Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Dec 03, 2014
Great vacation. We opted to stay in a deluxe cabin instead of towing our RV this time. That was a good decision on our part, and perfect accommodations.Thank you!
Dec 02, 2014
loved the pool and hot tub - the kids coukdn't get enough of it and the bouncy pillow....lovely dinner for thanksgiving - thanks for your generosity - we'll be back
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
The staff worked to get 21 people in 2 RVS and 3 cabins right next to each other for Thanksgiving. Well done!
Dec 01, 2014
We really enjoyed spending our "Campsgiving" at the Cherokee KOA. We met family and friends from LA, FL, WA, DC, KY, and AL. Some stayed in your fabulous deluxe cabins, while others traveled and camped in their RV's. We enjoyed the beautiful river flowing past the cabins and were impressed with the clean bathrooms. The Thanksgiving communal dinner was very much appreciated!
Dec 01, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time in our Cottage for the week of Thanksgiving. Very comfortable and clean. WIFI was sketchy and the only complaint. Thanksgiving potluck dinner was very nice and appreciated. Ready to come back for another visit.
Dec 01, 2014
Our family enjoyed the cabin. The only issue we had was with too many pets not cleaned up after.
Dec 01, 2014
We love going to Cherokee each year for Thanksgiving. Our only issue is with Wi_Fi, it definitely needs to improve with all the usage going on.
Dec 01, 2014
Internet service was poor. Bathhouses were not clean.
Dec 01, 2014
Overall good experience. The pillow bounce and bikes were awesome. Pool needed cleaning but was nice. Jacuzzi jets did not work. Bathrooms and showers need modernizing. Staff was very friendly and helpful!!
Dec 01, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
We loved how the cottage was so clean and everyone there was so nice. Can't wait to plan our next trip to this KOA
Nov 30, 2014
Nov 30, 2014
Enjoyed a week at this campground. Friendly staff and beautiful views.
Nov 30, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!
Nov 30, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
The Halloween weekend is our favorite camping trip of the whole year, we have camped here for Halloween for the last 15 years and love it each time, they make Halloween great for us. The facilities are clean and well kept.
Nov 29, 2014
Had a great time. The staff provided deep fried turkeys and stuffing for a potluck dinner on Thanksgiving Day that was fabulous! We had a super time at the pool and hot tub while it was freezing outside.
Nov 29, 2014
Every synonym of amazing would describe this KOA.
Nov 28, 2014
Nov 26, 2014
We had the deluxe 2 bedroom cabin , it was very clean and cozy , the beds are very comfortable ! All in all , we had a great relaxing mini vacation .
Nov 26, 2014
Nov 26, 2014
I enjoyed my stay at KOA Cherokee. However, I wish someone would have put a sign on the bath house door stating the showers were not operational and there was no hot water. This was the bath house near the gate.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
Everything was great except the indoor pool and hot tub were not clean. The hot tub needs to be hotter also.
Nov 23, 2014
Hot water heater in cabin didn't work for two days. Management without hesitation refunded me in full for two days w/o water. I was very happy.
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Very nice deluxe cabin & patio/firepit...enjoyed the atmosphere..a great camping experience...we'll be back....
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Had a great time. Hope to come back and do some fishing.
Nov 16, 2014
Very friendly helpful people campground had a very nice location. the plumbing in the bathrooms needs work very hard to operate bath house need to be replaced, I have noticed this at all of the KOA I have stayed at. You can only put so much makeup on a pig these cheesey remodel jobs I see in more and more KOA's. Night lights on bathrooms were out for 2 nights.KOA'S from montana to Louisiana have.
Nov 14, 2014
Parts of this park are very nice - the scenery; the proximity to GSMNP; the hard-working staff; the large laundry facility in Bathhouse 4. Parts of this park need work - internet was spotty at best; on-demand hot water system in BH 4 (which nobody told us about until we complained 3 times) resulted in terrible shower experiences in November. We can tell this is work in progress, so thank you.
Nov 13, 2014
Loved the Halloween festivities!
Nov 13, 2014
Best KOA we've ever been to! Will return again! !
Nov 13, 2014
WAS GREAT AND EXCELENT CUSTOMER SERVICE
Nov 12, 2014
Hard to find. My old Gps could not know where it is. Campground is good and calm.
Nov 12, 2014
working trip was first time at KOA in Cherokee. Very pleased already planning next trip.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Love the KOA Campgrounds, but just way too expensive! I was a "member" but not re-newing and will consider many other reasonably price campgrounds in the future! Sorry!
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
The cabin was awesome. I was very impressed with the way the cabin looked and everything worked great. It was my wife's first time in a campground and I wanted her to enjoy it. It was perfect for her. She loved it and we will be back. Thanks!!
Nov 10, 2014
The staff is helpful but lukewarm. The bathrooms and cabins are very clean though.
Nov 10, 2014
Excellent
Nov 10, 2014
We stayed at this campground in early November in an RV. It was very clean. The staff in the office and grounds crew were courteous and made our stay very pleasant. One even helped us troubleshoot our rig's coax issue. If you don't want to be near the kiddie magnet jumping mat, make sure you specify that. It didn't bother us but the sound resembled thunder which frightened our dog. Overall great!
Nov 10, 2014
We have been staying at the Cherokee KOA for 15 years and it is always a great trip . We love the Cherokee KOA !!!
Nov 10, 2014
We had a great time but did experience an issue with the water in the shower. It was very cold. Stood in there for 10+ minutes waiting for it to warm up (last time we stayed this worked) and it stayed cold. It was miserable to come in from a long day of trout fishing in the cold waters to have to take a cold shower.
Nov 09, 2014
Bathroom seemed dirty. Light were on a sensor and will turn off while showering. Arcade was closed after 7:00pm my kid couldn't enjoy. Staff smoke cigarettes in bathrooms and they stink...
Nov 09, 2014
We can only get away from our business for a couple of days at a time. We really enjoyed just building a fire in the pit and watching the river go by. So relaxing. Staff was very helpful.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.