Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2014
CHILDREN AND GRAND KIDS. WHAT A STAY. NEVER TURNED ON THE TV.
Jun 23, 2014
I stay here a few times a year and I am always thoroughly satisfied. A truly wonderful place to camp with my kids.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
This is a really big resort with a lot of great activities for younger kids. Rafting, pool with slide, bikes all where great. Lots of fun things for kids to do.
Jun 23, 2014
Staff was GREAT, area was clean, activities for all, young and old. NC was beautiful! Thanks
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time, just wished the sites weren't so close together. Paid for river front thinking we would have river access, but didn't. Really enjoyed all the kid activities and all the family oriented things the park had to offer!
Jun 22, 2014
The only problems we had was how rude the front desk was to everybody & not just us.
Jun 21, 2014
I scowred the area for a campground that would give us mountains water trees, and things to do, swimming golf and bounce pillow. Although we never made it to the activities and missed the music we had a blast. Clean quiet and just what our family was looking for. Thank you!
Jun 21, 2014
We enjoyed our vacation at koa cherokee. Everyone was friendly. Our only 2 disappointments were the game room and that the ponds were not stocked in the 4.5 days we were there.
Jun 21, 2014
I didn't feel that the staff was family friendly. It seemed when you were trying to find out information about anything that was going on it was inconvenient to them. They also had a few things that was out of order the whole time we was there.
Jun 21, 2014
Campground was OK but shower house not organized which makes shower time difficult. Camp site very expense for campsite we were given. Campers next to us parked nearly on top of our firepit. Very awkward.
Jun 21, 2014
Very nice place to stay, would stay again.
Jun 20, 2014
Prices for the deluxe cabins were to high for us. We thus decided to rent the normal cabin. This cabin does not include bed linnens, but it would be nice if KOA could have the option to buy linnens from them. The facilities at the campground were good. Nice pool and bar, clean restrooms.
Jun 20, 2014
Come down every year the Monday after fathers day for a "guys" fishing trip, we love it every year
Jun 20, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA. We loved the campground. The kids had a blast and loved all the activities. Our only complaint would have been that the bath house near us had NO hot water. We reported the issue but it was not resolved during our stay. Otherwise we had a great time and it was a nice campground.
Jun 20, 2014
Close to no wifi service! staff was friendly. A bit over priced!
Jun 20, 2014
Everything was great! Only negative is you say you offer wifi but I couldn't use it. I liked not having cell reception so it was not a big deal.
Jun 20, 2014
We enjoyed our visit. We only had problems getting waited on in the office in the evenings because it was too busy for the staff. Other than that, we enjoyed this KOA.
Jun 19, 2014
Very nice staff helpful !!!!!!
Jun 18, 2014
2nd stay - separate shower rooms need some work. Other than that, we had an awesome stay.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Nice campground but sit was muddy. It needs reseeded.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Great place for the kids. They went to bed worn out each night - which is a good thing. Adults, kids and dogs all had a good time.
Jun 17, 2014
Our assigned site did not meet our expectations, but the customer service reps quickly made arrangements for wonderful accommodations. Great cabin, great service, well kept facilities, and a gorgeous location. We are already planning a "next time!"
Jun 17, 2014
Love the campground will be back
Jun 17, 2014
Was great! I would advise parents if they're taking kids tubing down the river make you probably want to tie their rafts to yours!!! It can get hectic on that river!!!
Jun 17, 2014
I was very disappointed in the way the campground handle my situation. I arrived at 12:30pm. I was told I could not check in until 2pm. I had paid for a site & cabin. They said the cabin had not been cleared. I asked to go to the site. I had my dog in my motorhome. They said no. They could have sent someone to check out the site. On Sun. I watched them check 2 campers in before
Jun 17, 2014
Just watch out for black snakes!!
Jun 17, 2014
After a minor mixup on our reservation, we got a great site with good satellite reception. Only wish there was better internet wi-fi and telephone service for us frequent travelers. Sites are great: paved, easy access, good hookups, and well spaced for privacy.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at KOA this past weekend ( 6-14 thru 6-16)The pools and playground area was very clean and our children loved it! Our site was nice as well! The ONLY complaint I had was I wish our grass on the site would've been cut and the poison ivy was not there! (site 130) it wasnt a big deal for us but hopefully the poison ivy can be taken care of before a child gets into it! Thanks!
Jun 17, 2014
You need clearer highway signs. Our gps took us across the bridge before we got to your campsite. It was very difficult to get turned around.
Jun 16, 2014
We had a wonderful time.I was happy that there were so many activities going on.only thing the jets in the hot tubs didnt really work.hopefully they will be fixed before our next visit.
Jun 16, 2014
Park and lots are very nice. Water connections need work and WiFi was non-existent. I'd go back anytime. 😀
Jun 16, 2014
Assigned site was flooded with no room for our 2 tents as requested. Clerk was rude. and showers had NO hot water entire stay.
Jun 16, 2014
GREAT EXCELLENT
Jun 16, 2014
😄
Jun 16, 2014
My first time there my husband and I enjoyed our stay. The campground was great.
Jun 16, 2014
Stay a couple times a year and have never had a bad experience. Love this KOA!!! Thank You (:
Jun 16, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did a bit of sight seeing, but we could have stayed there all week. When we return, we will stay all week and challenge ourselves to leave the car parked. So much to do with the river and the daily activities, as well as the shuttles. Thanks.
Jun 16, 2014
There were things not functioning properly however they were addressed promptly. The staff is more than friendly. The campground offers so much for kids, and a peaceful atmosphere for adults. No cell service in the valley. WIFI was spotty but available.
Jun 16, 2014
Very nice! The only negatives were the grumpy lady at the snack bar serving drinks and the showers do not have anywhere to put your shower bag up off the wet floor. (Maybe larger cost hooks to hang the bags from would work as well :-)
Jun 16, 2014
My cabin was dirty and there were people at the fishing pond cussing and yelling.
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time with you all. There was always something going on to keep everyone going. Thanks For Having Us. Can't wait to come back on the July 3rd
Jun 15, 2014
My family and I have been camping here for about 30 years. Seen some changes, some good, some not so good, but overall enjoy the campground and facilities. We mainly come to trout fish and usually have pretty good luck. We enjoy the convenience of the snack bar especially for breakfast and lunch. We look forward to coming each year.
Jun 15, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.