Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
Beautiful Campground, large lots. Staff very helpful in locating and parking our 40 foot 5th wheel. Will be back!!
Aug 01, 2016
The campground is always clean and the staff friendly. Had a great stay for the second summer in a row.
Aug 01, 2016
improvements over last 3 years have been huge (nice work) Please leave site 378 as is.,my families favorite site (good memories) fishing was poor but i understand
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful stay, camp ground was great. Can not wait to come back
Aug 01, 2016
The best place for kids.
Aug 01, 2016
Excellent staff and service. This was our 73rd stay at this KOA and it won't be the last!
Aug 01, 2016
Have been going for a couple of years and seems like the rates have went up too much. Also renting tube have went up.
Jul 31, 2016
This is our second time to stay at the Cherokee KOA and enjoyed it very much both times.We will defiantly go back!!!!!
Jul 31, 2016
Great family atmosphere and tons to do. Highly recommend.
Jul 31, 2016
This was a very good KOA. The people met us as soon as we arrived and took us to our site. The site was paved and had a paved patio. When there was a problem with the bath house, it was immediately fixed. Excellent service! Friendly people.
Jul 31, 2016
Enjoyable time, pleasant staff and campground was fun. Cabin was perfectly clean and in great condition.
Jul 31, 2016
Great well managed place with lots to offer families.
Jul 31, 2016
Excellent campground! So close to the Smoky Mountains! Fabulous staff and a great pool!
Jul 31, 2016
Very clean facilities. Good service. Great price.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Great time in a great atmosphere!
Jul 31, 2016
It was absolutely terrible. We checked in Friday night at 9:00pm only to find out our cabin had no air conditioner. This was coincidently left out from the time we reserved the cabin and even when we checked in. We hated the campground so much we checked out the next morning at 10:00am. We will never be back to another KOA. This was my fiancé's first mountain trip and it ruined it for him so thank
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
We had a great time at your campground. This was our first experience at a KOA and we will definitely be back.
Jul 30, 2016
We had a nice stay in Cherokee/Great Smokies, NC. The staff is very friendly and our cabin was clean and comfortable.
Jul 30, 2016
Had a great stay! The campground was clean and the staff was excellent!
Jul 30, 2016
The people here are awesome!
Jul 29, 2016
Stayed in their cabin. Had a problem with bee's living in the porch of the cabin. So wasn't able to sit outside. Asked Dottie at the front desk if we could be moved to another cabin. She was completely rude about the whole situation and wouldn't move us saying that someone else booked the other cabin. We left 5 days later and still no one was there and gave us attitude about having maintenance
Jul 29, 2016
Absolutely wonderful. We brought our grandchildren (7,9) and had a blast. (Tubing on the river, swimming, dance party) It's like a cruise on land!
Jul 29, 2016
We stayed in a delux cabin over the river . It was very dirty . I don't know when they moped it last . I tried to get A refund for my other 2 days mouse or other animal munching in our cabin and we could not sleep for 3 days . The staff could not find anything after we left but we definitely Hurd a mouse inside the cabin at night . I would like some sort of compensation , refund or certificate .
Jul 29, 2016
This is a Fantastic Campground with plenty of activities for the entire Family. Enjoyed meeting the friendly staff especially Danny who took us on our outings.
Jul 29, 2016
My family has stayed at more than one KOA but Cherokee is our favorite. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and always wear a smile😊 Will definitely see you again next year!
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
We loved the upgrades to the bathhouse. Our cabin had a new screen door,table inside and a table and chairs outside. Food and staff were great. Thanks
Jul 28, 2016
Great as always
Jul 28, 2016
It was a great experience...extremely nice getaway from all the technology and for my kids to just enjoy the outdoors, riding bikes and making new friends.
Jul 28, 2016
Everything was nice. Lots of activities
Jul 28, 2016
Absolutely amazing campground. The staff was friendly, bathrooms clean, great experience floating on the river. We had so much fun!
Jul 28, 2016
We upgraded our primitive Kanin to a premium primitive w/fridge because my husband is diabetic so needed to keep insulin cold.. Fridge did not work ! Told office they said turn it up! Still did not work!! Why pay extra? Will not next time... Cabin was hit and full of ANTS!! Allergic husband has over 50 bites!! We are headed for ER today!! Not OK!
Jul 27, 2016
Great stay! Tons to do! Very family friendly. Will definitely be back!
Jul 27, 2016
Overall, the Cherokee KOA is nice. I think it would have been a better experience if we would have had a better spot. Most of the staff were friendly, but a couple of the fellas were not. The pool areas had a lot to offer. The bath house was very nice and appeared to be clean. We will stay there again.
Jul 27, 2016
Excellent time with great location and accommodations. Campground was clean and employees were always helpful and pleasant.
Jul 26, 2016
Great
Jul 26, 2016
The cabin was clean, the staff was friendly. Check in parking was confusing and there was no parking when stopping by the store. Our cabin was a two room right on the river. Despite the negative comments that I read before my stay, I had no issues with the campground. It was a pleasant stay.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the pool tubing the beautiful scenery and the young volunteer that work with our grandchildren were great my husband and I and our grandchildren had a wonderful week
Jul 26, 2016
I only had one complaint and its with the wifi speed. It was so horribly slow I couldn't upload video and picture or something so simple as browsing the web looking for things to do was no accomplished. I WISH YOU GUYS WOULD DO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. PLEASE !!!!
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Donnie was helpful and friendly in explaining camp activities and other fun things for kids around surrounding areas.
Jul 26, 2016
Just got back from out trip. It was a nice stay, we rented a small cabin for 4. It was cute. They had different types&size cabins. The creek area in the property is shallow. There were plenty of places nearby where you could drive to. We would definitely stay again. Just a note we wanted to pitched a tent up, they made us take it down. You can only pitch a tent up in the designated spots.
Jul 25, 2016
Wonderful vacation as always!
Jul 25, 2016
lovely, however front cabin at the river (end of the park) is not the prime cabin. People, golf carts, kids, dogs at all hours of the night. Rude teenagers cussing, when asked to quiet down they mooned us. Yup, that's right full on buttock show. Other than that, the bathrooms were par standard, but the workers there were outstanding. Loved them!
Jul 25, 2016
Really nice KOA stayed 07-16-16 thru 07-18-16. Cabin on river was A+. Very nice staff, was a busy full weekend and still moved along thru check in progress fast. Sure did miss seeing David and Sally as they where out of town. Maybe next time. Can't wait to get back to Cherokee, NC.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice facility, friendly staff. Only distraction were the open pit fires each site had. To much smoke.
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed our weekend at this KOA. The only bad thing was that we didn't have MORE time. It was great to have so many family friendly activities. We will definitely be back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps