrive at 1:30 I don't see and issue with checking in. We stay at this resort at least 8 different time a year and this is first I've had this issue. I spent over $800 on this team building event and we are considering not using your resort again next year.
Apr 13, 2015
This was the 3rd time we have stayed with you. The campground is always nice and clean. I love the activities that are available for kids to do. We will be back.
Apr 13, 2015
I am a regular for many years. I rate the campground very highly and most of the long time staffers are great. I and many other regulars don't care at all for the new management team or the people he brought with him. They are almost going out of their way to be rude. The manager has yet to introduce himself to me or several other regulars. I am coming back but not because of those individuals.
Apr 13, 2015
SEEMS THAT THERE IS A THIEF IN YOUR CABIN CLEANING CREW THAT DID NOT TURN IN A ITEM THAT WAS LEFT WHEN VACATING CABIN!
Apr 13, 2015
The workers were all very nice and helpful, lots for the kids to do. Clean bathhouses.
Apr 13, 2015
I would rate five stars however the indoor pool was taken over by bigger kids without supervision. Making t for little kids they weren't able to play. The kids were throwing a ball back and forth very hard trying to hit one another. I'd like to see a staff person occasionally coming in to check on behavior. This is now a second time this has happened we have camped there at least 3 times.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.