Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 13, 2014
The park was a little hard to get to.
Apr 13, 2014
the only problem we had was that we had a late scheduled arrival but when we arrived we had a hard time with anyone finding the key to our cabin since the office closed at 6pm.
Apr 12, 2014
Very clean cabin, just had a "cat urine" smell which was not so pleasant.
Apr 12, 2014
No tv. Roads need repairing. Appearance has deterioated since our last stay.
Apr 12, 2014
my husband and I had a wonderful stay with KOA and hope to come back with our grandchildren for a week very soon.
Apr 10, 2014
Our group has been coming here for 25 years, spring and fall, we always have a good time!!
Apr 10, 2014
Really enjoy our stay.
Apr 09, 2014
Very Disappointed with NO WI FI AND VERY POOR CABLE RECEPTION. They should inform people before they check in. Mike Martin 770 539 4797 mikemartin53@hotmail.com
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
we are avid tent campers. we choose to kabinkamp for the perks it provides. There was no working TV and when inquired the lady in the office said they were working on it.other customers having problems. outside the KOA guy working said it had been out 3to4 days. A customer should be advised when they checkin to make choices or even refund. bad comm outside KOA &with inside KOA.
Apr 09, 2014
The cabin we stayed inwas fine however, walking to the bathroom during the night was a challenge due to no lighting.
Apr 08, 2014
My cabin was filthy,the steps were falling apart...better yet a hazard,the roof was leaking,bugs in the light fixtures,light bulbs were burt out,chain was broken off the light fixture..i have stayed there several years...I would have to think long and hard to ever come back...sorry some things need to change before I could consider coming back. I was and am disappointed with my stay there,this yea
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
Very clean, friendly staff, great location and quiet this time of year.
Apr 08, 2014
Had a great time. Only complaint is the cable was not great, the picture was snowy, and the wifi was not good.
Apr 07, 2014
we had a fabulous time!! Can't wait to come back! everyone was so nice and very help full! We loved the free shuttle to the casino too!! Makes things so much easier.
Apr 07, 2014
Wifi poor. Wifi antenna box was open to the elements (that can't be good for electronics). Disappointed there was no effort made to put us near my brother even tho we checked in on a Thursday before the weekenders got there.
Apr 07, 2014
We have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and there is plenty to do for kids and adults in both the campground and Cherokee. The amenities are good and the facilities are generally clean. On the not so great side the campground is starting to show its age. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are unusable if that is something you need. A few permanent trailers are junky and an eye sore.
Apr 07, 2014
#1 - Bath houses were absolutely disgusting. Jacuzzi was overcrowded & had toddlers & teens jumping in & out. After being moved to a more appealing site (fyi - the ones "by the pond" are along a chain link fence topped with barbed wire) our opinions improved. We will consider going back in the summer when outdoor pool is open but only if the bath house issue is resolve.
Apr 06, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
Appear to be making more improvements. We loved the location of the cabin. We'll be back.
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
Always have a great time at Cherokee KOA. It was our 4th trip. We are bringing our whole family the first of June for a long weekend of fun.
Apr 03, 2014
Stayed in a deluxe cabin at KOA in Cherokee, NC the first week in APRIL. The desk staff were friendley, cabin could have been cleaner inside and out, but overall a good stay.
Apr 03, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
Many amenities to choose from to stay right on site. Bathhouse was clean. Indoor pool needs some updating on structural building around it. Very nicedeck/ sitting area by outdoor pool.
Apr 03, 2014
It was good as usual. Stayed in a cabin on the river, campsite was kept nice and clean. The only issue we had is that they sold us firewood which turned out to be poplar, it burns twice as fast and is very smoky. Everyone knows firewood should be oak or hickory. Not too happy about that, especially considering the price. Will definitely bring my own next time.
Apr 02, 2014
I was disapointed that they didnt have activitys planned for the kids or a raffle for opening trout season.
Apr 02, 2014
Great stay and new management. Recommend to sow rye so the sites aren't so muddy when it rain
Apr 02, 2014
I asked for a campsite that had a open southern view I was put in a site I could not place my rig in then to the next site a mud hole with trees and no cable I had to move to another site this is the second time this campground has let me down I will be very reluctant to stay there again
Apr 01, 2014
Overall very nice. Would love to see a porch swing and outside water spigot on K355 where we stayed.Have been coming here for 25 yrs. When Walt had it we stayed 6 or 7 times yearly now we only come 1 or 2 times yearly. Fresh paint is nice but need to return to the feeling that Walt Schumacher created. We always felt like we were staying with family that is why we came so often.
Apr 01, 2014
Opening trout season week-end usually great fun. New management did not know how to operate tournament. Very disappointing for grand-kids.
Apr 01, 2014
if you want to be cut off from the world then this is the place for you. no phones, no direct tv. the scene was beautiful, however.
Apr 01, 2014
Had a great time, everything went real good and smooth except for the rainy weather.
Apr 01, 2014
This was our first time staying at a KOA and our first time in Cherokee. We loved it! The staff was wonderful. We orginally wanted to camp in a tent,but the forecast looked terrible. We called last minute and changed to a cabin ( last one left) When we arrived, we were escorted to our cabin!!! After a long drive with a 3 year old and a puppy it was the nicest gesture! We will be back for sure!
Apr 01, 2014
This KOA is top notch, I dont generally like the whole RV atmosphere of a KOA, but if i were to go to one this would be it. whoever was the guy on night watch deserves a raise! he was great.
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
We had a great time as always, the staff was outstanding.
Mar 31, 2014
I'm very upset with them. I got there to check in and there was to be 5 people but one was unable to come and all they deducted was $11.00. My bill for 4 people was $185.99. I went on line today and pulled it up and it showed it was $155. I feel that they over charged me. We will most likely not come back.
Mar 31, 2014
Our cable didnt work and even after reporting it they never came to fix it. The poll and hot tub were very dirty. The inflatable jumping activity outside was never inflated. It was very disappointing this year. I don't feel like I got what I paid for.
Mar 31, 2014
Understanding this campground is being worked on. it needs ALOT of help. hope KOA CHEROKEE gets help getting things back up to great standards.
Mar 31, 2014
This was my first time at Koa and we enjoyed it so much. Very clean and employees were very helpful and friendly. We will be back again.
Mar 31, 2014
KOA has a good reputation for a good reason. The campground was clean;the camp sites in good condition. The weather was not great but we enjoyed our time away. The fishing was very popular. This campground has signs of age. The Wi-Fi connection was not useable. The Cable TV connection was poor quality (lots of snow on the screen). The sheetrock had gaping holes in the Indoor Swimming area.
Mar 31, 2014
I think you should keep a closer eye on the indoor pool to make sure parents are with there children! It becomes very rowdy when parents are not with there kids and they tear things up!! It becomes dangerous for the smaller kids!!
Mar 31, 2014
This KOA offers an indoor swimming area and hot tub. Which was nice since we had a lot of rain.
Mar 31, 2014
Great campground facilities. Staff could be friendlier. Bathrooms were not kept clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.