Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2016
Very nice all in all. The camp grounds could use some TLC. There were wasps nests and bee nest that should have been cared for and destroyed. We had multiple people bit trying to protect our children.
Jul 14, 2016
It was a nice stay but we were mis-informed about a few things.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Nice campground but overpriced
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
This campground is AWESOME! In the store it would be better if one person answer the phone/ assist new campers and the other person assist guest with store purchases only. There always seemed to be a bottle neck in the store area if both employees were busy assisting camping guests with questions/reservations and not store guest- Two lines would be better
Jul 13, 2016
It was just a little too crowded for me. I had of the best and secluded cabin sites and it still was not very private.
Jul 13, 2016
We have camped here before and was very satisfied. This time was a total different atmosphere. Workers were rude. Management were not friendly. I bet it's under new owners or management. We will not be returning in the future which is a shame because we liked the location. Maybe we will stay up the river at Yogi Bear.
Jul 13, 2016
Although I made our reservation for the July 4th holiday months in advance, our spot was directly across from the office - very noisy, people kept blocking us in to stop and pick up firewood or just run into the office. The power went out the first night, and our site and several others were the only ones without power for about 6 hours. This KOA also ran out of ice. Chaotic stay!
Jul 13, 2016
We stayed in a cabin and except for the spiders living with us everything was good.
Jul 13, 2016
we like koa because of things for all ages to do. employees are helpful. the food service was slower due to hard to communicate with certain employees. campsite 329 is a terrible site due to large tree roots with nothing but dirt and of course mud. we stayed before along ponds and had a wonderful and relaxing time. grandson age 9 loved it.
Jul 13, 2016
Beautiful setting. Sites need an upgrade or lower rates per night. Staff was friendly. Love the pools. Why the resort fee?
Jul 13, 2016
This was our second visit to Cherokee KOA and we loved it just as much as the first! We will definitely be back. Very clean restrooms and friendly staff
Jul 12, 2016
We love the Cherokee KOA and have been coming here over the Fourth of July for four years now. We have four boys ranging from 2-9 and they love coming every year. The campground feels very safe and has lots of employees that make rounds often to ensure the safety of the little ones. If you have kids, this is the perfect KOA campground for you.
Jul 12, 2016
The campground did not advertise about poor wifi connection and when we asked the customer service the folks were quite rude. When we dropped the key at desk and still had 26 hours paid at the site and us to call as soon as we knew we were not returning It used the site. We were being considerate and did not want to keep the key if did not get back. We had a bad fan in the cabin and no help
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
When I checked in the lady at the desk overheard me say that my mother, who is 80, was sitting in the car. She lives local and was visiting for the day. The lady had the audacity to charge me $5 for a visitor. The cabin had a broken window and torn screens. The floors had an inch of dirt on them. The staff let patrons smoke by the pool in plain sight. It was horrible and I'll NEVER go back!
Jul 12, 2016
Great, relaxing stay.
Jul 12, 2016
My family of 6 stayed in a 2 room Camping Cabin. I honestly have no complaints. We were really only at the campground for sleeping and showering as we wanted to see the area. KOA was an affordable option and fit our needs.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
We stayed on a tent site w/o water or electric so that was a bummer but we were right by the bathrooms/ showers and they were awesome! Our stay was quick and we left before the camp store even opened! Overall good. It would be good to remove all the fishing line from the over head wires when you first drive in.
Jul 12, 2016
awesome!
Jul 12, 2016
Goof
Jul 11, 2016
We love this KOA. We stay several times a year, and always enjoy our time here. One thing that I felt has gone down hill over the past year is the arts and crafts offered for the kids- you are charging so much for these crafts now. I was blown away that you charged for the friendship bracelets. It was $3 per child for 3 pieces of string I can understand breaking even- but that is too much!
Jul 11, 2016
A great place to stay
Jul 11, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA for a few years now and have always enjoyed our stay. This past weekend was one of our worst camping experiences ever!! The site we were in was so jammed close to the ones next to us it was uncomfortable. We had confrontations with campers on both sides. One at 3 am for a loud tv and the other because they parked on our site right on top of the fire ring! very unpleasan
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, we had an RV space and 4 deluxe cabins. Kids had a fabulous time. I would like to see a "dock" or ramp coming up from the tube run. Also, staff should pick up cigarette butts left in campsite.
Jul 11, 2016
please fix the water pressure in the showers very weak
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground ... staff was rude.
Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful location..the natural surroundings are stunning. Our son loved the waterslide. A great place for a summer vacation.
Jul 11, 2016
visiting koa at Cherokee for more than 10 years, our home away from home, great time for the whole family
Jul 11, 2016
It's was awesome! Kids and husband loved it.
Jul 11, 2016
Cabins are great but kinda expensive
Jul 11, 2016
very nice ,especially persona need to trim treesl
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Todo estuvo bien con exception que ya a las 10 de la noche pasaban trabajadores a decirnos q teniamos que guardar silencio y solo nos estaban cuidando, cuando en otros lugares estaban igual y nunca les dijeron nada
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The staff was very nice and friendly. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and fun. I would highly recommend anybody to spend some time here.
Jul 11, 2016
Everything you could want in a campground and great staff.
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed in a kamping kabin. It was great! A suggestion is to have some hooks to hang clothes on. Other than the brief thunder storm with the straight line winds and trees breaking and nearly missing my motorcycles it was great! Hope to return again!
Jul 11, 2016
Very very very nice and employees very nice and helpful
Jul 11, 2016
Awesome visit. We'll be back!!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendly staff with plenty to do for the kids. Hand soap was out in the bath houses a lot especially the woman's. Wished the wifi signal was stronger at the back of the campground. Had to go up to the front to check the weather and plan our excursions that we took out of the KOA. Still a great stay and will be back.
Jul 11, 2016
It's great! Every time. We have been going every year for the last ten years. Always clean and people always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Jul 11, 2016
It's like going to Walmart. Nobody that works there knows about the area, they don't care if you have an issue about anything. The workers are seasonal and couldn't tell me how to get to the falls that are about 1/4 mile from their site. I complained about a dog barking in a cabin all night long and the response I got was "dogs bark, that's what they do". Also don't get lot 28, very wet.
Jul 11, 2016
One of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. Staff is amazing and friendly. Very clean!
Jul 11, 2016
Very friendly staff and very clean with lots to do. Very kid friendly. We lovedstaying there
Jul 11, 2016
Overall was a very good experience. However, as I told the front desk upon checkout, they need to provide an activity calendar when guests check in, as we missed out on a lot of fun activities for our kids. :-(
Jul 11, 2016
We had an amazing time here, the staff is extremely friendly, the summer shiners are absolutely amazing they have plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and entertained throughout your entire stay. If you're looking for a fun vacation for the family this is the place. We will be back :-)
Jul 11, 2016
Nice cabin. Ceiling fan not very efficient but it did move some air. Great park. Really nice people. Would stay here again, but bring my own fan.
Jul 11, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground and facilities were very clean. Great amenities for the whole family
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award