Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 06, 2016
We have been visiting this campground for years, and it remains one of my favorite places to visit. Everyone is welcoming and helpful, and we look forward to returning.
Jan 06, 2016
my kids and I loved it. We already booked another week for this June
Jan 05, 2016
Everything went pretty smoothly during our stay; well, everything except for the showers. Employees were very nice and they made good coffee! Now, back to the showers: I tried several showers & they weren't working right or just wouldn't get warm (I waited quite some time, yet I hate wasting water). When I found one that got a little warm, I kept using that one through our stay. That's it. :)
Jan 05, 2016
Jan 05, 2016
Really great experience, can't wait to do it again!
Jan 05, 2016
Great stay. Willreturn
Jan 04, 2016
First time in a while we got to bring in a new year as a family it was great
Jan 04, 2016
Muy complacida con este KOA. Tiene muchas Cabañas desde las más baratas hasta las más caras. Muy buena ubicación, tiene un río a todo su alrededor donde se puede pescar, tiene dos piscinas (una bajo techo cerrada, con sauna caliente) y otra piscina afuera (en tiempo de frío está cerrada). La tienda es amplia y los que trabajan en ella son muy amables. Rentan bicicletas de 9am-4pm. 100% recomendado
Jan 04, 2016
nice cabin. stock better kitchen supplies. pool in winter was cold. all other was good.
Jan 04, 2016
Campground was nice and a lot for kids to do here. Fishing was great all around the park. Thanks KOA
Jan 04, 2016
Awesome facility's, needs better wifi connection, it is basically not usable. Will for sure be back!
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
We had a blast. Cabins were clean and the campground is very family friendly.
Jan 04, 2016
There was water pooled on the floor of our cabin. The firewood that we purchased was not seasoned and would not catch. One of the showers in the bathroom did not work. Other than that the staff was very pleasant and the store was good. Campground was clean.
Jan 04, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly, helpful staff
Jan 04, 2016
For a large family/dog oriented koa park, an investment in a large dog park would be a great idea. Also last 2 times I have stayed, this park has had issues with some aspect of the pool area. Still love the park. A few upgrades are needed
Jan 04, 2016
Making the reservation was the only bad part of our experience.
Jan 03, 2016
..
Jan 03, 2016
This is a wonderful campground. My only issues were that we booked a cabin that was supposed to have a fire pit but the cabin we were assigned did not have a fire pit and our fire place in the cabin made such a loud noise that it was impossible to use. Also, the hot tub was out of order and we were charged extra for a third person even though they advertise the cabin to sleep up to four people.
Jan 03, 2016
Nice place to stay with family and fish for trout
Jan 03, 2016
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river. It was peaceful and cozy. Everything was clean and well maintained. Plan to stay again when the weather is warmer.
Jan 03, 2016
Beautiful location on the river & ponds. Lots of cabins. Would stay again!
Jan 03, 2016
Everything was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA
Jan 03, 2016
Fun and relaxing place to hang out. Really appreciated the clean bathrooms.
Jan 01, 2016
Had a great time during our stay. We visit yearly and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and campground is clean well maintained. The only downfall was the new cabin we stayed in this year. It is located just at the edged of the wifi range and wound constantly have to log on anytime you needed to surf the web. Other than that, it was perfect as always! Can't wait to go back!
Jan 01, 2016
Jan 01, 2016
None
Jan 01, 2016
The campground is in a beautiful location. Cable TV was good. WiFi was very poor and no cellular signal (not KOA fault just wanted to note bad area if u need those things) Only complaint was a generator ran all day, every day at the pool house kinda took away from the peaceful aspect. Overall excellent family mountain getaway. will be back :)
Jan 01, 2016
Very disappointed. Was told we checked in to early.that we needed to read email on check in times.but email didn't tell us that hot tub was down and lights didn't work in pool house. And gates to ponds are closed at 430. Park has went down last few years. Cabins look like crap on outside needs gravel all around.to much money for no more than you get.maybe needs new management and employees..
Dec 31, 2015
We enjoyed this campground the staff was very friendly and helpful. During our stay we observed the staff members constantly cleaning the grounds including the pool which was very nice. If I had anything to improve it would be the slow Internet. We will definitely be back this summer.
Dec 31, 2015
Best koa in this past of the USA. Only complaint is wireless internet service. I would recommend you either get rid of it or upgrade so it works better. If need be offer it as a service and charge your guests. Can't wait for my next trip here! Happy New Year
Dec 31, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by all you had to offer. I will definitely never stay in a motel in Cherokee again.
Dec 30, 2015
Love the KOA and the cabin we had. We will be back next year!!
Dec 30, 2015
I really enjoyed that I was able to get a deluxe cabin, as these are usually booked up during the summer months. Friendly and helpful staff with anything you may need. Will definitely stay again.
Dec 30, 2015
Cabin was in a water hole.wasn't offered to even be moved. No hot tub.just hot water..friends stayed in site 89 and we all was harassed about showing up early. Saying we need to read email on check in times but yet no one was on camp site or cabin. And email didn't say hot tub wasn't working or light in pool bathrooms wasn't working. Campground needs a lot of work.maybe new management. Very disap.
Dec 29, 2015
Family of five stayed during the Christmas holiday and even though the weather didn't cooperate our stay was great because of the koa. Neat and clean cabin indoor pool and hot tub were great and staff was super friendly!!! We will be back for sure.
Dec 28, 2015
Awesome stay!
Dec 28, 2015
Best Christmas vacation EVER!!!
Dec 28, 2015
It was very good. Everyone is friendly. Especially glad for the discounted rates in the fall or we wouldn't have stayed. The only negative was the pool was cold and the hot tub was out of order. That should be fixed right away.
Dec 28, 2015
Everyone is always so great. I have a value card but don't seem to be getting any discounts or points added to my account. Great place to stay and can't wait to go back.
Dec 28, 2015
We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. This was our 2nd time camping at a KOA campground. It's easy, affordable, and more enjoyable than staying at a hotel.
Dec 23, 2015
Dec2015. Awesome place. Awesome cabins!!! Fun for kids! Perfect!
Dec 23, 2015
First of all, Jill, Dianne, front desk staff, as well as maintenance staff, were amazing and helpful! Our campsite was perfect and the two cabins we rented for our children and Grands, were spotless! We had a great time and made wonderful memories! Will def. be back and will visit other KOAs from now on!
Dec 15, 2015
Fabulous camp with so many amenities! Friendly staff! Great pool! Love the air pillow.
Dec 15, 2015
We loved the cabin. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff was very friendly.
Dec 14, 2015
Above and beyond expectations!
Dec 14, 2015
Office closes at 5, so don't expect to do anything after that. Cabins are very close together, and the wifi is horrible. The cabins were nice and clean as were the grounds,
Dec 11, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our stay.
Dec 10, 2015
I've stayed at this koa before which is why I chose to stay again, very helpful and great stay
Dec 09, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and looked even better than the pics on the website. Everyone in our party enjoyed the jumping pillow. The location was nice and convenient to places we wanted to explore. We will definitely be back again. Great staff as well. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award