Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2014
We had a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning soon.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The campground was packed for Memorial Day weekend, and the staff kept up with all the cleaning and maintenance and kept a positive attitude!
May 27, 2014
Don't believe the bad reviews online. This facility was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and the amenities were all too notch. If you have kids I highly recomend this koa. Check in was a little busy because of holiday weekend. I would definitely come back.
May 27, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Would only suggest bathroom upgrades & heat kiddie pool.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We stayed memorial weekend and the kids loved it. Lots of fun stuff to do; or just relax and enjoy nature.Best campground we ever stayed at.Highly Recommend!!
May 27, 2014
The stay was good as usual.Hope it stays this way under the new management.They had a problem with the out door pool the last day we were there.Hope it will be reopened the week of july 4th.because the pool is a must for the kids.
May 27, 2014
My boys really loved the bounce floor and the banana bikes. The staff was very helpful and pleasent. Would have loved to had hiking and/or mountain biking areas near by.
May 26, 2014
Ponds were not stocked as specified. Fishing rules were incomplete resulting in a $100.00 fine. We were not told only 1 line per person was allowed. Where we are from you can use as many lines as you want if you have a license. Your campground personnel should be trained to impart this information to all individuals purchasing a license or, at the least, provide a pamphlet of rules.
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
We hadn't been back for a couple of years but we so enjoyed it that we're not going to stay away as long the next time. Can't wait to come back!
May 26, 2014
Clean, fun and always friendly! Disappointed in Internet access. You really should not advertise that you have the internet available as it barely worked with only a few campers and did not work at all once the camp started filling up. This is an important service with today's busy work/life/personal needs.
May 26, 2014
KOA has always been family orientated and there is always something for the kids to do.
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
Loved it. The staff was great. Kiss loved movie night and the skit night. Great pool and hit tub. The cabin was nice bathrooms clean.
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
May 25, 2014
A little smaller space than we like. We will work to select a larger site next time. Motorhome with a toad 4 down. Good facilities, very friendly staff.
May 25, 2014
Wonderful. Peaceful. Clean. Very well run
May 24, 2014
May 24, 2014
ils font vraiment attention aux besoins des campeurs
May 22, 2014
May 22, 2014
It was great, loved the cabin
May 22, 2014
The only shortcoming was that the office closed at 7 pm.
May 21, 2014
May 21, 2014
Great facsilities and excellent service from the staff. I WILL DEFINATELY COME AGAIN
May 20, 2014
May 20, 2014
A great site with wonderful room for walking our dog. Just wish those that advertise WIFI actually have it without having to sit next to the office. Maybe wifi isn't important to most...the site was clean and great otherwise...and real close to a lot of wonderful places.
May 20, 2014
I would rate higher but why have amenities listed if you don't expect people to use them? I am old school and I enjoy playing horseshoes, there was only 3, can't play with an uneven set and the one side didn't have a bar. Also, went to service desk for a basketball & no one knew where to find it. Again why advertise if it's not avaliable? This is one of the higher priced KOA's in my area, why??
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
If I had not come down with a stomach virus within an hour upon arrival I would have requested to get my money back and left. In the deluxe cabin:shower curtain had black stains on it, the floor of the shower had a layer of black slime, kitchenette was filthy & who knows the last time someone swept under the bed!I had great memories of camping at KOA as a young adult, not so fond as an adult!
May 19, 2014
No WiFi signal in cabin. Clean, well stocked dishes / utensils. Fireplace and heaters kept cabin temp comfortable.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Cabin fine; the pool indoor needs some work. The jacuzzi jets did not work; looks like painting? is in progress. The head lady at registration, Jill, was not pleasant. She was rude to my sister and I a few times. There was an AA meeting at the KOA; they took up all of the common areas. We got a bite to eat at the grill and were told we could not sit to eat there.
May 19, 2014
May 18, 2014
May 18, 2014
May 18, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. The staff were helpful, friendly, and courteous. The grounds were well kept and not overly congested. We plan on returning with our granddaughter. Thank you for a great experience.
May 17, 2014
Was not happy about cable or wi- fi not working when they told us it would be:(
May 16, 2014
The camp ground looked run down, but we would come back because of the front desk staff
May 16, 2014
May 16, 2014
Although we have stayed at several KOAs, this one is our favorite since we like fishing & it's only 2 hours away, however the first bathhouse is in bad need of repairs - in the ladies, toilets don't flush well, only 3 with 1 out of order and only 2 showers with 1 out of order
May 16, 2014
My family and I have camped here for along time and plenty of times. The stay was ok. Use to love the campground. There was one staff member that was totally rude when we were checking out. We have always packed up and let our children play in pool then leave. He rudely told us we must leave immediately we were no longer guess. Other then that it was ok.
May 16, 2014
very nice campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.