Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful time! The fishing tournament was fun and so glad you contained it to just the ponds. A women's category should be added and the raffle tickets and drawing for items from your store and donations from the community were missed! Jill, her husband, and Carolyn were very nice and helpful! We were told the entire campground was booked-not true. We'll be back soon & have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Nice KOA. Despite the rain it was still fun and we will return when in that area again. Only drawback was no cell service [AT&T] and their WIFI was terrible. Forgot my coax for the TV too. But it was kinda nice detoxing from the electronics for 4 days.
Oct 14, 2014
This was mine and my husband's second visit to Cherokee KOA. This time we brought some family and friends with us. We camped on one of the super sites. We all had a great time! Already planning another visit.
Oct 14, 2014
The only reason I booked with the Kampground is that my husband wanted to stay in a cabin. It was clean, but the frig leaked and there were some ants. I thought the price was too high, but I knew this coming in.
Oct 14, 2014
My husband JW and myself really enjoyed very much and that cabin where we stayed were so cozy and neat and comfortable and that site of KOA is so perfectly place to go and stay beside good for the kids and I personally will want to bring our grandchildren with us one day soon...Thank you so much for allowing us stayed there and enjoyed our time during the fall and colorful season:)!
Oct 14, 2014
2nd year family spent the weekend in October at this KOA & it is perfect & family friendly
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Want to go back. However, showers could be rechecked and fixed. Cabin had an odor. But overall great stay.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
This was one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed at. The only thing that would have been better is if the hot tub would have worked
Oct 14, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful campground very clean and quiet. Loved the outdoor shower stalls. Close to everything but yet felt like you were a million miles away! Loved it!!! Will be back 😊
Oct 14, 2014
I have camped at the Cherokee KOA several times and always have found it to be 5Star. This was the first time I rented a cottage for my Daughter and Grandsons...they will definitely want to come again and stay longer..see you in the Spring!
Oct 14, 2014
Sin palabras muy bueno el campamento.
Oct 14, 2014
Very muddy around the sites needs more concrete
Oct 13, 2014
I love the site I was on, But I choose this site because most of the sites in this park when it rains are the pits. Too many puddles. Game Room is mostly locked and has dated Games or not in working order. Amenities tells you there is WIFI. It's the pits!!! And Halloween Activities should be the whole month like the Yogi Parks do then just one weekend.
Oct 13, 2014
Been to this KOA several times. The rain was not my best friend, my daughter had an asthma attack and my friend locked his keys in his camper but we will definitely be back!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We had great stay with you all and will be back year with some friends of ours and made some new friends this year too and enjoy the fishing rodeo.
Oct 13, 2014
I've stayed at a lot of KOAs and this was by far the worst ever! Rude and unhelpful front desk staff, site was flooded and muddy and after 10 minutes there was no hot water in the shower.
Oct 13, 2014
This was our third stay. The staff was very accommodating. Only complaint was the campers beside us brought their large flat screen TV and BLASTED it all day and into the night. Finally at 11:00 pm we asked them to turn it down, which they did. Only to blast in first thing in the morning. Nothing like going back to nature.
Oct 13, 2014
We have been coming here for over 5 years and find it very family friendly!
Oct 13, 2014
We always enjoy our stay because our grandchildren can ride bikes and swim
Oct 13, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a car problem and staff went above and beyond to help us. Campsites were clean and cozy. We look forward to a trip back during the summer months!
Oct 13, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. Very quite and in good condition. The showers were kinda small with little or no seating , outside of that, it was great. This was our first camping trip to Cherokee and if possible we will be back at the KOA.
Oct 13, 2014
If your not staying in one of the riverside sites things are pretty run down.
Oct 12, 2014
Bed was terribly uncomfortable - sunken in the middle. dishes were dirty. The shower drain was blocked. I don't consider the tiny bathroom sink as a sink in which to wash dishes. All in all a nice facility collectively speaking. I would return using a larger full facility unit.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
cabins are to high cost wise,guests should not be required to carry thier own trash to the dumpster .food is too high and disabled people have little to do there.will not be back!also i had to ask for towels daily.
Oct 12, 2014
The ONLY negative!!!- Some very large dogs on vacation allowed to crap wherever they chose to. Pet owners should be fined if caught not picking up after them.
Oct 12, 2014
As usual a great stay. Over the years as we have gotten larger campers we like that you have plenty of spaces big enough, but turns are too tight making getting in the sites difficult. This past stay we had to back out of our supposed pull through. Trees, shrubs, etc. should be trimmed, cut back or removed to allow for appropriate access to sites for 40+ foot campers.
Oct 12, 2014
Great campground! Lots to do. Excellent Fishing. Bounce toy too noisy to camp near.
Oct 12, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, large pull thrus for big rigs. We stayed there before and will definitely return.
Oct 12, 2014
This campground is very well run. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting the mountains and Cherokee!
Oct 11, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice campground well maintained - Would need a better cell service. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Good laundry facilities. Lots of amenities--play ground, dog park, and fishing just offsite. River one side, pods on other. The big disadvantage for us was no cellular service. (AT&T). WIFI worked great.
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean, large pull thru
Oct 08, 2014
Biggest KOA I have been to. Very nice, excellent wifi service, lot's of extras to do.
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Friendly staff , great location and we'll maintained. One thing that could be improved is the cell and wifi reception. Guest need to keep in contact .
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and campground was maintained t
Oct 07, 2014
It was good. Need to work on internet connectivity issues.
Oct 07, 2014
Should've heeded warning from prior reviews about flea problem in cabins. Also,very much lacking in welcoming you upon arrival. Certain employees did try to make-up for lost time, but weekend was ruined by then. I don't usually submit negative reviews, but we won't be returning here.
Oct 07, 2014
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, fabulous mountainside view. We will definitely return.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
you have a awesome location, cabin was great, staff friendly, will be back
Oct 07, 2014
we were unhappy this time with how we were treated. we have a large camper and we had to rent a cabin for our daughter and her husband. they would have made 8 in our camper. we have been staying there for many years and were never treated this way. we will not be back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.