Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Feb 02, 2015
We had a great time, the cabin was clean and i would stay there again.
Feb 02, 2015
The staff were wonderful. When we arrived, there was a problem with the water heater in the cabin which was quickly repaired. Everyone is always friendly and helpful. This KOA will always be a favorite!
Jan 31, 2015
Just stayed overnight. What beautiful setting
Jan 28, 2015
We LOVE this KOA...We have stayed several weekends this winter and already have our week booked for Summer. The cabins are very nice and clean. Alot of activities for kids. Highly recommend!!!
Jan 26, 2015
Our stay was great! The staff was friendly. Our cabin was cozy. We essentially had everything needed for a small getaway.
Jan 26, 2015
Had a great time. Cabin & Bathhouse very clean. Staff very friendly. We will be back. My only concern is so many things out of order..shower in ladies bathhouse, several washers, several games in gameroom, after hrs ice mach..all the while, new carpet was being installed in the office..why, with all the needed repairs on the grounds?? But we do love this KOA & we will return!
Jan 26, 2015
Our water froze on checkout morning...right from the spiggot/connection and no one was there when we checked in just after 5:30pm...but the rest of our stay was great.
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 19, 2015
Absolutely the best campground I have stayed at in Cherokee, NC! Highly recommend this place for family fun or couples romance!
Jan 19, 2015
wonderful
Jan 19, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Cabin was clean & relaxing. Staff made us feel welcome .
Jan 17, 2015
Jan 14, 2015
We loved staying here. It was off season, so it was empty which was very relaxing. The only issue we had was that the shower in the cabin did not have running water, but it was freezing temperatures so we understood. Also, we only stayed one night, so it wasn't an inconvenience.
Jan 11, 2015
Very clean & great service. We were able to use a winter rate special & get a great site beside the creek. Will definitely be returning.
Jan 09, 2015
Very cold visit but enjoyed the peaceful quiet around a campfire.
Jan 08, 2015
Campground was very well maintained and clean. Even though we were there in an off season, the staff was very accommodating. One item that needs some attention is the consistency of the Wi-Fi. Not bad, just slow at times
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
Beautiful campground,good fishing,lots to do close by cheap propane! Now that's what I'm talking about!
Jan 06, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Very Friendly and clean
Jan 06, 2015
Loved it! People were friendly, grounds were clean, hot tub was HOT!!! We stayed 6 nights and one man even opened up the game room for our girls to play games because we didn't notice it until our last night! Love our winter mountain vacations! Thank you!
Jan 05, 2015
This is the first time staying in a cabin at your KOA we usually bring our fifth wheel camper but decided to stay in the cabin since you were offering 50% discount. We were very disappointed. We were in the front of the campground and you were on top of each other. We would have rather been in the main campground where you had space to yourself and can get out and have a campfire.
Jan 05, 2015
Employee's where pleasant and helpful. River side sites were nice and comfortable. campground looked clean. Did notice alot of out of service postings on equipment,dryers, washers, bathhouses. Hot water in bath house took forever to heat-up, but i understand new plumbing is in the works. Overall we enjoyed it, the place just needs some upgrades.
Jan 05, 2015
Everyone was nice and I would stay again for sure
Jan 05, 2015
Wife and I have been visiting this KOA for many years both in our motor home and relaxing in the cottages periodically during the year. We have never had a bad experience during any stay (except when we didn't get snow and really wanted it). I highly recommend this particular KOA.
Jan 05, 2015
Me and my family had a great time. The staff was very nice and the whole campground has a very laid back kind of feel to it. We will most likley become regulars.
Jan 04, 2015
Loved everything but the internet sucks. This was to be a learning trip for my daughter and I and the internet did not work most of the time and when it did it was so slow I couldn't download anything. They could take the TV's out but the internet a must. I wanted to teach my daughter about the history of Cherokee and there was no way without internet. Did I mention the internet sucked.
Jan 04, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The kids had a great time fishing in the ponds. Looking forward to next time.
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 03, 2015
My only suggestion would be that you increase signage on the road before and after the school, especially at the bridge that takes you along the river on the other side of the campground. Our GPS directed us to take that bridge which ended up a dead end on a dirt road and we had to drop our tow and back up and turn around our 45' motorhome.
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Cabin was very nice and clean. Customer service was great!
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
Loved the cabin on the river! Gorgeous scenery, cozy cabin with fireplace. My children loved the indoor pool. Perfect winter get away! Hope to visit in the summer!
Jan 01, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
staff and facilities were great, but we prefer campgrounds with more trees, privacy.
Dec 31, 2014
It was great, we had an awesome time! The cabin was really cute and cozy. Also, the mini heater was a plus! :) we will be KOAing again soon!
Dec 31, 2014
The staff is so friendly and helpful!
Dec 30, 2014
This was my second time staying at the koa. I absolutely love staying on the river and the view. The cabins are super cozy. My only complaint is how the pool and hot tub close at six. I spend my time during the day exploring and would like to be able to enjoy the hot tub at night. Other than that everyting was great.
Dec 30, 2014
The winter savings was great. We had a great stay, it was our first time staying at the Cherokee location. Would definitely recommend!
Dec 30, 2014
Limited space in cabins, limited towels and pool closes at 6. Bath houses were clean
Dec 30, 2014
Our Christmas week stay at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA was great from start to finish! Our cabin was comfortable and cozy located right on the bank of the Raven Forks River allowing us to bask in the beauty and sound of the water as it rushed by. Our fun-filled week included trout fishing, the beauty of the Smokies, and evening campfires! Our dogs had a great time too! Can't wait to go back!
Dec 30, 2014
Excellent campground and we do plan to return for another visit!
Dec 29, 2014
Dec 29, 2014
Very cozy, relaxing, lots for kids to do around campground, slept awesome. Staff very friendly. Our second Christmas with ya'll, we were so blessed to spend it there, this is now our family tradition. Can we reserve the same cabin next year? Clean!
Dec 29, 2014
Friendly staff and clean facilities (bathrooms especially). We keep coming back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.