Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2017
I have stayed at this koa before and I was very disappointed this time. The koa grill closed early every day that we was there. Also my kids were going to do crafts one day and they cancelled bc it was to "wet". I don't understand why they didn't move it to under the shelter. They also have a new parking area for bikes which is awful. They should try biking on the pea gravel. Very disappointed
Jun 09, 2017
Older park with lots of nice folks working. A bunch of little things like the sights not being level. The roads have broken payment. The hookups for water and sewer are in disrepair. The cable TV signal is poor. No usable WiFi. The indoor pool is nice outdoor pool too cold. The kids bounce pad was not in service. The trash can at the play ground smelled bad/not emptied regularly. Ok park
Jun 09, 2017
Nice campground; poor WIFI,Cable TV.
Jun 08, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river. What a wonderful location. The cabin had everything we needed (except for a third air conditioner in the second bedroom). We would definitely stay here again.
Jun 08, 2017
Came in on a last minute discussion. The staff was great and there was so many fun things to do! Can't wait till next time... Thanks again KOA..
Jun 07, 2017
NO FRIES AT GRILL ALL WEEKEND ! NOT BEING ABLE TO RESERVE FOR NEXT YEARS STAY WITH ONE NIGHT PAID SUCKS ! WE HAVE BEEN COMING AS GROUPS FOR YEARS AND THIS MAY CHANGE THINGS.
Jun 07, 2017
Being stay there for close to 11 years and I really love the improvements seen this trip. Keep up the good work. Just add onsite trash pickup and you will be the best.
Jun 07, 2017
Really enjoyed our time here. Very clean and well maintained. Pleasant staff very helpful.
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Wifi does not work. Staff unfriendly.
Jun 07, 2017
I had a fantastic stay with my children. All the ammentities were in great condition and the cabins were very well kept.
Jun 06, 2017
We had a great time and great cabins. This was for the Johnson family reunion and I believe everyone enjoyed getting together again.. Only negative was the poor (no) internet and TV reception. Sorry, work goes on vacation too...
Jun 06, 2017
Turned out great, we were in 31ft Class C,the place was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was right on the river it was so pretty. The few negative things, prices not clearly marked on items at the store, even some of the help had to go looking. We have AT&T and there was NO phone service and Wi-Fi was spotty at best.
Jun 06, 2017
We had a great stay! Wonderful sites, I did not see one in the whole campground I would be opposed to staying in. Amenities are amazing. Super friendly and attentive staff. Campground store is well stocked. We will be back!
Jun 05, 2017
Though the cabins are nice, the expense is over the top and rivals a beachfront house or condo with none of the amenities. Scenic and pristine, with motorcycle noise running late into the night with too many campfires, smoking the campground out. The staff are very nice and attentive
Jun 05, 2017
Stay was great, accommodations and linens need to be a little more spelled out in the description of what is truly included. Keurig and coffee, but no coffee cups. Bed was squeaky but we were "camping" so not complaining. Most of the employees (ground keepers) were Helpful but some (office staff) could careless to help. Our stay was great and we will be going back again!
Jun 05, 2017
Had a hard time at first. However, Ryan the manager took care of it. Great place to stay. Love this place.
Jun 05, 2017
your Wi-Fi and cable is non-existent. When I checked in I informed the cashier we were only staying for 3 nights not 4 and he couldn't take care of the credit or refund and neither could anyone else there for the 3 days we stayed I tried to find someone who could give me back my money but no one knew how is what I was told. I am still waiting.
Jun 05, 2017
I came for a weekend getaway with some girls for their graduation and loved it! My distant family and immediate family are very frequent visitors of the KOA in Cherokee. We always have tons of laughter and leave with great memories.
Jun 05, 2017
we use to camp a lot there, a lot has changed. no shuttle tours, no cooking all you can eat breakfast and dinner. the new cabins are extremely expensive. But there was very nice and friendly staff.
Jun 05, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, everything was awesome!!
Jun 05, 2017
Awesome campground, friendly and extremely helpful staff, and already booked my next stay!!!! Loved it!!!!!
Jun 05, 2017
Great friendly staff and management Disappointed outside Hot tub was broken the 12 days I was there. See you in a few months
Jun 05, 2017
The map needs to be updated online to the new tent sites.We have stayed here for over 20 years.Any special requests and/or notes that are made need to be taken care of upon reservations not the day of check-in.This past visit we had some extremely loud and obnoxious people staying in a cabin next to us.Other than that we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 05, 2017
Always a treat staying at this KOA location. The employees are fantastic, the grounds are clean and kept up well and the scenery is simply beautiful.
Jun 05, 2017
Jun 05, 2017
cable did not work,and site boxes were old.We were also given a old paved site,when many other sites were available.over all many improvments have been made and bathhouse was clean.
Jun 05, 2017
Well as me having to call over 30 times & I couldn't get anyone to answer the phone I finally called the Wilmington KOA were they answered the phone right away and was more than friendly to help me book a reservation! Also front desk staff was extremely rude & very slow! Needless to say I will not be going back to Cherokee if anything I will go to Wilmington!!!!
Jun 04, 2017
Campground was great very kid friendly camp store wasn't what it use to be the recreation people were great and all employees very friendly and helpfull
Jun 04, 2017
We have been coming to Cherokee KOA for many years and always have enjoyed our time this trip was Very much needed and enjoyed.Thanks We loved the New cabins clean and very nice everyone was very helpful The only problem we experienced was not once but twice while in our cabin camp workers walked in on us without warning Still we enjoyed our retreat
Jun 03, 2017
nice campground retirement will mean i cant aford it next year
Jun 03, 2017
Was great will be back again wish that the ponds got stocked more often
Jun 02, 2017
friendly, relaxing, and helpful.
Jun 02, 2017
My stay was great had lots of fun
Jun 02, 2017
Wonderful place to camp with children. We has so much fun
Jun 01, 2017
Everything was fantastic except for the cable tv. The signal kept going in and out the entire time. We enjoyed our time so much we are going back three more times this year.
Jun 01, 2017
Jun 01, 2017
The KOA staff and Sunshiners are all amazing. Even when put in difficult situations they always rise above. There was some vandalism of KOA property during our visit perpetrated by some unsupervised kids and teenagers. This effected everyone who was staying at the KOA and of course the other kids. I appreciate all that the KOA staff did to make our stay wonderful regardless of these issues.
Jun 01, 2017
Very nice large sites, but is expensive.
Jun 01, 2017
Way too many sites for the people! Crowded,sites were too small for the number of people. Bathrooms were filthy because there were too many people. WiFi woefully inadequate..we couldn't even use it once in a three day stay. I would tell campers to avoid this KOA.
Jun 01, 2017
Lots of camping cabins to choose from. Clean and updated showers and bathrooms. Tons of things for kids to do. Only draw back is cost for fire wood and golf cart rental.
Jun 01, 2017
The front desk staff is rude and lacks customer service skills! We went on one of the biggest camping holidays of the year and there were very little activities planned which was a bummer! We ordered a pizza and a cheeseburger at the little restaurant outside and it took 30 minutes to get our food and by the time they gave us our drinks the ice was melted and nasty! Showers were updated however th

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize if any of the staff was rude. There were many actives tie-die and movie night, Dj dance party, along with many other crafts. we post it in the store and on facebook. Thanks for your feedback.
May 31, 2017
Great staff. Very friendly and accommodating.
May 31, 2017
The campground and amenities are great. The staff is awful. They are very poorly trained and do not understand basic customer service. 1 member of our group got led to the wrong campsite TWICE. After completely setting up at the 2nd site, they were then told they had to move to the correct site. A couple of bundles of firewood for the mistake was a joke. It's too bad.
May 31, 2017
We stay every year same spot . before we checked out they had already rented our spot to someone else. We were told we had first option because we always rent the same spot. This shows no loyalty to their guests. We will never go back!
May 31, 2017
There is so much to do here! I would definitely stay here again.
May 31, 2017
was over charged and no one could help with all the staff mmmmm
May 31, 2017
This was our 4th time there and this year you renovated inside. The flow of people inside was very confusing with the new setup. The price increase on some things we're quite high, in my opinion. $7 for a wood bundle with 6 small pieces is very pricey. We'll just plan better and bring more of our own wood. Overall it's a great place for families!
May 31, 2017
Used to rate 4-5 stars. Witnessed an employee verbally berate an older couple, claiming they didn't pay for the night. Empty toilet paper in bathrooms, broken showers, no hot water in showers, broken windows/ torn, missing screens in cabins, golf carts chasing kids and adults like the gestapo, scolding them about riding too fast. New management must have been a prison warden!
May 31, 2017
Cooper and Megan in the activities department were Great! I didn't like how you could not charge items to your site any longer, and the line in the store was a consistent 20 people long everytime I went. I think they need to add additional cashiers. The restaurant was EXTREMELY slow as always....like 15 minutes for a vanilla icecream cone. The outdoor hot tub was closed 3 days.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award