Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2015
It would be very helpful if you had a sign at SherrIL cove Rd to NOT turn there or put that in the Koa book
Jun 20, 2015
This KOA does not stand with others. The Nature area is unkept and trees in the campground needs trimming. Overall a lot of TLC is needed.
Jun 20, 2015
Great facility. Wanted a spot closer to the activities and saw 2 people with late checkout closer, thought they would accommodate the request better since reservations were 3 months in advance. Very friendly staff and good activities.
Jun 20, 2015
This was our third time camping at this KOA. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The wifi isn't great but that isn't why you go camping in the first place. The bathhouse was clean as was the campground. We will be back!
Jun 20, 2015
Lots of good fishing and activities for the kids. The people were very good to us and the activities directors were absolutely wonderful with my children
Jun 20, 2015
The campsites are nice, we have been coming here now for thirteen years; last visit was seven years ago. Campsite needs more wifi; even though the front desk says it is available throughout the area it is really only around the pool and rec area. All in all everyone had fun so it was a good trip.
Jun 20, 2015
I have taking my family to this KOA for 20 years. My children and now my grand children Many changes have happened and the price had went up. But it has always been a great adventure
Jun 19, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. Expensive. Needs maintenance. Had a good time.
Jun 19, 2015
Had a blast. Campground is extremely clean and people are very friendly!
Jun 19, 2015
Only problem was no wifi. Your website says you have wifi which is why we chose to stay there - my husband had to do some work while we were gone. Had to leave day early because of no wifi.
Jun 19, 2015
We tent camped at site 9, which was centrally located to the pool/store/bathrooms. These bathrooms had just been remodeled and exceeded our expectations. They were very clean and really attractive. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Jun 18, 2015
Great place! This is our 4th visit and will go back again. Friendly and helpful staff and plenty of activties for the young ones. We stayed Deluxe Cabins and they were very comfortable. Plus, the sound of the running river is very soothing and peaceful.
Jun 18, 2015
Seem like the rules applied to some and not others. Rules state no kids under 16 allowed without parenta at the pool but I noticed groups of kids unsupervised that wereally clearly not 16. Other than that great a great place
Jun 18, 2015
I had a good time, I wish there were areas where camping would be for couples, and families in another area. Children would ride their bikes on our camping area, which i didn't complain but would have liked a little more privacy. But all in all was friendly and clean.
Jun 18, 2015
This was the best camping experience I've ever had! From friendly, knowledgeable staff to clean facilities to as many (or few) activities as we wanted to participate in. I will definitely be back often!
Jun 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA. We had a great time and plan to come back.
Jun 18, 2015
No better Campground in America for younger children. The settling and activities program is awesome.
Jun 17, 2015
This is a good campground to stay at if you have children. However, if you do not have young kids, this may not be the place for you.
Jun 17, 2015
This is our favorite campground. We love it's location and it's always clean and the staff is great.
Jun 17, 2015
Our stay at Koa was a wonderful experience ! We had a site and my parents had a site... When we arrived to our sites we didn't care much for the location of them so we asked the office for a change and they did it was no hesitation or hard time! The pools were very clean and the children enjoyed it a lot ! The sites were very clean and the grass was cut !! We will see you again soon ! The Munro
Jun 17, 2015
Great park with friendly staff. Tent sites very nice, except placed on outside of park close to road
Jun 17, 2015
Stay was good. My son and grandson were already there camping in a pop-up or I would not have paid the price for the cabin - way overpriced.
Jun 17, 2015
all the employees were helpful and freindly, the camp and bathrooms, showers, were nice and clean
Jun 17, 2015
Had a great time and the campground was very nice.
Jun 16, 2015
The staff were helpful and friendly. The campground had a lot of activities we could do and also had food that could be purchased. We so did enjoy our stay and would come back again.
Jun 16, 2015
Everyone very nice and helpful
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Great stay. Perfect base camp for Cherokee and GSMNP. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
Bad site. Put next to(facing pull-thru) at #277. "Group" on site never had less than 10 people and never shut up well after "quite" time. No shade as requested.
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our 4-day stay. Good, friendly, helpful people! You will be glad you stayed here!
Jun 16, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin by the river. But, with no cell service, we depended on the Wi-Fi which was advertised but it did not work. We had no contact with family left at home, nor were we able to receive email unless we went into town. We chose this one because of the advertised Wi-Fi.
Jun 16, 2015
The staff was amazing. Everyone you passed walking or around the pool said hello and asked how everything was going and if we needed anything. The resort was clean and well maintained. We will gladly recommend to anyone! Because we will be back as soon as we can!
Jun 15, 2015
So much fun. Such a pretty location. And so many things to do. Tubing was our family's favorite! Can't wait to come back!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved your campground. Everyone friendly and helpful. By far better than others around the area! Great for kids.
Jun 15, 2015
The stay was pleasant and the staff was friendly. Much better than the stay in 2013.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice campground and great stay. 1st time at this campground or any KOA. Many activities for kids. Would have been a 5 but somehow it seemed we ended up with the one bad campsite in the campground. Couldn't even fully extend our awning due to a power box and had a LP gas tank right next to us. Any other site, and it would be 5 stars.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice the river is wonderful. However, they need a plumber to fix there bathroom fixtures.
Jun 15, 2015
The campground itself wasn't bad. Lots of large dogs, German Sheperds Doberman and a pit bull. Unusual for a campground. The wi-fi is weak. Not bad early but as people get up it goes bad. And there were multiple sites with the sewer blocked up and extremely slow at best. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 15, 2015
Loved the new upgrades (flatsceens TV and refridgerator in the kabins)
Jun 15, 2015
loved it. very friendly friendly kids heaven. loved the facility with all the amenities.
Jun 15, 2015
Clean campground, friendly staff, plenty to do! Great place to stay.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
This was a great KOA with plenty to do. My only complaint is the staff could be a little nicer. Upon check out we were at the pool and a worker came by yelling "anyone checking out has 5 min to leave the campground". We tried to check in 1 hr early and was told no and that we couldn't use the property either. I've stayed at serveral KOA's but this one has the most rules ever.
Jun 15, 2015
We usually have a wonderful time at this specific campground. The location, amenities and most of the staff were great. We did not enjoy our stay in the camping kabins. They did not have air conditioning and the lack of ventilation made it hotter than camping in a tent. We were miserable and even purchased box fans that didn't help much. I don't recommend these through the hotter months.
Jun 14, 2015
remodeled bathrooms were kept very clean and nice to use. Sites were also well kept.
Jun 14, 2015
The staff were nice except for Joann who had a horrible attitude. The batista was hardly ever at the counter for coffee or lattes, and the rest of the staff acted like they didn't know how to make one. There was also one of the male staff that kept riding by our cabin slowly, it was kind of creepy.
Jun 14, 2015
We have stayed at KOA Cherokee several times and it seems to better each year. The staff is very freindly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The grounds and comfort stations and kept in excelent condition. Thanks again KOA and see you next year. Jean
Jun 13, 2015
Overall it was great, most of the staff was super friendly, except this one guy,older guy with a ponytail, goatee blondish brown hair, wore glasses. Seem to be always jumping on somebody about something, taking the whole authority thing a little too far. But other than him it was great, and Emma, she was wonderful, super sweet girl

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.