Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Beautiful campground, friendly staff! Would definitely come back and recommend to others.
Aug 13, 2017
Stay was good, KOA staff were very friendly and helpful. They could pressure wash the RV pad occasionally as there was a good bit of mud on ours from previous use and a lot of rain.
Aug 13, 2017
Great camp. Kids made many friends. Easy place to relax and enjoy the scenery and let the kids be kids. Would be five stars, but the staff said we had to put our put chicken on a leash - no kidding, we have a pet chicken (she is dear to us) and the manager said if we didn't put her on leash we'd have to leave. The first KOA we stayed at this trip had chickens and a rooster. Not all KOA same.
Aug 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 12, 2017
Great campground if you have kids.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Have been coming there for years but this stay wasn't that great the pools looked dirtier then normal and there was about 8 dead frogs in filter they were there for day so I know pool wasn't checked. The kid pool was closed and the restroom weren't that clean the camp ground to me felt like it was a little run down .The store has also become smaller and ran down. Very disappointed
Aug 12, 2017
Staff worked with us to get a couple of other days. Our site was across from the bath/laundry so was continuos foot traffic. Very clean and beautiful.
Aug 12, 2017
enjoyed it... clean camp ground
Aug 12, 2017
Because there was very little cell service at this location, we really needed the wifi to work in order to keep in touch with people. Unfortunately, the wifi was terrible at our location. While we would connect to the signal, little data was able to be transmitted.
Aug 11, 2017
Loved the cabin but did not like that we didn't have access to the cabin with a golf cart. We had to park it with our cars that were not right at the cabin. We stayed in 386.
Aug 11, 2017
I must admit that I was skeptical about camping at all. My husband and son were all excited so in the "family spirit" ...off we went. We were going to book a tent site, but after reading anything about a bear, mom opted for the deluxe cabin on the river. WOW ! It was perfect! It has everything you could ask for . This place is amazing. Great staff. Can't wait to return!
Aug 11, 2017
We reserved a two room queen cabin but were given a one bedroom with bunk beds. I specifically asked for two queens and was told there were 2 left, so I booked it. When we got to our cabin and it was wrong we were told sorry you were 5 minutes to late. Why have reservations then? It was a nice clean cabin but not what I booked.
Aug 11, 2017
Enjoyed my stay, but the prices on the camping cabin are too high, bathrooms needed to be cleaned. Always enjoy seeing Joann at the front desk, she makes you feel welcome and she's so nice! Love staying here, and will be back in the fall.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Recent improvements are nice. We like this koa and will continue to stay there. The WiFi could be vastly improved. I realize that Internet access while camping isn't a priority, however, I do need to check a few things while away. We get the premium river sites and we could not connect until the wee hours of the morning if at all. Definitely needs improving.
Aug 11, 2017
It was great besides the cabins being a little closer than I remembered. The neighbors were also very noisy around midnight and very early in the morning. The bathroom closest to the river wasn't very clean, all the toilets were clogged and the showers were kind of gross. But the bathrooms by the entrance were perfect! Also a little annoyed there wasn't an option for late check out.
Aug 10, 2017
The cabin itself was great! Clean, with fresh linens, well laid out. The grounds needed some work - the game room was closed for construction, the pools were pretty gross and murkey, and the wayerslide closed, the wifi was nonexistent, even in the office itself. A convenient spot for GSMNP and a nice stay, but not everything the website makes it seem.
Aug 10, 2017
It wasn't terrible, but not great either. There was a lot of cool stuff for the kids however looked very ran down and no updates to equipment maybe ever? Playground, mini golf and pool areas were very dated and not well kept. We paid for the big cement site and we were 1 of maybe 4 of those type sites that had tiny site with a sliver of grass. So small we could not setup a easy-up tent. No Wifi
Aug 10, 2017
I have been coming to Cherokee for many years to enjoy the mountains and trout fishing. This is the first time staying at KOA. My family and I love the campground! We stayed in a brand new cabin on a small creek. We did have alot of aggravation the first 24 hours as we found ourselves going back and forth (4x) to the check in station to get the things that were suppose to be in the cabin.
Aug 10, 2017
Our sewer was stopped up and spilled out on the ground. No arcade for our teens. It is a pretty place but since it was raining couldn't tube, then we found that tgere wasnt much there for teens.
Aug 10, 2017
The pools were nasty!!! I have pics of the pools as well as the pool filters which were full of dead frogs. These conditions were present our entire stay. The pools were not cleaned once while we were there and they were disgusting. This was very disappointing as we have stayed there a couple of times over the last years and have always found the pools in much better condition.
Aug 09, 2017
Have been coming here for years, pretty disappointed with this trip..rented cabins 511&512. Shortly after arrival was told no camp fires at the cabins...there was no mention of this when we booked or checked in. Then boys were told they were not allowed to their ride bikes from cabins to store...had to push beyond pool?! Food orders were terribly slow. Hope this was a one off bad weekend.
Aug 09, 2017
KOA outside staff were ridiculous! Told Corporate rules we cannot reserve our annual spots nor be together. Rented 2 kabins 2 tent sites & 7 RVs. 60+ yr uncle been coming since a kid. Now brings grandkids for wk stay. Told baby stroller needs headlights-never seen 1 like that before;couldn't ride wife's bike-it didn't look right. asking kids where going who are ya w/. not family friendly pool yuk
Aug 09, 2017
the stay and staff were great , play ground equipment and pool slide needs cleaning , this will not keep us from coming back again
Aug 09, 2017
Too many restrictions. Employee told one out male members that he wasn't allowed to ride a female's bicycle, no kiddie poole
Aug 09, 2017
We did have a great week staying, but we had problem with ant in the cabin, chair broke and they did not bring us a new one.We heard that they are changes that you can not pick you spot, This is going to hurt this place, moving people off site after they had been there, because someone came in early, or they were on a concrete site for an rv. closing the grill due to less staff.
Aug 09, 2017
We love it there n great place for our kids to play n have fun n staff had been very friendly n helpful.
Aug 09, 2017
Very good stay, however there were some issues. A mess in the men's toilet was there for at least 11 hours. The mattresses in the cabin were not that great. My grandkids wanted to begin camping here every year.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice, friendly management. Very dissapointed however with them saying there's wi-fi. When we arrived on Sat management told us and everyone else the wi-fi was "spotty". I never did find that spot or anyone that had! Was in second site to office. There's NO WI-FI!
Aug 09, 2017
We had a great time!!!
Aug 09, 2017
This KOA was amazing! The RV sites are very spacious and well kept so you don't feel like you are right on top of your neighbors like some other campgrounds. There is always something going on or something to do so you don't even have to leave the campground if you don't want to. Our granddaughters loved the DJ Dance party on Saturday night. The staff was wonderful to deal with and eager to help.
Aug 09, 2017
Unable to reserve specific sites for family group, broken pools/slide, broken vending machines, arcade out of order, broken sewer pipes, dog bit my daughter, dogs running loose thru park, guests reprimanded for riding bikes of differing gender, poor check in customer service, bike/golf cart parking area near pool not accessible by bidirectional traffic, and light required on stroller after dark
Aug 09, 2017
Awful. False advertising no game room no kiddie pool. Rules were not enforced by staff. Especially with quiet time. People were so loud and drunk kept us up. Watched security just drive on by after we complained. Then I was accused of being drunk with my 3 yr old son because I complained to management and I don't even drink. Poorly run. Very upset about the money wasted pool was always closed
Aug 09, 2017
Awful awful. Rude staff and rude campers no rules enforced for quiet time. Waste of money. Pools were always closed and very dirty. Security was a crock of crap. As he was drinking with the campers instead of enforcing quiet time. Complete bullshit
Aug 09, 2017
We came up for the Trout Derby and enjoyed our stay very much . The area was clean and friendly. The only issue or down fall was the cable reception ( all channels where shadowed or too blurry to watch even had a staff member check it ) and on a family note the water slide was not working
Aug 09, 2017
wifi usless cable tv not working Price to high
Aug 09, 2017
The sites were very nice but the pool water was brown and the splash pad area was roped off with caution tape. The night we arrived they had a dance party that was obnoxious and blaring even all the way back against the river. We got in line for food at 8 not realizing that the cafe closed at 8 and the associate leaned out gave a man his food then closed the window before we could walk up.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice , clean park. The staff was very welcome went above to help make our first time stay awesome . Thank you koa staff we would definitely be back for vacation .
Aug 09, 2017
Upon arrival we were taken to the computer generated campground site number, only to discover it had been taken. After a discussion with one of the supervisors he gave us the option of 4 vacant sites. We choose our site and it was perfect. The bathhouses were comfortable, but needed monitoring more frequently with the volume of people at the campground that weekend, 8/4 - 8/6. Great Experience!
Aug 09, 2017
I didn't like the cabin but might bring my camper back sometime
Aug 09, 2017
Great stay... obviously internet service stink, but thats not what we came for. Jonathan really put the icing on the cake. All the staff was nice, but that fella was so pleasant to chat with. Great thanks to him.
Aug 08, 2017
My family and I have been coming here for the past 5 years. This stay was by far the worst I have ever had with any campground. We stayed in a cabin because we have a 6 baby and needed the microwave. At arrival our microwave was removed and never replaced (or even explained why) and our shower wouldn't drain. Staff was very rude. One told our friend he could not ride his wife's bicycle.
Aug 08, 2017
We have always loved staying at the Cherokee KOA. This year however there didn't seem to be as many activities provided. In addition, the campground was very noisy from vehicles and motorcycles from early morning until late into the night. This was in direct opposition to how we normally experienced the Cherokee KOA.
Aug 08, 2017
After coming to this KOA off and on for over 15 years may not come here again. Lots of times we would reserve 2 and 3 sites TOGETHER along with some cabins. Now the past two years we drive to this location and have confirmed a site that was not reserved and book our vacation only to get there and find we are moved and our site was given to someone else. Pls call for more details I have more.
Aug 08, 2017
Had tent campers behind our cabin with a baby that screamed all night and an alarm clock that went off 8 times with them hitting snooze at 5am. The place was pretty crowded and the staff had difficulty keeping up. Ran out of ice cream etc. overall the staff worked hard and were friendly. They can't possibly help that some folks have zero camp etiquette.
Aug 08, 2017
Our overall stay was fine. Unfortunately on our last night, there was a group of young men at the cabin nextdoor who were drinking and cussing and being loud outside until 3 am. My husband complained to the night security person at 11:30 but he only told them to "keep it down". The next morning there were beer cans, liquor bottles, and trash all over the lawn in front of the cabin.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
nice, clean restrooms and showers, friendly staff
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award