Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
Great family campground!
Aug 17, 2015
We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. Did have to wait in line at the camp store for around 15-20 min, while three employees worked on one person's bill.
Aug 17, 2015
we had a wonderful time and all the children loved it. we were there with our grand daughter and faimlies to send her off to collage with some great memories .hope to visit lots more times
Aug 17, 2015
Manager went out of his way and helped make our stay incredible after a big misunderstanding. Thanks for all you did David.
Aug 17, 2015
Park was clean, staff friendly somewhat pricey. Overall enjoyed our stay.
Aug 17, 2015
Ready to come back
Aug 17, 2015
Great campground! Game room needs some help.
Aug 17, 2015
This was our first ever KOA experience. And it was awesome we look forward to our next KOA vacation
Aug 17, 2015
I have stayed for the past ten years at KOA. The amenities are one of the top reasons why. I would only add that customer service was lacking this last trip. The staff could benefit greatly from customer service training. The environment is stunning and the experience could be even better with friendly employees.
Aug 17, 2015
My family had a great time. I would like to get qoupons for discounted stays. Price was a little high.
Aug 17, 2015
I wish the pool water would have been warmer! Is the indoor pool heated?
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA I have ever been in.
Aug 17, 2015
A perfect place and so close to Mingo Falls. Better than any hotel.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff is rude.
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent facility with extremely friendly staff. We suited for the family. We enjoyed ourselves very much and will come back.
Aug 17, 2015
This was my first stay at a KOA campground, and I felt very disappointed. I was hesitant about paying the higher price, but heard that KOA has a reputation for cleanliness. The floor of the cabin was filthy and it smelled like vomit. The bathroom had footprints on the toilets and giant wads of hair in each shower stalls. I wouldn't pay such a high rate for those types of conditions again.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff were wonderful and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were always clean. The grounds were clean and well maintained.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice clean campground! Don't feel trash trucks have to come every day! That definitely drives up cost. The pillow pad needs to be supervised by parents.
Aug 17, 2015
We have been to this koa a few times. The only thing I wish were different would be for an option of a later check out time. With check in around 2 and checkout around 11, you don't even get a full 24 hr stay and we came for the campground and not sightseeing. We've already seen haha. Will continue to return here.
Aug 17, 2015
We had just left the KOA in E.ash and really enjoyed ourselves. Rented cabin with just ac (w/0 tv/fridge) for $58 each night 2 nights in total. Really enjoyed it since it was our first stay in a KOA. Got to Cherokee KOA. No ac. Tv didn't work. Was charged $100 and when checking out was only offered 10% off. Wish I could explain more but don't have enough space to tell full story. Never will return
Aug 17, 2015
We have been going for 25 years and we still love it. This time in a cabin and not our motorhome. We really enjoyed it. Our granddaughters grew up here at the park and was the first place they named when asked where they wanted to go. They are 16 and 18 now and they still love it.
Aug 16, 2015
The campground location is pretty but the campground needs some tender loving care
Aug 16, 2015
Great campground. Very clean and well maintained. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make sure you had what you needed and felt at home. The only "negatives" were that the TV reception was fuzzy and the WiFi was weak (if that's your thing), but we weren't their to watch TV or play online. We would definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2015
We look forward to our stay there at the KOA all year! We love staying in the cabins because it is camping without the tents. There is so much to do at the campground...you don't even have to leave! See you next year!
Aug 16, 2015
The staff really work hard keeping the camp grounds and facilities clean and nice. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. Really nice camp.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This is one of the best KOA that we have been at. A lot to do and everyone was real friendly. We went every where and the KOA was a great place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.
Aug 16, 2015
Front desk poorly organized and understaffed. Wifi lousy.With todays technology not much excuse for this.
Aug 16, 2015
Best KOA we've seen, for folks with kids. We called from a nearby casino to reserve a spot. Would have stayed at the casino till time for bed, but was told the camp would provide a shuttle "At any time" to the casino and pick me up at 10:00pm. Went to camp at 4:00. Told no ride till 6:00, and last ride home 8:30 (twenty minute ride each way)Good place to sleep. Should have stayed at the casino.
Aug 15, 2015
Extremely upset over the condition of the campground plus our unit was not CLEAN at all.
Aug 15, 2015
We had a wonderful week at this KOA. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Planning a family reunion here next year. Beautiful campground!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
We just got married and came up to stay in our camper for a week on the way up my husband called the campground to make sure we where going the right way lady on the phone was very rude and hung up on him in the middle of asking a question so I kindly called back and ask for the manager and explained that the lady we talked too was rude and they apologized but never had a employee be so hateful
Aug 15, 2015
Nice KOA.
Aug 15, 2015
Clean bathrooms, lots of activities for kids, cabins a bit close together and not much space if you have little kids
Aug 14, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cherokee. Everyone wad super nice and the facility was top notch! Our campsite was excellent, we will see you again soon!
Aug 14, 2015
The only complaint I have is I went on Friday to see if I could check in an hour early. You always let us have our cabin early. Well Joann refused to even look to see if the cabin was ready and said policy is 2:00 and continued to ask what did I want her to do about it. I never have ran into someone like her there. She was VERY RUDE.
Aug 14, 2015
We have been raving about this KOA since we got back home. Every KOA staff member should be sent here for training on how to create a wonderful KOA experience. The place is beautiful, the facilities are in top-notch condition, and they offer excellent and frequent activities.
Aug 14, 2015
Tammy and Thomas were the best! So helpful and made our stay wonderful. Thank you for everything!
Aug 14, 2015
After reading so many of the negative reviews, I almost made reservations somewhere else. But, I am glad I did not. We had a wonderful experience...the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the entire grounds were well taken care of. Almost no road noise, tons of amenities and a great experience all around. The only downer was that it is a full 1-1/2 hour drive to Asheville. We will go back
Aug 13, 2015
Great place for family fun and nice people. Will be back.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean park. Beautiful view. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Poor WiFi. Location is poor as you are an hour to an hour and a half away from anything worth doing. Some staff were great while others were rude. They did refund when we left early so that is a plus. But we will never return to this park but would probably stay on the other side of mountain in pigeon forge. Very disappointed complete waste of vac
Aug 12, 2015
Very large campsite with a lot of things to do in a good location. Was very busy on the day we arrived and little notice was being taken of the capsite rules.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Excellent bathroom facilities and lots of activities for kids. Wifi was horrible though if you need to be plugged!
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful camp ground bathrooms clean and beautiful. Site very nice.would stay there anytime
Aug 11, 2015
No public kichen. Too many cabins and the cabins are rusty.
Aug 11, 2015
The only issue I found was that the bathroom on cabin 252 side was not handicap friendly. The counter tops at the sinks were made for the standing not wheelchair bound. An older lady in a wheelchair could not see in the mirror from her chair and her personal items were on the counter which was about "neck high" while in her chair. Very happy and will bring more of our family next year.
Aug 11, 2015
My site was 185 and it was great
Aug 11, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.