Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
It rained the whole time we stayed. The orginal tent spots that were pick out had to be changed due to flooding. Were given hay to for the mud, but not enough. So it ended up being muddy and stinky, like wet hay. The pool and hottub were dirty and over corwded. The breakfast at the club made us sick. I had heard great things about this location but was very disappointed. We will not be returning.
Jul 08, 2013
My kids had fun and were happy with all the fun amenities that kept them busy therefore my husband and I were happy.
Jul 08, 2013
This KOA has a great mountain setting and the staff was very nice. Outdoor pool was not open for July 4th due to construction. The bathhouses need to be updated badly, no shelf to put your soap and shampoo etc.. and low lighting...The Game room is out of date..This park could be very impressive with updates...
Jul 08, 2013
NO WIFI, Cable was fuzzy, it was like the old Rabbit ears quality, wasp nest above the door that we complained about 3 times before it got taken care of and then the maintance man said nothing is in it and was going to leave it up and we said no we have seen some wasp in it and that he needed to knock it down and get rid of it. The outdoor pool with waterslide was under construction. So no pool.
Jul 08, 2013
Shower Houses needed attention.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The pool has been under repair for weeks. We were promised that it would be ready for use on the 4th of July, it was not.
Jul 07, 2013
This is the first KOA campground I have even been disappointed in. It seems like there were many employees...but no one really working. They were building many new buildings, but not cleaning or maintaining the old ones.
Jul 07, 2013
It is the people that make the difference at this KOA, people like the Manager Mark, Devi, and the excellent snack bar staff led by Ed, Mary, and Pam. There are too many great people to name them all and they are the reason we always make a point to come back to this KOA even though there are many other choices available. Thanks to Mark and company!
Jul 07, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for 20 years, and was really disappointed that they chose not to disclose a few items when we made our reservations. One was the pool being closed and everyone employee you ask gave you a different answer as to why. The employees are way to young and do not know what they are doing. This KOA really needs new management before it is ruined. Lots of broken things
Jul 07, 2013
Our stay at The Cherokee KOA was a horrible experience.. It was full of disappointments. I will NEVER return not recommend it to friends/family.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The rain would not go away, but the kids had plenty to do at the indoor pool and game room..... Great place and great people!!!
Jul 07, 2013
I love the area. The campsite was not so great. The sites were flooded with water and over crowded. I enjoy what the campground offers. I would like to see the camping sites more landscaped.
Jul 07, 2013
THE OUTDOOR POOLS WERE CLOSED FOR REPAIRS, THE TEMP. INSIDE THE INDOOR POOL WAS VERY HOT. NO PRIVACY BETWEEN CAMPSITES. TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THIS EXPERIENCE!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
It was a nice place but should have been informed that the outdoor pool was under construction and the campground was flooded the whole time we were there from rain and pumps not working.kids enjoyed the activities. nice and polite staff. would stay again if everything was open and weather was nice.
Jul 06, 2013
Only issue we had was quite time at night was not enforced. It was like there were no KOA people staying in the campground at night.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Although it was poring most of the stay, the view from our site was beautiful.
Jul 06, 2013
Our cabin was full of ants when we woke up in the morning.
Jul 06, 2013
Campground did its best to cope with miserable weather over the July 4th weekend. "A" for effort.
Jul 05, 2013
We had lots of rain but were upgraded to a cabin at a reduced rate after the first night. The bathrooms in the camping section had issues there was a toilet out and a plugged drain in the men's and only one working shower in the women's the staff was friendly and helpful and refunded the last two days of our stay as we left early due to the constant rain.
Jul 05, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much. The last time we were there was 1987. Friendly staff
Jul 05, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay with you. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Bathhouse and restroom ranked right down there with a no class truck stop. Clogged drains, broken faucets, and mold was the common factor. Looking forward to our stay next year.
Jul 04, 2013
Clean campground, friendly staff, expect wasps and no cell phone coverage (or GPS signal) from any carrier in this area.
Jul 04, 2013
Friendly staff. Need to post pool hours. Flooding problem with downpour throughout campground. Need to work on drainage from sites and some roads.
Jul 04, 2013
The outdoor pool was not functioning due to remodeling(peak season?) The indoor pool water looked like pond water. The jets in the hot tub did not work. Was not guided to my spot as is KOA's claim to fame. Very disappointed at this location.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
We stayed here for the 1st time this week and had a very good time,actually stayed an extra night, the only draw back was the outside pool, it was down the whole time and my family was not told ahead of time about this, so that made our kids very upset and a camper full of upset kids makes a very upset camper, other than that we had a blast, thank you The Latimers'
Jul 04, 2013
we always stay at this KOA but this year was very disappointed in the upkeep of the campground. Bathrooms dirty, shower not working. Needs better drainage during rainfall.Trash all over the place and stayed there for days.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
The outdoor pool was closed for our entire stay. We kept being told that it would be open by July 4th. We left 4 days early because our site was in three inches of mud. The offered to move us to another site which wasn't any better. We paid top dollar to include a resort fee for not having much resort amenities. The inside pool was always dirty and the bathrooms were too.
Jul 04, 2013
NOT a good experience! Our tent site was a muddy swamp backed up to frog pond?!The bathrooms were dirty and out of order. I could smell the dumpsters the entire time, and when we checked in they failed to tell me that the pool was closed?! This was our first and LAST time at KOA!
Jul 03, 2013
The grounds and cabins were nice. It was good to see that the time that the bathrooms were cleaned was changed to a time other tan when everyone was trying to shower as it had been in years past. My cabin did not have screens in the windows of the bed room but other than that I have complaints and will definitely return.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Love it and we will be back!!!
Jul 03, 2013
unfriendly people and way too crowed no fun had problems with electric and took forever to fix then the person who reparied the problem did't say hi
Jul 03, 2013
we had reserved a tent sight and asked for upgrade. We were squeezed into a kabin where there was a large party of campers. Not sure if there were any other kabins available. But we thought this was just to large of a campground for us.
Jul 03, 2013
The location in the mountains is great, the people were helpful and friendly. Maintenance quickly fixed our Kanin screen tear. Unfortunately the pool and slide outside was not open nor were we told so at reservations or upon checking in! The bathrooms were below standard: shower doors not working and rusty, Tiles missing, needs lots of work. Bathroom cleaners left without doing thorough job.
Jul 03, 2013
The staff was very friendly and the camp was maintained very well. I appreciate the staff for being so attentive when an issue arised during our stay.
Jul 02, 2013
Enjoyed our stay! Our children enjoyed the drama, skits, fun stuff specifically for them, playing in the creek, in the swimming pool, riding bicycles around camp. Nice place to stay and camp. Only negative was bathrooms; not all sinks worked properly and the toilets did not flush properly. We survived the first two days of rain! We liked the mountain location! Thanks!!!
Jul 02, 2013
The only thing that kept the rating low was the outdoor pool. We were not made aware of the pool being closed when we booked the sites and was not made aware prior to our trip. The indoor pool was way to crowded to enjoy with the outdoor pool and childrens' pool being closed.
Jul 02, 2013
Great facility.One minor complaint was how one staff member handled a situation with the tubing shuttle...he refused to take a group of 7 of us after he left early for the 2pm trip. He could have run us up quickly, but instead just hung around and did nothing for 45 minutes. Quincy did offer to drive, but we had already figured out another way up.
Jul 02, 2013
The Pool-indoor on 6-29 had an irritating too hi smell of chlorine, hair could be seen floating, a bandaid was floating, and something that looked like feces was in the water--my family left after 5 minutes. Site 220 is a bad site at this time of year--the tree which gave nice shade, littered hundreds of dead flowers all over the site continuously making it impossible to eat outside or cook out.
Jul 02, 2013
Really wish the outdoor pool update was finished. But overall it was still a great 3 days.
Jul 02, 2013
One of your employees has a nasty attitude to the customer, take us off your contact list. We never intend to use your services again. Our next trip is being planned at a different campground
Jul 02, 2013
The out side pool was not open and there was nothing on the website to indicate this. The WiFi was not accessable.Some of the bathhouses are starting to show some age. The stafff was generally friendly and helpful. The cabin sites have no water. I will return to this campground, I have been here before and it is a generally nice campground with lots for children to do.
Jul 02, 2013
We L-O-V-E KOA, Cherokee!!!! It is our home away from home! The staff is always friendly and helpful. Be back soon! The Holt Family
Jul 02, 2013
clean quiet wonderfull cottage will be back next year I tell everyone it has lots to offer all age groups

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.