Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 23, 2013
is was a very pleasent trip. We'll do it again
Sep 23, 2013
Except for the cable and internet this was beyond a doubt the nicest place to stay in the Cherokee area. HOWEVER, they gave many excuses about a "temporary" problem with the cable extremely POOR reception. It was obvious that it is an ongoing issue with the provider. Instead of getting my hopes up they could have just told me the truth. WIFI was also POOR.
Sep 23, 2013
Staff friendly, but not knowledgable on their wifi. One of the reasons for us to stay. You can only get on Internet at office. Not an amenity when it's raining. Internet down both times we stayed there. Leads me to believe they aren't concerned.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
We loved our stay also we liked the new cabins we loved the new additons the new loveseats that have the air mattress that let out as beds,those need to be in all the loges for thats a real winner in my book.Also notice the full beds in the lodges next to ours I GIVE A THUMBS UP FOR THAT,ALSO LOOKIN FORWARD TO MY STAY AGAIN WOULD LOVE TO BRING MY MOTHER UP FOR THAT LODGE.THANKS TO A GREAT TEAM!!!!
Sep 21, 2013
Sep 21, 2013
This KOA is excellent. The only concern is internet access is too slow to be usable.
Sep 21, 2013
Every one was grate and helpful Thank you
Sep 21, 2013
Our cabin was clean & well-equipped -- & I was pleased to find it located along a little stream...which made it both scenic & relaxing. We were surprised to find the office closed when we arrived a few minutes after 5 -- which made purchasing firewood a bit difficult (but ultimately do-able). Nice campground -- have stayed here before & will do so again...but it's a l-o-n-g drive into town.
Sep 20, 2013
Great park, GREAT personnel, excellent location to access all the attractions in the area!!
Sep 20, 2013
So Happy the pools/hot tubs are up and running again!(Special thank you to the CSR, who helped pump our bike tires up!) We will be back!!
Sep 19, 2013
More fun with family - looking forward to next spring's trip.
Sep 18, 2013
A little more crowded than I would have liked, but by Sunday afternoon the weekend crowds left and it was nice and quiet.
Sep 18, 2013
reserved a pull thru site. conf # 569005 stated I'd get a VIP in center of campground. when arrived was told site was back in. I protested and was given another at end right in front of garbage cans and under trees where I could not get my satellite reception. I asked for another site, and got moved over one site. all the 4 day stay, no one used the concrete pads and the site I had was 2 small.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
We only wish that the indoor hot tub was working. Hot water but with no bubble jets. We hope to come back next year with our two granddaughters. This has been our 5th seven day stay in the Kabins on the river. Great vacation destination for everybody
Sep 17, 2013
Inside hot tub: broke and cold (repair jets). Unattended kids dive in hot tub up till closing (answer: repair & post hours for adults 7-9pm?) Outside newly renovated hot tub is ice cold. (Employees laugh when approached)
Sep 17, 2013
Very nice campground and friendly attendants.
Sep 17, 2013
We had an absolutely great stay! All of the visiting Kampers around us were so kind and thoughtful...what a change from being in a hotel!! The only problem that I had was leaving behind my favorite sandals and none of the KOA staff members turned them in to lost and found. I was truly disappointed in that.
Sep 17, 2013
Turned out to be a great weekend even though is was packed. Ms. Mary is always wonderful and adds yet another reason to why we come back each year!
Sep 16, 2013
This Koa is situated deep in the mountains with streams on both sides. It is a step back in time while having all the modern conveniences campers demand. The staff is friendly and very helpful.
Sep 16, 2013
This makes our second annual trip and we love this campground. We love all the fun things for kids to do and even ventured out to do tubing down the river this year. It was just enough rapids to keep you interested but gentle enough for my 4 year to enjoy it as well. We will be back next year.
Sep 16, 2013
The cabins are great for our family. This made our family's second stay and it was even better this year. So much to do for kids and relaxing and love getting away from too much stuff to do at home.
Sep 16, 2013
Love the cabins behind the office! We usually bring our camper but it was just as nice in those! My refidgerator broke the first day we were there and within 5 minutes they brought another one in ! Thank u because my food could have been ruined! We stay a few times a year and have always had a good experience the only thing that needs fixed is the HOT TUBS because I look so forward to that !Thanks
Sep 16, 2013
This is the first time we have stayed in the cabins. It was wonderful. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Have told a lot of friends and family and they love it too.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Super fun place. The scenery is spectacular. Very friendly staff. My favorite KOA yet!
Sep 16, 2013
I love the Cherokee KOA! This is the best campground for all ages.
Sep 16, 2013
Very nice we are regulars camp with you many times , the only thin we notice this time is the maintaince of the sites ,they cut the grass but live the mess on you site&they don't ck the electric outlets we loss power couple times need to call front desk every thing outs was fine thank you
Sep 16, 2013
we loved watching the family and children enjoying there self at your campground.
Sep 16, 2013
Front staff was very helpful when my site was not large enough for my 5th wheel. Only other issue is they emptied the dumpster around 8:00am on Saturday and Sunday.
Sep 16, 2013
Took the grandkids for the weekend, they had a great time. The WIFI did not work, very weak signal. This seems to be the norm for KOA campgrounds.
Sep 16, 2013
Everything was good with one exception and that is the sewer would run over if y,ou run a little too much water into it we were on lot 292
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
only wished hot tubs worked
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Had a great time. Kampground very clean. Check-in very easy. Can't wait to go back.
Sep 16, 2013
very nice clean lot of things to do
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Facilities were great; but KOA staff horrible. Very disrespectful. Quiet hrs are at 10pm & KOA staff came to site next to us each night on their golf carts and partied very loud until 1am. Couldn't complain because it was KOA staff that was partying. Staff was also mean to customers due to computers going down. Manager did not have time to speak to anyone. She was rude.
Sep 16, 2013
Camp site was unlevel and too small. Sewer connection was at end of site next to road, should have been adjacent to other hookups. I have stayed at much nicer parks for less money.
Sep 16, 2013
Only negative -- site location. We were in #3 and the travel, noise, etc. was busy. Everything is located up front so next time we'll request to be more centrally located in the campground. Still had a GREAT time and ready to go again!!!
Sep 16, 2013
Typically would be a 5 star,however this time we arrived late, it was dark,office closed we found the firepit to our kabin had 2 bags of nasty,smelly trash that had been torn apart we had to clean it out so we could have a fire - disappointing we love this KOA also the picnic table was broken with rusty metal supports visible could be dangerous we covered with table cover - clerk to advise mgr
Sep 16, 2013
I love Cherokee KOA and have only ever had one complaint no internet service.
Sep 16, 2013
The facilities were first rate. Our only concern was the kabin we stayed in was very dirty and smelled horrible. Next time we will bring our camper.
Sep 16, 2013
Super Camp Ground!
Sep 16, 2013
We enjoyed our trip this past weekend! We stayed at site 178 and it was a shady spot to keep the sun hidden. The employees were very helpful and kind. Our boys enjoyed the candy hunt .. We have always have fun at KOA! :)
Sep 16, 2013
We are tent campers. This location is definitely not catered to those who tent camp. There were only about 10 of the 300 spots that are dedicated to tents only. They all had big mud pits in the front of them, and they're located right next to the main road (so lots of traffic noise). Other than that, we had a great time and there are so many things to do for kids.
Sep 16, 2013
Tent site was muddy. Road noise. Had to change original reservation because it was non-tent. Nice shade.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.