Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The people checking me in were not the most knowledgable, seemed like new seasonal help, however there was a lead or supervisor close by that stepped up and answered questions, the lodge was run down a lot since last year, it really smelled bad under the sink in the cabinets and entry door knob was about to fall off. several more things like maintanence issues.
Jul 10, 2013
we where really excited about this trip because of all the amenities that where posted on the web site, but when we got there most of them where either closed because of maintenance(outdoor pool). No WIFI,rental bikes or waterslide. There where bikes but over 12 where sitting there broke for the entire stay. Would of appreciated a heads up on the things that where down during our stay.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
We had a blast. We stayed in a cabin. The outdoor pool was closed but they were quick to offer 1 free night in place of the pool. I would suggest this for anyone with kids under 14.
Jul 10, 2013
Overall we had a nice time. My biggest complaint is that when we made our reservation we were told the outdoor pool was undergoing some repairs, but would be finished by July 4th. We arrived on July 9th and the pool could not be used. Also the internet lists soap, and shampoo as an amenity for the Deluxe Cabin but we were told neither of those would be provided. Not enough towels provided either
Jul 09, 2013
We have stayed here for years and were very disappointed this time...they lied about the outdoor pool opening , the grounds were not maintained, and the workers were extremely rude!!!!
Jul 09, 2013
Good location near the town and the beginning of the Blue Ridge Parkway, but the women's showers near us were unusable, and other problems such as an out-of-order ice machine and no cell reception detracted from the experience. Much of the staff seemed new and inexperienced, though eager to help. BIG -- lots of room to walk, ride, etc. Daughter loved the bouncy pillow. A better-than-average KOA.
Jul 09, 2013
Poolwas closed, campsite flooded when raining.
Jul 09, 2013
double booking,nasty indoor pool-never cleaned-bathrooms inop-cabin was not ready-no parking,grill,picnic bench,the cabin I was dumped in had a missing smoke dect. booked for 2 quenn bed got a cabin with one double. had to buy 2 air matt. @ 42.oo each. you must be mental to think I would return. cant wait to post these pic on face book.
Jul 09, 2013
I loved all the activies for the kids. Just wished the rain hadn't caused some of them to cancel. Will definately be back again.
Jul 09, 2013
1) Fix the bathrooms and showers. 1/4 of them are out of order. 2)If you promise to bring hay for the mud, DO IT! We were promised 4 times and never got any. Ppl around us did get some.
Jul 09, 2013
Cherokee KOA is an great camprground with awesome amenities. The only down fall was the outdoor pool was closed for repairs and we were told many times that it would be opened by the 4th of July. The outdoor pool was no where near being ready to open. I would have appreciated honesty instead of empty promises.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
The only complaint I have is that I was assigned a small (what I call a pop up site) for my 30 foot with a slide out camper. I had to park the camper in the grass and since it rained every day it was a muddy mess. I tried to upgrade to a larger site but was told there were none available even though there were three that I could see from where I was at that were empty the entire time we were there
Jul 09, 2013
It was a busy weekend, therefore I understand some of the experience was to be expected. We arrived at the campsite it was very dirty. Not cleaned up from the previous guests. The water slide area was closed due to construction, was not told prior to booking. When we left I hooked up to sewer and it backed up and overflowed. We left campground early. Only stayed one night. Thanks for your time.
Jul 09, 2013
Really wish the outdoor pool was open!!
Jul 09, 2013
It was really good the weather did not work in our favor. however Koa can not control that. Having the enclosed pool area was a big plus. The only thing I wish is that they had someone at the pool to keep the bigger kids under control too much horse play and it made our time at the pool very stressful. over all a good stay
Jul 09, 2013
Best campground in Cherokee NC. So glad our site was paved with 4 days of rain. We had a geat time!
Jul 09, 2013
Terrible. Outdoor pool was closed our whole stay. Urinal and broken sink in our closest bathhouse. Whole row of showers \(approx 8 stalls) were all out of order. WiFi was up only 20 percent of the time. The indoor pool was out of hand with teenagers diving in 4' of water. No KOA supervision what so ever. I mentioned to one emloyee about putting a KOA employee in there to keep people from di
Jul 09, 2013
Great service and great staff. We really enjoyed our 2nd visit to Cherokee KOA and look forward to going back.
Jul 09, 2013
The mountains and stream/river around this campground are BEAUTIFUL!! We enjoyed the activities for the kids (tie-dye, face painting). It would be nice if the playground had mulch of some kind, instead of dirt. The staff were friendly . The restrooms are 'old', but were clean. If we go back we will use the cabins along the river which have the newer bathrooms.
Jul 09, 2013
dirty , stinky bathrooms , swimming pool closed, helpful and nice staff hoever
Jul 09, 2013
Coolers broken, so limited food supplies in store. Though they informed me in advance of outdoor pool not being functional - who has a pool serviced during summer? RV sites are postage stamp size, very little privacy. Very friendly and professional staff, however.
Jul 08, 2013
Not sure what has happened in the last year, but the overall attitude of the staff and the atmosphere has changed. Office/store personnel seemed more concerned with talking to one another than helping people checkout. There also seems to be a complete disregard for enforcing speed limits within the campground. Trees in large sites need to be trimmed - my FM antenna was torn off.
Jul 08, 2013
Was not informed that the outdoor pool was not going to be open. It seems like this type of work would have taken place during the fall/winter months.
Jul 08, 2013
Much better experience on all PREVIOUS stays. Had this been my first time, I would not have gone back. Cabin was stinky & leaked. Had to have mattresses replaced. Outdoor pool closed on a holiday week? Several other small things added up when combined with these things. Lynn was very nice & tried to accommodate us. Crystal was great too. Needs LOTS of maintenance in several areas
Jul 08, 2013
I love this camp ground, and while i found the staff helpful and polite,I have been staying at THIS koa for 17 years, and this trip was the most unrelaxed ever. It was full of kids of all ages, and I think if a child is under 13 years old it should be mandentory that an adult acompany them walking, riding a bike,swimming,we found ALOT of small child unattended just darting in front of cars. Also
Jul 08, 2013
I love this campground! I try and go a couple of times every year. I've never had any issues ever. This past stay, I was a little frustrated with the office staff. There were several people behind the counter but only one or two helping waiting campers. Everyone probably needs to be cross trained. Other than that, I will always pick Cherokee KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
I was very disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open as it was communicated that it would be. I asked about getting a discounted rate because of this and the person helping me check in was unable to help me with this. Compared to some of the other KOA's I have stayed at, this one was not as nice, no porch swing on my cabin, and the bathrooms were dirty/nowhere to put toiletries down.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA at least 3 or 4 times prior to this visit and was very pleased. This trip was different, we was never informed that the outside pool was out of commission and our granddaughters went one time to the indoor pool and it was so dirty they asked to leave and did not want to go back, the grass was very high at our site and it was not the site we requested.
Jul 08, 2013
The outdoor pool area not being opened was ridiculous, if I wasn't a contractor myself I wouldn't feel like this , I have installed hundreds of pools, no excuse pool not opened , bad management, inside pool was filthy nasty! No excuse if work required 24/7 especially with families coming on 4 rth july
Jul 08, 2013
It rained the whole time we stayed. The orginal tent spots that were pick out had to be changed due to flooding. Were given hay to for the mud, but not enough. So it ended up being muddy and stinky, like wet hay. The pool and hottub were dirty and over corwded. The breakfast at the club made us sick. I had heard great things about this location but was very disappointed. We will not be returning.
Jul 08, 2013
My kids had fun and were happy with all the fun amenities that kept them busy therefore my husband and I were happy.
Jul 08, 2013
This KOA has a great mountain setting and the staff was very nice. Outdoor pool was not open for July 4th due to construction. The bathhouses need to be updated badly, no shelf to put your soap and shampoo etc.. and low lighting...The Game room is out of date..This park could be very impressive with updates...
Jul 08, 2013
NO WIFI, Cable was fuzzy, it was like the old Rabbit ears quality, wasp nest above the door that we complained about 3 times before it got taken care of and then the maintance man said nothing is in it and was going to leave it up and we said no we have seen some wasp in it and that he needed to knock it down and get rid of it. The outdoor pool with waterslide was under construction. So no pool.
Jul 08, 2013
Shower Houses needed attention.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The pool has been under repair for weeks. We were promised that it would be ready for use on the 4th of July, it was not.
Jul 07, 2013
This is the first KOA campground I have even been disappointed in. It seems like there were many employees...but no one really working. They were building many new buildings, but not cleaning or maintaining the old ones.
Jul 07, 2013
It is the people that make the difference at this KOA, people like the Manager Mark, Devi, and the excellent snack bar staff led by Ed, Mary, and Pam. There are too many great people to name them all and they are the reason we always make a point to come back to this KOA even though there are many other choices available. Thanks to Mark and company!
Jul 07, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA for 20 years, and was really disappointed that they chose not to disclose a few items when we made our reservations. One was the pool being closed and everyone employee you ask gave you a different answer as to why. The employees are way to young and do not know what they are doing. This KOA really needs new management before it is ruined. Lots of broken things
Jul 07, 2013
Our stay at The Cherokee KOA was a horrible experience.. It was full of disappointments. I will NEVER return not recommend it to friends/family.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The rain would not go away, but the kids had plenty to do at the indoor pool and game room..... Great place and great people!!!
Jul 07, 2013
I love the area. The campsite was not so great. The sites were flooded with water and over crowded. I enjoy what the campground offers. I would like to see the camping sites more landscaped.
Jul 07, 2013
THE OUTDOOR POOLS WERE CLOSED FOR REPAIRS, THE TEMP. INSIDE THE INDOOR POOL WAS VERY HOT. NO PRIVACY BETWEEN CAMPSITES. TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THIS EXPERIENCE!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
It was a nice place but should have been informed that the outdoor pool was under construction and the campground was flooded the whole time we were there from rain and pumps not working.kids enjoyed the activities. nice and polite staff. would stay again if everything was open and weather was nice.
Jul 06, 2013
Only issue we had was quite time at night was not enforced. It was like there were no KOA people staying in the campground at night.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.