Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
The Camp Ground is a very nice facility but for the amount of money spent I feel that there should be trash pickup at the site. There are plenty of employees on KOA golf carts riding around. They all didn't look that busy. There are to many kids on small peddal bikes that were not with parents and not paying attention to traffic. Great revenue but should be scaled back.
Aug 10, 2015
This is our favorite KOA!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a nice time. Need to improve the hot water in the showers.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall we had a great time staying at the Cherokee KOA. Our only issues were the cleanliness of the men's restrooms, and the condition of the fenced dog park area which had zero grass for the dogs to play without getting very dirty (no ideal when they are staying in the RV.) we would definitely come stay again though as there are tons of activities for all ages and the sites are well maintained.
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. Great bunch of folks running the campground. Had a lot of activities for my 10 year old.
Aug 10, 2015
Our family had a great time camping and tubing, the river runs along side the campground, so they drive you up the mountain and drop you off at the river, then you float back to the KOA. The most fun you can have for ten bucks! Great deal.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great time...family memories will be good ones..I didn't give a 5 star because on our way walking to store we stepped in what looked like sewer on the edge of other camp sites..other than that, it was wonderful.. staff were very efficient too..
Aug 10, 2015
Very clean. paved roadways. nice pools. Activities scheduled for kids. The outdoor movies were great! Shuttle service awesome too.
Aug 10, 2015
Wonderful! Friendly staff, very clean facilities!
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time.
Aug 10, 2015
The grounds are kept nice. The showers were not great. No place to place your stuff and difficult to get dressed need a little bench. Campfire grill was awful. Waited 45 min for breakfast.
Aug 10, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff, all around great experience. Would recommend air conditioning in the smaller cabins and it would have been nice to have the fire pits numbered to match the cabins. We were not sure which fire pit was to go with our cabin. Other than that great experience!
Aug 10, 2015
We've stayed at this KOA many times over many years and love it. This is our Grandson's favorite place to stay. We were very disappointed with out site this time. It was 144. We have never stayed in such a small spot before. I really didn't even realize they had such small spots and VERY expensive for such a small spot!!! It was long enough but no room between spots.
Aug 09, 2015
Our family absolutely enjoyed our vacation to this campground. Upon arrival we were a little disappointed that our cabin didn't have air conditioning since it was summer(No fault of the KOA). We quickly found out how cool it got at night and found ourselves covering up with blankets. In my opinion, the cabins by the river are the best way to go. Extremely peaceful.
Aug 09, 2015
Our family has been coming to Cherokee koa for over 7 years, we come with a group of other famies and we love this campground. The kids in our group are any where from preschool to high school age and there is something for all them to do,
Aug 09, 2015
We have been coming to Koa for at least 10 years now and we love it! The kids always have a ball and the staff make sure there is lots to do for them while we are there!
Aug 09, 2015
Overall the facilities are great. This was our third stay at this particular location. The only negative would be the lack of Wi-fi during our stay. One of the draws to the property is the fact that I can work while there. Internet was non existent with no real response from staff. At one point I was told I could go down town. Not really what I had envisioned for my trip.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great week with KOA. The pools, the hot tubs, and all other amenities were super. Lots of scheduled events for the kids!! The staff were awesome too!!
Aug 09, 2015
Cabin nice, but really small for a deluxe cabin. Price very expensive. Found ants in the cabin, but people in the office were so busy I wasn't able to let them know
Aug 08, 2015
Loved our site (river); the store had all that we needed; the amenities were great; the staff were helpful; the location is beautiful!
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome campground with plenty to do. Thank you for making our family stay unforgettable!
Aug 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay, brought 2 of our grand-kids with us, they wanted to move there. The deluxe studio camping cabin was clean and nice. The quiet hours , were as they say, which is really refreshing from stays in most hotels. Pools, playground, movies, the extras @ no charge made our stay complete. Thanks
Aug 08, 2015
enjoyed our stay at koa -- was a great atmosphere for our family
Aug 08, 2015
Love staying at KOA in Cherokee! Very friendly staff,the campground is always clean and just a very peaceful place to be.So many things to do there.Can"t wait to visit again!!!
Aug 08, 2015
The best place to take your family
Aug 08, 2015
KOA makes you feel special and like family. I love the staff.
Aug 08, 2015
We asked for a site with sewerage, we were told we couldn't get one. The site next to us with full hookup was empty our entire stay. Also a pillow was on the ground in the site next to us, that was never picked up as trash
Aug 07, 2015
We have spent thousands$ at your campground over the years. Our last stay,we witnessed one of your older workers yelling at the kids that clean the cabins,two days in a roll.We as campers dont need to see this.My wife was so upset she wanted to leave.The third evening my Son was standing by the basketball court, when one of your older workers started yelling get off the ball court.Wont be back!!!!
Aug 07, 2015
we loved every minute. the sites were wonderful and the staff and amenities are the best. we will return
Aug 07, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Will return many times.
Aug 07, 2015
We loved our stay. The kids loved the pools and other perks, including movie night. We had a couple of very nice gentlemen camping in the next tent site. The only downside was the volume of night traffic on Big Cove Road and the constant chorus of bullfrogs (which kids found charming, but adults not so much).
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
I have stayed here before and have enjoyed our previous visits. However, this time we were placed next to the dog park and we didn't even have a dog. The smell was horrendous. We didn't even stay at the site except to sleep. With this exception, this is an excellent place to camp. There are lots of activities for everyone. The staff is friendly and the camp is clean.
Aug 06, 2015
Had some issues with the water and sewer right after arrival but they were taken care of quickly.
Aug 06, 2015
Our site was located up front and very noisy. Delivery trucks woke us up by 7:30 am with their airhorns and jake brakes. The DJ kept us up after quiet time. People kept walking through our campsite to get to the pool and store. It has alot to offer for young families who are used to noise and no sleep. The staff was very polite, but not too accomodating. They refused to let us rent a deluxe cab
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
This KOA is a very clean campground. Stayed here several times. Employees where very nice, smileing, and asking how you are. This time I brought my 2 grandchildren. I would like to see lights at the playground where children could play more. Your employees would have everyone leave at dusk. But we all had a very pleasant stay.
Aug 06, 2015
The cabin was not clean? (Not swept and spider webs were all over the rails) the womens restroom was not kept up. Your security did not run through the night. There was a man standing by our cabin at 2:00 a.m. Our maltese saw him before my husband did. The pools and all were great. We have camped there for years, this time was a disappointment to the usual high standards there.
Aug 05, 2015
Great place so much for kids to do
Aug 05, 2015
Campers near by played music very loud all weekend!
Aug 05, 2015
Most of the staff was very helpful however there were a few staff members at the sign up for shuttles and bike rental who were not helpful. Sign in was easy and cordial by some of the staff but others were not very friendly.
Aug 05, 2015
So much to do - so little time
Aug 05, 2015
Very good campground. Lots of activities: pools, jumping pillow, putt-putt, banana bikes, etc. Good looking store and friendly staff. The wood was somewhat wet, but we managed to have a couple of fires at night. The Campfire Cafe was a nice addition when you don't want to go anywhere to eat. And we LOVED banana bikes. The campground is huge and paved, it was a great workout and fun riding those.
Aug 05, 2015
Cabin needs a recliner we had a good time very quiet a good rest thanks
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time. Being grandparents and spending time with our grandchildren and family made for a lot of memories. Beautiful campground coming back in 3 weeks.
Aug 04, 2015
Our stay was good,but not as good as previous years. I have a problem with the new early arrival fee. Don't think this is necessary. Enough is charged already.Also there were holes on my site that someone could step into and fall. There has been a tree cut down on the same site but the stump still remains. Stump needs to be level with the ground. Just don't want anyone to get hurt.
Aug 04, 2015
Had an issue with tv reception, campground had cable issue, that was the only problem we had
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The cabin was very clean,staff very friendly.We took the shuttle when we went white water rafting & zipling on two seperate days and each of our drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable.The weather was perfect.We had a great time and we will be back again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps