Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2015
Friendly helpful staff. Had a backin site on the river which was wonderful!
Sep 02, 2015
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were large and very nice. We were pleased with everything. A beautiful campground. We will stay here again.
Sep 02, 2015
Nice quiet and clean campground. Extremely helpful staff. No problems ONCE we reached our destination. The only suggestion I can make is to clarify the directions to the campground. Our GPS sent us down the wrong road (Sherrill Cove?) which was quite narrow. If somehow the campground could forewarn campers about this it may help. We should have just kept going until we reach the big yellow K
Sep 01, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised by the campground and amenities that it had to offer!!!! We achieved what we came for a nice relaxing week-end.THANKS!!!!!!
Sep 01, 2015
would like shuttel to train ride again as in the past
Sep 01, 2015
Very nice, clean campground. Employees were very nice & helpful. Just wish you would offer something of a discount to veterans.
Aug 31, 2015
The weather was good and we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 31, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA and overall the experience was positive. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean. There were plenty of activities for kids.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed it so much we booked another stay! Very clean, lots of activities!
Aug 31, 2015
I was very pleasantly surprised by everything! The employees were nice and very kind to my children, the facilities were clean and offered enough to keep my children occupied. The only negative comment I have is that we rented a Delux Studio cabin and the water temperature was very inconsistent. It would start at the right temperature and then turn to freezing cold!
Aug 31, 2015
Came down to rent bikes, we were testing them for size I rode one past the guard shack not knowing I broke the rules. A lady came running and screaming at me. I explained there is a right/wrong way to approach folks. Yelling at me was not the right way. Just be polite say you are breaking the rules you need to come to the office first. NOT YELLING AT ME! That was RUDE.
Aug 31, 2015
We had a great stay in the smokey mountains and were pleasantly surprised at the group activities this site provided.
Aug 29, 2015
Amazing KOA! Friendly staff, lots of amenities, great area, clean campground and AWESOME sites!
Aug 28, 2015
JoAnn Perez was awesome to us. If everyone was like her, we would gave given 5 stars! Some other ladies at the check in desk were less than friendly and helpful and kind. They were rather quite rude.
Aug 27, 2015
Wonderful campground. May visit again,
Aug 27, 2015
The Cherokee camp is beautiful, quiet, clean and friendly. We were parked in a nice spot shaded by large trees, so that we didn't even have to extend our awning. I loved the airy and sunny indoor pool.
Aug 27, 2015
We had a great stay at the campground. Our daughter loved the pool. The only problem we found was the wifi didn't work most of the time.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
We truly enjoyed ourselves. It was so relaxing and peaceful and we are definitely planning on coming back for a longer stay.
Aug 25, 2015
Great location. Nice options for cabins. Love the free activities. Great river location. Staff was not very friendly and so I took one star off for that. Sort of a lot of old mean grouchy men.
Aug 25, 2015
For the price ($66.14 per night),some serious upgrades and improvements are necessary. Bath house #2 for ladies is a disgrace. Chunks of tiles gone and many tiles broken. Roads need to be repaved due to numerous potholes and uneven pavement. Wi-Fi greatly improved from last year. Let's hope the rest of the campground gets some much needed improvements before too much longer.
Aug 25, 2015
Very nice place and people will b coming back
Aug 25, 2015
We had a great time as usual. Joann was extremely helpful with the reservation and the activities.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time! Love all the amenities!
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
This was our first stay and we had an absolute blast. We were in a 2 room cabin on the river and will definitely be back. From fishing, football, tye-die, swimming, etc...the kids are ready to come back every year! Thanks for a great way to end our summer!!
Aug 24, 2015
We were put on a site that was covered with roots. I have had two hip replacements and was afraid to walk in front of the camper. We moved to another site and found that the sewage drain was broken, moved lines to another one, had difficulty draining - it was stopped up, was assisted by one of your attendants to drain sewage - he agreed there was a problem with the drain.
Aug 24, 2015
I have been coming here for 17 years and it is always a good time.I think you must stop adding cabins it is getting to crowded to relax & ruins the beauty.You also need to upgrade bathrooms for handicap.They are not handicap friendly. .It is still a nice place but it used to be awesome! rates go up and each year more of the atmosphere is gone,Nature and space tookover by cabin
Aug 24, 2015
Our stay was great! Cabin was very nice and the staff was very friendly!
Aug 24, 2015
This was our second week this year and we absolutely LOVE IT. We come every year and will continue. The only thing that we did not enjoy was having to leave. We would LOVE to work for this place.
Aug 24, 2015
Clean and peaceful. Fun activities. Food was fresh and inexpensive.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
My only complaint was the cabin we rented wasn't clearly explained when I booked it via phone. I wasn't told that there wasn't air conditioning in the cabin until we arrived. At that point I was told the other cabins with air conditioning were only available for a 2 night stay. Honestly, with that information, we wouldn't have driven a hour or more out of our way for this KOA. That was disappointi
Aug 23, 2015
It would have been nice, with you knowing why we picked the sites we picked, that dredging was going on. Quite a disappointment. We LOVE the staff, especially Dean and Halil. We had a great time despite the black tube. Also a shame the staff harassed us and didn't believe we had two sites. Actually sent someone to follow up the next day...who profusely apologized. Not worth what we paid but.
Aug 23, 2015
It has been 8 years since we were there last and it still is my favorite place to stay in Cherokee.
Aug 23, 2015
Our 1st time camping with all the kids & we had a fabulous time! Can't wait for our next visit. See you all real soon!
Aug 23, 2015
Something for everyone. All 4 of my kids had a different favorite part. Beautiful location, clean, fun....
Aug 23, 2015
The staff was awesome. I had a problem with my tailgate on my truck he had tools that I could fix it in about 5 minutes. Thank you so much.
Aug 23, 2015
It was the best vacation we've had in years! The cabin was perfect. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about local attractions. The campground itself was beautiful and well maintained. There's so much to do that you don't have to leave to have a great time! We really enjoyed getting to meet campers from all over. You know that it's a great vacation when even the dogs had a good time!
Aug 23, 2015
Campground and facilities were very nice. Highly disappointed with wifi was never able to use it.beautiful area
Aug 23, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and plentiful showers and restrooms. Loved the amenities such as the pools, the tubing, and especially the dog run and kennel as GSMNP is not particularly dog friendly.
Aug 22, 2015
The cabins would be a much more pleasant experience with a window air unit,especially since they charge a resort fee and I paid for an upgrade. I had to switch cabins while I was there because of the noise from some backhoe work being done. The customer service was accomodating, but not necessarily friendly,except for one clerk.
Aug 22, 2015
Clean,friendly,well run. Will be back.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
when I got there to check in. I told the lady we were early and asked if the room was ready. She said "WHEEW your too early so I said no problem can we sit by the pool or walk the grounds? No we were not allowed on property until we checked in! So I asked if she had any suggestions on where to go for 2 hours it was my first time in North Carolina, No she said!
Aug 20, 2015
The stay was good but the only problem was that several amenities were not available after a certain hour or closed completely during the week. Alot of campers left on Sunday but there were others there during the week. We should have access to everything during our entire stay!
Aug 20, 2015
We had an awesome stay. The cabin was very clean as well as the campgrounds. The workers were very polite and helpful. Will definitely be back!
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Great for kids, friendly staff, clean facilites, and nice location. Would love to go back very soon!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals