Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
We were going to Cherokee for a one night stay to see the Unto These Hills Drama! We were tent camping with our three sons and left our two 4 legged babie at home. We wished we could've stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities! Our 8 & 9 year old loved the pool and the jump pad. Our oldest son (19) loved the Dj and the entertainment! We will definitely return with the whole family!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
The campground is great but phone service lousy to non existent
Jul 17, 2016
Stayed here for about a week, alot to do. Pool is great. Will definitely stay again but will spend a bit more money for a double or bigger site.. the less expensive sites are really packed in like sardines but still enough room to move about.
Jul 17, 2016
This was our first time to camp at a KOA campground. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The campground, restrooms, store, pools and areas were all very clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Great place for the grandkids. Lots of activities for them. Downside is lack of phone service and very limited internet access
Jul 16, 2016
We love this campground. A bit more expensive than other KOA'S but it has a lot for kids to do. I only wish the phone and internet were better. If you need these services, this is not the place for you.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place too camp and enjoy the smokey's at your doorstep.
Jul 16, 2016
The new porch swing at our cabin is horrible. The last time I stayed in cabin 250, and I sat in that swing relaxing for most of the day. The new swing at cabin 249 is horrible and cheap. It has a bar running across the middle of your back. This may seem insignificant, but it definitely affected the relaxing part of my trip. Other than that we had a wonderful time. Great job
Jul 16, 2016
When we arrived we had to clean our site 51 limbs and trash everywhere. They allowed to many cars to park at cabins where it was hard for RVs to back in sites. They should have parking spots behind cabins. Old Ladies were not friendly at all. We have been camping there for 4 years. I don't think we will return. They need more supervision at the outdoor pool.
Jul 16, 2016
Very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Campground was well kept & clean. Great place for families & kids of all ages!
Jul 16, 2016
Our stay was wonderful. We rented four premium single cabins for a family of twelve. The adults and the children all enjoyed themselves. We have made multiple visits to your campground over the years and have always had fun. Started coming when our children were little and now coming back with our adult children and our grandkids. Always have a great time. Definitely will be returning.
Jul 16, 2016
A great family get away. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 16, 2016
We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the cleanliness of the campgrounds at KOA Cherokee NC.
Jul 16, 2016
Great things to do there.
Jul 16, 2016
Our family always enjoys our atay at the KOA in Cherokee. In the summer it is tubing down the river where it is so convenient to get a ride up the mountain! It's the shopping in town and the quiet of the Campground that we enjoy! Our next stay will be Halloween! We tried that last year and truly had a blast!
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
No cell service and too many barking dogs. Otherwise great campground with lots of amenities. Good location for park
Jul 15, 2016
This was just one of our many trips to your beautiful koa. We always have a great time. Thank you for increasing your cabin numbers, adding ac, and bathrooms to individual cabins. Next time we will take advantage of your tubing bus. What fun!
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent facility. The only drawback is that people who are tubing thenriver walk right through the premium sites to exit the river. KOA should post signs informing the people tubing the river not to exit through campsites or cabin areas. There are designated entry and exit points but they are not well marked nor enforced. People who pay for a premium site do not want strangers walking through.
Jul 15, 2016
Area is Great. Park is nice but very crowded. Personnel need a lot of training. Every question we asked was answered by: well, I don't know even older staff. Maintenance crew was very nice and helpful.
Jul 14, 2016
Very nice all in all. The camp grounds could use some TLC. There were wasps nests and bee nest that should have been cared for and destroyed. We had multiple people bit trying to protect our children.
Jul 14, 2016
It was a nice stay but we were mis-informed about a few things.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Nice campground but overpriced
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
This campground is AWESOME! In the store it would be better if one person answer the phone/ assist new campers and the other person assist guest with store purchases only. There always seemed to be a bottle neck in the store area if both employees were busy assisting camping guests with questions/reservations and not store guest- Two lines would be better
Jul 13, 2016
It was just a little too crowded for me. I had of the best and secluded cabin sites and it still was not very private.
Jul 13, 2016
We have camped here before and was very satisfied. This time was a total different atmosphere. Workers were rude. Management were not friendly. I bet it's under new owners or management. We will not be returning in the future which is a shame because we liked the location. Maybe we will stay up the river at Yogi Bear.
Jul 13, 2016
Although I made our reservation for the July 4th holiday months in advance, our spot was directly across from the office - very noisy, people kept blocking us in to stop and pick up firewood or just run into the office. The power went out the first night, and our site and several others were the only ones without power for about 6 hours. This KOA also ran out of ice. Chaotic stay!
Jul 13, 2016
We stayed in a cabin and except for the spiders living with us everything was good.
Jul 13, 2016
we like koa because of things for all ages to do. employees are helpful. the food service was slower due to hard to communicate with certain employees. campsite 329 is a terrible site due to large tree roots with nothing but dirt and of course mud. we stayed before along ponds and had a wonderful and relaxing time. grandson age 9 loved it.
Jul 13, 2016
Beautiful setting. Sites need an upgrade or lower rates per night. Staff was friendly. Love the pools. Why the resort fee?
Jul 13, 2016
This was our second visit to Cherokee KOA and we loved it just as much as the first! We will definitely be back. Very clean restrooms and friendly staff
Jul 12, 2016
We love the Cherokee KOA and have been coming here over the Fourth of July for four years now. We have four boys ranging from 2-9 and they love coming every year. The campground feels very safe and has lots of employees that make rounds often to ensure the safety of the little ones. If you have kids, this is the perfect KOA campground for you.
Jul 12, 2016
The campground did not advertise about poor wifi connection and when we asked the customer service the folks were quite rude. When we dropped the key at desk and still had 26 hours paid at the site and us to call as soon as we knew we were not returning It used the site. We were being considerate and did not want to keep the key if did not get back. We had a bad fan in the cabin and no help
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
When I checked in the lady at the desk overheard me say that my mother, who is 80, was sitting in the car. She lives local and was visiting for the day. The lady had the audacity to charge me $5 for a visitor. The cabin had a broken window and torn screens. The floors had an inch of dirt on them. The staff let patrons smoke by the pool in plain sight. It was horrible and I'll NEVER go back!
Jul 12, 2016
Great, relaxing stay.
Jul 12, 2016
My family of 6 stayed in a 2 room Camping Cabin. I honestly have no complaints. We were really only at the campground for sleeping and showering as we wanted to see the area. KOA was an affordable option and fit our needs.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
We stayed on a tent site w/o water or electric so that was a bummer but we were right by the bathrooms/ showers and they were awesome! Our stay was quick and we left before the camp store even opened! Overall good. It would be good to remove all the fishing line from the over head wires when you first drive in.
Jul 12, 2016
awesome!
Jul 12, 2016
Goof
Jul 11, 2016
We love this KOA. We stay several times a year, and always enjoy our time here. One thing that I felt has gone down hill over the past year is the arts and crafts offered for the kids- you are charging so much for these crafts now. I was blown away that you charged for the friendship bracelets. It was $3 per child for 3 pieces of string I can understand breaking even- but that is too much!
Jul 11, 2016
A great place to stay
Jul 11, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA for a few years now and have always enjoyed our stay. This past weekend was one of our worst camping experiences ever!! The site we were in was so jammed close to the ones next to us it was uncomfortable. We had confrontations with campers on both sides. One at 3 am for a loud tv and the other because they parked on our site right on top of the fire ring! very unpleasan
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, we had an RV space and 4 deluxe cabins. Kids had a fabulous time. I would like to see a "dock" or ramp coming up from the tube run. Also, staff should pick up cigarette butts left in campsite.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award