Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 04, 2016
Making the reservation was the only bad part of our experience.
Jan 03, 2016
..
Jan 03, 2016
This is a wonderful campground. My only issues were that we booked a cabin that was supposed to have a fire pit but the cabin we were assigned did not have a fire pit and our fire place in the cabin made such a loud noise that it was impossible to use. Also, the hot tub was out of order and we were charged extra for a third person even though they advertise the cabin to sleep up to four people.
Jan 03, 2016
Nice place to stay with family and fish for trout
Jan 03, 2016
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river. It was peaceful and cozy. Everything was clean and well maintained. Plan to stay again when the weather is warmer.
Jan 03, 2016
Beautiful location on the river & ponds. Lots of cabins. Would stay again!
Jan 03, 2016
Everything was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA
Jan 03, 2016
Fun and relaxing place to hang out. Really appreciated the clean bathrooms.
Jan 01, 2016
Had a great time during our stay. We visit yearly and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and campground is clean well maintained. The only downfall was the new cabin we stayed in this year. It is located just at the edged of the wifi range and wound constantly have to log on anytime you needed to surf the web. Other than that, it was perfect as always! Can't wait to go back!
Jan 01, 2016
Jan 01, 2016
None
Jan 01, 2016
The campground is in a beautiful location. Cable TV was good. WiFi was very poor and no cellular signal (not KOA fault just wanted to note bad area if u need those things) Only complaint was a generator ran all day, every day at the pool house kinda took away from the peaceful aspect. Overall excellent family mountain getaway. will be back :)
Jan 01, 2016
Very disappointed. Was told we checked in to early.that we needed to read email on check in times.but email didn't tell us that hot tub was down and lights didn't work in pool house. And gates to ponds are closed at 430. Park has went down last few years. Cabins look like crap on outside needs gravel all around.to much money for no more than you get.maybe needs new management and employees..
Dec 31, 2015
We enjoyed this campground the staff was very friendly and helpful. During our stay we observed the staff members constantly cleaning the grounds including the pool which was very nice. If I had anything to improve it would be the slow Internet. We will definitely be back this summer.
Dec 31, 2015
Best koa in this past of the USA. Only complaint is wireless internet service. I would recommend you either get rid of it or upgrade so it works better. If need be offer it as a service and charge your guests. Can't wait for my next trip here! Happy New Year
Dec 31, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by all you had to offer. I will definitely never stay in a motel in Cherokee again.
Dec 30, 2015
Love the KOA and the cabin we had. We will be back next year!!
Dec 30, 2015
I really enjoyed that I was able to get a deluxe cabin, as these are usually booked up during the summer months. Friendly and helpful staff with anything you may need. Will definitely stay again.
Dec 30, 2015
Cabin was in a water hole.wasn't offered to even be moved. No hot tub.just hot water..friends stayed in site 89 and we all was harassed about showing up early. Saying we need to read email on check in times but yet no one was on camp site or cabin. And email didn't say hot tub wasn't working or light in pool bathrooms wasn't working. Campground needs a lot of work.maybe new management. Very disap.
Dec 29, 2015
Family of five stayed during the Christmas holiday and even though the weather didn't cooperate our stay was great because of the koa. Neat and clean cabin indoor pool and hot tub were great and staff was super friendly!!! We will be back for sure.
Dec 28, 2015
Awesome stay!
Dec 28, 2015
Best Christmas vacation EVER!!!
Dec 28, 2015
It was very good. Everyone is friendly. Especially glad for the discounted rates in the fall or we wouldn't have stayed. The only negative was the pool was cold and the hot tub was out of order. That should be fixed right away.
Dec 28, 2015
Everyone is always so great. I have a value card but don't seem to be getting any discounts or points added to my account. Great place to stay and can't wait to go back.
Dec 28, 2015
We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. This was our 2nd time camping at a KOA campground. It's easy, affordable, and more enjoyable than staying at a hotel.
Dec 23, 2015
Dec2015. Awesome place. Awesome cabins!!! Fun for kids! Perfect!
Dec 23, 2015
First of all, Jill, Dianne, front desk staff, as well as maintenance staff, were amazing and helpful! Our campsite was perfect and the two cabins we rented for our children and Grands, were spotless! We had a great time and made wonderful memories! Will def. be back and will visit other KOAs from now on!
Dec 15, 2015
Fabulous camp with so many amenities! Friendly staff! Great pool! Love the air pillow.
Dec 15, 2015
We loved the cabin. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff was very friendly.
Dec 14, 2015
Above and beyond expectations!
Dec 14, 2015
Office closes at 5, so don't expect to do anything after that. Cabins are very close together, and the wifi is horrible. The cabins were nice and clean as were the grounds,
Dec 11, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our stay.
Dec 10, 2015
I've stayed at this koa before which is why I chose to stay again, very helpful and great stay
Dec 09, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and looked even better than the pics on the website. Everyone in our party enjoyed the jumping pillow. The location was nice and convenient to places we wanted to explore. We will definitely be back again. Great staff as well. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.
Dec 09, 2015
Being winter, I was delighted by the indoor pool and hot tub.Loved that my husband and boys could fish.Kids loved the jumpy thingamaboo,playground and riding bikes.Beautiful scenario and quiet campground in the winter.
Dec 08, 2015
Very friendly staff and nice facility. Always enjoy our stay and look forward to our next visit.
Dec 08, 2015
it was wonderful. Beautiful and we plan to return next year.
Dec 08, 2015
Great cabin in a great location. Really enjoyed our time there and will be back this summer!
Dec 08, 2015
We loved the campground, amenities were nice. Spots were level and easy to get into. Laundry facilities were nice. We camped in winter so there were not many activities, however, the indoor pool and the bounce pad were fun for the kids. We look forward to our stay this coming summer.
Dec 08, 2015
Everyone was great!!!! The campground is very clean!
Dec 08, 2015
It was great. We'll be back! Thanks
Dec 07, 2015
Dec 06, 2015
we love this campground and come back the weekend after Thanksgiving as often as we can it is great for families.
Dec 06, 2015
Dec 04, 2015
Dec 04, 2015
We arrived just after 6 PM and the next day our dogs were in the kennel. Closing at 5 PM is like a bank, not a campground. The woman was adamant to get our dogs by 5 PM. In both cases Donald was available to let us in our cabin and get our dogs after 5.
Dec 03, 2015
Dec 03, 2015
Absolutely Fabulous. Love this place!
Dec 02, 2015
Thought that some of the ladies at the check-in desk needed to be more knowledgeable of dealing with costumers.
Dec 01, 2015
We absolutely loved everything about this campground. Everyone was nice and the cabins were really nice.... Really loved the stream behind the cabin
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award