Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
3 staff members very rude, guy with glasses and pony tail, short haired women with glasses where you rent tubes and stuff, and old man at night with ear piece radio, unreal that they should have any contact with the public, we have been to this park many years, and it seems like the help is getting worse, spnd a lot of, $$ each yr ,2 yrs in a row brought friends to your cabins, time to change????
Jul 26, 2015
for kids, A+ swimming pools etc. are excellent. This alone means a lot. Very kid friendly. Wifi is almost non existent. Nice to have when searching for things to do. They might consider opening the grill during movies, ice cream or a cheeseburger would be great. Bath houses need upgrading along with more hot water. Overall experience was very good and would be great with a very few improvement
Jul 26, 2015
Great, friendly staff. Clean conditions.
Jul 26, 2015
Kids loved it. Great people. Very relaxing for me and lots to do for the kids. Great weather and good food.
Jul 26, 2015
Our family really enjoyed KOA in Cherokee,the staff was great and helpfull , nice and clean
Jul 26, 2015
It was a wonderful vacation.
Jul 26, 2015
No hot water for showers Thursday morning, July 23, 2015. Had a power glich Friday afternoon, July 25, 2015, that tripped our CB. Still enjoyed our stay and will return.
Jul 26, 2015
Great people .
Jul 26, 2015
Awesome camping experience! Great place to unwind and spend quality family time!
Jul 25, 2015
The tubing in the creek was great fun. You might think about a nice fence or small stone wall along the creek were the cabins are located, we saw a young boy slip into the creek while fishing. He was ok but it sure scared us.
Jul 25, 2015
Love this koa. Only two things that I feel need attention, the roads between the deluxe sites need to be repaved and when they cut grass pick up the clippings they blow them all over your camper and anything sitting around having a grass catcher is not that hard. But other than those two area's everything else was great staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
We had a wonderful visit as we always do. The only thing is I wish the sheets for the bunks were fitted. Very difficult to make and do not stay on at all. You would think with all the koa cabins across the USA they could make sheets for the bunk beds.
Jul 25, 2015
Grandchildren loved pool and able to ride their bikes everywhere
Jul 25, 2015
Beautiful location. Exceptionally quiet even filled with children. Restrooms were clean however the showers were either cold or luke warm. Shuttle bus is useful but only goes into Cherokee and not always reliable. Lots of activities, great little store, very friendly staff. Loved the concrete flat pads, not too close to neighbor. Nice pools. Lovely stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Nice campground. Very clean. Nice activities. Campground could improve tent areas by adding tent pads, it's a cheep investment that would add a lot of convenience
Jul 25, 2015
Great experience. Grounds and facilities were immaculate, and all of your staff, without exception, were helpful, courteous, and professional.
Jul 24, 2015
Oh my gosh my family and I enjoyed our stay so well I booked our stay for next year . Our grandkids had so much fun which in turn gives us satisfaction and pleasure . The deluxe cabins were absolutely perfect. My husband and I visited KOA about 18 yrs ago and enjoyed it
Jul 24, 2015
This is a great place to stay if you have kids.My child had a great time riding his bike, playing in the pool, and on the air bouncer.There were a lot of kids there for him to play with.We are tent campers,the sight was loud at night from traffic,and bit small. It would be nice if tenters had a water supply so we would not have to walk through RV sites for water. Bathhouse good.
Jul 24, 2015
The koa has an excellent pool and great camp sites!
Jul 24, 2015
Pools was nice but that's it! People that was working was all very rude and hateful. We will not be coming back. My husband is a disabiled veteran with only one leg and after asking to be something near the bathroom we was put very far away in a horrible tent site. We was very disappointed in the whole park because of the employees.
Jul 23, 2015
Great for families with kids. Lots to do...if you aren't kid friendly, you may want a less active campground.
Jul 23, 2015
Great. Value for the price
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly helpful staff, clean camp ground.
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome
Jul 23, 2015
Fantastic campground! Traveled there with a BSA Troop, and they treated us very well.
Jul 23, 2015
excellent staff, good activities for kids, tucked away from town...
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay
Jul 22, 2015
This was the best campground we've ever stayed at. We had our grand kids and they LOVED it! The staff was the best! Everything was perfect. Thanks for a GREAT TIME.
Jul 22, 2015
Office staff does not do what they say, nobody seems to know what the other is doing nor do they take responsibility. It's pretty much what they say or the highway. Exchange of towels after being there three days was a hassle. She accused of changing that morning and had us confused with someone else. The placard in the bathroom says that they should en exchanged at the registration office but we
Jul 22, 2015
We purchased our1st camper 3 weeks ago and were trying it out for the first time. Koa was recommended by a friend who uses it quite often so we decided to try it out we were not disappointed Our experience was great and we will be using it in the near future.
Jul 22, 2015
The reason for the rating is because the park did not require that parents control their kids. It is dangerous to walk through the park with kids racing their bikes virtually at all times. Nice park but needs to control the kids.
Jul 22, 2015
The stay was ok but the office was told about the people getting drunk and using the restroom out side in frount of children and wemom and did not care wemon do not want to sea there junk Ithank they should have been ask to leave,the camp ground. other that we realy enjoyed the time we spent...
Jul 22, 2015
Very nice kampground with plenty to do for the kids!
Jul 22, 2015
When we arrived our mini fridge didn't work. We had to wait for a maintenance man to come and replace it. Then we bought fire wood from the office. The wood was wet and some of it was green. We went back to the front office and was able to exchange it....for more wet green wood. we had no campfires for our 2 day stay. We also weren't notified ahead of time of decreased fish stocks so no fish.
Jul 21, 2015
Nice and clean with a lot to do around the campground but products in the store were very expensive so bring all u may need
Jul 21, 2015
Awesome place. They really go above to make sure that you are having fun. If I had to say anything is that with no cell service the WiFI should be a lot better. Great stay, see you next year or sooner.
Jul 21, 2015
As much as it costs to stay here there should be curb side trash pick up. Please do not advertise you have wi fi when it does not even connect.
Jul 21, 2015
Only complaint is no phone service. I am more and more dependent on my cell phone, so I just wish there was service there.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a good time.
Jul 21, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, the cabin we stayed in was clean and the food at the grill was great and affordable. Will be back again. The river flowing right by our cabin was a plus also.
Jul 21, 2015
had a good time. Bathrooms could use better cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
We usually love this campground but our last stay wasnt the greatest. One of the guest service employees wasn't friendly, at all, upon arrival and check in. Our campsite was FULL of cigarette butts that my small children constantly wanted to pick up. Lastly, it was very loud late into the night due to rambunctious teens roaming the campground (which I know is out of your control).
Jul 21, 2015
Loved all of the amenities and activities. A great camping destination for families with children. We enjoyed the smoked pork dinner! It was lip smackin'!
Jul 21, 2015
I had a fun time and liked the environment a lot! Nice people and good facilities. The cabins seem a bit pricey though.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Extremely expensive, no phone reception, WIFI was up and down everyday, fire-pit was to close to neighbors truck and our awning, our lot was small, I felt cramped.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time. The sites were level and clean. The bath house was also very nice. Can't wait to visit again!!
Jul 20, 2015
Would have been a 10 out of 10 and 5 stars if the WiFi had worked as advertised. These sites are not exactly cheap and there is no excuse not to have a usable Wifi system considering that cost. Everyone I met had the same complaint about the Wifi. When we asked the front desk about the problem here was no real explanation offered. This issue should have been thought out better on KOA's end.
Jul 20, 2015
great place. cabin on the water was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views and soothing sounds of running water. Booking again for sure
Jul 20, 2015
Had a blast camping here for the first time. Just wish we would have known that the ponds were not stocked like we thought they were going to be but iver all a great time thank you for the experience

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.