Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
I do feel that the roads need to be patched because there are pot holes.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA. We were in site 264 and it was wonderful! Big and spacious! We will be back!
Sep 08, 2015
Campground over all was good our campsite wasn't so good, very noisy...
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Very klean kampground w/ lots of amenities. But, we didn't care for the site we were assigned. It was too much of a thoroughfare, dau and night, for us. I would recommend avoiding full hook-up sites #1-#7 unless you have a sound-proof RV.
Sep 08, 2015
Nice facility. Some staff inflexible and too concerned on rules instead of looking after the customer.
Sep 08, 2015
The staff was friendly and did a great job given the busy holiday weekend. I rated 3 stars because the cabin was very uncomfortable. There was no air conditioning which is not mentioned upon reservation. I would not have stayed there if I had known that. The mattress was so thin, I had headaches every day of our stay. It wasn't terrible but I don't think I would consider this location again.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a wonderful weekend! Love all the kids activities and nice employees.
Sep 08, 2015
Crowded (sites very close together on our side), site backed up to chain link fence and a road, cleanliness ok, no usable wifi, no need to take fishing equipment. Had reservation for later in the year, will cancel it.
Sep 08, 2015
Cabin not very clean, dust on bed head rest and foot rest and around the windows and on the light fixtures. Not any sign which cabin or camper on which street making it difficult to go back to cabin after dark. No water to shower or flush toilet at midnight of the last night of our stay. Friendly and nice staff.
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time and this KOA was very nice. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the mattresses in the cabin we stayed in were very thin and you could feel the boards through them.
Sep 08, 2015
We love coming there camping. We love to fish in the pond and creeks. But mostly the pond. Can you tell me when they be open again to fish the pond please but we love KOA
Sep 08, 2015
The staff at this KOA (Cherokee) are relatively uncaring. I have stayed at this campground for years and the new management staff leave much to be desired!
Sep 08, 2015
i love the koa but this stay was the worst time some of the staff at koa where so rude the lady from england r where ever she is from was so rude to us and my son when they came up the were rude to them i would not go back as long as that lady is gone she does not need to work at a koa where most every one that works there is usually so friendly .the internet didn:t work r the cable
Sep 08, 2015
This is our second visit to this koa. We love all the activities for the kids. River tubing, indoor and outdoor pools, bounce pillow, putt putt and the outdoor movies were really awesome. Our campsite was concrete and perfectly level. We will definitely be back.
Sep 08, 2015
We enjoyed the amenities, friendly staff and entertainment, but we were displeased with our site (180) because it was very small for our 35 ft fifth-wheel with six people, compared to others close by. We have your site map so next time we'll request one with a more grassy area. Thanks!
Sep 08, 2015
Check-in was really good. We arrived after dark on Labor Day weekend. Very efficient and we were escorted to our site. There were several RV's arriving at the same time. WIFI was weak. Sites were a small and it was priced to high for tight sites. Other than that it is a nice place. Very clean and well maintained. Staff very responsive to all request. It was worth the higher cost. We will return.
Sep 08, 2015
We have been here a few time in the past and we loved the location as well as the amenities for the kids. We were though a little disappointed to find out that all trout ponds were emptied except the bottom one. We wondered why this was not on the website to inform guest. Also we felt cramped from the new cabin that were put up around the tent sites.
Sep 08, 2015
My family and I have a great time every time we visit.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome will be back soon
Sep 08, 2015
Over priced! Says they have internet, well if you stand in the office you have it. No television for the Labor day weekend for those of us that want to see the ball games! Oh, I forgot you can't even get an update on your phone because you have no data available. Won't be back.
Sep 08, 2015
Love the pools, jumping pillow, shuttle to downtown or tubing, movie night, banana bike rentals, creek, activities, and the cafe. Also love how much there is to do in the general are. The wi-fi did not work 90% of the time even next to the store/cafe - it really should be updated considering the price of a camp spot here. Bathhouses need to be updated and could be cleaner.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
Great place....friendly people.... Love your Campground
Sep 08, 2015
Your campground would rate in at being one of the best (if not the best) ive ever stayed at. Amenities were great. Location was great, after i found it. Food was really good. Sites were perfect. Very clean campground. The only two things i thought couldve been better was the signage to get you to the campground, only because gps didnt pick it up, and one lady named Joann that worded there.
Sep 08, 2015
I love KOA. The staff are so nice and very helpful.
Sep 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our visit and will be back in the Spring!
Sep 08, 2015
The weekend was great as usual with no issues.the staff were helpful,knowledgeable and friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The people that escort you to your campsite are very rude... Had problems with golf cart staying charged and they wouldn't do anything about it.... I will not be back here!!! Everyone seems unhappy to work here especially the men outside escorting you to your campsite..
Sep 08, 2015
Love it .
Sep 08, 2015
Overall the stay was great. I had a plumbing issue but it was promptly taken care of.
Sep 08, 2015
We checked in on Friday the first spot we had was unleavel couldn't get the jacks down on our pop up for the roots in the ground the staff was very nice and moved us up to another spot that we was able to get set up fine the spot was extremely small for a camper so that was a negative but all in all it turned out to be a fun filled weekend. The staff are very nice and helpfull.will be back soon !!
Sep 08, 2015
This KOA was great! I loved not having to leave for any reason, plenty of activities and onsite food was great! All the staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best weekend getaway that my family has ever experienced!
Sep 08, 2015
We visited in June and brought our kids 18, 19 and 23 for the weekend over Labor Day and had a FANTASTIC time. What a great place to be, such fun activities. We had a blast. We are already trying to figure out when to come back :)
Sep 08, 2015
Great site. Staff very friendly. Thank you for the great time.
Sep 08, 2015
It was a great stay! The only complaints we have is that the wifi wasn't working for us. And a recommendation to have music & dancing night more often! Really enjoyed watching everyone dance & having fun!
Sep 08, 2015
We had a great time this past weekend. The campground was really nice and we enjoyed it. The only complaint was that we did not always feel the staff was very friendly. I know if was a holiday weekend, but......
Sep 08, 2015
staff was not friendly
Sep 08, 2015
The ponds were empty (there was maintenance going on ) and we couldnt go fishing, but the park was clean and full and it was still very nice and peacfull.
Sep 08, 2015
For a big camp site it was nice and calm camping in the valley. I would stay there again.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 08, 2015
So much fun we keep coming back.
Sep 07, 2015
For the price we paid the cabin was to small for 3 adults. Did not like the bathroom being in the bedroom with having another adult entering in the privacy of my room. The cabin was way too small. It was not what I expected very unhappy. View was beautiful staff was great. I truly thought the cabin was bigger. There was no toasted no can opener utensils was flemsey the cabin stunk. Gas grill dirt
Sep 07, 2015
Labor Day brought the crowds to the campground and staff were prepared and organized. There is plenty to do for older children, however, not much to do for children 3 or younger. The outdoor swimming pool is COLD and all but a very small portion has been roped off for the water slide; there's no room to swim in water less than 6 feet. This was not ideal for my 2 yo so we had to go to indoor pool.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
Loved staying there. Everyone very nice and helpful. Only one problem was that in the store no one except for one person new how to make the drinks or coffee drinks. We had one lady named Joann that didn't know how but she experimented and made my husband a chocolate drink which was very good. To me she went out of her way just to make sure that everyone was happy. Had a great time!
Sep 05, 2015
Very peaceful...
Sep 05, 2015
Very nice helpful employees. Nice campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals