Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Love the KOA Campgrounds, but just way too expensive! I was a "member" but not re-newing and will consider many other reasonably price campgrounds in the future! Sorry!
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
The cabin was awesome. I was very impressed with the way the cabin looked and everything worked great. It was my wife's first time in a campground and I wanted her to enjoy it. It was perfect for her. She loved it and we will be back. Thanks!!
Nov 10, 2014
The staff is helpful but lukewarm. The bathrooms and cabins are very clean though.
Nov 10, 2014
Excellent
Nov 10, 2014
We stayed at this campground in early November in an RV. It was very clean. The staff in the office and grounds crew were courteous and made our stay very pleasant. One even helped us troubleshoot our rig's coax issue. If you don't want to be near the kiddie magnet jumping mat, make sure you specify that. It didn't bother us but the sound resembled thunder which frightened our dog. Overall great!
Nov 10, 2014
We have been staying at the Cherokee KOA for 15 years and it is always a great trip . We love the Cherokee KOA !!!
Nov 10, 2014
We had a great time but did experience an issue with the water in the shower. It was very cold. Stood in there for 10+ minutes waiting for it to warm up (last time we stayed this worked) and it stayed cold. It was miserable to come in from a long day of trout fishing in the cold waters to have to take a cold shower.
Nov 09, 2014
Bathroom seemed dirty. Light were on a sensor and will turn off while showering. Arcade was closed after 7:00pm my kid couldn't enjoy. Staff smoke cigarettes in bathrooms and they stink...
Nov 09, 2014
We can only get away from our business for a couple of days at a time. We really enjoyed just building a fire in the pit and watching the river go by. So relaxing. Staff was very helpful.
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 09, 2014
This was just what our family needed. A small break from the stress, to just be a family. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Nov 08, 2014
Don't advertise a deluxe cabin and then it a trailer with little room and appliances.
Nov 06, 2014
We stayed in a cabin near the river. It has 2 bedrooms, with bathroom and half kitchen. It's not big but very cozy. KOA site is not far from the trails.
Nov 06, 2014
The only negative about the campground location is that there is NO AT&T cell phone signal at this location. We were not able to make phone calls or text with our cell phones.
Nov 06, 2014
We arrived after hours and had to get our packet ( we rented a cabin) from the outside box. We waited for about 30 minutes before we found someone who worked there. He said he would be at our cabin with the key in a few minutes. We went to our cabin and went and unpacked everything to the front porch. The guy never came with the key. I had to leave and go find him.
Nov 05, 2014
Nice in November. Pool, hot tub, everything still open. Not sure how summer would be. Probably extremely crowded.
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Great place, but a little pricey for a kabin. Still had a great time
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Had a fantastic stay.The campground was very clean and the workers very friendly. I will be back. Thank you
Nov 03, 2014
First time camping in the snow. everybody was nice and the resort was very clean. will be back.
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Despite the snow, we had a great time. We were camping with another family with a total of 5 teenage boys with all of us. They enjoyed fishing in the ponds and grilling the trout they all caught through the weekend. The younger ones enjoyed the indoor pool. What a great way to end our camping season, thank you!
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Love this campground, but have never had hot shower there come couple times a year for the fishing
Nov 02, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Washing machine have been broke for six months. No offer of refund for lost money. Firewood stolen from camp site, No offer of replacement. Lady replied I don't know who did so I can't catch them. Snack shack closed the day we got there. It seem that the worker were feed there at lunch, not sure about that, but if so would it hurt so much to cook for a paying customer. Last time you don't care!!!!
Nov 01, 2014
we love the campground the river is great can't wait till get to go back
Nov 01, 2014
Great RV park with level concrete pads. Stayed here in late Oct., it is a beautiful time of year. We also loved the fishing. We also liked the staff customer service and security. Rate is a little on the high side in price... that is why the 4 start rating.
Oct 31, 2014
very pleasant stay. Clean cabin, and campground. Thanks
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
This KOA is great! We've camped here for approx. 20 years. It's clean, well managed and have plenty of staff. Has lots to do for the kids. The Halloween event is great for kids of all ages.
Oct 31, 2014
very good time friendly folks
Oct 31, 2014
Had a wonderful time thank you
Oct 31, 2014
Some of the staff was not real nice. One of the workers told me to rate this campground poorly. Store, Shuttle, Bike rental hours should be posted better. Hot tub did not work. My kids had a good time with the halloween events.
Oct 31, 2014
The stire wasn't very well stocked, so what was there, some lunch meat was spoiled. Luckily the cashier noticed it before we paid for it and ate it. But really even though it wasn't summer there wasn't much to choose from to eat. We didn't bring food due to our car being overloaded, and traveling with dogs. We also, froze in the cabin, it is not warm at all,to the point my dogs even crawled in bed
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
One of the check in staff was very rude to us and several other campers. A large tree limb fell through our awning. Other than that we had a great time.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Great stay,however water pressure needs to improve
Oct 29, 2014
Enjoyed every minute. The Halloween weekends were organized so well and we enjoyed watching. The weather was not as we hoped but it's no ones fault. We'll be back.
Oct 29, 2014
Great campground, well kept. Avoid site #22--it is backwards with fire ring and picnic table on wrong side. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back.
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.