Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 20, 2016
We came here after 3 days of hiking/camping. The cabin was just what we needed afterwards. The jacuzzi was awesome as was the pool Nd it was a very clean campsite in general. We WILL be back
Nov 20, 2016
i was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist in any way. I will definetly stay here at the KOA Cheroke again.
Nov 20, 2016
Great cabin, awesome price
Nov 19, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
Great location for exploring Smoky Mtn NP and surrounding area. Much more subdued than the west side of the park. Nice sites. Clean restrooms. Ample spacing. I'd give it 5 stars if they had a cap on our sewer line and if the latches on the stall doors were operational.
Nov 18, 2016
Enjoyed cabin and setting. Very relaxing.
Nov 18, 2016
A very helpful and friendly staff. Will be back when we can.
Nov 17, 2016
From Allstay review:"Crowded stacked sites...It's like a clown show with all the golf carts running around tons of employees yellow shirts zinging around in golf carts ..." This is a true fact. The meeting room has a noisy fan needs repair. Too many employees busy talking among themselves. One of them gave a response, "In the trash can." When I asked where to put trashes. Kids on bikes every where
Nov 17, 2016
As always we had a great time. Love the location and the staff met or every need. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
Nov 17, 2016
The campground was great till Saturday midday. Then the bathhouse at the back became gross and nasty. There was dog poop out front, poop on the toilet walls and smelt like poop. I told someone Sunday about it and it never got cleaned. I was looking forward to come back in the spring with my daufght but we will not come. Thanks. Jenna Roberts.
Nov 16, 2016
Nice campgrounds
Nov 16, 2016
Very friendly staff, the cabin we stayed in was extremely clean. I would recommend that they invest in better stoves, but other than that everything about our stay and this location was AMAZING to say the least.
Nov 16, 2016
One of the most beautiful koa campgrounds we have stayed at. The workers are so accommodating and friendly. Look forward to returning
Nov 16, 2016
It was ok. Was woken up very early on Sunday by Garbage Truck and people around us running there Diesel Trucks for no apparent reason other then to warn there engines for 30 to 45 min. Woke us all up at 7 am.
Nov 16, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Nov 15, 2016
Great stay! Wish there was a rod to hang clothes from, a coffee table, and luggage holder like hotels have, in the cabin. Other than those details it was a great space. WiFi and cell signals were there but really poor and unusable but having a business center helped us out a lot!
Nov 15, 2016
Great facility with very professional hosts and employees.
Nov 15, 2016
What a pleasant surprise! The facilities were immaculate, the staff was welcoming & it was a nice mix (bikes, jumping pillow, etc) mixed with a true outdoor experience (trail, falls, fishing).Wish someone would have offered us a heater for our cabin the 1st night. Overheard someone talking about it the next day so 2nd night was more comfortable.
Nov 15, 2016
There are no cleaner and nicer restrooms and shower houses in the known universe.
Nov 14, 2016
Clean cabins and campground, helpful staff. Fishing was great!
Nov 14, 2016
First time at this campground, loved it. Check in was quick, escort takes you to your site. The cabin was great, rustic just what we needed. It was next to the creek. Our son loved exploring around I, and he really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We plan on returning during the summer to enjoy all the other stuff to do, esp want to try tubing and fishing. Great camping !
Nov 14, 2016
I have been coming up to Cherokee KOA since 1993 and always had a good stay. I did write a not to good review about a month ago but Lucy changed that around on this trip!! Thanks......
Nov 14, 2016
Wifi is terrible. 1st space we got was way small, they did move us. So we set up twice. will look for other campgrounds when we visit Cherokee.
Nov 14, 2016
The camp ground is beautiful, well Maintained and large. There is something for everyone . It is a destination not a stop over. All the amenities are above average. Jump pad, swimming pools & Hot Tub inside and out. Trikes, fishing. We rented a cabin and on the river with views and serene sounds. There were some staff that were less than polite & quite rude. That's said, I'd still go back.
Nov 14, 2016
We've been coming here for nearly 15 years. We've seen Cherokee at it's best, and also at it's worst. Love what the new management is doing to get this KOA great again!!! Can't wait to come back in January!!
Nov 14, 2016
Awesome!!!! As always!! We go several times a year. We love it!!
Nov 14, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, but encountered an employee (Lucy) in the office that was nothing short of rude. We arrived late Thurs night and left early Fri morning for an all day event for our little girl, which didn't get us back to camp until 9:15 pm so we could not stop at the office on Fri since they were not open when we left or returned. When I stopped in Sat morning, Lucy was extremely rude.
Nov 14, 2016
The staff at this KOA were incredibly friendly and helpful. I love that they have an indoor pool and hot tub for the colder months. Also, the bike rentals were a lot of fun. We will definitely be returning in the summer so that we take advantage of all the activities, indoor and out.
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience
Nov 14, 2016
This years stay marks the sixteenth year , always a relaxing great time .
Nov 14, 2016
We loved our stay, the kids especially loved it on the bouncing pillow, mini golf, bike rental, and playground. All the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Especially JoAnn who realized I hadn't included my discount. We will definitely be returning here in the future.
Nov 14, 2016
So great....lots of activities for kids...even in November...
Nov 14, 2016
enjoyed our visit, staff helpful and friendly
Nov 14, 2016
Great staff what you expect at a five star hotel, we love this place and we are already planning our next trip!
Nov 14, 2016
Was not given the cabin type I reserved for my son's birthday - he cried because of it. Wifi was horrible - could get a signal but couldn't use it for anything simple. have stayed here several times but this weekend really disappointed me. Was told that if you want a specific type of cabin you have to call after making reservations and have them notate your reservation to not change it.
Nov 14, 2016
2nd time staying here in 2 years. Love it and will be back. Only complaint is part of the shower / bathroom area was shutdown hopefully just for remodeling. Also some locks need to be fixed in the bathrooms. Thank you!
Nov 14, 2016
Staff was super
Nov 14, 2016
Very great staff that is customer oriented
Nov 14, 2016
Very friendly staff. Restrooms were clean. My only complaint is the back men's restroom doors only had one out of three with a lock.
Nov 14, 2016
A little busy and poor wifi but all in all very pleased and very helpful staff we enjoyed our time and will likely come back
Nov 14, 2016
We had a good time but we did not like the site because it was right at the entrance and the noise and traffic too much.
Nov 14, 2016
Great time every time I come to your campground looking to come more in the future.
Nov 14, 2016
Very clean restrooms Nice campsites.
Nov 14, 2016
Coming back in the summer. Love it.
Nov 14, 2016
Very convinent. The whole staff was great and very helpful. Everyone seemed happy. Everything was clean the campground was very well kept. It was a great environment. We are looking forward to our next stay at KOA.
Nov 14, 2016
We arrivesd late and had rented a primative cabin. Someone was thoughtfull enough to unlock the cabin, turn on the porch light and turn in a portable heater. We were so pleasantly surprised. Thanks for the extra steps.
Nov 13, 2016
Only thing we were disappointed in was the mini golf course had not had any work done on it in awhile. It was full of sand & leaves (of course the leaves are falling) but it also has many bricks and sides of holes gone and/or loose, so you can hardly get a good shot in. With this particular campground, it just keeps getting better for us every time we come. 27 years we have been here in Octob
Nov 13, 2016
wife got call from doc & we had to leave early. we had no problems checking out early, thx
Nov 13, 2016
Cooking grates over fire pits would be nice.
Nov 13, 2016
there as no cell phone service, no wi-fi and was like a third world location. the bath room lights cut off after two minutes leaving you sitting in dark.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award