Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Bob, your Maintenance Supervisor was great! He came over to our campsite to show us where we could park, due to the limited space of how our cabin was situated in proximity to the road...Then, at the end of our stay, he happened by when we were leaving out and said he'd take our trash bag to the dumpster for us, made our stay that more enjoyable...Just wished my fishing would have been as good!
Aug 17, 2014
14 years coming here sometimes three times a year and this was the worst ever. There is a cancer growing there and it starts with the management and goes directly down to Lynn, head of housekeeping, to Don, maintenance and office, and his wife Jill. There are great people there and I will come back. Erin, Mike, the other Mike(Crash), Sandy, Bo, and most of all Billy. Great people! Changes needed!!
Aug 17, 2014
beautiful campground, nice big sites, level, very impressed. indoor pool was perfect temp, kids loved waterslide and bounce pillow
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Our stay was great. I wish you had more sites on river for big rigs. The 10 pm quiet needs to be enforced. I had to get up at 11:30 pm to remind the folks behind me they were an hour and a half past the limit...lol..Everything was good.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
This has been a yearly trip for us for many many years.It has changed owners since we were there last year and I must tell you that some of the people working there are very very nasty and have no business doing what they do! I will just give you one name of an employee that really needs spoken to. Mike Stevens.RUDE and thinks he runs the place! I will be writing corporate about our visit.
Aug 16, 2014
Loved it! The scenery is beautiful! My only recommendations would be to be to have randomly placed (porch) swings through out the campground and would love, to have a place to hang my hammock at the campsite. This was one of our best vacations:))
Aug 16, 2014
enjoyed our stay but need to do work on showers
Aug 16, 2014
We had a great time everyone was very helpful and the camp ground was very very neat and clean. The tables in the pool area were not very clean but everything else was . The snack bar had great food at a reasonable price. I would definitely go back.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Fantastic place! Wonderful staff in a wonderful location!
Aug 14, 2014
Always nice to stay @ this KAO, however this trip there was no one @ the guard shack. There was no security of any kind my entire stay. This should be corrected immediately.
Aug 14, 2014
I had more fun fishing than at the campground.we have 5 children and every time I turned around an KOA employee was speeding by on golf carts exceeding well over the 5mph limit. I actually complained because they almost hit my 3 yr old and it didn't help all they did was go by and stare. Also the washers there are run down and disgusting. We were disappointed and won't go back .
Aug 14, 2014
This is our second stay there and while the location is beautiful the bathooms were terrible and have not been updated since our last stay 3 years ago. Also the deluxe site we paid for was disappointing. We left early the next day.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great experience with a super nice staff. Loved all the amenities and location to great activities and beutiful views.
Aug 13, 2014
Not impressed with housekeeping in cabins or bathrooms but the staff (Addie, Billy, Woodrow and Freemon?) were great! Always checking on us and our dog. Wanted to pack up those 4 and bring them back to our KOA!
Aug 13, 2014
Although we had rain every day, we still really enjoyed our stay at Cherokee KOA. My grandkids & the adults loved everything. I tubed down the river for the first time & even though it was scary at times, I really enjoyed it. We will definitely go back.
Aug 13, 2014
We had break problems with our motor home and every one helped us work out our problem.
Aug 13, 2014
Outstanding visit! Extremely friendly staff.
Aug 13, 2014
Grounds were not taken care of: higher grass than my last 6 yrs, trailer sites were covered with leave, durt, standing water on many of the sites, etc. Just not as good as past. People in checkin were not as friendly/helpful, waited for three days to buy milk/milk, never saw any in 4days, nobody could answer simple questions(new to there jobs). I will stop here, I think have gotten to feelings
Aug 13, 2014
Very nice campground. friendly helpful people.
Aug 12, 2014
We were with a group and the KOA staff was very accommodating. Since we were there 2 years ago, a noticeable improvement in cleanliness and staff.
Aug 12, 2014
We had a great time. The facility is excellent and the team is phenomenal. All of them made us feel very welcome and were very attentive. Special thanks to Woodrow. Lots of things to do and see very close, many of which are free such as Mingo Fall, Mingus Mill, Great Smokey MOuntains National Park and many more. If you want to disconnect and spend time with family and friends,this is the pl
Aug 12, 2014
Nice area, along the River, Deluxe Cabin was clean and efficient. Would be nice to have a small bar soap in bathroom at sink and small detergent in kitchen to get started. Small things but nice. Overall great stay!
Aug 11, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay as we always do. The things that bother us if the fact we pay for premium sites on the river and have to deal with people constantly walking through your site. The other thing is with the high nightly rates the activities for the kids should included.
Aug 11, 2014
Almost 6 stars! They get them whenn WiFi is all around the campground
Aug 11, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at your campground. The staff ws very nice. The bathhouse and restrooms were always clean. The cabin that we stayed in was clean and provided enough room for my family. I would recommend this campground to other familiy members.
Aug 11, 2014
Only issue our family had was a leaking cabin
Aug 11, 2014
We had a wonderful time in our cabins. The staff was very friendly and help if we needed anything.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Love the concrete pad campsites and the activities planned particularly for children! Had a great visit!
Aug 11, 2014
enjoyed this campground, lots of fun things to do with the children. Price is a little expensive.
Aug 11, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean. Bed on pullout sofa is an air mattress which was very comfortable. Bounce pillow was a big hit with the kids.
Aug 11, 2014
We had reservations to have been put beside my friends that were going too but they did not, but the cabin that was beside them was empty the entire time. Also the employees treated us as if we were a inconvenience to them. Closing the snack shop even when customers we in line to buy food. Poor customer service.
Aug 11, 2014
Water hookup leaked enough to take a shower. Had to hook up water next door. Reported the problem with no result. Bath house was nasty with stopped toilet and no toilet paper. Wife had to take a cold shower. Loud movie after the 10:00 pm quiet time. Had to leave w/o dumping tanks...dump station is poorly positioned and not accessible. Nightly rate too high for all this, plus a resort fee to boot!
Aug 11, 2014
There tent sites are not the best but then we moved to a flat site with water and electric and it was fantastic. Nice staff and facilities. Would stay again.
Aug 11, 2014
Need better direction signs to camp ground and more of them. Wifi was non existent and that is one of the reasons I booked at the park because wifi was available at all campsites and was free. Please fix this. Also approach verizon about putting a cell tower near camp, no phone service or spotty at best. Outdoor pool was not open 2 days of our stay. Park was clean and workers were friendly
Aug 11, 2014
The campground workers were very nice. The only problem was the showers. No where to put your stuff while showering. Other than that the campground was good. The kennel was not good. Will not leave my dog in a cage, he has never been caged and never will. Having only one fenced area where all the dogs of all sizes were was not good either.
Aug 11, 2014
The campsite is clean. The people are so helpful and friendly.And if think about camping ,we always consider coming to this KOA because we know we can count on it always being good.
Aug 11, 2014
Needs some work in places but overall more than satisfied and would stay again
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was fine. You need to have maintenance check the lamp assembly on the ceiling fan. It appears to be missing some screws.Cabin 60.
Aug 10, 2014
We have a great time Li my eight-year-old little boy loved the campground. We had a great time have used your services for the last 20 years. years old loved it. He said we must return again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.