Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2013
Great place to camp with kids. Lots to do and see. Lack of experienced help at the front desk was frustrating. Lynn the manager was awesome tho and helped fix our bill that was wrong. She was nice and courteous.
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was so nice and helpful! Great activities for all! The bathrooms need some tlc but I do realize that they are used by many that do not take care of things. Loved the campground. Should warn people about tubbing with younger children. But all in all it was great and we will be back! Again probably the best staff ever! Couldn't be nicer or more helpful! Will does a great job too!
Jul 14, 2013
We always stay at this KOA when in the Cherokee area. One of the best.
Jul 14, 2013
The campground was great..The only dislike we had was that the outdoor pool was not open. The pool was closed for repair or so the staff told us. The assistant manger basically laughed in my face on July 5th if pool would open soon. We had lots and lots of rain. But, pools do open in the rain..............They kept telling us the pool was going to open the next day. (That was a joke).
Jul 14, 2013
Disappointed the outdoor pool was not open and we were not notified before arrival and bathroom door in cabin did not lock. A lot of money was spent so those issues kind of make it a big deal especially since we were traveling with 3 children looking forward to swimming. Indoor pool to busy and hot to use and enjoy.
Jul 14, 2013
Normally our favorite KOA, but this time we were disappointed in that 1)the outdoor pool was undergoing renovation & had a part either malfunction or on backorder (during the summer?!); 2) wi-fi was unavailable and would continue to be after we left (difficult for college students to complete online exams). The snack bar was wonderful (as always!) and the office staff as friendly as ever.
Jul 14, 2013
we understand lots of rain-flood. I had to ask 3 diff. people for straw, no WIFI the 1st nite, no disc offer. My husband was told no you can't have that site, someone may come in tomorrow,but the client that is there paying should be pleased. Noisy at night with truck traffic & garbage pickup @7:40am.grass cutting lawnmower going around in circle on site & grass trimming we are packing up to leave
Jul 14, 2013
We rented a lodge which included Wi-Fi, tv, tv so snowy couldn't watch it the whole time we were there and there was never Wi-Fi. We were told because so many kid's were on it, but I tried it throughout the day,never worked. The outdoor pool was closed because they had to wait for health inspector,had to wait 2 hours for put put to open at 5:00pm $619.11and had to clean it before we could unpack.
Jul 14, 2013
We were on a 10 day trip from Gettysburg, PA to Savannah, GA. This was the most expensive place we stayed, actually twice the cost of any other campground during our trip. For that price, I would have liked the WiFi to work and the pool not closed. The site was difficult to back into because of permanent site lawn decorations on the other side of the road.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Paid a premium price to stay there, no outdoor pool, wifi sucks- slow and unreliable. Left one day earlier as planned.
Jul 12, 2013
Campground has GREAT amenities for families. Super site for two campers was too small and set up awkwardly with campers end to end and extremely close to neighbors. We couldn't build a fire in our fire pit because it was under the slideout on the neighboring camper. TV channels limited and were not clear at times. Internet was not working and pool not available for the entire stay.
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
The only thing bad about our stay was that it rained the whole time we were there and the outside pool and hot tub were closed. There were teens from a church group that seemed to be unsupervised. We had a total of 4 spots for family and friends. We stay with you every time we visit and have always been happy with the friendly staff and the campground.
Jul 11, 2013
This is the worst KOA I have stayed at. Please call me and I will be happy to discuss. Chad Whitley 704-791-1976
Jul 11, 2013
Great place to stay. Attentive staff. Clean bath houses. Outdoor pool was scheduled to be open but was not, the weather was horrid and I guess delayed the work. We enjoyed our stay despite the weather.
Jul 11, 2013
The kids loved it, I didn't. I should've been informed about the closed outdoor pool before I reserved. They shouldn't claim free wifi, was unable to access it all week. The coin operated ice machine didn't work. Everything else was great. Lots of activities for the kids, all employees were friendly & helpful. We will stay here again.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The people checking me in were not the most knowledgable, seemed like new seasonal help, however there was a lead or supervisor close by that stepped up and answered questions, the lodge was run down a lot since last year, it really smelled bad under the sink in the cabinets and entry door knob was about to fall off. several more things like maintanence issues.
Jul 10, 2013
we where really excited about this trip because of all the amenities that where posted on the web site, but when we got there most of them where either closed because of maintenance(outdoor pool). No WIFI,rental bikes or waterslide. There where bikes but over 12 where sitting there broke for the entire stay. Would of appreciated a heads up on the things that where down during our stay.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
We had a blast. We stayed in a cabin. The outdoor pool was closed but they were quick to offer 1 free night in place of the pool. I would suggest this for anyone with kids under 14.
Jul 10, 2013
Overall we had a nice time. My biggest complaint is that when we made our reservation we were told the outdoor pool was undergoing some repairs, but would be finished by July 4th. We arrived on July 9th and the pool could not be used. Also the internet lists soap, and shampoo as an amenity for the Deluxe Cabin but we were told neither of those would be provided. Not enough towels provided either
Jul 09, 2013
We have stayed here for years and were very disappointed this time...they lied about the outdoor pool opening , the grounds were not maintained, and the workers were extremely rude!!!!
Jul 09, 2013
Good location near the town and the beginning of the Blue Ridge Parkway, but the women's showers near us were unusable, and other problems such as an out-of-order ice machine and no cell reception detracted from the experience. Much of the staff seemed new and inexperienced, though eager to help. BIG -- lots of room to walk, ride, etc. Daughter loved the bouncy pillow. A better-than-average KOA.
Jul 09, 2013
Poolwas closed, campsite flooded when raining.
Jul 09, 2013
double booking,nasty indoor pool-never cleaned-bathrooms inop-cabin was not ready-no parking,grill,picnic bench,the cabin I was dumped in had a missing smoke dect. booked for 2 quenn bed got a cabin with one double. had to buy 2 air matt. @ 42.oo each. you must be mental to think I would return. cant wait to post these pic on face book.
Jul 09, 2013
I loved all the activies for the kids. Just wished the rain hadn't caused some of them to cancel. Will definately be back again.
Jul 09, 2013
1) Fix the bathrooms and showers. 1/4 of them are out of order. 2)If you promise to bring hay for the mud, DO IT! We were promised 4 times and never got any. Ppl around us did get some.
Jul 09, 2013
Cherokee KOA is an great camprground with awesome amenities. The only down fall was the outdoor pool was closed for repairs and we were told many times that it would be opened by the 4th of July. The outdoor pool was no where near being ready to open. I would have appreciated honesty instead of empty promises.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
The only complaint I have is that I was assigned a small (what I call a pop up site) for my 30 foot with a slide out camper. I had to park the camper in the grass and since it rained every day it was a muddy mess. I tried to upgrade to a larger site but was told there were none available even though there were three that I could see from where I was at that were empty the entire time we were there
Jul 09, 2013
It was a busy weekend, therefore I understand some of the experience was to be expected. We arrived at the campsite it was very dirty. Not cleaned up from the previous guests. The water slide area was closed due to construction, was not told prior to booking. When we left I hooked up to sewer and it backed up and overflowed. We left campground early. Only stayed one night. Thanks for your time.
Jul 09, 2013
Really wish the outdoor pool was open!!
Jul 09, 2013
It was really good the weather did not work in our favor. however Koa can not control that. Having the enclosed pool area was a big plus. The only thing I wish is that they had someone at the pool to keep the bigger kids under control too much horse play and it made our time at the pool very stressful. over all a good stay
Jul 09, 2013
Best campground in Cherokee NC. So glad our site was paved with 4 days of rain. We had a geat time!
Jul 09, 2013
Terrible. Outdoor pool was closed our whole stay. Urinal and broken sink in our closest bathhouse. Whole row of showers \(approx 8 stalls) were all out of order. WiFi was up only 20 percent of the time. The indoor pool was out of hand with teenagers diving in 4' of water. No KOA supervision what so ever. I mentioned to one emloyee about putting a KOA employee in there to keep people from di
Jul 09, 2013
Great service and great staff. We really enjoyed our 2nd visit to Cherokee KOA and look forward to going back.
Jul 09, 2013
The mountains and stream/river around this campground are BEAUTIFUL!! We enjoyed the activities for the kids (tie-dye, face painting). It would be nice if the playground had mulch of some kind, instead of dirt. The staff were friendly . The restrooms are 'old', but were clean. If we go back we will use the cabins along the river which have the newer bathrooms.
Jul 09, 2013
dirty , stinky bathrooms , swimming pool closed, helpful and nice staff hoever
Jul 09, 2013
Coolers broken, so limited food supplies in store. Though they informed me in advance of outdoor pool not being functional - who has a pool serviced during summer? RV sites are postage stamp size, very little privacy. Very friendly and professional staff, however.
Jul 08, 2013
Not sure what has happened in the last year, but the overall attitude of the staff and the atmosphere has changed. Office/store personnel seemed more concerned with talking to one another than helping people checkout. There also seems to be a complete disregard for enforcing speed limits within the campground. Trees in large sites need to be trimmed - my FM antenna was torn off.
Jul 08, 2013
Was not informed that the outdoor pool was not going to be open. It seems like this type of work would have taken place during the fall/winter months.
Jul 08, 2013
Much better experience on all PREVIOUS stays. Had this been my first time, I would not have gone back. Cabin was stinky & leaked. Had to have mattresses replaced. Outdoor pool closed on a holiday week? Several other small things added up when combined with these things. Lynn was very nice & tried to accommodate us. Crystal was great too. Needs LOTS of maintenance in several areas
Jul 08, 2013
I love this camp ground, and while i found the staff helpful and polite,I have been staying at THIS koa for 17 years, and this trip was the most unrelaxed ever. It was full of kids of all ages, and I think if a child is under 13 years old it should be mandentory that an adult acompany them walking, riding a bike,swimming,we found ALOT of small child unattended just darting in front of cars. Also
Jul 08, 2013
I love this campground! I try and go a couple of times every year. I've never had any issues ever. This past stay, I was a little frustrated with the office staff. There were several people behind the counter but only one or two helping waiting campers. Everyone probably needs to be cross trained. Other than that, I will always pick Cherokee KOA.
Jul 08, 2013
I was very disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open as it was communicated that it would be. I asked about getting a discounted rate because of this and the person helping me check in was unable to help me with this. Compared to some of the other KOA's I have stayed at, this one was not as nice, no porch swing on my cabin, and the bathrooms were dirty/nowhere to put toiletries down.
Jul 08, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA at least 3 or 4 times prior to this visit and was very pleased. This trip was different, we was never informed that the outside pool was out of commission and our granddaughters went one time to the indoor pool and it was so dirty they asked to leave and did not want to go back, the grass was very high at our site and it was not the site we requested.
Jul 08, 2013
The outdoor pool area not being opened was ridiculous, if I wasn't a contractor myself I wouldn't feel like this , I have installed hundreds of pools, no excuse pool not opened , bad management, inside pool was filthy nasty! No excuse if work required 24/7 especially with families coming on 4 rth july

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.