Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2013
We had lots of rain but were upgraded to a cabin at a reduced rate after the first night. The bathrooms in the camping section had issues there was a toilet out and a plugged drain in the men's and only one working shower in the women's the staff was friendly and helpful and refunded the last two days of our stay as we left early due to the constant rain.
Jul 05, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much. The last time we were there was 1987. Friendly staff
Jul 05, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay with you. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Bathhouse and restroom ranked right down there with a no class truck stop. Clogged drains, broken faucets, and mold was the common factor. Looking forward to our stay next year.
Jul 04, 2013
Clean campground, friendly staff, expect wasps and no cell phone coverage (or GPS signal) from any carrier in this area.
Jul 04, 2013
Friendly staff. Need to post pool hours. Flooding problem with downpour throughout campground. Need to work on drainage from sites and some roads.
Jul 04, 2013
The outdoor pool was not functioning due to remodeling(peak season?) The indoor pool water looked like pond water. The jets in the hot tub did not work. Was not guided to my spot as is KOA's claim to fame. Very disappointed at this location.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
We stayed here for the 1st time this week and had a very good time,actually stayed an extra night, the only draw back was the outside pool, it was down the whole time and my family was not told ahead of time about this, so that made our kids very upset and a camper full of upset kids makes a very upset camper, other than that we had a blast, thank you The Latimers'
Jul 04, 2013
we always stay at this KOA but this year was very disappointed in the upkeep of the campground. Bathrooms dirty, shower not working. Needs better drainage during rainfall.Trash all over the place and stayed there for days.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
The outdoor pool was closed for our entire stay. We kept being told that it would be open by July 4th. We left 4 days early because our site was in three inches of mud. The offered to move us to another site which wasn't any better. We paid top dollar to include a resort fee for not having much resort amenities. The inside pool was always dirty and the bathrooms were too.
Jul 04, 2013
NOT a good experience! Our tent site was a muddy swamp backed up to frog pond?!The bathrooms were dirty and out of order. I could smell the dumpsters the entire time, and when we checked in they failed to tell me that the pool was closed?! This was our first and LAST time at KOA!
Jul 03, 2013
The grounds and cabins were nice. It was good to see that the time that the bathrooms were cleaned was changed to a time other tan when everyone was trying to shower as it had been in years past. My cabin did not have screens in the windows of the bed room but other than that I have complaints and will definitely return.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Love it and we will be back!!!
Jul 03, 2013
unfriendly people and way too crowed no fun had problems with electric and took forever to fix then the person who reparied the problem did't say hi
Jul 03, 2013
we had reserved a tent sight and asked for upgrade. We were squeezed into a kabin where there was a large party of campers. Not sure if there were any other kabins available. But we thought this was just to large of a campground for us.
Jul 03, 2013
The location in the mountains is great, the people were helpful and friendly. Maintenance quickly fixed our Kanin screen tear. Unfortunately the pool and slide outside was not open nor were we told so at reservations or upon checking in! The bathrooms were below standard: shower doors not working and rusty, Tiles missing, needs lots of work. Bathroom cleaners left without doing thorough job.
Jul 03, 2013
The staff was very friendly and the camp was maintained very well. I appreciate the staff for being so attentive when an issue arised during our stay.
Jul 02, 2013
Enjoyed our stay! Our children enjoyed the drama, skits, fun stuff specifically for them, playing in the creek, in the swimming pool, riding bicycles around camp. Nice place to stay and camp. Only negative was bathrooms; not all sinks worked properly and the toilets did not flush properly. We survived the first two days of rain! We liked the mountain location! Thanks!!!
Jul 02, 2013
The only thing that kept the rating low was the outdoor pool. We were not made aware of the pool being closed when we booked the sites and was not made aware prior to our trip. The indoor pool was way to crowded to enjoy with the outdoor pool and childrens' pool being closed.
Jul 02, 2013
Great facility.One minor complaint was how one staff member handled a situation with the tubing shuttle...he refused to take a group of 7 of us after he left early for the 2pm trip. He could have run us up quickly, but instead just hung around and did nothing for 45 minutes. Quincy did offer to drive, but we had already figured out another way up.
Jul 02, 2013
The Pool-indoor on 6-29 had an irritating too hi smell of chlorine, hair could be seen floating, a bandaid was floating, and something that looked like feces was in the water--my family left after 5 minutes. Site 220 is a bad site at this time of year--the tree which gave nice shade, littered hundreds of dead flowers all over the site continuously making it impossible to eat outside or cook out.
Jul 02, 2013
Really wish the outdoor pool update was finished. But overall it was still a great 3 days.
Jul 02, 2013
One of your employees has a nasty attitude to the customer, take us off your contact list. We never intend to use your services again. Our next trip is being planned at a different campground
Jul 02, 2013
The out side pool was not open and there was nothing on the website to indicate this. The WiFi was not accessable.Some of the bathhouses are starting to show some age. The stafff was generally friendly and helpful. The cabin sites have no water. I will return to this campground, I have been here before and it is a generally nice campground with lots for children to do.
Jul 02, 2013
We L-O-V-E KOA, Cherokee!!!! It is our home away from home! The staff is always friendly and helpful. Be back soon! The Holt Family
Jul 02, 2013
clean quiet wonderfull cottage will be back next year I tell everyone it has lots to offer all age groups
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful, loved our site that backed up to the river. Disappointed that outdoor pool was not available, should have been on the website when i booked my stay so we would have known. Also, could not rent tubes one day because of too much rain the night before,sure that was a safety issue but still it was disappointing.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Website said no outside wood, but other people ignored this. Wood and ice were reasonably priced. Starting Wed of our 7 night stay, the restocked firewood shed was full of moldy, wet wood which did not burn well. Site was close to the laundry, so somewhat noisier. Cabins were haphazardly placed, and not well landscaped. Not appealing to look at. Sites could be better defined, hard to tell bounds.
Jul 01, 2013
Loved it! Great place for children! My boys can't wait to do it again.
Jul 01, 2013
Best KOA I've ever stayed in.
Jul 01, 2013
My family and friends had a very nice stay at this KOA. There were fun activities for the kids and the food available the snack bar was excellent, especially the BBQ that was smoked outside in the smoker all day. Improvement could be made with the cleanliness of the bath houses/shower rooms. Maybe more checks throughout the day to ensure they are being maintained.
Jul 01, 2013
As always and for many years we have enjoyed Cherokee KOA. We did have some things that came up this year. Swimming pool not ready/ It also seems the cost has gotten very high. We think we could stay in a nice mtn. cabin for the same. Also for the first time we were surrounded by "DOGS" some followed the rules about being on a leach and some didn't.Most did clean up after there's some
Jul 01, 2013
Loved this campground!!! Very friendly staff, great bike riding, lots for kids! I wish the outdoor pool had been open but we knew it wouldn't be. We can't wait to go back!
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
A great place for families to enjoy and share special moments that will last a lifetime. The Baker's 2013.
Jun 30, 2013
Overall, the campground is fantastic and the employees are extremely helpful. The #4 building hallway toilets need a door hook. The bathrooms weren't as clean as expected.
Jun 30, 2013
Indoor pool smelled of urine (strongly). Outdoor pool was unuseable. Went tubing there and had to climb over downed fence and construction zone to get back to office (unsafe). Stayed at two other KOA's the same week. They were great.
Jun 29, 2013
All staff were genuinely friendly and helpful at all times. Availability (rentals) of bikes and golf cart is a plus. Concierge service helped make planning activities a breeze.
Jun 29, 2013
My scout group had a great time. We learned some scout skills and got to play. Just wish that the outdoor pool had been open for us to use.
Jun 29, 2013
It was awesome! Hadn't been there in over twelve years. The children are all adults now and it was nice to experience this together. Cabin and bathrooms were clean and everyone was as friendly as I remembered
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Great staff, very friendly. The kids loved the big bouncing thing. Special thanks to GM Mark who saved the day when a bad storm was on the way and we had two small kids in a tent! We will certainly be back and will spend more time next time. Two days was really not enough.
Jun 27, 2013
The staff was wonderful and the grounds were beautiful. We staid in a primitive cabin. It seemed that all these cabin were located close to a bath house which was very nice. The best bath houses I have ever used!
Jun 27, 2013
Great as usual.
Jun 27, 2013
I was excited to stay at this KOA, it came highly recommended, but I was disappointed. The pool was closed, and I wasn't told this at time of making reservation. There were no tubes available for river trip. I was told they were reserved for a large party. The ice machine wasn't working. For the cost of the sites, I was disappointed.
Jun 27, 2013
We had a very good time...clean and friendly campground

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.