Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2014
Made our reservations fir next year!
Oct 21, 2014
I am already booked for next year but if all the campsites were as crowded as the one we just stayed at I would never ber back again. We will be in a larger site.
Oct 21, 2014
Campground was crowded and noisy with Kids walking threw my site till monday morning when weekenders cleared out. Came in at night couldn't find site, but an escort did show me, no visible numbers. Wifi was sketchy at best and 2 mornings tree service was cutting and sawing fallen trees at 9am right behind me and woke me up. Will not stay there ever again! Would not recommend
Oct 21, 2014
Stayed here with our son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren. Indoor pool was a big hit. Patio site was excellent. Wireless internet went in and out.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Awesome staff and some pretty good coffee too. If they would just get the WiFi fixed . . . I'd give'em six stars
Oct 21, 2014
We've stayed at several KOA's in the Western NC, this is the best one by far! Will be staying again soon.
Oct 21, 2014
Nice and clean. Everyone very friendly.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Spacious level lots by stocked trout stream. Ned to label all showers in ladies comfort station at back of park as plumbing is backwards from standard plumbing. Also need to fix locks on toilets and shower doors back comfort station. Finally, need to provide updated TV stations as that printed in brochure is totally wrong. Thank you.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Bathhouse needs work,scenery was great!
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Great Service Great Rates Great Staff This is a true KOA Campground
Oct 20, 2014
Staff was courteous and check in was easy. Campground was full. Grounds clean, seemed well kept. Showers need work. Need a bench or something to put things on in shower. Water pressure/shower head wasn't good in shower.
Oct 20, 2014
Beautiful facility with lots to do. Some of the office staff was belittling, negative, short and unwelcoming to the guest. Us included.
Oct 20, 2014
We had an awesome stay! Meet a lot of wonderful familys! Staff was extremely nice and always helpful! We loved all the kid activities they had for Halloween! We wil definitely be back!
Oct 20, 2014
Campground is breathtaking, amenities are plentiful, staff was hit or miss. Some quite wonderful, some rude. Regardless, would definitely go back.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
We had a great time-our stay was just too short. There were many Halloween events for the children-so much to offer. We didn't leave the campground.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
We had a wonderul time and must say how clean the campground was and how it was maintained. Your staff was very friendly and nice. It was great to be able to get into our campsite after hours along with the help of your guard. Will be back for sure and stay longer !
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
need to update bath house
Oct 19, 2014
It has gotten very expensice to stay in the kamping kottages and it appears that everytime we stay there tey have issues with the wi-fi. I have been coming there for years but I don't think I will return again.
Oct 19, 2014
The new campground WIFI hotspot is a great new addition. However, there's some deferred maintenance. The roads are in much need of repair, three of four clothes washer were inoperative, and the hot tub jets in the indoor hot tub were inoperative.
Oct 19, 2014
The staff was friendly, the campground was clean, the river was nice to see. The cabin was clean but had a bad smell, many of the facility bathrooms either didn't lock or the lights didn't work, and the shower did not drain so I had to get dressed in a flooded room. The wood we bought for our fire was wet, so we could not start a fire the first night.
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
It was wonderful. Very thankful for the indoor pool because it rained for days. It was a very fun weekend despite the rain.
Oct 18, 2014
I enjoyed staying at this KOA, but it needs to do some upkeep work to the deluxe cabin we stayed it. The floors need a really good cleaning. There is dirt and gum in the corners, and the flooring has really discolored badly. The curtain at the door fell down and needs to be remounted correctly. Also, It is time for a new couch. The one in the cabin is worn, old and ripped in places.
Oct 18, 2014
We had a lovely site (pull through). The people running this KOA are helpful and very friendly. My only disappointment is the lack of Wifi availability most days that we were there. I drove to the clubhouse/office several times to manage some business but it was not ideal. I sure wish the the Cherokee Nation would put up another cell tower for AT&T subscribers...no cell service at all!
Oct 18, 2014
Wonderful campground - just a bit pricey for off-season! Especially liked your Doggie Island!
Oct 18, 2014
Our cabin was perfect of a little getaway for newlyweds, but by the second night we had loud drunk adults next to us. Our last night there they were so drunk and loud we heard them talking about hitting each other and it not going to hurt. Our sweet little getaway was kinda ruined.
Oct 17, 2014
Just one problem! A storm came the day we were suppose to leave. A tree fell on our camper at site 130 so why did we have to pay $70.00 for one night because of the weather? I would think there should be a discount when we couldn't leave after staying a whole month!
Oct 17, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. Wish all KOA's were as nice as Cherokee KOA.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Lots for children to do. They expanded tremendously since last stay years ago. They are overcrowded now with so many cabins. Camping cabin we stayed in was VERY musty/mildewy. Half of cabins were vacant but not clean. Could not give us another. Did have cleaning come and mop with febreeze. Attempt at shower one time-no hot water. No help from staff when asked. Pool/hot tub perfect temp.
Oct 15, 2014
We usually take our camper, but this time we decided to stay in their cabins - they were very nice and clean. As always the entire campground was well kept and the staff friendly.
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
This KOA has so many things for everyone to do! You don't even have to leave to eat - they have their own little eatery and store :-)
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
It was great! Enjoyed every minute of it, even in the rain!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.