Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2017
Joann in the recreation outpost was wonderful. Answered all my questions and joked around with us. Shane took great care of all issues that needed attention and was great to talk with.
Jun 18, 2017
The campground and all staff were excellent. We had a great time. The cabin we stayed in was very nice.The proximity of the campground to shopping, Casino, parks was perfect. One of the best campgrounds we ever stayed in.
Jun 18, 2017
We were there from Saturday to Saturday. The Sunday worship group was great! Workers around the park were all nice and friendly, wifi was iffy at best. Bathrooms and laundry area were nice and clean. Really disappointed that people walked through our campsites, even after asking them not to. We were a group of 6 travel trailers.
Jun 18, 2017
Location was great. Tried to put a 40 foot camper in a 35 ft space. Fortunately two awesome workers noticed and moved us to a much nicer site. Overall, the stay was very quiet and nice. Please put on your website a warning to avoid US19 on the way in. Very treachorous for campers. Take US74 instead. Nice area to stay. We stayed for a week.
Jun 18, 2017
We really enjoyed it , and we will come back,everyone was so friendly
Jun 17, 2017
No tv as advertised. Cellular did not work consistently. No convenient trash dump. Friendly but not really competent.
Jun 17, 2017
Awesome! And this is coming from a person who does not like camping and that is what I thought KOA was. To my delight the cabin was great, bed was soft, just like a hotel bed, air condition, TV, kitchen. Absolutely loved my stay. My cabin was right on the river. Staff were very friendly, always smiling and saying hello. I was surprised to see 2 pools, indoor and outdoor. So many things for the kid
Jun 17, 2017
Great campground. Lots of activities for kids. The bathrooms were clean and that was a priority for us.
Jun 17, 2017
We had a deluxe tent site very nice. The only complaints i have really is #1. The WiFi was absolutely terrible. It wouldn't work at all! #2. I think the pool should be open until 10pm atleast the indoor. Other than that it was an absolutely beautiful place and lots of friendly staff and fun.
Jun 17, 2017
We were with two grandchildren. It is awesome for kids. Despite the rain we had a great time. Thank you.
Jun 16, 2017
Lots of fun, staff was amazing!
Jun 16, 2017
Great stay with a lot of activities. Fishing was fun and the cabin had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful and courteous Will be back in a couple of years.
Jun 16, 2017
Very nice koa many activities at the camp to keep u busy
Jun 15, 2017
Very very nice people and the campground is so serene! Met a camp host from Oklahoma and he drive me up to the main office to shop! They are the hosts with the most!! Would go back and stay for a week if I could
Jun 15, 2017
Staff was friendly, and our cabin was great (comfy beds, good air conditioning, functional kitchen, nice towels). The kids loved the pools and the air pillow, fishing, and finding otters in the river. The only negative was that the internet almost never worked, and when it did you had to be in just the right spot. So be prepared to be "unplugged", and it's all good.
Jun 15, 2017
Special thanks to Donnie, and Bo. Great job to all
Jun 15, 2017
loved every second at koa. will for sure stay again very soon
Jun 15, 2017
Great location, very quiet. Well kept, beautiful grounds. Staff was great, friendly and helpful. Food from cafe was good, but very slow coming out,
Jun 15, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff and lots of help.
Jun 14, 2017
When we arrived and began setting up our camper, a seam in the canvas ripped. We sewed the seam but also needed a glue to set it. We had nothing, but the Maintenance Supervisor, Donnie, brought us a brand new tube, asking for nothing in return. That night a wind surge blew our awning over the camper and the canopy down. Within a few minutes, Donnie was there checking on us. Very nice and unex
Jun 14, 2017
The cabin had a strong animal urine odor inside. I found an air freshener sponge under the bed, but it did not mask the smell whatsoever. Staff seemed very unhappy and complained a lot (not to me directly-overheard WAY more than I should have). Wi-fi service did not work. Was told to go to the bathrooms where service was best, but even there I was rarely able to get signal.
Jun 14, 2017
Wonderful stay at Cherokee KOA NC! Staff made our time there fantastic! Smiling and helpful staff. My first time to stay in a cabin. Not my last!
Jun 14, 2017
Great staff made us feel like we at home and were so very helpful!!! Don't miss this great campground
Jun 14, 2017
Awesome campground! Tons of amenities, great place for families with kids. Very clean and updated bathrooms. Friendly staff. Will be back!
Jun 14, 2017
Best KOA or any campground! We love it!
Jun 14, 2017
For the price, wifi should be top notch. Fact is it sucks. Desk staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Thank you, I enjoyed my stay.
Jun 14, 2017
Good campground with nice facilities. Most expensive KOA I've been to. The zero cell, bad cable, and low bandwidth WiFi = minus one star. The narrow and curvy road are 'almost' another minus star but that's not the KOA campgrounds fault. They are working on the sidewalks currently which makes them even more narrow. Minimum of 5 miles for local store and 13 miles to Sylva Walmart on curvy slow roa
Jun 14, 2017
A great place
Jun 14, 2017
Good campground - Nice facilities. Expensive to stay. Zero cell, so-so wifi, and bad cable. 5 miles from town and 15 miles to nearest Walmart. ALL on narrow curvy roads. I would go back for fishing though.
Jun 13, 2017
Great Staff and people there. plenty for the kids to do. the only thing they need to upgrade is the wifi. I couldn't even get email 3/4 of the time.
Jun 13, 2017
Very clean, cabin was very nice, lots to do for the kids, and the shuttle service was awesome!
Jun 13, 2017
Beautiful campground. Clean, well maintained, large level concrete sites, wide streets, lots of top notch amenities, large , clean and AC laundry and bathrooms. Already booked ,y next stay. River for tubing etc. is spectacular!
Jun 13, 2017
The staff was fantastic, the facility is very well maintained. Lots to do for all ages...kids especially. The location in a mountain valley with the river flowing through the property is priceless.
Jun 13, 2017
Staff not friendly Wi-fi and cable do not work half the time of stay If you are advertising and charging for these things they should be working. Grill was closed for yearly maintenance in JUNE . We have visited this campground numerous times but will not be back .
Jun 13, 2017
we rented a cabin for the weekend that had a very nice view of the river from our porch. We enjoyed the music at the karaoke party. We cooked on the gas grill at the cabin and enjoyed sitting around the camp fire. Very relaxing weekend and ready to go back again. We arrived at midnight and staff was at the entrance waiting on our arrival.
Jun 12, 2017
Cannot wait to come again and bring our grandsons! Loved it!
Jun 12, 2017
Stay was good. Markings for the sights was some what confusing. Needs to be better marked as to how wide they are
Jun 12, 2017
Best Campground we've ever stayed at. This is our 2nd year staying here and we love it. You will not find a better park with so many amenities and plentiful clean bath houses. This is 1 vacation I look forward to every year. The numerous staff members are also very helpful with anything you may need.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time
Jun 12, 2017
We had a good weekend at the KOA in Cherokee. This is the second time we have been there and we enjoy it. The only thing was I didn't feel like the bath houses were as clean as the last time we were there but other wise it was a good weekend and nice facility.
Jun 12, 2017
Great camp ground, very clean. Kim, cooper, Megan and Bo were awesome and made the vacation memorable. Thanks
Jun 12, 2017
We had a great time!! The staff were all so friendly!! The activities staff for the kids were amazing!!
Jun 12, 2017
very nice campground everyone was very nice also the breakfast and lunch from your grill was very good too
Jun 12, 2017
Peaceful and quiet wonderful staff and friendly very clean place
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was extremely nice! The restrooms were really clean. There was lots for the children to do. If we had a complaint, it would be about people who stayed beside us...not the campground.
Jun 12, 2017
Well organized, clean, huge camping area with lots of cabins as well. The only thing that I would say that needs improvement would be the wifi coverage. Coverage was spotty & came & went a lot. I would stay here again. Conveniently located.
Jun 12, 2017
Very clean facilities, great activites and fun for kids.
Jun 12, 2017
Clean park and vary helpfull stsff
Jun 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, bathrooms were kept clean, neat and we'll supplied. Thank you
Jun 11, 2017
The people that worked there were wonderful. Very helpful. The inside pool and hot tub was awful, it needs a total redo. Outdoor pool was wonderful and clean. We loved our site but needs work.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award