Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2016
Great family FUN!
Aug 16, 2016
We came to fish and tube they could have let us know they was not stocking did since July and we wouldn't have wasted $300 because this is why we came for our kids to fish
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
We had a nice spot next to the river/stream. Very nice indoor & outdoor pool. Nice pizzas at the grill.
Aug 15, 2016
It was a wonderful, clean, safe, family oriented campground with lots of amenities. We loved our stay and are looking forward to making it an annual trip. Thanks KOA!!!!
Aug 15, 2016
Our deluxe cabin with loft was very clean and had all amenities we could want. Glamping at its best! (I did bring a foam mattress topper which was well worth it because the bed was firm.) Employees were very friendly and efficient. Hadn't been back in 15 years but won't wait long to come back again.
Aug 15, 2016
We had fun and there are lots of activities. Thank you for being helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
My son wanted to camp for his 6th birthday. None of us had camped for nearly 20 years so we felt like this would be a great way to ease into it. All of us had a great time and Jamie had a very special birthday.
Aug 15, 2016
Great location well maintained will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
Great place for families and especially for children.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
- Price toooo HIGH - Lady at Desk very rude to previous customer , made me wait 15 minutes, then another lady stepped up. Placed me a flooded site, when there were at least 6 other nice sites around me open all weekend. Had major water leak on my water input, ATtendant finally placed a KOA hose to next open site after flooding my spot. DID not get what I paid for. Note: extra tie dye shirts nic
Aug 15, 2016
Only drawback was some of the activities weren't well planned. Marshmallow roast was from 7-9pm, but when we arrived at 7:25pm our child was told that they ran out of marshmallows and it was first come, first serve. Also, arrived for the popsicle social on time, and waited and waited...no popsicles at all. Children were disappointed again. The amenities are awesome though.
Aug 15, 2016
Great sites, staff is very friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Campground activities and pools were very nice and clean. My kids had a blast. RV septic was clogged and it to an hour and a half to dump gray water but maintenance staff was available at my request to help with this issue.
Aug 15, 2016
Friendly staff. I wish the pool and hot tub were open later and open earlier in the morning.
Aug 14, 2016
As usual we had a great time. The bathhouse needs to be cleaned more often.
Aug 14, 2016
Very disappointed in the maintenance of the grounds. Some guy Mike dug up the lawns mowing in circles. However restrooms were much improved. We have been enjoying your Cherokee for years!
Aug 14, 2016
We stayed with 2 small kids and fellt very welcome. The team was friendly and helpfull. Donnie gave us good ideas about things to do with the kids. The taxi-service to the Outdoor Drama was perfect too! We had a spot for our RV at the river which was beautifull and had shade. The perfect family KOA!! Thanks to the team.
Aug 14, 2016
That was the most relaxed I have been ever!! Wonderful place
Aug 14, 2016
Wonderful stay in the South Great Smokey Mountains National Park. The only minor problem was the internet connection. It was not always available from site 5 which was directly across from the main office.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Nice bath houses and great amenities for the kids with the pool, tubing, bouncy pad, etc.
Aug 13, 2016
My family and I love this place. I would not camp anywhere else but here.. there is so much to do for the kids and the safety of our kids. This place tries there very best to accommodate there customers.
Aug 13, 2016
Great service, wonderful staff and so much for the kids to do. Thank you!!
Aug 13, 2016
Nice stay. A little disappointed on the yard. Huge clumps of grass everywhere. Couldn't keep grass out of my camper after walking my dog. Need better clean up.
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Construction going on at the sight right next to mine, so me and my wife had to listen to drilling and sawing on our visit. Additionally, there was a pump that would turn on and off all night. Don't tent site camp here!
Aug 12, 2016
Saturday night there was a dance party that shook our camper and kept our baby up past 10:30. When asked to turn down the music we were ignored by the staff. Went for some rest and relaxation, and instaed stayed up with a crying baby. Lots of amenities at the camp, great place for older kids. But a very immature staff in the summer with little concern for my family.
Aug 12, 2016
We had a wonderful time, the only problems we had were no hot (or even warm) water in the shower. We also had to wait to use the bathroom, the bath house near us only had 3 toilets.
Aug 12, 2016
This year, the pool and hot tub were unacceptable/dirty & cloudy. I also noticed that a box of graham crackers in the store was $6.05 for the box! I'm all for making a profit, that was ridiculous!
Aug 12, 2016
Very friendly staff. The site I was on no issues. One next to me had lower water pressure.
Aug 11, 2016
This was our first trip with our new motor home and what a perfect campground. Staff was friendly, park was well maintained. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2016
We visited this KOA 4 years ago and went back because we had a wonderful time. But this time it looked like it hasn't been clean in 4 years. We stayed in a 2 room cabin by the river and that cabin was full of spider webs, dirt all over, the smell was funky, overall an awful place to sleep plus the fact that our fire pit was SO close to the fire pit from next door cabin we couldn't even enjoy it.
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
Friendly staff, beautiful campground, clean!!!
Aug 10, 2016
We had reserved a cabin and rv site our son and family was able to come and enjoyed the time. As for us we had to admit my husband to the hospital. They understood and did not charge us a night stay or more only the 10 dollar service charge. Thank you again that speak volumes to me that we mean so much. We alway s recommend this KOA
Aug 10, 2016
The only thing I wondered about was why none if the exhaust fans work in the restrooms. Would be nice to have them . We appreciated that the office would let the rest of our family in area for trout derby come up and see the campground while we were there and visit with us. We love KOA in cherokee. If the rest of the family will stay next trout derby 2017 it would be 5 reservation instead of just
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
Overall it was mostly enjoyable. We had 2 minor electrical issues in the small cabin we rented, but it was fixed correctly the 2nd time. The dogs staying a few sites away would bark incessantly at ANY passerby which was VERY annoying and it felt like we were placed in the "smoking section" of the campground as EVERY neighboring site had smokers staying there. Those last 2 issues are risks.
Aug 10, 2016
Have been here multiple times, our son always enjoys it, lots of children to play with. He practically lives in the jumping pillow. New bathroom remodel looks great.
Aug 10, 2016
Me and my children have stayed here many times over the years and it is always an outstanding experience!
Aug 10, 2016
All cabins should have air conditioners. I will not return in hot weather.
Aug 10, 2016
The cabin was not to our expectations. The window screens were broken and there were cobbwebs and spiders all over the outside, there were small ants on the inside and cobbwebbs on the bunkbeds.
Aug 09, 2016
We love the campground, this was our second year in a row staying during the kids trout derby. Lots of activities for the kids to do at the campground and they had a great time. We will be making reservations for next year as well.
Aug 09, 2016
This was our third time staying this summer and we enjoyed it each and every time. The only complaint I have is the restaurant there needs more employees. There were only two employees working in the kitchen. It took 30 minutes for two orders of gravy and biscuits and an order of pancakes. I would think there needs to be at least four to make everything more smoothly.
Aug 09, 2016
Buying retail takes forever. Kids on bikes need instructions about cars. Despite a the humans, this a great camping experience.
Aug 09, 2016
The staff at the Cherokee KOA, although not terrible, didn't really meet our expectations compared to the other KOA's we've stayed in. They just weren't quite as friendly and helpful as what we've experienced in the past at all of the other KOA's.
Aug 09, 2016
KOA Cherokee is one of the best camp sites I have ever been to. Very clean. The Staff cares what they do. They made you fill welcome. I will be back very soon. Everyone I know will soon know KOA Cherokee is the best camp sites ever. Thank you for making my family welcome. Jeremy
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award